KeoTV: Boks need vintage Victor
4 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says Victor Matfield has a chance to remind us of his lineout class against the Wallabies.
22 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article22 May 2013
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has kept the rest of his team unchanged, hoping the momentum from the Reds victory will lead them to a win against the Kings. That does mean that Burton Francis remains out of the match 22, Elgar Watts continuing ahead of Riaan Smit, who is on the bench yet again. Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne will use this match to show why they have been included in the Springbok training squad. Both will be pushing hard to be among the final names for the upcoming Incoming tours against Italy, ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article4 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says Victor Matfield has a chance to remind us of his lineout class against the Wallabies.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

853 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All
4 Oct 2011, 19:33 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-495: Not so sure about SBW any longer at 12. Not even his coach is playing him there. Great player but for now not as great as I thought of him in SRugby.
See you have Moore and Digby. Heck that is a worry cause they both back for Oz this weekend. Both were missing for Oz/Ireland game.
4 Oct 2011, 19:33 pm
Subs:
Bismark
Reechee
Franks
Gurthro
Danie Roussow
Fotuali’i
O Connor
4 Oct 2011, 19:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-499: I will shift them around the park all day from ruck to ruck.
4 Oct 2011, 19:35 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-495: A schweet side… But unless there is a cloning machine on this planet then there might be a difficulty with some match ups
4 Oct 2011, 19:37 pm
@ willie,
Hahaha already making excuses and the game hasn’t started
4 Oct 2011, 19:38 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-505: Isn’t making excuses what coaching is all about?
4 Oct 2011, 19:38 pm
@Puma(Puma)-501: Yes Digby’s class is obvious, i think many would choose him there.
As for Moore, I rate him as the best no 2 in the world. Makes very little mistakes, is a hellofa strong bloke and gets around the park well too,
For me, a perfect balance of Bismark and John. Not as good in the loose as Bis, but no slouch, and does the basics much better.
I know they are playing against us/ If you think of the individual game breakers those Aussies have, players like Genia, Cooper, Beale, O connor, Pocock, it’s actually a very scary proposition.
If they get some space and the odd “bounce of the ball” they could cut us to ribbons.
4 Oct 2011, 19:39 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-495:
Not bad, although I’d have the Scottish loosehead Jacobson at 1.
4 Oct 2011, 19:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-507: I see they are predicitng a wet surface on Sunday.
I hope the weathermen are right.
I still have nightmares of the Bloem test last year.
4 Oct 2011, 19:40 pm
@willievz(willievz)-500: Hehehe. Pick a couple of Samoans… go on!
4 Oct 2011, 19:41 pm
Wow ! Did any one see Tutu on the news, WOW !
That is one brave angry man, taking on the anc and Zuma like that. Think if it was any body else they would arrest him 4 sedition.
They showed him letting rip 4 10 minutes, will be huge head line in papers 2morow.
4 Oct 2011, 19:41 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-504: Sure, I don;t profess to be the only guy picking some of those players but i tried to think outside the box, see my bench for the Samoan scrummie, Castro at 3 wasn’t (for some reason) as popular as i’d have thought, Sergio at 8. Moore. So some differences, but yes, some the same as others.
And if they could be cloned, man oh man…..
4 Oct 2011, 19:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-510: NEVER !!!
4 Oct 2011, 19:42 pm
Willie, no you have to insult the host city as well, maybe say the haka is waterdown or there is conspiracies against your team…
4 Oct 2011, 19:43 pm
@David(David)-508: I would possible pick Sheridan at 1. It was close.
Gurthro is a good sub, but I have doubts about his 80 minute ability, hence his bench position.
4 Oct 2011, 19:46 pm
@willievz(willievz)-509: I’m just not sure what to hope for, quite frankly. but I see where you are going with the wet surface. probably favours us more than them I guess.
I’m just concerned about our handling errors, which may be multiplied in the wet obviously. Most of those Aussies have great hands. But they are a physically smaller bunch so a slower game would suit us.
Quite frankly, I’m going to be a very nervous bear come Sunday. This is going to be close. Too close for comfort IMO.
4 Oct 2011, 19:46 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-512: I already picked Castro and Moore, off the bench! And Parisse… Sheezus, you chaps all cheat.
446.Heavens Game:
4 Oct 2011, 17:56 pm @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-436: Here’s my World XV to take on yours (with some imagination in selection): Since you’ve taken Bissy who I would also select, your team starts with a 7 point handicap. 15. F. Steyn
14. JPP
13. BOD
12. Roberts
11. North
10. M Steyn
9. Phillips
8. Parisse (C)
7. Gorgodze
6. Brussouw
5. Matfield
4. Russouw
3. Zirakashvili (Keeps Hayman sitting on bench for his club)
2. Tincu
1. Roncero
I refuse to select any farken Pacific Islander. Game on!
My bench would be Jenkins, Moore, Castro, Samo, Bakkies, Jonny, Hoogie
Coaches: Mallet, Gatland, Nienaber
Nutrition: TNT and biltong.
4 Oct 2011, 19:47 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-511: Well the selfish ANC wouldn’t let his bestest guest come to his birthday party. Shame on them.
4 Oct 2011, 19:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-495: Interesting team, and some good combinations there.
Cory Jane in particular caught my eye, a strong winger who plays the blindside well, you could have a very dangerous combination with Genia there.
Moore is a good player who does the basics well, and who plays to the ground too. You will need that given your selection of Kaino and Parisse who are better in the upright exchanges.
Give them some time together to find synergy on defense, and that will be a tough team to beat.
4 Oct 2011, 19:49 pm
Nervous bear?
…Just don’t p!ss yourself
4 Oct 2011, 19:51 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-511: What was he shouting about?
4 Oct 2011, 19:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-517: Sorry mate, I can honestly say that I didn;t see your picks. I saw some of the others and was amazed that Sergio and Moore weren’t in the frame for most of them.
But now that I have, I must compliment you on your “out of the box” approach to the team. Some very interresting selections there.
I thought of Phillips, and a couple of years ago he’d certainly be making a strong case, but I just felt that his best days are behind him.
I like what you did with your front row.
Ballsy to pick Johnny and Jenkins on your bench. i wouldn’t take the risk personally.
4 Oct 2011, 19:52 pm
For the Oz game think we need to start with Danie. Kinda worried if we start with Bakkies. Danie is the in form lock right now. Also a bit worried Bakkies might be a marked man with the refs.
Read Dan Retief’s article in the paper on the weekend and he thinks the Ref could be the outcome of the result this weekend. He wrote:
The style of the referee, what he does or does not allow, his timing in certain facets of play, could be crucial.
It should be like that but it is. The habits of certain referees may suit the way one team likes to play but conversely it could be detrimental to another.
That has been particularly evident at the breakdown and the rucks and mauls that follow the stopping of the ball, while the inconsistency in the way the refs have applied the laws has been most puzzling.
At the outset of the tournament. IRB referee manager Paddy O’Brien announced he would instruct refs to be stricter and highlighted five areas he wanted them to play attention to – the breakdown, scrum, offsides, mauls and foul play.
It means the Boks ‘ chances of beating Australia in Wellington on Sunday could depend not on their own expertise but on the 31st man – unless O’Brien lays down the law before then.
We did see Owens performance, or lack of it in the Boks game. So I am with Dan here. The ref could have the final say. I certainly don’t rate Bryce either.
4 Oct 2011, 19:54 pm
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-520: I may well be pished come the kickoff though. I’m thinking Champagne breakfast with a skottel, and lots of alchohol.:)
4 Oct 2011, 19:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-507: Yeah worried about our game against them. To be honest when we had Fransie there I really was super confident we would beat them. Now not so sure cause we have lost him.
Who would you start with then, Bissie or John? Both bring something different. Also we lacked our explosive bench against the Samoans. Or should we just start with the explosive players? Heck not sure right now.
4 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-522: I was so hurt… Dont go try pull an ET on me now
Jonny was as a howitzer replacement. Jenkins is worth 20 mins of upping the pace.
Phillips was shytestirring size… a prime consideration in Godsown team.
But I had to concede Willies choice of SBW and Mossie. Hellsteeth that could be a good combo. (and his “cheat” selections of Juan Smith and Hayman)
4 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
You guys are starting to sound like rugby anoracks.
Trainspotting anyone?
4 Oct 2011, 19:59 pm
@willievz(willievz)-519: Thanks. It’s always a risk with the combo’s which i gave some consideration too. I’m a big Cory Jane fan, he’s big and fast, and rarely misses an opportunity.
I picked Moore over, say, Bismark or Kevin for that reason, given the Loosies, who are on the “loose” side (you know what I mean but that I’m sure). i also have a fairly bulky backline for similar reasons, with only Dan being on the light side, the reast a seriaas okes.
Bakkies at 4 for that reason too, although it was close with Danie. Thorne was a strong contender too.
4 Oct 2011, 19:59 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-527:
4 Oct 2011, 20:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-523: Yup, have been worried about Refs ever since that France vs NZ game… (I think you were too). Subsequent performance of refs have only increased that worry.
@Puma(Puma)-525: Yes, the big question. If it’s wet I’d be inclined to start with John to be honest. keep it close, he’s having a great tourney and Bismark could explode off the bench.
i just don’t see the value of John off the bench at this time, so in that case he must start.
I know I’ll catch a lot of flack for saying that, but hey, that’s how I feel. leadership is vital and something I felt we lacked against the cannibals.
What do you think?
Strange, I see nobody rates Irelands O’Connor or Wales Warburton.
4 Oct 2011, 20:03 pm
What’s a rugby anorack
4 Oct 2011, 20:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-526: Ja, sorry. It’s been a hellofaday. Only now settling down and my ADHD won’t allow me to read all the posts, and in my skimming I missed yours. Had I seen it I would have read it for sure!
4 Oct 2011, 20:04 pm
@David(David)-532: Willie got Warburton, Mshini picked O Connell quite a few posts back already. I was assuming no clone machine and picked some leftovers.
4 Oct 2011, 20:05 pm
I rate warburton
He hot
@David(David)-532: I rate both, and picked Warburton in my team given the “unavailability” of Brussow and McCaw, and O’Connell was not available for selection.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-534: No worries. Hardenthefuckup !
Nooooo not that word “leadership” again! What can JS do or say which haven’t been said or done before? This boks side is too experienced…
4 Oct 2011, 20:06 pm
The 3 palookas gonna let the Boks down Sunday are the 3 palookas I been warning you about for 2 long years already
Smit, Spies, FDP
Get them OUT the starting team if you wanna see Boks go beyond the quarters…
That is the BOTTOM line criteria.. FdP gonna blow it BIG time and so is Smit and Spies
Aussie counterparts gonna have those 3 for breakfast lunch and after dinner mints in between afternoon tea.
4 Oct 2011, 20:08 pm
Against Aus:
Bakkies to start, Danie after 45.
Smit to start, Bismarck after 55.
I will go with a 5-2 split, always, but even more imperative if it’s wet.
Our bench is too strong guys, and we are peaking at the right time.
I am quitely confident we will take this one.
4 Oct 2011, 20:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-526: I see what you did with Jenkins and Wilko, but I still say it’s risky, but fittingly “alternative” given the make up of your team.
@Gunther(gunther)-527: Come on, you know you want too….
How about an alternative 15:
Foul play 15?
Most likely to be used as a pseudonym by a p0rn star 15?
The way your brain works, the results could be enough to get this thread well over 1000……..
4 Oct 2011, 20:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-540:
three little piggies went to the market…..
and the kangaroos jumped over the moon.
4 Oct 2011, 20:10 pm
Matfield will be OK with Bakkies beside him
Brussow and schalk will be just fine
Gurthro and Jannie will give it all they got..
Morne and JdV will put their bodies on the line
Fourie, Habana, JPP and Lambie will all go hell for leather to go the extra mile
The 3 f’ng stooge passengers that will do sweet fanny fck’all about proceedings are the 3 f’ng nancy pants mommy’s boytjie prima donna’s who can do f’all about stemming any advancing tide.. and those 3 palookas should be NOWHERE near to any Bok starting team EVER… Namely, Smittykins, Spiesiekins and Fourie du Predipandakins the third.
4 Oct 2011, 20:11 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-531: Yes agree. We lacked leadership for sure. It was so in your face that we never had a good leader there. Otherwise all the off the ball stuff could have been stopped.
I would start with John too. But bring on Bissie early around 45min then we have to hope like crazy Victor can control things.
Who would you start at 12 now that Frans is gone? He sure left a massive gab. I would go with Butch. Not as fast and strong as Fransie but he will offer something similar. JdV not so sure about him right now. Frans just took that position to another level and made our backs for a change look really good. Big blow he is out.
Also our wings who would you start if Habs and JPP can’t? For now it is looking that way. Is Hougaard over that knock to the head? I wonder not so sure. If he is then he has to start at 11 then who at 14? Odwa or Aplon?
I even thought about JdV and Spies at wings start with Alberts at 8. Then for me JdV was not that convincing on Friday at 11. With Digby there we need to select smart.
4 Oct 2011, 20:11 pm
@willievz(willievz)-541: You know i respect your opinion, I really hope you are right this time!
4 Oct 2011, 20:12 pm
521@heavensgame, sorry so long 2 answer am on phone and multi tasking.
He was virtually threatening the anc and zuma with revalution, you need 2 read transcript of the press conference, he just said so many mind blowing things and was so angry. He even said this govt was worse than the apartheid govt, and i hv never seen some one so influential stick it 2 China about Tibet like he did.
Sorry HG, been a long day cant remember word 4 word all tha was said, but is was a gob smacking angry tirade 4 10 minutes, am going 2 try find it and read it or watch it again 2morow.
4 Oct 2011, 20:12 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-540: I disagree…. On most of your conjecture.
FDP is the best 9 we got, despite him not being as good as his high standards would demand.
Spies, you have a point.
Smit, I have bought in to the hold the line and then bliksem with Bismarck theory…
And there you have it.
4 Oct 2011, 20:13 pm
@Jinx2(Jinx2)-543: Thats about how its gonna cut
Smit, Spies and FdP should DISAPPEAR from proceedings and our chances take on a DRAMATIC upward curve where Aussie don’t stand a f’ng chance
With those three has been and some never been prima donna nonentities starting we are going in with a 3/15 passenger list… which is a f’ng TRAVESTY at this level of competition.. and NO team can carry ONE player let alone THREE..!!
4 Oct 2011, 20:14 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-547: No probs, But Yoh! at Tutu! Will do a search and look for a clip later.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All