KeoTV: Boks need vintage Victor

RYAN VREDE says Victor Matfield has a chance to remind us of his lineout class against the Wallabies.

853 Comments

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All

• 601.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-591: Think Hougaard has not had much game time at 9 recently. But what we saw of him in the Namibia game think his best position right now is wing. He has been sublime coming on there later in the game. If Habs is out and Hougaard is ready to go he has to start at 11.

Sarel was pure magic but on defence he was found wanting many times in the S15. In Test rugby not so sure to play him.

• 602.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Wooden spoon 577: if you’ve noticed south Africa is a middle power in the third world, the USA is the first power, china and the USA are forever positioning themselves in lieu of global dominance. In other words Obama can invite the dalai lama every Sunday of the year but SA can’t, we need china desperately.

• 603.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-582: Making the whole backline Samoan would brook no argument from me.

Yup, you can make the Chiropractor Captain as the cherry on top.

• 604.poppa69: Reply to this comment

f*ck dalai lama he is a buddist!! he will burn in hell!

• 605.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-591: When was the last time SMIT, SPIES and FDP WON a game for Boks… can you remember WHEN

Cab has it spot on.. the team that LOST to Australia the last 2 times they met as recent as a few months ago are almost EXACTLY same team we going to start AGAIN on Sunday.. with Smit at 2, Spies at 8 and FdP at 9

Like the definition of insanity expecting different results while repeating the same experiment time and time again does NOT apply to the Springbok rugby team… Ok got it … YEAH !!

• 606.poppa69: Reply to this comment

and china ppl have really kak skelm looking eyes, you cant trust the f*ckers!

• 607.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

600.stormersboy: Reply to this comment
    4 Oct 2011, 20:48 pm

@Gunther(gunther)-582: hahaha classic. Richard Loe. What a piece of work.

I used to picture a scene where this little old lady is watching a game of rugger (his erstwhile kindegarten teacher) and muttering to herself..”That Rickie Loe, i knew he’d amount to no good!!!”

Don’t know why I had that mental image, just did.

I know.

Special mention:

Olivier Merle
    Gary Pagel
    Chabal
    Grewcock
    That Aussie no 5, not Vickerman, they guy before him, who got banned and even his own team mates wouldn’t have him. It”l come to me.. Anyone?
    The whole Argentinan Tuceman team
    The whole Neath Team of the late ’80s

• 608.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Justin Harrison!!! That’s the preek.

• 609.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-555: Ahhh, well if it is dry we just need to be accurate in our kicking and play the territories better.

Apart from his obvious individual contribution, Bismarck’s introduction from the bench also provides mental energy for his peers, and they in turn seem to lift their game. And don’t underestimate the impact that Alberts and Hougaard in particular bring to the party.

The bench is our secret weapon.

The midfield? Well, Frans Steyn is a huge loss since he gave a confidence to the backline and in particular to Morne’s offensive game. The biggest impact he made was not on defense (even though this was notable), but with his passing accuracy to outside channels.

I would not throw the baby out with the bathwater now, and will stick with JDV at 12. However, had we developed the Morne/JDJ combination over a year or two, I would have gone with the latter because he would have been able to penetrate the gain line from a deeper alignment (due to Morne standing deeper) with greater aplomb than JDV, who is slower off the mark and hence can be shut down more efficiently if he carries the ball from slightly deeper.

However, I am more concerned about our recycling than anything else.

If anything, the passing accuracy of FDP is my single biggest concern. I have lost count of the number of balls the first receiver had to take above his head or behind him when FDP delivered from the base of the ruck. We need him to lift his game so our phase plays (especially the early phases) are more effective on the gain line.

• 610.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-601: Yeah, good to see you in synch with Hougaard as a better 11 than 9. He is an outstanding 11!

Sarel’s defence may not be the most robust in S15 but then again neither was the Cheetah’s on the whole. (Also FdP not known for solid D either).

Would have liked to have seen him a few tests but we wont get to, ever – instead will probably see him turn out for the Wobblies in a couple of years as Genia’s backup since he will play over in Aus.

• 611.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

The Bester Brothers. Legends.

• 612.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Habana should also me dropped! He should rather have followed the sport of his race = soccer! Hougaard, JDV & Shadow much better than the quotas Habana, Ndugane & JPP

• 613.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

mpundi just read yr post 594, see they need our minerals, every one wants and needs them, we dont hv 2 bow down 2 those dog and cat eaters that lock up animal activists.

• 614.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-610: I have a sneaking suspicion that we will be seeing Janno Vermaak making a strong case from next year when he plays Super Rugby for the Bulls.

• 615.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That fake troll is here spouting c r a p.

• 616.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-590: I think you right Cabbie. That will be our team. JdV will probably start at inside centre.

From what I read today JPP probably wont start this Sunday he still has that knee injury. Habs still has a haematoma. Can’t play with that until it has desolved. Depends how big the haematoma is, but good physio can get rid of it quick. So have to see. We looking thin at wing. So do hope that Hougie is read to go.

I also think we must start with Steenkamp. Said in a earlier post. Bring on the Beast to rip them tired legs up later.

• 617.cab: Reply to this comment

its a strange feeling this, its almost like when mallet went for skinstad over teichman and de beer over honiball, another good coach like pdvm but u just knew then that those selections were not right – but i suppose they get paid the big bucks to make the big decisions – we shall see it all unfold. i guess we do have them coming off the bench, but the problem is not really at what stage they come on, i.e. how far behind on the scoreboard u might be, the problem is if you’ve lost the MOMENTUM – if u lose that the momentum in the pack, the side with the momentum will go onto win 9 times out of 10 even if they coming from behind on the scoreboard, if they ahead, u as good as gone.

• 618.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Troy Flavel and Jamie Joseph.

• 619.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-605: Wales? A team that has a great chance of been in the final.

The last 2 losses against Aus dont count – the 1st was using our C team, the second was when our “injured” had their first game back after Rassies hospital camp against a well oiled Wobbly machine by that stage.

And whats more, YOUR Moh.ammed Ali of coaches reckoned :”We won the the game except on the scoreboard”… Now wtf do you say about that? Huh?

• 620.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Treehugger: the USA and china dictate to us all the time, it’s just that tutu is going on in the media about a mate of his not getting entry into the country for his party, it’s ridiculous! Dalai won’t get into SA and we’ll keep getting R20 billion baubles from china plus an increase in purchases of raw materials in SA increase employment etc etc. Dalai offers us nothing, if tutu wants him at his party, he can host party in mauritius and the dalai lama can attend, simple solution.

• 621.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ 604 fakepoppa….you could do with some enlightning doll.

• 622.willievz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-611: The huge Griqua fan I am, I have seen the antics of the Besters on many occasions.

There is, in my opinion, only one player to have properly moered and therefore owned BOTH Besters in the same game.

One Dale Sandton, for Boland against my Griquas at Danie Craven. Think it was around 1997, when Marius Goosen also played for the Cavaliers.

A cold Stellenbosch night, but heated up front!

• 623.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

The Springbok game is 1000 times faster and more pro active with Hougaard at 9 than with FdP deliberating and pondering his options for 5 minutes at a time behind scrum then choosing the ONLY one he knows how which is KICK it back to the opposition again..

Boks would be streaks ahead of the game if they had a dynamic front foot playing 9 at base of scrum.. and Hougaard is as good a proponent of that game as any..

Hougaard is GOOD when he comes off bench and slots in at 11 but that is because he is a bundle of bursting energy that needs to get stuck into the action.. his better position for Boks is play him at 9 not 11, where both Habana and Aplon are perfectly suited for the role

If we started Bismark at 2, Alberts at 7 or 8, and Hougaard at 9 with Aplon either at 11 or 14 or 15 or bench for this game I would have no doubts we can take Aussie clean and stick them away like lat years stale sausage…

But the way we are going into this game with has been and never been Smit, Spies and FdP starting.. same way as we went in against them in the 3N recently and LOST .. Aussie gonna have a field f’ng day with these palookas.. don’t come crying when I have to tell you again I told you so come Sunday afternoon…

• 624.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-609: You making me feel like I can believe, coach Willie. But you making me worry too with your observation on FdP.

• 625.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lol. The “fake troll.”

• 626.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-582:

with Bees Roux as a sub, just in case you want to kill the ref!

• 627.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-610: Well Sarel is 28 years old now. He has to be in Oz for 3 years before he can play for them. Unless one of his grandparents are Australian which I doubt. So doubt we will see him playing for Oz when Genia is far younger.

He sure did carve them up in S15. But his defence let him down. Cost Cheetahs a vital win right at the death with a crazy pass into the Chiefs hands. So sometimes a steady 9 is better. Still rate him though. Pity he left for Tahs. If he was gonna play for a team over there he should have gone to the Rebels. They sure are building a good team for next year. Then again Jake might be to with the Brumbies. Still he could have come to the Sharks any day…hehe.

• 628.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The Dalai can offer us much and it aint money.

• 629.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-622: Dale Sandton! How could i forget that name. As much trouble off the field as he was on it. A particularly nasty piece of work.

He wasn’t that cr@p a player either. A bit lazy and picked way too many fights, but could actually play a bit when he put his mind to it.

• 630.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-619: Apologies for the wrong “been”. Irritating!

• 631.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I thought the days of the SA government getting involved in who can go and who can come, domestically and internationally, was a thing of the past…

Obviously not.

• 632.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-614: Yeah, maybe. Depends where Hougaard lands up playing. I truly believe he should stick to wing.

• 633.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Remember the Green Mamba?

• 634.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Hougie is the Green Cobra. He MUST start at 9!!! It is time to destroy the opposition’s confidence in the first 20 minutes.

• 635.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Treehugger: who else needs our raw materials in that scale outside of china? In this economit climate, who’s building cities around the clock, definitely not the USA and Europe, china is the only country with the need for the need of our raw materials in a massive scale. Additionally, we are not the only country that produces these materials, and we don’t produce enough of it for china! We need them, everyone does.

• 636.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This govt has been promising job creation forever.

Now suddenly China will deliver.

• 637.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-627: I didn’t know he was that old, Puma. Its actually sad when such a talent will miss his chance on a big stage… Well, then an opportunity elsewhere, with a different rugger culture, is a great option for a player of his ability and I wish him well.

• 638.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

There is no government. It’s a ponzi scheme.

• 639.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“Needing” China (even if that is true) does not mean comprising your values and national ideals.

We do not ‘need’ to sell our souls to new masters when the only master we ‘need’ is ourselves.

• 640.Modder_Prawn_Emmer: Reply to this comment

my man se naam is gammat fortuin, as daar f0kkol te drink is, dan drink ek mar wyn, ek is mister van gister, ek moes als wat ek het op daai f0kken perd gebet het

• 641.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(p0ppa69)-612: this little ******** really does think he’s some kind of clever little fuckup of a fellow don’t he just

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-619:

Please don’t try sell me that rotten f’ng red herring.. If Smit had spent another 2 MINUTES on the field vs Wales we were absolute GONERS…

SMIT did NOT contribute a FCK to our win vs Wales… not even a remote half a fck… you can try sell that garbage to those that are ready to suck garbage down their gullets but SMIT was LOSING to Wales.. Like he LOST to EVERY single other first tier rugby team in the last 10 games he has led the Boks…

WTF makes you dumbfck idiots start believing he is SUDDENLY going to transform himself from a LOSER into a WINNER overnight…?

He has NOT WON ANYTHING in the past 2 YEARS of strength vs strength competition.. and now you wanna start believing at the 11th hour that he still MIGHT???

Smit has LOST to … France, Ireland, NZ, Aus, NZ. NZ, Aus, NZ, Aus, NZ in ALL his last 10 encounters..

ONLY 2 games Boks WON in that sequence was vs Aussie at Loftus, Matfields 100th game where Smit was SUBBED OFF, and vs NZ in PE where he was NOWHER to be seen..

In between Matfield took Boks to good wins vs Wales, Ireland and England on EOYT where Smit was again NOWHERE thank FCK !!!

His LAST encounter vs Wales he was busy LOSING till he got YANKED off the field and his REPLACEMENT Bismark along with the other 2 better candidates to his other two passengers in Spies and FdP, namely Alberts and Hougaard helped to SAVE his overrated backside..

Smit did NOT beat Wales.. Bismark, Alberts, Brussow, Hougaard, Roussow, Burger, Steyn, Steyn, JPP and Habana did …. NOT Smit or Spies or FdP.. if anything those 3 assisted Wales far more than they contributed to Boks cause in reverse.

• 642.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-624: Don’t worry, he is still brilliant around the fringes and putting strike runners in space. Plus he is vital for the morale of the team and the opposition still fear him. A guy to have in your team rather than playing against, that is for sure.

I have a feeling we will see a few drop goals this weekend too..

• 643.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-618: That Flavel was filthy…

Honorary mention for Duncan McRae

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6U2wLYB_tI

(Doesnt really count because his victim was O Gara. Deserves applause actually)

• 644.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Smit also last his anal virginity at the bottom of a ruck to the smelly Samoan with the wierd gumshield!

• 645.Modder_Prawn_Emmer: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIlBeyGYJz4

Whackhead caught Dawn & Skopskiet!!! LMAO!!! A MUST listen!!!!!!!!!

• 646.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-643: This is how one captain should greet another captain:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJXTCnTGwVs

• 647.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Dawn: no the government won’t deliver, they never do but which government does, however, if the Chinese decide to purchase their commodities elsewhere, mines shut, locals are toy-toying, unemployment widens, crime goes through the roof, etc etc etc. So, tutu can have his soirée in Mauritius, he definitely has enough money to do that and dalai can attend and we keep selling our raw materials to china, how about that?

• 648.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-641: “where Smit was SUBBED OFF”….!!!? Sounds to me like the start of the Barney, Bismarck Tandem bliksem manoeuvre. Didnt know the now successful idea went that far back.

But hey, YOUR Mo.hhamed Ali of coaches said we beat the Wobblies except on the scoreboard, not me.

• 649.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja go for it twerp

Change that nic 100 times.

Don’t bother me just makes you look more stupid than you already are.

• 650.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-619: You know to be honest PdV was right there. It sure did sound daft, but he was correct. We won everything but on the score board against Oz in Durbs. We outplayed them everywhere, but simple basic errors cost us. Very simple like not passing. Happened twice or more. Dropping the ball right on their line about 3 times. We should have whipped them good. I counted about 4 definite tries that day. So think we work on simple things like that we can beat them.

Also not sure if we had Bakkies back that day either. Remember Danie was playing 7. He was not great that day either. Dropped quite a few when the line was near. Danie is a lock. Must not play him again at 7. At 4 or 5 he has been outstanding in the wc.

First time tackles is a must. 100% discipline will count for a lot. We have to know how the ref will blow too. Very important and keep to that. Who has the bmt. We been there before. So just have to hope and keep supporting our team

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.