PdV sticks with Smitty

John Smit has been reinstated as the starting hooker and captain for Sunday’s World Cup quarter-final against the Wallabies.

De Villiers started Bismarck du Plessis in the last pool match against Samoa, and it was rumoured that he would continue to play a bigger role in the knockout matches. But with Thursday’s team announcement, De Villiers stuck to the original script, favouring the man he made a promise to in 2008. Smit will start ahead of Du Plessis because De Villiers believes that the former is an indispensable leader.

Du Plessis has been named on the bench, but the Boks could certainly use his particular skill set in a game of this nature. More mobile and aggressive than Smit, he also possesses a strong breakdown game and is known to make the odd steal off the deck. Against the Wallabies, you’d want players of this ilk on the park from minute one.

It is also false to claim that the Boks don’t have the leadership outside of Smit to see them through a knockout match. Victor Matfield has captained the Bulls to three Super Rugby titles over the last four years, and has led the Boks admirably when Smit has been unavailable.

Matfield will play alongside Danie Rossouw in this match, as regular second row partner Bakkies Botha is unlikely to recover from injury. Beast Mtawarira is left out of the match 22, with Gurthro Steenkamp starting at loosehead prop. Other changes to the side that fronted Samoa see Jean de Villiers replacing the injured Frans Steyn at inside centre.

The Bok coach has also reverted to a traditional four-three split on the bench. There is still no sign of Johann Muller, and Willem Alberts will cover lock once again.

Francois Hougaard will cover several backline positions, and Butch James will give the team an alternative flyhalf option if Morne Steyn and the Boks’ one dimensional game plan doesn’t come off. Like the benching of Du Plessis, it’s a selection the coach will soon regret, as James’s skills are tailor made for this type of opposition.

The Boks have spoken about playing a forward-oriented game, but someone like Gio Aplon will lend them attacking impetus in the final quarter. Aplon has been used sparingly in this tournament, but will provide the Boks’ with a lively running option against what should be a tiring Aussie defence.

Again, the team may have been better served if Aplon was selected to start rather than ride the bench. Like Du Plessis and James, he has the ability to influence the outcome of a match and ideally these sort of players should be playing a greater role rather than a bit part in a do-or-die fixture.

Springboks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Heinrich Brüssow, 5. Victor Matfield, 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (c), 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. CJ van der Linde, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Francois Louw, 20. Francois Hougaard, 21. Butch James, 22. Gio Aplon.

486 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 101.JL1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-93: :lol:

• 102.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-94: But Butch is not a big 12. far from it. He’s slow and tackles poorly. Everything that de Jongh is not.

• 103.cab: Reply to this comment

Bismarck, Alberts, Hougaard not starting.

Bakkies and Beast not even picked.

Frans Steyn, Juan Smith and Andries Bekker injured.

Its too much, sorry but i’m expecting the worst here, its horrific.

• 104.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-87:
    Mac Dawn, did Transie send you any non dodgy music suggestions?

• 105.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Sad that Bakkies misses out again but Danie has not let the Boks down in this WC. He’s played decent rugby all the way through but now it’s time for a step-up to mix it with big boys. Long may it continue.
    Good to see Alberts on the bench – but covering lock and not 8. Should be given a run at 8 but not to be.
    And that other sick note, Johan Muller, has missed the whole tournament, just like he missed the 3N. He’s obviously there are on tourist visa to take in the sights. What a waste of a place in the squad.
    And I seriously hope Bissie gets on at half time. Before it’s too late.

• 106.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-99: Even a below par Smit is too much for the Wobbly front row to handle.

• 107.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-99: why?

• 108.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-79:

Smit for Beast AND BISMARK.. there you have the recipe of ABSOLUTE MALHEID

… This is what sentimental glorified hero worshiping will do for you.. it will blind you to make the dumbest calls due to a pact made with a captain that has become BIGGER than the GAME and BIGGER than HIS team…

This is how you sell ALL credibility down the river.. tie yourself to someone who you simply CANNOT ditch…

• 109.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-103: Pull yerself t’gether, ferfuksakes.

• 110.cab: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-95:
    Aplon’s fine, but they’ve made so many mistakes here, lambie can cover the placekicking futies, they should have gone 5/2, where are bakkies and beast, its horrific, i’m actually too fkn depressed to get into this and the game aint even started..

• 111.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-83: In some ways I hope let him try any of his Richie McCaw nonsense with Schalk or Ratel and then he will get hows your father and uncle at the same time… But the guys will have to keep discipline like they did against Samoa.

They also need to figuratively strangle Genia and Cooper like Ireland did and then we will beat them.

• 112.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Bakkies omission is quite strange. His has confirmed his fitness for this game and then doesn’t get selected… not even on the bench. I smell a rat.
    Whatever happened the camp will be unsettled especially with the seniors in the squad dominated by Bulls players.

• 113.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-79: Cabbie,

I think if we never had injuries or rather slight injuries to both our wings. Then probably only Aplon and Hougaard would be on the bench with Beast there. Both Habs and JPP carrying injuries. They will be both replaced at some stage. So the need for Aplon and Hougaard. Also need cover for fh and inside centre with Butch. But I feel for Beast. He adds so much when he comes on. Not nice to see him dropped.

• 114.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-96: You chaps may have a point here.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-108:
    janee, i should support them, but this is a fkn disaster waiting too happen.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-109:
    lol, can’t, this is horrific, sure as **** hope the wee maestro knows whats cutting and has a masterplan that noone else can fathom, cos i aint got the foggiest.

• 116.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-112: I also find it a bit suspicious. He’s been the go-to rent-a-quote the past three days on their preparedness for this game, and now he’s not there.

• 117.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’m pretty sure CJ (marshmallow) will cover 1 and 3.

Smit is just a hooker these days.

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-113: Meant only Hougaard with Butch on the bench, that would have then had Beast there.

We covering for our players that are carrying small injuries. Beast took the fall for his team. Not sure if it was the right move. Feel for him.

• 119.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-106:
    Sort of hard to hold…. Grappling with Smitty in his lycra must be like wrestling with a bag of mercury!!

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-117: Exactly. John will be a straight swap for Bissie.

• 121.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I guess this means Gurthro will play for the full 80. Cause surely they won’t make the mistake of moving Smit to prop again.

• 122.carol: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-107:
    ;-)

• 123.RL: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-105: I prefer an injured Muller to that coward Hargreaves any day of the week, it’s true. How the coward ever got called up to play for the Boks and got himself on the standby list is a mystery – luckily Plum has seen the light and axed the coward from his match 22.

The best 5 locks around is Kruger and F. vd Merwe, why they were not called up to play for the Boks is an injustice to them.

• 124.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-115: It’s only the Wobblies. We’re saving some ammo for the hosts. Fear not, it all came to the katman in a shiraz infused dream last night.

• 125.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-114: With JdJ that is. Only that though.

• 126.mako: Reply to this comment

This side is too good for the Wobblies. Shame for the Beast, but that is simply where injuries have left us. When the replacements come on the intensity will lift even more and the wobblies will crumble. Boks to win by around 7 points.

• 127.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-120:
    No offence Puma, it is fun to tease you saffas about old Smittie ….

I know my great chum G10 is infuriated with him, I did however think he was a great leader 4 years ago!

Perhaps not shining now!

• 128.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-121: A question mark. Either that or they plan to replace him with CJ.

But you never know… They could actually go the CJ at LH and Smit at TH doomsday scenario.

Then we will be finished.

But I reckon Rassie will not allow that.

• 129.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-124:
    It is Chardonay that gives me nightmares.

I now refuse to drink it, work of the devil!

• 130.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-119: Actually, those tight jerseys are a bit like those “shaping” undergarments for ladies that they sell on the morning shopping channel. Holds everything firm and together like a bodybuilder’s buttock. But the minute you slip out of it, it’s muffintop-manboob city again.

• 131.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-124:
    fk hope u right, thats the only positivity we have to go on, other than keo calling for a wallabie win by 8+, and u know 9 times out of 10 he gets it wrong.

• 132.carol: Reply to this comment

Might pop to Facebook and see what pearls of wisdon Percy Montgomery has added about his time in N.Z!!

Priceless.. ;-)

• 133.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-129: Stick to one bottle and you should be fine.

• 134.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-111: He sure would. But we have to keep the discipline. He will try to distract us for sure, we won’t fall for it.

Just play him out the game like Ireland did. Gert Smal is smart. Worked em Aussies out…hehe. Though they did have some of their top players out.

I really hope we beat them. They don’t deserve to get any further for messing up such a great draw. Bugger them we must go out there to win this thing. Do as our sports minister said. Go to NZ and FIGHT FOR YOUR COUNTRY. Heck he was damn funny that Minister.

They have to send in our Sports Minister before the game. He will get the team’s adrenaline going…………hahahaha. Man that oke is bloody funny. Says the right words though to work the team up for battle. They just need to look at their cell phones. They all took photos of the send of of Sandton. That should get them up for this game.

• 135.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

One thing about Gurthro is he is injury prone. Big call to leave Beast out completely.

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am waiting carol

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-112: @>^..^< katman(katman)-116: pdv’s just said now on the blitz channel that bakkies re-injured himself coming down from the 1st lineout they did yesterday evening it wasn’t good telling him that his tournament is over.

• 138.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Bakkies got injured in the first line-out drill at training. Same old achilles. Could have played his last game for the Boks.

• 139.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-131: If keo calls if for the Wobblies, you can head straight for the bookies and put three salaries on the Boks and not even feel bad about not telling the wife and kids.

• 140.mako: Reply to this comment

It will be like a home game for us, all the Bok supporters in Aus and NZ will be there shouting for the Bokke, even the Kiwi’s should support the Bokke as they hate Quade Cooper so much. The Aussies all bought their QF tickets ages ago, but for the wrong game… They will be watching Ireland Wales on Saturday he he he.

• 141.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-130:
    Now the ladies ‘shaping garmernts’ you refer to….
    Can I ask, as it is just you and I…..?
    Picture the scene, shapely lady at cool party, you click and pull….

Just how much of a shock is it to find she is held together in a sort of lycra condom?

• 142.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-49:

This thats harsh. Viljoen and Straulki and Maakgraaf were far worse.

Pdiv has had some huge wins and has done most thing right in my opinion.

I’d still start with Smit. Bissie is a better option fresh when the rest are tiring. Smit scrums, throws in and does teh basics well. He’ll tired them out, calm the team, and let Bissie loose later on.

There has been a lot of continuety in our rugby for 8 years and that has helped us gain the worlds respect once more after the laughing stock of 2003.

Smit will be gone after this tournement and then you can all whine about something else. Because a serious mess is arriving unless we choose wisely our next coach. I do think JW and Pdiv have set a good blueprint for coaches to follow which hopefully will result in the next coach following the idea of belieivng in the players ability.

Form is temperary, talent is permanent. Chopping and changing the team with every good game a player has or doesn;t have will destroy the Boks like Harry Viljoen did.

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-127: He is still a great leader.

You listening to your chum too much hey? .. No offence…heheh. :wink:

• 144.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Tacitus is correct it is a safety first selection.. and the potential game breaking option was to play either Beast or De Jongh off bench

Carrying too many passengers

Smit, Spies, FdP AND Butch.. thats a whole lotta passengers for ONE team to carry when in a WC you cannot carry ANY..

Some hail hero worshiping dunces talking about treason because John Smit is NOWHERE near to being the saint for all seasons they still think he is shows what a pathetic bunch of hail hero idiot worshipers we have here professing to be rugby pundits… Poor imbecilic dears…

Yeaj Mako you dumb dunce.. am referring to schmucks like YOU !

• 145.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-139:

• 146.allamapstieks: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-100: Only twice has the Lions beaten us hardly an achievement of note for a Bok captain. And during the last Lions tour were comfortably in the lead until Smit was moved to prop, and we almost lost.

• 147.carol: Reply to this comment

As we are discussing the ‘Wobblies’ !!

• 148.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

So, now Snorre expects Butch to single handedly beat the Aussies in the final 20 because he sticks with a one dimensional flyhalf who can only operate with pack going forward. This pack ain’t going nowhere after 30 minutes mate.

• 149.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-141: Well, it’s not ideal. But unless you’re a tanned, chiseled adonis yourself, the best you can do is to applaud her effort and stick on the Barry White.

• 150.carol: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-136:
    I may have to send you some N.H suggestions…!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.