KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
20 Jun 2013
Heinrich Brussow will play in Japan after failing to make an impression on Bok coach Heyneke Meyer. The Volksblad newspaper reported that Brussow will take up a club career in Japan after the Cheetahs complete their Super Rugby commitments. The nature of his Japanese club contract is such that he is not available for national selection, as it is with all the South African players in Japan. He will continue to play Super Rugby for the Cheetahs. Meyer has not rated Brussow since taking charge and the player has been described as a penalty liability and not a good enough all-round player. It ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article20 Jun 2013
Dan Carter is one of five changes to the All Blacks, while the French have made eight changes to the side kept scoreless in Christchurch. The All Blacks have already won the Test series after the crushing 30-0 triumph in the second Test and coach Steve Hansen will give Test debuts, either as a starting option or as substitutes, to all the uncapped players in his squad. Blues duo Steven Luatua and Charles Piutau are among the substitutes, as is Crusaders flank Matt Todd. Carter teams up with Piri Weepu in the halves and Rene Ranger finally gets a start ahead of Julian Savea. Victor Vito ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brüssow, who has yet to play for the Springboks under Heyneke Meyer, is set to further his...Read More
Behind the scenes at SA Rugby magazine's cover shoot with Springbok flank Francois Louw and snippets from the interview. Click...Read More
Veteran Irish midfielder Brian O'Driscoll and flyhalf Jonathan Sexton will start for the British & Irish Lions in the first...Read More
Dan Carter has recovered from injury and will start at flyhalf for New Zealand against France in New Plymouth on...Read More
France have made eight changes to the side that was whitewashed by New Zealand last week. The tourists lost 30-0...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
Heinrich Brussow will play in Japan after failing to make an impression on Bok coach Heyneke Meyer. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Dan Carter is one of five changes to the All Blacks, while the French have made eight changes to the side kept scoreless in Christchurch. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-49: the blond sort of gary bailey lookalike – sortof, knowwhatimean.
6 Oct 2011, 08:55 am
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-48: Unlikely. He’s more relaxed, not stupid.
6 Oct 2011, 08:56 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-52: eina
6 Oct 2011, 08:56 am
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-53:
6 Oct 2011, 08:57 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-46:
My bad, I did not register pulling the wire as masturbation, assumed something else, him being a journalist in all.
We tend to go for more chunky descriptives for our manhood here in NZ.
6 Oct 2011, 08:59 am
@Brads(Brads)-55: \We tend to go for more chunky descriptives for our manhood here in NZ.
6 Oct 2011, 09:02 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-14: Ag nee man! What is up with the Supersport presenters. The producers must be pulling their hair out!
6 Oct 2011, 09:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-46:
its just disgusting man.
some of these backyard rangers are really ffucking waaay offsides sometimes. i’ve had a few run-in’s with some of them over the years. have learnt to neutralise the threat early.
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-48:
6 Oct 2011, 09:03 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-14:
Jeez that is hectic. I always enjoyed him as a presenter actually. Always asked the right questions and controlled the show nicely.
WTF Supersport?
6 Oct 2011, 09:04 am
Old slug Smit no doubt has great player power. If PdV drops him then he’ll have half the team revolt and it’d be a France/Brumbies situation.
6 Oct 2011, 09:07 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-60: shouyldnt you be trying to find a life??
seriously dude, you make grant10 look like a adult…
shouldnt you go back to your class room??? just a thought?
You know, we already have Smith and Botha out. We can’t afford Bismarck to not be starting and Beast to be out of the 22. I would love to see the three clowns sitting around a table coming up with that pathetic 22 thinking that they’re revolutionizing the game while they give Rassie the cold shoulder.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-61:
Go. Suck. Smit.
6 Oct 2011, 09:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-42:
So are we saying that Butch has never played in a winning test against the All Blacks? I thought there might have been 1 or 2. Who was flyhalf in 2005, when Jake won our home Tri Nations test against NZ?
So far we have:
2004: 1 win – Andre Pretorius
2005: 1 win – ?
2008: 1 win, Ricky January at scrumhalf but who the heck was flyhalf?
Then we have 3 wins in 2009, all with Morne at 10, and 1 win in 2011, also with Morne.
6 Oct 2011, 09:10 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: what, rangerman tried to bum rush you?
6 Oct 2011, 09:11 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-63: yup im right , ur a 5 year old
6 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64: no no no tac, dont get ahead of yourself please.
ruan was the starting 10 in 2009 in bloem AND in for the 1st test against the lions at KP where we won.
ok?
so ruan is as much a hero as morne but then again ruan wasnt the starter when we got nilled in 2010 now was he?
p.s. butch was the starter in 2008.
6 Oct 2011, 09:13 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64:
I have already posted a comment that Butch has played in 10 matches against the AB’s.
2 of these the Boks won
He has scored a total of 20 points. Even with my poor skills at math I can work that out to be an average of 2 points per match.
Not a great contributor!
@Transformation(Transformation)-65: hey now transformation, thats uncalled for buddy?
wtf?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64: BUTCH was the 10 in dunedin 2008, he kicked penalties and dropped one too
6 Oct 2011, 09:17 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-65: you really into all the G@y stuff this morning
eish
6 Oct 2011, 09:17 am
See it for what it is !!!
Beast was left out because they can’t risk JS at TH and CJ provides the relevant cover there,
Therefore simply put, Beast loses out due to JS inclusion.
6 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-69:
just joshing
6 Oct 2011, 09:19 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-67: lol ranger thats why when it comes to Tac i dont even respond
he tries to highlight only bulls players , the rest in his eyes are ****
@justrugby(justrugby)-72:
100%
@rangerman(rangerman)-67:
thats ridiculous.
ruan was subbed because of his poor play and the fact that the boks were losing with him on.
morne won those tests, end of story.
@Transformation(Transformation)-65:
hehe no man, you know…’backyard rangers’ nudge wink.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-71: peter davies ain’t g@y, he’s got a wife and kids
6 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-67:
Did Morne come on to replace Ruan during that game in Bloem in 2009?
6 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-71:
Hi SL, our u21 B team did your boys at theTank on Sat, recovered yet ??
6 Oct 2011, 09:21 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76: talking rubbish, ruan’s injured ankle flared up and he was subbed at half-time. the score was 14 – 3 to the Boks with ruan having scored a TRY and a penalty!
in fact, morne steyns contribution at KP (31 pts vs the ab’s) was the most outstanding game by a bok 10 vs the abs in years but he can by no means be held solely responsible for the boks recent decent record vs the ab’s (5 from 11?)
1 win, 2 losses with butch as starter
1 wins, 1 loss with ruan (i could be wrong here)
4 wins, 2 losses with morne (again i could be wrong)
dont have the time for the research but i am thereabouts i think.
The whole Butch vs Morne debate isnt the real issue here though. This is my only problem with the continuos punting of the Butch book.
The real issue and glaring weakness in the Bok side is Pierre Spies and his continued inability to step up to the plate.
Everyone has improved steadily over the last few games, Rossouw, Habanna, JP, hell even Smitty!
You have to know that when a nobody like Ben McAlman says that he cant wait to play Spies again because hes a softy, that the oke is nought but a passenger.
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:
I prefer the term ****** Ranger.
6 Oct 2011, 09:22 am
in fact, with ruan starting it couldd be 2 from 2?
6 Oct 2011, 09:22 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-72: how is that Smits fault??
Smit playing TH brought success and failure, he also did not select himself there, but at the request of the coaching staff
no other hooker covers a prop position, so see it for what it is , Smit is chosen as hooker which is his preferred position, the problem being only CJ is a prop that can play both sides , even though he is not a great scrummager
so rather point out the truth , Beast is dropped as he cannot cover both sides, IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH SMIT
6 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
“so ruan is as much a hero as morne”…?…wow…
with all due respect, that must be the most ridiculous sounding thing i’ve heard this morning.
6 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-80:
The score could have been so much more had Ruan actually kicked the other 4 or so goals he missed. Memories of a furious PdV standing on the sidelines just before halftime.
6 Oct 2011, 09:25 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-73: cool man.
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76: no, thats not true.
ruan was missing kicks yes, but the boks were scoring tries. And no, morne did not win the 1st test at KP, ruan did.
check it, gotta go, cheers!
@justrugby(justrugby)-79: hiyas JR , yep
our own fault though mate , we should have walked the game , Sharks their own worst enimy right now
oh and the Sharks aint playing their c team??
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-78: Morne’s contribution in Bloem 2009 was to kick 3 penalties and he missed the conversion to mossie’s try.
6 Oct 2011, 09:26 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:
Are you talking about the Lions series?
No, Ruan kicked everything over in the KP Lion test. Dont think he missed a single kick.
In the second Lions test, he was missing everything and they brought on Morne.
So effectively Ruan had everything to do with the first win and Morne had everything to do with winning the second.
Not sure who played 10 in the last test.
So many flaws in Ryan’s argument.
Firstly Butch has not been picked as an IMPACT player but merely as a SUITABLE & RELIABLE SUB.
Butch is not expected to come on and change the game, rather he’s there in case Morne or one of our centres goes down. If anything he’ll only take field with 10 minutes to go.
Secondly, CJ got the nod ahead of Beast because of his versatility as we can’t go into this match with TH Cover.
Gurthro and Beast has been in a dual for the starting berth since the home leg of TriNations and cleary anybody can see Gurthro is the better player at the moment.
Another reason Beast dropped out apart from the CJ versatile factor is that Div figured that vs the Aussies the game is more likely to break open in the last.
quarter.
Therefor GIO APLON got the nod as he’d have more IMPACT in this type of match than BEAST, who probably will get on the bench should we meet NZ as they present are bigger threat upfront.
Lastly, JS gets the nod as the captain but also with the expectation that the first hour will be tight and will suit John.
So even if Biz started he would’ve had less impact from minute 1 than he would normally have from minute 50.
Do you guys at KEO analyse anything?
Or do you just take things at face value without considering the merit of the options taken and weighing up the pro’s and con’s of each decision?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64: Wasnt Wacko Jaco the flyhalf in 2004??
6 Oct 2011, 09:27 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-85:
Nonsense man you know it and I know it, why wa this not the startegy all tournament ??
But believe what you want……. I suppose !!
6 Oct 2011, 09:27 am
Steyn is the right man to start, why do you guys keep going on about Butch? He sucks, can’t kick and he is damn slow, he should not even be in the 22. Smit is solid for the 1st half, and when Bismarck comes on in the 2nd we gain massive momentum, same with Hougie.
6 Oct 2011, 09:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-90: I think Pienaar scored a try in that game before going off injured.
@justrugby(justrugby)-94: hatred is a very personal issue boet, only one suffering because of it is YOU??
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-89:
Terblanche- Bok
Deysel – Bok
Adi – Bok
Joubert – Bok
Bosman – Bok
Daniels – Bok
Mvovo- Bok
Michalak- France
Half your side freekin internationals ??????
6 Oct 2011, 09:30 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-87: ruan missed 3 penalties and a drop in the first half…his first 2 kicks hit the upright.
6 Oct 2011, 09:30 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-78:
yip, kicked 3 penalties.
@Transformation(Transformation)-80:
ja transie, ruan ‘played himself’ out of the bok flyhalf position.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All