PdV sticks with Smitty
6 Oct 2011
John Smit has been reinstated as the starting hooker and captain for Sunday’s World Cup quarter-final against the Wallabies.
De Villiers started Bismarck du Plessis in the last pool match against Samoa, and it was rumoured that he would continue to play a bigger role in the knockout matches. But with Thursday’s team announcement, De Villiers stuck to the original script, favouring the man he made a promise to in 2008. Smit will start ahead of Du Plessis because De Villiers believes that the former is an indispensable leader.
Du Plessis has been named on the bench, but the Boks could certainly use his particular skill set in a game of this nature. More mobile and aggressive than Smit, he also possesses a strong breakdown game and is known to make the odd steal off the deck. Against the Wallabies, you’d want players of this ilk on the park from minute one.
It is also false to claim that the Boks don’t have the leadership outside of Smit to see them through a knockout match. Victor Matfield has captained the Bulls to three Super Rugby titles over the last four years, and has led the Boks admirably when Smit has been unavailable.
Matfield will play alongside Danie Rossouw in this match, as regular second row partner Bakkies Botha is unlikely to recover from injury. Beast Mtawarira is left out of the match 22, with Gurthro Steenkamp starting at loosehead prop. Other changes to the side that fronted Samoa see Jean de Villiers replacing the injured Frans Steyn at inside centre.
The Bok coach has also reverted to a traditional four-three split on the bench. There is still no sign of Johann Muller, and Willem Alberts will cover lock once again.
Francois Hougaard will cover several backline positions, and Butch James will give the team an alternative flyhalf option if Morne Steyn and the Boks’ one dimensional game plan doesn’t come off. Like the benching of Du Plessis, it’s a selection the coach will soon regret, as James’s skills are tailor made for this type of opposition.
The Boks have spoken about playing a forward-oriented game, but someone like Gio Aplon will lend them attacking impetus in the final quarter. Aplon has been used sparingly in this tournament, but will provide the Boks’ with a lively running option against what should be a tiring Aussie defence.
Again, the team may have been better served if Aplon was selected to start rather than ride the bench. Like Du Plessis and James, he has the ability to influence the outcome of a match and ideally these sort of players should be playing a greater role rather than a bit part in a do-or-die fixture.
Springboks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Schalk Burger, 6. Heinrich Brüssow, 5. Victor Matfield, 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (c), 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. CJ van der Linde, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Francois Louw, 20. Francois Hougaard, 21. Butch James, 22. Gio Aplon.

486 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All
5 Oct 2011, 22:21 pm
Rassie started this tag team thing with front rows with Free State against the Bulls… I reckon he is doing it again by tag teaming fetchers with Bissy and Flo on the bench. Attack the other teams strength…. Very crafty Rassie.
5 Oct 2011, 22:21 pm
@carol(carol)-242: Well he done a good job with your training for the last one.
Good that you thinking of doing another one.
5 Oct 2011, 22:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-241: It was so beautiful that post
Brought tears to my eyes
Thanks Tackler, and thanks Tacklers mom
5 Oct 2011, 22:24 pm
@JL1(JL1)-225: Except in Brisbane. You read quite a bit on rugby there. More so than in Sydney.
5 Oct 2011, 22:25 pm
@Puma(Puma)-252:
I must be nuts!!
@JL1(JL1)-253: A pleasure. Whatafarkenknob!
Okay out of here now.
Catch up tomorrow.
GOOD LUCK TO OUR BOKS.
5 Oct 2011, 22:26 pm
@Puma(Puma)-257: Cheers
5 Oct 2011, 22:27 pm
@carol(carol)-255: No you not Carol. Doing something like that is brilliant. Keep it up. Good luck for the next one.
Okay now off to bed. Catch up tomorrow.
@Puma(Puma)-257:
See you at the weekend Pumes, Lekker Slaap.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-258: Cheers buddy.
5 Oct 2011, 22:28 pm
@carol(carol)-260: Carol before I go. Heck you remembered your lessons in afrikaans from gbs? Good on you……hahaha.
Slaap sag.
5 Oct 2011, 22:29 pm
@Puma(Puma)-240:
I like the resilience of the English
“Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way” – Pink Floyd.
And I like Martin Johnson- real old school scary rugger bugger.
Ag man, and lady Di was also ok
Cheers man, lets talk later again.
5 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-254: Yes as I said, Queensland is better
JPP still has to undergo a fitness test
5 Oct 2011, 22:30 pm
@Puma(Puma)-262:
Heheh, he did catch me out a few times……!!
5 Oct 2011, 22:31 pm
@JL1(JL1)-264:
Queenslanders are a bit more ‘rugged’ !!
5 Oct 2011, 22:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-203:
Here this just for you – prior to WC PdV had record of 60.5 %, White = 60.8% near as dammit on par though PdV had far better record against top rank teams like Ab’s and White played many more minnow teams than PdV in first 3 years has.
For First 3 years PdV had 64% record while White had 59% record..
the 2007 WC lifted White from 60% to 66% winning 8 games from Sept – Oct 2007 including closing game vs Wales in Cardiff to end his tenure in 2007
White
2004 – 2006
Played: 37
Wins: 22 - 59.5%
Losses: 14 - 37.8%
Draws: 1 - 2.7%
2004 – 2007 prior to WC
Played: 46
Wins: 28 - 60.87%
Losses: 17 - 36.96%
Draws: 1 - 2.17%
2004 – 2007 incl WC
Played: 54
Wins: 36 - 66.7%
Losses: 17 - 31.5%
Draws: 1 - 1.9%
PDV
2008 – 2010
Played: 39
Wins: 25 - 64.1%
Losses: 14 - 35.9%
Draws: 0 -
2008 – 2011 prior to WC
Played: 43
Wins: 26 - 60.47%
Losses: 17 - 39.53%
Incl WC 2011 to date
Played: 47
Wins: 30 - 63.8%
Losses: 17 - 36.2%
5 Oct 2011, 22:36 pm
@carol(carol)-266: Yes, not that I am into rugged
5 Oct 2011, 22:39 pm
@JL1(JL1)-268:
Ok..’Blokey’ !! lol
5 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm
Spies must lift his game up. And FdP also. He gotta tackle first and foremost.
I’m happy to see Gurthro starting.
5 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm
I must say I’m a little confused and would say that this might catch the Aussies off guard as well … Flo and Alberts could be great subs …
Just hope this works …
5 Oct 2011, 22:43 pm
According to some media outlets it’s a wrap for bakkies how true is this. Just how any minutes did he play this world cup?
Also looks like guild ford is on his way out
SH teams are falling apart
5 Oct 2011, 22:47 pm
It is actually uncanny how PdV and Whites track record almost mirrors identically
If PdV goes on to win next 3 games and a fourth test like White had against Wales as his closing game, his final record will look like this
Played - 51
Wins - 34 = 66.67%
Losses - 17 = 33.33%
Compared to White’s final record which looked like this
Played – 54
Wins - 36 = 66.7%
Losses – 17 = 31.5%
Draws – 1 = 1.9%
5 Oct 2011, 22:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-267: Mmmm, interesting. So Whites record was nearly as bad as Dippy pre World Cup…But not quite as bad despite all those saying he had a worse record than the current clown.
White had Eddy to help him win the WC while Dippy now has Rassie and Nienaber… Some very similar parallels between the two, hey?
5 Oct 2011, 22:52 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-130:
“muffintop-manboob city again.”
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaa
5 Oct 2011, 22:52 pm
I hope not but I fear Eddie Jones will be proved right in his assessment of the boks. No tactical or skills development since 2007, only Father Time….
5 Oct 2011, 22:54 pm
@boktillzero(boktillzero)-272: Agreed, however who else can we bring over? Becker and Mostert are still injured. Flip is a walking injury …
5 Oct 2011, 22:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-241: I support the facts and resent it when others think their opinions are better than the facts. PDivvy is a rugby dullard and a clown, but so too was Jake and Stroily and…etc.
5 Oct 2011, 22:58 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-278: Dippy lost to Scotland, Leicester and Saracens too. As you were, yarpie-sheepshagger or sheepshagger-yarpie… I dunno what you prefer. How’s that for fact?
5 Oct 2011, 22:58 pm
Smit was always going to start and frankly id rather he started than came on in the last 20 minutes. If he is poor he will be replaced sooner rather than later – either way a win win for us. Bismarck scavenging will be a good thing when the Aussies are tired. Bit sad to see Beast not make the team but at the moment Guthro is adding more grunt.
No probs with Matfield and Rossouw starting and Alberts is more than adequate cover. I figure we will see Spies subbed sooner rather than later for Alberts as well. Burger and Brussouw on the sides cant go wrong – i think they have Louw on the bench as extra insurance though it would have been nice to see Brussouw, Louw, Bismarck and Burger and Alberts having a go at stealing ball. I dont think Pocock willl stand a chance if all 5 of those players are on the park at the same time but probably not going to happen. Either way Brussouw has his hands full this game. Nullify Pocock and you take a lot of impetus away from the Aussies.
FDP and Steyn are good choices and I can see James coming on at 12 rather than 10. Surprised both Habana and JP made the squad but if any issues we have Aplon and Houghaard who I would love to see on the field together too. Lambie at the back no prob and possibly will be replaced by Aplon at some stage if JP pulls through with habana being subbed by Houghaard. All in all not a bad team considering Smit was always going to start – Frans Steyn a huge loss and I sincerely hope Jean de Villiers doesnt kill all our attacking potential and defends better than he has been lately. He is responsible for that Samoan try being scored. He was last line of defence and he failed to drive Stowers back or get under the ball. Stowers was already being tackled by 2 guys at the time so he didnt have to do much. Really Jean – get it together mate. A lot depends on you this match.
5 Oct 2011, 22:59 pm
@danuk(danuk)-277:
I’m happy with Alberts and flo it adds more power and the extra fetcher option . Infact having 3 fetchers on ar the same time isnt such a bad thing. The best case scenario is having schalk alberts and dannie as ball carriers with Brussow , Bismark and flo fetching it could turn into a nightmare for the Aussies
5 Oct 2011, 23:00 pm
Decent team,still can take Ozzies
Injuries have diluted the impact of our bench.Notably Bakkies injury & Frans Steyn.Add the niggles of Habs & JP.have had to look at bench differently
But still have enough firepower on bench in:
Bismark,Alberts,Hougaard,Aplon.
CJ,Flo,Butch are insurance-specialist 3/6/10 in case of unexpected injuries.
Tough on Beast,but don’t want to see Smit anywhere near (: prop.In Dbn Boks virtually lost test due to that move.
Would have rather had Juan de Jongh ahead of Butch.
Lambie covers 10 so why do we need Butch?? Really only fault of 22
5 Oct 2011, 23:01 pm
The Big difference in the JW / PdV stats breakdown is if you compare top 5 competitors vs Boks.. PdV will then win hands down.. His record vs AB’s compared to Jake is absolutely like chalk and cheese .. PdV’s record vs Ireland, England, France, NZ, Aussie is better than Jakes all round.
5 Oct 2011, 23:01 pm
Solid team.
See we went for the 4-3 bench split, with CJ covering both 1 and 3. Still a strong bench, and it is clear that PDV wants to target the breakdown with the inclusion of Louw in the 22.
Pity about Bakkies but the correct decision to leave him out if he is not 100% ready.
BOKKE !!!!
5 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
@aylen(aylen)-276: Eddie who?
Eddie who won how many as international coach?Just remind me again? Well ok since you insist, 57% off all his games
Sacked, released of his contract 2 years early
Predicted on Planet rugby that France will take the RwC2011, 18 months ago
5 Oct 2011, 23:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-85: When ifs and buts are candy and nuts it’ll be Christmas all year long, pilgrim.
5 Oct 2011, 23:03 pm
Skopskiet Shampoo
Cab
Gwant10
Robzim
What a bunch on Negative Norahs!
Get behind your team FFS!
5 Oct 2011, 23:05 pm
Time to send Bakkies & wet noodle Muller home.
Fly in Mostert & Jean Deysel…
Would much rather have Deysel in 22 than Flo if we go for a 4-3 split.And he also covers lock
5 Oct 2011, 23:05 pm
@willievz(willievz)-284: He won’t EVER be ready. Hasn’t had a proper game in over a month. Too badly undercooked to come back into the ever-sharpening end of this tournament. Send the softie home.
5 Oct 2011, 23:07 pm
@boktillzero(boktillzero)-281: yes, agree, more of a concern in defense and how long John will last. Remember Genia against JS in TN?
Anyway, hope we can put enough pressure on them for the subs to come on with 20-30 to go
5 Oct 2011, 23:08 pm
What a great, great pity not more of the ” 2007 WC Champs’ seniors ” are not included in this squad, but the blackmail has successfully worked for these neo-racists.
I would have preferred even Bakkies, Ruan Pienaar, Juan Smith, Muller, BJ and any still playing to be in and thus added to the 15 with 2007 connections already there. The more the merrier and the more certain the FALL.
All I know is that the Day of Reckoning is even closer now.
Let me leave you wizards and witches of delusion and deception and confusion to your evil devices for where ignorance blissfully reigns ’tis folly to be wise.
5 Oct 2011, 23:10 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-289: Tackles this might well be a blessing in disguise.
Rossouw is one of the locks of the tournament so far (along with O’Connell) and brings more mobility without compromising that much physicality to the pack.
It also allows PDV the luxury of a 4-3 bench split, and to cover injuries in the key areas of 6 (Louw, who otherwise would be dropped) and 10/12 (Butch).
I would personally still stick with a 5-2 split and leave Aplon out for Beast. Introducing more than 2 backline players in the second half disrupt defensive lines IMO.
5 Oct 2011, 23:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-279: Jake lost to Ireland — first time ever– after bragging that no more than 3 Irishmen could make his Bok team. And he got totally and utterly smoked by a whopping 49-0 by the Wallabies. And embarrassingly nilled 17-0 by NZ right there in South Africa.
Yes, Divvy’s hidings to club sides and to Scotland are utterly shameful, but Jake’s ones equal that. And we’re not even going to go into Staaldraad…
5 Oct 2011, 23:11 pm
@willievz(willievz)-292: He suffers from dropsy when someone passes him the ball.
5 Oct 2011, 23:11 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-294: Who?
5 Oct 2011, 23:13 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-293: Don’t be daft, PDIv got nilled, 18-0 at Newlands
Up your game immediately
5 Oct 2011, 23:13 pm
Frans Louw is the Adam Thompson of South Africa.
Hybrid with no REAL impact vs top class opposition
5 Oct 2011, 23:14 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283: Scotland… Saracens… Leicester… Yeah right. Keep apologising, I for one dont buy it. I am very happy Rassie and especially Nienaber are involved though.
For your interest here’s an interview with Nienaber I unearthed the other day. Dont know if you read it…
WERE you satisfied with the effort against Australia? I was reasonably happy with the performance. We were at 60% of where we want to be. What was the most pleasing aspect? The attitude shown by the scrambling defence that we had to produce. But there are some structural issues we need to address. It’s a continuing process and we have time to work on our shortcomings. What is your background? I’m a physiotherapist and worked with the Cats and the Lions from 1999-2005. I became a conditioning coach and joined Rassie Erasmus at the Cheetahs. Because we were shortstaffed, I took an interest in defence and became the defensive coach. What is your philosophy about defence? It’s simple. Make good decisions and stop momentum. Who are the key decisionmakers on defence? All players have to be good decision–makers in different phases of the game. If one player makes a good decision but the next makes a bad one, we’ll get hurt. Are you completely overhauling the Springbok defensive system, or tweaking it? I’m just working with the system they have used for more than seven years. I’m observing and measuring what they do. All defensive systems are basically the same. For the lay person, what type of defensive system do the Boks employ? We don’t use one system because all the principles of a rush, umbrella or drift defence have to be used at some stage. A rush defence will put emphasis on line speed and a drift defence will emphasise keeping the line. It all comes down to decision making. If we’re numbers down we will drift and if we’re numbers up we might rush. It’s a mixed system. What is the hardest phase to defend against? Line breaks and turnovers are most difficult to defend because it becomes unstructured and relies on individual decisions, which have to be good. Who makes the most tackles? It depends on the attacking style of the opposition. If a team plays wide, the outside backs will make more tackles than the openside flank. If a team attacks the blindside the tight forwards will make the most tackles. If they play a narrow game, the loosies will make the most tackles. Most players say defence is 90% about attitude? Absolutely, because you have to stop momentum and to do that you have to tackle with aggression and willingness. The Stormers had the best defensive record in the past two Super Rugby competitions, but their attacking game has suffered. Is that a result of an overly defence-minded approach? I’d like to think not, because we work as hard on attack as we do on defence. I’ve been at the Stormers for four seasons, while attack coach Robbie Fleck has only had two. He’s still developing our attack and it takes time to get your vision and personality across. Do you take defensive lapses personally? For sure, because if a player misses a tackle perhaps I haven’t prepped him well enough, or I haven’t made sure he is good enough in that situation. — Craig Ray
5 Oct 2011, 23:14 pm
@JL1(JL1)-296: 19-0 not 18
5 Oct 2011, 23:15 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-297: who else though?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All