Bakkies’ World Cup is over

Bakkies Botha has lost his ongoing battle with injury and will play no further part in this tournament.

The Bok enforcer has struggled with an Achilles injury since the team arrived in New Zealand. He was expected to return to action in the play-offs, but after a heavy fall at training on Wednesday, the Bok coach believes that Botha’s World Cup is indeed over.

‘That was the worst part of my day yesterday, at training when Bakkies came down at the first lineout we had and injured himself again,’ Peter de Villiers said.

‘It is a sad day for myself and for Bakkies too as it looks like his tournament will be over. That is the reality, that is life and this is what we get and we just have to move on.’

This injury will also signal the end of Botha’s Test career, as he had initially planned to retire after the World Cup.

67 Comments

• 1.scar: Reply to this comment

It was always going to be tough to get over such an injury and fully fit! We will miss the enforcer dragon…

• 2.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

He’s really a bit of a softie isn’t he? (Colin Meads played with a broken arm. Buck Shelford with his scrotum torn open…)

• 3.corms: Reply to this comment

From an Aussie perspective, I was looking forward to him playing so he could be binned and we would only have to play against 14! Seriously though, I will miss the big unit. World rugby needs characters like Bakkies and sadly they are few and far between. Best of luck Bakkies and thanks!!

• 4.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

Go Well Bakkies and thanks for years of dedication to the Bok cause. End of probably the best lock partnership of all time. You were sometimes misunderstood, sometimes crossed the line but you always gave your all.

• 5.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Cheers Bakkies. Rugby has been a lot more colourful with your presence. Good luck.

• 6.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

First Frans, now Bakkies …

Why dear Lord, why?

• 7.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

As great a player as Bakkies was (is) better for you guys that happen now than in the first or second line-out on Sunday. In any event, you back up boys have been on fire in opening games. Sincerely think you’re better off without than with a half fit Botha. Great character, go well.

• 8.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2:
    It’s a pity DC couldn’t emulate meads and shelfords heroics .but then again by your reasoning Dan is made out of cotton wool

• 9.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-6: well Bakkies wasnt exactly making a huge difference in the wins like Frans was – Rossouw has covered more than adequately and is in fact playing far better rugby than Bakkies at the moment and Alberts is more than enough of a sub for lock seeing that the other old **** Muller (who shouldnt even have gone on this tour) is also injury prone. They can fly in Mostert if they want cos we will need some type of cover for Matfield.

• 10.whatever: Reply to this comment

You really are a Troll of note hey? So Ali Williams with his achillies was out for how long? And the faces he pulls during the Haka try to make out he is a hard ar se, but in fact he is a softy. At least Bakkies tried to play through his injury, whare as Williams limped off like a wet f art!

Lets not talk about the walking softie sicknote called Dan…………..

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-8: Carter doesn’t pose as a “tough, hard guy”. Bakkies does — or, rather — did.

• 12.cab: Reply to this comment

**** man this is devastating news, just gets worse.

• 13.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-10: Well if you call back humping and head butting a half back tough you must be a real sheila yourself.
    Good riddance to the coward they call the ‘enforcer’. All his shots have been cowardly on unsuspecting individuals. Puss in Boots.

• 14.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2: Well – it is an injury …. unlike Capt McChoke who’s been crying, doing lighweight training, and missing matches just because of a little post-op pain for months.

• 15.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@captain fantail(captain fantail)-13: “All his shots have been cowardly on unsuspecting individuals”
    By ‘unsuspecting’ so you mean they were not briefed, not trained, or never realized they were on the field? Or just thick?

• 16.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-11: We’ll all miss Cottonwool Carters eyes going all wide and teary this year. Well there’s capt McChoke’s reaction I guess … although his eyes are constantly teary because he bumped his foot last season.

• 17.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-11:
    It’s one thing to be an enforcer and another to be an idiot endangering themselves and others by continuing to play with a serious injury

You’re right though DC doesn’t pose a tough guy he goes to the other extreme of things and poses as an underwear model

• 18.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Don’t be too tough on Tackles. He once broke a nail typing but still managed to google all through the night.

• 19.whatever: Reply to this comment

@captain fantail(captain fantail)-13:

By unsuspecting , do you mean the cheating little knobend who pulled Bakkies back………he knew what was comming his way boet.

I say rather good riddance to the overhyped soft as cotton sicknote Carter

Dan the Man? pfffft…………………Dan the girl!

• 20.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-18: Tickles is not so tough … he had a band-aid on his finger.

• 21.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-19: Dandy man

• 22.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@TheBoksAreBack(bringbacktheboks)-16:
    Not good having a laugh at someones bad luck. Carter is the best in the world, he wanted to play in this RWC but the rugby gods said “NO”. So he was deavasted as you would be if you had half his talent.

@whatever(whatever)-19:
    lol, well we all know Bakkies did his enforcer moves on unsuspecting and somewhat smalled people. Its a known fact.
    I asked the other day if anyone new if Bakkies played his silly little off the ball tactics with someone of his size or bigger……. there was silence. No one could think of anything or anyone.
    Bakkies new who he could get the cheap shots on and feel safe as to not being made a fool off.
    Anyway saying all that, its a real shame a player makes the RWC tournament only to get injured and miss out. no one deserves that at all, even with the people you are jealous of and hate cos they are better than you….isnt that right whatever :-)

• 23.spartan: Reply to this comment

Farewell to the big bruiser .
    He and his mate Victor had a long period of world domination as the premier locking combination of their time .

• 24.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-22:

I don’t hate mate :) Not even wet pantie…………

And it’s a shame when any team loses its stars, Dan, Steyn, Palu, whoever…….

• 25.groen: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2: Im sure if the stakes weren’t
    that high and we had no option he would have played. The ozzies are a formidable attacking outfit the last thing you want is one of you 22 to not be 100%

• 26.toby: Reply to this comment

As much as I’m not a fan of Bakkies this is becoming terrible with the top teams losing their best player’s. I would prefer all teams 100%.

• 27.toby: Reply to this comment

Next in line is McCaw can just see it coming.

• 28.Dex: Reply to this comment

No great loss, we are better off without him.

Never really liked his ‘tough guy’ persona, he would have been better just playing the game rather than getting sent off because he can’t control his temper all the time.

Very hypocritical as well, given his ‘christian’ status.

• 29.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Dex(Dex)-28:

Same as Thorn………….

• 30.LITELOCK: Reply to this comment

Hate to see anyone go,good luck Bakkies, with what ever you decide to do.No matter what happens this weekend this is one of the most tense Wc’s for a while.things could go any way.

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

when Bakkies played the ball he was an awesome olayer….

when Bakkies went a bit befok he was a loose cannon and pi s sed me off big time with the Cowan and Aplon incidents rankling big time.

Go well Bakkies.

• 32.ShaunSwindon: Reply to this comment

We have missed this guy in this World Cup so far. Oh well lets see how the Aussie game goes and then we can take it from there I guess :(

• 33.Cambridge: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-22:

…and exactly how often would Bakkies play against someone who was bigger than him?

• 34.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Cambridge(Cambridge)-33:

Name those bigger than him?

• 35.Cambridge: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-34:

Exactly my point. Now go read Hurricane’s post.

• 36.peachy: Reply to this comment

where are they selling the cotton wool that cart made of sure need now:

• 37.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Yeah, you actually have to have a scrotum for it to be torn open. Bakkies Botha is the hardest player of all time. When have you ever seen any other player flying head first into the chest of opposition to clean them? (world cup final on a cheating Kay) All players would have risked serious neck injury.

• 38.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Thanx for the memories Bakkies, you’ve been a great servant to SA Rugby.

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2: joumasepoes

• 39.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Cambridge(Cambridge)-35:

Gotcha :)

• 40.Waster: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-39: ha ha bit too quick with the acerbic reply there silverdale boy

• 41.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-40:

That would be right mate :)

• 42.Waster: Reply to this comment

@Waster(Waster)-40: This site seems to cause that in people, a couple of times I have thought,” I might go on Keo and wind up some saffas” but I am always too late, everyone has wound themselves up already,lol

• 43.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

oh man, oh man
    i dont know where to begin

just so sad really.

• 44.Waster: Reply to this comment

This is how i felt when George Gregan retired from international rugby, it is good for us that they are gone but somehow rugby seems a little lessened by their absence

• 45.madvillain: Reply to this comment

Took too long to make this decision. Bakkies and the Bok medical did not help us in the process.

Mostert would have had two more weeks with the squad had we sent him home in time.

With all that said, i think sunday’s 22 is the best we have under the circumstances.

Flo must be loving life at the moment. A very good turn around of events at this stage.

I hope CJ’s versatility comes to good effect. Beast dropping out of the 22 is understandable.

Aplon, Butch and Hougaard are very important mainly because of their obvious versatility. Freshness and hunger should add to that.

I am satisfied with what we have. I hope we show up.

49-0 loss to the wallabies is proof that the boks have the potential not to show up.

• 46.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

The Bok medical staff must be such 3rd world rubbish. Surely they could have seen Botha was struggling. He should have missed out on all pool games and only made his return in the quarters. But no, they rushed him back twice in a row. Same thing happened to Smith at the Cheetahs. Ag, foking pathetic.

• 47.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Come to think of it. Can we fly Juan Smith in as a replacement? How’s his rehabilitation coming along?

• 48.pakslae: Reply to this comment

The good thing to know when the ABs crash out of yet another World Cup is that we won’t hear much of this prick TheTackler for a while.
    Oh wait… he’ll be bitching and moaning that the ABs were without Dan Carter and played with a half fit Richie McCaw.
    There’s just some things you have to live with.

• 49.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

Ageneee, jammer vir Bakkies. Sterkte ou maat en hopelik is jy weer gou gou gesond. Jy kan nogsteeds baie bydra lewer aan die span met jou kennis, ondervinding en houding.

Viva Bokke!

• 50.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-46: Kobus, kom nou maat weers regverdig. Hulle forseer nie die spelers om te speel nie! Die spelers forseer seker die mediese mense om te se^ hulle is gesond genoeg om te speel! Geen speler in die Bok squad sal uit keuse op die bank of in die hotel bly nie!
    Die afrigters wil altyd he^ hulle “A” span spelers is op die veld, en die spelers wil atlyd op die veld wees! Kyk hoe probeer JP ook om reg te wees!

Hierdie ouens is dapper en taai en WIL speel. Die doktors perobber seker hulle keer! :-)

Nog n groot game Saterdag – WP teen Leeus. Wat se^ jy?

• 51.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

dont forget to close the door on your way out,

BaXXies !

• 52.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-51:

Those who attack Bakkies are only insecure about their manhood.

• 53.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Aah pity to see the big fella’s gone…but to be honest he hasn’t been playing that much rugby, we can’t afford undercooked players coming into the knockouts…think his mongrel would have been handy in disrupting the wallaby forwards though

Sad to see ANY top flight players missing out on the business end of the tournament though!

• 54.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Altho nowhere near as insecure as those that see “attacks” where there were none.

Given your openly stated desire for opposition players to be injured (I personally prefer to see the very best available) then forgive me now for

Pointing.Whilst.Laughing.

• 55.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Farkin’ sucks. too much rugby being played i think….here we get to the games everyone’s been waiting for, and so many players out.. Bakkies, Carter, F Steyn, Sheridan, Palu, Mitchell, Flanery…..and so many guys carrying injuries too like McCaw, Tindall, JPP etc…..it’s a shame

• 56.Nils: Reply to this comment

Shame another one is injured but he is hardly a loss, IMHO. Underplayed, never really healthy here and offering little. Unlike guys like Steyn. Anyway, get well soon.

• 57.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Time for SA Journos to mention this piece of controversy:

http://www.espnscrum.com/2011-rugby-world-cup/rugby/story/151481.html

Apparently, the only errors made by refs at this world cup have been to South Africa’s benefit.

Once again, Paddy is out to get us.

• 58.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

YoMama

the only mentions of your precious Boks are editorial additions and neither of them attributed to Paddy, the target of your paranoia.

Once again, Bok fans out “to get” Paddy. Pathetic.

The 2 incidents mentioned ARE the “two most controversial incident from the RWC so far” unless, of course, you can name others.

• 59.YoMama: Reply to this comment

How about Smit getting carded for trying to make an intercept.
    How about the countless high tackles and punches that were not cited from the SA Samoa game.

If the All Blacks lose this world cup, it will be Paddy’s fault. The men in black leotards have never had to fight for an even game, for the past four years (to be exact). They have always been given an easy ride by referees and citing commisioners whenever things get tough. They don’t even know how to deal with adversity.

Imagine a bizzare senario that whomever the All Blacks face in the semi finals gets a fair referee. (It would have to be a rogish renegade who is willing to commit professional suicide) Both South Africa and Australia will put your boys away.

Even your press acknowledges the preferential treatment that your boys get:
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/our-experts/4008427/Cards-stacked-in-All-Blacks-favour

O’Brien who is trying to arrange the cup for your boys can’t even take the truth:
    http://www.3news.co.nz/Dwyers-bias-comments-upset-Paddy-OBrien/tabid/415/articleID/169226/Default.aspx

The best things that could ever happen to the All Blacks would be for someone to show Paddy the door and for the team to treated the same way as the other teams have been. This will develop the mental toughness that is always lacking in New Zealanders and might even empower them to win a World Cup.

• 60.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-59:

How odd, then, that the RWCs own article includes the very same quotes from Paddy as mentioned in your ESPN version……..and yet NO MENTION of the precious conspired-against Springboks.

Because, as was obvious, that was an editorial addition that was no less than accurate anyway.

http://www.rugbyworldcup.com/home/news/newsid=2057556.html#obrien+gives+thumbs+referees

• 61.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-59:

Im embarrassed for you. The article ‘cards stacked in ABs favour’ is clearly from the TriN and yet youre clearly suggesting it is in a RWC context. Furthermore, the incident referred to is a refereeing decision made by Jonathan Kaplan. Isnt he one of yours ?

some Conspiracy Theory youve got going there.

• 62.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-59:

and its even funnier than that, this is your other article:-

“THU, 05 AUG 2010 6:44P.M.
    The International Rugby Board’s New Zealand head of refereeing Paddy O’Brien is considering legal action and wants a public apology from former Wallaby coach Bob Dwyer after Dwyer accused O’Brien of bias toward the All Blacks.
    Dwyer says O’Brien only raises concerns with the performance of his match officials if it favours New Zealand like he did after the All Blacks scrum was hammered by Italy in Milan last year.
    For the record the All Blacks have been penalised 34 times in their three Tri-Nations tests, South Africa 24 times and Australia 18 times in their two tests.”.

Did the last sentence carry any meaning for you – you know the bit where, in fact, the ABs were more penalised than both Springboks & Wallabies ?

Have you ever followed the journalistic career of Bob Dwyer ? lets just say ‘there is a history’.

• 63.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

a href=”#comment-2003411″>whatever(whatever)-19: Beyond the comprehension of a Bogan like you I’m afraid…what a real man is and a gentleman to boot.

• 64.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Word is that this “injury” is a smokescreen so that Botha can be dropped without losing face, which, him being a South African christian, I hear is very important.

Erasmus, as head coach in all but name, put his foot down and refused to have the walking red card in the 22. They faked an injury so he could finish his career with his head held “high”.

It’s dishonest, yes, but dishonesty runs right through the SA society so it’s to be expected.

• 65.Nils: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-59: “Imagine a bizzare senario that whomever the All Blacks face in the semi finals gets a fair referee”

Interesting scenario. Could you please name any “fair referees” in your opinion? Just curious.

Because last time the symbol of ‘fair ref’ here seemed to be Barnes with his penalty count 10-2 against the dominant side. :D Strangely enough, as soon as he got to ref SA sides – bang! – suddenly he has been considered kak ever since. Like all other foreign refs as soon they ref Bok boys.

So I am really interested who might be a “fair referee” in your opinion – the thing is, he may ref YOUR team in the semis, as well – and there will be no Saffa refs around.

Maybe let’s try Barnes again? :D

• 66.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-65:

dont forget, Our Wayne was “fair” at Cardiff’07 but “a cheat” at Brisbane’09.

You only need to look at the results to find your explanation.

To be fair, the first time Ive ever seen a referee being victimised in the wake of a Bok victory was after the Samoa match. The homophobic attacks were apparently justified on the basis that an opposition team had dared to take the precious Boks on in the ‘physicality’ stakes. No wonder their macho ego’s felt so threatened as to drop their guard. And yet Williams was incorrectly RC’ed for an open-handed slap whilst Heinrecho Ronaldo fell over like a dandelion.

Poor wee dears.

• 67.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-66: Aim higher. Barnes was rubbished as soon as he reffed Cheetahs vs BIL – way before Brisbane.

To be honest, for me it looked like Samoans went over the top sometimes just like Italians vs Irish. Good to see Boks kept their cool.

Williams was redcarded rightly but Brussow going down faster than Ronaldo – priceless. I’d give him Oscar at once. Adam who?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.