KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
22 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article22 May 2013
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has kept the rest of his team unchanged, hoping the momentum from the Reds victory will lead them to a win against the Kings. That does mean that Burton Francis remains out of the match 22, Elgar Watts continuing ahead of Riaan Smit, who is on the bench yet again. Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne will use this match to show why they have been included in the Springbok training squad. Both will be pushing hard to be among the final names for the upcoming Incoming tours against Italy, ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 11:21 am
@cab(cab)-229: If you look at this blog we all want to kill Divvy , lets support them regardless if your favourite player does not play.
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-241:
no you know what the worst type of bok supporters is, its the same as the worst type of old nationalist, the one who runs with the wolves and hunts with the hounds – having a go at PdV is the easy target, and most of you fall into that category. Smit has had his time, it is simply completely unfair that he is starting over Bismarck.
@cab(cab)-240:
That’s alright and I know you’re no basher.
But I want to ask you, can you at least see the merit of the decision of starting JS, and it’s been working so far so why should they change it?
By merit i mean – Div has decided that John is captain, he’ll run on and keep a calm head in the opening exchanges. The game will be tight so this will suit him. JS is also no impact player therefor there’s no use in sending him on at minute 50.
Add to that you’ll gain max impact out of Biz from minute 50 when defences have tired, also even if Biz started he won’t have the same impact from the beginning as the opposition will be more alert and fired up and contain him better than they would’ve after after 50.
Can you at least see into Div’s decision when you look at it that way?
6 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
@cab(cab)-230: Morning Cabbie,
One thing I have huge, huge respect for Peter is his loyalty. Never seen anything like that ever. For me that shows top class quality in a person. He has my respect.
His only mistake in this world cup was playing his key players against Samoa. Should have rested them. Our reserves would have done the job. We might not have had as many injuries and still had our play maker in Fransie. Easy said now but he should have.
We must all just get behind Peter and his Boks.
I have also learned over the years to enjoy his way of saying things. Damn funny. At first never did. But he has grown on many of us to really enjoy him.
Whether he is the best coach or not, he has my respect and support.
6 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-238:
Samsung is no cheaper than an iPhone or iPad equivalent. Besides, without Apple, they wouldn’t even know those markets existed.
6 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-239:
Stop acting like a girl, harden the fark up !!!
6 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-244:
He may not be the greatest Coach/Selector that ever lived.
But,
there is something refreshingly honest and different about him.
Few if any other WC Coaches, bare their soul, the way he does.
6 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@David(David)-255:
ed zachary…!!
6 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@Gunther(gunther)-250:
The biggest racists in the world are the
british
and
spanish
and danish
and
south africans
and
americans
the list goes on and on
6 Oct 2011, 11:26 am
@cab(cab)-252:
I’m presuming you’re not really meaning I’m having a go at Div when you said ‘most of you fall in that category.’?
Just to be clear I’ve been backing him all the way during the WC as his decisions have proven correct just as I criticised him last year when his lack of development of players got shown up, his decision of fattening up JS failed and his choice of not resting his key players on the end of year tour 2009 came back to haunt us.
Div obviously doesn’t share you view that JS is done, in fact he’s put his faith in him to do the job as i’ve described above and he’s backed John do come at this very moment since the start of the TriNations.
@cane(cane)-257:
I agree. i never said he was dishonest, he is honest thats for sure
Pity he is such a idiot and a useless coach
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-249:
thats also fine, he is right more often than not, and he also has a sense of fairness that completely bypasses most u morons.
you on the other hand been whinging about de villiers since his inception and all of a sudden u taken the patriotic highround – what a laugh.
its like the old SA ne, if you dont support then you a traitor, well guess what i’m proud to a traitor, i’ll stand by my own principles when i consider something to be unfair unlike most wafting fanny-arsed compliant sheep.
and the truth of the matter is, i dont give a fk about the springbok never have, but i still hope above hope that south africa does well.
@David(David)-255:
i think you’re stretching the truth just a little on both of those statements.
6 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
rotten, rotten, weather in Wellington this week. Wet wet wet, and windy windy windy. The sneakinesses won’t like that at all, that’s for real! This weather and the soft ground is perfect for Bokke rugby, and a disaster for the Aussies.
Wallabies going home on Sunday, taking their sneaky, tricksey, precious covetting ways with them!!
@cane(cane)-247: YouKnowWho was (erroneously) informed that he and his ilk could rewrite history in our new rainbow nation. So forgive him, but he is on a mission to change a few things. His big project this year has been to change the definition of Nazi from “rightwing socialists who advocate Aryan supremacy” to “nasty people who poke fun at fat coloured expats”. He’s been struggling for traction on this, but is one determined little beaver.
@justrugby(justrugby)-256:
why do you say he is acting like a girl?
@Gunther(gunther)-250: The spanish had a civil war remember.. The country is still divided like in SA.. Lots of nazis around. You should wear you swastika when you visit Madrid next time.. you could get a free meal. I reckon you should tan up if you going to visit Barcelona though.. Hide the tattoo
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-253: I think also with John starting we can weigh it up and see the situation. If we start to fall behind then we just bring on Bissie. Even if it means in the first half. If we are still close on the score board then we bring on Bissie in the 2nd half. Not after 50min. I would bring him on for the full last 40min or 35min. When the otherside will be feeling tired in their legs.
Just have to see how the game is going. If we need Bissie sooner like I said, we just bring him on.
John is a powerful scrummager he will tire them up for Bissie to just run havoc over them. I wish we had Beast though on the bench too.
6 Oct 2011, 11:28 am
@Puma(Puma)-254:
“His only mistake in this world cup was playing his key players against Samoa. Should have rested them…..”
Then us Antipideans would have accused SA of taking a dive to avoid the TOUGH side of the draw.
6 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
@justrugby(justrugby)-256:
What you mean harden the f@rk up?
Does name calling on a blog make you a tough guy?
Would insulting somebody face to face unjustifiably make you a tough guy?
@cane(cane)-257:
Wouldn’t you say the same thing about PdV though?
6 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
@cane(cane)-257: Well said Cane. Nice post.
6 Oct 2011, 11:30 am
I feel sorry for the Bok supporters
We never get our strongest team out there
Quotas and dumb coach/selectors
6 Oct 2011, 11:30 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-238: don’t be moronic man, ever used an Apple computer to do graphics and render images?
ipod, iphone, ipad and all other gadgets are just trinkets that came later on.
it’s not “worship” as tac would have you believe, it is appreciation.
like if you go and look at the Sistine Chapel and appreciate the genius of michelangelo…or the roof of the sydney opera house or the acropolis in athens, the pyramids in giza…appreciation sonny
6 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-238:
that’s like dumping on the pharmaceutical companies for inventing medicines because the generic copiers are cheaper…
6 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
@ufo(ufo)-258:
6 Oct 2011, 11:32 am
@ufo(ufo)-236: well point you finger at Heavens Game and his posse
6 Oct 2011, 11:32 am
@Puma(Puma)-268:
Correct and I even said yesterday the gamble is that we can’t fall to far behind, but on balance it’s a good decision because can anybody honestly put his money on the Aussies going into a 20 point lead at halftime?
It can happen, but highly unlikely.
6 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@cane(cane)-269: No Cane. We would still have won that game. I am talking of 4 players that should have been restested and protected from those thugs. Fransie, Burger, Brussow and JPP should have been rested. We should have put them in cotton wool for the quarter. We had good enough reserves to take the knocks there for the best players to play in this quarter injury free.
We would still have beaten them with our reserves, I have no doubt about it.
6 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-260: Hey thanks for that Fudegmunk referral – realy dope hip hop – I love the more abstract jazzy stuff and he´s a head of note.
Dj Krush is obviously more extreme but nice to hear some intelligent stuff.
6 Oct 2011, 11:34 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-267:
langers when was the l;ast time you went to Madrid or Barcelona?
(watching the travel channel doesn’t count).
How many seats to easyjet charge you for?
or did they mistake you for a suitcase and put you in the hold?
@Puma(Puma)-278: sorry mistake there. Not sure how that came about……hahaha
restested = rested
@cab(cab)-262: jeez Cab, are you on medication?
You aren’t making any sense. Completely overblown response talking about the “old SA” and such things. Jeez.
It’s ok, you have laid the perfect foundation – you will be well within your rights to give us a big “I told you so” if the Bokke lose.
@cane(cane)-247: Did you go around to Keo’s hotel to suck saffa d ick or did you just try to blend in with twats.. I take you only sing the english part of the national anthem
6 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-265:
You should be writing PdV Press statements.
@cab(cab)-262:
I for one, am not calling you a traitor cab. When you disagree with something you’re willing to debate it without having a rant.
It’s supporters that criticize in a disrespectful and personal manner that gets to me.
I’ve been missing the wall to wall rugby from the pool weeks, slight withdrawal symptoms! It’s been perked up by the bok and aussie supporters in town however, and I think it will be a good night tomorrow with all the bars full of supporters. That is if they aren’t hiding in their hotels due to the awful weather!
it is a real shame these two teams have to play each other so early in the comp.
6 Oct 2011, 11:36 am
@ufo(ufo)-242: no problem mate….
we play golf regularly at Leopard Creek and i have never seen someone more competitive than he is on a golf course…
we once played him and Rupert on the 18′th for R3500 for that hole only….. (that’s all the cash we had on us .. even though the course is cash-less…)
eish… luckily we won with a PAR!
@capebull(capebull)-205:
Would rather have a guy who gets over the advantage line at will-ball carrying,is destructive at collision points-his cleaning is superb,makes his tackles especially of the premier ball carriers who opposition use to get over advantage to drive momentum-Alberts with his superior bulk/power/technique hit them behind advantage while Spies just rides tackle.Would much rather have a player who counter rucks with accuracy and power which Alberts does.
Alberts is a bigger,stronger more powerful player vitally intergral especially to dominating collision which Boks have been talking about all week AND knockouts place premium at collision point.Spies isnt as adapt at those points.
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-277: It could happen, but we won’t let it happen. If we start to fall behind we just bring on Bissie and whoever we feel we should have on at the time.
6 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-279:
No prob, I was having an eargasm on my way home yesterday bumping Gramatik’s Street Bangers Vol. 1 8)
Will be looking out for the other Volumes today
6 Oct 2011, 11:38 am
My 2 cents worth – Bismarck should be starting but if Smit can hold his own for the first half then I think Bismarck will be unleashed just after half time and man he´s going to be like a bull in a china shop. If we can pressurise the ozzies till then theyre going to struggle come subs time.
CJ instead of Beast – I know its for the tighthead aspect but Beast is far more dynamic. Again glad F Louw is there as insurance for Heinrich and if Heinrich is struggling it might be wise to put Burger at 8 and have both F Louw and Brussouw attacking the ball in tandem – Doubt very much if Pocock could handle that. Then bring Alberts on in the last 20. We have loads of loose forward fire power in this pack, ideally you would want to play Bismarck, Rossouw, Alberts, F Louw, Brussouw and Schalk at the same time with Jannie and Gurthro making up the numbers. The ozzies wont stand a chance in the loose with that configuration.
Lets just hope Jean catches a effing wake up and starts passing the ball.
6 Oct 2011, 11:38 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-282:
overblown my arse, u come on making such accusations and u one of the biggest hypocrites of a lot, you been tearing down de villiers since the year dot and now all of a sudden we must get behind the team – i remember this time 4 years ago before the RWC there werent many behind the team, and i doubt u were one of them either. maybe its time for a little forensic searching to highlight some of your little patriotic gems in the past.
6 Oct 2011, 11:40 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-288:
Ye Spies is the only selection which I’m not entirely comfortable with.
There’s nothing wrong with his ball carrying when there’s a bit of space, but the thing is there won’t be much on offer in this match early on that’s why he could’ve been better from the bench as you suggested. Also his defensive is soft.
Let’s hope he fronts as Keo and his gang always say.
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-264:
weather man predicts clear skies for sunday
@cane(cane)-257:
true cane.
i too don’t see him as an idiot at all but just feel that he is not competent as a coach or tactical/intellectual reader of the game (if you will). he is however an outstanding ‘man’ manager with a great charismatic ability to get the players he coaches in the right frames of mind imo.
he is in fact very similar to ian mcgeechan in this regard.
@Transformation(Transformation)-273:
@ufo(ufo)-274:
i think we should just agree to feel differently on apple and jobs then, i guess.
6 Oct 2011, 11:41 am
@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-263:
absolutely not… name one thing samsung has EVER innovated… except taking copying and plagiarism to new levels… and selling items a few bucks cheaper but at a much higher margin because they never do any r-and-d…
@Transformation(Transformation)-273:
yip bud… macs are so far ahead of pcs its scary… macs are the standard in design the world over and have been for decades now…
and BTW… it was apple that invented the drag-and-drop visual interface… then Bill Gates copied it and called it windows and gave it away free to everyone and made himself the richest man in the world for copying a true innovator…
but kudos to bill for his marketing nous…
6 Oct 2011, 11:41 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-270:
Whatever I say to anybody on here i will be more than happy to say face to face, geez you also need to harden the fark up you way to sensitive, since when did saying harden the fark up (the most used cliche on Keo) become the crime of the century.
Here’s an idea, scroll by !!
6 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-290: Yeah man was listening to it myself yesterday and its such a quality album – 2 and 3 are just as good. Also look out for the Water 4 the Soul ep (8 tracks more like an album). Are you familiar with Nightmares on Wax?
@Puma(Puma)-289:
Correct, but what would you feel we should do if say John is having a really good game and our scrum is dominant?
Also highly unlikely LOL, but do you think the coaches should then leave JS on the field or still bring on Biz even if we’re in a good position on the scoreboard?
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-285:
well ive tried to keep it as civil as possible, Smit is a great springbok, but it is completely unfair that he is starting over Bismarck, and there are ppl on this here forum that cannot even tolerate that viewpoint despite them being some of the biggest naysayers in christendom – as much as i want this team to do well i simply cannot listen to kak.
But Katman is quite correct, he’s criticisms i will take on board, since he is one of the few that are not complete bladdy hypocrties on here.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All