Carter out of World Cup
2 Oct 2011
Dan Carter has officially been ruled out of the World Cup because of injury.
Aaron Cruden will replace Carter.
All Blacks great Waka Nathan told premier New Zealand rugby site Rugbyheaven: ‘Christ, we’ve got problems … it’s bloody terrible.
‘He [Carter] would be a huge loss. But injuries are one of those things.’
Former All Blacks captain Taine Randell said Carter’s loss would have a massive impact on the side’s chances of success.
‘For us, he is crucial … Carter is probably the most important guy,’ Randell said.
‘I would still back the All Blacks but certainly not with the same confidence.’
Carter tore a groin muscle during a kicking drill at the captain’s run in preparation for Sunday’s match against Canada. Carter had just been named All Blacks captain for the first time in his career after Test centurion Richie McCaw withdrew because of ongoing problems to the foot injury that has hampered his season and tournament.
Both Nathan and Randell told Rugbyheaven they had concerns about Carter’s back-up, Canterbury’s Colin Slade.
Nathan said: ‘I’m not that much of a fan for Slade.
‘I would maybe even change [Piri] Weepu into first five. The drop in level to how Colin Slade operates is so big,’ said Randell. ‘That is why he [Carter] is so important to us.’
Slade was shocking in the 18-5 defeat against the Boks in Port Elizabeth and struggled as the starting option in the 83-8 win against Japan a fortnight ago. Cruden was the form flyhalf in the domestic ITM Cup, but his Test debut against the Wallabies in Sydney last year was not as flash.
Henry appeared to groom Cruden, then just 20, as Carter’s understudy in 2010 with performances against Wales and Australia, but did not take him on the end of year tour, preferring to play Stephen Donald. This proved disastrous. In 2011 Slade, despite limited Super Rugby game time because of injury, was the go to man.
The best option outside of Carter is London-based Nick Evans, but the New Zealand Rugby Union policy is no player will be selected for the All Blacks unless he is playing out of New Zealand. This rules out Evans as it did tighthead Carl Hayman, who plays for Toulon.
Carter’s withdrawal from the tournament has narrowed the odds on a New Zealand victory and improved the price on one of South Africa or Australia winning the tournament.

272 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
2 Oct 2011, 02:10 am
@cab(cab)-149:
Yes i agree with you and Jinx i have for some time
Alberts should have started against Samoans
His battering style, low body position gets him across the gain line
Plus he can tackle
Butch Should have started against Samoans, and climbed into a few of them
2 Oct 2011, 02:12 am
@cab(cab)-149: So far Alberts has amased very few tackles. He is not a player to get heavily involved in the game. He appears for the odd carry, but most are not that effective. Not the player I hoped he would be, not by a long way. Just a good player, nothing more then that. Nothing we couldn’t replace by something better.
@cab(cab)-150:
Add Skalk and Guthro
i have been impressed with Guthro and his work rate
@cab(cab)-149:
You put it more diplomaticaly, and you are right. Excuse my spelling. The night is young, the fire is building, and I am dreaming of the most fierce Bok pack in it’s history. Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Bakkies Botha, Guthro Steenkamp, Bismark du Plessis. Hierdie kerels weet presies hoe om papagaaie van die Wallabies te maak. In your FACE PDivvy!!!
2 Oct 2011, 02:13 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-153: Gurthro since 2010 has been astoundingly good. Just edges Beast. Was the Bok player of 2010 easily. had a very strong TNs that year and has been rock solid this year.
2 Oct 2011, 02:14 am
Pack from now on, in a ideal world (and a captain)
1. Guthro
2. Bismark
3 Jannie Dup
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield (pull your finger out boet)
6 Brussow
7 Skalk
8 Alberts
2 Oct 2011, 02:15 am
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-154:
Fok we should be selectors
2 Oct 2011, 02:16 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-156:
Ultimate!
God bless all who come in their path.
2 Oct 2011, 02:17 am
hey! where the hell is the argie/georgia thread?!!!!
2 Oct 2011, 02:17 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-155:
Guthro maybe not quiet as good in scrums but better around the park
and runs well with the ball in hand and makes a lot of tackles Beast sometimes dies with the ball
2 Oct 2011, 02:20 am
@Alucard(Alucard)-152:
mate i saw your stats the other day and was very surprised (where u get that stat from), he had massive workrate stats in the S15 for tackes made and meters gained, which is very surprusing considering he;s real strength lies not in the stats but in the momentum-changing ding-ding hits he puts in and the go-forward he gives the boks pack (think Wales and Nz when he played). You may have a point, but i think the Boks need that go-forward desperately, schalk does not have the body for it anymore and spies never had the mind for it when its gets nasty and tight. Willie A is a saffa version of the great Willy O, uitgeknip.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-153:
Schalk is still great, but its the dynamism of the other 4 that will drive us thru. Guthro and Beast both wordlcass, pick either and i;m happy, both cant go down with injury, nope its the other 4 that are key to the boks imo.
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-154:
you put it more directly and correctly, you pick that pack and i want to see another side beat it.
2 Oct 2011, 02:25 am
you put that lumbering thunderous boertjie on the end of the ball and godhelp the bugger who lines him up – he;s the one who shouldve been piling into samoans, not spies.
2 Oct 2011, 02:29 am
feel sorry for GH, that he has to beg the kiwi media to go easy on Slade nc nc nc
“ad.
”Colin Slade was selected as the
No 2 five-eighth after Daniel. He
hasn’t played a lot of footy, but he’s got a lot of ability,” a sombre looking Henry said.
“It’s important that he knows we have a lot of belief in him and I’d hope the media would show that as well.
”I can’t do your job for you but we need support here. It’s a big game for him this afternoon.”
2 Oct 2011, 02:32 am
these argies are a shadow of the team that played in ’07
they are too much in a hurry and in the process playing georgia into the match…georgia gaining confidence every second
2 Oct 2011, 02:33 am
@cab(cab)-162:
Those poe$te from Kon Tikki would be sitting in Groendakkies fighting over the next Walconol!
2 Oct 2011, 02:33 am
27 min
Argies 0 Georgia 0
2 Oct 2011, 02:35 am
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-165:
**** this is getting exciting now.
those blerry ozzies are clever tho.
2 Oct 2011, 02:37 am
Seriaaasly. I may have to do a drive by in South central tonight
2 Oct 2011, 02:39 am
argie go over eventually.
2 Oct 2011, 02:42 am
Hey Jinx this is for you
SPRINGBOK #rwc2011 PRAYER
Our Bokke,
who art in New Zealand,
rugby be thy game;
Thy tries will come,
the rugby world cup will be won,
in 2011 as it was in 2007.
Give us this day our penalties,
and forgive Bakkies his trespasses
and penalize those who trespass against us,
lead us into celebration
and deliver us from New Zealand,
with the Webb Ellis Cup,
the power and the glory!
forever and ever,
GOOOOOOOO, BOKKE!!!!!
2 Oct 2011, 02:44 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-170:
Ourrrrrrrr – Men!
2 Oct 2011, 02:46 am
helluva game this, georgia strike back 5-5
2 Oct 2011, 02:46 am
Georgia doing a Tonga to Argies same colors too
2 Oct 2011, 02:50 am
Half time Georgia 7 Argies 5
2 Oct 2011, 02:53 am
HAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!
STEPHEN DONALD! STEPHEN DONALD! STEPHEN DONALD!!! WOOOOOOO
All we have to do is get past the Wallabies and we will now take this world cup.. for the 3rd time. boooyah.
About time. We have Botha, Smith and Steyn injured. So finally some luck goes out way.
2 Oct 2011, 02:54 am
It is so funny because yesterday theTackler was trying to be all cool coloured about it. “Yeah rest up Dan no need to risk you in the Canada match yeah”
Haha.
2 Oct 2011, 02:54 am
I wonder what Wayne smith will be telling slade now, Ted missed a trick by not bringing back nick Evans.
2 Oct 2011, 02:59 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-156: Come on Coach. Look at how Spies is playing. Don’t listen to what everyone tells you, and start looking at his contribution to the team. Why is it that he is STILL the first choice 8 by far? Because of good looks? His name? Why hasn’t any coach he’s played under, dropped him? Meyer, Ludeke, White, de Villiers. And then you can also add the forwards coach Gold, and now Rassie.
The whole Spies thing is getting stale. He IS our best 8, by a mile. Same with Morne Steyn. Go read what stuff..co.n? has to say about him. Changing peoples perceptions are hard, I know, but it is time.
Spies IS our best 8
Steyn IS our best 10
2 Oct 2011, 03:00 am
Now we just need Beale to get injured, then SA, NZ, and Aus are on par again.
2 Oct 2011, 03:01 am
How the hell can Hougaard be out? If anything he has a mild concussion. Doubt he’d have a broken cheekbone.
2 Oct 2011, 03:02 am
Too much rugby from the SH this year thanks to that piece of shi-t dragged out super 15. I suspected the NH would have the edge. Hardly any NH injuries.
2 Oct 2011, 03:05 am
Georgia playing really well now that they can give it there all.
I definitely see an argument that the draw has effected the standard from the minnow sides. Look what these guys can do when they do not have to worry about a game 3 days later. Things would have been more exciting with a more fair draw.
2 Oct 2011, 03:05 am
@chch(chch)-182: there = their
2 Oct 2011, 03:06 am
The knuckled head, stonewall attitude of GH and his cronies already amazed me a while ago
The ABs have only one viable option at FH and that was Nick Evans and he is based abroad, there is not even ONE worthy FH in NZ rugby union system capable even remotely to substitute Carter in the likely event he is a write off.
2 Oct 2011, 03:07 am
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-13:
“The chances for NZ and SA to win are now massively reduced. I think the chances for Ireland, England and Wales getting to the final have just gone up by 40%”
How can that be? They aren’t on the same side of the draw. Whatever happens to SA, NZ, or Aus have no influence on their chances of reaching the final.
2 Oct 2011, 03:10 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-180:
He got a heavy knock while on on the ground, a well aimed and timely whack that was designed to do just that: to knock him out
2 Oct 2011, 03:10 am
Oh boy depression about to set in, I really hope slade steps up, or it could be four more years! I’m placing my faith in cruden to do the business.
2 Oct 2011, 03:12 am
Who said Hougaard is out?
2 Oct 2011, 03:15 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-184: There is no replacement for Carter period . He is one of a kind . NZ can win this cup without DC but his absence has bought us back to even stevens with the other tri nats teams . Slade has the goods to guide us over the finishing line and comparing him to Carter is unfair .
2 Oct 2011, 03:16 am
Wonder what the pecking order for 1st5 in the WC squad is now?
Colin Slade
Aaron Cruden
Cory Jane
Israel Dagg
I doubt Colin Slade would get 50% of the votes if you voted on those four. I do think he will go much better behind a superior pack than what GH played in South Africa for Colin Slade’s confidence builder.
Colin Slade was fine before he was ever coached by Graham Henry.
2 Oct 2011, 03:18 am
@spartan(spartan)-189:
With Evans I would have not revised my betting, not with Slade though
Even Donald is a way better option than Slade, and Donald is really inadequate for that level
2 Oct 2011, 03:21 am
@chch(chch)-190:
Forgot Piri Weepu. We have 5 options.
2 Oct 2011, 03:22 am
@chch(chch)-190:
GH has won 87% of his games with the Ab’s give it a rest you farking one eyed Cantab, you’re probably secretly hoping Deans wins thats how pathetic the support is down there.
2 Oct 2011, 03:23 am
@chch(chch)-190:
Slade and Cruden don’t have even 5 Tests between them!
The ABs will live to regret the ban on Evans and Hayman, the Wallabies will pay dearly for not having Giteau in their team
2 Oct 2011, 03:23 am
We have a kiwi rumble!!!
2 Oct 2011, 03:27 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-195:
No rumbles mate if you have ever been to CHCH you’ll understand what I mean, half the fuckers are supporting the Wallabies because of Deans how pathetic.
2 Oct 2011, 03:32 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-191: This Canada game is make or break for Slade ,he has shown that he has a BMT ,lack of game-time has been his enemy ,nevertheless cometh the hour cometh the man and be assured he will be the man
2 Oct 2011, 03:33 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-196: Oh. Like half the Cape Townians supporting the AB’s.
2 Oct 2011, 03:36 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-193:
If NZ lose I am hoping that Deans wins. Supporting Kiwi’s, and a guy a grew up supporting. You are a demented forker. You always think this is some anti-Auckland plot.
GH is from Canterbury so try not to have such an epileptic fit in the future
@Hondo(Hondo)-194:
I think GH will prefer the Weepu option I think. He has experience at the position (was used during the Donald experiment).
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-196:
If you have ever been to Auckland you will see that those forkers have trouble supporting any New Zealanders at all.
You are a sick fork China. So paranoid that every comment is anti-Auckland. just to make it easy for you the paragraph above actually was. Try to support something you miserable shite.
2 Oct 2011, 03:44 am
Odds translation is that NZ went from having a 62.5% chance to having a 55% chance of winning the cup. SA went from having an 8% chance to a 22% chance. Illustrates exactly how influential this is.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All