Brüssow’s big moment

While he prefers to view himself as just another cog in a powerful machine, Heinrich Brüssow will need to best David Pocock if the Springboks are going to progress beyond the World Cup quarter-final stage.

In the green and gold corner stands the challenger, a relatively short man with an elongated upper body, deceptively strong arms and a sense of such timing and spatial awareness that you’d swear he had a telepathic line to every matchday referee.

Brüssow has stolen opposition ball, shaped matches, and indirectly won series and titles for his team and country. As Peter de Villiers has intimated on more than one occasion, he is the man the Boks have built their game around as their collective success hinges largely on his ability to win the battle on the ground.

And yet Brüssow is, even by his own admission, not the best in the business. That unofficial title belongs to the Wallabies’ Pocock, a Hulk on a smaller scale, a master manipulator and reader of referees.

Pocock has been the standout player for the Wallabies over the past two seasons, contributing to some memorable wins for his adopted country. When Robbie Deans has started Pocock against the Boks, the Wallabies have prevailed more times than not. It’s no coincidence that the Wallabies have won five of the last six match-ups when Pocock was wearing the No 7 jersey.

Both camps have moved to play down the significance of history ahead of Sunday’s quarter-final in Wellington, but in the heart of the Bok compound, they will be formulating plans to nullify Pocock, a player once referred to as ‘That Old Devil’ by a frustrated Peter de Villiers.

Brüssow, a self-confessed admirer of Pocock’s abilities, admitted that it was going to be difficult to repress the Wallabies’ pack as well as the man himself.

‘He’s going to be a huge factor,’ the Bok No 6 told keo.co.za. ‘I don’t think the Wallabies are the same without him, they don’t really have anybody else who can do a similar job.’

There is a question of the occasion, and the effect it will have on Pocock (23) and Brüssow (25). Both have won the Tri-Nations with their respective teams, but both are playing in their first World Cup. Will they be able to handle the pressure when the stakes are so high? Will that pressure effect their decision making?

While they represent two of the world’s superpowers at international level, they have not yet experienced the pressure of knockout rugby. Given that Pocock (Western Force) and Brüssow (Cheetahs) play for bottom-end Super Rugby sides, they haven’t even been exposed to play-off rugby at a lower level.

Brüssow doesn’t see this a potential problem. He cited the vast experience of the senior members of the Bok squad, who have won Super Rugby trophies and World Cups. When it comes to his own performance in this his first ever knockout fixture, he backs himself to make the decisive calls.

‘I’m excited, it’s a special place to be. It’s do or die at the moment and everybody realises it,’ he said.

‘Our record against Australia is something that will probably be in the back of our minds, but I’d rather be the underdog than the favourite in a match like this. Sometime people don’t understand how pressure can effect you, particularly if you’re a youngster. And the Aussies have more young guys in their team than we do.

‘In the end It’s going to come down to who handles the pressure best on the day. We can’t afford to make any mistakes, we have to be sharp and have to make good decisions.’

The game will be refereed by Bryce Lawrence, and both Pocock and Brüssow will be looking to adapt to the official’s style early in the fixture. The performance at the breakdown and at the collisions will determine the flow of the game, and the Boks in particular cannot hope to win the Test if they don’t control the forward exchanges.

Be it on attack or defence, their success depends on a superior forward showing.

Raw power won’t be enough, and men like Brüssow and Schalk Burger will need to be accurate. Brüssow spoke about winning the race to the breakdowns and cleaning on the ball carrier to ensure a quick ruck recycle. On defence, he talked about walking the line of legality. Physical dominance at the collisions is so crucial, but Brüssow and Pocock will be testing Lawrence’s patience, especially when it comes to competing for or slowing down the opposition’s ball.

‘It has to be a team thing,’ said Brüssow, who has always been self-effacing when asked about his unique breakdown abilities. ‘We have to work as a unit to nullify guys like Pocock, because they have many other dangerous players out wide.

‘It’s always difficult for the referees [under the current law set]. It’s a fine line and the refs have to make the on-field call. As long as they are consistent I am happy. Players need to be able to adapt to the ref on the day.’

The Boks are fortunate to have some excellent kickers in Morne Steyn and Butch James, and the Wallabies’ James O’Connor has also been in great goal-kicking form in recent weeks. It’s for this reason that both sets of forwards will need to be careful that they don’t push the boundaries that fraction too far.

Again, Brüssow is confident that the Boks will succeed in walking that fine line. While their performance against Samoa lacked accuracy, they managed to keep their cool despite the riling tactics of the limited islanders. Over the course of the tournament, they have conceded relatively few penalties.

‘Our discipline was good against Samoa, they were really trying to get under our skin. That was a big positive. We will have to be disciplined once again this weekend,’ Brüssow said.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Wellington

62 Comments

• 1.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Snaffle-Dragon.

• 2.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

I reckon Brussow came out of his mother’s womb clutching a rugby ball! He won’t let us down…he never does.

• 3.kesbok: Reply to this comment

Brussow is the man for the monent

• 4.bokontario: Reply to this comment

Brussouw hunts best with Bissy, who should start

• 5.garth: Reply to this comment

Brussouw praising Pocock is like saying ‘nice hand’ in poker. What you actually mean is ‘you lucky motherfcker, I can’t believe you got away with that’.

• 6.ET.: Reply to this comment

He fell like a sack of bacteria infected canteloupes after being open-hand slapped by a full-back.
    That truly cries out ‘MOFFIE’.
    Pocock is the true King of the Breakdown.

Have you seen him monster ‘ou Burgermeisie’? Watch and gape:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVC7KsdI7jk

• 7.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-6:

Full frontal he faces the ugly one who in girly fashion pulls Pocock’s hair. David lifts him clean off his feet and puts him straight on his back, prostrate and defenceless. And ‘moffie Burgermeisie’ in typical fashion goes for the face and eyes and David Pocock the King shoves his muscular lower arm into the skunks neck area until the defeated submits with a tap on the King’s arm.

Great stuff, King David of PO.

• 8.Waster: Reply to this comment

Pain threshold of a girl

• 9.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-8:

Is that for Burger?

• 10.Waster: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-9: No, burger is as hard as they come, I meant Burssow falling after a slap from Williams, that would have maybe dropped me but I thought Brussow was harder than that

• 11.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-10:

Watch the youtube clip and tell me again he is so hard as they come as he paws the face and seeks the eyes of King David the Great?

• 12.Waster: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-11: Yeah I will when I get a chance, you are correct that Pocock is awesome too,

• 13.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-12:

Ok and thanks. Now I understand as you have not seen the clip yet.

Which team do you shout for?

• 14.groen: Reply to this comment

Little bit of the topic, but I have a situation kick off time I have an important event and thus have no option to watch it live , plan is to stay away from all media and watch it on IRB.com , problem however is it takes 24h for the full game to come online :) This means Ill be at work dodging everybody and watching it on monday night. Luckly I live in Korea lol Its gonna be a mountain . :) The Boks better win

• 15.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@bokontario(bokontario)-4:
    True ! They are worth at least 6 turnovers between the two of them and if they get it right those could easily result in 18 points for the boks and that could very well be a wining score

• 16.Waster: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-13: Te Teko

• 17.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

ET. Shouldn’t you be off sodomising some laboratory rodent instead of creaming your pants over the fantastic athletic abilities of white Rhodesians?

• 18.kelefua: Reply to this comment

How can he dominate Pockock when he got schooled from Fa’asavalu and couldnt get back up from a B slap from Williams.

• 19.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

There’s a lot of angry talk on this post and much of it latently homosexual – Stormer in a teacup – I’m talking to you. But to drag it back to the game Brussow is a fine player (probably 3/4th best openside in the world) but not a touch on our man Pocock. Forward pack not nearly the force it was (old man mostly) and the Bok backline is the most predictable in world rugby. So for the queebles of you out there (look it up if you need to) L8.

• 20.ET.: Reply to this comment

King David is a bona fide Australian citizen of very many years standing.

• 21.jeest: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-19: Most of the aussies I talk to are not as confident as you are but let’s hope it’s a great game. I must admit, despite it being in pretty poor taste to mention it already, I am terrified about the influence that little prick Kiwi Bryce is going to have on this game.

He appears to hate both teams so hopefully he will be equally as **** for both sides.

Let’s hope the Wallaby forwards decide to turn up for once and make it a contest.

• 22.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

Jeest – To be honest with you bud, I’m not 100% filled with confidence but I do expect us to win (just). Having said that, this Bok side is filled with great names and on their day, despite all my ravings about Pocock, speed and our backline etc, the experience the Boks have could prove the telling point. As one other post said well earlier, “the occasion will also have its say”. After the game we’ll either be saying this Bok side was a little slow and old-in-the-tooth or this Wallaby side was a little young and inexperienced for the occasion. But like you, I just hope it is decided by the teams, not that excuse of a referee.

• 23.ET.: Reply to this comment

If any one team runs in 4 tries can that be laid at the ref’s door then?

• 24.ET.: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-22:

Pocock and Moore were hugely missed in that game against Ireland. They are both important to the Wallabies in the loose play and at the breakdown and both are excellent carriers of the ball.

• 25.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Wow, ET wants to suck on David Pocock. Get back in your box gimp.

What’s all this talk about Pocock now being the best? I thought it was McCaw? Seems like that myth has been proven wrong, now it is the myth of Pocock.

Why can’t the Anzac just admit that Brussow is the best in the world? Pocock has the skill set of a Francois Louw. Yuck.

Anyway. If Smit and Spies start the Boks will be playing with 6 forwards. Bismarck is the 2nd best fetcher in world rugby and must start ahead of Captain breasts to hunt in a pack with Brussow. And Alberts must take vag-mans spot at 8. Can anyone actually see Spies tackling, breaking the line or making any impact at all? Alberts gets 10 meters every time he has the ball and actually seeks contact/makes his tackles.

• 26.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

And Pocock is such a specimen – he got put in a submission hold by Jannie the Doctor and was out for 8 weeks.

• 27.ET.: Reply to this comment

‘Moffie’ Hein Bruss is the best sack of bacterial infected canteloupes in the world that has hit the ground in NZ from an openhand slap to the cheek by a back on a forward. He went down faster than Lightning Bolt did out of the starting blocks in a false start.

• 28.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-8:

He felt no pain, just needed to get the holding cheater off the park, much like “money bill” tried when he fell over himself when he got a little tug on his jersey

Williams the “moan” thug got his just deserts……………what you reckon he tells his kids? “2011 I got a red card and sent off in disgrace cause I hit a player”……..nice

Oh and ET, go f uk youself you twat!

• 29.whatever: Reply to this comment

Pity the hating racist ET’s side lost hey………………. :lol just love it!.

• 30.JL1: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-13: Sucking up to make new friends hehehe, careful now, we all know how this one will turn out.It will all end in tears

• 31.dr dre: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-27: You are a good laugh and I can only assume your youth precludes you from being normal.

• 32.gregars: Reply to this comment

kobus and kitty…such unsporting comments already…look forward to seeing the comments next week if your beloved dad’s army is on the way home…
    P.S. kitty whats with all the gimp references on these pages???…seems a strange moniker to give someone…maybe its a cultural thing???

• 33.Waster: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-28: That is cheating, just as SBW incident was,

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

Boks need to be ruthless and cliniical in the selection room. This is where we can either set us up for a real challenge for this trophy or commit hari kari!

I seldom agree with this crazy Kobus Kitty fellow……but he has it spot on.

Spies ,Smit will be our undoing against Wallabies if they start.

If ever a test match calls for the collective skills of Bissy, Brussow and Schalk Burger this is it. Throw in W Alberts in place of Spies and Boks will have a real chance.

Seriously gents…..this is now where PDV has to step up and make the hard calls….

I would start with
    1 guthro
    2 bissy
    3 jannie dup
    4 bakkies
    5 matfield
    6 brussow
    7 schalk
    8 alberts

5…..2 bench split
    forwards on bench
    plod [ although i prefer ralepelle as he actually contributes ]
    d rossow
    cj
    beast
    spies..

This 13 forwards will scare any team……

But Smit and Spies start, with a rather out of sorts Matfield who is still finding his mojo……well then we gonna get a klap….

Over to you PDV

• 35.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

gregars – I agree. Why is it that some need to get into the gutter with their comments. I’m all for a little wind up and niggle but some just don’t get it. Don’t let it worry you though. The Bokke are going home and those that don’t already realise they are up against it (wipe the field with em and all that sort of rubbish) just keep winding I say.

• 36.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-34:
    i hate to say this to you buddy, but most of south africa and more importantly the springbok coaching staff don’t agree with you, for the most part.

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-36: that is fine…..There reputations as clowns precede them anyway….

We got out of jail versus Wales by playing the Spies ..Plod combo…

I fear we may not get the same fairytale ending should we persist this weekend…

Does not mean I will not be screaming my support, just means I will be concerned!

• 38.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-37: ag you said we woulldnt make it out of the pool stage gwantie?

and you threw away your bok jersey?

i guess you didnt like it out there in the cold eh? :lol:

thats right my boy, come sit by the fire, we will make a nice braai just now and you can even have a beer if you promise to keep quiet whilst the adults talk ok?

• 39.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-37:
    imo bissy works better as a substitute.
    same for alberts.
    yes, gurthro should start.

your concerns will prove to be just that…just concerns…

• 40.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

“The Boks are fortunate to have some excellent kickers in Morne Steyn and Butch James” BUTCH JAMES hahahahaha!

Come keolites, stop pushing the issue. Seriously!

• 41.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-8: yes yes, why dont you try standing at a ruck with 100 kg brutes smashing into you?

wow you must be awesome!

• 42.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

wow…this ET oke really is sad.

the slant at which he views certain senarios is Nazi’isc.

to bad the ozzies are going to lose.

• 43.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I hope the ozzies try and play with plenty of width. Teams that do that in the worldcup generally lose.

• 44.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Go easy on Gwanty,he has had a health scare.He injured his achilles tendon.

• 45.Guns: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-37:
    Spies & Plod must surely know this may very well be their last game as a bok. You would think they will play out their skin for this one.

• 46.ufo: Reply to this comment

Brussow will deliver…

He is not called Ratel for nothing…

but only we know what a ratel is…!! :wink:

• 47.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-44: Did you guys hear Ryan say Archilles in yesterday’s video! lol

• 48.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-46: Yes!! I am looking forward to seeing him man handle the Aussie forwards. The way he picked Martyn Williams up and throw him down is still fresh in memory. Ratel is a legend.

• 49.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Gwanty is in a bad place,his strut has been replaced with a limp.

• 50.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-48:

yes.. my mates and i laugh about that more than jonah running over mike catt…

the look on williams’ face is a source of endless amusement to us…!!

• 51.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Hey Bill. Spend a bit more time in the company of the stool sample that is ET. and you will realise there is nothing latent about him. You obviously like a good wind up and that is cool but ET had been the inhouse crotchfungus for many years. He’s ours to scratch.

• 52.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Im super stoked Brussow is still going strong, we can’t beat the Aussies (Pocock) or Kiwis (Richie) wthout him

• 53.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-22: Now this is a comment from a man who knows his rugger. Very rare in a wobbly supporter but good nonetheless.

• 54.Linga Linga Paradise Lodge Mozambique: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-37:

Grant, the Bismark/Brussouw combo wasn’t that effective against Samoa now were they?

Agree with post 39

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Linga Linga Paradise Lodge Mozambique(UKBokSupporter)-54: young man…..if it was not for the presence of Bissy, Brussow and Schalk we would have lost to the Samoans….that is virtually a guarantee.

• 56.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-22: Well said, agreed

• 57.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

Stormer – I take your point – ET is yours to scratch and I’ll leave that one alone. But gotta say there must be some nerves running around the Bok fans. Some responses to what is fairly banal banter borders on the feral. But all the niggle aside – and traditionally the Saffas have loved that as much as we have – this weekend will be a absolute cracker. One game no tears at the end as they say.

• 58.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-55: You’d be saying we would have won by more if Smit was there and Bissie had been on the bench.

Smit will start against the Wallies. Mark my words.

• 59.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

The wounds of the Tri Nations will be making the Boks want this more than the Wallabys. Time to let loose on Hungerford :)

• 60.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

Brussow will be at his best because he is always at his best.
    He is the best fetcher in the world.
    Pocock needs to be at his best

• 61.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-58:

No ways will smit the fatty start, even PDV is not that insane

• 62.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-60: “Brussow will be at his best because he is always at his best.”

I agree. Even his falling was worth an instant Oscar nomination. 8)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.