KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article22 May 2013
Andries Bekker's Stormers career is over - for now. Bekker has been the one highlight in a dismal Stormers season but he hurt his back badly in the loss against the Rebels and is out for between six and eight weeks. He is unlikely to play again before moving to Japan. Bekker is one of several players unavailable for Saturday's showdown with the Reds as the injury list reaches ridiculous proportions. Centre Juan de Jong is also out for a month. Deon Fourie, Scarra Ntubeni, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe are the latest to be ruled out because of injury and they join a lengthy list that ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Andries Bekker’s Stormers career is over – for now. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 … 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 16:49 pm
Anyway who gives a toss which team grantie supports.
there are still plenty to chose from.
he changes his mind along with his facebook status so whichever the lucky team is they wont be for long.
moving on.
Grant’s made it abundantly clear that his “problem” with Smit is a personal one.
We’ve seen for well over a year now a concerted, dedicated stream of personal abuse thrown Smit’s way by Grant. Anyone capable of maintaining such a lengthy and committed hate campaign against the man is not right in the head.
There is no rational debate with him on the subject.
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-642: Not Capo. He has Canine Herpes. And Not ET. He is full of sh_it and I’m squeamish. Not Langers, because I don’t think he has showered since 1983. Other than that, anyone with a bit of rump.
6 Oct 2011, 16:51 pm
Damn JS better have a good game this week I’ve been taking too many tackles on his behalf
But that’s what real supporters do, we don’t hold out for the ‘I told you so’.
We back our team when what they’re doing is working for them, and only once they mess up can we blast them should we feel like doing it, in my opinion.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-653:
LOKL
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-472: I didn’t realise you are the internet police.
6 Oct 2011, 16:52 pm
Where there’s so many ars*holes there must be a lot of rump.
@Transformation(Transformation)-646: Equally unacceptable because those self same people calling RJ “Warthog” were jumping for joy when he scored that try in Dunedin.
ag man.
we’ll roll langers around in the snow a bit.
flash freeze him and kill all the germs.
6 Oct 2011, 16:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-646: hahahahaha!
We are talking about 1 blogger, Grant, who has led a vitriolic personal hate campaign against 1 player, Smit.
Those other terms you refer to could almost be seen as terms of endearment by comparison!
There is NO comparison to the level and dedicated monotony of the use of the terms thrown Smit’s way – our national captain’s way – by a single blogger.
6 Oct 2011, 16:55 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-659: will still taste like d o o s
6 Oct 2011, 16:55 pm
can someone tell me what exactly is kickoff time (sa time) on sunday.
6 Oct 2011, 16:56 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-659: Unless we curry the fcker to hell, I’m not touching him. Not even with an apple in his mouth.
6 Oct 2011, 16:58 pm
@David(David)-657: We could make our very own movie about it. We could call it Dead Blogger’s Sosatie.
6 Oct 2011, 16:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-662: what is kickoff time? Its when the ref blows the whistle to start the game
6 Oct 2011, 16:59 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-665:
okay smartarse….what time?
6 Oct 2011, 17:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-662:
7.00am, I believe.
@trupisero(trupisero)-665:
…or, it’s when the ozzies all run away?
Can anyone tell me what Smit has done since 2009 as captain of the Boks or the Sharks ??
Lost 10/11 3n’s ?? (not sure of exact stats)
Sharks won CC with Terblanche.
So his form as a captain has been piss poor, as a player even worse, if this was say Victor/schalk etc I would hate to see what most of these same bloggers would be saying !!
6 Oct 2011, 17:01 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-642:
thats interesting, but for a different and equally intriguing spin, i wonder who the keolings would most choose to eat first from the springbok team if the plane went down on the way back?
would it in fact be j smit or would it be another player?
@Gunther(gunther)-649:
that would be a very fatty spit, no?
6 Oct 2011, 17:01 pm
@David(David)-667:
holy smokes….don’t even know if I’ll be home from the club by that time?
I’ll definately still be pissed.
6 Oct 2011, 17:03 pm
on the plus side…that mean’s it’s a daylight time game in nz.
I’ve always been more comfortable with the boks playing in daylight and not floodlights.
don’t know why really
6 Oct 2011, 17:04 pm
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-670:
I think Lambie would be young and tender, compared to the other toughies.
Lambie on a spit?
6 Oct 2011, 17:04 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-666: 7h00
6 Oct 2011, 17:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-663:
we’ll smother him in enough of auntie merle’s atchar to turn the Gupta’s insides to liquid.
He’ll taste just like chicken.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-660: plod….lardarse…..
same as THE FAT BOY calling Luke a cancer?
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-672:
Probably because we frequently get caught in the headlights.
6 Oct 2011, 17:08 pm
@grant10(grant10)-676: actually he didn’t nancy boy. If you read his book you would know that the team members referred to him as such.
6 Oct 2011, 17:08 pm
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-670:
superb crackling.
start him on a high heat and crisp that mofo right up.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-664:
double chortle with a side of belly wobble.
6 Oct 2011, 17:09 pm
you farkers better pray the fat boy rises to the occassion ……because if we lose the fat boys reputation will forever be in tatters…he will be villified and despised….he will make Luke sdeem like an angel…..
greed and self glory gents…..a terrible co cktail..
now outta here….
6 Oct 2011, 17:11 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-678: why would i ever read the fat boys book?
Are you farken mad!!?
I read the excerpt, and felt ill for a week!
@grant10(grant10)-676:
please…don’t put a spin on it. In 2006, Twatson went ahead and started calling john smit and white names in sport’s illistrated. Completely ameteur behavior for a player aspiring to get selected as a bok.
john smit…..wrote an autobiography after the fact. Very different.
John Smit will be remembered as a legend, twatson as a twat.
@David(David)-673:
a very good choice from a quality point of view, as he would indeed be a very soft and tender cut.
i must however admit i just wouldn’t have the heart to eat little patrick, he’s just such a nice sweet kid.
also, wouldn’t the keoling’s dislike of certain players influence their decisions on who to eat first?
6 Oct 2011, 17:13 pm
@grant10(grant10)-681:
“why would i ever read the fat boys book?”…..maybe you can’t read?
6 Oct 2011, 17:13 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-682: indeed.
6 Oct 2011, 17:15 pm
@David(David)-673:
if i absolutely had to eat one of the current springboks i think my first choice would be cj.
6 Oct 2011, 17:16 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-660: now conviniently it is NOT about vitriol but about the LENGTH of time of the vitriol, BULLSHIT spooner!
when it suits you, you sit by and cackle at HG calling jean de villiers DONKEY yet want to jump up and be sanctimonious when grant calls smit plod. As soon as it was announced that francois steyn was out HG was talking smack about jdv.
Not once did i ever see you stick up for ricky, WHY?
6 Oct 2011, 17:22 pm
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-683:
You take out the young and smallest first. If you want to take on Bakkies or Danie, you won’t survive long.
6 Oct 2011, 17:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-687:
Easy Trans….
Because he is a hypocritical ***** !!
6 Oct 2011, 17:38 pm
yup this is a fine state of affairs we in, watson was called a cancer, pdv has been called many things – but calling smit plod is a no-no.
that is all ****, i dont give a hairy **** about any of that, the fact of the matter is that smit is starting over the best hooker in the world in Bismarck, and everyone speaks in hushed tones about it out of respek for Smit, what utter bullshit. Even old Keo here posts these cutting articles week after week ripping De Villiers and new one and there’s not a peep from the peanut gallery. Well where’s the glaringly obvious article, the one about why the hell Smit is starting over Bismarck?
You okes all run with the wolves and hunt with the hounds – typical compliant saffas – pick some hard targets for a change.
If the Springbok stands for anything it should stand for rugby excellence, nothing else, being picked as the best rugby player in your position in the country, it is not about having positions reserved for weaker players past their prime and too big to be told that they are.
6 Oct 2011, 17:42 pm
tell you whose book i want to read is bismarck;s, if i was this oke i would be spitting bullets.
6 Oct 2011, 17:43 pm
@grant10(grant10)-676: We keep telling you that John did not call him a cancer, he was relating in his book what the team called him, you know this but still keep distorting that fact, saying something repeatedly does not make it true.
6 Oct 2011, 17:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-687: @justrugby(justrugby)-689: ooooh Gwantie’s crew swings into action.
Answer 1: when F Steyn got injured, I called for JDV to replace him.
Answer 2: I have never personally referred to JDV as “Donkey”.
Answer 3: I have never personally referred to Januarie as “Warthog”
When have YOU ever called up your master for insulting Smit (on a daily basis)?
Answer 4: Never. Shame on you.
6 Oct 2011, 17:53 pm
Now transgender will be off for hours, trawling tjhrough the archives.
6 Oct 2011, 17:56 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-693:
And I have never rfered to JS as anything but JS………what’s your point !!
So tell me, based on Smit ‘s poor form as a captain and a player in the last 2 years what justifies his selection ahead of Bissy, in your opinion?
6 Oct 2011, 18:01 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-695: not even “Plod”?
Must say, I find that very hard to believe…
But hey ho…
Anyway, I have explained it as this:
The extreme benefit of Bismark for 30 mins outweighs the benefit of Bismark for 80 mins and Matfield as captain for 80mins.
The extreme effect of the cohort of super subs – Hougaard, Bismark and Alberts (usually Rossouw too) all coming on at once – is one that can be tangibly felt.
Smit is not bad or useless or any of the other names you call him. He is solid and reliable and brings a calming influence and established line of communication with the ref. But when Bismark comes on against tired legs, boy what a difference he makes!
And that is why I see SOME sense in Pdivvy’s logic.
6 Oct 2011, 18:04 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-693: i never said you. you know who called those players names but sat here like the hypocritical doos you are and said nothing! i’ve checked grant on his post re Plod and he knows my stance.
you on the other hand are a snivelling sanctimonious swine…msunu wakho!
6 Oct 2011, 18:04 pm
Just think about this:
BIL 2009
Bismarks starts first 2 tests, Boks win both and the series.
Bismarck does not start 3rd test, Boks get smashed by 20 points.
3N 2009
Bismark starts in all of the tests, SA win 5 out of 6.
Bismarck does not start EOY test v Ireland, Boks lose
3N 2010
Bismarck does not start any of the tests, SA win 1 out of 6.
Bismark starts in all the EOY tests, SA beat Ireland who they have’nt beaten away in years, and win 3 of 4 tests narrowly missing out on a grandslam.
3N 2011
Bismarck starts in only 1 of the 4 tests vs NZ and OZ, yep its the one SA win.
You know the most fkd up thing is that Smit was already shifted in 2009 to 3 cos everyone knew what an irrepressible force was, and yet here we are 2011 two years later and results which have conclusively proved just how vital bismark is and astruse fk they are not going to start with him. i mean god almighty, what is wrong with these fools?
6 Oct 2011, 18:06 pm
“Smit is not bad or useless or any of the other names you call him. He is solid and reliable and brings a calming influence and established line of communication with the ref. But when Bismark comes on against tired legs, boy what a difference he makes!”
From what i have seen since the start of this season and during the WC I simply don’t agree , in fact we should be starting with Bissy and using Chilli as an impact player, if required !!
That’s just my opinion though !!
6 Oct 2011, 18:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-697: you’re getting all emotional now, just like your master Gwantie.
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 … 22 » Show All