Carter out of World Cup
2 Oct 2011
Dan Carter has officially been ruled out of the World Cup because of injury.
Aaron Cruden will replace Carter.
All Blacks great Waka Nathan told premier New Zealand rugby site Rugbyheaven: ‘Christ, we’ve got problems … it’s bloody terrible.
‘He [Carter] would be a huge loss. But injuries are one of those things.’
Former All Blacks captain Taine Randell said Carter’s loss would have a massive impact on the side’s chances of success.
‘For us, he is crucial … Carter is probably the most important guy,’ Randell said.
‘I would still back the All Blacks but certainly not with the same confidence.’
Carter tore a groin muscle during a kicking drill at the captain’s run in preparation for Sunday’s match against Canada. Carter had just been named All Blacks captain for the first time in his career after Test centurion Richie McCaw withdrew because of ongoing problems to the foot injury that has hampered his season and tournament.
Both Nathan and Randell told Rugbyheaven they had concerns about Carter’s back-up, Canterbury’s Colin Slade.
Nathan said: ‘I’m not that much of a fan for Slade.
‘I would maybe even change [Piri] Weepu into first five. The drop in level to how Colin Slade operates is so big,’ said Randell. ‘That is why he [Carter] is so important to us.’
Slade was shocking in the 18-5 defeat against the Boks in Port Elizabeth and struggled as the starting option in the 83-8 win against Japan a fortnight ago. Cruden was the form flyhalf in the domestic ITM Cup, but his Test debut against the Wallabies in Sydney last year was not as flash.
Henry appeared to groom Cruden, then just 20, as Carter’s understudy in 2010 with performances against Wales and Australia, but did not take him on the end of year tour, preferring to play Stephen Donald. This proved disastrous. In 2011 Slade, despite limited Super Rugby game time because of injury, was the go to man.
The best option outside of Carter is London-based Nick Evans, but the New Zealand Rugby Union policy is no player will be selected for the All Blacks unless he is playing out of New Zealand. This rules out Evans as it did tighthead Carl Hayman, who plays for Toulon.
Carter’s withdrawal from the tournament has narrowed the odds on a New Zealand victory and improved the price on one of South Africa or Australia winning the tournament.

272 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
2 Oct 2011, 03:48 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-175: isn’t it a bit uncalled for to celebrate a player’s misfortune?
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-179: come on dude, u seriously can’t be wishing beale out…
2 Oct 2011, 03:48 am
Losing Carter is like conceding on average 7 points more per game. His defensive and tactical ability will be missed. If GH plays Toeava is will be like conceding 7 more points. That is a big gap to make up.
2 Oct 2011, 03:49 am
@chch(chch)-199:
small minded people from a small village keep chipping away at GH i’m sure its a great way to support the Ab’s, Deans works for the enemy with a 50% win record he ain’t no messiah he’s a yellow belly
2 Oct 2011, 03:51 am
Huge hammer blow. Nevermind.
I can see okes like Kobus cheering for Poms in the final.
2 Oct 2011, 03:52 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-203:
See in your small (very very small) brain you have made the assumption that people from Canterbury are not first supporting the All Blacks.
Don’t come on here making these accusation just because you have a small brain.
In the rest of New Zealand we support New Zealanders. Actually I would say most/all Aucklanders do too. You are just a sad spiteful fork who doesn’t want to support someone who went to Australia.
2 Oct 2011, 03:53 am
@chch(chch)-205:
Have you got your Wallabies jersey under your bed just in case?
2 Oct 2011, 03:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-201: Come on dude, cry me a river. I never “wished” him out. Your a big boy, you know what I meant. Get real.
2 Oct 2011, 03:55 am
@chch(chch)-199: come on chch…no need for this..chill out 8)
2 Oct 2011, 03:56 am
I am off to watch the ABs wearing my AB jersey because I support the ABs. I own no Wallaby gear as I do not support the Wallabies.
NZinChina is trying to turn this into a Cape Crusaders thing because he is a sad bitter forker who hates an ex-All Black because he came from Canterbury and got a job coaching Australia.
Don’t listen to his Cape Crusader crapp. He is full of shite
2 Oct 2011, 03:57 am
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-65: What nonsense! Carter pulled a tendon while doing some goalkicking practice. He’s not been “burnt out”. Just stepped badly and… wham! After all, poor old Andre Pretorius once did himself a season’s worth of damage simply by sitting awkwardly in his aeroplane seat…
2 Oct 2011, 03:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-206:
And there you go you sad forker. After I wrote the post above I read this. This is the accusation NZinChina is trying to make. Just trying to promote hatred against New Zealanders far more loyal than he could ever be.
Fork off with your Auckland paranoia. You have been doing this for three years on here and you really need help.
2 Oct 2011, 04:05 am
Weather for the Wales vs Fiji game will be very windy by the way. Should help nullify the effectiveness of any kicking and give Fiji more of a chance.
Supporting Fiji in that one.
2 Oct 2011, 04:17 am
Big blow for the World Cup in general and an even bigger blow for the All Blacks in particular.
2 Oct 2011, 04:20 am
@chch(chch)-212:
Wales will moer Fiji 6-0, 6-0.
They play a good brand of rugby.
2 Oct 2011, 04:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-201:
“isn’t it a bit uncalled for to celebrate a player’s misfortune?”
That’s just the way he rolls, boet. Did you not see him wishing for Spies to break his leg? Even although I don’t rate Spies as an international player, I would not wish that upon him. I’d rather wish (pray) that PdV drops him from the Bok side.
2 Oct 2011, 05:02 am
@gecko(gecko)-7:
Three games (max) left for the Boks to play. In which of those do you see Kirchner as FB.
Remember we have Lambie, Aplon and Pienaar there already… at a push even M. Steyn.
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-15:
“I truly hope he will be fired immediately if we are going home next week.”
Probably the most stupid comment re PdV in the past four years if you keep in mind that his contract will end after the RWC, or when the Boks exit the WC, and he already stated that he won’t apply for the job again.
2 Oct 2011, 05:14 am
@nama1(nama1)-216: With such a phenomenal record coaching the Boks for 4 years many a top club would be looking to sign the Snor.
2 Oct 2011, 06:25 am
Tackler won’t be heard from for another 4 years….
2 Oct 2011, 06:52 am
Carter has the JDV curse.
Tough break for this great player.
2 Oct 2011, 06:53 am
@Labok(Labok)-218:
So that looks like you are writing us off.
All good.
We just have to work harder now with our B team to win this RWC.
2 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
Bad luck DC , AB’s will miss this bloke big time , just as we will miss FS , both teams now suffered huge losses
2 Oct 2011, 06:58 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-220: lol nice try there mate , trying to scale the underdog status??
AB’s firm favourites , NO TEAM IS BUILT WITH 1 MAN
2 Oct 2011, 07:01 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-222:
But we were told on this very site if we lose Carter we are gone, surley that hasnt changed has it?
But it does not look promising with Slade to be honest. Piri is better than him.
2 Oct 2011, 07:02 am
I bet Dan Carter is faking his injury because he breaks down in knock out rugby and doesn’t want anything to do with it. The Quarter Final Crier.
2 Oct 2011, 07:04 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-224:
I think hes on his way to SA to find you and ***** slap you and award you for being Keos best racist and biggest plonker award.
Not many have taken both awards but you really deserve it……plonker
2 Oct 2011, 07:14 am
This is bad news for Dan, the ABs, New Zealand and the World Cup…
Great player and great guy never involved in any controversy… and as I said after the French game… he had perhaps his best game in several years…
great pity he’s out and the comp in the poorer for his absence…
commiserations to all the ABs supporters here on keo and in new zealand…
2 Oct 2011, 07:14 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-224: With the amount of vitriol in your comments I’m picking you’ve never played rugby .
2 Oct 2011, 07:16 am
@ufo(ufo)-226: Respect to you ufo respect.
2 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-223: DID YOU SEE ME SAY THAT??
2 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
@ufo(ufo)-226: agree 100%
2 Oct 2011, 07:22 am
Big blow for the Kiwis.
For the sake of saving this rugby spectacle, I feel we must help. Perhaps we can loan them a flyhalf for their remaining games. I’ve already checked and Gaffie du Toit, Naas Olivier and Earl Rose are all available/
2 Oct 2011, 07:23 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229:
DID YOU SEE ME ACCUSE YOU OF IT??
Settle down, was only pointing it out.
2 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
@spartan(spartan)-228:
cool…
yes… the ABs will miss Dan… but not to the extent that it will realistically diminish their chances… Piri had a great game today and is an very good replacement… and the ABs have stars across the the park who will all help fill in any little gaps that may have ben left by Dan…
so although he’s a big loss… you AB supporters haven’t got anything to be too concerned about… you’re still the favourites by some margin and IF we meet you in the semi’s or IF aussie do… we’d both have to play outta our skins to subdue the ABs…!!
2 Oct 2011, 07:26 am
@ufo(ufo)-226:
Cheers UFO
2 Oct 2011, 07:43 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-232: firstly sorry about the Caps , was an accident , 2ndly i am calm dude , no jumping to conclusions please
Lastly? surely ur big enough to understand that you cannot take anything said in here seriously ??
I mean was it not said in here just a short while ago that FS is fat useless blah blah blah??
and not that he is injured, and had proved what a few of us had been saying for a long time? shows you how stupid some are???
The Boks will miss FS big time , as will thr AB’s miss DC , but the teams will continue to fight
2 Oct 2011, 07:44 am
@ufo(ufo)-233: . Surely the loss of DC will see the ABs tighten their game right up unlike the way they played it today ,regardless of who it is I can only see the winner of the cup will come from our side of the draw
2 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-235:
Yeah your right, dont take things to seriously on here.
And agree. But i think Carter is a bigger loss to the ABs than FS is to the boks.
I do rate FS as well but Carter ran the backline so much better than any of our fill ins, let alone what else he brings to that posistion.
2 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@spartan(spartan)-236:
i don’t think they will spartan… the all blacks play the way the all blacks play… whoever is in the team… and i don’t think they’ll change that now… and would be unwise… with three games to play… to try and change the systems now… IMO
what i will say about the final is that only one of us SH teams can contest it… and whoever it is I wouldn’t assume ‘we’ will win it… anything can happen on the day and england is looking good, as are ireland and wales…
so IMO this thing is far from done and dusted… if i was a sensible person i’d put money on it being new zealand… but i’m not sensible and will be hoping like hell for the boks…!!
2 Oct 2011, 08:09 am
@ufo(ufo)-238: I agree up to a certain point , they will be more direct in their approach and move the ball wide only when it is on as opposed to the willy nilly stuff going on today .
2 Oct 2011, 08:12 am
@spartan(spartan)-239:
yeah… today they were looser than they’d normally be…
2 Oct 2011, 08:13 am
Don’t really rate what we have seen from the Poms this time. France are just horrible. Ireland or Wales to meet one of the SH teams in their first visit to the final will make a great conclusion to this RWC.
2 Oct 2011, 08:25 am
This is now the most open RWC we have ever seen – a team like Wales, the way they are playing, have a better shot than ever before.
2 Oct 2011, 08:32 am
@cab(cab)-146: who could/would be a back up to Carter? GH tried them all. Carter too far above anything on the planet, the rest all look the same.
You cant blame GH, he tried everything that was available. What would you have done?
2 Oct 2011, 08:39 am
This is a massive massive blow. Make no mistake, the AB will still smash the Aussies or any NH opposition should it come to that. However, if they meet the Boks they will lose. Carter and Richie are the only players who have the ability to “invade the minds” of the Boks, much like Matfield, Brussouw and Frans can do to them. In general this is a serious pointer that the SH players are overplayed. Frans, Dan, Digby are out and it seems Richie, Matfield, Bakkies and Pocock are playing with injuries. Not ideal at all.
2 Oct 2011, 08:39 am
Katman
Hahaha.
Earl Rose would be my pick. Anything to help a neighbour in need.
2 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
UNBELIEVABLE! UNBELIEVABLE! UNBELIEVABLE!
Tonga beating the frogs just got pushed into 2nd place on the 2011 RWC biggest upset list. DC out of the cup takes the price before the quarters are even decided.
2 Oct 2011, 09:01 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-225:
He beat Extra Testicular?! Impressive.
2 Oct 2011, 09:14 am
Sad 4 Carter, but i dont think its the end of the world 4 the kiwis, have seen them still win with ease with out him.
I think our loss of Francie will have a bigger impact on our game then their loss of Carter.
2 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
Bad news for Dan and the team.
WC sort of lost its lustre now.
2 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-249: Only for pervy chicks.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All