PdV’s misplaced loyalty could cost Boks

JON CARDINELLI writes that Peter de Villiers has failed the Springboks by favouring John Smit over Bismarck du Plessis.

‘Don’t be surprised if Bismarck starts the big games,’ a source close to the team told me last week. By that point, Smit had started the Boks’ first three World Cup matches, but there was still a strong belief that Du Plessis would wear the No 2 jersey in the play-offs.

Before Thursday, Du Plessis had pledged his support to his mentor and captain, although privately he may have expected to start the big games. When the team to play against Namibia was named, Du Plessis told an Irish journalist that he’d accepted his role as Smit’s understudy, but following the announcement of the Boks’ quarter-final line-up, he cut a dejected figure at the team hotel.

When he was interviewed, there was none of the good humour that had characterised his media offerings earlier in the tournament. There was also a rumour that he’d reacted badly to the news that he would be riding the bench, and that the head coach was unimpressed with this reaction.

De Villiers calls it a bad attitude, I call it a bad decision. Not for the first time in the last four years, the Bok coach has favoured Smit over Du Plessis even though it’s become increasingly evident that Smit can no longer meet the standards of an international hooker, let alone match the trend-setting Du Plessis.

Smit is also no longer the indispensable leader he was during De Villiers’s early years. On the 2010 tour to the Home Nations, Victor Matfield proved himself to be a capable leader in Smit’s absence. When he was handed the responsibility at this World Cup, Matfield admitted that the captaincy wasn’t as demanding when you had leaders like Bryan Habana (73 caps), Jean de Villiers (71), Jaque Fourie (68), Schalk Burger (67), Danie Rossouw (62) and Fourie du Preez (61) in the side.

There can be a case made for Habana’s exclusion, but the rest of these players deserve their places regardless of their age. The same cannot be said of Smit, and you have to wonder if the reasons around his selection are truly rugby related.

There will never be another John Smit. He’s already the most decorated Bok captain of all time, and his achievements are all the more remarkable given what he’s had to endure from an off-the-field perspective.

It was during the turbulent times of 2008 and 2009, when De Villiers was at his controversy-inciting worst, that Smit needed all of his experience and diplomacy, and behind the scenes, Smit worked to ensure the right calls were made in terms of selection and tactics. While he had already achieved so much prior to 2008, his value and contributions during the first two seasons of De Villiers’ tenure should never be underestimated.

When I interviewed Smit in April 2010, he told me that he would continue to put the team first. He said that the time may come where he would need to step aside, either to warm the bench or support the team as a non-playing squad member. He said this with conviction, and his past deeds both on and off the field gave me no reason to doubt that he would make good on his promise.

I couldn’t help but think about that conversation when Smit was announced as the starting hooker for this Sunday’s quarter-final against the Wallabies. The senior players have a big say in selection and strategy, and so I felt Smit’s selection didn’t align with his commitment to put the team first. By marching on as the starting No 2, he is doing the Boks no favours. By standing in the way of Du Plessis, he is, ironically, doing his country a disservice.

De Villiers will also need to accept responsibility for this situation. He may feel that he owes Smit something but the reality is that a Bok coach should always place the needs of the team above the needs of individuals.

Du Plessis is right to feel aggrieved. The best player won’t start in the No 2 jersey this Sunday, and this decision could cost the Boks’ in the decisive battle up front. It could cost the team everything they’ve worked for over the past four years and lead to an embarrassing quarter-final exit on par with that of Rudolph Straeuli’s side of 2003.

Through the weak management of De Villiers and Smit’s refusal to face the fact that he’s a spent force, the rugby world has been denied the privilege of seeing Du Plessis in his prime on the greatest stage of all. From a South African perspective, the decision to favour Smit has robbed the Boks of the stronger, more dynamic starting option, and it’s likely to be a decision the entire nation will come to lament.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

717 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1315 » Show All

• 351.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-346:

If we lose there will be NO I told you so’s
    .. I’m telling you NOW so there are NO I told you so’s after the fact….

If we win I’ll be happy as a lark and a pig in sh’t.. even though Smit don’t deserve it the rest of the team DO…

But if we LOSE there’ll be no I told you so’s because I’m telling you so NOW not after it transpires in real time action.

• 352.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-347: Yeah, Warburton had a game of note against the Boks. To be honest, he maybe shaded Ratel in the 2nd half, with Ratel being on top in the first.

Would have enjoyed seeing him up against Pocock, but not to be. I reckon he will give a slight edge to Wales in their game against Ireland.

• 353.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-349:

France for two reasons. England imo has been utter **** so far and is living of a prayer. France has basically told their coach to **** off and they will be going into this match and play for each other.

That to me will make them super dangerous, and super motivated. Now a motivated (emotional) France will go one of two ways, play one of the best games you will ever witness or implode complete – I am gambling on the prior.

Ireland, well for the very reason why certain teams do well in RWC even though other teams play prettier rugby.

Wales play pretty rugby, Ireland plays a suffocating game. They have a brilliant pack, a dead-eye **** goal kicker and overall, a very experienced team. They will suffocate a Welsh team that will look to speed everything up. For my money, a bit of a replay where and how Ireland beat the flashy Aussies.

• 354.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-351: Well, I’m telling you now you are wrong.

Wrong in facts…

Wrong in sentiment…

• 355.JL1: Reply to this comment

If old Smit was not pulled of the Wales game we would have lost that test

• 356.JL1: Reply to this comment

Dagg will be the RwC top try scorer

• 357.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-353: Yeah. The French. Reminds me a bit of the 99 WC when they were in disarray and then Lamaison and co suddenly played the one of the best 2nd halves of rugger ever against the ABs. But they play against England, and England seem to have a knack of knowing how to beat the French at RWC’s. Agree about the way England have been playing – utter rubbish. I would love France to win but against England they always seem to fall short in RWC.

I reckon Wales have some steel in their pack that has been missing for years. Yes, they do tend to play the pretty stuff but I just get this sense that Wales are a team about to come of age. If they beat Ireland I really believe they will make the final. It also helps them playing against a NH side – it will give them belief which sometimes is lacking against a SH side.

I hope you’re right about France though – the absolute woe and whinging in the papers over here will be highly entertaining :lol:

• 358.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-355: Now THERE is a FACT

all this other half kak garbage these Smittyfied poeftaheid arsecreeps wanna try sell you is the BIGGEST LOAD of half kak poeftaheid KRAP

Wales will take Ireland and France CAN take England but depends the strength of their mentality and resolve

SA don’t deserve to beat Aussie due to their FCKD UP selection policies and NZ will clean up Argy…

• 359.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-350:

Bissie’s ‘attitude’ (what has been discussed in this thread a bit) reminds me quite a bit of another player (very good player and in top form at the time) about 3 years or so ago.

A certain Luke Watson.

I wonder if the same people rooting for Bissie over John today are the same that rooted for for Luke back then (I know some are) – or was team dynamic (Luke being disruptive) only important back then and it is not something that is important now?

• 360.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-359: you another one of these kiss arse goody three shoes lets do it for the cappy boys kinda guys.. oh well No wonder boks can’t win a fckng game of tiddly winks under that piece of lardass poefta these days.. its all about KISSING F’NG ARSE..!!

• 361.JL1: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-358: No Skop

Wales will slip, they do not have the nerve in tight games

Watch the Boks, we are 2 players away from clicking

Aussies picked the wrong ones.McCabe is a carthorse, Digby will play with a broken finger and Sharpe and Elsom as see better days

Elsom has really lost pace

• 362.JL1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-359: No words of a split camp at all

Those are all stories made up, Bissy is singing Smits praises

• 363.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-361: You have a point over Wobbly selection… I am not sure if Deans has got it right… He certainly has made a few strange selections.

• 364.malcolm: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-359: I do not think it is the same. Watson was forced into the squad by politicians whereas Bismarck based soley on playing ability probably does merit starting. I do think though some of these attacks on Smit are disgusting. He is one of our most successful captains has been at the helm for a World Cup and 2 tri-nations victories and now some feel he is a loser! What utter rubbish.

• 365.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-361:

If we YANK Smit early enough we have a chance.. if we don’t we’re toast… get him Off as soon as the first cracks appear and there’s a faint glimmer of hope.. play him into 60 minutes we could be in deep trouble.. hopefully we still in strike distance by the time he is off…

• 366.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

I was never in the Watson camp pa, not sure how you can compare the two. Bissie is pissed because he knows he’s good enough and wants to play. Watson is a man of agendas who’s never been as good as his fans believe.

• 367.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Many say that there are other disruptive personalities in this Bok squad. They say it is the selectors who play as well. Not sure who they are though! ;)

• 368.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Good to see you here, PA. Remember you talking sense here when my nic was Cheetahs or something like that 5 years ago. One of the few.

• 369.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-360:

The day you decide to engage someone in a civilized (nevermind readable) manner is the day I take whatever you say more seriously. But as for your statement, I don’t know Smit, never met him, which means there is no point in kissing any ***.

@JL1(JL1)-362:

Mate you saw as well as I do Bissie’s kak attitude when he was subbed in PE – no matter how anyone wants to paint that, it is **** like that which divides a team. Subsequent to that quotes in the media on his ‘feelings’ regarding issues does not take a genius to figure out he does not agree with how he is treated.

My argument against Watson at the time was very similar – stupendously talented player, but a kak attitude and when it comes down to it, rugby is a team game.

Bissie is not the first rugby player that had to wait in line behind another player in a team setup, he will not be the last. But in a team environment you count on the guy next to you to have your back all the time, and for my money, Bissie is all about Bissie first, and team second.

• 370.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369:

Good to see you mate, I still pop in but not as often as I would like to – it is just a bloody crazy time of the year for me.

• 371.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-28: If only JS had your sense of patriotism and integrity.THEN HE WOULD HAVE STEPPED DOWN.

• 372.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369:

You are one of the most respected bloggers here, but Bissie is not the only players who puts his own interests first. There is one in particular. I want to win this one for me. I owe it to myself. Ring a bell…

• 373.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Players complementing each other means a happy squad? Next thing they’ll say politicians denying rumours always tell the truth.

• 374.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369: Have you ever been subbed?

• 375.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

look, john will start right, now consider that if we open up a good lead and in fact increase it to a great ffukken lead in the 2nd half then it is my view that bismarck du plessis should not even come on at all.

just let john close out the game in such a scenario, unless this is likely to tire him out too much for the next game. if thats the case then sub him. bissy will make another world cup at worst or get game time against nz or whoever we meet in the final at best.

• 376.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-375: 100% right.

• 377.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369: excellent post (both replies within your post).

• 378.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-375: agreed.

• 379.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-364: I agree that some of the attacks on Smit are disgusting.

• 380.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-365: I disagree with this post.

• 381.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-372:

You can then count Vic, Bakkies, Jean, Mossie, FDP, Habana, Schalk, JPP, and just about all the senior players (and RWC winners of 2007) that made this commitment to one another in 2009 in the same category.

They all believe(d) they are capable of something great – they might (have been) be right still – time will tell.

I don’t regard myself in a position or as an authority to question what they believe they are capable of doing, hell they have been there and gotten most t-shirts, I am just a dude with an opinion on a blog!

One thing I do know however is that belief is 90% of the journey, the other 10% is the physical stuff.

I am just never going to be arrogant enough to tell them ‘prove me wrong’, I am much happier ‘telling them’; “Okay, if you believe you can do it, best of luck, and I am going to support you 100%”

• 382.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-359: yes, many who dislike Smit, like Watson.

I can see the parallels.

• 383.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-352: I reckon Ireland will beat Wales, just a hunch.

• 384.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-374:

Not just that, I have made the call to sub individuals – when subbed I understood that is what the guy in charge thought was best for the team and I never took it personally. When I made the call, I wanted my players to know the same thing.

• 385.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-376:
    @wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-378:

of course if the boks win the thing that way the domestos haters will say it was despite john playing that they won it.

personally, i’d love for john to take that one into the history books.

‘the first and, to date, only captain of a rugby team to have won not one but two world cups despite himself’…wowsers…..

• 386.malcolm: Reply to this comment

If we lose it will be because Matfield and Rossouw could not impose themselves on the Aussies and get us acendancy in the tight phases. Both are good players and will do nothing wrong but I feel that neither fill the Aussies with terror. Bakkies was probably as big a loss for us as Carter was for NZ if he could have captured some of his old form for even 50 minutes against Australia we may have been able to do to their pack what Ireland did. This would have made Steyn a factor. Failing this Steyn becomes our potential weak link offering little on attack or defence and there is no doubt the Aussies given good possession will target him. A frontrow with Smit targeting the Aussies in the scrums also make rugby sense as this is one of Australia’s weaknesses against N. Hemisphere teams over the years.

• 387.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-381:

Fair enough and I agree. Many bloggers wrote a lot of rubbish about Luke and now that Smit is in the firing line, all is well. I want the team to win the Webb-Ellis and wish all the guys well. But like you say it is about opinions and when some people offer theirs they become haters or trolls.

Smit I believe has gone one season too far and Bissie is way better than him in my and most people’s opinions.

• 388.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Folks I must take leave now, I will try and pop in later again – but take care, enjoy the rugby this weekend and Go Boks!

• 389.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369: What are you basing your facts on?His anger when he was subbed??You have nothing to support your argument. Maybe being subbed was not even the reason he was annoyed.Comparing his to the LW saga is so far from reality it is laughable.You have one incident where a guy looks angry when subbed and you feel he is eroding the spirit of his team.?Come on!!! Bismarck has done very little wrong.It is the posts on this site that make him look bad.

• 390.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369: yeah I kinda thought as much you far too ‘respectable’ to actually tell it like it IS

You the kind of goody four shoes guy who don’t know how to play your guts out (much like Smit) and then you the first to call someone ‘disruptive’ because he wears his heart on his sleeve for giving it EVERYTHING he’s got..

You the kinda old school ponce that believes rugby is all about blazers and toff hats and jolly good show old chap stiff upper lip up your whatsit we doing it for the guvner so we don’t count we simply come LAST in the pecking order so lets just do or die and don’t ask any questions whats the reason for..

Yeah you wouldn’t know a bust for glory kinda real rugby player if he whipped your good for nothing goody two shoes arse…

• 391.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369:

Sure, Bissy may be doing a bit od a “Wayne Rooney” at the moment. Give him a break. I can tell you, when he comes on the field, his boetie and the other boys are going to ALL show their appreciation of his presence. Total Onslaught! These Vrystaat broers do not deserve to be divided by an unwilling imposter.

• 392.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-388:

Cheers mate.

• 393.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

And GO IRELAND!! I lived in Dublin for two years. I have never met more genuine and humble people.

• 394.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-387:

Mate is not just rugby, it is life.

I read an interesting quote today which might apply.

“Getting knocked down is part of life, these day, so is getting up. What will define you however, is how you get up”

• 395.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-386:
    yip, danie and schalk will have to step up big time to make up for bakkies. not holding out for spies to get a groove going in any of the tight loose stuff but do hope he at least runs hard and straighter more than he does diagonally.
    i’ve got a feeling gurthro is gonna be huge in cleaning out and ball carrrying.

• 396.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Reckon PA knows far more about rugby than the broken clock skopskiet!

• 397.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-394:

Too true.

• 398.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@malcolm(malcolm)-386: Good post!

• 399.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

yip i’m out,

but before i go, to all the haters i just wanna say: you tjops!…
    to all the player23 ‘no matter what’ supporters i just wanna say: you tops…

go bokke!
    go for bakkies, because he would go for you…

• 400.JL1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-369: How come he sang Smits praises?.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1315 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.