Mils to join 100 club

Mils Muliaina will earn his 100th cap for New Zealand when he starts against Argentina in Sunday’s quarter-final at Eden Park.

Israel Dagg has been omitted from the match 22 due to a thigh injury. Graham Henry has also opted for Cory Jane and Sonny Bill Williams on the wings, with Ma’a Nonu returning to partner Conrad Smith in midfield. Piri Weepu is favoured as the starting No 9.

Richie McCaw will lead the side, while Brad Thorn and Keven Mealamu return to bolster the pack.

Aaron Cruden will make his first World Cup appearance from the bench.

New Zealand - 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu,11 Sonny Bill Williams, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Ali Williams, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Isaia Toeava.