No bullseye on halfback hotshots
4 Oct 2011
Bakkies Botha says there is no directive to target Australia’s halfback pair of Will Genia and Quade Cooper, stressing the importance of collective synergy on defence.
Genia and Cooper have been instrumental in Australia’s recent dominance over the Springboks, the former orchestrating play with consummate skill, while the latter has consistently brought his strike runners into play, or dazzled with individual brilliance. He leads the tournament in try and linebreak assists and is placed eighth in the tournament for the most metres gained when running.
However, Cooper has also grown his repertoire of skills appreciably in the last year, and is now also adept at playing the percentages, as he exhibited often with the Reds and Wallabies, particularly against the elite defensive teams. To underline his adaptability, he is in the top 10 for kicks and the top three for most kick metres.
Nullifying them begins with dominance in the pack, Botha said, but he added that there was no plan to physically intimidate the duo into submission.
‘This Test will be won and lost up front and if we do well there then their backline will be less of a factor. There isn’t a plan to target individuals,’ Botha explained.
‘The key for us will be to work together in the [defensive] system and to work hard within that system. If the guy to your left and right is on the same page we’ll do well.’
Botha identified the set piece and breakdown as the key facets of play. He refuted the suggestion that Ireland exposed vulnerabilities in the Wallabies’ scrum and added that their lineout was one of the few that could compete with the Springboks’.
‘I think they’ll play Sharpy [lock Nathan Sharpe] this weekend to try and test Victor [Matfield], who is the best lineout lock in the world,’ he said. ‘They also have Dan Vickerman, who is a world-class player. I think the team that [gets a good launch] from lineout and scrums could come away with the win.
‘They’ve also increased the physicality of their pack under Robbie Deans and in recent years they have become one of the most physical teams in the game,’ he continued. ‘That has a lot to do with their backline being able to play the way they do. We’ll have to bring our best game at the breakdown to try and stop their flow.’
Matfield echoed his long-time second row partner’s thoughts. ‘The Australian set piece is very good. They have three or four locks who really know how to run a lineout. Their scrum struggled against Ireland but when they’ve played us they were solid. The basics of rugby stay important. Hopefully we can put them under pressure,’ he said.
The Wallabies have beaten the Springboks in five of the last six meetings. Botha predicted that they wouldn’t veer from the formula that has worked for them, but warned the Springboks were a far more cohesive unit now than they have been in the recent past.
‘They won’t change much in terms of the way they play. The only difference will be that we’ve had seven or eight weeks together now where in the past we haven’t had that much time to prepare,’ he said.
‘They’ll stick to what they do best and we’ll do what we think has worked for us against them in the past. Then it comes down to who handles the pressure of a quarter-final better.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Wellington.
Follow Ryan’s World Cup coverage on Twitter

49 Comments
4 Oct 2011, 04:01 am
Win 6 from 7 coming up! (hopefully)
4 Oct 2011, 04:26 am
Trinations form has no importance come the World Cup.
4 Oct 2011, 04:49 am
Yeah Tri Nations meaningless in terms of this competition. Both teams have been below best form. Looking forward to both lifting for this game.
May the better team win and let’s hope for some running rugby.
4 Oct 2011, 04:50 am
Tri form does count for nought this weekend. What will count is speed to the breakdown, turnover ball and defense. The Boks have shown they have the worst defensive record against the Wallabies of any team in the world bar France. In short, your boys have no clue how to defend a backline with a few different moves and angles. And then read your man Botha’s comments about the Aussie forwards – “as hard as anyone”. It also says a lot that the poll on this site has 76% predicting a Bok win. And if you need what that says spelt out, it means you guys have your head in the sand. No rugby poll in Aus or NZ would be that slanted in one direction. Its called blind faith and wont help a dot this weekend.
4 Oct 2011, 04:52 am
Agree, the recent dominance of the Wallabies over the Boks is irrelevant. After all, before their recent pool game, when was the last time Ireland beat Australia?
When it comes to knock-out rugby, anything can happen and usually does. Can’t wait.
4 Oct 2011, 04:58 am
@WestAussieBok(WestAussieBok)-5:
So a score of 6 – 30 is not out of the question then?
4 Oct 2011, 04:59 am
He who dares: Wins.
Bokke by 7
4 Oct 2011, 05:07 am
@ET.(ET.)-6: Doubt there would be a margin that big in a game of this nature. When I say anything can happen, I’m referring to the result.
You only have to look at some of the major upsets over the last few world cups to know nothing can be taken for granted and that the underdog is more than capable of knocking off the better team (eg: Boks/ABs in ’95, France/ABs ’99, Aus/ABs in ’03, Aus/Eng & France/ABs in ’07, Ire/Aus & Tonga/France in ’11).
4 Oct 2011, 05:14 am
All you have to do is watch out for Genia’s snipes around the rucks. He does it so often, kind of like a faster version of Januarie.
So glad Botha is starting. Now just need Alberts and du Plessis.
4 Oct 2011, 05:50 am
3N can hardly be irrelevant — it’s a massive momentum-and-confidence builder and the Wallabies are 5/6, home and away, versus the Boks. They’ve won two RWCs too.
4 Oct 2011, 06:31 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-10: Ireland lost 4 from 4 before the world cup then they tore the Aussies a new one. I’d say they have been trampled to hard to get back up in time for this one.
4 Oct 2011, 06:53 am
Aussies are favourites and the 3N form has everything to do with it. Simply put… They KNOW how to beat the Boks and as winning is a habit they just have to do what they’ve been doing the last 7 games.
It’s the Boks who are gonna have to come up with the goods and prove they’re worthy quarter-finalists. Sheesh I hope our group of clueless, skill-less and useless nohopers and underdogs are not too embarrasses on the field.
Just hope they use their secret weapon of a 76% prediction on a KEO poll at an opportune time to scare the wallabies into submission. That poll is their only hope. Fortunately the management and senior players are experienced enough to know this… and will play their trump card like the grizzled seasoned poker players they are.
Can’t wait to see the look on the wallabies faces when that poll gets used!!
4 Oct 2011, 07:11 am
Swop the coaching staff and SA would win 80% of the time. We hardly had our first team playing in the 3N so that 5 from 6 statistic is skewed.
4 Oct 2011, 07:16 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-10:
Considering every side who has won the Tri-nations in a World Cup year has failed at the World Cup itself is ample evidence that you cannot draw any parallels between the two competitions.
The Wallabies are still favourites for this match but they would be fools to place much emphasis on their Tri-nations performance.
4 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
Tri nations means farkall, the all blacks won almost every tri nations title in the WC year and never lifted the trophy.
Secondly, we rested our best players for the away leg of tri nations and were undercooked at home due to lack of game time.
Some of you guys know nothing…
4 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
Boks by 10 plus…
Play Plod, Beast etc in first 40 when game is expected to be tight.
2nd stanza introduce Bissie, Guthro, Alberts, Hougaard, etc.
We’ll then see uncontested scrums by the convicts.
4 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
bakkies lieg man, hy gaan die hele ffokken ozzie span teikien.
4 Oct 2011, 07:49 am
May the best team win. When you win don’t gloat and when you lose, don’t cry.
4 Oct 2011, 07:52 am
teikien = teiken
4 Oct 2011, 08:10 am
Brussow v Pocock to be a classic – Pocock to win that one hands down. Inside defense of the Boks will be targeted (Morne in particular) and Aussies on the counter to cut them to ribbons. Not to say you guys don’t have your strengths (and strength is about all it is) but the difference (aside from speed) may come down to coaching – you guys are seriously handicapped by the clown you have in charge (PdV). I expect the Wallabies to unveil a few tricks this weekend and I’d be very interested to see how a one-dimensional Bok side reacts.
4 Oct 2011, 09:01 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-20:
so you are pretty confident then?
4 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
and you’re so much better off with a coach who has a 52% (?) winning ratio.
4 Oct 2011, 09:22 am
Hahaha yeah right.
Same coach Dingo with a 54% win ratio….
We are about as 1 dimensional as Ireland were 2 weeks ago….
4 Oct 2011, 09:24 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-4: @BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-20:
Reading your two posts Bill, it’s extremely clear you have a massive inferiority complex.
Lighten up and just let the rugby take you on a journey. If your team loses… you’ll have a big load of Emu egg on your face.
4 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
I hope the deer in the headlights Quade Cooper turns up.
Kudo’s to Bakkies for telling Quade what he “won’t” be trying to do to him on the weekend.
Coops has a very brittle temperament when his nerve is tested, he wont sleep much till the match.
4 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
How will it be a classic if Pocock will win it hands down? What a thickfuck.
4 Oct 2011, 10:52 am
One dimensionsal?
That tends to start with people who think they can write a whole bunch of text with no breaks and expect others to think they know what they are talking about.
Well, your post was witless at best in my opinion.
4 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-4: Keep convincing yourself. You obviously need to.
4 Oct 2011, 11:19 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-20: If the clown wins, will you join the circus?
4 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
Just realised; Bill’s the convicts version of Tackler. Bet he hails from one of the God forsaken dust bins like Pofadder, Putsonderwater, etc.
4 Oct 2011, 12:11 pm
BillMcConnell – If the Ozzies are allowed to play their natural running game then its over for the Boks. As a Bok supporter i cannot call this one at all, both teams have had horrndous injuries etc!!
If the game goes tight it will favour the Boks if the game goes open that will definitely favour tthe wallas!!
4 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
Well a few responses are required. I’ll try to deal with them one at a time.
Firstly, yes, I am pretty confident. The Wallabies have an excellent recent record against the Boks for one main reason – you guys play a game that suits us well. It is regimented and the tactics do not change. A team like the Wallabies may not have the greatest forward pack in the world but one thing they do have is the ability to adapt and out think opponents. Also, I think this Bok team – great names as they are – are about a year or two past it and speed will prove too much this weekend.
Secondly, coaches winning percentage is a little misleading because for the past few years he has been building a side of young players through some of the hardest test matches possible. That is why the Wallabies have the youngest team at the Cup. But putting that (and statistics) aside, are any of you honestly telling me you wouldn’t have Rob Deans over PdV any day of the week? If you would rather your boy – then fine – its just an opinion and you should be happy.
As for the inferiority complex, that is ironic. I am on this site for two reasons – (1) to read what the Bok supporters are thinking and talking about and (2) to wind you all up with a little banter and try to get some fun conversation going ahead of the big match. No analysis more than that required little man (queeble). As for egg on my face – should the Wallabies lose, I will return, wish you luck for the next week and take whatever comes my way. Not sure the more abusive of you would do the same.
Thirdly: as for Kobus Kitty calling me a “thickfuck” – I’m not sure I can come back to that – that’s just too sharp for me. Touche.
Another one had a go for posting too much text at once – fair call – next few (after this) will be limited to one thought at a time so everyone can keep up – ok with you petals?
Finally – I don’t need to convince myself of anything except the fact of how easy it is to stir this particular crowd. Honestly boys, people would think you were worried. And yes, if the clown wins, I will join the circus. RACE OF TAN – one brain amongst you. I agree, and in return if the Boks get a head of steam up and and confidence early, then Wallabies will be in for a long night.
4 Oct 2011, 15:13 pm
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-32: Which is older, the current Bok team or the Irish team you lost against?
4 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-33: Simple. The current Bok team. Now if you’d compared them to The Dead Sea Scrolls, the Boks would have to be classified as younger – just. Seriously, just pulling your leg.
The problem with all of the banter is also simple. You’re all ignoring the glaringly obvious truth that is; close down Genia/Cooper and the Aussies are screwed. That’s not to say it’s easy to nullify them, but the Aussies have not won a single game with Genia and more to the point, Cooper under pressure.
Obvious I know, but we can all throw sticks and stones until the cows come home. Cooper is a pansy on defense and when he gets a klap from the Bokke, his BMT will truly be tested. As long as Burger or Botha remain on the field after dishing out the welcome smack, the Boks should take a close one. Boks by 5.
4 Oct 2011, 15:43 pm
Cane – nice one. Current Bok side older than anything going around (and slower) and the point being Wallabies didn’t have Moore, Pocock or Ioane playing in that Irish game. As for the analysis – not quite me thinks. Cooper plays 15 in defense and Ioane stands at 10 which makes it a little difficult for your boys to run at him. Shutting down Cooper and Genia means controlling the breakdown otherwise they get quick ball on the front front then you’re screwed. Not sure your boys are up for that.
4 Oct 2011, 15:54 pm
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-35: Not my boys mate, my boys are probably sh1tting themselves having to think about Slide at 10. Boks can match Oz in the rough stuff. HB will get his hands on the ball, attack turned into defense from a gold perspective and Cooper laying mud tracks in his shorts as the timber runs at him. Possibly?
4 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
I think the point is that on any given day, one of the 3N sides is more than capable of tipping either of the others up. That’s what makes the *** for tat talk on this site interesting. Unless of course the nonsensical deteriorate into abuse (read submission).
4 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
Balls. I forgot to mention that the SA pack will need to be sans J. Smit to establish any sort of dominance. The man is a legend for what he’s contributed to SA rugby, but this is one campaign too far as a man of no fixed position.
4 Oct 2011, 16:11 pm
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-35: That was a rhetorical question, quiet clearly I have over-estimated your rugby knowledge, well for the record. The Irish team that beat Australia is the oldest team in this year’s world cup, its older than the Springbok team!!!!!.
So go and revise your kak theory…
4 Oct 2011, 16:14 pm
Cane – you’re not much fun – way too sensible and obviously impossible to bait. In any event good to chat but I’m off for a few hours. Let’s just hope no last minute injuries to either side and the ref stays in his place. I’ll be back online later to see what’s what.
4 Oct 2011, 16:33 pm
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-35:
Cooper at 15 for first phase defence actually leaves the wallabies with more problems than it solves.
QC has already shown over the course of the RWC (and especially against Ireland) that he’s not entirely comfortable under a high ball that’s moving in the air, and even if he takes it, his decision making from 15 is suspect to say the least.
Add in to this that it effectively has killed a large part of what was one of the most effective counter-attacking 15s’ game. Beale is nowhere near the kind of form most people expected from him coming into the RWC. He’s not been bad, per say, but merely thoroughly workmanlike. Against Ireland he ended up going into the 15 position when he wasn’t “supposed” to as well, leaving his team effectively fielding two men at 15 at some points – both of whom just got in each other’s way and watched the ball disappear.
There was a point, not so long ago, where anyone kicking to the wallabies back 3 would be branded insane, but right now, as Ireland showed, it’s a valid tactic. Even up and unders weren’t punished properly.
4 Oct 2011, 18:11 pm
Bakkies the Butcher!!!
4 Oct 2011, 19:28 pm
Boks will rely on Aus mistakes to score off, but I’m not sure the boks will be able exert enough pressure to get those mistakes. I predict the boks forwards will be up for it early on, but will fade in the 4th qtr. If we haven’t already put some daylight between us and the wobblies by half time we may battle to end on top.
4 Oct 2011, 19:39 pm
Australia were beaten by Ireland, for all the hype of their backline and South Africa’s backline not being coached properly, we will see, they played South Africa when Heinrich Brussouw had played one game in two years, Fourie du Preez had played four games, bar Ireland, Aus have had an easy group in this world cup, so they might be undercooked this time. Give South African backs any gap and they will punish you Jacques Fourie is the best outside centre in world rugby.
Let’s see, all this nonsense about Aus running South Africa rugged, well the opposite could happen, and will.
4 Oct 2011, 20:13 pm
*sigh*
What’s the point in engaging with someone who professes a desire to “bait”?
How very juvenile.
4 Oct 2011, 20:51 pm
they’d be stupid to target them like this, the ref would send them off, but they definitely should try hit cooper very hard with a fair tackle – he dont like it.
4 Oct 2011, 20:53 pm
and thats where u need alberts to clatter him with a lowhard piledriver ball-and-all, cooper is aware of this tho and like naas gets rid of that ball very quickly, unlike naas tho he’ll have a dart in the heavy traffic and thats when he needs to get clattered bigtime.
5 Oct 2011, 01:47 am
If the ref rules against Pocock like he should, then SA will clip them. Pocock is a great fetcher, but most of the time he approaches the ruck from the side, or very very close to it. Great battle looming between him and Brussow.
Genia and FdP – thats mouthwatering stuff – clearly the 2 best halves in the RWC, Schalk needs a big one to wrap him and keep him contained within the ensuing rucks.
Steyn is your most important asset now, he is a ruthless goal kicker, and positional play kicker. Not sure about his defense if the Aussies target his channel, he’s going to need some suport there.
I’m backing you guys to do this, although if Aussie were to get through and we get through the Argies, then facing Aus at Eden Park is a prospect most kiwis would be content with. SA havent had much fun at Eden Park too I guess, but it seems to spook Aussie more – look at what happnened against the Irish.
5 Oct 2011, 13:25 pm
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-35:
Don’t be stupid. Ireland and the All Blacks are both older.