Carter out of World Cup

Dan Carter has officially been ruled out of the World Cup because of injury.

Aaron Cruden will replace Carter.

All Blacks great Waka Nathan told premier New Zealand rugby site Rugbyheaven: ‘Christ, we’ve got problems … it’s bloody terrible.

‘He [Carter] would be a huge loss. But injuries are one of those things.’

Former All Blacks captain Taine Randell said Carter’s loss would have a massive impact on the side’s chances of success.

‘For us, he is crucial … Carter is probably the most important guy,’ Randell said.

‘I would still back the All Blacks but certainly not with the same confidence.’

Carter tore a groin muscle during a kicking drill at the captain’s run in preparation for Sunday’s match against Canada. Carter had just been named All Blacks captain for the first time in his career after Test centurion Richie McCaw withdrew because of ongoing problems to the foot injury that has hampered his season and tournament.

Both Nathan and Randell told Rugbyheaven they had concerns about Carter’s back-up, Canterbury’s Colin Slade.

Nathan said: ‘I’m not that much of a fan for Slade.

‘I would maybe even change [Piri] Weepu into first five. The drop in level to how Colin Slade operates is so big,’ said Randell. ‘That is why he [Carter] is so important to us.’

Slade was shocking in the 18-5 defeat against the Boks in Port Elizabeth and struggled as the starting option in the 83-8 win against Japan a fortnight ago. Cruden was the form flyhalf in the domestic ITM Cup, but his Test debut against the Wallabies in Sydney last year was not as flash.

Henry appeared to groom Cruden, then just 20, as Carter’s understudy in 2010 with performances against Wales and Australia, but did not take him on the end of year tour, preferring to play Stephen Donald. This proved disastrous. In 2011 Slade, despite limited Super Rugby game time because of injury, was the go to man.

The best option outside of Carter is London-based Nick Evans, but the New Zealand Rugby Union policy is no player will be selected for the All Blacks unless he is playing out of New Zealand. This rules out Evans as it did tighthead Carl Hayman, who plays for Toulon.

Carter’s withdrawal from the tournament has narrowed the odds on a New Zealand victory and improved the price on one of South Africa or Australia winning the tournament.

272 Comments

• 1.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Believe it when I see it Dragon

• 2.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Dan Carter ruled out of rest of Rugby World Cup – headline from Rugby Heaven NZ – believe it.

• 3.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Massive loss to All Blacks. Their worst case scenario with a seriously undercooked Slade and possible further injury concerns with Read and McCaw – will be interesting to see how Read goes tomorrow. An injury to him and All Blacks are staring down the barrel of a gun.

• 4.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Graham Henry’s worst nightmare.

• 5.shooter: Reply to this comment

Blessed is he who learns how to engage in inquiry, with no impulse to harm his countrymen or to pursue wrongful actions, but perceives the order of immortal and ageless nature, how it is structured. – Euripides, fifth century BC.

• 6.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

I’m afraid that’s the end of the All Black’s 2011 WC dreams…

• 7.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cruden call up. Problem for SA is Sideshow Bob Kirchner has been called for Frans Steyn.

• 8.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

Four more years!

• 9.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Massive blow to the All Blacks. They’ll battle to come back from this.

And in kicking practice of all things.

Would not have wished this on them at all.

• 10.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-7: Well theoretically he should not see any game time. Jean de Villiers will fill Frans Steyns position in all likeliness with Juan de jongh as backup and Lambie will hold 15 with Aplon as backup. Cannot see why they would draft in a useless one dimensional dork like Zane. Riaan Viljoen is a much better bet. He has the 60m penalty boot, good running ability, very experienced fullback. But no we get Zane. FFS.

• 11.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

Hey man, if we shoot down the Aussies from the hip in the 1/4′s, the WE trophy is ours. Frans or no Frans.

• 12.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-9: Agreed. With Morne on our side all we have to do is defend well dominate up front and its in the bag. Forwards let the team down on Friday in the 2nd half as well as Steyn and Du Preez´s up and unders gifting the Samoans posession. We need to sort that out pronto.

• 13.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

the RWC just took a massive nose dive!

The chances for NZ and SA to win are now massively reduced. I think the chances for Ireland, England and Wales getting to the final have just gone up by 40%.

• 14.Greenbok: Reply to this comment

Really feel sorry for DC – imagine what he’s going through right now. Sure, Fransie as well – but this was to be DC’s crowning achievement, and at home to boot…

• 15.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-10: Its all part of PdV’s masterplan to completely fck up the Boks. I truly hope he will be fired immediately if we are going home next week.

• 16.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-15: i´ll second that. I havent seen any confirmation about this Kirchner rumour but if its true it is truly idiotic. We need someone who is going to be dangerous and a menace. Not a predictable donkey who probably wont even play.
    God forbid its Wynand Olivier as well.

Sa have as much chance as oz or NZ of taking it now. How funny would another SA England final be? Too weird. Just hope if that comes to pass we thrash them though. They are not deserving finalists.

• 17.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

Shite, I almost didnt believe the headline. Bad news for NZ.

Zane Kirchner is a poephol and he shouldn’t ever been near a bok team nevermind getting called up to the world cup. Riaan Viljoen and even Jaco Taute is much better players than him. But why even do a call up?!

• 18.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Could be a repeat of 2007 final the way things are going

• 19.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

wow…huge

Frans out

Carter out

Advantage OZ

Darkhorse: Wales-you heard it here

• 20.Michael: Reply to this comment

Carter out cancels the Steyn injury.
    I was looking forward to seeing the NZ – SA match with all the greats. It ain’t going to happen :-(

Viljoen hasn’t played international rugby. Kitchner has, in NZ. Good solid choice if true.

• 21.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

I still maintain that a Southern Hemishere team will win this thing.

Whatever the news today.

• 22.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

This is bigger than the hangover after Ben Hurs stag party, and it hurts, boy does it hurt.

Our chances have reduced dramatically, no denying.

Watch out for Wales.

We knew this RWC had a few more twists, but this is a fookin nightmare for us, it really is. Nobody here has much faith in Slade, Cruden on his day can be a good runner, but what we will miss dearly is Carters ability to read the game, make the right decisions, and create fluency for the backs.

In a tactical 10 man game, he is crucial. Only Weepu has the experience to handle the pressure, but his positional play will be examined extensively.

I would prefer to see Dagg – not because he hasnt played much there, but he’s playing with such confidence, he will back himself, – which is a true strength of Carter, and a big flaw with Slade.

As with any good team, we will need players who take full responsibility, Slade just doesnt have it – he may prove me wrong but I doubt it.

This is very bad for NZ

• 23.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

Guys, don’t worry, Divvy will know how to manage Dan’s withdrawl. He has masterplan. Problem is, we have to dispense of Aussies first. Butch will sort out Cooper, no arguments man. Our forwards will do the rest!!!

Must say, rally feel sorry for Frans and Dan.

• 24.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-20: Kirchner should never have played international rugby nevermind again. He is below average

• 25.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-19:
    Wales- good side on their day, but no BMT for a final, dare I say

• 26.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-24: He was one of the best players in 2010, statistically speaking.

I wouldn’t have given him an international cap but I cannot argue with the stats.

• 27.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-24: … he is on the same leval as Earl Rose

• 28.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

Wales’ first match was THEIR final!!!!!

• 29.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-26: Are you refering to his stats with the bulls or boks. Any fullback will look good with the bulls forward dominance last couple of years

• 30.kwas: Reply to this comment

The Blacks will take the Cup without Carter. The only reason Slade looks average is because Carter is light years ahead of any other flyhalf in the world. Too much allround class for Blacks to lose this.

• 31.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-29: Both.

@kwas(kwas)-30: Yeah Slade was so classy in PE he had to beg Steyn for an ugrade to Sub B.

• 32.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-19: Second that – Wales have been playing good rugby at this Cup – definitely better than the Poms.

• 33.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-17:

With you there.

I’m very much part of the “anybody but Zane” fan club. Would rather have Riaan Viljoen there.

Jaco Taute will come into the mix soon enough.

But why send a fullback across?

We have Lambie as no. 1 and Aplon as cover for him.

But only 3 centres.

• 34.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-30: The Ab’s game plan revolved around Carter, what is Greame Henry gonna do now?
    Carter has huge presence on field and cant be replace. Ab’s backline doent move without Carter

• 35.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

So I just heard Hougard is on his way home aswell :(

• 36.DAS: Reply to this comment

Carter is the key to everything for us. The way NZ plays the game, we were so dependent on his skill and mana. Impossible to overstate what a blow this is for the ABs. Cruden and Carter simply don’t have the goods.

• 37.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-22: Agree Slade is just not up to it. Against a good team he is going to get targetted heavily. Big problem for NZ. Even bigger if Richie cant continue with that foot of his and if Reads ankle gets injured again. If those 2 go its over. Until then youre in with a sniff but I reckon Dagg at 10 is a great idea. He has that Carter air about him when he plays and I dare say as a running 10 he would be an effing nightmare in midfield with old trusty Mils at the back. Nothing wrong with that. Better than nervous and average Slade.

• 38.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-13: only sa/ nz or oz can go to the final on the one side of the draw, the others are all on the other road to final. so where does the 40% come in? or do you mean winning it -the final?

although carter is a huge blow for nz. for the fact that he is a super player. but the believe that other teams will have to beat nz now, will also not favour the ab’s.

anyway. no player is indespendable/ irreplaceable. except maybe in nz, where they don’t have much to replace to dc’s standard.

JDV and JDJ will be fine for SA. we may even play butch at 12. SA still and always a threat.

mitchell out for ozz also big who is their backup kicker when cooper is having his erratic day. guess they have c beale too.

• 39.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-35: ahh dammit that is seriously bad news – that means Ruan is in the 22 no matter what – can you imagine an injury to Du Preez and him being our main 9 oh my f&%ck! Two best backline players are now out.

• 40.Druk a Drie: Reply to this comment

This WC just got very very interesting ..

• 41.kwas: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-35: Don’t worry, Yetirat. We have the legend Habana on the wing!

• 42.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-33: I cant see any reason to bring a player over.
    @Michael(mikeybrass)-31: What is the stats showing you? Does he come close ( in pecking order) to F. Steyn, Lambie, Aplon, Taute, Viljoen. He is behind all these players-which means hes shite!!

• 43.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-20: so youd rather have an average oke with so called “experience” than a guy who has x factor and can slot a penalty from 60m? yeha makes perfect sense.

• 44.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-41: now that is a daft comment if ever I saw one. To top it off Habana is looking pretty dubious as well – at least for the QF with that kncoked thigh of his. I think we need a winger more than a fullback at the moment with injury clouds over JP Pietersen, Habana and Houghaard.

• 45.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-41:

And Ruan now covering scrum half.

• 46.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Who are he AB kickers outside of no.10? Zip?

• 47.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Curse the Samoan scum. They play hard and physical but theyre costing us now. Hope they´ll be happy if England win it. Cripes – heaven forbid.

• 48.shooter: Reply to this comment

believe/ belief

• 49.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-45: that is even more of a scary prospect than F Steyn being out. That right there is going to give me sleepless nights. And if Fourie du Preez is injured it gets really nasty.

• 50.charo: Reply to this comment

advantage oz?

now ireland look like the favourites?

wow, this rwc is so open……

go bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 51.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

Guys lets just hope and pray whoever gets selected plays their best rugby the next 3 weeks, all we can do…

• 52.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-42:

What I’m saying we don’t have to replace a “like for like”. Frans went over as a fullback but was drafted into the 12 slot.
    I”m saying, for the moment, we have sufficient cover at fullback and insufficient cover at centre.
    I would’ve preferred a centre being sent across.
    and to avoid repeating myself, “anybody but zane”

• 53.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Now other teams will have to swallow an even bigger rat when NZ win RWC because the “if you didn’t have Carter we would have won” argument won’t hold.

• 54.shooter: Reply to this comment

is Hougaard confirmed out? not good!

• 55.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-53: sounds like you’re the one choking on the rat tackles :)

• 56.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-53:

How’s Richie’s health these days?

just curious.

• 57.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-52: We have JDJ, JDV and Butch to cover centre, no need to bring replacement.

I think Spies will be able to play better than Kirchner at full back (tongue in cheek) well he cant be worst

• 58.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

guys are we not freaking out about this F Steyn thing a bit too much? before the RWC nobody was too impressed with him, and yes he’s been in great form, but we can’t say that something we didn’t consider as a strength before the RWC is now a reason why we won’t win… if you know what i mean. if the rest of the team remains intact, we’re still in good shape.

• 59.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

Tough break for Dan. I want to blame the lengthy Super season and a superfluos TN but I dont think thats true. Australia have injury problems, NZ have injuries and SA have their problems too. At the moment I dont care which of the TN nations win the RWC just so long as they do. We will never live it down if England win again.

• 60.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

@Nuk3Fr33k1w1(Nuk3Fr33k1w1)-59: I think the Sansar teams plays too much rugby and it is starting to show with all the injuries and players that cant get form. There should have never been a Tri Nations this year.

• 61.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-58:

Yep. Franna barely registered on the fanboys fantasy Bok teams so I dont really understand the “woe is me” sentiment from the SA bloggers lamenting his loss as a near fatal blow. Not saying he wouldnt have improved the odds but SA have strengths elsewhere which should make up for his loss. Now, NZ losing DAN and having to rely on Slade and Cruden (I prefer Piri to them both, thats a GENUINE cause for concern.

• 62.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-58: Agree, Frans impressed (as 12) against weak opposition so I don’t know what the fuss is about. Surely we’ll miss him for his long range kicking, which is better utilized at full back.

• 63.Chris4Lions: Reply to this comment

Im off to sleep, be up again to watch AB game, cheers

• 64.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

@Chris4Lions(Chris4Lions)-60:

Yeah, youre right. I just dont want to be seen to be making excuses even though TN players are making up the largest number of RWC injuries. Its been mulled over before and I dont want to labour the point BUT TN’s in a RWC year is DUMB.

• 65.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-53:

You might want to reconsider the fact that the esteemed Prof Tim Noakes might be proven correct?

• 66.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-7: You are an imbecile. Kirchner has NOT been called up FOR Frans, he has been called INTO the SQUAD! Clear enough? And besides, Kirchner is our number two fullback after Aplon. Number three if you consider Joe Petersen.

• 67.shooter: Reply to this comment

nz fragile psyche syndrome about to recur.

• 68.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

this is terrible news
    As much as i am not a big fan of the AB’s they need Carter and its sad to see him go this way cruden ,slade and weepu just don’t cut it.

• 69.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-53: Incorrect. The most important player for New Zealand is No.16. What does the No.16 do? He allows McCaw and the Franks brothers to fiddle with defenders off the ball, mess around on the other side of the ruck. He also allows many forward passes. Spear tackle? Not in No.16′s eyes. No.16 has been in great form for many years. Never lets the team down, but he is so humble he escapes the headlines, allowing the others to hog the limelight.

• 70.spartan: Reply to this comment

Wow thats tragic news . A huge loss for NZ but not insurmountable . The only positive is Slade now gets some much needed game-time to try to play himself into some sort of form .

• 71.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-66:

Since when did Joe Petersen become the Boks no. 2 fullback?

How old are your VHS tapes really?

Now who’s an imbecile?

• 72.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

huh?

“Carter tore a groin muscle during a kicking drill at the captain’s run in preparation for Sunday’s match against Canada.”
    just how far was he trying to kick the ball?

• 73.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-68: It’s about time NZ suffer like we do. We’ve lost Bekker, Frans, Juan and many other players are struggling with injuries, yet we carry on. They need to evolve beyond these players. We had to do it in 2006 when our players were dropping like flies. On the eve of an All Black test we lost Bakkies and Van Niekerk… not great. Schalk broke his neck and Habana, Fourie and Jean suffered cracked ribs. Was grueling, but an important period of growth, most important of that cycle. New Zealand have not evolved.

• 74.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-72: Judging by his 22m drop goals I’m guessing not that far. Maybe 30m, stretching his range a bit though.

• 75.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-72:

He must have been trying to replicate Franna and hurt himself.

• 76.Jibber-Jabber: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-10:

Slumtown – agree 100%. Just posted the same sort of comment on another thread. Riaan has a massive boot,is fast and excellent under the high ball. No disrespect to Zane but I hope his role is limited to holding the tackle bags.

• 77.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-69: I think your referring to your own team ,remember the Western Samoa match , your number 16 shut the Islanders out of the game

• 78.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-70: haha over one match? not going to happen. Pool stages are over. its crunch time. Maybe against Argentina he will have a 2nd opportunity but 2 games is way too little to play yourself into form going into a crunch game for the semis. Not going to happen.

• 79.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-69: hahaha

• 80.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-77: ahh bollocks man they were playing dirty and got away with it for all of 70 minutes until it became too obvious. Yes it wasnt a fist but the heel of the hand is just as painful and hard. Ask any bouncer.

• 81.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jibber-Jabber(Jibber-Jabber)-76: yeah if youre going to call up a fullback he´s the best option.

• 82.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-74:
    @Nuk3Fr33k1w1(Nuk3Fr33k1w1)-75:

• 83.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-77: Not so, that entire second half the Samoans had the vast majority of the calls. No.16 even missed a knock-on that led to a try later in the sequence after the subsequent penalty. Nice one. Here’s something more to shut your ignorant hole up. No.16 winning yet another test for New Zealand: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdr-W775hk4&list=PLD2EAF9004A1B70A9&index=18

No doubt you have more kak to excuse this. You know nothing little boy, get off daddy’s computer and go back to bed.

• 84.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-69: Twit. Are you going to say the same thing about the No.16 who officiated over all the tours to SA from 1900 to 1994?

• 85.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-84: South Africa do not have the benefit of the ref. In fact, we had a glorious try disallowed in 1995 and had many ref gaffs in 2007. We rise above this nonsense. That’s why we are tougher people, we aren’t spoon fed. We have to fight for every scrap. That’s the real reason why NZ get dumped from World Cups, not choking, just plain cowardice. Without No.16 they panic and cannot fathom within themselves the courage and resolve to fight for the title. Now as I say, go to bed before you choke yourself by spewing more kak.

• 86.whatever: Reply to this comment

Oh come on guys, sure Carter will be missed, but there are 14 other very good players in the AB’s team, this is of course a setback, but the AB’s are still firm favourites……… some blokes really getting ahead of themselves..

• 87.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-83:Since you use youtube clips to support your arguments, try watching the Brussow -Williams incident . Tell me .Should Brussow have been sent off for striking the head ?

• 88.whatever: Reply to this comment

@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-84:

And the twit ref who worked really hard for NZ in the final “81 test?

Twat

• 89.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-86: Nobody in the team directs play well. Without Carter they lose the essence of their power. In Carter’s absence McCaw buckles, his shoddy leadership exposed. Carter is the man, without them it becomes very difficult. They don’t have any world class half backs outside of Carter. At least Australia and South Africa have a definitive half back combination. This loss is huge. They will be leaning very heavily on Weepu, Cowan and Nonu to bolster this loss. I don’t see it happening. They are prime to be picked off. Any loss to them now is completely unacceptable.

• 90.cab: Reply to this comment

******, we’ve got problems … it’s bloody terrible’

lol, at least they not playing the other young bloke, they;d be fkd.

• 91.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-87: No. I have never seen such a thing, but if he did then I agree. But one thing I can say is that Brussow has never instigated an incident. Just like Saturday. Filthy Samoan scum got what he deserved. You are so incredibly blinded by prejudice that you cannot see it. Why not bugger off to NZs forum, seeing as you hate the Boks so much?

• 92.Train: Reply to this comment

Big blow for the kiwis, they are missing a quality backup. Maybe recall nick evans?

• 93.J@: Reply to this comment

Money’s on whoever wins between Aus and Boks in QF to take WC, NZ will make it to the SF, but every iportant game that NZ has won (eg. French), their big names like Carter and McCaw stood out. Well sad to say but with Carter out and McCaw stuggeling with injury… Not much hope…

• 94.whatever: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-87:

Oh please, tell me is holding on like that part of rugby? Nz play like that I know, Samoa and Tonga follow suit, but it is not in the rules………holding is cheating. Brussow was aiming mainly at the two arms holding him……… he then get a king hit with the base of the palm.

Williams is a faaking coward as Brussow was not even looking his way

Funny how many off the ball hits went on from Samoa, and not a peep out of anyone about that, but if SA did the same……… yup you guessed it, whinging ad nuseum

• 95.cab: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-92:
    they cant, its against their policy, good god almighty the one player they did not want to lose.
    bladdy funny, they in deep **** i reckon.

• 96.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Kirchner replaces Steyn
    2011-10-01 21:14Email | Print

Cape Town – Blue Bulls fullback Zane Kirchner has been called up to the Springbok World Cup squad to replace the injured Frans Steyn who was ruled out of the Rugby World Cup on Saturday with a shoulder injury.

Kirchner confirmed the news to Sport24 and will travel to New Zealand to join up with the rest of the Springbok squad on Sunday.

“The call was unexpected, I was cleaning the patio so I was quite surprised when the phone rang. I don’t think it will sink in until I am over there in New Zealand but I am looking forward to it,” said Kirchner.

Kirchner started at fullback for the Blue Bulls in their victory over the Pumas on Friday night.

• 97.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-66:
    I have no clue why he was called up
    Better to have got another lock

• 98.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

KKK will be delighted.

apparently thats the mind of a ‘sports fan’.

• 99.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-91: I diffinitely dont hate the Boks . I respect them immensely and hold them and their rugby history in the highest regard . watch the clip Brussow deserved to be sent off

• 100.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

As Carter goes so do ABS He dictates the style and pattern of their play, and usually it runs very smoothly
    And on top of that they lose a very very reliable kicker
    This is a tough loss. Huge. Sorry Kiwis about this loss

• 101.DAS: Reply to this comment

Graham Henry’s press conference, just about nailed it. One of the greatest rugby players ever produced by NZ, this had been his focus the last two years, the only thing he doesn’t have is a WC trophy…and now it’s over.

• 102.whatever: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-99:

Try openning the other eye ******!

• 103.whatever: Reply to this comment

r e t a r d

• 104.cab: Reply to this comment

bugger the kiwis, we;ve lost 3 so far and maybe more key players to follow.

Juan Smith, Frans Steyn, Bekker, Vermeulen – Bakkies, Hougaard and Habana all in doubt.

History wont record who was injured, same as our injuries in 2010 – its who wins the thing.

• 105.spartan: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-94:Yes holding is cheating but in this day and age it doesnt excuse Brussow banging Williams dome Next time you watch the clip dont close your eyes when Brussow is raining blows down on the back of Williams head

• 106.DAS: Reply to this comment

It’s all going to come down to McCaw’s captaincy now. He’s certainly not 100% healthy and his form has shown that. But McCaw’s leadership, the respect the players have for him, and the mana he carries in the team have always been invaluable. That’s going to be put to the test now. He’s got to hold this group together.

• 107.cab: Reply to this comment

Mccaw is not the player he one was, we;ve got better looseforwards allround, if Alberts is selected over Spies.

• 108.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

It s not just Richie who is struggling with injury its Reid too

• 109.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-104:
    Yeah and we could have done with an extra lock, not Kirshner

• 110.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@DAS(DAS)-101: i actually really feel bad for Carter… such a great player, such a shame to miss out.

• 111.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-99: No he didn’t. He tried to free himself. End of discussion. First infringement… holding a defender, second… striking a defender. At no point did Brussow deserve to be sent off or penalised in any way. After trying to free himself he even signalled to the touch judge that he was being held, then the hit was seen clearly. It’s a case of a stupid Samoan being a typically poor sport, only it was one of the rare occassions when they actually get punished. Too bad. Now Smit, there is a guy who got a raw deal. Hand coming in under the ball in a scooping motion. He was never going to get hold of it, but he tried, particularly as he had two players outside him that would definitely have scored a try.

• 112.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@DAS(DAS)-106: McCaw has never delivered when the All Blacks are under pressure. He has no leadership qualities whatsoever, hence why he is so poor when Carter is missing. Carter, Smith and Mealamu are the only leaders in the team. McCaw is a reputation puffed up by years of All Black worship.

• 113.cab: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-109:
    probably right Coach, dont quite know why kirchner is needed with pienaar, de jong and aplon there – but maybe its cos hougaard and habana are touch and go – the two bif boys NZ and SA are dropping like flies, Oz got questions over Pocock and Moore, and England lost Sheridan. key players change the whole thing, make no mistake. this is by far the worst blow that could hit NZ.

• 114.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-113:
    Yes or at least Taute or Viljoen
    Yes injuries are affecting top sides
    As you said Pocock is so important to Aussies
    Carter a huge loss
    Steyn not as big a loss as Carter
    England ordinary Johnny looks crocked to
    France got moral and coaching issues

Anybody’s cup

• 115.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-113:
    Hougaard will have to sit out Ouarters
    Habanna not a huge loss
    Bakkies still a worry
    Matfield looked slow in 2nd half vs Samoa
    Hope JPP is ok

• 116.cab: Reply to this comment

Bring on the ABs after the Wobblies, ek se, back-to-back, i can see it now.

• 117.DAS: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-112: You’re simply wrong. Carter is the key to the All Blacks backline, but McCaw is equally as important to the team. Look at a match like last year in Sydney, ABs down what 3 tries? McCaw led the charge from the front, wouldn’t allow the belief to develop that the game was out of hand. Since 2007 he has improved immensely as an international captain. The respect for him by his fellow players is immeasurable.

• 118.cane: Reply to this comment

Oooooooh Noooooooooooo!

Please God strike Colin Slade down with a lightning bolt.

• 119.cab: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-115:
    Bakkies is key, we lose him, we dont get past ABs, cos he;s the only 4 who has Thorne;s no, they also have a monstrous set of tightfowards but woodcock dont have the dynamism of beast.

• 120.cab: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-118:
    lol, caner of all ppl, you losing it, next thing u in the bed next to popps…

• 121.cab: Reply to this comment

this is one of the greatest RWCs ever, oh the drama, cracker…cant wait.

must just concentrate on oz now, and this bugger is split wide open.

• 122.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

This WC is wide open. Only an A$$hole would bet against the Boks. Put in Alberts. Bring “Sies” on for impact. FFS. Alberts is a fu##en meat grinder. The Wallabies will k@k with himaround for 60 mins. It is time to repay Frans’s injury!

• 123.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-119:
    So we need to rest him for OZ ? Hard decision We basically need best teams from here on
    The thing is RM is also carrying that injury and Reid too
    There loss is bgger than bakkies for sure, if it happens
    Steyns loss not nearly as bad as ABS loss of Carter

• 124.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-111: Yeah he tried to free himself by smacking Williams in the back of the scone. then hitting him on the arm Sweet as bro you can lie to yourself all day long .

• 125.spartan: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-119: I believe Schalk Burger is the most influential Bok . He is the glue that binds SA without him this Bok pack would implode

• 126.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-122:
    Agreed 200 %
    but at same time I have changed my stand on Smit
    Matfield is no captain Smit a better leader
    Ok he is not Bismark but Bismark coming in after 50 min seems better
    Bismark when he started seemed to want to take on the whole samoan pack himself

• 127.cane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-121:

I wouldn’t mind so much if Henry and co now used Piri as their #1 1st 5/8.

But they won’t, they will stick with Slade.

• 128.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-125:
    yeah Skalk and Brussow playing great and doing Spies’s job :)

• 129.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Massive blow to the AB’s, but:

- I am not surprised at all, as Carter has been injury prone for some time
    - I would rather he went out early like this, than part way through a knockout game as in 2007.

I hope that Cruden is on the bench for the QF, as back up to Slade. While piri can cover that position, if we are behind with 30 mins to go, I would much rather see Cruden come on as his running game is electric. Far more likely to create something than Piri (or Slade).

Cruden’s main failing in 2010 was his lack of kicking distance from hand, and his short range as a goal kicker. 2011 Cruden has neither of those problems. He is also a lot more confident kind of a guy than Slade. So – I am bloody pleased they cut Carter out of the squad, and brought Cruden in.

We’ve just got to get on with it, just as the Boks and Aussies are. Injuries are part and parcel of the game, and it was foolish of us to build our game around one player.

• 130.cab: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-123:
    yes i suppose carter is bigger than Frans, but holy **** pete Frans was getting the Bok backline sparking and is the only player who can nail peanuts from 65m in, the other teams redzone was in disaaray with Frans on the park and the Boks looked a different animal, he’s defense was also more robust than devilliers, hje was ruling that midfield.

We also lost Juan and maybe Bakkies, those 3 are as big as Carter, the problem with the ABs is they got no-one vaguely prepped for it apart from Evan who they cant select. Cruden got more gumption that Slade, but both totally untested commodities who look prone to the infamous kiwi choke, got to be piri piri chicken weepu whose *** is way too slow or maybe even a gamble on dagg…

• 131.cane: Reply to this comment

Anyway,
    I gotta go,
    i have two wrists to slash.

• 132.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-125:

you are so f##ken right mate. Keeping the Bokkies on point.

• 133.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-126:

Another down to the wire insight. These are desperate days. Spot on, despite my malignancy. Mat-who?

• 134.cab: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-127:
    its funny was just thinking the same as you on piri, but agree they’ll gamble oin slade, poor young bugger, could pull it off i suppose, personally i;d go for someone like dagg. huge call, but he’s got that confidence, not sure slade has it, and piri;s a bit too safe and slow for the kiwi backline to release its talents. wtf am i doing, better shut me mouth, i want GH to pick slade…

• 135.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-130:
    as i predicted 3 weeks ago: we will lose 5 of our best, and win the WC…. on one condition: “Sies” does not start again!

• 136.cab: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-131:
    LMAO – Cane is emotional here. this is a first.

• 137.cab: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-135:
    u might be right jinxie2, but i just feel we need bakkies for nz.

• 138.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Alberts is going to rip the Wannabees a new a$$hole. Let this destroyer start!!!

• 139.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-130: Weepu is a prop :) Only reason he gets somewhere with the balls is him running sideways.
    And only reason he is in the squad is to lead the Haka :)
    Evans should have been there yes

I agree about how frans has improved out backline but
    Head to head Carter is the man he has everything and more
    More kicking points than maybe a few 65 meter kicks
    Runs the ABs
    Great defence
    great tactical kicking and decision maker

Just a huge loss for ABs

• 140.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@DAS(DAS)-117: No he hasn’t. Last year he was allowed to do whatever he wanted, just as he always had done. McCaw was no great player. I already posted a video of it here, was all the same garbage all year long. McCaw has no leadership skills and offers nothing as a player. No.16 though is his perfect foil, together they have formed a lethal partnership. But remember, it’s No.16 that is die baas .

• 141.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

This is awful, Carter gone! Rather cruden than slade, slade is too shaky, cruden has been sublime in the ITM cup, Ted must be thinking why didn’t I get nick Evans?!

• 142.cab: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-138:
    wish they’d listen to you, but its gonna be spies, suppose we must just support.

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-139:
    lol, he is a prop these days, definitely evans but they CANNOT select him such are there principles, they in deep kakkkas here pete, deep. Its HUGE!

• 143.spartan: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-139: Slades good enough he just needs to shake off that last bit of rust . By the end of the Canada game his engine should be running along smoothly

• 144.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-142:
    I guess it was a case of Super 15 loyalty maybe yes principals not going to help when you had a fantastic 10 sitting in England.
    I can just hear the Kiwi press laptops going as we speak asking that question

• 145.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-143:
    Canada yes
    Argies ?
    and then Oz or Bokke?

• 146.cab: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-144:
    if NZ lose this RWC, GH will be utterly blasted for not having developed a backup to Carter – possibly there only real glaring weakness, GH was praying for it not to happen and it has, the onyl other player with such a signficant drop-off is Thorne imo – otherwise they pretty much covered in every other position.

• 147.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-137:

We do need Bakkies 4 NZ. Just one half of Spionkop. But Alberts will get his day. PDivvy will see it in his eyes at training. This quiet fisherman is going to make the ghost of Hennie Muller proud. “out of my f#cken way! Pierre Spies”

• 148.spartan: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-145: Agreed
    Canada-yes

Argentina-yes

Semi- big big question mark

• 149.cab: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-147:
    Alberts is the only player in the Bok pack who gives go-forward, he;s essential and he;s tackle count is huge too, and yet astruse fok, who will we get, spies. pierre is trying alot harder and he;s a good player, but the pack needs alberts, he is the missing ingredient, he and bismarck in combination transform it from a mediocre into a worldbeating pack.

• 150.cab: Reply to this comment

Bismarck, Bakkies, Brussow and Alberts – thats how the Boks will win it, with those 4 in the same pack, the others are largely superflous imo.

• 151.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-149:
    Yes i agree with you and Jinx i have for some time
    Alberts should have started against Samoans
    His battering style, low body position gets him across the gain line
    Plus he can tackle :)
    Butch Should have started against Samoans, and climbed into a few of them

• 152.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-149: So far Alberts has amased very few tackles. He is not a player to get heavily involved in the game. He appears for the odd carry, but most are not that effective. Not the player I hoped he would be, not by a long way. Just a good player, nothing more then that. Nothing we couldn’t replace by something better.

• 153.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-150:
    Add Skalk and Guthro
    i have been impressed with Guthro and his work rate

• 154.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-149:

You put it more diplomaticaly, and you are right. Excuse my spelling. The night is young, the fire is building, and I am dreaming of the most fierce Bok pack in it’s history. Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Bakkies Botha, Guthro Steenkamp, Bismark du Plessis. Hierdie kerels weet presies hoe om papagaaie van die Wallabies te maak. In your FACE PDivvy!!!

• 155.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-153: Gurthro since 2010 has been astoundingly good. Just edges Beast. Was the Bok player of 2010 easily. had a very strong TNs that year and has been rock solid this year.

• 156.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Pack from now on, in a ideal world (and a captain)

1. Guthro
    2. Bismark
    3 Jannie Dup
    4. Bakkies
    5. Matfield (pull your finger out boet)
    6 Brussow
    7 Skalk
    8 Alberts

• 157.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-154:
    Fok we should be selectors :)

• 158.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-156:
    Ultimate!
    God bless all who come in their path.

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hey! where the hell is the argie/georgia thread?!!!!

• 160.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-155:
    Guthro maybe not quiet as good in scrums but better around the park
    and runs well with the ball in hand and makes a lot of tackles Beast sometimes dies with the ball

• 161.cab: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-152:
    mate i saw your stats the other day and was very surprised (where u get that stat from), he had massive workrate stats in the S15 for tackes made and meters gained, which is very surprusing considering he;s real strength lies not in the stats but in the momentum-changing ding-ding hits he puts in and the go-forward he gives the boks pack (think Wales and Nz when he played). You may have a point, but i think the Boks need that go-forward desperately, schalk does not have the body for it anymore and spies never had the mind for it when its gets nasty and tight. Willie A is a saffa version of the great Willy O, uitgeknip.

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-153:
    Schalk is still great, but its the dynamism of the other 4 that will drive us thru. Guthro and Beast both wordlcass, pick either and i;m happy, both cant go down with injury, nope its the other 4 that are key to the boks imo.

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-154:
    you put it more directly and correctly, you pick that pack and i want to see another side beat it.

• 162.cab: Reply to this comment

you put that lumbering thunderous boertjie on the end of the ball and godhelp the bugger who lines him up – he;s the one who shouldve been piling into samoans, not spies.

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

feel sorry for GH, that he has to beg the kiwi media to go easy on Slade nc nc nc

“ad.
    ”Colin Slade was selected as the
    No 2 five-eighth after Daniel. He
    hasn’t played a lot of footy, but he’s got a lot of ability,” a sombre looking Henry said.

“It’s important that he knows we have a lot of belief in him and I’d hope the media would show that as well.

”I can’t do your job for you but we need support here. It’s a big game for him this afternoon.”

• 164.Transformation: Reply to this comment

these argies are a shadow of the team that played in ’07

they are too much in a hurry and in the process playing georgia into the match…georgia gaining confidence every second

• 165.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-162:
    Those poe$te from Kon Tikki would be sitting in Groendakkies fighting over the next Walconol!

• 166.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

27 min
    Argies 0 Georgia 0

• 167.cab: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-165:
    :lol: **** this is getting exciting now.
    those blerry ozzies are clever tho.

• 168.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Seriaaasly. I may have to do a drive by in South central tonight :)

• 169.cab: Reply to this comment

argie go over eventually.

• 170.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hey Jinx this is for you :)

SPRINGBOK #rwc2011 PRAYER

Our Bokke,
    who art in New Zealand,
    rugby be thy game;
    Thy tries will come,
    the rugby world cup will be won,
    in 2011 as it was in 2007.
    Give us this day our penalties,
    and forgive Bakkies his trespasses
    and penalize those who trespass against us,
    lead us into celebration
    and deliver us from New Zealand,
    with the Webb Ellis Cup,
    the power and the glory!
    forever and ever,
    GOOOOOOOO, BOKKE!!!!!

• 171.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-170:
    Ourrrrrrrr – Men!

• 172.cab: Reply to this comment

helluva game this, georgia strike back 5-5

• 173.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Georgia doing a Tonga to Argies same colors too :)

• 174.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Half time Georgia 7 Argies 5

• 175.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

HAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

STEPHEN DONALD! STEPHEN DONALD! STEPHEN DONALD!!! WOOOOOOO

All we have to do is get past the Wallabies and we will now take this world cup.. for the 3rd time. boooyah.

About time. We have Botha, Smith and Steyn injured. So finally some luck goes out way.

• 176.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

It is so funny because yesterday theTackler was trying to be all cool coloured about it. “Yeah rest up Dan no need to risk you in the Canada match yeah”

Haha.

• 177.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

I wonder what Wayne smith will be telling slade now, Ted missed a trick by not bringing back nick Evans.

• 178.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-156: Come on Coach. Look at how Spies is playing. Don’t listen to what everyone tells you, and start looking at his contribution to the team. Why is it that he is STILL the first choice 8 by far? Because of good looks? His name? Why hasn’t any coach he’s played under, dropped him? Meyer, Ludeke, White, de Villiers. And then you can also add the forwards coach Gold, and now Rassie.

The whole Spies thing is getting stale. He IS our best 8, by a mile. Same with Morne Steyn. Go read what stuff..co.n? has to say about him. Changing peoples perceptions are hard, I know, but it is time.

Spies IS our best 8
    Steyn IS our best 10

• 179.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Now we just need Beale to get injured, then SA, NZ, and Aus are on par again.

• 180.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

How the hell can Hougaard be out? If anything he has a mild concussion. Doubt he’d have a broken cheekbone.

• 181.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Too much rugby from the SH this year thanks to that piece of shi-t dragged out super 15. I suspected the NH would have the edge. Hardly any NH injuries.

• 182.chch: Reply to this comment

Georgia playing really well now that they can give it there all.

I definitely see an argument that the draw has effected the standard from the minnow sides. Look what these guys can do when they do not have to worry about a game 3 days later. Things would have been more exciting with a more fair draw.

• 183.chch: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-182: there = their

• 184.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The knuckled head, stonewall attitude of GH and his cronies already amazed me a while ago
    The ABs have only one viable option at FH and that was Nick Evans and he is based abroad, there is not even ONE worthy FH in NZ rugby union system capable even remotely to substitute Carter in the likely event he is a write off.

• 185.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-13:

“The chances for NZ and SA to win are now massively reduced. I think the chances for Ireland, England and Wales getting to the final have just gone up by 40%”

How can that be? They aren’t on the same side of the draw. Whatever happens to SA, NZ, or Aus have no influence on their chances of reaching the final.

• 186.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-180:
    He got a heavy knock while on on the ground, a well aimed and timely whack that was designed to do just that: to knock him out

• 187.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Oh boy depression about to set in, I really hope slade steps up, or it could be four more years! I’m placing my faith in cruden to do the business.

• 188.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Who said Hougaard is out?

• 189.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-184: There is no replacement for Carter period . He is one of a kind . NZ can win this cup without DC but his absence has bought us back to even stevens with the other tri nats teams . Slade has the goods to guide us over the finishing line and comparing him to Carter is unfair .

• 190.chch: Reply to this comment

Wonder what the pecking order for 1st5 in the WC squad is now?
    Colin Slade
    Aaron Cruden
    Cory Jane
    Israel Dagg

I doubt Colin Slade would get 50% of the votes if you voted on those four. I do think he will go much better behind a superior pack than what GH played in South Africa for Colin Slade’s confidence builder.
    Colin Slade was fine before he was ever coached by Graham Henry.

• 191.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-189:
    With Evans I would have not revised my betting, not with Slade though
    Even Donald is a way better option than Slade, and Donald is really inadequate for that level

• 192.chch: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-190:
    Forgot Piri Weepu. We have 5 options.

• 193.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-190:

GH has won 87% of his games with the Ab’s give it a rest you farking one eyed Cantab, you’re probably secretly hoping Deans wins thats how pathetic the support is down there.

• 194.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-190:
    Slade and Cruden don’t have even 5 Tests between them!
    The ABs will live to regret the ban on Evans and Hayman, the Wallabies will pay dearly for not having Giteau in their team

• 195.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

We have a kiwi rumble!!!

• 196.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-195:

No rumbles mate if you have ever been to CHCH you’ll understand what I mean, half the fuckers are supporting the Wallabies because of Deans how pathetic.

• 197.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-191: This Canada game is make or break for Slade ,he has shown that he has a BMT ,lack of game-time has been his enemy ,nevertheless cometh the hour cometh the man and be assured he will be the man

• 198.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-196: Oh. Like half the Cape Townians supporting the AB’s.

• 199.chch: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-193:
    If NZ lose I am hoping that Deans wins. Supporting Kiwi’s, and a guy a grew up supporting. You are a demented forker. You always think this is some anti-Auckland plot.
    GH is from Canterbury so try not to have such an epileptic fit in the future

@Hondo(Hondo)-194:
    I think GH will prefer the Weepu option I think. He has experience at the position (was used during the Donald experiment).

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-196:
    If you have ever been to Auckland you will see that those forkers have trouble supporting any New Zealanders at all.

You are a sick fork China. So paranoid that every comment is anti-Auckland. just to make it easy for you the paragraph above actually was. Try to support something you miserable shite.

• 200.johnny utah: Reply to this comment

Odds translation is that NZ went from having a 62.5% chance to having a 55% chance of winning the cup. SA went from having an 8% chance to a 22% chance. Illustrates exactly how influential this is.

• 201.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-175: isn’t it a bit uncalled for to celebrate a player’s misfortune?

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-179: come on dude, u seriously can’t be wishing beale out…

• 202.chch: Reply to this comment

Losing Carter is like conceding on average 7 points more per game. His defensive and tactical ability will be missed. If GH plays Toeava is will be like conceding 7 more points. That is a big gap to make up.

• 203.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-199:

small minded people from a small village keep chipping away at GH i’m sure its a great way to support the Ab’s, Deans works for the enemy with a 50% win record he ain’t no messiah he’s a yellow belly

• 204.Nils: Reply to this comment

Huge hammer blow. Nevermind.

I can see okes like Kobus cheering for Poms in the final. ;)

• 205.chch: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-203:

See in your small (very very small) brain you have made the assumption that people from Canterbury are not first supporting the All Blacks.

Don’t come on here making these accusation just because you have a small brain.

In the rest of New Zealand we support New Zealanders. Actually I would say most/all Aucklanders do too. You are just a sad spiteful fork who doesn’t want to support someone who went to Australia.

• 206.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-205:

Have you got your Wallabies jersey under your bed just in case?

• 207.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-201: Come on dude, cry me a river. I never “wished” him out. Your a big boy, you know what I meant. Get real.

• 208.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-199: come on chch…no need for this..chill out 8)

• 209.chch: Reply to this comment

I am off to watch the ABs wearing my AB jersey because I support the ABs. I own no Wallaby gear as I do not support the Wallabies.

NZinChina is trying to turn this into a Cape Crusaders thing because he is a sad bitter forker who hates an ex-All Black because he came from Canterbury and got a job coaching Australia.

Don’t listen to his Cape Crusader crapp. He is full of shite

• 210.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-65: What nonsense! Carter pulled a tendon while doing some goalkicking practice. He’s not been “burnt out”. Just stepped badly and… wham! After all, poor old Andre Pretorius once did himself a season’s worth of damage simply by sitting awkwardly in his aeroplane seat…

• 211.chch: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-206:

And there you go you sad forker. After I wrote the post above I read this. This is the accusation NZinChina is trying to make. Just trying to promote hatred against New Zealanders far more loyal than he could ever be.

Fork off with your Auckland paranoia. You have been doing this for three years on here and you really need help.

• 212.chch: Reply to this comment

Weather for the Wales vs Fiji game will be very windy by the way. Should help nullify the effectiveness of any kicking and give Fiji more of a chance.

Supporting Fiji in that one.

• 213.nama1: Reply to this comment

Big blow for the World Cup in general and an even bigger blow for the All Blacks in particular.

• 214.nama1: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-212:
    Wales will moer Fiji 6-0, 6-0. :lol:

They play a good brand of rugby.

• 215.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-201:
    “isn’t it a bit uncalled for to celebrate a player’s misfortune?”

That’s just the way he rolls, boet. Did you not see him wishing for Spies to break his leg? Even although I don’t rate Spies as an international player, I would not wish that upon him. I’d rather wish (pray) that PdV drops him from the Bok side.

• 216.nama1: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-7:
    Three games (max) left for the Boks to play. In which of those do you see Kirchner as FB.

Remember we have Lambie, Aplon and Pienaar there already… at a push even M. Steyn.

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-15:
    “I truly hope he will be fired immediately if we are going home next week.”

Probably the most stupid comment re PdV in the past four years if you keep in mind that his contract will end after the RWC, or when the Boks exit the WC, and he already stated that he won’t apply for the job again.

• 217.kwas: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-216: With such a phenomenal record coaching the Boks for 4 years many a top club would be looking to sign the Snor.

• 218.Labok: Reply to this comment

Tackler won’t be heard from for another 4 years….

• 219.HHS: Reply to this comment

Carter has the JDV curse.
    Tough break for this great player.

• 220.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Labok(Labok)-218:
    So that looks like you are writing us off.
    All good.
    We just have to work harder now with our B team to win this RWC.

• 221.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Bad luck DC , AB’s will miss this bloke big time , just as we will miss FS , both teams now suffered huge losses

• 222.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-220: lol nice try there mate , trying to scale the underdog status?? :lol:

AB’s firm favourites , NO TEAM IS BUILT WITH 1 MAN

• 223.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-222:
    But we were told on this very site if we lose Carter we are gone, surley that hasnt changed has it?
    But it does not look promising with Slade to be honest. Piri is better than him.

• 224.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

I bet Dan Carter is faking his injury because he breaks down in knock out rugby and doesn’t want anything to do with it. The Quarter Final Crier.

• 225.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-224:
    I think hes on his way to SA to find you and ***** slap you and award you for being Keos best racist and biggest plonker award.
    Not many have taken both awards but you really deserve it……plonker

• 226.ufo: Reply to this comment

This is bad news for Dan, the ABs, New Zealand and the World Cup…

Great player and great guy never involved in any controversy… and as I said after the French game… he had perhaps his best game in several years…

great pity he’s out and the comp in the poorer for his absence…

commiserations to all the ABs supporters here on keo and in new zealand…

• 227.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-224: With the amount of vitriol in your comments I’m picking you’ve never played rugby .

• 228.spartan: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-226: Respect to you ufo respect.

• 229.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-223: DID YOU SEE ME SAY THAT??

• 230.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-226: agree 100%

• 231.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Big blow for the Kiwis.

For the sake of saving this rugby spectacle, I feel we must help. Perhaps we can loan them a flyhalf for their remaining games. I’ve already checked and Gaffie du Toit, Naas Olivier and Earl Rose are all available/

• 232.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229:
    DID YOU SEE ME ACCUSE YOU OF IT??
    Settle down, was only pointing it out.

• 233.ufo: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-228:

cool…

yes… the ABs will miss Dan… but not to the extent that it will realistically diminish their chances… Piri had a great game today and is an very good replacement… and the ABs have stars across the the park who will all help fill in any little gaps that may have ben left by Dan…

so although he’s a big loss… you AB supporters haven’t got anything to be too concerned about… you’re still the favourites by some margin and IF we meet you in the semi’s or IF aussie do… we’d both have to play outta our skins to subdue the ABs…!!

• 234.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-226:
    Cheers UFO

• 235.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-232: firstly sorry about the Caps , was an accident , 2ndly i am calm dude , no jumping to conclusions please :lol:

Lastly? surely ur big enough to understand that you cannot take anything said in here seriously ??

I mean was it not said in here just a short while ago that FS is fat useless blah blah blah??

and not that he is injured, and had proved what a few of us had been saying for a long time? shows you how stupid some are???

The Boks will miss FS big time , as will thr AB’s miss DC , but the teams will continue to fight

• 236.spartan: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-233: . Surely the loss of DC will see the ABs tighten their game right up unlike the way they played it today ,regardless of who it is I can only see the winner of the cup will come from our side of the draw

• 237.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-235:
    Yeah your right, dont take things to seriously on here.
    And agree. But i think Carter is a bigger loss to the ABs than FS is to the boks.
    I do rate FS as well but Carter ran the backline so much better than any of our fill ins, let alone what else he brings to that posistion.

• 238.ufo: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-236:

i don’t think they will spartan… the all blacks play the way the all blacks play… whoever is in the team… and i don’t think they’ll change that now… and would be unwise… with three games to play… to try and change the systems now… IMO

what i will say about the final is that only one of us SH teams can contest it… and whoever it is I wouldn’t assume ‘we’ will win it… anything can happen on the day and england is looking good, as are ireland and wales…

so IMO this thing is far from done and dusted… if i was a sensible person i’d put money on it being new zealand… but i’m not sensible and will be hoping like hell for the boks…!! ;)

• 239.spartan: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-238: I agree up to a certain point , they will be more direct in their approach and move the ball wide only when it is on as opposed to the willy nilly stuff going on today .

• 240.ufo: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-239:

yeah… today they were looser than they’d normally be…

• 241.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Don’t really rate what we have seen from the Poms this time. France are just horrible. Ireland or Wales to meet one of the SH teams in their first visit to the final will make a great conclusion to this RWC.

• 242.Labok: Reply to this comment

This is now the most open RWC we have ever seen – a team like Wales, the way they are playing, have a better shot than ever before.

• 243.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-146: who could/would be a back up to Carter? GH tried them all. Carter too far above anything on the planet, the rest all look the same.

You cant blame GH, he tried everything that was available. What would you have done?

• 244.Derrida: Reply to this comment

This is a massive massive blow. Make no mistake, the AB will still smash the Aussies or any NH opposition should it come to that. However, if they meet the Boks they will lose. Carter and Richie are the only players who have the ability to “invade the minds” of the Boks, much like Matfield, Brussouw and Frans can do to them. In general this is a serious pointer that the SH players are overplayed. Frans, Dan, Digby are out and it seems Richie, Matfield, Bakkies and Pocock are playing with injuries. Not ideal at all.

• 245.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Katman

Hahaha.

Earl Rose would be my pick. Anything to help a neighbour in need.

• 246.Sharptooth: Reply to this comment

UNBELIEVABLE! UNBELIEVABLE! UNBELIEVABLE!
    Tonga beating the frogs just got pushed into 2nd place on the 2011 RWC biggest upset list. DC out of the cup takes the price before the quarters are even decided.

• 247.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-225:

He beat Extra Testicular?! Impressive.

• 248.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Sad 4 Carter, but i dont think its the end of the world 4 the kiwis, have seen them still win with ease with out him.

I think our loss of Francie will have a bigger impact on our game then their loss of Carter.

• 249.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bad news for Dan and the team.

WC sort of lost its lustre now.

• 250.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-249: Only for pervy chicks.

• 251.willievz: Reply to this comment

This is terrible news. Many of my fellow countrymen will disagree, but I want to beat the very best at a WC.

This includes playing against Dan Carter.

This loss is a huge psychological blow for NZ.

Get well soon Dan.

• 252.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

Can you be more sorry for the guy?

An outstanding contributor to highest levels of the Game.
    One of the all time greats indisputably.

Highest point scorer in the history of test match rugby.
    29 test tries
    90% kick success at all RWCs
    World class tackler and distributor

He was dubbed Crown prince in 2005 against the British Lions.
    But you need to win a World Cup to be anointed the King…..

4 more years is a life sentence.

• 253.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-251: Hi Willie

I agree 100%. I really wanted the opportunity to test our best against the best that each team has to offer. That’s the spirit of competition.

Having said all that, each team is struggling with their own list of 1st choice players on the injury list.

NZ have Carter
    We have Steyn
    Aus have Samo

Them’s the breaks I guess.

• 254.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

What a pity to lose both Carter and Steyn. Huge losses to the tournament

• 255.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Sadly don’t think it will be the last of the big name injuries, just too much rugby at the moment

• 256.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-249: Time for SBW to step up I guess

• 257.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

As for the rumour that Hougaard is out of the World Cup, here’s a twetet from him:

“Hey tweeps! Don’t stress not going anywhere!! Don’t know where that came from! Feeling much better today..Thanx for all the support!!”

• 258.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-257:

Great news.

• 259.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

We lost Frans – massive; they lost Dan – massive – they cancel each other out and let a whole lot of pretenders in; anyone’s competition now …. but Boks have got to have a really good chance …

As a purist I would have preferred the injury to happen to neither – don’t like it when any rugby player gets injured – the Blacks with Carter and the Boks with Frans Steyn, in the semis: that’s the game the whole world was waiting for.

It will still be a helleva game but the general skill spectacle of both sides will be less; from a Bok perspective, big picture, the injury is good for our prospects and wtihout it I was very pessimistic the whole of yesterday.

Go Bokke – our forwards are something else.

• 260.cane: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-259:

No comparison J.B.

You have Jean to replace Franz.
    Jean considered by some, the best 12 in the world.

We have a no-body to replace Dan.

• 261.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

260.cane

I hear you mate – don’t get Waka Nathan going on this subject.

You make an interesting point which I will concede; throw in home advantage as a compensator and I would say that game is evens …

What’s the latest (and the truth) on Ritchie McCaw’s foot injury? To lose him on top of this equates to our loss of Bakkies, however. But probably more because he is the talismanic captain.

Nightmare thought: wouldn’t it suck if the Aussies squeezed through because of this?

• 262.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-260:
    A bit simplistic, but far from reality
    Styen snubbed PdV in 2010, made it clear he will only play if in the starting line up, the Boks management as fool as they are, did realise his importance and picked no other FB specialist in the RWC squad with Pienaar, Lambie and Hougaard as cover
    The ABs on the other hand snubbed Nick Evans even though they have no viable alternative, even partly to Dan Carter who always had a 70% probability to getting injured.
    Both teams have no substitutes for the injured players but at least the ABs had a risk mitigation with Evans,
    not anymore

• 263.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-262:
    Sometimes I’m convinced that you are from a totally other planet. :lol:

How do you get to some of your ideas?

• 264.Puma: Reply to this comment

Huge lose for Abs to lose Carter. Much like us losing Frans Steyn massive loss too.

Still hope for a Bok/AB semi. Would liked both teams to have had their best players but just not to be.

• 265.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

I love to have seen the Aus, boks, and AB’s with their full team compliments, now that would be a phenomenal QF and semi, effectively the finals. Bakkies, ioane, Steyn, Carter these are massive blows to the WC. I really feel for Carter this was his time to achieve the ultimate greatness!

• 266.danuk: Reply to this comment

@spartan(spartan)-124: Yes, your right Brussow was definitely the bad guy. Poor Williams. Must the the racist scum’s fault right?

• 267.danuk: Reply to this comment

That’s a pity for DC. A great player and will definitely have an effect on the AB game. Wonder if he will still get a medal if the ABs win. Typically it’s only for players in the squad?

• 268.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-257: That’s good news

• 269.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The word is schadenfreude… Just Reechies foot and then schadenfreude is complete.

• 270.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-260:

You’ve been spending too much time on this site, Caner; you appear to have caught a bad dose of whinguflenza. Cover your mouth when you wh’eeze, huh ?!

This AB team now realises they cant rely on 1 player. The players will step up to the plate. Seen it before, will see it again. Bunch of mongrels like Kaino and Woodcock and Mealamu and Thorn have the skills, experience and leadership to make Marmite of the opposition. The backs have skills laced with lightning. And the very second the gap opens in front of Super Slade, he’ll vaporise the cocky grins from opposition faces.

kia KAHA bro. Up your game.

Bring it !

• 271.YoMama: Reply to this comment

One down, one to go.

Game over, four more years.

What are you going to do about that now, Paddy?

• 272.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Absolute tragedy for Dan and now he may never get the opp. again. As for NZ and the AB’s, no doubt the loss is significant but we are a team and the All Blacks.
    If the loss of one man is going to decide our fate, we were never the team we thought we were in the first place.
    I would really like to see Piri take his spot and cowan move to 9, just the experience factor more than anything.
    Still we have the quarters and semi’s to go before we can get too worried. ;-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.