PdV sticks with Smitty

John Smit has been reinstated as the starting hooker and captain for Sunday’s World Cup quarter-final against the Wallabies.

De Villiers started Bismarck du Plessis in the last pool match against Samoa, and it was rumoured that he would continue to play a bigger role in the knockout matches. But with Thursday’s team announcement, De Villiers stuck to the original script, favouring the man he made a promise to in 2008. Smit will start ahead of Du Plessis because De Villiers believes that the former is an indispensable leader.

Du Plessis has been named on the bench, but the Boks could certainly use his particular skill set in a game of this nature. More mobile and aggressive than Smit, he also possesses a strong breakdown game and is known to make the odd steal off the deck. Against the Wallabies, you’d want players of this ilk on the park from minute one.

It is also false to claim that the Boks don’t have the leadership outside of Smit to see them through a knockout match. Victor Matfield has captained the Bulls to three Super Rugby titles over the last four years, and has led the Boks admirably when Smit has been unavailable.

Matfield will play alongside Danie Rossouw in this match, as regular second row partner Bakkies Botha is unlikely to recover from injury. Beast Mtawarira is left out of the match 22, with Gurthro Steenkamp starting at loosehead prop. Other changes to the side that fronted Samoa see Jean de Villiers replacing the injured Frans Steyn at inside centre.

The Bok coach has also reverted to a traditional four-three split on the bench. There is still no sign of Johann Muller, and Willem Alberts will cover lock once again.

Francois Hougaard will cover several backline positions, and Butch James will give the team an alternative flyhalf option if Morne Steyn and the Boks’ one dimensional game plan doesn’t come off. Like the benching of Du Plessis, it’s a selection the coach will soon regret, as James’s skills are tailor made for this type of opposition.

The Boks have spoken about playing a forward-oriented game, but someone like Gio Aplon will lend them attacking impetus in the final quarter. Aplon has been used sparingly in this tournament, but will provide the Boks’ with a lively running option against what should be a tiring Aussie defence.

Again, the team may have been better served if Aplon was selected to start rather than ride the bench. Like Du Plessis and James, he has the ability to influence the outcome of a match and ideally these sort of players should be playing a greater role rather than a bit part in a do-or-die fixture.

Springboks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Heinrich Brüssow, 5. Victor Matfield, 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (c), 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. CJ van der Linde, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Francois Louw, 20. Francois Hougaard, 21. Butch James, 22. Gio Aplon.

486 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 151.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-140: hehehehe. Yeah they will all be at the Ireland game…. PRICELESS……LOL.

Though doubt the kiwis will support us even if they HATE the Aussies. They fear us more for the semi. They could for this time all dress up in yellow! :shock:

I hope all the saffas there get to the game in huge, huge numbers.

• 152.puff: Reply to this comment

Wouldn’t it be awesome if the Boks not only win and deserve to win, but also that the best Boks on the park happen to be Smit, Spies, Du Preez, Morne Steyn, Habana and De Villiers?

• 153.puff: Reply to this comment

I see prior to the naming of the team, John Mitchell would’ve chosen Bismark at hooker and Hougaard at left wing, with Rossouw at four lock and Alberts and Louw on the bench – even before we knew Bakkies’ achilles acted up again!

• 154.carol: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-149:

Katman…You are a Kool Kat!!

Great response. :lol:

• 155.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-152: Yes that would be awesome.

I would hope that JdV proves me wrong and plays a blinder. Have no problem if he does. Will be the first to say congrats and also to Morne. Though have said well done to Morne for some of the games this wc. Think that had plenty to do with Frans Steyn though. JdV needs to step up now.

• 156.mountaingoat: Reply to this comment

The boks will win…can’t u @ssholes write something positive about our team

• 157.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-134: Yeah, Moer hulle Mbalula. A patriot! :lol:

• 158.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-143:
    So Puma, some honesty

England v France, who will you shout for?

I am prepared for the worst……..

• 159.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-153: Mitchell actually wanted Alberts at 8 and Spies on the bench. Looking at what he said last night. The rest you are correct.

• 160.cab: Reply to this comment

ag nee, what a fk-up.

i just watch now and laugh, got nothing invested in this from here on in, anything good that happens is a suprise cos reckon we got a 30% chance with this team.

• 161.carol: Reply to this comment

@mountaingoat(mountaingoat)-156:
    Get a grip man…

They are journalists, not patriots!!

• 162.mako: Reply to this comment

@144.ashampoopaloo:

I love you too buddy! Seriously, when the WC is over and if SA have won it, will you then change your mind? Perhaps looking back it will all look different?

I don’t profess to be a rugby pundit, I enjoy the game and am an ardent supporter. I also respect the players and support my side through thick and thin.
    Seriously, grab some prozac or something, I would hate for you to have some sort of seizure.

• 163.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-158: England. Don’t like France.

Doubt the way France is playing they will beat England. Though one never knows with the French. They do have one good game and that is it.

Against Ireland and Wales not too bothered. Either could win and it will be fine. Probably Ireland cause they have Gert Smal as their forward coach.

ABs will thrash Arg.

Who are you supporting Boks or Oz?

• 164.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-115:

Look it looks pretty bad.. but deep down in spite of my sentiments that Bismark, Alberts and Hougaard should start ahead of Smit, Spies and FdP I still believe we can win this game…

It depends how they invest in the bench..

I like a good few of the calls here.. I think Aplon and Louw are inspirational decisions and if used appropriately in good timing they can add plenty..

If Smit, Spies, Steenkamp, Roussow, Matfield and FdP can hold parity for 60 minutes we are in with a big chance.. because then the real warriors can come on and do the dingo dance…

But if they DO NOT.. then I cannot see Bismark, Alberts, Aplon and Hougaard saving their wayward arses once again as easily a last time…

• 165.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: :lol:

• 166.puff: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-159:

That’s right, my mistake.
    He reckons Bakkies isn’t up to it any longer.
    He seems to think, given his team selections at the Lions too, that the big four lock of old is an antiquated figure and that the modern game calls for more of a bigger loose forward type at four lock.

• 167.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: I read he has flown out to speak to the team before the game. Hope he reminds them what he said in Sandton………hahahaha.

• 168.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-160:

Ja nee wat, Sunday will in all likelyhood be the last hurrah for the gifted one and his telletubbie leader. Pieter will soon afterwards join a gospel choir in paarl and John will get fatter on the bench at sarries and the next episode of the SA rugby soapie will start with AC/Rassie probably in charge.

• 169.mountaingoat: Reply to this comment

they want the Boks 2 fail…it’s been going like this since b4 the WC. Wonder if they’re going 2 suck divvy’s middle finger when he stepts off the plane with the trophy…or maybe keo’s ‘kamp staalgat’s big toe

• 170.puff: Reply to this comment

I hear the Keo journos punt of Butch loud and clear.
    But, honestly, would anyone go into a playoff game without a kicker of the quality of Morne of Montgomery?

• 171.cab: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-164:
    yes there is also something deepdown but that is patriotism not sense, or else its me poephol acting up, cos by god i cant see this team beating a fullstrength wallabie outfit in australaia, we dont have anyone to give us go-forward…aggennee best i actually go do something else.

• 172.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Mike H(Mike H)-142: Agree with the rest of what you say except for Dipshit. I suspect if you look at the numbers, you will find after this years Tri Nations, a record near to Streaulis in terms of Win/loss ratio.

• 173.puff: Reply to this comment

And, yes, Jamie Roberts caused trouble for Morne’s defence.
    But it gave him a big wake-up and ever since then I have seen Morne being pretty aggressive in the tackle.
    He’s no Butch but there is little wrong with his defence.

• 174.bokke bo: Reply to this comment

How many times do I have to repeat that Snorre is not a coach, has never been a coach and never will be a coach. He hasn’t the foggiest man. Remember him from my westcoast days when he came up for the odd weekend. Like most of you he can talk a little rugger over some frosties, but nuance or finnesse- no man, no. What he does have big time is management skills. If Butch somehow pulls this out of the hat for us, Snorre will be seen as the saviour who recalled him from the cold. the man who could get Smit, Matfield, FdP et al to sing from one sheet.

• 175.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-166: Yes and I think he is spot on. Always enjoy listening to him speak. Good rugby brain there.

Also read a bit that old Mac said. He said that the inside centre should be more of a flank too. He said that Fransie was like a flank come centre.

I thought then of Flo there………….hahahaha. Mentioned it here and was shut down pronto…..hehehe. Just thinking of what Mac said though. He could be right.

• 176.cab: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-168:
    lol, suppose one can only laugh, just hope above hope they can pull a rabbit out their arse, but what with?

• 177.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-167: Bok cheerleader extraordinaire!

• 178.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-160: Aggenee Cab, don’t be like Gwanty

• 179.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-173: Ja, but if Frans was at 12 in that game doubt Roberts would have cause Morne trouble. Once Frans moved to 12 Morne was protected and he also played better. Think if Butch started at 12 might have been better. Then just hope JdV has a blinder. He owes us one.

• 180.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

I am sure most kiwis will be hoping the boks win. While you are tougher opposition, we know what we will get with you, whereas we can bully the sneakies up front, smash their scrum, yet the sneakies thru some act of trickery could still come out ahead on the scoreboard.

Also – we would rather have the Aussies out of the tournament than you. Having to pit up with your bragging about 3-1 would be a bitter pill, but from the Aussies it is a cyanide capsule for most kiwis!

Most kiwis supported bokke in the last final, for the same reason.

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bokke bo(bokke bo)-174: If “management skills” mean being matey-matey and over familiar with players then maybe so.

• 182.puff: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-159:

And did you hear Mitchell reckon the ABs should put Dagg at flyhalf.
    It’s a bold and inspired suggestion, but also reckless considering it’s the world cup playoffs.
    Would defs go for Weepu instead of Slade though.

• 183.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-105: Danie will not let the team down I totally agree but he also does not have the ability to intimidate and dominate the Aussies like Bakkies at his best could. I just do not think that a Matfield Roussow combination is going to get nearly enough pressure on the Aussie pack to disrupt their possession enough to place their talented backline under enough pressure to take them out of the game. I think only an Aussie choke by Cooper primarily can cost them the game.

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-177: For now he is just that…………..hahahaha. Would be good for the team though.

Also hope the Boks just think of the huge hiding they gave Oz at Ellis Park a few years back. We should just block out the wins they have had over us and just think of that huge win we got over them. Need to get the confidence going.

• 185.cab: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-178:
    the only silverlining is that this is australia, in that their pack is not like the other NH sides or NZ, but even saying that they;ve had our measure time and time again the last couple years.

let me just say good luck to them and i set my alarm for sunday, and then drink meself into coma.

• 186.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Roberts caused everyone trouble, not just Steyn. And the wobblies don’t have a Roberts in their arsenal. The Kiwis do, in Nonu. But the Wobblies have the likes of Barnes, and Steyn can handle him.

• 187.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-176:

Gold watch to the ref or divine intervention perhaps othertwise we are on the plane.

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-173: Roberts is 12, Morne is 10… Hello? Hows about a bit of spotlight where the actual defensive weakness has lain for years – Jean De Villiers… He was Roberts opposite number, no?

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-182: Yes I did and don’t agree there. Weepu would be better. Slade not good hey! Though he might just surprise who knows. Just looking at him at PE then not sure about him at this stage.

• 190.JL1: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-185: Now who would you have had starting

• 191.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Time for the VeggieMite to get toasted.

• 192.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-187: Why you think Oz will beat us Rob?

Their confidence has taken a dip. They should be on the otherside of the draw where there supporters have tickets for.

• 193.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-82: before the WC PdV had a win loss ratio of 56%

better than Jake before the WC in 2007

So your assessments and your assumptions are outright deluded and fckd up … Streauli LOST to England 53-3.. White LOST to Australia 49-0… Streauli NEVER beat NZ away and hardly beat them at home… SAME for that schmuck White…

Mallet ran a good team developed by Carel Dup and subsequently fckd it all up before the WC in 99…

De Villiers has IMPROVED on what White left him with wins vs NZ on EQUAL proportion to losses.. something NONE of his predecessors did EVER.. and with 3 wins AWAY.. White had 2 wins at Home and 7 Losses home and away…

before the WC in 2007 White had an INFERIOR win / loss record to that of PDV before the WC in 2011.. and Streauli was NOWHERE NEAR to his winning ratio EVER..

Your prejudice has not only blinded you eye sight its actually befuddled and fucked up your non reasoning BRAIN..

• 194.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-184: Pooms, I am sure we will beat them, as long as JdV re discovers how to tackle, pass and stay on his feet.

My big worry though is Bryce “Dangerous scrummaging” Lawrence.

• 195.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-187: And if you are wrong, money to charity and 20 posts stating that you are Bok Judas, a Bok Infidel

• 196.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-194: Crouch. Touch. PRRRRRRRT!

• 197.Puma: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-180: Aussies went out the same time as the kiwis did in the last wc.

I for one will support the ABs if Oz go through to the semi. Don’t want them to have 3-1 up on us either. Rather have the ABs win it than them.

Doubt your boys will lose to Oz though. Just can’t see it. Boks might be more of a handful than they will be in the semi for ABs.

• 198.mako: Reply to this comment

Those of you who are already packing away your bok supporters kit, and shaking your heads that it is all over shoulod not be allowed to celebrate when it is all over on Sunday, you should carry the beers for the real supporters. What a pathetic bunch of losers… Just because the coach didn’t pick the side you would have picked it is all doom and gloom. Sorry but you guys are sad sad sad.

If we get knocked out of this tournament before it is over then I for one will support the Kiwi’s 100% as they are the team that really deserve this win IMO and apart from SA they are the side I would like to see win it. But I have a sneaky feeling it is going to be a SA vs Wales final…

• 199.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Btw as pointed out by others, bryce Lawrence hammered the Aussies for their b@llsh1t in the scrums against the Irish.

He also penalized them for their obstruction involved in midfield plays involving genia’s inside ball to quade/Beale.

If he refs them strictly again, you should have the advantage (which you would always expect over the Aussies if the playing field is even).

I don’t think you should worry about a kiwi ref trying to influence the outcome, unless there is some way both aus and SA can be knocked out! We know either of you can knock us out, so we will be kaking ourselves before the semi either way. The supporters that is!

We wants the precioussssss, give it back nasty Bon0

• 200.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

JdV is going to make a lot of you eat dirt. And I will be loving EVERY minute of it :)

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.