KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. The Sharks looked to have conjured up a remarkable victory when Charl McLeod scored and Pat Lambie converted in the 75th minute. But within two minutes the Sharks were guilty of a lineout infringement and Steyn punished the lack of discipline. The Sharks had opportunities to sneak the victory in a frantic finish but lacked the decision-making to turn a possession and field position advantage into victory. The Bulls, thanks to Steyn's kicking, consolidated their position at the top of the ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 21:54 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-943:
Said from all over the world in that post and highlighted SA.
6 Oct 2011, 21:54 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-935: Muddabiyatch!
6 Oct 2011, 21:55 pm
939.Boksarenumber3:
What is with this “Volgende jaar is nog n jaar”? Are you one of those okes who decides he has lost before he has even run on the field? I am pleased that our Bok side is made up of sterner stuff than you boet! You are a disgrace and you dare to make disparaging comments on warriors like John Smit! You should be ashamed of yourself!
6 Oct 2011, 21:55 pm
@ET.(ET.)-947: How is VIPtv? Can you watch replays of the rugby. My son is in NYC and just wondered how he can watch RWC.
6 Oct 2011, 21:56 pm
This English journalist on Reunion (Stuart Barnes) is such an arrogant, smug puth. Can’t believe they put him alongside Thierry Lacroix, who is a true gentleman.
6 Oct 2011, 21:57 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-945: Absolutely beautiful… Invented by Skopskit a few week back. Have been laughing ever since…
6 Oct 2011, 21:58 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-949:
but u are a f-ucking racist arent you?
@cab(cab)-950: Ag I just take what I want out of everything – usually its more than entertaining. Especially now.
But the racists, and the jingoists who slag Australians, Kiwis, and anyone not from South Africa can just fkoff in my opinion. Not that they have to, or pay me any mind.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-955:
Barnesy’s not that bad is he, he quite likes the Boks. LaCroix was a legend in durbs.
6 Oct 2011, 21:59 pm
@ET.(ET.)-938: I’m itchy…
@mako(mako)-953:
john smit was a hero and he has become a zero
@mako(mako)-953: AMEN!
i have never met a non racist in my life
@ET.(ET.)-951: But specifivcally – also the most Australians of any other team.
and Cantona.
6 Oct 2011, 22:00 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-958:
a former french president said that the difference between a nationalist and a patriot is that the patriot loves his country, while the nationalists hates everyone else.
6 Oct 2011, 22:00 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-954: Veetle tv is good… Go to Veetle.com. You need to install an .exe.
Watched the 3-nations on that… also the tennis from time to time etc.
6 Oct 2011, 22:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-956: First time for me, today. A thing of beauty. I do miss the alliteration. But the CAPS kind add some visual appeal.
@cab(cab)-959: He comes across as a smackable kont on telly. He has the whole Empire Superiority vibe going. Made me wish nothing but an embarrassing French smackdown upon the hapless Poms.
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-957: yawn. You’re a bore.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-958:
so the son is off to NYC, u should have gone with, some action in the big apple, or you prefer the quieter surrounds of minnesota?
6 Oct 2011, 22:02 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-961: And you were a poep and you became a number 2. Life is funny that way.
6 Oct 2011, 22:03 pm
“Richie McCunt” – a Kobus Kitty spectacular.
Laughed myself silly at the sheepshagger outrage after that.
@mako(mako)-931: You know I gonna tell you a few home truths you goody three shoes pseudo patriot….
You sit in your whitey ivory nay saying tower about what a fcking outright star you have in that self aggrandized piece of me first goody two shoes Jonny blue eyed bunkum bullshitter, and then in the very next breath you come out with garbage trash like this : ‘Nobody denies that PDV is a quota coach, he has actually done a pretty decent job though’.
Pseudo half arsed half witted half of nothing half cocked half sure and half hoping hero worshipers such as you are actually the arse end of what patriotism aspires to.. because schmucks like you still believe you are half way BETTER than those you turn your dumb fck ignoramus little snotty nose down on…
You don’t fool me one little iota.. keep on trying to fool yourself though.. seems you are succeeding at it just fine…
@>^..^< katman(katman)-968: Howzit Katters.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-969:
lol thats what g-ays always say
‘Yawn’
6 Oct 2011, 22:04 pm
@cab(cab)-970: Nah he’s in University there. Bankrupting the nation.
Still good here in Minn. Bleddy nice wevver, still braaing in October. Lekker.
6 Oct 2011, 22:04 pm
961.Boksarenumber3:
Before you make comments like that, you should think about this. If we win this World Cup, and that is very possible, a great deal of the credit will have to go to John Smit. For reasons that you don’t understand he has brought far more to this side than what he has cost it in terms of keeping BdP off the field for fifty minutes a game, believe me. Will you be at the fron tof the crowd cheering our homecoming boys? Will you feel kak that you were busy being negative while they were out there busting a gut to make you proud? Won’t you feel just a little bit silly?
6 Oct 2011, 22:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-971:
whats your problem poepal?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-968:
lol, barnesy (the player) looked more like a prop than a flyhalf
should be good rugby this wend, suppose its only a game, dissapointing tho really think we had a better chance here.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-967: ExtraTit was the first willing recipient of a shampoodle runtcunt bomb… I think ’twas invented for him. Maybe ask the man himself…
6 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-973:
half hoping hero worshipers
blue eyed bunkum bullshitter
Not bad. Getting back in to form.
6 Oct 2011, 22:06 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-974: Hola Joe. I see some fool is trying to drag you into the gutter here.
6 Oct 2011, 22:07 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-961: Ever heard this ditty … I dedicate it to our Captain – the great John Smit… & then to our team – the Bokka. The great things they’ve achieved over the last 15 years or so has been with one arm tied behind their backs the whole time. One day we will enjoy the liberties that other great teams take for granted… & then watch out!!
“It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-978: Geen probleem, ou nommer 2. Flush as jy klaar is, nê.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-982: Ag bud. Been there done that. Not worth the effort, if it ever was.
How’s Cape Town? Getting warmer. I was there end of June. Cold, wet and kak. Family stuff.
6 Oct 2011, 22:08 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-976:
oh nice and the old man, those things cost a fortune. FFS u got a braai nogal? ja we also been using ours non-stop, any boerewors there in the states or you got to get sauerkraut?
6 Oct 2011, 22:09 pm
@jocuba(jocuba)-983: I don’t think Teddy Roosevelt watched rugby. But he would’ve if he could’ve I am sure.
Katman what thing over my head?
@cab(cab)-979: You’ve allowed the negativity and hoohah around the hooker debate get to you, cabbie. We’re still gonna lynch us some convicts on Sunday.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-984:
nog a g-ay as-shole
6 Oct 2011, 22:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-989:
hehe, hope so.
@jocuba(jocuba)-983: Beyootiful! Tears to my eyes… A Noble ditty for a Noble leader…
Viva Barney Plod Smitty Viva!
973.ashampoopaloo:
Hey numbnuts, if you don’t admit that PDV got the job for political reasons then you are thicker than I originally thought. He was nowhere near the most qualified guy for the job. Even the overseas based journo’s snigger about it.
Having said that though, I am proud to say that he is doing a much better than anticipated job and hasn’t cocked up as much as he could have.
Please, please don’t tell me that you really thought that PDIV was appointed after 2007 because of his excellent rugby coaching credentials….
@Dawn(Dawn)-988: That bucket heater thing in the Salon. You know, when you spend an hour leafing through a 3 month old You.
@jocuba(jocuba)-983:
we shall see what happens on sunday ou maat
6 Oct 2011, 22:11 pm
Cheers guys, and goodnight.
6 Oct 2011, 22:11 pm
@David(David)-933:
So all your high-horsed notions have been swept under the table now as you set about puting words in my post that were not there? Where have I made reference to government and jobs anywhere let alone the USA.
If you really want to know I am of the opinion tha the powerful conglomerates are deliberately not engaging in job creation to partly ensure Obama does not go beyond this term of office.
Really no guilt then why your silly, so smug, smartarsed questions that you now not want to defend after they have been set in perspective and shredded?
Why not go for the easy childish one of Leeds again and defend that against what I have written?
Actually I do prefer my earlier do not respond call.
Wh o r e St. or also War St. has always been the problem even to one Jack London.
6 Oct 2011, 22:12 pm
@cab(cab)-986: Cabernet. Do i HAVE A BRAAI!!?
Oubaas. Seriously.
I have 2 braais. A Green Egg baby. and a plumbed in Natural Gas monster.
I also make my own billies in winter. Very good, even if I say so myself.
I have had boerie made up for me 3 times. 2x in Minnesota – 1 one was a B-, the other was a C. Minnesotans are kak scared of spice. I also had some made in Dallas and that was excellent.
6 Oct 2011, 22:12 pm
Soda be careful of extrawatsit.
He will dump you soon as look at you.
Leeds or no leeds.
6 Oct 2011, 22:13 pm
@jocuba(jocuba)-983:
excellent post…
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 » Show All