Goodbye to the minnows; hello to the madness
3 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes if drama’s your game, don’t go anywhere in the next three weekends.
After 48 of the most dramatic hours ever experienced at a Rugby World Cup, we finally have a competition that demands that you don’t go anywhere for the next three weekends. Goodbye to the minnows and hello to the madness of knockout rugby.
Typically, France gave us an appetiser of the madness of which they are capable. Their players simply did not pitch for a pool match they could afford to lose (and still qualify for the last eight) in protest over their fractious relationship with coach Marc Lievremont. They lost to Tonga. Lievremont said he was ashamed of the performance and admitted the players refused to engage in a bonding session.
New Zealand rugby royalty Dan Carter tore his groin muscle in a kicking drill on Saturday afternoon and the mood among locals was sombre and more applicable to when a nation mourns a popular head of state. If you happen to have been on a space shuttle, Carter, the game’s most complete flyhalf and New Zealand’s master conductor, is out of the World Cup. It is New Zealand’s worst rugby nightmare and there may now not even be an occasion for these men in black to choke.
With Carter at No10 they led the World Cup pack. Without him the All Blacks are just one of the championship-chasing pack. They would get past the Pumas even if Carter’s grandmother was at flyhalf, but getting beyond the semifinals will need a flyhalf more capable than his understudy, Colin Slade.
The All Blacks, with Carter gone and Richie McCaw on one leg, are officially in another World Cup crisis. At least they can take comfort that next year they will be unbeatable again and Carter won’t get one injury.
Some things are meant to be. The All Blacks have a World Cup curse and England a World Cup Fairy Godmother. New Zealand just can’t seem to keep it together or get it together.
England can do as they please, play as they please and pick as many plodders as they please. They’ve tossed a few dwarfs around in Dunedin, gone on the piss, admitted to switching match balls to give their struggling goal-kicking ace Jonny Wilkinson an advantage, and coach Martin Johnson acknowledged reprimanding three players who lured a hotel worker to their rooms and made suggestive comments about wanting oral sex. The only thing the England players and coaching staff have not admitted to is playing turgid rugby.
The International Rugby Board (IRB) sanction has been a “don’t do it again … now get on and win this bloody thing for us old farts in the Northern Hemisphere” before turning its full attention to the hideous crime of a Samoan player wearing a gum guard that contravened official tournament sponsorship rules.
The offence was deemed so serious that the team was fined NZ$10000, and worse was to follow for the Samoans after controversial centre Eliota Fuimaono Sapolu called Welsh referee Nigel Owens a prick, a racist and an elitist who favoured the Springboks in Samoa’s 13-5 defeat.
Sapolu tweeted that he would love to meet IRB members on the street and said the game’s administration was protecting the big five and the wealthy. He also confirmed his retirement from international rugby, arguing there was no point to it if you were a tier-two nation.
The IRB have confirmed a hearing. Toss around a dwarf and illegally switch match balls during play, but just don’t call the IRB an elite organisation.
When Samoa and Fiji played at Eden Park a fortnight ago they smashed each other for 80 minutes, then gathered in prayer as a band of Pacific Island brothers. On Friday night after the most brutal of matches against the Boks there was nothing more than a grudging Samoan handshake.
The Samoan captain spoke of referee bias and Bok captain Victor Matfield expressed disgust at the Samoan off-the- ball thuggery.
Frans Steyn, colossal all tournament, legally smashed into Samoans all night but his shoulder proved more brittle than brutal and he’s out of the World Cup.
Scotland, needing to beat England by eight points, led 12-3 in the second half before losing 16-12 to Chris Ashton’s 78th- minute match-winning try.
Wilkinson missed his first three penalty attempts and missed a left-footed drop goal from right in front. Madness.
And for 55 minutes Georgia led Argentina 7-5. Not quite madness, but a contender.
The Canadians even led the All Blacks 3-0 for three minutes. Definite madness.
What more, asked everyone? Surely an Italian win against Ireland to seal the most dramatic conclusion to the 40- match round robin stage.
Come on Italy, screamed every South African. Say what they may publicly, the Boks would much have preferred the Irish as quarterfinal opponents.
It was not to be. Instead they have the Tri-Nations champions Australia to beat to make it to Eden Park for the first time in this tournament.
If you are planning on going anywhere on Sunday, pick a church to offer thanks or for a World Cup mourning.
I’d suggest it is safer just not going anywhere. The 2011 Rugby World Cup is officially open.

397 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
3 Oct 2011, 22:15 pm
Not the old Smit vs Bis-bla bla bla again, please guys give it a rest… wasting ur time
3 Oct 2011, 22:17 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-298: Thank the Great Lord Above for Rassie and Nienaber being involved with the Boks. Moh.ammed Ali and his 2 stooges would have ensured the Boks would be on a flight home by now otherwise…
3 Oct 2011, 22:18 pm
What I would add is that I’m pretty sure the team in yellow would have preferred to play the team in red. I think the team in yellow is more worried than the team in green
3 Oct 2011, 22:20 pm
Skop I am not going to get into a slagging match with you – only rugby talk.
It was great tactics to start Bissy against the Samoans, just as it was equally good tactics to start Smit against the Welsh and bring on a rampaging Bissy at the end.
Our coaches have made some horrible substitute mistakes in the past (BI Lions 2nd test for eg) but it seems that they have now figured that part of their strategy out. (Rassies doing I imagine)
The point is we have 2 extremely good hookers in Smit and Bissy and they can be deployed in different circumstances with wonderful results.
It is not a Smit v Bissy situation – it is more a matter of using each to their max mpotential in the correct situation to give the team the best chance of victory.
I am tired of this anti Smit k@k – these are our Bokke we are talking about and to spew hatred and vitriol towards the captain of a team that we support is just counter productive and negative and I don’t see the point of sitting behind a computer slagging off the national captain when noone would actually do it to his face.
3 Oct 2011, 22:21 pm
According to my sources, every game we have played has been played exactly to Rassie’s script. Come now guys, off course we could have outmuscled the ‘moans up front, course we could have put in little chips, course we could have rolled the maul. Would it have gotten us anywhere-NO!! Tell me man, what have the AB’s achieved thus far cept for 10 minutes gainst the frogs—sweet blow all. Tell you okes, our chimes will start chiming, Frans or no Frans.Just have Butch warming his arse as insurance policy come Sunday.
3 Oct 2011, 22:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-302: will be very interesting to know what Rassie’s role will be post WC. Surely there should be reward for being one of few willing to work with P (don’t bring that table near me come the final) dV?
3 Oct 2011, 22:23 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-298: That’s just silly. Samoa played right into our hands in the first half. Playing structure and kicking the ball away. I agree, 2nd half we kicked more ball away but it also co-incided with them running it back at us than kicking it away like in the first half. Smit would’ve done an equaly competent job at taking the ball up and cleaning rucks as well as mauling them 10-20 mtrs up the field…as happened in that 1st 40. Samoa in putting in that physicality would’ve had to contend with Bismarck for another 30 mins or so. And that is a whole different scenario altogether.
3 Oct 2011, 22:24 pm
stole some time….okay…sorry Blokkies…i was short with you and it was uncalled for….sincere apologies….
This super sub stuff is like a hand grenade with a wonky safety pin…..going to explode in our faces…..
we got out of jail vs wales…..the aussies will shut us down big time if we carry plod for any length of time…..just let the fat boy sit on the bench like he did when sharks bear bulle at loftus……
Play alberts….brussow….bakkies…[ 40 ] …..schalk and bissy…..and we can take it to aussies up front….
start with plod and as nite follows day those aussies gonna capitilise by running it wide and negating plod at every turn….
ask Moore who he wants at 2……..bet you it aint bissy!
3 Oct 2011, 22:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-302: Some farking fairy was smiling on Boks vs Wales because another 3 minutes with Smit and Spies on and Bismark Alberts Hougaard off and it was TICKETS.. and their lightie FH missed 2 pisseasy kicks and a droppie from bang in front…
Rassie and Nienaber or not had we started Bismark and Alberts we would have been way in front at half time not trailing like a bunch of Schmucks under that hopeless fckup of a palooka who dunno how to win a top flight rugby test for TOFFEE apples .. WHEN was the last time he did…?
Wales you gonna say… BULLSH’T I say because had it been left to SMIT we were ABSOLUTE f’ng TOAST !!!
Thats it… not gonna convince you fairies.. Start Smit and Spies on Sunday.. and watch it go titties up for the first 50 or so minutes on the field.. and then you gonna EXPECT.. Alberts and Bismark to save their overrated arses AGAIN..
Ain’t gonna happen EVERY time.. ride your luck so far and no further.. Wales game was far enough.. ain’t gonna ride it further than that…
We talk again after Sunday.. so long.
3 Oct 2011, 22:26 pm
Great White Shark and UpTheGuts – agree with both of you.
I love the supersub strategy and it is something that the other teams cannot counter as they do not have the firepower to match what Gurthro/Beast, Bissy, Alberts, Hougaard etc can bring to the table after 50 mins.
They are the ace(s) up our sleeve and I for one and really glad we are using it !
3 Oct 2011, 22:29 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-304: and I will bet on the other teams not having a clue on how to approach the smit/bissy thing
But the lineouts are my biggest concern, both doing good work around the park but throwing/timing must be spoton the next 3 (yes 3) weeks
3 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
@matewis(matewis)-306: I think being the man behind the scenes is perfect for Rassie. That Jaques Nienaber intrigues me though.
Wouldn’t mind seeing an in depth article or profile on him.
3 Oct 2011, 22:32 pm
Shampoopaloo300; A strong bench has the added aspect of keeping run on players on their toes. Yep, also feel Spies, Morne(actually he shouldn’t even be match 22) and FdP should be sitting on their arses, but its too late now. Rassie only has so much say.
Gotta start getting out of here
3 Oct 2011, 22:32 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-310: hope you right Mr Blokkies….
for me….well I am not that brave…..I ratehr come out swinging from minute 1 than rely on a miracle Wales ending fairytale evrytime…..
I reckon we a gambling big time
and Sunday its all the chips on the table
hope you boys know what you doing
for me its farken illogical…..
but anyway….all the best for boks…
now gotta run
3 Oct 2011, 22:33 pm
@bokke bo(bokke bo)-305: We dot lucky TWICE
Wales game was a LOSS staring us in the face.. and Samoa came at us so hard we were scrambling at 150 tackles vs 70 for ALL of last 30 minutes…
Had Smit started that game i seriously believe we might VERY well have lost..
We been extremely lucky.. you can call it good tactics thats fine.. I say had we started our strong combo vs Wales we would NEVER have been in trouble entire game..
Vs Samoa FdP was the choker.. and Matfield should have reigned him in and told him to STOP kicking every good ball away.. When we ran at them first half they had NO answer.. second half we bottled it and tried defending our 13-5 lead… Big F’ng mistake.. Like FdP and Smit do ALWAYS..
When we run our games we are NEVER in trouble.. but under Smit and FdP we kick FAR more than we need and we GIFT the opposition 80% possession of most of our good ball…
3 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
@grant10(grant10)-308: @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-309: We’ve heard it all before anyway. We were supposed to struggle to make it out of our group yet we went unbeaten. You can try and spin it that it was all Bismarck’s and Hougaards doing but as a team everyone did what they are supposed to. From a team perspective, Bismarck off the bench works better than the other way around. There is not a team at this WC that can match our bench. No one. If we’re still in touch, even a small lead with 20 to go, we are in the semi’s. Against a AB team still reeling from Carter’s injury. And we can take them in the same way.
3 Oct 2011, 22:37 pm
Hi Grant
No problem. We disagree on Smit but it would be pretty boring if we all agreed on everything don’t you think?
You ask Moore if he wants to deal with a fresh Bissy after Smit has scrummed the k@k out of him for 50 mins…..
Anyway for all we know Smitty rides the wood anyway lol
3 Oct 2011, 22:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-309: The Boks did what they had to, to win… No ifs or buts – it is the most pointless exercise to surmise that the Boks “would have” lost if X or Y had happened… Infinitely more pointless than any Boks “would have” won arguments…. Deal with the facts. The Boks won against a damn good Welsh side who I wouldn’t be surprised to see in the final.
I put the close win down to a farken unbelievable defensive system.
I want to know more about Nienaber, thats for sure.
3 Oct 2011, 22:38 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-241: Yes, if RWC were in SA, Boks supporters should expect their team to beat anybody else, too – no argument here. Even despite Bok poor record vs ABs at home.
That’s even more the case for the ABs at home where any opponent has been suffering. Carter or no Carter. I have no doubts they are certainly capable of beating anybody and should be favourites in any given game at home. Whether they will deliver this time, time will tell.
3 Oct 2011, 22:45 pm
Skop, seriuosly:
“had we started Bismark and Alberts we would have been way in front at half time not trailing like a bunch of Schmucks ”
The problem is that you pluck random k@k like the above statement out your backside and then palm it off as fact and base your whole argument on it.
Which means you actually do not have an argument in this case…. (and many others like it)
3 Oct 2011, 22:45 pm
Smit vs Bissie isn’t even the biggest concern. Losing FS is. What set him apart from JdV is the valuable mtrs he made even when tackled, taking out 2-3 defenders in the process. He also off loads, ala SBW. My biggest fear is we are going to look just as pedestrian out back as we were before Jean’s injury. Which means it’s going to be all kick-chase from here on in.
3 Oct 2011, 22:46 pm
and still Skoppie, you are saying Wales, as if that is meant to mean everything..
i mean “wales”.
getit. wales…..
did anybody notice that they are playing top notch rugby. even for a nortnern hemisphere team. wales. i mean wales. wales. wales.
we won against wales! with one point! wales.
and wales nearly beat us. who only ever beat us twice. that is wales. the welsh wales.
3 Oct 2011, 22:47 pm
Shampoopaloo315; Agree, but apparently it was game plan. keeping cargs close to chest and needed live tackle practice. Yes, and look what happened to Frans and Hougie.
UptheGuts297; Word is that Hougie is ok although he suffered slight concussion(like slightly pregnant you know). would have been papsack if left on field. Hope he keeps his mojo for Sunday.
Gotta get out else in ****. Cheers all
3 Oct 2011, 22:47 pm
An interesting little interview with Jacques Nienaber… Seems he was a physio/conditioning coach who drifted into being a defence coach.
WERE you satisfied with the effort against Australia? I was reasonably happy with the performance. We were at 60% of where we want to be. What was the most pleasing aspect? The attitude shown by the scrambling defence that we had to produce. But there are some structural issues we need to address. It’s a continuing process and we have time to work on our shortcomings. What is your background? I’m a physiotherapist and worked with the Cats and the Lions from 1999-2005. I became a conditioning coach and joined Rassie Erasmus at the Cheetahs. Because we were shortstaffed, I took an interest in defence and became the defensive coach. What is your philosophy about defence? It’s simple. Make good decisions and stop momentum. Who are the key decisionmakers on defence? All players have to be good decision–makers in different phases of the game. If one player makes a good decision but the next makes a bad one, we’ll get hurt. Are you completely overhauling the Springbok defensive system, or tweaking it? I’m just working with the system they have used for more than seven years. I’m observing and measuring what they do. All defensive systems are basically the same. For the lay person, what type of defensive system do the Boks employ? We don’t use one system because all the principles of a rush, umbrella or drift defence have to be used at some stage. A rush defence will put emphasis on line speed and a drift defence will emphasise keeping the line. It all comes down to decision making. If we’re numbers down we will drift and if we’re numbers up we might rush. It’s a mixed system. What is the hardest phase to defend against? Line breaks and turnovers are most difficult to defend because it becomes unstructured and relies on individual decisions, which have to be good. Who makes the most tackles? It depends on the attacking style of the opposition. If a team plays wide, the outside backs will make more tackles than the openside flank. If a team attacks the blindside the tight forwards will make the most tackles. If they play a narrow game, the loosies will make the most tackles. Most players say defence is 90% about attitude? Absolutely, because you have to stop momentum and to do that you have to tackle with aggression and willingness. The Stormers had the best defensive record in the past two Super Rugby competitions, but their attacking game has suffered. Is that a result of an overly defence-minded approach? I’d like to think not, because we work as hard on attack as we do on defence. I’ve been at the Stormers for four seasons, while attack coach Robbie Fleck has only had two. He’s still developing our attack and it takes time to get your vision and personality across. Do you take defensive lapses personally? For sure, because if a player misses a tackle perhaps I haven’t prepped him well enough, or I haven’t made sure he is good enough in that situation. — Craig Ray
3 Oct 2011, 22:48 pm
Hi again Nils – apologiesagain for my misunderstanding earlier.
I hope with every fibre of my being that we are able to meet you in the semi – battle of the titans!
3 Oct 2011, 22:51 pm
Heavens Game 318
“I put the close win down to a farken unbelievable defensive system.” – and a bit of magic from a fiesty little scrummie playing on the wing who was introduced at EXACTLY the right time
3 Oct 2011, 22:52 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-325: No problems mate. All the best for you and your team on Friday.
3 Oct 2011, 22:55 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-326:… who took a well timed pass from a scrummie who was playing scrummie on an excellent well timed diagonal snipe
3 Oct 2011, 22:56 pm
3 games to go.
Maybe the Boks knows this.
Veteran Legends to Shine:
Guthro, Smit, Matfield, Rossouw, Burger, FDP, Morne, JDV, Fourie, Habana, JPP
that’s 10 in the run on side.
Brussouw not a veteran…but he always shines.
So if Beast, Spies, Lambie shines. we will be illumifreakingnatinglyfantastic
3 Oct 2011, 22:57 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-325: And yes, if nothing of biblical scale happens in NZ QF, that semi will be a pinnacle preceded by the best possible introduction in another titans clash next Sunday.
Aus-SA, then Aus/Sa vs (it should be) NZ. Awesome. Actually all QF are going to be huge, there is only one game where is one clear favourite, all other 3 should be monsters.
3 Oct 2011, 22:57 pm
i mean 11. and then our bench is just like a brazimillion watts.
3 Oct 2011, 23:00 pm
Heaven324; nice one man. Thanks.
Good night
3 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
Nils
I am assuming you will win on Sunday so not even going to wish you good luck, however I wish for as few injuries as possible for both our teams. We have both lost key players, and I hope that if we make it through it will be your strongest v our strongest (sans Carter and F.Steyn – I am very sad that both these players are out – the tournament is poorer for it)
3 Oct 2011, 23:05 pm
@grant10(grant10)-308: tough life being a wannabe supporter.
3 Oct 2011, 23:07 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-333: Yes, let’s hope nobody gets injured again. All the best for Boks in QF, see you in the semis. I would like that to happen.
3 Oct 2011, 23:09 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-333: And like Hernandez before the tournament. Such a loss.
3 Oct 2011, 23:10 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-333: And Juan Smith, of course.
3 Oct 2011, 23:10 pm
@shooter(shooter)-329: Guthro, Rossouw and Burger already in top form. This game will be won upfront. If the Aussies can match us, which they seem to be doing for the last matches, they’ll be favorites to win it as their backs have more than enough to breach any defense. The plan must be to give Genia as torrid a time as possible. If he gets an armchair ride, so will Quade. Boks, have a look at NZ/AUS on Eden Park in this years 3N’s. That’s how you must defend. Make sure they play 2mtrs behind the adv line everytime and from there WE ask all the questions.
3 Oct 2011, 23:15 pm
” @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-202: Because I was a dumbfk who didn’t know who’s who in this fkng fkadilly fksake zoo… Okay now ”
This post has surely to be at the top of the pile of arsecreeping 101. It screams of HELP me please make it though the night.
It is the most lame, frail, limp, weak-kneed, effete response I have ever encountered on this site.
Worse still it ends with two words which pleads as if the very life were dependant on it, please accept me now, of someone previously seen as mere entertainment but worthless value.
Priceless!
Gutless!
3 Oct 2011, 23:16 pm
@ 315 skop
Gary Player reckons the more you practice the luckier you get……
You say we got lucky twice…….hmmmm I see a flaw in your thinking there. I prefer to think of it as we played 2 very difficult opponents and managed to put them both away. We are now battle hardened, sharp and ready to rumble.
How is it that you look at a good situation in such a doom and gloom light? Its world cup, man, cheer up! You never know how long the ride is gonna be before we get chucked off, so enjoy while it lasts.
I am loving the way we playing – its exciting, we are scrsaping through every game, and most importantly, we are WINNING!
How exactly is this a bad thing?
3 Oct 2011, 23:20 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-338: definitely deny them everything upfront. cleaning out pocock.
FdP is the man. Genia is going to get a surprise i’m sure. FdP did not get here by accident.
but… this is where genuine class players will come through. that extra effort. extra commitment. extra effort and all that. but i’m thinking the type of mindset that made Os du Randt a 2 x WC winner.
everybody keep on saying rugby is such a mindthing too. so i guess this where the been-here… done-this players will become crucial..
in the end. we will win the huge games 9/10 with our forwards…and dominance established. they – the Boks- knows this. revert to type/ is a good thing!
Pdiv said we’re going to keep the ball more. lekker.
@ET.(ET.)-339: Eugene’sTit, I see you missed the point of the post… again…
- like missing the point of supporting your country’s rugby team
- like missing the humour in Davids post
Braindead falsefck
Boks need to go:
1. Steenkamp
2. B.Du Plessis
3. J.Du Plessis
4. Botha
5. Rossouw
6. Burger
7. Brussow
8. Alberts
the Australians wouldn’t be able to cope with that, in this life or the next. Picking Smit, Spies and Matfield opens the door for them.
3 Oct 2011, 23:21 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-340: By the way, Blokkies, use the grey arrow on the right side. Then okes you adressed will know what exactly you are referring to.
3 Oct 2011, 23:27 pm
@Nils(Nils)-344: Hey cool!
thanks – I am a bit of an internet plank…….
And yes, mate I also hope we meet you in the semi – just got the small issue of dealing with a few pesky Wallabies first
Outtayere – later gents
3 Oct 2011, 23:30 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-343: How come it takes a foreigner to see the wood for the trees….
Pity the local yokel coaches cannot … anyway.. let them ride this flukety fluke wagon as far as it gonna croak along with a half lame duck at the helm waiting for Godot to come save his halfway over the hill arse when it gets stuck in reverse mode…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-342: now you know why a coollycreep is a coolly creep is a coollycreep through and f’ng through .. piece of garbage trash that will make enemies of friends because his dumb fck arrogant ego needs to get smashed through that pseudo fucked up half witted excruciating twatassed inverted inferiority complexities self intoxicated fucked up self loathing arse…
3 Oct 2011, 23:30 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-345: Have a good time mate!
3 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
@grant10(grant10)-314:
No offence but seriously, of all the bloggers on here you are the last who should be making predictions about what will happen to the Boks if Smit starts. You predicted the Boks to not even get out of their group = well they topped it. But hey I guess if you keep calling it for every game you’re bound to get it right eventually, and no dount you’ll be full of I told you so’s
I tell you this, if we could only make 1 change in the team I would rather drop Spies for Alberts than Smit for Bissy. Of course my first choice would be to start Bissy, but my point is there are weaker areas in the team than Smit right now. So enough with the six love all over rover predictions when they have already been shown up to be more than wide of the mark!
3 Oct 2011, 23:38 pm
f’ng arsecreeper supreme talking about arsecreeping… jeezus I think I gonna petition Transie to pull up ALL the coollycreep f’ng arsecreep slimy love affair reminiscences here just to see what REAL arsecreeping looks like with this piece of garbage fcked up coollycreeping slimy piece of trash stuck way up somebodies unsuspecting arse…
3 Oct 2011, 23:38 pm
@ET.(ET.)-339: Haha, well well, now you have pi ssed everyone off, no one left
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All