Boks will battle without Butch
5 Oct 2011
JON CARDINELLI writes that Peter de Villiers will come to regret a campaign-defining decision made on the basis of one missed penalty attempt.
13 August 2011, South Africa vs Australia at Kings Park. Butch James, the man earmarked by the Springbok selectors to play No 10 at the World Cup, steps forward to attempt a penalty goal. The wind blows the ball off the tee, and so James asks team-mate Heinrich Brussow to hold it steady. James then rushes the kick, hooking it to the left of the uprights.
The Boks went on to lose that Test, but a truthful account will show that the hosts were fortunate not to concede more points. One missed penalty attempt did not cost them the game, but it was enough for De Villiers to jettison James and reinstate Morne Steyn. It was after the subsequent game in Port Elizabeth where De Villiers would claim that the Boks had the flyhalf and the template to win the Webb Ellis Cup.
James was done a dirty, and South African rugby regressed four years. The coach and selectors invested in a flyhalf and game plan that while successful against B-sides and lesser teams, proved limited when implemented against the well-rounded All Blacks and Wallabies.
Fast forward eight weeks to the build-up to the Boks’ quarter-final showdown with the Wallabies in Wellington. I find James in a gloomy corner of the team hotel. His shoulders are hunched and he wears a resigned look. He’s well prepared for the media’s questions, professing his unwavering support for the team and the coach’s preferred flyhalf, but throughout the interview you get the sense that he’s as bleak as the Wellington weather.
‘Morne is playing well and the team is playing well. I’m happy to fill a bench role. I’ve been out on the training field doing my best, and I don’t think that I will let the team down if I’m called on in a game situation,’ he offers.
The conversation is steered towards that fateful day in Durban, the day the Boks’ entire World Cup game plan was changed because of one missed kick. James has never been one to dwell on the past, but when pushed, he says that he should have made that opportunity count.
‘I didn’t do my chances of selection any good when I missed that kick. It was disconcerting when the ball blew over, but an international player should still get those kicks over. There are a lot of excuses I could use, but the bottom line is that I missed.’
James will tell you that he is a competent goal-kicker, and his record will substantiate the big talk. Before that Test in Durban, he average 83% in Test matches, a record that’s right up there with the best in the world. He gets annoyed when people make definitive statements about his ability based on one bad performance or kick.
In the early noughties, it was his controversial tackling style that drew unwanted attention. Butch enjoys the big defensive hits, but he became unfairly tagged as a thug when a few of the more exuberant tackle attempts slipped up past the shoulder.
In much the same way he’s been labelled an incompetent goal-kicker because of a few fluffed attempts. And it’s not just the uneducated laymen who have drawn false conclusions. Going by what transpired after that Test in Durban, the supposed brains trust of South African rugby is guilty of the same poor judgment.
Will it cost the Boks their World Cup campaign? The Boks are talking about their recent pool matches as if they’ve progressed. They are talking up Steyn as if he’s the key to their success.
The reality is that they haven’t been challenged by a top team like they were in Durban two months ago. Wales pushed them close in the Pool D opener, and exposed their defensive frailties in the flyhalf channel, but subsequent successes against minnows like Fiji, Namibia and Samoa have installed a false sense of defensive security. The upshot is that the Boks believe Steyn can shore up that flyhalf channel and keep the Aussies at bay.
James feels that the Wallabies will come at the Boks this Sunday. The driving rain experienced in Wellington this week is expected to cease by the time the match kicks off, and this should allow the Aussies to play a high-tempo, ball-in-hand game. The probable selection of Berrick Barnes at No 12 will also lend the Wallabies a sharper edge.
‘Pat McCabe is a very direct, physical player, whereas a guy like Berrick gives them more attacking options from a distribution point of view,’ said James.
‘The Aussies like to attack with width, and although a quarter-final may change their thinking slightly and force them to play a bit tighter initially, I don’t think it will be too long before they move the ball around. It’s their strength, and they should stick to it.’
The Wallabies will target Steyn’s channel this Sunday. They will have taken note of Wales’ attacking success against South Africa in the pool stages, and will be aware of Steyn’s dislike for contact.
Be it on attack or defence, the Boks will miss James’ physicality. Playing against the Wallabies two months ago, he made a big impression on defence. The Bok backline also looked more imposing when James was directing the attacking traffic.
Penalties and drop goals won’t see the Boks home against a Wallabies side that has the capacity to score tries against the best defences. De Villiers will rue the decision to preclude James from the starting line-up and limit the Boks to an outdated style. In the aftermath of a quarter-final exit, the South African rugby community will ponder what could have been If only that ball had stayed on the tee.

677 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All
5 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-549: More drivel on the same thread – amazing haha
5 Oct 2011, 15:58 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-546: well, i used to mind that too but i stopped being what i refer to as a “hiphop elitist”, you know the guys who like to profess that they were listening to Immortal Technique when he was still shopping his first demo
if i hear good music i share it
5 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-549:
that dude would need a shoehorn and a swimming pool full of KY to get out of an SLS.
5 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-548: show me up? against Fiji & Namibia?
he “showed me up” alright
bwahahahahahahahaha i bet even Meyer Bosman would “show me up” against those two rubbish teams
5 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-552: So then you should be familiar with Devin the Dude, Odd Squad, Chali 2 Na, Jurassic 5, Goodie Mob, CunninLynguists, Large Professor, Siah and Yeshua and Coughee Brothaz – cos thats some classy hip hop right there if you want to talk about hip hop elitist hehe.
5 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-552:
HaHa I hear you!
Speaking of which, haven’t actually heard the Immortal Tech buzz since the Revolutionary Tapes.
Have you heard Kendrick Lamar’s mixtapes? Dude is fire.
5 Oct 2011, 16:08 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-555:
Slum you must be from the REAL old skool lol.
Devin is funny, Goodie Mob were one of the original southern heavyweights weren’t they?
People don’t dance no more
All they do is this
5 Oct 2011, 16:11 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-557: haha Devin is an ace. Best lyrics ever. Yeah Goodie Mob from the South. Yeah man I like good solid Hip hop – Cunninlynguists are possibly yhe best of the bunch – they do some awesome mixtapes too. Hip hop with brains.
5 Oct 2011, 16:18 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-557: Devin is often referred to as the rappers rapper – its the kinda rap the big rap stars listen to when theyre chillin. Funny considering he is hardly known.
5 Oct 2011, 16:18 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-555: yep Hocus Pocus, Mr J Mederios, Procussions, KOs, J-Live, El da Sensei, Pharoahe Monch, Company Flow, Pete Philly, Perquisite, Kev Brown, Othello, Polyrhythm Addicts.
5 Oct 2011, 16:21 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-555: Large Professor aka Extra P is one of my favourite artists/producers of all time…the work he did with Nas on Illmatic and O.C. on Word.Life still gives me goosebumps
Devin is nuts, smokes a lotta weed.
I disagree again (whats new???) This match will likely be won by penalties and drop goals. These two teams are the best defensively. Can’t see more than a try each (big if though). My score Boks 22 Aus 17
@Transformation(Transformation)-560: Nice one. The real stuff. Other guys just give hip hop a bad rap haha
5 Oct 2011, 16:22 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-555: @wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-557: @Transformation(Transformation)-560:
Will Smith, anyone?
5 Oct 2011, 16:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-561: Yeah I hear you and although its not strictly rap I must say I´m a big Michael Franti and Spearhead fan too.
5 Oct 2011, 16:24 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-564: lol
5 Oct 2011, 16:24 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-556: nah, i’m sleeping on this Kendrick Lamar cat, haven’t managed to give him a listen unfortunately
5 Oct 2011, 16:25 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-564: Dr Alban?
5 Oct 2011, 16:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-568: lol. He was one of the first international acts to come to SA, it was a novelty. Now he wouldnt be able to sell out an open toilet I reckon.
5 Oct 2011, 16:27 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-563: i saw Pete Philly & Perquisite at the Cape Town Jazz Festival 2 years ago and i was blown away…some dope jazzy Dutch HipHop…
i also like TommyT’s production all the way from Norway.
5 Oct 2011, 16:28 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-559:
He’s the guy on ‘I just wanna f*k u with Dre & Snoop on Chronic 2001 right, isn’t he a barber by day?
I came up in the era of Nas, Jay Z, Big Pun, Big L, Notorious BIG, Wu Tang and also the solo’s of RZA, GZA the Genius, ODB, Raekwon the Chef, Meth and the outside dude Capadonna.
Then there’s Canibus, The Roots, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, the younger Kanye, Dilated People, Guru, Premier. 9th Wonder.
Never been heavy of the West Coast but no denying Snoop’s Doggy Style is a classic, as well as both of Dre’s Chronic albums.
Don’t think there’s a person alive who can say he’s covered every part of the HipHop music spectrum, there’s just too much art that’s been put out.
5 Oct 2011, 16:29 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-569: Wasn’t he also a dentist back in Lagos, or whatever shithole he’s from?
5 Oct 2011, 16:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-567:
Definitely one you should check out, from Compton but the complete opposite of what you’d expect from the West, lyrically better than J.Cole i’d say.
Even more weird is that Dre has picked him up and he’ll ghostwrite and feature on DeTox the day it finally drops.
5 Oct 2011, 16:32 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-571: Thats the truth – in all genres – its overwhelming
5 Oct 2011, 16:33 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-571: Also have you guys checked out Gramatik? Not hip hop per se but close – now that guy is great.
5 Oct 2011, 16:33 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-569:
He came to set up a cocaine retail operation.
Rapping is just a hobby.
5 Oct 2011, 16:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-570: wicked – the best hip hop tends to be jazzy doesnt it? Check out Gramatik if you dont know him.
5 Oct 2011, 16:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-572: Yep.
5 Oct 2011, 16:44 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-569: ever heard of Jean Grae?
she’s abdullah ibrahim’s daughter Tshidi Azida. she stayed in New York when her pops came back, she’s waaaayy too ill…her Jeanius album is a classic
5 Oct 2011, 16:48 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-577:
Just had a listen to Gramatik now, sick sampling.
How long has this dude been around?
I listened to Street Soul now, if you know it when did it come out because he’s cutting exact sample Wu Tang used for C.R.E.A.M.
Will dig deeper into the Gramatik catalogue for sure.
5 Oct 2011, 16:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-579:
For real? I knew she moved from SA to the US at a young age, just never knew why and that he’s her father.
5 Oct 2011, 16:51 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-571: i saw Kweli, Black Thought from the Roots, Dead Prez, Boots from the Coup in 2001 @ Black August. the show was at Park Station in Jozi.
Kweli killed it! it was around the time of the hype of Train of Thought
M1 of dead prez was on stage between songs and said “yo i heard the cops said they going to shut the show done if they smell any weed in here” as he said that he asked for a lighter from the crowd and lit a huge zol on stage and said “well i say fccuk the police” hehehehe
5 Oct 2011, 16:52 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-580:
Also, have you heard of Fudgemunk?
His style is pretty close to Gramatik, the same dreamy jazz/soul boombap abstract sampling.
And how about that Snow guy.
Informer, you know a flippity floppity flippity blame, A licky boom boom down…
Fck man, I love my hip hop.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-577: will do, thanks
5 Oct 2011, 16:54 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-582:
Ssh!t!
And wasn’t that around the same time Let’s Get Free was hot?
That album shook my state of mind like no other piece of music had before.
5 Oct 2011, 16:55 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-584:
5 Oct 2011, 16:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-579: Dude, Im still stuck on 2Pac.
5 Oct 2011, 16:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-584: ” they have no cluues but they wanna turn warmer/ but Sham won’t turn Informer”
that was crazy track back in the cut.
5 Oct 2011, 16:59 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-588:
Nothing wrong with that, I see he came back from the dead one more time to make a *** tape.
5 Oct 2011, 17:00 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-586: yep…after that “Bigger than HipHop” blasted from the speakers and we all LOST OUR MINDS
5 Oct 2011, 17:00 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-590:
he rose again.
5 Oct 2011, 17:03 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-588:
2 pac and cold play?
you are the musical version of the pic n mix counter at checkers.
5 Oct 2011, 17:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-591:
F@rk I can just imagine how that went down!
‘One thing bout music when it hits you feel no pain’
@Gunther(gunther)-592:
LMFAO
5 Oct 2011, 17:12 pm
@RL(RL)-36: ***** snakes alive! You’re not a glass half-full kinda oke are you?
Basically as far as you’re concerned the whole Bok team is kak. There is not one decent player. Then don’t watch man. Simple as.
5 Oct 2011, 17:15 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-593: i think Pac would slap Taahira for that coldplay nonsense.
5 Oct 2011, 17:15 pm
James has passed his sell by date just fatty smit
JON CARDINELLI has issues
5 Oct 2011, 17:18 pm
All Blacks without Carter are 30% less potent
Who can take them on?
Only the Aussies
but i reckon the Boks will beat the Aussies
dont ask me why its just what i feel today
5 Oct 2011, 17:18 pm
Gotta run, it’s been good.
May the power be, with PDV 8)
BOKKE!!!
5 Oct 2011, 17:19 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-598:
The Boks, most certainly, can take on ANY team.
Including a full-strength AB team.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All