Boks get Bryce

New Zealand’s Bryce Lawrence will referee South Africa’s World Cup quarter-final against Australia in Wellington on Sunday.

Lawrence was in charge when Ireland beat Australia in the Pool Stages earlier in the tournament. He was particularly severe on the Australian scrum.

South African Craig Joubert will whistle the opening quarter-final between Wales and Ireland. Steve Walsh will officiate England v France in Auckland at 20:30.

10 Referees and two TMOs retained for knockout matches

A panel of 10 Referees and two specialist Television Match Officials (TMO) have been selected from the panel of 21 officials in action during the Pool Stages.

Nigel Owens, despite the Samoan criticism of his performance in the match involving the Boks, has also been retained and will referee New Zealand’s match against Argentina.

Full referee play-off list
Wayne Barnes (England), George Clancy (Ireland), Craig Joubert (South Africa), Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa), Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Nigel Owens (Wales), Dave Pearson (England), Romain Poite (France), Alain Rolland (Ireland) and Steve Walsh (Australia) will perform Referee and Assistant Referee duties. Giulio De Santis (Italy) and Shaun Veldsman (South Africa) have been selected as the two specialist TMOs.