KeoTV: Butch no impact player
6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article21 May 2013
JP Pietersen is set to miss the remainder of the Super Rugby season. Pietersen left the field of play in the Sharks’ victory over the Force, their final tour game. Pietersen’s scans revealed that the winger, who did duty at outside centre, will require surgery to rectify a groin injury. Pietersen was playing in the 13 jersey following a serious injury to Paul Jordaan and Tim Whitehead not taking part in rugby this season to date. Pietersen’s injury is a big loss for the Sharks, yet the bigger problem is which player will wear the 13 jersey this weekend against the Bulls. The Bulls ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article6 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE gives his thoughts on the make-up of the Springbok 22 to play the Wallabies on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
JP Pietersen is set to miss the remainder of the Super Rugby season. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

1,085 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 22 » Show All
6 Oct 2011, 12:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-399: no what he was saying and that I agree with is they have Butch on the bench instead of de Jongh due to the fact he can cover 12 and 10. 10 in case Morne gets injured and 12 in case Jean clogs up the system.
6 Oct 2011, 13:01 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-388:
hurry back soon my little round brown bunny.
WentaWabbit closes at five and I don’t want to lose my deposit.
6 Oct 2011, 13:01 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-400:
Definitely worth it, the reason why I asked if you know of anybody that’s been doing it is because we’re trying to bring it this side, we have some ideas but there’s still a long way to go with that one.
I’ll be on my way, time to get some real work done for a change
Have a good one.
6 Oct 2011, 13:02 pm
@Puma(Puma)-386:
yeah bud… well said too…
i would love to beat the ABs on home-soil… and i really believe we can… even before dan got crocked… i think if we play to our full potential and they play to their full potential… we WILL win…
i think IF we play to our full potential EVERY time we will win every time and rule the rugby world as the ABs do at the moment…
it’s just so frustrating that we don’t deliver the goods as consistently as they do… so for that i really admire and respect the ABs (among other things too of course cause they are a great team)
6 Oct 2011, 13:02 pm
@ufo(ufo)-398:
So, from COBOL programmer to what now? I remember that from being relatively forgotten, COBOL programmers suddenly became in desperate demand during the Y2K panic as companies needed to upgrade legacy systems. Some friends of mine were charging exhorbitant rates when they realised how desperate companies had become for their skills.
6 Oct 2011, 13:03 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-402: Pity Kitchener isn’t here to provide the side entertainment for the day
6 Oct 2011, 13:07 pm
@David(David)-405:
yeah… cobol programmers shone for a little while again for Y2K but then faded like a spark in damp kindling in a bear grills episode…
in the publishing biz now and have been for 25 or so years…
6 Oct 2011, 13:10 pm
everyone out to lunch… !!
in more ways than one…
6 Oct 2011, 13:11 pm
Peter Davies…..Filthy Filthy Mampara
6 Oct 2011, 13:13 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-409: what do you think his defence will be? hehehe
6 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-410:
Hahahaha fckin hell sbali!! Angazi.,ugcolile leyanja!!!!
Ongamla bayanya,iyaphuma iNonsense
6 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-410:
Apparently he was showing the lad his abstract interpretative version of the haka.
6 Oct 2011, 13:16 pm
Vrede – really its about roles and styles – Bissie is far more effective in these scenario’s as an impact player.
We saw it last week against the Samoan’s. Smit would have ground out nicely for 55 minutes or so and then Bissie would have come on and had tired legs up against him and made for more of an impact.
Did we even score a point in the second half against Samoa, no!
6 Oct 2011, 13:18 pm
@Eish(Eish)-179:
Get over this Snor bashing. Come on now! Do you really believe what you are saying?
The fact that PdV sounds funny is because he is interviewd using his second language.
He sure ain no Dingo!
Get over this tired prejudiced thinking that PdV is a joke.
6 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-409: Que?
6 Oct 2011, 13:22 pm
whats the lastest on Brussouw? is he injured? how serious? we simply can’t afford to lose him, imo
6 Oct 2011, 13:22 pm
@ufo(ufo)-375:
So well said
you save me posing at nausism these days.
I’m so tired of argueing for Smittie.
He’s a ****** hero for SA rugby. Show the guy some respect. He’s still a good test player in tight conditions, maybe not CC or s15 where the younger loser players look impressive.
Bissie is better right now but i think they compliment each other wonderfully as Smit starts, Bissie ends. Makes Bissie look great when he is againts tired legs as well.
Bissie will have his chance to have 80 minutes next year all year and teh year after
6 Oct 2011, 13:23 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-413:
well said bud… and great point about the second half score…!
6 Oct 2011, 13:23 pm
Re post
South Africa vs Australia
50-50 call
In reality it is a 51-49 call to Australia but as a South African i hope we can pull something off.
Australia is the antidote to the South African way of playing rugby. They are smart athletes. i expect the Springboks win though.
Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen or Jacque Fourie should score. We have enough strike runners who have hit form at the right time.
The game will be close and the winning score will be 21 – 16 to the Boks
England vs France
France can deliver their usual unpredictable rugby magic but England tends to do very well in world cups.
England will have to deal with a resurgent French side which will have Vincent Clerc threatening the English tryline.
I expect Wilkinson to recover and England to to win 22 – 18
Argentina vs New Zealand
New Zealand will win by 25 points
35 – 10
Wales vs Ireland
Another 50-50 call
I think Ireland’s experience and hunger will be the difference.
They will be miserly in defence.
Ronan O’Gara is the second highest scorer behind Morne Steyn to have made the quarter finals. He too is hitting form at the right time. Sexton has not proved to be much of a difference.
22 – 19
Habana is hitting form at the right time. Am interested in how he see things after he’s scored in two consecutive games rather than the 15 month lean spell he had.
It is amazing that he is viewed as the least important bok on this website. I cannot get it.
Even Torres and Kaka are returning to form after a 18 – 24 month lean spells respectively.
6 Oct 2011, 13:24 pm
@Bod(bod)-415: Apparently he flashed his tackle at a minor. Now Supersport have dumped him.
6 Oct 2011, 13:26 pm
@Bod(bod)-415:
a supersport presenter stands accused of flashing his willy winkie at a young lad at a virgin active.
thank god you are in spain.
you are in spain?
anyway I have always said these gymnasiums are a hotbed of sausage smuggling, veruca laden depravity.
decent chaps get their exercise in the great outdoors.
6 Oct 2011, 13:27 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-421: As Kenny Powers said: “I play a real sport. I don’t try to be the best at exercise.”
6 Oct 2011, 13:29 pm
Smit would have started Boks would have lost to Samoa, you g’dam lucky he didn’t start last week because right now you would definitely not be sitting there so smug pretending its the right call. Smit would have started against Samoa we would have LOST the game, same way as if he had not been YANKED off the field in the g’dam nick of time we would have LOST.. ABSOLUTE GUARANTEED without even a remote sliver of doubt.
Had Smit not been YANKED vs Wales and had he started vs Samoa Boks would be OUT this WC already of that you can be 100% assured.
Now you better pray like hell that somebody got ENOUGH sense to YANK him again early enough before he does ANY further collateral damage to the Boks chances as he ALMOST did in BOTH games vs Wales and Samoa. He better get yanked quick and timeously vs Aussie before he fcks it All up again, like he does EVERY SINGLE TIME he EVER leads Boks onto the park..
Dumb schmucks have already lost count how many LOSSES this palooka got under his belt and they ready to go on and swallow SOME MORE…
6 Oct 2011, 13:30 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-420:
Never trust anyone that looks like a Do Gooder….
6 Oct 2011, 13:30 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-417:
thanks mike…
yeah… john smit has achieved a lot and earned an amazing career in rugby…. i don’t believe in picking for nostalgia’s sake… i really believe he is the right man for the job and playing his role to perfection…
and bissy is playing his to perfection too… albeit reluctantly at the moment
and as you correctly say… bissie will have his time and do very well…
i’d just like to caution everyone before they turn on bissy next year… that they can’t expect him to play at that level all game every game… it’s easier to come off the bench and give it your all for 20 or 30 minutes and than to do so for a full 80 every game…
and knowing how fickle our bok supporters can be… if he doesn’t play out of his skin every minute of every game people will/may turn against him in a flash…
only two guys play at that level game after game IMO… and that’s juan and schalk…
6 Oct 2011, 13:32 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-422:
sometimes when you bring the thunder you get lost in the storm.
I think Kenny and Boderick share the same hairdresser.
6 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-421:
aaah…… Gunther mi amigo
No viviendo en Espanol…. viviendo en Valencia!
What would you know as to what happens in a gym??
6 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
okay.. have the full cast on stage now… Gunther, Katman and Bod…
this is fair warning to all those drinking coffee…
stop it or it could soon be coming out your nose…!!
6 Oct 2011, 13:34 pm
the three amigos…
6 Oct 2011, 13:37 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-426:
Kenny who?
I tust he too has a perm then
6 Oct 2011, 13:38 pm
@Bod(bod)-427:
I read it on the news.
quod erat demonstrandum.
have you been arrested for wearing your cycling shorts in public yet?
what is spanish for muffin top?
6 Oct 2011, 13:43 pm
@Gunther(gunther)-431:
I have signed up with ETA…. la policia are too scared of me. You too should be
No se…. Tengo una mujer….
6 Oct 2011, 13:44 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-411: Madoda sithetha ngoba apha? Kwek, ingamla bayawuthanda amanyala!
6 Oct 2011, 13:44 pm
I actually Luv Dippy Divvy…
Any Bok coach who smites a dolly on a car bonnet in a dark car park and gets away with it has my vote.
Any Bok coach who says rugby is no game for ballerinas to a whinging bunch of BI Lions has my respect.
Any Bok coach who labels Warthog Januarie a Black Mechanic has my confidence.
Any Bok coach who rips apart the AB Macarena war dance just for fun and exposes the preciousness of Kiwis in general must be okay.
GO Dippy!!!
GO Barney!!!
GO Bokbefok!
MOER HULLE!!!
6 Oct 2011, 13:45 pm
apologies all…
put the weight of expectation upon their gold laméd shoulders…
stage fright…
now they appreciate the performance anxiety of the all blacks…
6 Oct 2011, 13:49 pm
@Bod(bod)-432:
what is eta?
some sort of terrorist organisation that aims for world domination by consuming all of its edible resources?
how many legs of jamon de jabugo have you kidnapped?
eta and drinka some more I say.
viva.
6 Oct 2011, 13:51 pm
rosita: i was thinking later, you could kiss me on the veranda…?
dusty bottoms: errr… on the lips would be fine…!!
6 Oct 2011, 14:09 pm
i hope no one reports me to the bloggers protection commission
for internet cruelty
for killing this thread…
6 Oct 2011, 14:09 pm
Lets face it….
There are no inbetweens here.
Dippy De Villiers will either go down as one of the greatest Bok coaches if he brings back Bill or an unmitigated disaster.
No normal Rugby playing nation on the planet would have appointed him coach of their elite national Rugby team in a million years, but then again Sout Africa is no normal Rugby playing nation.
He has made the strangest decisions and said the most fcked up things…
He is off the wall and probably slightly insane… But then again so was Winston Churchill.
There is something to him… He does have ballas and has been loyal to players…
6 Oct 2011, 14:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-439: what have the french done?
Which Top14 team or international team has Mark Lievremont ever coached before taking over the French National team?
6 Oct 2011, 14:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-439:
And he takes the pressure off his players by handling the media in the way he does.
6 Oct 2011, 14:19 pm
Smit and his ego, the man has no shame
6 Oct 2011, 14:21 pm
Nutter or genius…
In New Zealand, inquiries focused on how he planned to pep up his team for the Wellington Test. “I’ll tell them talk is cheap and money buys the whisky,” he smiled through world rugby’s most frightening moustache.
“You win some, you lose some,” De Villiers mused, before moaning about the opposition’s scrum tactics. “We just have to become illegal sometimes, too.”
As for CJ van der Linde being replaced, that was serious. “He was hit in the larynx and that’s why he had to come off. He was sounding like me.”
But it was all okay. “There is a quiet positiveness that we lost it rather than they won it,” he waxed.
De Villiers admitted that Dan Carter had been tackled late, but he defended the game’s robust nature. “I know dancing is also a contact sport, but rugby is far from dancing. If you want to run with the big dogs then sometimes you have to lift your leg.”
Criticism of roughhouse Bok tactics was over the top, he railed: “This kind of thing is as old as Noah, but it’s great how they have now picked up things that have been part of rugby for a hundred years.”
He declared war on the Wallabies and vowed that he would wake up alive on Test morning. On a roll, he explained to the gathered media corps. “What we try to tell them is when you point your finger into the sky, don’t concentrate on the finger because you’ll miss all the heavenly glory out there. Concentrate on the heavenly glory that you can bring and make yourselves so fulfilled.”
People were curious about how the Boks had celebrated the rare away victory over the All Blacks. As ever, De Villiers had the answer. “We went wild, wild, wild — some of the guys went wilder than that.
“South Africans are normally great people and we’ll take the bitter with the sweet. It’s only the guys who don’t feel part of that bitter or that sweet that will always moan and groan and say: ‘Why do they go so wild?’ Join in, we’ve got enough stuff to share with you.”
“I was appointed to make rugby decisions. I promised to be honest and focus on rugby. We never said it was going to be a perfect world. If you look at the Bible, Joseph started out in the pit and ended up in the palace. There was a moerse lot of kak in between.”
“There’s little difference between winning and losing, except that one feels better after winning,” he declared after losing in Durban last week. He later warned that when the Boks finally grasped his methods, someone was going “to get a hiding”.
“The same people who threw their robes on the ground when ***** rode on a donkey were the same people who crowned him and hit him with sticks and stuff like that, and were the same people who said afterwards how we shouldn’t have done that, he’s the son of God,” de Villiers said. “So that’s exactly what we do. You have to look at history is repeating itself, and I’m not saying that I’m God.”
“If I listened to 43 million opinions, I believe I would be lost. I’m not concerned about Ricky’s form. Look, if you go to a black mechanic and he doesn’t fix your car, you don’t go back. If you go to a white mechanic and he doesn’t fix your car, you go back and make sure he fixes the problem. What I am saying is give Ricky a chance.’’
When asked whether he encouraged eye-gouging. “If we want to eye gouge lions, we’ll go down to the bushveld and eye gouge them there, then see if they can haul us in.”
Still on Burger’s eye-gouging incident. “If you are going to complain about every incident we might as well go to a ballet shop and all get tutus.”
On his coaching prowess. “If I’m the weakest link then we are bloody strong. I’m a God-given talent. I am the best I can be. I know what I am and I don’t give a damn.”
6 Oct 2011, 14:23 pm
@David(David)-353:
“UNIX Dead”?
IBM contracted out its UNIX Div in 2005 to a clutch of new companies, I know 3 guys who moved out ibm then to join these new companies as consultants/specialist
They are all doing so well, can’t even retire because the new commers have no clue, no capabilities no intelect nor aptitude to work and support this system which is vital to banking, defence, science and commerce, let alone engineering!
6 Oct 2011, 14:24 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-440: Lievremont is an unmitigated disaster… That is why he has been fired by the French.
They acknowledge that he is a mistake of monumental proportions. From the administrators to the players… From the media to the public…
Nearly unanimous.
6 Oct 2011, 14:28 pm
@willievz(willievz)-441: Handling the media in a unique way that is obviously planned…
6 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-443: now do a similar retrospective quote selection on marc lievremont. go ahead
6 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-446: Yeah, obviously…
6 Oct 2011, 14:30 pm
R.I.P. Steve Jobs. A true genius.
6 Oct 2011, 14:30 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-445: six nations winner and now an unmitigated disaster, since when?
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 22 » Show All