PdV sticks with Smitty

John Smit has been reinstated as the starting hooker and captain for Sunday’s World Cup quarter-final against the Wallabies.

De Villiers started Bismarck du Plessis in the last pool match against Samoa, and it was rumoured that he would continue to play a bigger role in the knockout matches. But with Thursday’s team announcement, De Villiers stuck to the original script, favouring the man he made a promise to in 2008. Smit will start ahead of Du Plessis because De Villiers believes that the former is an indispensable leader.

Du Plessis has been named on the bench, but the Boks could certainly use his particular skill set in a game of this nature. More mobile and aggressive than Smit, he also possesses a strong breakdown game and is known to make the odd steal off the deck. Against the Wallabies, you’d want players of this ilk on the park from minute one.

It is also false to claim that the Boks don’t have the leadership outside of Smit to see them through a knockout match. Victor Matfield has captained the Bulls to three Super Rugby titles over the last four years, and has led the Boks admirably when Smit has been unavailable.

Matfield will play alongside Danie Rossouw in this match, as regular second row partner Bakkies Botha is unlikely to recover from injury. Beast Mtawarira is left out of the match 22, with Gurthro Steenkamp starting at loosehead prop. Other changes to the side that fronted Samoa see Jean de Villiers replacing the injured Frans Steyn at inside centre.

The Bok coach has also reverted to a traditional four-three split on the bench. There is still no sign of Johann Muller, and Willem Alberts will cover lock once again.

Francois Hougaard will cover several backline positions, and Butch James will give the team an alternative flyhalf option if Morne Steyn and the Boks’ one dimensional game plan doesn’t come off. Like the benching of Du Plessis, it’s a selection the coach will soon regret, as James’s skills are tailor made for this type of opposition.

The Boks have spoken about playing a forward-oriented game, but someone like Gio Aplon will lend them attacking impetus in the final quarter. Aplon has been used sparingly in this tournament, but will provide the Boks’ with a lively running option against what should be a tiring Aussie defence.

Again, the team may have been better served if Aplon was selected to start rather than ride the bench. Like Du Plessis and James, he has the ability to influence the outcome of a match and ideally these sort of players should be playing a greater role rather than a bit part in a do-or-die fixture.

Springboks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Heinrich Brüssow, 5. Victor Matfield, 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (c), 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. CJ van der Linde, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Francois Louw, 20. Francois Hougaard, 21. Butch James, 22. Gio Aplon.

486 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68:

You taking the p isss right?

• 452.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-354: and you should be in the kids play pen where kids belong

you have some serious growing up to do, then again it’s impossible with only half a brain i guess,

• 453.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

Butch shouldn’t be in the match 22 – De Jongh should be. And Beast should be there instead of Aplon.

• 454.stew: Reply to this comment

Gone with the old tested midfield – i suppose this is knock out phase but i would of gone with De Jongh , imo adds more attacking flair – but then again if SA are planning to play percentage rugby and back there defence , might be the right option ?

• 455.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-450:
    So if you kick Smit to touch, which winner would you like to peg the captains tag to?

• 456.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-83: Puma, even Tiery Le Croix said that SA have nothing behind that pack. He lamented the loss of Frans Steyn, saying he was the creative spark, and that without him, that backline have no brains. :lol:

• 457.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Bye Bye SA sorry to say. How can PDV be so one sided.
    How can you face one of the youngest attacking teams with a cropped team

Smit – 5 years over his sell by date.
    Habs – out of form carrying injuries
    JPP – fighting to be fit
    Matfield – just back from injury
    FDP – Chasing his former self, and nowhere near what he should be for International player

Then we lose Frans Steyn biggest upset then he put Bismark on the bentch when we need him up front to fight for the ball. Cant see us leading the first half and he will bring on the reserves when we are chasing..

Good thinking PDV please let us get out of there soon fire him and appoing someone that has common sense at least . Even if Pdv knew nothing about rugby even a 12 year old could see that we need to play BDP and James at flyhalf between James and Lambie can kick

• 458.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Oh if only Smith wasn’t injured. No way would that mother b-itch Spies still be in the starting team. Imagine Smith, Burger and Brussow. I suppose we’ll be treated to that trio next year, along with an actual real life coach.

• 459.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Personally, I still would have risked a 5-2 split. Unlucky for beast,lucky for butch. I fancy the coaching staff are not 100% on jean devilliers’s injury. Which in my opinion might not be a bad thing having butch slot in, suspect defence but excellent value having another kicking option.

The ozzies haven’t looked to flash on slower pitches this year, I fancy our chances.

good call having smit starting, bismark has added plenty playing off the bench. And Alberts covering lock could make our pack a whole lot more dynamic going into the final 20 minutes.

• 460.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Do not underestimate the wobbly lineout, they have even more options than us, I fancy spies to play the full 80.

• 461.rabooby: Reply to this comment

I think this would be great team, only if James kicking was at 80%

Lambie
    JPP
    JDJ
    JF
    Hougi
    James
    FDP
    Burger
    Flo
    Brussow
    Russow
    Matfield
    GS
    BDP
    JDP

Bentch
    Smit – to watch not come on only if injury
    Alberts – Cover Burger or 7
    JDV
    Aplon
    Pienaar

Think Brussow and flo will take out Pocock…

• 462.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Very good team. Barring Bakkies, Juan Smith & F Steyn this is our strongest 22 we could possibly put out!! Every player in this 22 deserves to be there, brilliant selection! Good luck to the Bokke i just hope we make a good account of ourselves.
    Aplon is a very clever selectino the Ozzies have always battled with our smaller players like Russel, Paulse & Aplon!!!

• 463.race of tan: Reply to this comment

rabooby – If Spies goes bye bye again he will be replaced by Flo!!

• 464.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@JC, writing from a position that is judgemental makes for bad reading.

• 465.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

2,793 secs left !

• 466.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Wallabies spirits will be lifted dramatically by absence of

BaXXies !

Danie Donkey Thong Roussow just doest cut the Mongrel Mustard.

• 467.madvillain: Reply to this comment

South Africa vs Australia

50-50 call
    In reality it is a 51-49 call to Australia but as a South African i hope we can pull something off.
    Australia is the antidote to the South African way of playing rugby. They are smart athletes. i expect the Springboks win though.
    Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen or Jacque Fourie should score. We have enough strike runners who have hit form at the right time.
    The game will be close
    And the Bok winning score will be 21 – 16

England vs France

France can deliver their usual unpredictable rugby magic but England tends to do very well in world cups.
    England will have to deal with a resurgent French side which will have Vincent Clerc threatening the English tryline.
    I expect Wilkinson to recover and
    England to to win 22 – 18

Argentina vs New Zealand

Not much in this game
    New Zealand will win by 25 points
    35 – 10

Wales vs Ireland

Another 50-50 call
    I think Ireland’s experience and hunger will be the difference.
    They will be miserly in defence.
    Ronan O’Gara is the second highest scorer behind Morne Steyn to have made the quarter finals. He too is hitting form at the right time.
    Sexton has not proved to be much of a difference
    Ireland to win by 22 – 19

Those are my predictions

• 468.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Whatever anyone is predicting. This weekend promises a rugby lovers dream. The match ups are just too juicy for words. I wish one could will the clock to tick faster. I anticipate a surprize result somewhere, and have a feeling the French might deliver as they usually do for one big upset. I just cannot fathom them losing three on the bounce.

• 469.cane: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-468:

“Rugby Lovers Dream…”

So true.

But in the case of the Tricolors, the Nightmare will continue.

• 470.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@jocuba(jocuba)-40:
    Unnecessary and very childish.

The team has a head coach whose name is Pieter de Villiers and Rassie is our very well beloved technical advisor. It ends there.

• 471.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-62: :lol: :lol: :lol: that was just funny, thnx i needed to have a laugh.

• 472.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-469: Cane, I have a feeling about those le Bleu Boys. They are behaving strangely. Training behind close doors. Keeping secrets, and not ranting at the media. They are cooking a mean brew for those English boys. France will not lose three in a row! :lol:

• 473.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Am so glad Captain Fantastic is starting, even with all our injuries i am starting to suddenly feel a bit confident about us beating the the Aussies. Bissie to come on in the second half after we have sucked the energy out of Aus and run amok and hopefully cause mayhem <bAND WE WIN YEEEEEEHAAAAA GO BOKKIESSSSSSSS

• 474.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172:

wow thought he still had a decent win ratio overall

• 475.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-468:

100% agree :) can;t wait :0

• 476.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@TahRoo(TahRoo)-360:

Well said

• 477.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Smit has no shame.

• 478.stew: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-472: Also reckon the french will deliver on the weekend – viva la franc

• 479.AVID FAN: Reply to this comment

Dear Pierre,
    If you happen to read this comment, please cash in those cheques that your body is capable of writing on Sunday. You have the acceleration off the back of the scrum or even at the ruck to inflict much pain on any of the Australian backs.
    By doing so, you, yes you Pierre, have the ability to neutralise the Australian backline. If need be, Butchie or Willem can show you how this is done in the captains run.
    Thank you kindly,
    Loyal Bok Supporter.

• 480.Namblack: Reply to this comment

There is no way coaches are going to change their first choice players unless by injury and by now all know who is going to play where and when.

Coaches like Deans and PdV will stick to the same team even if they lose…

….oh sorry but by that time its too late!

• 481.OCO: Reply to this comment

OMG, JdJ must be devistated that PDiV couldn’t somehow get a 3:4 bench split. That way all the ‘Homeboys’ would get another cap.
    Looking at the composition the starting 15 are probably as good as it gets with the players available.
    he will rue not starting James though as someone will have to make the play with JdV around.
    However the bench leaves a lot to be desired with only Alberts, Houghie and Butch the impact players.
    One can see that Smit and Matfield’s input have been trampled in this regard for PDiv’s ego.
    Methinks that PDiv thinks this is the end of the line so he’s handing out caps to his favourites one last time.
    All in all it would have been nice for the Boks to go further but on the bright side this should (with a big query) be the end of the line for PDiV and a number of his favourites.

• 482.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bismark had his big chance to make a statement as the starting hooker…and what happened…he threw like a doos and had the Boks on the back foot with his skeef throwing.

Smit can scrum and throw. Logic dictates.

• 483.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-466:

Writing too fast and with emotion farks up your spelling Bleat.

• 484.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-391:

Shampoo speaks with forked tongue and talks **** (nothing unusual there). He (or she) criticised duh Villiers for months but then suddenly had a case of Alzheimers after the Fiji game. duh Villiers was conveniently touted as a genius.

• 485.YoMama: Reply to this comment

How about Smit getting carded for trying to make an intercept.
    How about the countless high tackles and punches that were not cited from the SA Samoa game.
    If the All Blacks lose this world cup, it will be Paddy’s fault. The men in black leotards have never had to fight for an even game, for the past four years (to be exact). They have always been given an easy ride by referees and citing commisioners whenever things get tough. They don’t even know how to deal with adversity.
    Imagine a bizzare senario that whomever the All Blacks face in the semi finals gets a fair referee. (It would have to be a rogish renegade who is willing to commit professional suicide) Both South Africa and Australia will put your boys away.
    Even your press acknowledges the preferential treatment that your boys get:
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/our-experts/4008427/Cards-stacked-in-All-Blacks-favour
    O’Brien who is trying to arrange the cup for your boys can’t even take the truth:
    http://www.3news.co.nz/Dwyers-bias-comments-upset-Paddy-OBrien/tabid/415/articleID/169226/Default.aspx
    The best things that could ever happen to the All Blacks would be for someone to show Paddy the door and for the team to treated the same way as the other teams have been. This will develop the mental toughness that is always lacking in New Zealanders and might even empower them to win a World Cup.

• 486.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-485:

BRILLIANT POST.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.