Goodbye to the minnows; hello to the madness

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes if drama’s your game, don’t go anywhere in the next three weekends.

After 48 of the most dramatic hours ever experienced at a Rugby World Cup, we finally have a competition that demands that you don’t go anywhere for the next three weekends. Goodbye to the minnows and hello to the madness of knockout rugby.

Typically, France gave us an appetiser of the madness of which they are capable. Their players simply did not pitch for a pool match they could afford to lose (and still qualify for the last eight) in protest over their fractious relationship with coach Marc Lievremont. They lost to Tonga. Lievremont said he was ashamed of the performance and admitted the players refused to engage in a bonding session.

New Zealand rugby royalty Dan Carter tore his groin muscle in a kicking drill on Saturday afternoon and the mood among locals was sombre and more applicable to when a nation mourns a popular head of state. If you happen to have been on a space shuttle, Carter, the game’s most complete flyhalf and New Zealand’s master conductor, is out of the World Cup. It is New Zealand’s worst rugby nightmare and there may now not even be an occasion for these men in black to choke.

With Carter at No10 they led the World Cup pack. Without him the All Blacks are just one of the championship-chasing pack. They would get past the Pumas even if Carter’s grandmother was at flyhalf, but getting beyond the semifinals will need a flyhalf more capable than his understudy, Colin Slade.

The All Blacks, with Carter gone and Richie McCaw on one leg, are officially in another World Cup crisis. At least they can take comfort that next year they will be unbeatable again and Carter won’t get one injury.

Some things are meant to be. The All Blacks have a World Cup curse and England a World Cup Fairy Godmother. New Zealand just can’t seem to keep it together or get it together.

England can do as they please, play as they please and pick as many plodders as they please. They’ve tossed a few dwarfs around in Dunedin, gone on the piss, admitted to switching match balls to give their struggling goal-kicking ace Jonny Wilkinson an advantage, and coach Martin Johnson acknowledged reprimanding three players who lured a hotel worker to their rooms and made suggestive comments about wanting oral sex. The only thing the England players and coaching staff have not admitted to is playing turgid rugby.

The International Rugby Board (IRB) sanction has been a “don’t do it again … now get on and win this bloody thing for us old farts in the Northern Hemisphere” before turning its full attention to the hideous crime of a Samoan player wearing a gum guard that contravened official tournament sponsorship rules.

The offence was deemed so serious that the team was fined NZ$10000, and worse was to follow for the Samoans after controversial centre Eliota Fuimaono Sapolu called Welsh referee Nigel Owens a prick, a racist and an elitist who favoured the Springboks in Samoa’s 13-5 defeat.

Sapolu tweeted that he would love to meet IRB members on the street and said the game’s administration was protecting the big five and the wealthy. He also confirmed his retirement from international rugby, arguing there was no point to it if you were a tier-two nation.

The IRB have confirmed a hearing. Toss around a dwarf and illegally switch match balls during play, but just don’t call the IRB an elite organisation.

When Samoa and Fiji played at Eden Park a fortnight ago they smashed each other for 80 minutes, then gathered in prayer as a band of Pacific Island brothers. On Friday night after the most brutal of matches against the Boks there was nothing more than a grudging Samoan handshake.

The Samoan captain spoke of referee bias and Bok captain Victor Matfield expressed disgust at the Samoan off-the- ball thuggery.

Frans Steyn, colossal all tournament, legally smashed into Samoans all night but his shoulder proved more brittle than brutal and he’s out of the World Cup.

Scotland, needing to beat England by eight points, led 12-3 in the second half before losing 16-12 to Chris Ashton’s 78th- minute match-winning try.

Wilkinson missed his first three penalty attempts and missed a left-footed drop goal from right in front. Madness.

And for 55 minutes Georgia led Argentina 7-5. Not quite madness, but a contender.

The Canadians even led the All Blacks 3-0 for three minutes. Definite madness.

What more, asked everyone? Surely an Italian win against Ireland to seal the most dramatic conclusion to the 40- match round robin stage.

Come on Italy, screamed every South African. Say what they may publicly, the Boks would much have preferred the Irish as quarterfinal opponents.

It was not to be. Instead they have the Tri-Nations champions Australia to beat to make it to Eden Park for the first time in this tournament.

If you are planning on going anywhere on Sunday, pick a church to offer thanks or for a World Cup mourning.

I’d suggest it is safer just not going anywhere. The 2011 Rugby World Cup is officially open.

397 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

• 201.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Hougaard must NOT play at wing he must replace FDP at scrum half.. the pity is he has been concussed and once that has happened no player has quite the same devil may care balls to the wall aggression as before… the dumb idiots who played him off wing before when he should have played at 9 vs Samoa from kick off..

F. Steyn should have been pulled earlier for J de Jongh and that is 2 players who would have been saved injuries..

As for the Smit going to start vs Aussie.. thats it I doubt we stand a chance now.. they have actually sunk our chances before we start…

And please don’t come crying after the fact has been confirmed as true because the tears will be totally wasted then…

• 202.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

You finally krap the coolly creeper aus HG how come it took you that long?

• 203.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

NZ are still favourites, Carter or no Carter.

England… Well Mark summed it up, they just have a knack to do well in this event, they now how to win games that count.

Ireland are my dark horses (if only to reach the final), this Irish team has experience, and belief – a dangerous combo for all opposing teams in knock out matches.

Wales – they will fade away again, as will Argentina.

France, repeat of the Soccer World Cup – unhappy squad, unhappy results for their fans.

Oz, semi’s at best.

As for the Boks… They can definitely beat Oz this weekend, but a battered team coming off two immensely physical matches will struggle and possibly fail against a highly motivated NZ team in the semi’s.

If the Boks can win the quarters and by some miracle (that is what it would take) the semi, they will win the RWC.

Smart money is on NZ though.

• 204.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

Anyway I don’t care about racist spewing idiots.

What I would like to know is why we (as in Divvy, Gold, Rassie and Muir) still have not realised that Spies could be one of the greatest super-subs to ever play the game.

Play wrecking-ball Alberts at 8, and then unleash Spies at the 50 minute mark. I have no doubt he would bring the same impact as Hougard did in the Wales game – imagine introducing Bissie and Spies on a tiring Wallaby pack ……

I cannot understand why this tactic has not even been tried yet when it is so obvious that Alberts is good in a tight situation (beginning of the game) and Spies would bring immense value when things open up (end of the game).

Its common logic, isn’t it?

• 205.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-203: agree entirely, might as well give the Cup to NZ now. It’s a very, very favourable draw for them…

1. Arg
    2. SA/Oz
    3. NH team.

At home, they should walk all 3 of those games, Carter or no Carter.

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-202: Because I was a dumbfk who didn’t know who’s who in this fkng fkadilly fksake zoo… Okay now.

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-195: you seem to be spewing “fibby fib fibs” with regularity lately, wtf??

• 208.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-203:

We starting Smit at 2.. same palooka that has NOT beaten Aus in the last 2 years of competition home and away.. and this one is AWAY

No chance saloon I’m afraid to have to tell you bluntly.. this as far as we gonna go as long as that fat useless chump is running on the field ahead of those that COUNT !!!

• 209.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-206: finally the penny does drop like a tonne of lead…. KLUNK !!

You happy now I tried to tell you simplicity style facts how long ago… but naah .. you knew better … anyway as long as the constipation has been relieved you can now let your enlightened arse go and be FREEEE

• 210.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-208: the idea of a bench is to make a positive impact, not like what your arrival did to the neighbourhood’s property prices ;)

• 211.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

Yeah PA we have a mountain to climb – beating both Oz and then NZ on successive weekends (away from home for us) is a pretty big challenge. This is why I disagree that if we make it to the final we will win.

If Ireland make it all the way they will in all likelyhood be a bit fresher than us, having played (for eg Wales and England )to get to the final.

Only if we pick up very very few injuries would I be confident of us winning the final IF we make it that far. (Which I hope we do and it will without doubt be the greatest achievement in Springbok history if we do). But this is one tall drink of water ;-)

• 212.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Boks should smack both Ozzie and NZ into last century and walk off singing hallelujah choruses in mighty sympathetic symphonic harmonies…

To all intents and purposes we should smack these no hope also rans around the ears and take them to the f’ng cleaners IF ONLY we played our strongest teamm..

But NOOOO we gonna go waltzing off with matilda leading the merry jig with Smitty, FdP and Spies being led around the park by the nose by Moore, Genia and Samo…. and Sharpe and Higgybottom having a field day with our nonentity of a tight forward display coming up on Sunday…

GODDAMMITTT !!!

• 213.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-208:

The Oz squad are as confused as NZ was in 2007. I believe the Boks will win this weekend but they will fail a week later.

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-205:

They have an easy quarter (never extended in their pool games), a tough semi, and reasonably easy final (since it is in their backyard). NZ will lift the Cup for my money.

Only thing that could trip NZ up is a highly motivated Oz/Bok team in semi’s and a NZ side doubting themselves without their star player and a nations expectation. As well as Henry ******** around with selections (again) of course…

But it is unlikely.

• 214.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Blokkies(Blokkies)-211:

Ireland are serious contenders only for a final for me, any of the 3 SANZAR sides will smack Eng, Fra, Wal or Ire in a final.

If the Boks lift this Cup, it will be the greatest achievement in modern, professional rugby history.

Heart will always wish for that, head tells me fairytales are best left for children’s books…

• 215.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-209: At least I admit when I am rarely wrong… But if and when you realize what a confused, out of his depth idjit, Dippy DeVilliers is… will you come and admit you were incorrect? Not likely

• 216.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-212:

and WHERE the fkadilly do you think youre going ?!?

• 217.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-214:

crikey, even the good knts amongst you are absolutely FULL of it

“the greatest in rugby history”

is there no end to these shameless self-gratification ?!

• 218.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

Hehehe, oh ye of little faith PA

John Smit is going to lift the cup, and G10, Skop and thye like are going to have to make public apologies and concede that they know nothing about rugby ;-.)

I do believe that our superior experience across the park combined with Morne’s unflappable kicking gives us a better than average chance of making fairytales come true.

Our players have been there, done that, and got the trophy. Now they coming back for seconds!

BOKKE!

• 219.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-213: I wont bank on beating OZ that easy.. with Smit Spies and FdP on starters orders Aus have at least a 20% advantage from the get go….

In fact we get through Aussie then I am all systems GO to take NZ out easy as f’ng pie….

Aussie is the stumbling block.. because Smit and FdP and Spies dunno a FCK HOW to beat them.. the ONLY test we have WON in the last 2 years vs Aussie or NZ is when Smit is NOWHERE near the team…

Moore will chomp Smit for after dinner mints… Sharpe and Horwill gonna climb into Matfield and Roussow and Alberts gonna have to pull out ALL the stops…

Pocock, Elsom, Higgenbottom and Samo are gonna climb into our 3 with Spies offering sweet fanny F’ALL resistance… and Genia will skin FdP a new set of false teeth…

I’m actually a little more worried about our front 9 vs Aussie than our back 6 .. which is quite a contrary argument to most times we play these dudes.

Under Smit I have ZERO ZILCH NADA confidence if bismark Alberts and Hougaard were starting it would be a cake walk in the park..

Thats how far the difference is between success and failure with Smit anywhere near the starting team… as proven HOW OFTEN already in the past 2 years.?

• 220.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-217: operative word = “if” …..

dumbass.

• 221.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-112: Morne was kicking vs British and Irish Lions at home at altitude. He will be kicking vs New Zealand IN New Zealand. Slight difference and not in favour. Unless Kiwis implode somehow and press panic button, they should dispatch any pretender in the end. Carter or no Carter.

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-111: You are not missing anything. On Friday 21st I will be cheering for the Boks.

• 222.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He’s baaaaaaaaack

• 223.Nils: Reply to this comment

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-111: That is, of course, if they get that far.

• 224.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-215: took you awhile crocodile anyway is kinda relief to note you breathing a little more freely even for me …

PdV has vested his faith in Smitty and his 2007 collective of cohorts… it ain’t what I would have done.. but that’s where he’s vested all his faith..

Now I checked your team you put out on the other thread last night and … WHADDAYA KNOW..

ITS EXACTLY the SAME as PdV’s team .. so if P Divvy is a clown then so are you … like DITTO !!!

• 225.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

Black Panther

IF the Boks win this, (IF) then they would have beaten

Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Oz, New Zealand and whoever makes the final in consecutive games IN NEW ZEALAND.

You name a more difficult assignement in modern day rugby, come on, just try.

Its not sarrogance but a fact – if SA win this WC. they would also be the first team to successfully defend Bill (IN NZ!!!) and it would undoubtedly be the greatest achievemnet in rugby history.

• 226.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-224: There is no other choice with the players selected in this squad and with their time together before the RWC… Nevertheless I suspect Rassie is steering Battleship Bok now…

• 227.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-217:

Has RWC fever prevented you from reading posts?

Given the Springboks recent international form, and road to a possible RWC victory, it would take one monumental or even miraculous effort for them to win this event. I thought my posts made that quite clear.

Or is it the fact that I ‘wish’ or ‘hope’ for this to happen that surprises you (even if it is against all odds). If it is the latter, read the label mate – this is a SA blog and I am a South African who supports the Boks. I will hope/wish for a Bok victory even in the most unlikely situations, it is the nature of being a supporter.

It does not however blind me to know, and quite visibly state in my post that NZ are the favourites, Carter or not. Read it, I said it.

And finally, I would like for you to give me an example of any unlikely result in modern rugby history over more than one game that would compare to the Boks winning this event given the current odds.

Of course it’s easy to highlight one game, like Samoa’s recent win over Oz, or France knocking NZ out in a quarter final 4 years ago – I am talking 3 (and more) games that would measure against the Boks ending up winning this event as things stand now.

• 228.jocuba: Reply to this comment

I’ve said it before… if the kiwis lose this WC it won’t be because of DC going down or Precious ricky … it will have been because they left Big Carl Hayman out in the cold.

I was convinced that their overseas approach was just a bluff & they would pull Hayman in at the relevant time.

But they didn’t… now that was the biggest blunder…

• 229.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@Nils 221

Problem is, the Bokke aint no pretenders, they are the WORLD CHAMPIONS – New Zealand are the pretenders.

• 230.Nils: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-214: @Blokkies(Blokkies)-225: I agre with you here. If Boks win the cup, it must be greatest achievement in RWC history – topping “pool of death” (ok, they were favourites anyway, but 3 hard games (on paper, in reality – 2, still not bad at all) there, then Australia, then New Zealand on their own turf then the NH finest – yes, I agree.

You could not ask for more, all very top teams covered.

If.

• 231.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pissant 1 – BP – 0

• 232.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-219:

Aussies have the edge on us going on recent test match history, but I think Deans is getting his selections horribly wrong at the moment. If he reads Ewen McKenzie’s tweets he is on the right road to go all the way, but I don’t think he is…

• 233.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Blokkies(Blokkies)-229: Valid point taken. Then I change my expressed view as “unless Kiwis implode somehow and press panic button, they should dispatch any opposition in the end. Carter or no Carter.”

At home, they should beat anybody, full stop. Bring them all on, one by one.

• 234.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-226: Just like Eddy Jones steered it 4 years ago

Rassie is the one who has along with gold and PdV decided its best to start Smit, Spies and FdP and have Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard off bench..

This is their secret weapon Einstein Rugby strategy that we start our WEAKER team and finish with our Stronger one..

Now that takes some mammoth kinda genius to fathom… but what gonna happen when the WEAK starting team get klapped SO f’ng hard that they don’t leave enough time or space for the super subs to save their palooka arses EVERY TIME…

If Smit and Matfield and Spies and FdP turn around on Sunday at half time and we are DOWN by 20 points or so.. there is NO coming back from that.. Bismark and Arnold Swarzeneger and the Incredible Hulk can come running on 55 minutes in but the koeel will be reg deur die kerk by then…

• 235.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@ Nils 221

Afrter reading that post of yours again I am actually gobsmacked.

So you are saying that if the Boks beat New Zealand (that is if we make it that far of course;-) then it will be because your lot choked and not because we beat you fair and square……

I am not even going to rip that one to shreds, it would be too easy.

• 236.grant10: Reply to this comment

as nite follows day….

we start with plod its all over rover

goodnite nurse

6 love 6 love…..

Mark my words….

Farken hell man,,,,this is the game we cant fark around in….I have said a farken 1000 times…..Aussies are a difficult, clever team…..the kiwis you know whats coming,,,,,these farken cunning aussies are another story….they will moer Plod 6 love….exploit him like a slow has been he is….

Plod and spies in bok 8 means hometime Geronimo…..

wakey wakey PDV…..now you gotta make the right call….or its a farken tragedy!

• 237.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Blokkies(Blokkies)-235: “So you are saying that if the Boks beat New Zealand (that is if we make it that far of course;-) then it will be because your lot choked and not because we beat you fair and square……”

All I can say, either seek help of an oculist or learn to read. I will not comment any further all this bullshit.

• 238.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-234: Maybe so, but I dont think the Boks are going to be 20 pts down at any point during the game on Sunday whether Barney starts or not.

• 239.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-236: Back with a bang… again :lol:

Your squirrel hunter is going to eat you alive…

Now where’s Mini me?

• 240.ET.: Reply to this comment

A genuine ‘Boer’ will never confuse Afri(for ‘Afrika’)Forum with “Agri” supposedly for agriculture.

It is widely known that non-genuines try harder than the genuines, thus even when ” Nazi’s ” is not in my common usage they will insert it their for the purpose of, simply, negativity.
    In the final analysis it just all still amounts to raw vulgarity, stereotypical dehumanising (so white) responses, sick sectarianism and not so subtle attempts at racism(neo-racism).
    Is it all down to the approaching Day of the Reckoning instilling a morbid fear of the unknown that drives these fools to levels of sub-humans?

• 241.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@233 Nils

Ok sorry – now that you put it that way I actually understand what you saying. If this WC was in SA then all SA supporters would expect our team to dispatch any challengers – winning at home is non negotiable, I agree :-)

• 242.grant10: Reply to this comment

frans steyn loss is also a farken kick in the groin…..now we gotta hope JdV stands up….Those aussies gonna try and exploit M Steyn and JDV in the 10…12 channel all day long.

Also time for FDP to hit form…..this is delivery time….foreplay over…..this is the real farken deal now…

• 243.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-203: I reckon France might… just might, mind you… have one big performance in them for this WC. In 1999, before their annihilation of the AB’s in the semi-final, they were in as much disarray as this WC.

• 244.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-240: This is a rugby site.. you wanna take on Afriform for their atrocities to mankind go seek them out where they hide out.. they got their own site you can try hijack.. the difference is over there they might eat you alive for the inadequate insufficient insignificant runt you are … little poefta wannabe snot nosed dumbfck Yankee Doodle Dandy arsecreep psuedo revolutionary..

• 245.ET.: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-236:

If your ‘wonky’ heart cannot take the STRESS why are you even bothering about rugby and in such a way that renders you foolish in the extreme with that ” I support Namibia ” comment? Is it the ingrained opportunism that gets you and JR now here because you sense the rugby gods may really be with you?

If I cause your death please make sure your cohorts know not to blame me but instead your bad heart.
    I f you run a marathon with a bad heart and die, it is not the marathon that kills you but the bad heart that does.

• 246.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239: JR is like a bear with a farken sore head……he is kakking himself that spies and plod gonna do the dirty on us the weekend….

We must remember ….we farken scraped past the wales okes and were well and trulty getting on our moer till plod farked off the field and bissy and hougaard saved our hides….

we need all the best hands on deck for at least 70 minutes to beat aussies….

schalk….brussow and bissy in that pack we hot as hell….throw in alberts we can beat anyone!

But if we arrogant and farken stupid and think we can rely on another rescue act…..well lets just say we running out of get out of jail cards…..

no farkit man….pdv must not be dof here…..go with the manne from minute 1 …..no time for fat boys now…

• 247.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Black Pantie is just like a music festival toilet. No one likes them, they’re full of poop and they’re only there to remind you that everything can’t always be groovy.

• 248.heboric: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-240: No God likes the whites more comrade. I think there is a pit for non-white folk – surely you must agree comrade.

In the ghetto

• 249.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-246: LOL… Good to see you back

• 250.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-245: hi my man….I spend 40 minutes a day on a treadmill…..heart is fine but achilles killing me…..but thanks for caring…..sorry to see you and wild bill hicock are at each others throats….dont know what went down but it is always sad to see great love affairs die ….

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.