PdV sticks with Smitty

John Smit has been reinstated as the starting hooker and captain for Sunday’s World Cup quarter-final against the Wallabies.

De Villiers started Bismarck du Plessis in the last pool match against Samoa, and it was rumoured that he would continue to play a bigger role in the knockout matches. But with Thursday’s team announcement, De Villiers stuck to the original script, favouring the man he made a promise to in 2008. Smit will start ahead of Du Plessis because De Villiers believes that the former is an indispensable leader.

Du Plessis has been named on the bench, but the Boks could certainly use his particular skill set in a game of this nature. More mobile and aggressive than Smit, he also possesses a strong breakdown game and is known to make the odd steal off the deck. Against the Wallabies, you’d want players of this ilk on the park from minute one.

It is also false to claim that the Boks don’t have the leadership outside of Smit to see them through a knockout match. Victor Matfield has captained the Bulls to three Super Rugby titles over the last four years, and has led the Boks admirably when Smit has been unavailable.

Matfield will play alongside Danie Rossouw in this match, as regular second row partner Bakkies Botha is unlikely to recover from injury. Beast Mtawarira is left out of the match 22, with Gurthro Steenkamp starting at loosehead prop. Other changes to the side that fronted Samoa see Jean de Villiers replacing the injured Frans Steyn at inside centre.

The Bok coach has also reverted to a traditional four-three split on the bench. There is still no sign of Johann Muller, and Willem Alberts will cover lock once again.

Francois Hougaard will cover several backline positions, and Butch James will give the team an alternative flyhalf option if Morne Steyn and the Boks’ one dimensional game plan doesn’t come off. Like the benching of Du Plessis, it’s a selection the coach will soon regret, as James’s skills are tailor made for this type of opposition.

The Boks have spoken about playing a forward-oriented game, but someone like Gio Aplon will lend them attacking impetus in the final quarter. Aplon has been used sparingly in this tournament, but will provide the Boks’ with a lively running option against what should be a tiring Aussie defence.

Again, the team may have been better served if Aplon was selected to start rather than ride the bench. Like Du Plessis and James, he has the ability to influence the outcome of a match and ideally these sort of players should be playing a greater role rather than a bit part in a do-or-die fixture.

Springboks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Heinrich Brüssow, 5. Victor Matfield, 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (c), 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. CJ van der Linde, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Francois Louw, 20. Francois Hougaard, 21. Butch James, 22. Gio Aplon.

486 Comments

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

plod dragon

• 2.jocuba: Reply to this comment

BallsnRibs on the bench…!!!

• 3.Train: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is the henry honiball of the 2011 rugby wc

• 4.jocuba: Reply to this comment

Solid team… serious bench. Up to the boys to put it together…

• 5.RL: Reply to this comment

No Bakkies, fair enough – no Beast, this is a good call, he is not nearly as good as Guthro, I called for his axing weeks as he is the inferior loosehead in the team.

The bench looks better with the 4/3 split.

• 6.Train: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is the henry honiball of the 2011 wc

• 7.whatever: Reply to this comment

Each time I read the team sheet it sinks in a little further how faaking old these blokes really are………….eish no new exciting blood. Last game on Sun methinks…….unfortunately!

• 8.RL: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-7:

Old? who is old? Only Plod, Matfield and Danie are 30+
    JdV abd CJ are about 30, the rest of the team between 20 and 29.

• 9.David: Reply to this comment

Once Bakkies wasn’t fit, this is the best 22. The bench isn’t just about impact, it also needs to take injuries into account, which is why Butch is there,

• 10.Train: Reply to this comment

Sadly I think we are going down on Sunday. Aussies better prepared than us, will have a few tricks up their sleeve. Will relentlessly target fdp

• 11.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Solid team and bench.

Good luck boks.

• 12.RL: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-7:

Guthro also 30 – the All Blacks have an older team btw

• 13.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-10:

I think you think wrong.

• 14.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-12:

True.

All blacks have an older squad, yet they are favorites to win the tournie.

Some things don’t make sense to me.

• 15.jocuba: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-10: You underestimate Piet Snor… he has plenty of options with that 22… not 1 F’kin passenger.

This could be very interesting…

• 16.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Well I can do without Brainfart Bakkies. Oom Danie playing really well at lock. Beast – I prefer Guthro, and CJ packs both sides if needed.

4:3 bench is good for a team like Australia who will stretch us wide and tire us out all day long. Good bench, would have started Alberts, but I like Flo instead of Malteaser Muller. Alberts, Schalk & Flo can pack at lock – and I really like having relative pace to burn with these guys.

Smit vs Biz. Biz would have had the Aussies on the back foot from the whistle. I think that’s important.

• 17.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-9: I like Butch there too. Especially if Jean lasts 12 minutes per usual.

• 18.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Come on Boks.

• 19.jocuba: Reply to this comment

Is Bakkies still lame or did he just not get selected?

• 20.puff: Reply to this comment

The right calls have been made – coaches and team must live by their choices but they are sound choices.
    Bakkies, you legend, time to go home.
    With Frans out Morne’s kicking accuracy is key and he must start.
    Bok two best defensive wingers and most experienced flyers should always start if fit enough.
    Bok most experienced centre combo.
    Francois Louw on the bench to counter the bam-bam dynamism of Pocock.
    Bismark and Hougaard to come on and blitz the Wobblies in the final stretch.
    Butch to come on and knock them back off their tired legs.
    Beast has been strangely subdued throughout entire tournament.
    Gurthro being picked makes sense.
    Four-three split the right way to go for Wobblies.
    Go Boks!

• 21.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I like the 4/3 split on the bench. Great that Aplon is there.

Could it be that the Boks are planning to swing it down the line come Sunday?

Well I farken never!!!

• 22.Train: Reply to this comment

Awesome players -all of them. In most positions I believe we have better players, but let’s be honest who do think is shrewder Bok or Aussie braintrust?

• 23.Train: Reply to this comment

Awesome players -all of them. In most positions I believe we have better players, but let’s be honest who do we think is shrewder Bok or Aussie braintrust?

• 24.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Bakkies a huge blow. It may be time to cut our losses and fly Flip in.

• 25.Train: Reply to this comment

You mean mostert

• 26.Train: Reply to this comment

You mean mostert.

• 27.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Mostert. Has a brain.

• 28.jocuba: Reply to this comment

The pitch will be a major factor… watch for scrums collapsing, frustrations boiling over & plenty penalties…

• 29.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-24:

FLIP!!!!!!

please no……….

• 30.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

This is PDivvy’s A team. Even if Bakkies ever recovers and in the unlikely event of the Boks beating Australia, he’ll be hopelessly undercooked in terms of match-fitness to come back into a semi or a final ahead of Danie Butterfingers.

• 31.RL: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-25: Mostert is injured so he means Flip.

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-24: no flip…gerhard mostert! ja

• 33.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-24: Why? Danie is playing really well. No weakness there at all. And he won’t get carded at least once a game by being super-dof.

• 34.julz: Reply to this comment

Hopefully Helium’s spoken insistance on the kick and chase game plan is disengenous and the boks will unleash some bold and deadly new plays.

• 35.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Pleased to see Guthro, good call. Plod needs to **** off, however. Bismark and Brussow complement each other at the breakdown whilst being a very intimidating duo around the park, and against a savvy Oz side dominating the physical exchanges is beyond vital. Even disregarding that Plod has never been half the player Bissie is, and the whole captaincy angle is rubbish when you have the most successful captain at provincial level at lock. One who actually plays for his province.

• 36.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@julz(julz)-34:

This is the test of Rassie’s influence.

• 37.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Thank goodness Butch is on the bench should “Two step” De Villiers not decide to tackle or pass the ball. Butch can play 12, would have preferred JdJ as backup but that would mean either Aplon or Hougie not there. So its as good as it gets.

No Beast and 4/3 split implies that the Boks dont think too much of the Aussie scrum despite all the noises to the contrary in interviews.

Flo on the bench indicates that Rassie, the real brains trust, reckons this game will be won and lost in the ground war with Pocock.

Interesting times.

• 38.Train: Reply to this comment

Fourie is going to have the worst game if his life ( hope I’m wrong) but mark my words that it what is going to happen. Each time he gets the ball out of a ruck or a mall 2 Aussies are going to target him and limit his options

• 39.mako: Reply to this comment

A great side, well done to PDivvy for not making any silly changes. I think Aus will be very concerned to read this teamsheet. I like having a strong bench that lifts the intensity of the game in the last 20 minutes. If you think we are having problems with lack of faith in our coach try reading some of the Aussie blogs, they think Dingo is a NZ plant to help the AB’s win the WC.
    SA more settled, more focussed and with a bunch of these guys playing their last ever tournament in a Bok jersey they will give it their all. Boks to win a tight, tough battle by physically smothering the Wobblies and defending like madmen.

• 40.jocuba: Reply to this comment

Everybody close your eyes please whilst we give thanks for Rassie…

For what we are about to deliver, may we be truly thankful & ever mindful of those who are less able than ourselves.

Hallelujah!! YES… there is a god.

• 41.Puma: Reply to this comment

Mistake not having Beast on the bench. Feel for him. CJ probably has to be but I really don’t rate him much at all.

Injuries might be a problem. Cause read today that Brussow, Habs and Hougaard were still with the rehab Boks. So they have covered themselves with Aplon and Hougie on the bench also with Flo if Brussow has a problem. Butch to cover fh and centre.

Not sure WHAT Bakkies is doing there still? When will he play? If we go out on Sunday he has actually done not much this tourney. Also why the heck bring in Zane???? He is not there either.

Think if we start to fall behind we must bring in Alberts and Bissie pronto. Not wait 55min. Rather bring them in after the break or just before even. If we ahead then straight after the break or around 45min.

Just have to stay positive and hope we can. Without Frans not so sure. See JdV is at 12 like we all thought.

Cooper speaking and could not even think of a player that had flair in our team? Then quickly mentioned Lambie and Hougaards name with Habs. They sure as heck pleased that there is no more Frans Steyn.

Good luck to our Boks. Just have to stay positive and hope we can. Just too many injuries right now to our top players.

• 42.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-39: I wouldnt be surprised if Dippy is a NZ plant too… Lots of NZ support from greater Cape Town and the West Cape… Dippy in his youth might very well have been a Caped Crusader.

• 43.Puma: Reply to this comment

@jocuba(jocuba)-40: :)

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

We also have a damn kiwi ref. Really don’t like that at all. Should never have been. I hope he dislikes Oz more than us….LOL. :)

• 45.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Very good team except for the 3 that are being masked by the other 12 and covered profusely off the bench

EVERY single one of these selections is spot on including the omission of Bakkies and by going 4/3 split to give better mobility and running options when we might very well need them in 2nd half.. The BIG pity is Beast is sacrificed for Smit at Loose head.. and that is a fuckup of NOTE….

Aplon, Butch, Louw ALL very good and inspired selections..

The ONLY flaws are the 3 that have been glaring flaws all along.. Namely Smit, Spies and FdP starting .. but then those are the 3 fflaws and weaknesses we would have to be covering for ANYWAY as we always have HAD to nevertheless..

• 46.Train: Reply to this comment

Everyone a big fan of rassie but if we reflect, he has never won anything as coach/manager other than a couple of currie cups with FS

• 47.mako: Reply to this comment

@42.Heavens Game:
    Hmmm, you never know… I am impressed though so far. Old Snor has managed to make some pretty good calls this WC. Thank heavens he brought in Rassie and Nienaber. Hopefully they can keep the team moving forward while Dickie and GG stand around the pub….

• 48.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-37: I think Beast would have been on the bench. He had to take the fall cause of the injured players playing. Habs, JPP and Brussow are carrying some injuries. Well think Brussow is as he was with the rehab Boks today. So they had to cover the bench with two wings. Which tells me JPP and Habs will come off at some stage. Also probably Brussow as Flo is there to cover for him. So Beast had to take the fall for the team. Don’t rate CJ but he covers both sides. So suppose he has to be there. But would have prefered to have Beast. Then if Jannie got injured we sure would be in trouble. So one of the front row had to drop out.

• 49.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-46: Shows how farken kakpoor Dippy has been, with probably the worst win/loss ratio of any Bok coach since readmittance. I reckon even Naka Drotske would have done better.

Rassie and Nienaber have made a positive impact, thats for sure.

• 50.mako: Reply to this comment

Bryce Lawrence hammered the Aussies in the Ireland game. He particularly penalised their scrum heavily, so they are very bleak to have him reffing this game. The bokke have been studying the refs and hopefully will play to Bryce’s way of blowing. If he penalises the Wobblies that is 3 points each time, thanks to Morne’.

• 51.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

You don’t have better players than those on the field on the bench, of course they’ll look good off the bench, but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t start. So just because Lambie as a sub would have made Kirshner look like the talentless mug he is should he start from the bench? ****** logic. Impact players should offer something different if needed, Brent Russel springs to mind. Not be all round better players.

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-45: Skop most teams would have two hookers. So it seems understandable that one of the props had to take a fall for the team. Pity it had to be Beast. He makes such a impact when he comes on later. Damn which he covered both sides. I just don’t rate CJ at all.

• 53.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-42: I have it on good authority that he was.

• 54.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-52: which = wish

• 55.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

CJ is covering tight head and Jonny Blue eyed Palooka is covering the Beasts position off the middle of the park.. Smit is the glaring F’ng WEAKNESS in this team.. Him and the other pretender Spies.. though at least in Spies’s case he can STILL run for 80 minutes.. and an open game vs Aussie is at least more up his alley than a trench war grind out vs AB’s or a NH team…

Smit is a dead beat f’ng conglomerate of lard once game goes past 30 minutes.. how the FCK they still expect him to play 50 minutes at 2 and then SWITCH to loose head for a further 30 is a F’ng Brain Explosion like you would expect from a mesmerized moron on memorabilia juice

• 56.Train: Reply to this comment

HG: have to agree. SA with pdivvy accept mediocrity. No way we wld have tolerated this from Mallett or Jake

• 57.Train: Reply to this comment

HG: have to agree. SA with pdivvy accept mediocrity. No way we would have tolerated this from Mallett or Jake

• 58.Puma: Reply to this comment

Pleased Danie is starting and no Bakkies. Think Bakkies might have cost us like Mitchell mentioned and like probably we all though anyhow. He is a marked man with the refs. Could pick up a red card and that would have been a big mess up.

Though I think he simply never made it cause he is still injured. So have no clue why he is still there. Cause if we make the semi and he is over that injury he won’t be game ready. Danie will still have to start ahead of him.

• 59.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-48: The 4/3 split to me is both an insurance policy and a ground war declaration of intent…

An insurance policy for the backline in terms of Aplon as cover for JPP and Lambie if things don’t work out at 15 or if JPP wont last a whole game. Hougie is there as cover for FdP and as impact wing. Butch is there as an insurance policy for Morne and JdV. We better hope Mossie doesn’t get injured otherwise we are in shitstreet of note.

Two fetchers on the bench in Bismarck and Flo tells us all we need to know about how the Boks will play. Slow Oz down on D and keep ball on attack. I envisage Ratel and Schalk will be let loose to run themselves into the ground with one being replaced with Flo come 60 mins.

Alberts is there for impact and CJ is nothing more than insurance for Jannie DuP.

• 60.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-55: They won’t play John at LH. It will be CJ. Will be a straight swap for Bissie when John comes off. Well I think it will be.

• 61.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-53: Wouldn’t surprise me in the least.

• 62.mako: Reply to this comment

@55.ashampoopaloo:

Dude you are going to do yourself some damage, take it easy! John Smit is our captain. He is the most capped Bok ever and the most succesful bok captain ever. Show some respect pal, who the hell do you think you are calling him a ” dead beat f’ng conglomerate of lard ?”

Punch yourself repeatedly in the face for me, as I can’t reach through my monitor.

• 63.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-59: Yes we have covered ourselves well there. But still feel for Beast. Also we should have had a 4/3 split for Samoa. When Frans got injured he said after he just kept on playing in pain cause there was no replacement on the bench to take his place. JdV had gone to wing by the time Fransie got injured.

Who knows if he had come off straight away with that injury he could still be fine. So yes, we have covered ourselves proper here. But one had to take a fall for the team and I feel for Beast. He is a superb impact player when he come on. Will be missed for sure.

• 64.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Train(Train)-57: Don’t like Jake, but both of them are light years better than Dippy and his crew in terms of organisation and planning.

I can only imagine if Mallet were in charge of this set of players. Fark me, Bill would be as good as in the back pocket already. :wink:

But we are fortunate that Rassie and especially Nienaber are involved now.

(Wonder what DickMuir actually does in this setup now?)

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

R.I.P Boks

The farken fat boys club have won.

Beast and Bissy must be seriously pi ssed off…

• 66.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Spies and our best player in the last decade FduP have to come to the party. FduP was better against Samoa so let’s hope he’s starting to turn things around. If Bakkies was there it would’ve been good night nurse, Danie won’t let us down. Kicking game needs to improve a hundred fold too or we”l be run to shreds.

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-39: Damn I had to laugh at that. So the Aussies think Deans is planted there for NZ to win? hahahaha. Bloody funny that.

Have to read RugbyHeaven sometime. Do they post there?

• 68.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

These dumb fck fckfaces like HG and Train suggesting PdV is worst Bok coach since readmission when his ACTUAL record surpasses ALL white coaches prior to him including Jake the skunk eyed snake…

Mallet ran on Carel Dup’s brainwaves and fckd it up solid at the death.. White arsecrept up Eddy Jones backside else he was a nobody of mammoth ineptitude.

The other fckups like Streauli, Viljoen, Williams and Maakraaf were so far inferior rugby coaches to PdV they are not even fit to tie his bootstraps

PdV leaves all these fckups IN the DUST..

PdV is the ONLY coach with an equal win / loss ratio to NZ since readmission.. better than Mallet and far better than White.. White has a 3 from 9 loss ratio against them with one little win in Rustenburg by ONE measly gift of a missed kick point…

PdV is out and out the best rugby coach this Bok team has had in a LONG LONG time.. since Kitch Christie to be exact…

• 69.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: Your last line………hahahaha. Had a good chuckle….hehehe.

• 70.RL: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-55:

Smit is a dead beat f’ng conglomerate of lard once game goes past 30 minutes.. how the FCK they still expect him to play 50 minutes at 2 and then SWITCH to loose head for a further 30

That is where the game will be lost – no reason to replace Guthro at all for Plod, he is going to taste his arse turbo reversing if he thinks he owes it to himself to be on the field stealing Guthro’s position.

Play him for 40min then bench him for Bissy, it’s the only way.

• 71.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-64: Look Mallet may be a good coach but not great

He threw his players to the wolves, blamed them for a loss
    He was also a palooka when it comes to selections, he selected Bobby ahead of Teich and a flank as a scrummie

Say what you want about PDIvvy, Snor, Lapa Lip, call him whatever, but he is and remains loyal to his players. He has a passion for the Boks and I believe he was let down by his support staff

Jake White was a technical good coach, a real video jockey, but poor on selections in his first and third year and he would shoot his mouth off and get the oppo all excited and frothing at the mouth

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-63: Yeah, I feel for beast too. But with beast there, one of Butch or Apples would not. I think they have made the right call wrt that. Certainly I think Gurthro has the edge over Beast at the moment

It looks like they dont reckon the Aus scrum will pose any outright danger so Beast’s impact might not be as much as say a fresh Apples and Hougie to keep the backline Wizards of Oz in check and possibly to fight fire with fire by taking the game to the Aussies on attack.

Butch is there as backup for the midfield.

• 73.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Disappointing team.

The loss of Bakkies and Frans, and the resultant addition of Butch and Louw has destroyed the impact of the bench. De Jong could at least have come on and scored the winning try after a sniping fresh legs break down the middle.

Don’t know what the hell Butch is going to add, other than REDUCING the pace of the midfield if he replaces De Villiers.

And Louw is going to add f-all, whereass Alberts as a loosie replacement coming on in tandem with Rossouw as the lock replacement and Bismark would have added a tripple whammy wrecking ball of note.

In short, our impact bench has been replaced with an insurance policy bench in the form of Louw and Butch James. Very disappointing.

• 74.mako: Reply to this comment

@67.Puma:

Yep, they’re tearing their hair out. They are not that confident of beating the Boks on sunday. I love it when the Aussies start squaling before the game is evn played, they are scared!

• 75.JL1: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-65: Oh, phulease get back into your hot tub

Boks do not need your support, get yourself another team jersey, maybe Aus…. Oh I forgot they have already lost a game

• 76.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Not sure why skopshyte is throwing his toys out of the cot at the news John Smit is starting.

It was pretty obvious that he was going to. If you’re surprised at this, you’ll be surprised at the sight of the sun coming up tomorrow morning.

:roll:

• 77.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

post 76 applies to Gwant10 too.

• 78.JL1: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68: See my post 71

• 79.cab: Reply to this comment

i tink we going home, and to top it all off, there is no beast on the bench, my god they are mad.

• 80.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: He is the most overrated captain yet.. with a glorious win / loss record against top 5 rank countries of exactly 10% in the past 2 years of captaincy prior to this WC … 11 games started 10 LOST … his tri nations record since 2009 reads played 10 LOST 9 .. hows that for a SUCCESSFUL RUGBY CAPTAIN .. you gotta have success inverted for FAILURE because where I come from to LOSE is to FAIL.. dumb fck IMBECILIC DUNCE!!

He better turn that sinking LOSING trajectory he’s been on since 2009 around RIGHT NOW because it is NOW that actually COUNTS…

• 81.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: Mako what do you base your comment on that John Smit is the most successful Bok captain ever? Caps? Even in the modern era when we have not dominated, he has a worse win loss ratio than Pienaar, Tychman, Matfield.

Even his cap count is suspect? How many games was he taken off the pitch? 40%?

• 82.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68: So 17 consecutive wins on the trot is due to Carel Du P… You farked in the head worse than I thought, man.

Before this RWC and the welcome additions of Rassie and Nienaber, I reckon after the 3N, Dippy had an equivalent record to, if not worse than Straeuli as Bok coach. Hardly inspiring, hey?

Stop apologising for his lack of authority and credibility – its actually patronising to him.

• 83.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72: I think they will be wanting Steenkamp to last the 80min. Then of course we don’t have fresh legs there after 55min. Something we had all this tourney.

Righ now Steenkamp is playing better than Beast have to admit. But Beast is still playing superb. Feel for him being dropped. Wish he covered both sides. Cause sure as hell it would not be CJ on the bench then. We HAVE to have two hookers. So that is understandable.

We just have to weigh it up. We start to fall behind then we need to bring on Bissie rather sooner than later. Even before the break. Or straight after.

Really that Cooper got to me now listening to the big mouth. When asked if Boks had any flair he just giggled. Then said mentioned Lambie, Hougaard and Habs name but he had to think about it first. Fool. Hope we keep him out the game like Ireland did. Shut his trap up that would. No wonder the kiwis don’t like him.

• 84.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I must be the only one who feels Butch shouldn’t be in the 22. I just don’t see what he offers. Sure, he’s another kicking option, but we have Steyn, and if something happens to him, we have Lambie. The inside back replacement should be Juan de Jongh. He is infinitely more dangerous and unpredictable on attack. And he’s a deadly defender, unlike Butch who only has two flailing arms and a badass reputation. De Jongh is a gamebreaker. Butch is a journeyman. Looking at the rest of our bench, we seem to have favoured gamebreakers.

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

I can tell you if Frans Steyn was still at inside centre. Cooper would be bloody worried.

• 86.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-73: Get real, we need to have a lock replacement

Vic will not play 80 minutes and if he does, Alberts is insurance for your love child, old Spies

Send him a twitter and tell him JL1 says he owes us a big game

• 87.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tacitus you were a revelation today.

That spine not so rigid after all huh

• 88.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-73: Oh, I see you agree with me re Butch.

• 89.JL1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: Cardinelli and Keo wants the Butcher there

• 90.RL: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-73: If the Boks lose then Bakkies career will end suddenly …….. without him even walking off the field.

I think that Plod will want to stay on the field for the whole 80min – his ego is too big to do the right thing and sit on the benf for the good of the team – remember he owes it to himself to be on the field.

• 91.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Skoppie’s on tik again. He’s had the best players at his disposal of any of the post apartheid coaches, and he doesn’t have the best record. Stick to pot, you’re already slow so no side effects.

• 92.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-71: 17 consecutive wins – a record – indicates a very good coach. A coach is not there to be matey matey with players. Mallet did not need to be mates, he had authority and could actually think for himself. Unlike Dippy…

Mallet made cockups, sure… What coach doesn’t. And he admitted his Teichmann error.

His record for the Boks speaks for itself.

• 93.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-89: So? I bet they also want strippers with big breasts to still love them in the morning too. Doesn’t mean it will happen.

• 94.Puma: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: Katman,

Our wings on the bench are gonna come on for both Habs and JPP. They I think are gonna start with slight injuries. That is a worry. So Aplon wont be able to cover fb. So we had to have Butch to cover 12 and 10. JdJ adds flair but we need a big 12 to cover for Morne. Pity Frans is no longer there. Huge pity.

• 95.RL: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-79: Aplon is a better winger than Beast and you know it :wink:

• 96.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Katman

See my post 73. I said as much.

Butch is an insurance policy in case Morne gets injured, nothing more. The cowards went with the safe option, and in doing so robbed our bench of a potential impact player, either a forward like Beast, or an attacking back like De Jongh.

I must be honest, this reeks of Rassie and the Stormers paranoid cowardice which has cost them so many play off games in recent years. Scared to lose rather than determined to win.

• 97.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Pity Bakkies is injured.

I would have liked Beast, Bismark, Rossouw, Alberts and Hougaard all coming on at the same time in the 2nd half to add that bolt of energy.

Smit is not as big a problem as some are making out…

Francois Louw is a non entity, might as well just have had 21 players.

• 98.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Bakkies still injured then? Why is he not sent home?

• 99.carol: Reply to this comment

The Aussies at least will be delighted that John Smit starts ;-)

• 100.mako: Reply to this comment

Guys JS has won a rugby world cup, has beaten the British Lions, won Tri Nations and is on track to lead his side to a very good defence of the World Cup. In my book that makes his achievements greater than any other Bok Captain. The respect that he has from every member of his team shows us how the players rate him as a captain, and the fact that every coach he has played under since Straulie has wanted him to lead the Boks. He has been groomed for leadership since school days and is doing agreat job! To speak of him with the disrespect that Shamps is using amounts to treason!!!

• 101.JL1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-93: :lol:

• 102.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-94: But Butch is not a big 12. far from it. He’s slow and tackles poorly. Everything that de Jongh is not.

• 103.cab: Reply to this comment

Bismarck, Alberts, Hougaard not starting.

Bakkies and Beast not even picked.

Frans Steyn, Juan Smith and Andries Bekker injured.

Its too much, sorry but i’m expecting the worst here, its horrific.

• 104.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-87:
    Mac Dawn, did Transie send you any non dodgy music suggestions?

• 105.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Sad that Bakkies misses out again but Danie has not let the Boks down in this WC. He’s played decent rugby all the way through but now it’s time for a step-up to mix it with big boys. Long may it continue.
    Good to see Alberts on the bench – but covering lock and not 8. Should be given a run at 8 but not to be.
    And that other sick note, Johan Muller, has missed the whole tournament, just like he missed the 3N. He’s obviously there are on tourist visa to take in the sights. What a waste of a place in the squad.
    And I seriously hope Bissie gets on at half time. Before it’s too late.

• 106.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-99: Even a below par Smit is too much for the Wobbly front row to handle.

• 107.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-99: why?

• 108.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-79:

Smit for Beast AND BISMARK.. there you have the recipe of ABSOLUTE MALHEID

… This is what sentimental glorified hero worshiping will do for you.. it will blind you to make the dumbest calls due to a pact made with a captain that has become BIGGER than the GAME and BIGGER than HIS team…

This is how you sell ALL credibility down the river.. tie yourself to someone who you simply CANNOT ditch…

• 109.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-103: Pull yerself t’gether, ferfuksakes.

• 110.cab: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-95:
    Aplon’s fine, but they’ve made so many mistakes here, lambie can cover the placekicking futies, they should have gone 5/2, where are bakkies and beast, its horrific, i’m actually too fkn depressed to get into this and the game aint even started..

• 111.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-83: In some ways I hope let him try any of his Richie McCaw nonsense with Schalk or Ratel and then he will get hows your father and uncle at the same time… But the guys will have to keep discipline like they did against Samoa.

They also need to figuratively strangle Genia and Cooper like Ireland did and then we will beat them.

• 112.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Bakkies omission is quite strange. His has confirmed his fitness for this game and then doesn’t get selected… not even on the bench. I smell a rat.
    Whatever happened the camp will be unsettled especially with the seniors in the squad dominated by Bulls players.

• 113.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-79: Cabbie,

I think if we never had injuries or rather slight injuries to both our wings. Then probably only Aplon and Hougaard would be on the bench with Beast there. Both Habs and JPP carrying injuries. They will be both replaced at some stage. So the need for Aplon and Hougaard. Also need cover for fh and inside centre with Butch. But I feel for Beast. He adds so much when he comes on. Not nice to see him dropped.

• 114.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-96: You chaps may have a point here.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-108:
    janee, i should support them, but this is a fkn disaster waiting too happen.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-109:
    lol, can’t, this is horrific, sure as **** hope the wee maestro knows whats cutting and has a masterplan that noone else can fathom, cos i aint got the foggiest.

• 116.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-112: I also find it a bit suspicious. He’s been the go-to rent-a-quote the past three days on their preparedness for this game, and now he’s not there.

• 117.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’m pretty sure CJ (marshmallow) will cover 1 and 3.

Smit is just a hooker these days.

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-113: Meant only Hougaard with Butch on the bench, that would have then had Beast there.

We covering for our players that are carrying small injuries. Beast took the fall for his team. Not sure if it was the right move. Feel for him.

• 119.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-106:
    Sort of hard to hold…. Grappling with Smitty in his lycra must be like wrestling with a bag of mercury!!

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-117: Exactly. John will be a straight swap for Bissie.

• 121.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I guess this means Gurthro will play for the full 80. Cause surely they won’t make the mistake of moving Smit to prop again.

• 122.carol: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-107:
    ;-)

• 123.RL: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-105: I prefer an injured Muller to that coward Hargreaves any day of the week, it’s true. How the coward ever got called up to play for the Boks and got himself on the standby list is a mystery – luckily Plum has seen the light and axed the coward from his match 22.

The best 5 locks around is Kruger and F. vd Merwe, why they were not called up to play for the Boks is an injustice to them.

• 124.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-115: It’s only the Wobblies. We’re saving some ammo for the hosts. Fear not, it all came to the katman in a shiraz infused dream last night.

• 125.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-114: With JdJ that is. Only that though.

• 126.mako: Reply to this comment

This side is too good for the Wobblies. Shame for the Beast, but that is simply where injuries have left us. When the replacements come on the intensity will lift even more and the wobblies will crumble. Boks to win by around 7 points.

• 127.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-120:
    No offence Puma, it is fun to tease you saffas about old Smittie ….

I know my great chum G10 is infuriated with him, I did however think he was a great leader 4 years ago!

Perhaps not shining now!

• 128.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-121: A question mark. Either that or they plan to replace him with CJ.

But you never know… They could actually go the CJ at LH and Smit at TH doomsday scenario.

Then we will be finished.

But I reckon Rassie will not allow that.

• 129.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-124:
    It is Chardonay that gives me nightmares.

I now refuse to drink it, work of the devil!

• 130.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-119: Actually, those tight jerseys are a bit like those “shaping” undergarments for ladies that they sell on the morning shopping channel. Holds everything firm and together like a bodybuilder’s buttock. But the minute you slip out of it, it’s muffintop-manboob city again.

• 131.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-124:
    fk hope u right, thats the only positivity we have to go on, other than keo calling for a wallabie win by 8+, and u know 9 times out of 10 he gets it wrong.

• 132.carol: Reply to this comment

Might pop to Facebook and see what pearls of wisdon Percy Montgomery has added about his time in N.Z!!

Priceless.. ;-)

• 133.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-129: Stick to one bottle and you should be fine.

• 134.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-111: He sure would. But we have to keep the discipline. He will try to distract us for sure, we won’t fall for it.

Just play him out the game like Ireland did. Gert Smal is smart. Worked em Aussies out…hehe. Though they did have some of their top players out.

I really hope we beat them. They don’t deserve to get any further for messing up such a great draw. Bugger them we must go out there to win this thing. Do as our sports minister said. Go to NZ and FIGHT FOR YOUR COUNTRY. Heck he was damn funny that Minister.

They have to send in our Sports Minister before the game. He will get the team’s adrenaline going…………hahahaha. Man that oke is bloody funny. Says the right words though to work the team up for battle. They just need to look at their cell phones. They all took photos of the send of of Sandton. That should get them up for this game.

• 135.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

One thing about Gurthro is he is injury prone. Big call to leave Beast out completely.

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am waiting carol

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-112: @>^..^< katman(katman)-116: pdv’s just said now on the blitz channel that bakkies re-injured himself coming down from the 1st lineout they did yesterday evening it wasn’t good telling him that his tournament is over.

• 138.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Bakkies got injured in the first line-out drill at training. Same old achilles. Could have played his last game for the Boks.

• 139.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-131: If keo calls if for the Wobblies, you can head straight for the bookies and put three salaries on the Boks and not even feel bad about not telling the wife and kids.

• 140.mako: Reply to this comment

It will be like a home game for us, all the Bok supporters in Aus and NZ will be there shouting for the Bokke, even the Kiwi’s should support the Bokke as they hate Quade Cooper so much. The Aussies all bought their QF tickets ages ago, but for the wrong game… They will be watching Ireland Wales on Saturday he he he.

• 141.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-130:
    Now the ladies ‘shaping garmernts’ you refer to….
    Can I ask, as it is just you and I…..?
    Picture the scene, shapely lady at cool party, you click and pull….

Just how much of a shock is it to find she is held together in a sort of lycra condom?

• 142.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-49:

This thats harsh. Viljoen and Straulki and Maakgraaf were far worse.

Pdiv has had some huge wins and has done most thing right in my opinion.

I’d still start with Smit. Bissie is a better option fresh when the rest are tiring. Smit scrums, throws in and does teh basics well. He’ll tired them out, calm the team, and let Bissie loose later on.

There has been a lot of continuety in our rugby for 8 years and that has helped us gain the worlds respect once more after the laughing stock of 2003.

Smit will be gone after this tournement and then you can all whine about something else. Because a serious mess is arriving unless we choose wisely our next coach. I do think JW and Pdiv have set a good blueprint for coaches to follow which hopefully will result in the next coach following the idea of belieivng in the players ability.

Form is temperary, talent is permanent. Chopping and changing the team with every good game a player has or doesn;t have will destroy the Boks like Harry Viljoen did.

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-127: He is still a great leader.

You listening to your chum too much hey? .. No offence…heheh. :wink:

• 144.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Tacitus is correct it is a safety first selection.. and the potential game breaking option was to play either Beast or De Jongh off bench

Carrying too many passengers

Smit, Spies, FdP AND Butch.. thats a whole lotta passengers for ONE team to carry when in a WC you cannot carry ANY..

Some hail hero worshiping dunces talking about treason because John Smit is NOWHERE near to being the saint for all seasons they still think he is shows what a pathetic bunch of hail hero idiot worshipers we have here professing to be rugby pundits… Poor imbecilic dears…

Yeaj Mako you dumb dunce.. am referring to schmucks like YOU !

• 145.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-139:

• 146.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-100: Only twice has the Lions beaten us hardly an achievement of note for a Bok captain. And during the last Lions tour were comfortably in the lead until Smit was moved to prop, and we almost lost.

• 147.carol: Reply to this comment

As we are discussing the ‘Wobblies’ !!

• 148.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

So, now Snorre expects Butch to single handedly beat the Aussies in the final 20 because he sticks with a one dimensional flyhalf who can only operate with pack going forward. This pack ain’t going nowhere after 30 minutes mate.

• 149.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-141: Well, it’s not ideal. But unless you’re a tanned, chiseled adonis yourself, the best you can do is to applaud her effort and stick on the Barry White.

• 150.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-136:
    I may have to send you some N.H suggestions…!

• 151.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-140: hehehehe. Yeah they will all be at the Ireland game…. PRICELESS……LOL.

Though doubt the kiwis will support us even if they HATE the Aussies. They fear us more for the semi. They could for this time all dress up in yellow! :shock:

I hope all the saffas there get to the game in huge, huge numbers.

• 152.puff: Reply to this comment

Wouldn’t it be awesome if the Boks not only win and deserve to win, but also that the best Boks on the park happen to be Smit, Spies, Du Preez, Morne Steyn, Habana and De Villiers?

• 153.puff: Reply to this comment

I see prior to the naming of the team, John Mitchell would’ve chosen Bismark at hooker and Hougaard at left wing, with Rossouw at four lock and Alberts and Louw on the bench – even before we knew Bakkies’ achilles acted up again!

• 154.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:

Katman…You are a Kool Kat!!

Great response. :lol:

• 155.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-152: Yes that would be awesome.

I would hope that JdV proves me wrong and plays a blinder. Have no problem if he does. Will be the first to say congrats and also to Morne. Though have said well done to Morne for some of the games this wc. Think that had plenty to do with Frans Steyn though. JdV needs to step up now.

• 156.mountaingoat: Reply to this comment

The boks will win…can’t u @ssholes write something positive about our team

• 157.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-134: Yeah, Moer hulle Mbalula. A patriot! :lol:

• 158.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-143:
    So Puma, some honesty

England v France, who will you shout for?

I am prepared for the worst……..

• 159.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-153: Mitchell actually wanted Alberts at 8 and Spies on the bench. Looking at what he said last night. The rest you are correct.

• 160.cab: Reply to this comment

ag nee, what a fk-up.

i just watch now and laugh, got nothing invested in this from here on in, anything good that happens is a suprise cos reckon we got a 30% chance with this team.

• 161.carol: Reply to this comment

@mountaingoat(mountaingoat)-156:
    Get a grip man…

They are journalists, not patriots!!

• 162.mako: Reply to this comment

@144.ashampoopaloo:

I love you too buddy! Seriously, when the WC is over and if SA have won it, will you then change your mind? Perhaps looking back it will all look different?

I don’t profess to be a rugby pundit, I enjoy the game and am an ardent supporter. I also respect the players and support my side through thick and thin.
    Seriously, grab some prozac or something, I would hate for you to have some sort of seizure.

• 163.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-158: England. Don’t like France.

Doubt the way France is playing they will beat England. Though one never knows with the French. They do have one good game and that is it.

Against Ireland and Wales not too bothered. Either could win and it will be fine. Probably Ireland cause they have Gert Smal as their forward coach.

ABs will thrash Arg.

Who are you supporting Boks or Oz?

• 164.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-115:

Look it looks pretty bad.. but deep down in spite of my sentiments that Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard should start ahead of Smit, Spies and FdP I still believe we can win this game…

It depends how they invest in the bench..

I like a good few of the calls here.. I think Aplon and Louw are inspirational decisions and if used appropriately in good timing they can add plenty..

If Smit, Spies, Steenkamp, Roussow, Matfield and FdP can hold parity for 60 minutes we are in with a big chance.. because then the real warriors can come on and do the dingo dance…

But if they DO NOT.. then I cannot see Bismark, Alberts, Aplon and Hougaard saving their wayward arses once again as easily a last time…

• 165.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: :lol:

• 166.puff: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-159:

That’s right, my mistake.
    He reckons Bakkies isn’t up to it any longer.
    He seems to think, given his team selections at the Lions too, that the big four lock of old is an antiquated figure and that the modern game calls for more of a bigger loose forward type at four lock.

• 167.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: I read he has flown out to speak to the team before the game. Hope he reminds them what he said in Sandton………hahahaha.

• 168.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-160:

Ja nee wat, Sunday will in all likelyhood be the last hurrah for the gifted one and his telletubbie leader. Pieter will soon afterwards join a gospel choir in paarl and John will get fatter on the bench at sarries and the next episode of the SA rugby soapie will start with AC/Rassie probably in charge.

• 169.mountaingoat: Reply to this comment

they want the Boks 2 fail…it’s been going like this since b4 the WC. Wonder if they’re going 2 suck divvy’s middle finger when he stepts off the plane with the trophy…or maybe keo’s ‘kamp staalgat’s big toe

• 170.puff: Reply to this comment

I hear the Keo journos punt of Butch loud and clear.
    But, honestly, would anyone go into a playoff game without a kicker of the quality of Morne of Montgomery?

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-164:
    yes there is also something deepdown but that is patriotism not sense, or else its me poephol acting up, cos by god i cant see this team beating a fullstrength wallabie outfit in australaia, we dont have anyone to give us go-forward…aggennee best i actually go do something else.

• 172.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-142: Agree with the rest of what you say except for Dipshit. I suspect if you look at the numbers, you will find after this years Tri Nations, a record near to Streaulis in terms of Win/loss ratio.

• 173.puff: Reply to this comment

And, yes, Jamie Roberts caused trouble for Morne’s defence.
    But it gave him a big wake-up and ever since then I have seen Morne being pretty aggressive in the tackle.
    He’s no Butch but there is little wrong with his defence.

• 174.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

How many times do I have to repeat that Snorre is not a coach, has never been a coach and never will be a coach. He hasn’t the foggiest man. Remember him from my westcoast days when he came up for the odd weekend. Like most of you he can talk a little rugger over some frosties, but nuance or finnesse- no man, no. What he does have big time is management skills. If Butch somehow pulls this out of the hat for us, Snorre will be seen as the saviour who recalled him from the cold. the man who could get Smit, Matfield, FdP et al to sing from one sheet.

• 175.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-166: Yes and I think he is spot on. Always enjoy listening to him speak. Good rugby brain there.

Also read a bit that old Mac said. He said that the inside centre should be more of a flank too. He said that Fransie was like a flank come centre.

I thought then of Flo there………….hahahaha. Mentioned it here and was shut down pronto…..hehehe. Just thinking of what Mac said though. He could be right.

• 176.cab: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-168:
    lol, suppose one can only laugh, just hope above hope they can pull a rabbit out their arse, but what with?

• 177.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-167: Bok cheerleader extraordinaire!

• 178.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-160: Aggenee Cab, don’t be like Gwanty

• 179.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-173: Ja, but if Frans was at 12 in that game doubt Roberts would have cause Morne trouble. Once Frans moved to 12 Morne was protected and he also played better. Think if Butch started at 12 might have been better. Then just hope JdV has a blinder. He owes us one.

• 180.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

I am sure most kiwis will be hoping the boks win. While you are tougher opposition, we know what we will get with you, whereas we can bully the sneakies up front, smash their scrum, yet the sneakies thru some act of trickery could still come out ahead on the scoreboard.

Also – we would rather have the Aussies out of the tournament than you. Having to pit up with your bragging about 3-1 would be a bitter pill, but from the Aussies it is a cyanide capsule for most kiwis!

Most kiwis supported bokke in the last final, for the same reason.

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bokke bo(bokke bo)-174: If “management skills” mean being matey-matey and over familiar with players then maybe so.

• 182.puff: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-159:

And did you hear Mitchell reckon the ABs should put Dagg at flyhalf.
    It’s a bold and inspired suggestion, but also reckless considering it’s the world cup playoffs.
    Would defs go for Weepu instead of Slade though.

• 183.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-105: Danie will not let the team down I totally agree but he also does not have the ability to intimidate and dominate the Aussies like Bakkies at his best could. I just do not think that a Matfield Roussow combination is going to get nearly enough pressure on the Aussie pack to disrupt their possession enough to place their talented backline under enough pressure to take them out of the game. I think only an Aussie choke by Cooper primarily can cost them the game.

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-177: For now he is just that…………..hahahaha. Would be good for the team though.

Also hope the Boks just think of the huge hiding they gave Oz at Ellis Park a few years back. We should just block out the wins they have had over us and just think of that huge win we got over them. Need to get the confidence going.

• 185.cab: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-178:
    the only silverlining is that this is australia, in that their pack is not like the other NH sides or NZ, but even saying that they;ve had our measure time and time again the last couple years.

let me just say good luck to them and i set my alarm for sunday, and then drink meself into coma.

• 186.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Roberts caused everyone trouble, not just Steyn. And the wobblies don’t have a Roberts in their arsenal. The Kiwis do, in Nonu. But the Wobblies have the likes of Barnes, and Steyn can handle him.

• 187.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-176:

Gold watch to the ref or divine intervention perhaps othertwise we are on the plane.

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-173: Roberts is 12, Morne is 10… Hello? Hows about a bit of spotlight where the actual defensive weakness has lain for years – Jean De Villiers… He was Roberts opposite number, no?

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-182: Yes I did and don’t agree there. Weepu would be better. Slade not good hey! Though he might just surprise who knows. Just looking at him at PE then not sure about him at this stage.

• 190.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-185: Now who would you have had starting

• 191.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Time for the VeggieMite to get toasted.

• 192.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-187: Why you think Oz will beat us Rob?

Their confidence has taken a dip. They should be on the otherside of the draw where there supporters have tickets for.

• 193.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82: before the WC PdV had a win loss ratio of 56%

better than Jake before the WC in 2007

So your assessments and your assumptions are outright deluded and fckd up … Streauli LOST to England 53-3.. White LOST to Australia 49-0… Streauli NEVER beat NZ away and hardly beat them at home… SAME for that schmuck White…

Mallet ran a good team developed by Carel Dup and subsequently fckd it all up before the WC in 99…

De Villiers has IMPROVED on what White left him with wins vs NZ on EQUAL proportion to losses.. something NONE of his predecessors did EVER.. and with 3 wins AWAY.. White had 2 wins at Home and 7 Losses home and away…

before the WC in 2007 White had an INFERIOR win / loss record to that of PDV before the WC in 2011.. and Streauli was NOWHERE NEAR to his winning ratio EVER..

Your prejudice has not only blinded you eye sight its actually befuddled and fucked up your non reasoning BRAIN..

• 194.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-184: Pooms, I am sure we will beat them, as long as JdV re discovers how to tackle, pass and stay on his feet.

My big worry though is Bryce “Dangerous scrummaging” Lawrence.

• 195.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-187: And if you are wrong, money to charity and 20 posts stating that you are Bok Judas, a Bok Infidel

• 196.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-194: Crouch. Touch. PRRRRRRRT!

• 197.Puma: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-180: Aussies went out the same time as the kiwis did in the last wc.

I for one will support the ABs if Oz go through to the semi. Don’t want them to have 3-1 up on us either. Rather have the ABs win it than them.

Doubt your boys will lose to Oz though. Just can’t see it. Boks might be more of a handful than they will be in the semi for ABs.

• 198.mako: Reply to this comment

Those of you who are already packing away your bok supporters kit, and shaking your heads that it is all over shoulod not be allowed to celebrate when it is all over on Sunday, you should carry the beers for the real supporters. What a pathetic bunch of losers… Just because the coach didn’t pick the side you would have picked it is all doom and gloom. Sorry but you guys are sad sad sad.

If we get knocked out of this tournament before it is over then I for one will support the Kiwi’s 100% as they are the team that really deserve this win IMO and apart from SA they are the side I would like to see win it. But I have a sneaky feeling it is going to be a SA vs Wales final…

• 199.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Btw as pointed out by others, bryce Lawrence hammered the Aussies for their b@llsh1t in the scrums against the Irish.

He also penalized them for their obstruction involved in midfield plays involving genia’s inside ball to quade/Beale.

If he refs them strictly again, you should have the advantage (which you would always expect over the Aussies if the playing field is even).

I don’t think you should worry about a kiwi ref trying to influence the outcome, unless there is some way both aus and SA can be knocked out! We know either of you can knock us out, so we will be kaking ourselves before the semi either way. The supporters that is!

We wants the precioussssss, give it back nasty Bon0

• 200.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

JdV is going to make a lot of you eat dirt. And I will be loving EVERY minute of it :)

• 201.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-166:

and he’s right

If we had started this with

Steenkamp, Bismark, JdP
    Danie, Matfield (c)
    Brussow, Burger, Alberts
    Hougaard, Steyn
    Habana, JdV, Fourie, JPP
    Aplon

Beast, Smit, CJ, Louw, Spies, FdP, Lambie/Butch

I say we would have walked this game in our sleep…

Starting it the other way around it has now become a 50/50 call and Aussie can take us to the cleaners if they build up an early lead around a dead beat hapless Smit, Spies and FdP.

• 202.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-198:

Let’s bring out the national drum and beat it for the Bokke!!

• 203.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-193: A 56% record with an established team that is worse than Straeuli’s win/loss ratio is atrocious. I dont believe Jake Whites record was anywhere near as bad as that… and will call you on that. It may not be a duplicitous lie but could well be a mistake.

Nevertheless White had to pick up the pieces after Straeuli, like the next coach will have to do after the Dipstick Clown… But maybe Rassie will save his bacon in this world cup.

If you think 56% is okay for this great group of players then you are more farked than I ever thought possible.

• 204.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

*Nasty boksies (damn iPhone!)

• 205.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-192:

Puma, they beat us 5 times out of the last 6 games– why not again?

Nothing has changed.

Look, I hope we win but i reckon if their pack stands up to ours (and I am sure they will) we have not much chance. They have so many game breakers- Genia, Cooper, Ioane, O’Conner, etc—–we do not really have any (maybe Habanna?) – and our gameplan is outdated- we rely on kick and jag.

You better pray for rain and a typical Wellington Hurracane on Sunday because in good conditions they are going to run the ageing fading bok team off the park :)

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-196: Unbelievable!

• 207.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-49: Errmm.. a 3-0 whitewash over NZ including two wins in a row on NZ soil? A 3N title? Breaking the 80 year Carisbrook jinx?

• 208.JL1: Reply to this comment

A story from a poster on 365

Thats why Superman wears Schalla pyjamas.. Spy glass
    Schalk Burger

Have a great story about Schalk.

Couple of my mates watched the Boks train yesterday morning NZ time, and they met up with Schalk, who had a huge crowd around him, but cheerfully signed every autograph.

My mates are huge Burger fans, so 1 of them told him “Schalk, we’ve watched you for 3 WC. We still remember you playing number 8 against Georgia in2003.”
    To which Schalk grinned and said, “2003? are you sure it wasn’t my dad playing?”
    They then asked him if beer was allowed in the Springbok camp, and Burger said, “Of course! Beer gives you strength. The more you drink the stronger you get.”

What a character! Honestly, huge Burger fan aside, I would imagine that Schalk is the best member of the SA team to share a beer with.
    He looks like genuinely great company, and apparently Jerry Collins thought so too, he always tried to meet up with Schalk when the ABs were in CT.

They also managed to take pictures with
    Habana, who was grinning quite happily
    Brussow, who looked slightly distracted
    And check it out, Pieter De Villiers, PDV himself, who for some reason kept giggling to himself while they were taking the picture, even when no one was saying anything. . Jeffrey

• 209.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-194: Yes have said so last night remember. My biggest worry is Bryce. He cost our Sharks a definite few games in SuperRugby.

Like Dan Retief wrote. The style of the 31st man on the field has too strong a bearing on the outcome of a match.

It means the Boks’ chances of beating Australia in Wellington on Sunday could depend not on their own expertise but on the 31st man.

WE just have to hope the Ref blows fair to both sides. Bryce is definitely not the best.

• 210.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-200: I hope so.

• 211.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

4,742 secs left, Ladies.

get them in while you can !

• 212.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-195:

I am a realist, nothing to do with being a Judas.

• 213.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Springbok success is Malema’s nightmare. Signs are looking up.

• 214.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-212: Half glass empty?

• 215.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-212: I am an optimistic realist

• 216.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-211: Don’t worry BP we will be facing your boys next week…lol.

• 217.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

JdV is actually the kingpin in this side.. he is the go to man in the back line and he’s gonna prove it..

He’s also the best option for captain once things go pear shaped he has the best rugby brain of them all on there and he’s the most level headed…

Its overall a very good team

Butch could be a bit of a hit and miss selection but otherwise barring the omission of Beast it has all the makings of success..

But ONLY if Smit, Spies and FdP come out firing and give EVERYTHING to hold Aussie at bay and hold parity long enough for the REAL game breakers and warriors of Bismark, Alberts, Hougaard, Louw and Aplon to take the game by the scruff of the neck and show Aussie no mercy…

And that is quite a big maybe…

Butch is actually a safety valve and not a winning call… probably a J. Smit inspired selection .. Beast or De Jongh on bench might have been better.

• 218.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-208: Ja, Banshee had a big chat with him in a hospitality box after Saracens vs Boks… He tried to flog her Burger wine… We still get the farken Burger and sons winelist in the post from time to time… But pleasant enough.

• 219.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-211: Welcome!

How are you? Nervous yet, how is your breathing?

• 220.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-211: Wrong site, bud. Check the other tab – should be your dating site.

• 221.Puma: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-214: Robs mom is a Aussie that is why….hehehe. Not so Rob you support Oz over us?

• 222.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-209: Hopefully he pulls an Ireland with us and favours the dominant scrum. Hopefully the Boks dominate the scrum too. But I wont hold my breath.

• 223.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-218: :lol: your Banshee chatted up old Schalla

Now I know you are a true green blooded supporter

• 224.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@Puma 197 – I meant kiwis supported boks over England in the last final. Couldn’t stand the appalling English gloating over being 2-1 up over the ab’s and the bokkes.

Hey – if the bokkes knock us out an win the thing, you’ll be back to back champions, you will have done I wih a tough draw, and you will be 3 from 5 at world cups. While kiwis will be hurting, it will be hard not to applaud an amazing achievement!

Still – a couple of big games against your southern hemisphere foes before we can start contemPlating that scenario took ok seriously.

• 225.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-221: Then he says he is a realist

Aussies do not even like rugby. When I was there you could only get a paragraph on rugby in the papers

• 226.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

Heaven 181;who ever said good management doesn’t mean matey- matey or buying the last round for all the players. Man, even clowns have the ability to keep a team happy and cheerful.

By the way, am busy editing my book on famous Snorre quotes since ’08. White mechanis/black mechanic remains best so far.

• 227.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

I think they’re still gambling on JPP at the moment – yesterday he said he was still in some real pain.

• 228.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-214:

fark man, I have tried hard to remain optimistic- have defended Piet for a long time but eventually came to the conclusion that he has indeed sold out to the **** boys and is only a puppet.

Starting Smit ahead of the worlds best hooker is just plain stupid imo.
    And there are other stuff too.

But lets see- I am not Moses :)

• 229.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@ skop

You deepthroat Helium for about 5 paragraphs, and then rip JS a new one……again.

Can you not see the stupidity of yourself.

Seriously.

• 230.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-207:

I think you should give that serious consideration before you put pen to paper

touch….pause….brain-engage ?!

• 231.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-221:

I support SA but the Aussies are my second team.
    And then England.

• 232.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-228: Three games to glory

240 or so minutes…

These Boks look seriously committed to go all the way

• 233.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-163:
    How could you possibly ask “Bok’s or Aus”?

I am an honourary Saffa….Remember? ;-)

• 234.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-205: The last game we should have whipped their butts. We had them for sure but our poor handling errors and not passing cost us. Stupid stuff like that. Otherwise we should have beaten them. Also the game before we sent our C team.

They were lucky to beat us here last year when Flip got a penalty against them and a very good kick from Beale. So those 3 games could have been different.

Also we knocked em stupid at Ellis Park when we were down and out that year.

Boks will be up for this. They don’t want to come home yet. Also Ireland beat Oz they will not be that confident. Gert Smal worked em out well. Until then never even thought Ireland were up to much. So just shows. Also Italy had them 6 each at the break. So we have a very good chance. Had Fransie still been there then I would say with total confidence we would beat them. Have to see how JdV plays.

• 235.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-234: Meant – Flip got a penatly against Boks.

• 236.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-233: Yeah, just kidding…hehehe.

You still running?

• 237.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-223: Hehehe. For the Banshee it was more like going to the zoo and staring at the silverback… She is full on England! Fark, thats why I hope beyond hope that Le Bleus win on Sat or Wales in the SF… My life will be over if Eng make the final or heaven forbid win the damn thing.

• 238.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-225:

Aussies are not bad at sport.
    They even won the Tour de France and the Rugby world cup although Rugby Union and cycling are anything but their main sports.
    And they are the only country in the world who has a rock star as cabinet minister :)

• 239.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

The ONLY way we win this thing is by slowing things down. Our tackle record SUCKS. By playing kicking game we are gifting them run ball, the only thing they are masters at. They’ve worked that one out long ago. Mark my word, forwards need to grind this one out and lets hope enough players can scramble and stop Morne’s useless half tackles.

• 240.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-231: Well it is understandable that Oz are your 2nd team that your mom is from Oz. Boks first though that is good.

England? What the heck for? Sorry to our resident Brit……hahaha.

I just have one team that is Boks. Though if Boks don’t win this time or get through the quarter I will support the ABs against Oz. Rather see ABs win it that Oz. The winner will come from our side of the draw. Almost certain of that.

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-207: Well there you have it. South African Sheepshagger Tackler is Dippie’s number one fan. :lol:

Are you sure you dont support the Boks?

• 242.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-236:
    Thank heavens for that, for one moment I serioulsy thought you may think I would support Aus over the Boks!

Yip, still running…however my ‘Trainer’ has told me I need to start getting fit for the next Argus!! ;-)

• 243.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-236:

I ran with her only two weeks ago.
    She is very fast……… but i beat her :)

• 244.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bokke bo(bokke bo)-226: :lol: Classic!

• 245.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-238:
    “How can you sleep when your world is turning, how can you sleep while your beds are burning” ??

Our politicians are not that cool….!

• 246.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-227: I definitely think so too. That knee injury sounded painful. So hope it does not get worse. Cause if we win on Sunday we sure as heck need JPP for the semi.

Aplon will cover and he will be coming on for sure. I have no doubt. Just can’t see a injured player playing the whole game.

• 247.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-238: Boring nation, my sister is married to one. They are really boring people, the ones in Melbourne and Sydney

Queensland a little bit different

• 248.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-243:

;-) Except up the hills !! lol

• 249.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-243: Good. You sure have trained our resident Brit here well…lol.

• 250.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-247:
    The most boring men I have ever met have been American!

• 251.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Rassie started this tag team thing with front rows with Free State against the Bulls… I reckon he is doing it again by tag teaming fetchers with Bissy and Flo on the bench. Attack the other teams strength…. Very crafty Rassie.

• 252.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-242: Well he done a good job with your training for the last one.

Good that you thinking of doing another one.

• 253.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-241: It was so beautiful that post

Brought tears to my eyes

Thanks Tackler, and thanks Tacklers mom

• 254.Puma: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-225: Except in Brisbane. You read quite a bit on rugby there. More so than in Sydney.

• 255.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-252:
    I must be nuts!! ;-)

• 256.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-253: A pleasure. Whatafarkenknob! :lol:

• 257.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay out of here now.

Catch up tomorrow.

GOOD LUCK TO OUR BOKS.

• 258.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-257: Cheers

• 259.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-255: No you not Carol. Doing something like that is brilliant. Keep it up. Good luck for the next one.

Okay now off to bed. Catch up tomorrow.

• 260.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-257:
    See you at the weekend Pumes, Lekker Slaap.

• 261.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-258: Cheers buddy.

• 262.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-260: Carol before I go. Heck you remembered your lessons in afrikaans from gbs? Good on you……hahaha.

Slaap sag.

• 263.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-240:

I like the resilience of the English
    “Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way” – Pink Floyd.
    And I like Martin Johnson- real old school scary rugger bugger.
    Ag man, and lady Di was also ok :)

Cheers man, lets talk later again.

• 264.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-254: Yes as I said, Queensland is better

JPP still has to undergo a fitness test

• 265.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-262:

Heheh, he did catch me out a few times……!! :-)

• 266.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-264:
    Queenslanders are a bit more ‘rugged’ !!

• 267.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-203:

Here this just for you – prior to WC PdV had record of 60.5 %, White = 60.8% near as dammit on par though PdV had far better record against top rank teams like Ab’s and White played many more minnow teams than PdV in first 3 years has.

For First 3 years PdV had 64% record while White had 59% record..
    the 2007 WC lifted White from 60% to 66% winning 8 games from Sept – Oct 2007 including closing game vs Wales in Cardiff to end his tenure in 2007

White

2004 – 2006
    Played: 37
    Wins: 22 - 59.5%
    Losses: 14 - 37.8%
    Draws: 1 - 2.7%

2004 – 2007 prior to WC
    Played: 46
    Wins: 28 - 60.87%
    Losses: 17 - 36.96%
    Draws: 1 - 2.17%

2004 – 2007 incl WC
    Played: 54
    Wins: 36 - 66.7%
    Losses: 17 - 31.5%
    Draws: 1 - 1.9%

PDV

2008 – 2010
    Played: 39
    Wins: 25 - 64.1%
    Losses: 14 - 35.9%
    Draws: 0 -

2008 – 2011 prior to WC
    Played: 43
    Wins: 26 - 60.47%
    Losses: 17 - 39.53%

Incl WC 2011 to date
    Played: 47
    Wins: 30 - 63.8%
    Losses: 17 - 36.2%

• 268.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-266: Yes, not that I am into rugged

• 269.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-268:
    Ok..’Blokey’ !! lol

• 270.Lorenzo: Reply to this comment

Spies must lift his game up. And FdP also. He gotta tackle first and foremost.
    I’m happy to see Gurthro starting.

• 271.danuk: Reply to this comment

I must say I’m a little confused and would say that this might catch the Aussies off guard as well … Flo and Alberts could be great subs …

Just hope this works …

• 272.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

According to some media outlets it’s a wrap for bakkies how true is this. Just how any minutes did he play this world cup?
    Also looks like guild ford is on his way out
    SH teams are falling apart

• 273.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

It is actually uncanny how PdV and Whites track record almost mirrors identically

If PdV goes on to win next 3 games and a fourth test like White had against Wales as his closing game, his final record will look like this

Played - 51
    Wins - 34 = 66.67%
    Losses - 17 = 33.33%

Compared to White’s final record which looked like this

Played – 54
    Wins - 36 = 66.7%
    Losses – 17 = 31.5%
    Draws – 1 = 1.9%

• 274.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-267: Mmmm, interesting. So Whites record was nearly as bad as Dippy pre World Cup…But not quite as bad despite all those saying he had a worse record than the current clown.

White had Eddy to help him win the WC while Dippy now has Rassie and Nienaber… Some very similar parallels between the two, hey?

• 275.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-130:

“muffintop-manboob city again.”

Bwaaaaaaaaaaaa

• 276.aylen: Reply to this comment

I hope not but I fear Eddie Jones will be proved right in his assessment of the boks. No tactical or skills development since 2007, only Father Time….

• 277.danuk: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-272: Agreed, however who else can we bring over? Becker and Mostert are still injured. Flip is a walking injury …

• 278.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-241: I support the facts and resent it when others think their opinions are better than the facts. PDivvy is a rugby dullard and a clown, but so too was Jake and Stroily and…etc.

• 279.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-278: Dippy lost to Scotland, Leicester and Saracens too. As you were, yarpie-sheepshagger or sheepshagger-yarpie… I dunno what you prefer. How’s that for fact?

• 280.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Smit was always going to start and frankly id rather he started than came on in the last 20 minutes. If he is poor he will be replaced sooner rather than later – either way a win win for us. Bismarck scavenging will be a good thing when the Aussies are tired. Bit sad to see Beast not make the team but at the moment Guthro is adding more grunt.
    No probs with Matfield and Rossouw starting and Alberts is more than adequate cover. I figure we will see Spies subbed sooner rather than later for Alberts as well. Burger and Brussouw on the sides cant go wrong – i think they have Louw on the bench as extra insurance though it would have been nice to see Brussouw, Louw, Bismarck and Burger and Alberts having a go at stealing ball. I dont think Pocock willl stand a chance if all 5 of those players are on the park at the same time but probably not going to happen. Either way Brussouw has his hands full this game. Nullify Pocock and you take a lot of impetus away from the Aussies.
    FDP and Steyn are good choices and I can see James coming on at 12 rather than 10. Surprised both Habana and JP made the squad but if any issues we have Aplon and Houghaard who I would love to see on the field together too. Lambie at the back no prob and possibly will be replaced by Aplon at some stage if JP pulls through with habana being subbed by Houghaard. All in all not a bad team considering Smit was always going to start – Frans Steyn a huge loss and I sincerely hope Jean de Villiers doesnt kill all our attacking potential and defends better than he has been lately. He is responsible for that Samoan try being scored. He was last line of defence and he failed to drive Stowers back or get under the ball. Stowers was already being tackled by 2 guys at the time so he didnt have to do much. Really Jean – get it together mate. A lot depends on you this match.

• 281.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-277:
    I’m happy with Alberts and flo it adds more power and the extra fetcher option . Infact having 3 fetchers on ar the same time isnt such a bad thing. The best case scenario is having schalk alberts and dannie as ball carriers with Brussow , Bismark and flo fetching it could turn into a nightmare for the Aussies

• 282.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Decent team,still can take Ozzies

Injuries have diluted the impact of our bench.Notably Bakkies injury & Frans Steyn.Add the niggles of Habs & JP.have had to look at bench differently

But still have enough firepower on bench in:
    Bismark,Alberts,Hougaard,Aplon.

CJ,Flo,Butch are insurance-specialist 3/6/10 in case of unexpected injuries.

Tough on Beast,but don’t want to see Smit anywhere near (: prop.In Dbn Boks virtually lost test due to that move.

Would have rather had Juan de Jongh ahead of Butch.
    Lambie covers 10 so why do we need Butch?? Really only fault of 22

• 283.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

The Big difference in the JW / PdV stats breakdown is if you compare top 5 competitors vs Boks.. PdV will then win hands down.. His record vs AB’s compared to Jake is absolutely like chalk and cheese .. PdV’s record vs Ireland, England, France, NZ, Aussie is better than Jakes all round.

• 284.willievz: Reply to this comment

Solid team.

See we went for the 4-3 bench split, with CJ covering both 1 and 3. Still a strong bench, and it is clear that PDV wants to target the breakdown with the inclusion of Louw in the 22.

Pity about Bakkies but the correct decision to leave him out if he is not 100% ready.

BOKKE !!!!

• 285.JL1: Reply to this comment

@aylen(aylen)-276: Eddie who?

Eddie who won how many as international coach?Just remind me again? Well ok since you insist, 57% off all his games

Sacked, released of his contract 2 years early

Predicted on Planet rugby that France will take the RwC2011, 18 months ago

• 286.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-85: When ifs and buts are candy and nuts it’ll be Christmas all year long, pilgrim.

• 287.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet Shampoo
    Cab
    Gwant10
    Robzim

What a bunch on Negative Norahs!

Get behind your team FFS!

• 288.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Time to send Bakkies & wet noodle Muller home.

Fly in Mostert & Jean Deysel…

Would much rather have Deysel in 22 than Flo if we go for a 4-3 split.And he also covers lock

• 289.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-284: He won’t EVER be ready. Hasn’t had a proper game in over a month. Too badly undercooked to come back into the ever-sharpening end of this tournament. Send the softie home.

• 290.danuk: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero(boktillzero)-281: yes, agree, more of a concern in defense and how long John will last. Remember Genia against JS in TN?

Anyway, hope we can put enough pressure on them for the subs to come on with 20-30 to go

• 291.ET.: Reply to this comment

What a great, great pity not more of the ” 2007 WC Champs’ seniors ” are not included in this squad, but the blackmail has successfully worked for these neo-racists.

I would have preferred even Bakkies, Ruan Pienaar, Juan Smith, Muller, BJ and any still playing to be in and thus added to the 15 with 2007 connections already there. The more the merrier and the more certain the FALL.

All I know is that the Day of Reckoning is even closer now.

Let me leave you wizards and witches of delusion and deception and confusion to your evil devices for where ignorance blissfully reigns ’tis folly to be wise.

• 292.willievz: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-289: Tackles this might well be a blessing in disguise.

Rossouw is one of the locks of the tournament so far (along with O’Connell) and brings more mobility without compromising that much physicality to the pack.

It also allows PDV the luxury of a 4-3 bench split, and to cover injuries in the key areas of 6 (Louw, who otherwise would be dropped) and 10/12 (Butch).

I would personally still stick with a 5-2 split and leave Aplon out for Beast. Introducing more than 2 backline players in the second half disrupt defensive lines IMO.

• 293.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-279: Jake lost to Ireland — first time ever– after bragging that no more than 3 Irishmen could make his Bok team. And he got totally and utterly smoked by a whopping 49-0 by the Wallabies. And embarrassingly nilled 17-0 by NZ right there in South Africa.

Yes, Divvy’s hidings to club sides and to Scotland are utterly shameful, but Jake’s ones equal that. And we’re not even going to go into Staaldraad…

• 294.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-292: He suffers from dropsy when someone passes him the ball.

• 295.willievz: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-294: Who?

• 296.JL1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-293: Don’t be daft, PDIv got nilled, 18-0 at Newlands

Up your game immediately

• 297.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Frans Louw is the Adam Thompson of South Africa.
    Hybrid with no REAL impact vs top class opposition

• 298.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283: Scotland… Saracens… Leicester… Yeah right. Keep apologising, I for one dont buy it. I am very happy Rassie and especially Nienaber are involved though.

For your interest here’s an interview with Nienaber I unearthed the other day. Dont know if you read it…

WERE you satisfied with the effort against Australia? I was reasonably happy with the performance. We were at 60% of where we want to be. What was the most pleasing aspect? The attitude shown by the scrambling defence that we had to produce. But there are some structural issues we need to address. It’s a continuing process and we have time to work on our shortcomings. What is your background? I’m a physiotherapist and worked with the Cats and the Lions from 1999-2005. I became a conditioning coach and joined Rassie Erasmus at the Cheetahs. Because we were shortstaffed, I took an interest in defence and became the defensive coach. What is your philosophy about defence? It’s simple. Make good decisions and stop momentum. Who are the key decisionmakers on defence? All players have to be good decision–makers in different phases of the game. If one player makes a good decision but the next makes a bad one, we’ll get hurt. Are you completely overhauling the Springbok defensive system, or tweaking it? I’m just working with the system they have used for more than seven years. I’m observing and measuring what they do. All defensive systems are basically the same. For the lay person, what type of defensive system do the Boks employ? We don’t use one system because all the principles of a rush, umbrella or drift defence have to be used at some stage. A rush defence will put emphasis on line speed and a drift defence will emphasise keeping the line. It all comes down to decision making. If we’re numbers down we will drift and if we’re numbers up we might rush. It’s a mixed system. What is the hardest phase to defend against? Line breaks and turnovers are most difficult to defend because it becomes unstructured and relies on individual decisions, which have to be good. Who makes the most tackles? It depends on the attacking style of the opposition. If a team plays wide, the outside backs will make more tackles than the openside flank. If a team attacks the blindside the tight forwards will make the most tackles. If they play a narrow game, the loosies will make the most tackles. Most players say defence is 90% about attitude? Absolutely, because you have to stop momentum and to do that you have to tackle with aggression and willingness. The Stormers had the best defensive record in the past two Super Rugby competitions, but their attacking game has suffered. Is that a result of an overly defence-minded approach? I’d like to think not, because we work as hard on attack as we do on defence. I’ve been at the Stormers for four seasons, while attack coach Robbie Fleck has only had two. He’s still developing our attack and it takes time to get your vision and personality across. Do you take defensive lapses personally? For sure, because if a player misses a tackle perhaps I haven’t prepped him well enough, or I haven’t made sure he is good enough in that situation. — Craig Ray

• 299.JL1: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-296: 19-0 not 18

• 300.danuk: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-297: who else though?

• 301.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-295: Danie Dropsy Rossouw

• 302.JL1: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-297: Deysel knocked on in Durban on the way to the try line, that cost us

• 303.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-297: Louw is covering 6 exclusively.

Given the amount of niggles amongst our resources, and the Wallabies’ competitive advantage at this facet of play, this is an admirable selection IMO.

• 304.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-282: If you ask me its cos they shot themselves in the foot by not giving Lambie more starting opportunities at 10 and now they cant rely on him 100% to cover 10 in such a big pressure game. Had they played him more often when they could you wouldnt have that problem now. I´d be reluctant to put Lambie at 10 in a QF game myself. Not saying he couldnt do it but it could be touch and go. Thank god Ruaan is nowhere near the match 22.

• 305.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-293: I dont know why you are inventing some sort of false dichotomy here – I am no fan of Jake the Snake either. I suggest wind that neck in because you are definitely barking up the wrong tree. Dippy is lucky to have Rassie and Nienaber like Jake the Snake was lucky to get Eddie the Eagle to guide him through the WC 2007.

One thing Jake White has though, that even “Great Redeemer” Graham Henry doesn’t, is Old Bill…. Makes you wonder, eh?

• 306.willievz: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-301: Yes Tackles I also have reservatons about his ball carrying technique. He has been guilty of not protecting the ball sufficiently enough when entering collisions and often carries without adequate support on his shoulders.

But I have also seen him take some shaky passes.

You make a point though, our passing accuracy is a current concern for me.

• 307.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-288: cant agree there – against a fetcher like Pocock Deysel would be nullified a lot. francois Louw is the only othe fetcher who could possibly compete. Louw had a few average games on they EOYT but this years Super 15 his class shone through again. I have faith in him. Look at Raubenheimer – on his EOYT he froze up and did nothing and this years Super 15 he has been a machine. I would never have thought he could do it.

• 308.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

Why replace the Beast with CJ? Smacks a bit like the AB’s in ’07 in trying to manage players for a semi and final. This is the knock-outs so you play your best team. The Beast adds way more than CJ ever would. Anyway, here’s to JdV having a blinder.

• 309.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-307: Louw and Burger are also key cogs in the Nienaber defensive system, which gives the former the nod ahead of other players such as Deysel et al.

• 310.willievz: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-308: CJ is covering both 1 and 3.

If the Beast was on the bench instead of CJ, our cappie would be covering 3.

• 311.JL1: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-308: Who covers Tight head?

The man on the moon?

• 312.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-297: again I disagree – in the Super 15 he was creating havoc and was one of the Stormers players who consistently got his team front foot ball.

• 313.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-296: You’re right (except it was 19-0) but Jake’s 49-0 vs Aussie easily trumps that. Stroily’s 52-16 hiding by NZ at Loftus comes close, and his 53-3 spanking by England in London too.

• 314.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

298,HG

The losses to Saracens & Leceister should actually be attributed to **** Muir who was in charge of the midweek dirt-tracker side.Just like Wayne Smith was made midweek coach when Munster almost beat AB’s in midweek game.

For all those examples,the most telling is PdV record vs Graham Henry.White at NO point had a winning record vs NZ.All blacks are still the measure of excellelnce in the sport..Div 5..Henry 6 in last 4 yrs

Meanwhile “greatest coach on planet” as quoted ny many-Robbie Deans reord vs Ab’s is…14 Henry…2 Deans…

Jake White…3…Henry 8….in 4years.

2 away wins suffered by NZ..first and only time in HISTORY…belongs to guess who? Pieter de Villiers.

You better RECOGNIZE.

Better than inflated win record with lots of victories vs Samoa,Italy,Scotland…

• 315.danuk: Reply to this comment

see Aussie supporters are very confident, man I hope we have a but of a surprise for them

• 316.JL1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-313: Yes, Jake the Snake and Straueli have embarrassing moments on their score cards

• 317.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-305: Hey, Jake fluked a lucky draw — there are Lotto millionaires out there who are dropkicks but who just got bloody lucky. Jake won the rugby lotto twice when BOTH the Antipodeans who had smashed him earlier that year gonged themselves out of his path.

• 318.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-310: @JL1(JL1)-311: What I meant. Is this to manage Jannie? He has been playing all of the games so far. If CJ is there for injury cover then fine but I hope its not just to manage gametime. On Second thought, my critique may have been a bit hasty. Just sad to see Beast not make it. He adds to our bench while CJ does not. But we do not want a repeat of Durban. I can see that now… :smile:

• 319.JL1: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-314: Those are the facts

PDiv has a good record against the ABs

• 320.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-314: Im afraid you too are setting up a little straw man like Tackles. Because I think Dippy is useless, in no way means that I am a Jake the Snake fan. Like Dippy, Jake should have bit the bullet before he could call on someone else more competent to guide him through a challenge too big for him to handle on his own merits… Jake with Eddie the Eagle and Dippy with Rassie and Nienaber – case studies in how the incompetent can hide behind other’s ability.

• 321.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

307-Slumtown

My poiny exactly,Flo is amazing in looser environment of 415.Much like Adam Thompson.Test level…Lightweights.

With Bizzie on the pitch,Burger assisting and Deysel not bad on groind and is a huge physical presence as well.He also wud assist in counterrucking to cause turnovers.If Flo doesn’t succeed as the secondary arriver at ruck to steal ball he is anonymous.does absolutely fckall.

• 322.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-320: Both Jake and Dippy have nearly identical win loss ratios before their respective WC’s of around 60%. Not what you would expect from the Springboks and symptomatic of this tolerance of mediocrity excuse – “Judge me on the World Cup”.

• 323.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

******* SNORT
    Bismarck best hooker in the world
    Boks flying home sunday time

Smitty Fatty you TRAITOR

• 324.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-317: So dissapointing that we will never know if SA would still have won huh? Not Jakes fault tho nor did he fluke it. Your AB’s just did what they do best, I’m afraid. Simple realy. :wink:

• 325.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

F-U-C-K SNORT

• 326.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Smit you LEGEND!

Captain FANTASTIC!

• 327.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

BOKS available for Currie Cup next weekend

John Smit = TRAITOR

PDV = MORON

• 328.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-326: Can I hear a AMEN! These fckwits have fck-all respect!

• 329.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-326:

SMIT YOU F-U-C-K-I-N-G TRAITOR

• 330.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-327: @Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-329: Wtf?

• 331.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Here is REAL record of JW vs PdV against top 6 rugby nations in real tests not watered down incoming tours or meaningless cannon fodder nations.

discount all meaningless games.. only count top 6 nations

NZ, Aus, Fra, Eng, Wales, Ire or combined BR. Lions in REAL competition i.e. 3N, or Br. lions tour or EOYT and this the result you get

2004-2007 JW

Played: 32
    Wins: 14 - 43.75%
    Losses: 17 - 53.13%
    Draws: 1 - 3.13%

2008-2011 PdV

Played: 34
    Wins: 18 - 52.94%
    Losses: 16 - 47.06%

Thats right in REAL TERMS of TOP 6 strength vs strength competition PdV whacks White by a WHOPPING 53% over 44% success = 9% better coach to White. In fact White has a negative success rate of less than 50% = 44% to be exact.

Now suck on them lemons HG.. PDV is the Muhammad Ali of all rugby coaches and don’t you go and forget it again in a hurry.

• 332.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-329: Mate you are trying too damn hard! Subtlety not your strong suite, huh?

• 333.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-332:

piss off kid

• 334.JL1: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-318: The perplexing decision is having Butch there

• 335.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-323: Vent all that anger, young one

Let it out, now pour another glass of meths and try again

• 336.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-331: I refer you to my posts 320 and 322. I know it is difficult for some of you. Jake the Snake is no hero of mine. Dippy “Clownking” De Villiers certainly isn’t either.

Pop goes the weazley argument… Poofffff

• 337.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

SNORT should be kicked out of South Africa
    and the idiot selectors with him

The Aussies must be smiling from ear to ear
    They dont have to play against the best hooker in the world

• 338.danuk: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-317: actually a more apt explanation might be that the antipodeans side which bashed us earlier that year where more premature ejaculators … they just came too soon

• 339.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-335:

lol another moron

• 340.danuk: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-324: exactly, premature ejaculators …

• 341.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-334: What is perplexing about it? If the ten man approach is failing and we fall behind and have to start moving the ball who would you play?

• 342.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-339: Haha, you need help, seriously, get rid of that anger

• 343.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-331: And how you can excuse a 60% win/loss ration for the Boks and losses against Saracens, Leicester and Scotland, I dont know. For me that is not excellence and I will only forgive Dippy if he brings the Willy Webb Ellis Cup back to SA.

• 344.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

John Smit that fat old boy does not care about the BOKS
    If he did he would make sure Bismarck started

Thats why he is a traitor

• 345.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-331: You know that would be about an F? It’s a pass, yes but only just…And a 9% better coach? Does that equate to a moment of individual brilliance ala Ricky January In Dunedin 2008 or Morne Steyn in BI Lions series the year after? I’d settle for 75%, at least, against top flite opposition. So should any bonafide Bok supporter.

• 346.JL1: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-341: …maybe he is there for that, but that does not sound right

Lambie could go to flyhalf and Aplon cover the FB position

• 347.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-342:

piss off halfwit

• 348.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-336: :lol:

Classic.

• 349.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

SAINT John our SAVIOR!

John the MAGNIFICENT!

John the WISE!

John the CONQUEROR!

• 350.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-333: Like I said troll… :lol:

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-343: Same here.

• 351.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

*SAVIOUR*

• 352.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

Smit at hooker
    What a tragedy for the Boks

• 353.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-350:

what a ******

• 354.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

All these John Smit supporters should be in a looney bin

• 355.corms: Reply to this comment

Bakkies out of world cup!

• 356.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-349: :lol: If you not careful a fckadilly bomb coming your way soon.

• 357.Nils: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-293: It was 0-19 and during Puff Diddy time.

• 358.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-346: Again maybe a case of covering all our bases? Hougie 9 and wing, Butch 10/12 and Aplon wing and 15. I agree with Malcolm, not perplexing at all then

• 359.JL1: Reply to this comment

I see Peter Davies has been suspended at Supersport, some criminal charge against him

• 360.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-352: Most rugby brains would disagree mate.

Smit is a better scrummaging hooker, and adds a calm to the paddock that makes all the difference in knock out games.

If you’de done your homework you’de have realised the closer games this year have been won in the last 15/20 minutes of a game.

We would love to have the sort of bench the saffers have produced.

• 361.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-353: Yeah right. You wanna try 1 more time? :lol:

• 362.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-321: Nah man dont agree. Louw is a tight player as well – he breaks the gain line with runs many times too due to his bulk. He´s more than justa fetcher and thats exactly why l like him as a player – he has a mix of the Brussouw and Deysel in him. Obviously Deysel more of a physical specimen and I´m a big Deysel fan too but vs Pocock id rather we had another fecthing option on the bench and he´s the only other fetcher in SA that comes anywhere near Brussouw. Not saying he´s up to Brussouw´s standards but no-one else comes anywhere close – especially not Stegmann.

• 363.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

HG

Hero of yours or not,ur the one who first compared Div record/expectations etc to White/Mallett etc

Now when the FACTS are painting a different picture to the one you were trying to push across,you’re trying to distance yourself.Poor attempt at deflecting.Barring 17 victories in a row from 97-98 Mallett had a pretty avg record winning 1 TriNation game 3 yrs in a row.Also had a losing record vs NZ.Let’s not even go to his abysmal tenure as WP director of rugby and worst record in consecutive losses in Italian rugby history-even John Kirwan had a better record.He beat France under dipsh*t Livriemont,now he is a messiah…blah blah blah. He is one coach who puts players/team under the bus with a lot of his comments.Seems to want to please media more than endear himself to his team and his administration who he ultimately he serves-his primary responsibility to.in Mallett’s world he is the be all and end all.

• 364.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-359: What? I dig him. What has he done? And what’s up with Supersport presenters? :roll:

• 365.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

The great thing about this world cup is that
    we will never see snort and smit again after sunday

• 366.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-347: Boring – we all know Smit isnt the best but he´s there and theres nothing we can do about it now so.. the die is cast.

• 367.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-345:

If PdV gets an F for 53% wins against top tier nations in real terms strength vs strength competition then what in your estimation does JW get for his massively talented 44% success rate against same level top tier teams.. that a G or H or X or a Z ??

Bottom line is if you wanna compare SA rugby coaches in the past 19 years since isolation then PdV is second or third best behind Mallet and Christie.. though Christie never had to defend his record anytime away or against top nations in 3N competitions or EOYT’s and Mallet ran with the Carel Dup team against far weaker AB and Wallaby and French and English teams we got now since advent of true professionalism..

So in short PdV is possibly best Bok coach of ALL his predecessors by far.. only poor prejudiced fools such as those frequenting blogs like these still cannot see the reality staring them in the face… Far better than White that’s for sure.. as i have just blatantly proved again without any doubt..

• 368.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-365: haha – you hope- Snor may well still be in the mix. No guarantess with SARU

• 369.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Nervous about this game.

• 370.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-360: Why Bismarck on the bench makes more sense. When most teams are on their last legs, the Boks can actualy lift to another level.

• 371.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-360:

The All Blacks and the Aussies rugby brains both agree Bismarck is the best in the world.
    Sean Fitzpatrick one of the greatest hookers of all time has publicly stated that Bismarck is the best hooker in the world

The Aussies must be laughing their heads off at their good luck

• 372.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-367: I wasn’t comparing anyone. You were. I just agree with the fellas here that winning 53% of your games against the A sides should never be acceptable. Sure, it’s better than the rest but by no means should it be cause for celebration. That’s all mate.

• 373.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-361:

you really are *** arent you :)

• 374.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-370: Agreed. Ask most Aussies and they would have preffered to play any other side this w-e, and that includes the AB’s particularly with DC missing.

Nervous as hell for this game.

barnsey makes me even more nervous considering the bloke played a recent Sydney Uni game and said he couldn’t remeber playing the last 15 minutes. That’s less than 2 months a go.

If he goes we are gone. add to that not sure which forward pack will turn up.

Hey if you don’t want smit, whe’ll have him.

• 375.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-368:

Snor knows he is history, he has said so a few times in the last week

• 376.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-369: You and me both :lol:

• 377.DontThinkJustWonder: Reply to this comment

The real tragedy is picking JPP. If you watch the game instead of listening to Bobby’s comments you’ll notice he regularly ‘miss-tackles’. Watch Digby slip inside him or Ashley-Cooper run through him.

Outstanding bench for the last 15 to 20 so long as we’re not out of the game by then.

• 378.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

Anyone who thinks that Bismarck should be on the bench not only is clueless about rugby but also needs to spend some time in a mental institution.

• 379.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Louw is a very good backup loosie on bench better fetcher and better ball carrier than Burger and far more rugby brains to boot, a Brussow, Louw, Alberts trio would wreak havoc amongst the Aussies. Louw is a big plus in my book.. same with Aplon .. and Butch might be a good call but Beast or De Jongh would have been better.. It should be Lambie OR Butch and not both of them…

I actually like this selection apart from Smit covering LH and hooker and Smit, Spies and fdP starting ahead of Bismark, Alberts, Hougaard..

So if those 3 can at least produce some kind of parity against the opposite numbers then the rest of the 19 players can do enough to send Aussie home.. Big question around Smit, Spies and FdP.. but the rest I am happy about.. Butch could be a mis ques though, one of those hit or miss kinda calls is Butch.

• 380.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-371: Turn it up mate. You’re almost convincing.

The blokes talented, and is arguably the best in the world right now.

I’d still start with Smit.

Did you see the Somoa game mate? You nearly lost that game in the last quarter. Imagine how different that game could have been had he come off the bench?

I would love to have that firepower off the wood. it would have changed the Irelad game.

• 381.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-346: They probably feel it is a big ask for a youngster to be moved from full back to flyhalf mid game in such a critical match. I think Butch also is an option should the Aussies who I am sure are going to target the flyhalf channel start having a great deal of success against Steyn. I think it is good to have him there as an option. On the down side he has had very little game time in the last almost 3 months so that could come back to bite the boks.

• 382.Boksarenumber3: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-380:

you obviously are not a Bok supporter, who is your team? the aussies?
    the somoa game where that fat idiot smit was sent off after 2 minutes on the field, that game ?

• 383.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-373: How can you tell? Thx for letting me out of the closet. :lol: ****. I don’t even wanna know how you got to that one. You, on the otherhand are exposing yourself to be a real idiot. OK. I’ll humour you for a while. Who did Smitty supposedly betray or more to the point how is he betraying his country? Last time I looked he was still toiling away in the trenches. Busting his gut. Unlike a fckwit like you who think he knows best from behind a keyboard? Maybe you should list your achievements on here so we could all have a go at tearing it down. What have you done, of any note in your miserable life? You’re just a troll mate. The worst kind at that! :evil:

• 384.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-363: Wrt Mallet, 17 consecutive wins , and it is Carel Du Plessis team?

Yeah, right…. Thats a great fact, Mshini… (Talk about deflection…)

Mallet’s Bok win/loss record is better than any Bok coach in the post isolation era bar the GREAT Kitch Christie. Not to mention his good record with Stade Francais too. Talking about his relative failure as a director of WP rugby is what I would call “deflection”.

Dippy and White both have decidedly average win/loss ratios as coaches of the Boks… Whites only saving grace is that he brought home a WC, lucky or not, and with a little help from Eddie Jones.

Dippy hasn’t brought Webb Ellis home yet. If he doesn’t then he is more of a failure than the failure you and Skopskiet paint Jake White to be.

• 385.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-382: Wallaby supporter.

So you saw it then.

The yellow card was more about about the ref than bad play. Penalty at worst. A typical Union reaction fater the blood was still flowing from the red card handed out.

• 386.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

371 Bok3

You clearly are hear to spew nonsense.Now quoting rent a quote Fitzpatrick.Who by the way HIMSElF kept players out of team who we’re better than him especially later in his tenure,namely: Norm Hewitt,Anton Oliver,Matt Sexton..As he was captain..sound familiar? So he has fckall to stand on.

Secondly current Super15 champ coach Ewen McKenzie agreed with De Villiers bench strategy esp players to add impetus in last quarter ex: Bismark,Hiugaard,Alberts etc Stated that such subs are going to revolutionalise the way the game is played from here on in esp Test rugby.

Try again,clearly ur new on here.All mouth,little substance.We house all types of nutters on here so welcome.Plenty come,many dissapear and many get schooled & edicated on the game minus the shouting and screaming.That’s childs play.

• 387.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-384:

Tell me who has a better record than De Villiers against top tier teams.. which SA coach.. Which SA coach including Mallet and Christie has beaten AB’s in NZ 3 times in 3 years and twice in one year.. and drilled them 3-0 in the 3N EVER?

And Mshini is correct about Mallet I have met the dude.. he’s a egocentric twat who is no great shakes as a coach … he might think he is but he ain’t.. and White is even worse…

De Villiers puts both those schmucks in the Shade by some distance…

There is NO better SA coach in recent memory unless you include Christie who NEVER played 3N or took his team on the road… so unfair comparison altogether.

• 388.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-386: It’s an interesting point that, the getting schooled bit I mean.

I pick up most of my rugby knowledge from this site, and pass it off as my own.

I don’t post often, but I’m on here at least once a week to find out a little more about the game.

As I’ve said previously, grown up on league, which i still love, but really appreciate the attrition of Union.

Going to be tight this w-e, hopefully it’s the wallabies.

• 389.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Anyway, I’m out. Sick of Dippy apologists out there… Thank goodness for Rassie and Nienaber otherwise the Boks could be all playing in the Currie Cup this weekend.

• 390.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-374: What worries me about this Aussie team is they seem to be capable of nullifying the Boks’ ‘physicality’ upfront. So I agree, it comes down to them fronting up in the forwards. Do that and their backs come into play. Barnes might be the missing link to foil Coopers occasional brainfarts. I’m not worried about the individual. The Smit/Bismarck issue is a non-issue realy. Bismarck will not do it all on it’s own and Smit is not that bad to lose it all on his own. If we’re going to do it, it will have to be a collective effort from all 8.

• 391.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-387: Christie beat one of the best AB sides ever in a WC final.

That essentially the same AB side, possibly even more inferior, just the next year gave the Boks a big hiding in 1996 under a different coach.

Tell us another one.

• 392.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

384 HG

Nowhere do I say it was Carel dup team or whatever.Mallett though was no revolutionary-played defensive rugby with Monty kicking the penalties.

Stade Francais?? GTFOH with that.Brendan Venter has been “awesome” for Saracens yet he aint sh*t down in SH..video analyst at best.Ewen McKenzie was average at Stade yet has been amazing at Reds.luck of the draw is Europe.Same league where Wylie Human was Top try scorer and Player of the Year nominee.

By the way Mallett had limited to fckall success in SH provincial/club rugby. Boland weren’t more than much what Griquas is now,WP director of rugby is well documented:hired fckin Fester for fcksakes.

Also suffered first loss to Wales in 100yrs. Deflection hahahaha yeah

• 393.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Kitch Christie took his team abroad 4 times in the 14 tests he coached and in which he won every test the Boks played. The overseas tests were versus Scotland, Wales, England and Italy.

• 394.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-387: What you fail to realise is Jakes pathetic record includes a WC already won. Should we fall by the wayside in the next 3 weeks, Div would only have a 53% winning record. That’s it. Nothing more. Why I fully understand where HG comes from and also agree that winning the damn thing has become non-negotiable now. We have got to win it, if you want to make that kind of comparison

• 395.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-393: I see you fellas have become a lot more subdued since DC’s injury? :lol:

• 396.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-357: Error corrected long before your correction.

• 397.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-392: It is deflection to refer to Mallets time as WP’s director of rugby. He obviously is a very average director of rugby, whatever the fark that is supposed to be anyway.

But his record as a Bok coach of:
    -17 consecutive wins
    - winning 27 of the 38 tests played under his guidance…

Is FACT, and speaks for itself as a superior record as Bok coach than either Dippy, certainly, and Jake White. White though won a WC, which Mallet didnt, though his team did beat the AB’s in 3rd/4th playoff in 1999… Which is fact.

Mallets side lost to eventual winners Aus by a freaky halfway line drop goal by a player who hardly ever drop goals in Larkham. Fact.

You accuse me of deflection whereas all your posts directed at me are nothing but.

Simple

• 398.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

HG

Same Rassie who couldn’t get an semblence of consistency at WP,now has been “saved” by Allister Coetzee who recruited Nienaber and implemented unbrella defense from when he was with Boks in White era..Coetzee comes in..1p makes S14 final and CC final in same year.Same team which is so depleted at present Coetzee still managing to put them in semi position..

Rassie & Nienanber are good,but messiahs..not a fark.De Villiers in 2009 did it without all of them,trophy cabinet full of trophies.Bringing in other facets/coaches is professionalism mate,look at Clive Woodward in period from 2001-2003 he had the largest coaching staff in rugby-diff specialist coaches.

Apologists?? Return to reality and look at Bok coach records over the past 10-15 yrs and most importantly vs AB’s the pantheon level in the sport.Then answer.

• 399.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-390: It’s up to the forwards. If they can do what they did in the 3N’s we should be able to put players through the space that Steyn provides.

If we play like we did against the Irish with few to the breakdown and numbers 4-8 in amongst the pretty boys, then we are in for a long day, and probably will be over before the benchwarmers get a crack.

• 400.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-338: The Boks lucked out big time by not having to meet them at RWC. They boobed by not letting Wales beat them in pool play, winning by only 1 and now placing them in a pool where they must get past BOTH the Aussies and the Kiwis just to make it to the final where Wales might well be meeting them again and extract revenge!

• 401.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-397: This is a bit of a non-sensical debate tho. Mine is bigger than yours type. What is imperative for the next Bok coach is a “overall” performance parameter. No way we should stumble our way from 1 WC to the next anymore. Here’s hoping SA Rugby gets it right this time

• 402.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

HG

That’s nt entirely true,SA didn’t lose 99 semi only due to that drop goal.In fact Matt Burke added another penalty and they won 27-21.deserved winners and not like a “last minute win” or freaky win etc. They controlled extra time & Macqueen outcoached Mallett.

Simple

• 403.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-398: This is deflection. And you have your facts wrong. It seems Rassie hired Nienaber, by the way. See my earlier post of an interview with Nienaber.

Dippy’s win/loss record despite winning in NZ against a Carterless All Blacks is barely 60% prior to this world cup and slightly inferior to Jake White’s.

60% for the Boks is AVERAGE.

A

• 404.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

HG could not lambaste WP coaches and WP rugby based strategy enough the past 2 years and now suddenly Rassie and Nienaber are God’s gifts to SA rugby

Same with Mallet a WP coach with WP rugby blood running through his veins.. and he’s the bees knees wrt SA rugby credential suddenly…

PdV has always wanted to surround himself with only the best technical know how and ability.. all the others chickened out that he opened his hand too they all slapped him in the face.. Rassie didn’t and Nienaber followed suit though Nienaber initially refused too.

White without Jones was a disaster and even we didn’t meet ANY decent rugby nation en route to WC final in 2007 White would have lost without Jones showing him the ropes ahead of the comp and carrying him through it when under the whip…

Mallet had the best rugby team on the planet in 99 and should have won that watered down comp hands down had he not blown it..

So far PdV is 4 from 4 this WC campaign and his win ratio in international rugby surpasses ALL other coaches in equal strength vs strength comparison barring Christie and maybe Mallet who inherited Carel Dup’s team and also had lesser competitive opposition than we have today. Especially from NH sides.

If Boks win this thing against the odds of playing an out of condition and passenger Smit along with passengers FdP and Spies.. then you can definitely lift your hat and bow in obeisance to the greatest rugby coach the Boks have ever seen .. if not and Aussie or NZ bundle us out the next 2 games.. well then he was just another mediocre SA coach like all the others before him.. barring Christie and to some extent Mallet perhaps.

• 405.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-399: Sounds about right. I’m hoping that the heat we put on will be too much for you guys upfront. There was signs in Durbs that it was but for the idiotic change to move JS to TH. And there is also the fact that most of your fwds have played non stop rugby since February. Let’s just hope for our sake everyone’s onboard with Nienaber’s system as theamount of gamebreakers in your team can even make forward dominace irrelevant. Ireland showed that. Eventhough they dominated upfront they still had to tackle well to snatch it.

• 406.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-398: This is deflection. And you have your facts wrong. It seems Rassie hired Nienaber, by the way. See my earlier post of an interview with Nienaber.

Dippy’s win/loss record despite winning in NZ against a Carterless All Blacks is barely 60% prior to this world cup and slightly inferior to Jake White’s.

60% for the Boks is AVERAGE.

And Dippy has won no WC yet, which at least Jake White did, never mind how lucky he might have been.

Keep deflecting chum.

• 407.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-403: Nope his win loss ratio vs top 6 rugby nations is WAY better than White… can’t you even read simple arithmetic?

• 408.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-400: You’de have to think the Welsh are looking the most likely.

Can’t think of mnay Union fans who would begrudge the Welsh picking up Bill.

If it has to go North, then the Welsh above all others.

• 409.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Nighty night. Battle commences again tomorrow with all you lying fibbing Dippy, D.ick and Gold apologists.

Thank goodness Rassie and Nienaber might lead the Boks to glory. If they don’t nobody else will… Except for Barney of course.

• 410.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-408: Gatland is too much of a pain in the *** for mine to sit comfortably with that. Only way a NH team wins it is if you guys make it to the final. I know our record of late not too flash agains them either but those are more freakish results than anyhing else. NH packs seem to have your number. I might be wrong.They have no chance against the AB’s and to a lesser extent the Boks imo

• 411.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-410: I could probably handle the Irish winning it.

• 412.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

What about a freakish France to knock out England this weekend – wouldn’t that be excellent.

• 413.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-412: 50/50 imo. The 2 teams with the most sideshows at this WC. France the admittedly the more serious as it goes directly against the team dynamic when team and coach goes head2head. I wouldv’e given France an outside to upset whoever they meet in the final but not anymore. They’are all at sea

• 414.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-411: I have issues with every side. I want my side to win, but at this stage that appears unlikely.

Not a massive fan of the Boks, but i do appreciate they have to work with some pretty restrictive systems. Quota systems and the like.

You have to feel for the AB’s who really are the benchmark between WC. If their supporters weren’t such w@nkers, particularly with this feeling that its their God given right to win the thing, then I’d be happy to see them lift it.

The poms can p1ss off, and after the Paddy’s put us on the wrong side of the draw I really don’t want them to win.

That leaves the Welsh, French and the Argies. Argies have no chance. French are too unpredictable.

last man standing.

• 415.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

I love this site – and I’m talking about the posts as much as the columns. Nowhere else I have found have as many column inches dedicated to rugby and there are true followers willing to put a little punch into their posts. Regular contributors seem to be characters as well. But boys, Botha out, the Mule out, Smit starting – its starting to look a little bleak (or should I say gold!).

• 416.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-414: But the Irish hardly ever get into a pissing contest with anyone. And surely you can appreciate what they were able to achieve against your team? The result notwithstanding :lol: Gatland will be insufferable if they win it. Then I’d rather let you guys have the honour of winning it 3 times

• 417.Hondo: Reply to this comment

So the Chief Entertainer has gone?
    The performance against Samoa must have been too much for JS who in all likelihood vetoed the Beast out of the match 22, the likeable prop did his best fakes to avoid any tackles, rucks or clean ups
    I reckoned with Cooper plaing at 10 for Aus, the Boks have reasonabe task to beat them

• 418.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-415: FS out probably the only real concern although I would’ve loved to have Bakkies there. Smit starting not a big deal. Don’t believe everything you read on here or elsewhere. Sounds like you’re reaching…Better hope Higgenbotham makes it into your starting 15. He’s got mongrel and the cahoonas to go with it. Barnes would be glad Bakkies is not there tho. Remember Bakkies tackling him outside the TV screen 2 years ago? Alberts might remind him of that. Gonna be a cracker

• 419.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

I’ve had a few comments quoting Morne’s tackling stats against Samoa citing that as proof the guy is no weak link. I’m certain the Wallabies will target that 10 channel and attempt to drag the Bok centres out of line. They have a thing about charging up to get to quick hit on – especially JdV. As for the Boks, any opportunity to rumble Genia will be open season but I also think they’ll target Cooper while he’s standing at 15 in defense. If they can isolate him on counter he’s liable to do anything – like throw it straight to a Bok with the line open!

• 420.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-416: I like the Irish supporters. The fairer *** more to the point.

Does that count for something?

First team to 3 would be great. To do it across the ditch, in the lesser cousins backyard would be outstanding.

Some great ball carriers in that Irish side, but I reckon the Welsh will squeak this one. Bit more muscle in the contact area, and some big lads across the backline

Roberts and North have been standouts.

• 421.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-418: I do remember Bakkies monstering Barnes and it was an awesome site. But I think the Wallabies will take some confidence that he is out – he is one of 6 players that does have a positive record against us. But I’m hearing Barnes starting from bench anyway with McCabe at 12. As for Higgs, don’t know – I’m assuming they’ll start with the same back row as Sydney and Durban – Rocky, Samo and Pocock.

• 422.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-419: JDV is our trump card. Very predictable crash ball exponent.

The bloke was designed for league.

For me thats the only area I feel we dominate. That inside channel through Steyn, and knowing tat once it reaches JDV it’s going no further. Easy to defend.

• 423.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-413: France beating anyone at the point would be an upset – they’re going in against England with the same side that lost to Tonga! Still if there’s an upset anywhere this weekend that will be it. No chance Argies against the Blacks, and the other two matches you could argue there would be no upset – all four have claims.

• 424.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-415:
    Don’t worry,
    We’ve just purged the last quota among the forward, we are ready!
    Bakkie’s overrated, hasn’t played much since 2009, Styen is a huge loss, true, but the omission of Giteau and the new ‘Hip Hop’ tattoo culture that crapped into the Wallabies camp with Cooper, Genia and few others, more than outweigh Styen’s departure!

• 425.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-421: Mccabe’s as predictable as JDV.

We need to start with the best 12 available and thats barnsey. Not only does he take the ball to the line and offload both sides, he also takes some pressure off Cooper.

With barnes at 12, Cooper can go at the line, knowing that if he gets wrapped up the recyled ball can get hoofed into the corners.

Mccabe couldn’t kick himself out of a wet paper bag.

• 426.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-422: I’ve always said the reason why we upset the Boks more than any other team bar the Blacks (in terms of winning) is because their game plan is predicable and completely suited to the way we want to play. Structured attack requires structured defending and Wallaby teams, going back to Muggleton as defensive coach, have always had that. You get a team that upsets that (ABs) and our defensive structures can be found wanting. And the reverse is true – Boks always relied on structured defending line which doesn’t cater well for “play wants in front of you” ethos. With the likes of Beale, Cooper, O’Connor and Ioane in the backline setting a pattern to stop them is fairly redundant.

• 427.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-425: Couldn’t agree more with you re Barnes but for some reason Deans has it that McCabe is more “direct” and they want that to straighten the line play for the others to run their own patterns. For frigs sake, Barnes grew up a leaguie – he can be as direct as you want and he’s also probably the best tackler in the back line we have.

• 428.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-421: That trio is geared for a fast game. Not gonna happen if the Boks monster you upfront. Barnes to start is an absolute must to give Cooper another option outside him.

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-422: I couldn’t agree more. Why I feel FS such a big loss. But I’m hoping. In saying that, McCabe a crashball specialist himself

• 429.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

Anyway I’m out. Cheers.

• 430.TahRoo: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-426: With the loss of Steyn they will return to what they know. One out Rugby, with the ball punted high.

Having said that I’m still not convinced our pretty boys can attack from depth against the umbrella defence. The saffers are defending up and in, which does leave space out wide, however the lads keep looking for the switch ball back inside. Hopefully we will see something different this week-end.

Turn the Bok pack around, and run the ball left and right, should see a tiring pack.

problem is they have an awesome bench to bring on when that happens.

• 431.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-424: Hip Hop culture – there’s something new to cling to.

• 432.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

if we get knocked out on Sunday or next week, i think we can’t exactly call PdV a failure, cause he had one exceptional year and won the B&I series, which is a big deal. but i agree with Skop, a mediocre coach and not much more.

• 433.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-430: Returning to what they know is good for us. We know how to play them at that game. If we can recycle the ball quickly on attack the “up and in” defense can be used to get their centres out of line. A disjointed backline is what we’re after – so long as we can hold on to the ball and don’t get too carried away. And turning the Bok pack around – yes. They need to be made to run, in every direction except forward, as much as possible. I have a feeling (hoping) the Pocock will give Brussouw a lesson this weekend and anything less than parity for the Boks on this front they will struggle big time.

• 434.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-432: Your man will need to come up with something new for this weekend to prove himself. So far he has shown little in the way of being able to adapt and play various game plans. The Wallabies have the wood on the Boks in recent times because that unchanging style. PdV will need to pull something out of the cupboard.

• 435.Hondo: Reply to this comment

With Bakkie out, the Boks have no cover at lock because Muller is obviously not match fit, and with PdV openly recognised The Beast and Chiliboi a waste, the Boks might have depth problems!
    With the projected wet, windy conditions Styen will have to place his kicks inside the 40m line and be spot on at that, that means the forwards will have to play some rugby for a change to get him there

• 436.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

This game seems set up for the Boks to lose, perhaps the conditions will save them.

• 437.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-436: As one of your Bok supports said – the occasion will also have its say.

• 438.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-437: may the best team win (and beat the ABs in the semi :) )

• 439.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-438: Agreed

• 440.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

What the fok is this sh-it?

Why oh WHY does John Smit refuse to step down? His selfishness has ruined Bismarck’s world cup. du Plessis is in the prime of his life, he won’t be as good ever in his career again. Thanks John. The annoying thing is, Smit doesn’t give a rats arse if the Boks are knocked out. He has his humble loser speech already written out and he has practiced it in front of the mirror 100 times. He has purely done this in an attempt to end his career as the most capped Bok.

Then there is Pierre “perty mouth” Spies. Wow! Spies must give a good BJ to still be making the team. Thanks Spies for your contribution to the Boks, because of you Burger and Brussow have to make twice as many tackles. You mangina.

Botha out is a huge loss, Danie ALWAYS gets the ball ripped/knocks on – especially against the convicts.

And lastly, where the hell is the Beast? What a joke.

Boks will be playing with 5 forwards for 60 minutes. Well done PdV.

• 441.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

regardless of the selection. This is do or die. Lets get behind the sidee and as long as we shut down Genia – we should win this comfortiblyy.

Will Genia is ourr greatest threatt. Ben Alexander and Kepu must be bendt overr by our tight5 t denie Geniaa Good Ball.

The Chokers without Carter willl not win the WC.

The Frenchh will makee the final.

• 442.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Argentinaa will beat the Chokers. I saidd it first.

• 443.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-442:
    Oz to beat the Overrated :-)

• 444.toby: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-414: What a joke Aussies think the sun shines outta their asses always:)

• 445.toby: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-442: Your in dreamland they won’t win even with the B-team.

• 446.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Where is the logic in leaving Beast out of the starting 15? He is as good if not better scrummager than Guthro and also has a loose forward’s pace. Leaving Beast out of the 22, Bismarck, Hougaard and Alberts out of the starting 15 is pathetic. It is wet weather rugby. What the f-uck is Spies going to do in the wet? He can’t even get go forward in the dry. He’ll be driven back and concede penalty after penalty.

Moronic. I hope Smit and the three clowns are sjamboked by our rap-ist president.

• 447.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-446:

As if he would care anyway. He just wants to move the Springbok emblem to the arse cheek of the pants.

• 448.ShaunSwindon: Reply to this comment

I have a bad feeling that there are just too much injuries in this squad now to really challenge for this World Cup now.

• 449.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: BWAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA :lol:

• 450.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

John Smit is a fat greedy pig who’ll go down as the slug that ruined our chances.

• 451.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68:

You taking the p isss right?

• 452.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-354: and you should be in the kids play pen where kids belong

you have some serious growing up to do, then again it’s impossible with only half a brain i guess,

• 453.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

Butch shouldn’t be in the match 22 – De Jongh should be. And Beast should be there instead of Aplon.

• 454.stew: Reply to this comment

Gone with the old tested midfield – i suppose this is knock out phase but i would of gone with De Jongh , imo adds more attacking flair – but then again if SA are planning to play percentage rugby and back there defence , might be the right option ?

• 455.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-450:
    So if you kick Smit to touch, which winner would you like to peg the captains tag to?

• 456.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-83: Puma, even Tiery Le Croix said that SA have nothing behind that pack. He lamented the loss of Frans Steyn, saying he was the creative spark, and that without him, that backline have no brains. :lol:

• 457.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Bye Bye SA sorry to say. How can PDV be so one sided.
    How can you face one of the youngest attacking teams with a cropped team

Smit – 5 years over his sell by date.
    Habs – out of form carrying injuries
    JPP – fighting to be fit
    Matfield – just back from injury
    FDP – Chasing his former self, and nowhere near what he should be for International player

Then we lose Frans Steyn biggest upset then he put Bismark on the bentch when we need him up front to fight for the ball. Cant see us leading the first half and he will bring on the reserves when we are chasing..

Good thinking PDV please let us get out of there soon fire him and appoing someone that has common sense at least . Even if Pdv knew nothing about rugby even a 12 year old could see that we need to play BDP and James at flyhalf between James and Lambie can kick

• 458.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Oh if only Smith wasn’t injured. No way would that mother b-itch Spies still be in the starting team. Imagine Smith, Burger and Brussow. I suppose we’ll be treated to that trio next year, along with an actual real life coach.

• 459.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Personally, I still would have risked a 5-2 split. Unlucky for beast,lucky for butch. I fancy the coaching staff are not 100% on jean devilliers’s injury. Which in my opinion might not be a bad thing having butch slot in, suspect defence but excellent value having another kicking option.

The ozzies haven’t looked to flash on slower pitches this year, I fancy our chances.

good call having smit starting, bismark has added plenty playing off the bench. And Alberts covering lock could make our pack a whole lot more dynamic going into the final 20 minutes.

• 460.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Do not underestimate the wobbly lineout, they have even more options than us, I fancy spies to play the full 80.

• 461.rabooby: Reply to this comment

I think this would be great team, only if James kicking was at 80%

Lambie
    JPP
    JDJ
    JF
    Hougi
    James
    FDP
    Burger
    Flo
    Brussow
    Russow
    Matfield
    GS
    BDP
    JDP

Bentch
    Smit – to watch not come on only if injury
    Alberts – Cover Burger or 7
    JDV
    Aplon
    Pienaar

Think Brussow and flo will take out Pocock…

• 462.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Very good team. Barring Bakkies, Juan Smith & F Steyn this is our strongest 22 we could possibly put out!! Every player in this 22 deserves to be there, brilliant selection! Good luck to the Bokke i just hope we make a good account of ourselves.
    Aplon is a very clever selectino the Ozzies have always battled with our smaller players like Russel, Paulse & Aplon!!!

• 463.race of tan: Reply to this comment

rabooby – If Spies goes bye bye again he will be replaced by Flo!!

• 464.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@JC, writing from a position that is judgemental makes for bad reading.

• 465.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

2,793 secs left !

• 466.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Wallabies spirits will be lifted dramatically by absence of

BaXXies !

Danie Donkey Thong Roussow just doest cut the Mongrel Mustard.

• 467.madvillain: Reply to this comment

South Africa vs Australia

50-50 call
    In reality it is a 51-49 call to Australia but as a South African i hope we can pull something off.
    Australia is the antidote to the South African way of playing rugby. They are smart athletes. i expect the Springboks win though.
    Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen or Jacque Fourie should score. We have enough strike runners who have hit form at the right time.
    The game will be close
    And the Bok winning score will be 21 – 16

England vs France

France can deliver their usual unpredictable rugby magic but England tends to do very well in world cups.
    England will have to deal with a resurgent French side which will have Vincent Clerc threatening the English tryline.
    I expect Wilkinson to recover and
    England to to win 22 – 18

Argentina vs New Zealand

Not much in this game
    New Zealand will win by 25 points
    35 – 10

Wales vs Ireland

Another 50-50 call
    I think Ireland’s experience and hunger will be the difference.
    They will be miserly in defence.
    Ronan O’Gara is the second highest scorer behind Morne Steyn to have made the quarter finals. He too is hitting form at the right time.
    Sexton has not proved to be much of a difference
    Ireland to win by 22 – 19

Those are my predictions

• 468.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Whatever anyone is predicting. This weekend promises a rugby lovers dream. The match ups are just too juicy for words. I wish one could will the clock to tick faster. I anticipate a surprize result somewhere, and have a feeling the French might deliver as they usually do for one big upset. I just cannot fathom them losing three on the bounce.

• 469.cane: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-468:

“Rugby Lovers Dream…”

So true.

But in the case of the Tricolors, the Nightmare will continue.

• 470.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@jocuba(jocuba)-40:
    Unnecessary and very childish.

The team has a head coach whose name is Pieter de Villiers and Rassie is our very well beloved technical advisor. It ends there.

• 471.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: :lol: :lol: :lol: that was just funny, thnx i needed to have a laugh.

• 472.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-469: Cane, I have a feeling about those le Bleu Boys. They are behaving strangely. Training behind close doors. Keeping secrets, and not ranting at the media. They are cooking a mean brew for those English boys. France will not lose three in a row! :lol:

• 473.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Am so glad Captain Fantastic is starting, even with all our injuries i am starting to suddenly feel a bit confident about us beating the the Aussies. Bissie to come on in the second half after we have sucked the energy out of Aus and run amok and hopefully cause mayhem <bAND WE WIN YEEEEEEHAAAAA GO BOKKIESSSSSSSS

• 474.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172:

wow thought he still had a decent win ratio overall

• 475.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-468:

100% agree :) can;t wait :0

• 476.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-360:

Well said

• 477.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Smit has no shame.

• 478.stew: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-472: Also reckon the french will deliver on the weekend – viva la franc

• 479.AVID FAN: Reply to this comment

Dear Pierre,
    If you happen to read this comment, please cash in those cheques that your body is capable of writing on Sunday. You have the acceleration off the back of the scrum or even at the ruck to inflict much pain on any of the Australian backs.
    By doing so, you, yes you Pierre, have the ability to neutralise the Australian backline. If need be, Butchie or Willem can show you how this is done in the captains run.
    Thank you kindly,
    Loyal Bok Supporter.

• 480.Namblack: Reply to this comment

There is no way coaches are going to change their first choice players unless by injury and by now all know who is going to play where and when.

Coaches like Deans and PdV will stick to the same team even if they lose…

….oh sorry but by that time its too late!

• 481.OCO: Reply to this comment

OMG, JdJ must be devistated that PDiV couldn’t somehow get a 3:4 bench split. That way all the ‘Homeboys’ would get another cap.
    Looking at the composition the starting 15 are probably as good as it gets with the players available.
    he will rue not starting James though as someone will have to make the play with JdV around.
    However the bench leaves a lot to be desired with only Alberts, Houghie and Butch the impact players.
    One can see that Smit and Matfield’s input have been trampled in this regard for PDiv’s ego.
    Methinks that PDiv thinks this is the end of the line so he’s handing out caps to his favourites one last time.
    All in all it would have been nice for the Boks to go further but on the bright side this should (with a big query) be the end of the line for PDiV and a number of his favourites.

• 482.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bismark had his big chance to make a statement as the starting hooker…and what happened…he threw like a doos and had the Boks on the back foot with his skeef throwing.

Smit can scrum and throw. Logic dictates.

• 483.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466:

Writing too fast and with emotion farks up your spelling Bleat.

• 484.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-391:

Shampoo speaks with forked tongue and talks **** (nothing unusual there). He (or she) criticised duh Villiers for months but then suddenly had a case of Alzheimers after the Fiji game. duh Villiers was conveniently touted as a genius.

• 485.YoMama: Reply to this comment

How about Smit getting carded for trying to make an intercept.
    How about the countless high tackles and punches that were not cited from the SA Samoa game.
    If the All Blacks lose this world cup, it will be Paddy’s fault. The men in black leotards have never had to fight for an even game, for the past four years (to be exact). They have always been given an easy ride by referees and citing commisioners whenever things get tough. They don’t even know how to deal with adversity.
    Imagine a bizzare senario that whomever the All Blacks face in the semi finals gets a fair referee. (It would have to be a rogish renegade who is willing to commit professional suicide) Both South Africa and Australia will put your boys away.
    Even your press acknowledges the preferential treatment that your boys get:
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/our-experts/4008427/Cards-stacked-in-All-Blacks-favour
    O’Brien who is trying to arrange the cup for your boys can’t even take the truth:
    http://www.3news.co.nz/Dwyers-bias-comments-upset-Paddy-OBrien/tabid/415/articleID/169226/Default.aspx
    The best things that could ever happen to the All Blacks would be for someone to show Paddy the door and for the team to treated the same way as the other teams have been. This will develop the mental toughness that is always lacking in New Zealanders and might even empower them to win a World Cup.

• 486.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-485:

BRILLIANT POST.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.