KeoTV: Boks are going home
7 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE says the Wallabies will end the Springboks’ four-year reign as world champions in Wellington on Sunday.
18 Jun 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Rather a scrap than a sensational effort against a courageous but limited Scotland. The Springbok coaching staff gained more because of the struggle against Scotland and there certainly won’t be complacency against Samoa. South African rugby supporters tend to be reactionary and very different in their reactions every weekend. When New Zealand struggled to beat France in the first Test in Auckland and South Africa were brilliant in patches against Italy many on social networks expressed confidence ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article7 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE says the Wallabies will end the Springboks’ four-year reign as world champions in Wellington on Sunday.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Wales scored a last-minute try to sneak in for an 18-17 win over the Baby Boks in their Junior World...Read More
The Boks will not become the No 1 team on the planet until they become the world's leading team at...Read More
SARugbymag.co.za asked HSM sports editorial director GARY LEMKE and junior sports writer GARETH DUNCAN: Have the Sharks made the right...Read More
The Brumbies held on for a 14-12 win over the British & Irish Lions, having led 8-3 at the break....Read More
Brian van Zyl did an excellent job as Sharks CEO during his 19 years in charge, writes MIKE GREENAWAY in...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

599 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
7 Oct 2011, 06:49 am
Please can PDV come out in the press and confirm that JS will ONLY play hooker and that when he is blowing at 50mins he will be subbed ?? If he can give us that there is hope.
Spies and FdP better man the f*ck up on Sunday as they have been pussies in 2011. I would be happier with Shalk at 8 and FH at 9 …. and thats an untested combo !! Hope they prove me wrong…
7 Oct 2011, 06:50 am
@bananas(bananas)-51:
No i think you are right
7 Oct 2011, 06:56 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-50: So why has he agreed to switch to TH on so many occassions ? Too much time at the trough, he knows he is not no1 hooker in SA so that was his role of the dice NOT PdVs …. his win-loss ratio as capt has gone to **** since Lions/3N in 09 so that is also bollox.
Sorry but the example has to be set at the top and he should have stepped aside for the sake of the team as PdV doesnt have the guts or intelligence to sort out the leadership.
7 Oct 2011, 06:57 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-50: Ja, I really don’t get it. The team is bigger than the man.
7 Oct 2011, 07:04 am
We will do well in scrums
Win more lineout ball
Pocock will leave early
and there 12/13 are weak
7 Oct 2011, 07:05 am
that’s it
End of the F’ng road chaps .., end of the f’ng line.., this time Keohane is right. Smit is the last straw that breaks the Bokkies backs, you cannot ignore the absolute dynamism of players such as Bismark Alberts Beast and Hougaard and favor the fckups of Smit Spies FdP over them and still expect to come away with ANOTHER miracle even though they saved your bloody arse vs Wales first game up, as if ONE miracle isn’t enough of a golden lifeline in such a knife edge competition. This time the selection of Smit over Bismark is gonna drive that last nail deep into the Boks disconsolate coffin, and they coming home.
What a f’ng hopelessly inept and cowardly fckup of a decision.., that’s the end of the road.., John Smit will be remembered as the overweight overrated straw that broke the Boks backs in the quarter final of the 2011 WC. Congratulations you get wtf you so richly deserve, stupidity entrenched hero worship reliance has fckd the Boks best chance outa sight. Pathetic!!
7 Oct 2011, 07:13 am
bananas is right Smit shoulda walked just like Juan Smith put the team first ahead of his ambitions Smit shoulda put the team first and stepped aside for Bismark and Beast
Now its too late Boks are fckd and they coming home, you don’t get baled out of a fckup of a decision TWICE in a world cup campaign.. End of the line Boks coming home because of ONE Fckng idiot has been of a player who has become bigger than the team.. John Smit will be remembered as the idiot that couldn’t put his team first ahead of himself dumb fck useless palooka dreary dumb fck!
7 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
The fck Keo is supporting the Aussies. Hope you wearing yellow undies to match you frikken belly…
7 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-16: Snap, hopefully its another wrong prediction from Keo but I think this might be one he gets right for a change. The game against Samoa just made me realise that we had’nt learnt anything in terms of tactics. We cant just defend for 80min against top opposition and expect to win and not suffer heaps of injuries in the process.
7 Oct 2011, 07:21 am
Sonny Wool (the prediction sheep) picked the boks to take this one. Also backed england, ireland and NZ to go through. Pretty spot on.
Clever sheep this, take some tips keo.
7 Oct 2011, 07:21 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-57: and if they win?
7 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
@poethklapp7(poethklapp7)-60: Yeah I agree with Sonny Wool on Ireland…Dark Horse?
7 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
Jeez boys, slow down. Give them a chance hey? Being a coach/expert/critic is one thing, but calling the Boks kak is maybe a bit rough. But then again I suppose the biggest critics on here played heaps of Test rugby, and retired at exactly the right time with all the biggest trophies and player awards/accolades…
7 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-57:
Are you a saffa?
7 Oct 2011, 07:30 am
and Kobus Kitty is right too he may not be right about many things but about Smit and Spies Kobus Kitty is 100 % right spot on nail on the head and in its f’ng coffin.
Hope he does go to the airport and does the deserved deed he’s suggested cause by God it will be thoroughly deserved.
7 Oct 2011, 07:32 am
@Monty(Monty)-3: errrm…. the ABs were beaten by the Wallabies too. (And the AB team that was beaten by the Boks was only their B team…)
7 Oct 2011, 07:33 am
I had my doubts about this game. But now that humpty dumpty has called it for the aussies there can only be one result.
7 Oct 2011, 07:34 am
This is Branded Entertainment, folks. Don’t forget that. Mark is the voice of Marshall Betting Sharks. And the house must never lose. So while he’s good for their business (making the punters lose money), you’re better off following that psychic merino if you want any measure of accuracy.
7 Oct 2011, 07:34 am
@Test
The welsh are looking pretty good but I think ireland found their game. a great loose forward battle. Gonna be a rwc classic this one!
7 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
We are right to be nervous. It is a 50-50 game, the kind we live for. What makes this game a different proposition is the boks have been together as a squad for a few weeks. We are a side that often takes a few games for us to gel properly. The other factor is the question of nerve. The Boks have the temperament to deal with the occasion. Whether the Wallabies do has yet to be seen.
7 Oct 2011, 07:40 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-23: No such player as Brussouw. There’s a Brussow, though.
7 Oct 2011, 07:42 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-71: Incorrect, pilgrim. It’s Brüssow. Look and learn – you’ll get there.
@ Slarti. Just like there is no such word as errrm.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-71: Brüssow, actually.
7 Oct 2011, 07:44 am
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-12: dis + appear = disappear. Not dissapear.
7 Oct 2011, 07:46 am
@Esoteric(Esoteric)-74: Spot on — I ignore umlauts. Too fussy. But well done, gute umlautner!
7 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
But what if you are disrespecting a pear?
7 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-73: “errrm” isn’t a word. It’s a noise.
7 Oct 2011, 07:48 am
@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-58: Its called being objective, we all support the Boks but are frustrated at the lack of professionalism.
Nothing wrong with being beaten by a better team, but if the planning and selection weakens our team the criticsm is more than justified.
It is not being unpatriotic, this unfortunatly has been JS nice little duck whenever he comes up short on the pitch, he is just serving his country ! And collecting a few hundred thousand Rand along the way. And for that matter when you take the kings shilling you take the sh*t that comes with it.
7 Oct 2011, 07:48 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-77: You say, “Bah humbug! Foul pear! I blow my nose at you! Pah!”
7 Oct 2011, 07:49 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-75: f*ck + off = ?
7 Oct 2011, 07:49 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-76: Too fussy.
Ha ha ha!
7 Oct 2011, 07:50 am
Boks by 12.
Hope these naysayers log on Sunday morning.
got fckall to do with nervousness got everything to do with outright dumb fck stupidity. Favoring Smit over Bismark and Beast gotta be THE most stupid f’ng decision ANY rugby coach has ever made.. Right up there with favoring Skinstadt and De Beer over Teichman and Honibal
Pdv will be remembered as the idiot that couldn’t ditch his overrated captain for the sake of the team same way as Mallet couldn’t put team first in a converse type situation and realized his mistake after the fact so will Pdv realize his, if he hasn’t done so already.
@Richie_7(Richie_7)-81: No. Pah!
7 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
Tackles. You don’t do fussy?
7 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-85: HAHAHAHAHA
7 Oct 2011, 07:52 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-76: If you want to create an umlaut, you have to break some eggs. And therein lies the problem. You don’t have any.
7 Oct 2011, 07:56 am
i must say i apreciate the fact that keo chose to give the wallabies the ‘kiss of keo’ and not the boks.
he may in fact be a loyal supporter after all and not a manchurian candidate as i had suspected.
7 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
Boks by 4.
7 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-84: And what will you be remembered for? Mallet cocked up royally and everybody knows it, but the man is still out there coaching International sides and giving input, unlike Jake who won a world cup and 4 years later lands his first proper coaching role looking after an Australian S15 side.
Give the guys a break, it’s not as if you have a WC medal or any other rugby award for that matter which somehow makes you a expert on the subject. No matter what has happened in the last year, 6 months, 3 weeks, all that matters is the 80 minutes on Sunday. And until they’ve actually played. and if they stuff up, why get all worked up based on assumptions based on past games? They might just surprise you and have a blinder, and then what?
7 Oct 2011, 07:58 am
An Indian called Asham Poopaloo
Drank beer and went to the bar loo
He met a big yarpie
Who called him an apie
And biffed him, ooh, square on the naloo.
7 Oct 2011, 08:01 am
The weather will play a big part in the out come of this game!
And I think the weather will suit the Boks style of play slightly more than it will Australia.
If the Boks can get everything right on the day I think they can win it!
The Ozzies will be under huge pressure at scrum time!
7 Oct 2011, 08:03 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-88: But I don’t want to create an umlaut so I don’t.
Indians can’t fight! wtf! nogal moer a yarpie. Its like Sonny Bill moering a deaf disabled 69 year old hobo! pick on your size mate! Try Bakkies!
tackles and objectivity are about as natural a fit as all blacks and world cups…
7 Oct 2011, 08:04 am
@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-58:
7 Oct 2011, 08:04 am
Well hope our Boks don’t read here. What a load of doom and gloom nonsense. Keo we will be sending you the Minister of Sport if you talk our Boks down again….hehe.
We should be getting behind our team and pumping them up not bringing them down.
So yes, our biggest weakness is our 9/10/12 channel. But who says that FdP and JdV will not step up for this game? JdV sure is not in the class of Fransie, but will have seen how Fransie changed things playing at 12 he will have learned something. FdP was always world class. He is a better player than he has been. He gets up for this game and so does JdV then Morne will be fine. Otherwise we have Butch on the bench.
Boks by 1 or 5. I don’t care how we win, we will win it. Ugly or very ugly who damn well cares. We here to win the cup.
WE NOT GOING HOME THIS THIS SUNDAY.
Go Bokke Go
7 Oct 2011, 08:05 am
@Peter_Davies_must_never_cum_to_my_gym_at_Virgin_Active_CPT(p0ppa69)-95: Bakkies can’t even walk without a zimmer frame.
7 Oct 2011, 08:06 am
@bananas(bananas)-79: for sure but my point is that we haven’t lost but we are already crucifying JS/Snor and everyone else. JS is a better scrummager and better line out exponent that Bissie. Bissie is better on the ground and in the loose. So who would you want when the game is tight and who would you want when the game is loose and the opposition are tiring? As long as we don’t move JS to prop I’m happy. By the same argument I would probably swap Spies and Alberts…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All