KeoTV: Butch no impact player

RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.

1,085 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1122 » Show All

• 151.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-147:

In case you didn’t see the scoreboard vs Wales

SA 17 Wales 16

Isn’t that what rugby is about? The FINAL RESULT?

Not missed tackled stats, amount of possession, tries scored.

The only stat that matters is POINTS collected.

I’m still waiting to see the team who’s gonna give this Welsh side a hiding, by that I mean beat them convincingly.

Of the 8 remaining teams you’d be hard-pressed to find anybody whipping anybody as all of them have their strenghts and weaknesses and it’s the performance on the day that will decide the outcome, not ranking positions or favouritism tags etc.

• 152.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-138: There is no reasoning in it, its purely emotional. Now I have no problem with showing emotion and supporting your opinion except when it is brought up as fact. We all get emotional about something in relation to the sport we luv , I get emotional about Barnes, Owens, Bryce Lawrence especially :lo: but one thing remains for me and that is that no matter whether or not the Boks lift that trophy, the way they have gone about trying to win it speaks volumes for me and deserves my support.

They have been the epitome of professionals in my opinion, have put their bodies on the line everyone of them, given their best ( which for some is not good enough) and will remain “my BOKKE”. Win or Lose I want to thank them for the journey they have given me as a supporter so far and I look forward to that journey possibly continuing. They are not always going to win but hell they are going to give it their best as it always is in life. So PDV, and all your team, hats off to you and “gooi mielies Bokke”

• 153.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-150:

Is getting outsmarted by a defensive and tactically better prepared side Deans’s style then?

• 154.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-115: well said then it’s also true that if we lose its not Smit but the 30 warriors right??

cuzz see we always lose and see smit get the blame , from you and all ur mates?? :lol:

same as some dont give pdivvy credit for how well we are doing so far?? right????

i have not said SMit is the best hooker at present , but he sure as hell aint as bad as you guys make him out to be , and even when he has a great game , the silence re it is defening

i also understand however why Pdiv is starting SMit and then bringing on the likes of Bismark

so lets rather give Divvy credit :wink:

• 155.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

All you prophets of doom are a real pain in the poopshoot. Never has there been a Bok team (or any sports team, for that matter) that has pleased everyone.

But even with the debate about Smit and Butch and Spies, this is the closest to a unanimously agreed Bok team we’ve had in many years. It’s a bloody good squad, and a potentially world beating match 22.

All of you forsaking them now and washing your hands of them would probably never have been 100% behind them anyway, regardless of selections or coaches. So the loss of your support is pretty insignificant, really.

For the rest of us – we’re about to face Australia in the QF of the World Cup with a potent pack and a great backline. It doesn’t get much better than this.

• 156.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: 1000% correct kat boet

what a sorry bunch :roll:

• 157.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

For this game, the 22 would i would have picked, doesnt differ much.

15. Lambie ( been solid through out the tournament)
    14. JPP (hope he can quickly return to his super rugby form.)
    13. Jaque Fourie
    12. Juan De Jongh (Call it a gamble, but this guy could spark something at 12)
    11. Gio Aplon ( has not had his chance, and should be given the opportunity)
    10. Morne Steyn ( I will admit, we need his accurate boot, just need to work on his defense)
    9. Hougaardt ( This guy is brilliant, best No. 9 and wing in the country)
    8. Alberts. ( Spies means nothing, Alberts has been consistently good)
    7. Schalck ( plays like a man possessed)
    6. Brussow ( He must repeat his performance in that last TN game)
    5. Matfield ( Needs to dominate own and opposing line outs)
    4. Russow ( Has done his job well, so far at the tournament)
    3. CJ ( Srummed well, and must put in a big performance at scrum time)
    2. Smit ( He is our captain, replace with Bissy at Half time, no later)
    1. Steenkamp ( has Scrummed like a warior)

16. Bismark ( Need to come on at half time, will make a huge impact)
    17. Beast. ( when he comes on he needs to make a big impact at scrum time)
    18. Spies ( not sure who else, only use encase of emergency.)
    19. Louw
    20. du Preez
    21. Butch
    22. de Villiers

• 158.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: Well said Katman

• 159.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Eish(Eish)-140: smit fat??? stop looking at ur mother when watching rugby dude

there aint any fat on smit, ffs have some guts to say these things to his face ond not on a faceless blog

• 160.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-158: hiyas piesangs , you well boet??

• 161.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-152:

You’re right, supporting your team with emotion and passion is how it should be.

But when discussing team tactics, selection and strategies you have no ground to stand on when calling it dumb, stupid fat boy club and all these degrading things.

Especially not when the results have been in FAVOUR of the team’s decisions.

The coaches/players tell us during interviews what’s the reason behind certain things.

Why should we then come here and tell them they’re stupid and they should do it another way when cleary what they are doing has been planned for a while, carefully considered and as long as it’s working we can discuss and debate it but fact remains their plans are working and they’re right to stick with it.

• 162.ufo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-72:

don’t think so… this is aus we’re speaking about… not renowned for their scrumming strength but very threatening in the back division…

they went 4/3 because of this to have more cover in the backs… therefore you need a prop who can pack down on both sides… and cj is the man…

i think they would’ve gone this route even if they started bissy and had chili on the bench…

sheesh with all this g@y talk… suddenly a lot of rugby terminology seems to be dripping with innuendo… :shock:

• 163.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-152: A flucking men

• 164.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-155:

stirring stuff.

bring me my mshinishini.

NOW.

• 165.willievz: Reply to this comment

Keo

On any bench, you need players to (i) up te tempo, (ii) close a game down, and (iii) cover potential injuries.

Variation is key.

Butch might not cover (i), but he certainly covers (ii) and (iii).

In fact, he might be the only one on the bench capable of performing (ii).

• 166.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-161: exactly mate, these loud mouths are so tough behind monitors , damn buch of under achievers that they are

• 167.David: Reply to this comment

As much as I’m saddened for the Boks by Bakkies loss, I’m afraid that Steve Jobs death, for me, is a far bigger tragedy, in the scheme of things.
    Hell, with his creative vision and maniacal attention to detail and simplicity, he would have made one hell of a rugby coach. A superior cross between Mallet on steroids and Carwyn James. :evil:
    RIP Steve.

• 168.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Amen Katman.

You can’t take a dump all over the team

But at the same time hold out that should they win you’ll support them and have bowls of confetti ready should they arrive back with the Trophy

How the hell does that work?

• 169.ufo: Reply to this comment

agree hundreds bud…

barring injury… this is the best 22 we could pick and IMO the best starting 15…

• 170.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-164: :lol:

• 171.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Boks have done us proud so far , that encludes the coaching staff

no if’s or but’s

• 172.ufo: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-167:

it is tragic david… but not unexpected… he leaves an amazing legacy…

i’m an apple ****… and love their products…

they obviously pushed the launch of the new iPhone to be out before he died… quite sad the two events happened on the same day…

apple gonna miss him big time…

• 173.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-172:

**** = apple S L U T…

• 174.David: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-165:
    Well said. The bench isn’t just about impact. It must be a nightmare getting it right and fitting it in with the overall game plan.
    I reckon they’ve got it spot on, considering who’s available.

• 175.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-166:

Like I said, there’s nothing better during the build up of a big Test than having a good debate about tactics and selections.

But when people disagree and start throwing personal insults and make accusations towards the team when what they are doing is working but you still want them to change for you to find vindication in that is wrong on so many levels.

If we lost to Wales and Samoa with the tactics we’ve been using I’d be just as much against it as the biggest critics around here.

But it’s working so why all the insults directed at the team?

They Winning aren’t they?

• 176.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-157: Rassie said the other day he gives the team selectors the stats and data so that they can select a team based on facts not emotion.
    These stats show that both Morne and Spies are doing their Job just fine, go and look at the stats , leave your emotion at home

• 177.Brads: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-153:
    Are you suggesting a one defence system fits all or what was put on show last time by the opposition is all that needs to be prepared for?

Teams work out attacks, just as they work out weaknesses in defence.

If your only weapon is defence, how do you score outside of your planned strategy of goal kicks?

Blind luck is my suggestion.

• 178.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-175: exactly mate, but the ones throwing the insults , are the real losers in here

• 179.Eish: Reply to this comment

Its quarter final time and the Boks are there,
    Pity their hooker is John shaped like a pear.
    Spies is talking a really good game,
    just wish he would back it up instead of being tame.
    Old Snor is really back to his best,
    squeaking his way from interview to test.
    His goal he says is to be more than a coach,
    and who can argue that he achieved this boast?
    He is the laughing stock of all coaches there,
    with his ridiculous comments and Smit love affair.
    Bismark is big, has skill and class,
    Let’s hope one day he sticks Bill right up your a………

• 180.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-165:

Exactly, I said as much.

Astounding to think Ryan thinks that Butch has been selected as IMPACT.

He’s not, he’s able cover for 10 and centre. He might not even make it onto the field.

• 181.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-175: There are so many guys that can’t wait to say I told you so , what a sorry bunch. They all think they know better than , Smit , Vic, Div, Rassie, Muir and Gold together

• 182.ufo: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-171:

and another amen brother and i’ll raise you a halleluia too!!

• 183.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-182: :lol:

• 184.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-175:

my feelings ed zachary…

• 185.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

For all the Bok deserters, the Cape Spanish Supporters Union has decided to open their doors for a final round of floor crossing. Submissions to join the Mighty Half Blacks must be made by midnight on Friday. And for those who don’t make the cut, they have launched a Samoa Supporters Union (kind of like the House of Representatives) with much lower entry criteria. They’ll be known henceforth as the Cape Porras, and they’re waiting for your Please call Me.

• 186.Staal: Reply to this comment

the roads around pretoria will be very quiet come satuday and sunday cause all will be in front of the TV…

thus i will be on the bike training and not watch the games…

i’ll pvr them all and just friggen delete the bad “outcomes” :lol:

better for my health to stay away from thet TV… man ek kan stresssssss!

• 187.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: I’m well Boet all juiced up for Sunday :lol: . Will have to hit the gym before then to work up some space for the early morning drinking. My nerves are already shot :lol:

• 188.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-180:

I haven’t even watched this Keo TV video yet, but I have a strong idea what has been said…

• 189.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-186:

we all know the feeling bud…

sheesh i’m a bundle of nerves and stress… :shock:

• 190.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-157:

Good team BUT a few naive selections.Namely:

-Hougaard at 9,as bad as du Preez has been he is STILL a better 9 than Hougaard who has an average pass,poor kicking out of hand,gets caught in rucks,suspect decision making.Has hardly played at 9 in last 2 yrs as well.He is great with ball in hand which is why at present he is class there.But he isnt an international 9,wing yes.

-CJ is the mediocre at everything he does.What game did he scrum well? He has been benching every game bar Namibia.Jannie has scrummed well in all his games,if he goes down Boks are short at 3.CJ is prone to slipping bind,penalties for incorrect engage etc He is very erratic,jannie is the rightful starter at present.

Otherwise good team.Except i would still put Hougaard on bench to up the ante with Bismark.Habana still very important cog in defense especially scramble and umbrella D.

CJ was rubbish in S15,had ONE decent game as a sub vs AB’s.Thats not enough to surpass Jannie period.

• 191.ufo: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-188:

i’ve never watched one of the keoTV thingumabobs…

i refuse to be forced to watch reality tv…!

and none of them have a butt like Kimmy K…!!

• 192.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brads(Brads)-177:

Firstly, you can never put down a result to luck.

Like I told Grant10 yesterday, that means you’re believe there are exterior forces at play, some sort of divine intervention.

Do you that sangoma’s, leprichons, prayers etc have impact on a rugby result?

Moving on.

That’s not at all what I’m suggesting.

In case you forgot. vs Wales & Samoa we scored 1 try each, that takes away your argument that we rely only on our defence.

So then what was the difference between a win and a loss when we played those teams, can you point that out for me please?

And please, don’t say luck.

• 193.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Since when does wanting the best possible side to play, giving us the best possible chance of winning this thing constitute a lack of support ??

When the whistle blows the side is supported 100% irrespective of who is playing , being a supporter gives one the right to an opinion and the right to highlight shortcomings, being a “blind” supporter is imo is a lot worse and a far bigger pain in the poopshoot !!

I can tell you right now that I don’t agree with especially Spies an JS starting, does that mean I won’t be supporting them at kick off ??………………………..not on your nilly boet !!!

• 194.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-188:

Quick breakdown of Ryan’s view.

1. Butch should’ve started, he’s not impact player.

2. Beast should’ve been on bench in place CJ (You’ll pick that one apart)

3. Gio Aplon is good impact (but Ryan fails to reckon in the merits of it , meaning vs Aussies it’ll work but against NZ Beast will take his place as the AB’s are a different challenge)

4. JS/Biz

• 195.ufo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-193:

hehehe… how zit jr…

it’s also true that agreeing with the team selections doesn’t necessarily make someone a blind supporter…

the only blind supporters are the cyclops AB supporters who wear a black patch in the middle of their foreheads too…!! :wink:

• 196.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-193:

That’s the thing, it’s all fair on your side to say you don’t agree with it and give your reasoning.

On my part I’m no blind supporter but i’ll back the decisions of the team WHEN IT’S WORKING, which seems to be the case right now.

The only thing we or me personally doesn’t like is insults and degrading of our team and downright disrespect for their decisions.

• 197.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Ja I’m not into this business leader worship thing.

They’re there to make as much money as possible, nothing more.

So Steve Jobs’s death is a personal tragedy for his family and friends, not a matter for international moments of silence.

Wish he was still alive, but for his family’s sake, not for the world’s sake. Just like I wish the random guy who died in a car accident was still alive.

Strange, the people that are hero worshipped these days.

• 198.Staal: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-192: that means you’re believe there are exterior forces at play except Suzy of course… :lol:

@ufo(ufo)-189: i have mastered this uncanny knack of totally ignoring the fact that the game even happened if we lose…… i just never ever mention it! EVER!! :lol:

• 199.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-181: wait until the Boks lose and Ryan, Keo, JC…we told you so, Butch is not an impact player and they will lament how a WC medal winner was reduced to a forlon figure by a useless coach whose appointment was an “error”

• 200.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-198:

lol….

well a charging rhino makes you forget most things ever happened…!! :wink:

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1122 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.