KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article24 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 15:55 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540: bwahahahahahahahaa
6 Oct 2011, 15:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-537:
I am neither thank you very much!
6 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-541:
That was a hellova a weird chin!!
6 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
“The way things are going right now, in a few year’s time these guys won’t need a coach.”
- after the Springboks’ second consecutive win over the All Blacks at Durban in the 2009 Tri-Nations
The Second Commandment: Mo.hammed Dippy Div Ali
6 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540:
CJ was a rational choice to cover 1 and 3, once a 4/3 split was decided. Of course Smit could also have covered all 3 front row positions on the bench.
6 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540:
ja, but why bring dawn into this?
and why would you want us to shoot you at her?
john smit will win the world cup…does that keep you up at night?
6 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540: Champ, John didnt pick himself as captain, neither did he pick himself at 2 on Sunday.
Be critical of selections yes, but to direct personal vitriol towards a player because he is selected is ridiculous.
6 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
I cant believe Braam is the aussie kicking coach – who do SA have ???
6 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
Guys…
If I said ‘England are my team, but I think France will beat them because they are stronger’
You would take that as a MY OPINION.
Why can’t a South African say ‘I think the Aussies are Stronger’?
Does not mean the Saffa wants the Wobblies to win, it is just an opinion.
The opinion will not make a team loose a match for heavens sake!
6 Oct 2011, 16:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540:
That’s all good.
But what if just by chance the fatboys do get it right and return with the glory,
Where will you be on that day they return home?
And what will you be feeling?
@AVID FAN(AVID FAN)-557: its just part of the hypocrytical oath G10 took
@stew(stew)-558:
A gorgeous World Cup Winning Kicker, thats who!!
6 Oct 2011, 16:02 pm
Now I must do ‘stuff’ !!
Laters…
6 Oct 2011, 16:02 pm
@stew(stew)-558:
percy montgomery you chop!
6 Oct 2011, 16:03 pm
@grant10(grant10)-540: Dont worry grant only one more game then Smit will be gone
6 Oct 2011, 16:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-519:
keo’s boys in NZ ran out of clean laundry and personall hygene products 4 days ago.
In fact the health and safety department in Pongaland has banned them from attending any more games which means they will be listening to the radio in the rv for the rest of the tourney.
they have been forced to film their keo tv slots in service station restrooms which has resulted in a caution for ryan and a hefty fine for keo due to an unfortunate misunderstanding with the local constabulary.
unfortunately their per diem has long been spent on pizzas and dwarf lapdancers.
furthermore they have lost their deposit on the campervan after rehaan destroyed the chemical toilet.
the boys are praying for a loss on sunday.
africa never looked so good.
6 Oct 2011, 16:04 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-549: ja boet….I will rather say f all to you….
6 Oct 2011, 16:04 pm
@carol(carol)-559:
Of course you can say that.
But if you go and say the Boks are k@k!
FATBOYS are k@k!
Div is stupid!
Do you think that’s critical and fair analysis?
6 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@David(David)-555: plod moves to 3 we marched back 10 m like in Durbs and cost us the test ….again.
Biggest con trick ever in SA Rugby….fat boy…bloody disgrace that the planets best 2 has to suck hind t it to the fat boy….simply farken dof!
6 Oct 2011, 16:07 pm
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-556: j smit will lose us the wc
that keeps me up at nite you wally!
6 Oct 2011, 16:08 pm
@AVID FAN(AVID FAN)-557: i am no champ….chump
The disturbing thing about fans like a Grant10 is
They absolutely refuse to get into any sort of rugby debate and civil discussion of selections & tactics
Instead they shoot you down the moment you disagree, degrading your opinion and that of the players he doesn’t like
I’d really love to get into rugby talk with a guy like Grant10
But this post will most probably be dismissed in a blink
@grant10(grant10)-569:
I think you missed the irony in my post.
6 Oct 2011, 16:09 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-560: i will be happy for boks and as a SA frican….but still hate the fact we were saddled with this con job….
6 Oct 2011, 16:10 pm
@grant10(grant10)-569:
There’s a small sign of rugby analysis.
Obviously the coaches know by now they can’t ever move JS to TH vs rated opposition.
So that’s why CJ has been picked on the bench as he covers TH & LH.
Would you agree that’s the right move?
6 Oct 2011, 16:11 pm
@grant10(grant10)-548: Even you must admit, grantie, that your patriotism has never been shakier.
Serious questions are being asked about loyalty and commitment to your country.
Prove those detractors wrong. Get behind the team. All 22 of them. Consider this is your patriotism test.
Grant told us he was supporting namibia?
And that he had thrown his bok jersey away?
surely ireland are the next logical choice?
@grant10(grant10)-574:
It’s a game Grant, when all’s said and done, it’s still just a game.
@grant10(grant10)-567: good. I hate whiners.
6 Oct 2011, 16:12 pm
On a more somber note, has anyone heard an update on Malema in hospital? Those man colds can cut you down in your prime.
grant… i doubt that anyone really thinks you and jr are unpatriotic… and, for what it’s worth, i can and will personally vouch for you both…
i think those comments were made in reaction to some previous comments about people who do support js being blind or fools or apologists etc.. people have opinions that may differ from your but if you label those people for those opinions they’re gonna label you for yours…
i’m sure they don’t mean it any more than you mean yours… or do you…?
@grant10(grant10)-574:
So you wouldn’t be happy with firstly JS as a south african representing our country and him as a player, what if he has a good game would that change your feeling towards him?
And since PDV picked him, would that change your feeling towards him that he maybe was right and showed guts to back his man?
@grant10(grant10)-571: no you’re just a kid who splurs drivel.
6 Oct 2011, 16:13 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-572: You know he has an issue with Smit so leave him alone – shame
6 Oct 2011, 16:13 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-576: Well said.
6 Oct 2011, 16:14 pm
@stew(stew)-565: well I hope another couple more than that….
but fark me I will be glad when this poison leaves the system
6 Oct 2011, 16:14 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-576: so bek kort jam
aint that a fact
6 Oct 2011, 16:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-574:
You are so juvenile.
If Smit came to you for a bond,would you turn him down?
Don’t think so…
6 Oct 2011, 16:15 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-560: questioning team selections DOES NOT translate to NOT SUPPORTING the team.
PdV chose ricky for YEARS but we heard rick was a “warthog” and kfc references were the order of the day, did that mean people didn’t support the Boks just because the coach preferred ricky?
imagine if the coach was playing Chiliboy instead of Bismarck, all sort of “quota” diatribes would be spewed on here by the same people who conviniently say Smit doesn’t pick himself.
people know PdV has decided to pick Smit, it doesn’t mean they can’t voice their displeasure re that selection!
6 Oct 2011, 16:16 pm
@grant10(grant10)-586: only poison here is you and ur crew
watch Smit hold the WC aloft and you will no doubt say it was thanks to everyone but Smit
and if we do happen to lose , only person to blame will be Smit
you have serious issues dude, seek help,
6 Oct 2011, 16:17 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-588:
ja, prove to us you have a player 23 hiding somewhere deep, deep, deeeeep down inside you…dying to get out.
wys vir ons hoeveel van n ‘elton en jan’ is jy nou rerig grant.
is jy die ffokken soul van die spaan?
@Transformation(Transformation)-589:
exactly… sheesh… bok and rugby supporters been doing that since the game was invented…
6 Oct 2011, 16:18 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-580:
I sent him a a fruit basket and a copy of the mail & guardian.
But I’ve heard nothing back.
Whenever I phone the hospital just tells me that “the president is resting”.
Que ?
6 Oct 2011, 16:18 pm
I don’t think you can have your bread buttered on both sides.
Meaning you can’t say you despise certain players the coach and tactics and call them stupid and fatboys but still say you’ll rejoyce should they prevail.
On the one hand you have the ‘I TOLD YOU SO’ card ready to throw in our faces.
But on the other hand you also have an escape clause to celebrate the victory by admitting to CONDITIONAL SUPPORT for your team.
That’s just not cool.
We can criticise and debate till we turn blue but in the end we’ll have to support the coach and his team fully and should they fail only then can we point to things that went wrong which you thought should’ve been done different.
But until that moment they deserve our support and respect for how they’ve gone so far.
6 Oct 2011, 16:20 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-572: young man…..when okes try and convince me of the merits of the worlds best 2 sitting on the bench in order to rescue boks with a 20 or 30 min cameo ….well i get bored at the insanity of it all….there is nothing to discuss….imo. It is simply bloody russian roulette….wales wshould have been our wake up call….but you boys know better…..so lets hope and pray you okes know the story….because where I come from…..you respect your opponents by giving them your best 15 for as long as they are capable…..not the other way around.
sharks dont try plod and jannie dup against aussie teams….because they want speed and best tacklers….but boks do the opposite?
Arrogance …or gross stupifdity…no matter how you want to slice and dice it…
6 Oct 2011, 16:20 pm
I see the irrational, emotional, unhappy ones are still merrily positioning themselves for one big “I told you so”…
If not Smit these drama fuelled characters would find some other scapegoat to pin all their frustrations in life on.
6 Oct 2011, 16:21 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-575: cj on bench makes sense…..
An interesting notice on Bloomberg. If the ABs win the RWC their brand will be worth NZ$100 million. I wonder if Johann Rupert would be interested in buying them?
Bakkies is not finished with the Boks so the Fat Boys Club continues
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 22 » Show All