Bye Bye England

MARK KEOHANE reports from Auckland on another famous French World Cup win.

For once New Zealanders could appreciate it when a group of French rugby players get that mad look in their eye, defy logic, form and common sense and win a rugby game in which few gave them a chance.

France usually reserves the unexpected for the All Blacks (1999 and 2007) but against a limp England passion and patience was enough of a Saturday night drink to daze England and make them look like the rugby drunks they have been all tournament.

France won 19-12 and could have had more points, but for two missed penalties and two missed conversions. They led 16-0 in a first 40 when England came close to scoring in the last movement of the half but never exerted enough pressure to even win a penalty kick at posts.

The French pack was superior and individually hooker William Servat and No 8 Imanol Harinordoquy were immense, especially in the first hour. Scrumhalf Dimitri Yachvilli played conductor in that period in which France triumped because of bloody mindedness more than brilliance. It was similar to the win against the All Blacks in 2007 because this was a grind in the last quarter, but the two matches don’t rate in comparison.

French captain Thierry Dusautoir said as much afterwards, telling the media that in 2007 France had beaten the best team in the world to advance to the semi-finals, but this was not the case at Eden Park.

England are a poor side. They beat Argentina 13-9 and needed 75 minutes to subdue the Pumas. They then needed a 78th minute try to beat Scotland 16-12 and up until the 78th minute against France they trailed 19-7.

England losing is good riddance. They were diabolical on the night, as they have been all tournament. Coach Martin Johnson thought otherwise and applauded the courage of his team. He felt England were the more creative team and that the difference was France took their limited chances and scored early. England, he said, were always chasing the game and were lacking in composure. But he added this was the England team of the future and that he (as coach) wasn’t planning on going anywhere in a hurry.

England, in 2007, were bad in losing to South Africa 36-0 but upstaged Australia 12-10 in the quarter-final before edging France. In the final they were a poor second to the Boks.

In four years little has been advanced in this England team. The Boks and All Blacks have smashed them by record margins in London, the Wallabies have beaten them in London and Wales, Ireland, Scotland and France have also enjoyed success against a side that has never settled on a pattern of play. Neither has Johnson ever had the conviction to axe those who played with him in the 2003 World Cup success in Australia.

Hero of the 2003 World Cup victory Jonny Wilkinson was among those Johnson refused to give up on, but the once great kicker was a shadow of the player who won England the World Cup with a right footed drop goal. Wilkinson, so plagued by injury in the last five years, kicked at 60 percent at the 2007 World Cup in France and he ended this tournament with the worst goalkicking average of the leading kickers with just 10 from 20.

Johnson subbed him on the hour and he will not play for England again. It was a cruel way for him to go, but there was nothing cruel about the manner of English defeat.

England, on the night, were dire and a Marc Cueto try in the 78th minute added to the illusion this was a close match. It never was. England were never in the game and only referee Steve Walsh’s charity ensured they stayed in the game. Walsh penalised France 11 times in the last hour before finally giving the victors a penalty in the last minute.

England at this World Cup have been a disgrace in the way they behaved and played. The tournament is the richer for their departure. Wales will play France in what should be a magnificent World Cup semi-final match.

1,082 Comments

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 2122 » Show All

• 751.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-739: this is the 2nd most bizarre comment of the day. Reckon it offers far more insight into the poster than the intended “victim” of the post.

• 752.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-742: Of course he does. Smit has big power in that squad, along with his other jocksniffers Victor, FDP, Habana etc, living off past glories. The coach is a muppet and Muir more interested in scoring off the field so what do you expect.

• 753.cane: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-748:

I agree, it is unthinkable.

The dignity of the man prohibits such crass behaviour.

• 754.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-724: Jeez but you are a nasty person, Captain Fantastic to wear the opposition down for 50/60 minutes then Bissie to come on and finish them off. excellent plan by the coaching staff.

• 755.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-744: i completely disagree, i can’t believe that the entire SARFU would allow that to happen, to big a money machine, John is a legend in many peoples mind and will continue to be, and we are three matches(god willing-inshallah) from making history, on no small part of him.

• 756.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-750: a post in poor taste.

• 757.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-754: Good, positive post.

• 758.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-747:

I have been a supporter of Smit. However the last two years have been a joke. He should have retired on top at the end of the Tri-Nations in 2009.

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-748:

Educated guess. He is a senior player and has a huge say in the team.

• 759.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-755: well said, sir/madam!

• 760.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-758: you don’t seem very well educated, then.

• 761.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-756: I’m sorry are you the poor taste internet police?

Would you prefer a nice lump of ignore the arrogance and petulance of our aptain with your tea?

No, sorry, enough is enough. Time out on being nice with this Captain Ego. The man has no shame and his supporters blind.

• 762.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-745:

I wouldnt say that was “unfortunate”, as such.

More like 1 of the perk’s of this job.

Im still awaiting your 1st original intelligent comment. Now that really IS unfortunate.

• 763.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-754:

I’m just realistic. Okay, how about we just have Bismarck on the field for 80 minutes? John can sit on the bench, in the coaching box or even be the water boy with Percy. And once Bismarck is done ramming some convicts head over and over again into moosh, John can have his picture taken lifting the world cup with his oh so practiced straight back and picture perfect smile. Cpt. Fantastic.

• 764.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-736: Nama did you see how Ireland started out in this tourney? They were not great at all. Then along came the game against Oz and they lifted their game and Oz was beaten. I for sure never expected. Cause Oz were without some key players. which probably they needed for that game.

Pocock
    Moore
    Digby

They are all back for our game though.

Anyhow we can all differ on the way we see a upset. But for me the only REAL upset was Ireland beating Oz.

Oz being the 3Nation champs. Reds being the S15 champs. Plenty of their players in the Wallabie side. So one would definitely have picked Oz to win. But never knew Oz would be that vunerable without those 3 players. Everyone thought Oz would be on the otherside playing Wales today and getting to the final easy. Now their route has changed because of the upset making them having to play another route.

Okay enough of that. We differ the way we see it but that is fine… :)

Just hope we klap Oz tomorrow. One point will be enough. So a small klap will be fine… :)

• 765.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

mate @goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-752: i repeat do you remember what happened in 99 when we dropped a PROPER captain for the show pony skinstad, bobby did wonderful things as a sub, but failed over 80 minutes, no different to bizzie, he is doing wonderful things as a sub, and could do wonderful things in 80 minutes, but the word could is what makes it a risk, we know what we get with smit, then sub bismark!

• 766.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-691:
    Ag wat man, you are really not worth it.

Go fly a kite…or something

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-706:
    “@nama1(nama1)-685:We are not on the same wave length hear buddy.That’s not what called myself.”

OK, so this is what you said in your blogs.

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-636:
    “Come on Peter (without the i) De Villers, do it for the Hotnotte.”

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-706:
    “That is not a term I use often but I feel it is very relevant at this exact juncture, me being one.”

Me thinks you called yourself a hottie right here.

Apologise to yourself and refrain from using the term on an open blog like this. If you want to call yourself such around the braai in your private space, go ahead. Just don’t do it on an open blog like this.

People have been banned for using that very term and I’m sure you would feel offended if somebody calls you by that term here..

• 767.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-762: you may be a man into your forties but you certainly have the brain of a child.

Most would label that “unfortunate”.

• 768.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-764: vunerable = vulnerable

• 769.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-766: rather ignore, in future. Dankie.

• 770.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

why are the kiwi trolls out in such force today? match day is tomorrow…

• 771.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-765: Hmmm, I guess you didn’t notice the Sharks then this year. Played Smit off the bench, where he belongs at best and managed just fine thanks.

Smit and PDV both to blame for this.

• 772.cab: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-700:
    food poisoning, goddamnit these kiwis have taken Suzie liternally.

• 773.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-765: And whilst blaming Smit and PDV then we must also acknowledge the fools who put PDV there in the first place… the men with votes… and the tools like Marinos who had his contract drawn up, better than any contract in history with no out clause. Brilliant.

• 774.Puma: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-771: What is Smit and PdV to blame for?

• 775.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Both du Plessis and Brussow are like two rouge Lions. They’re dominant males that destroy other Prides. Smit is taking away Brussow’s hunting partner.

• 776.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-771: if finishing 6 out of 15 and then getting drilled
    36 v 8 in the play offs is fine in your book mate i am worried what you expect the boks to do,

• 777.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-772: hehehe. Cabbie they sure have…….lol.

True that though. Read that FdP and Hougie were down with it on Thursday. They should be fine for tomorrow. Hoping.

• 778.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-764:
    I forgot to ask you how you are. Sorry about that. :smile:

Yeah, let’s leave that behind. Ireland are on their way home in any case. :lol:

Yes, I believe we’ll beat the Aussies tomorrow. We have the fire power to do so. Just hope that FdP and MS will not kick the ball away all day long.

One slip up in defence may just win the game for any of the two teams. Hope our defence will hold out.

• 779.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-775: SHORT MEMORY, no real idea of how it all works,

• 780.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

I can’t wait for the end of 2011. No more Smit, no more three clowns, an actual coach for the first time in four years, hopefully no more Spies. A loose trio of Brussow, Smith and Burger with du Plessis playing 80 minutes in every single game. Oh what a fantasy, please become reality.

• 781.cab: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-777:
    yoh, these dodge kiwis ne, why didnt the bokke get vaccum packed doewors flown in?

• 782.cane: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)- 770.

Just warming up Fantas-barrnsey.
    Just warming up.

• 783.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-778: i believe we kicked the ball far to often in the samoan match , mainly as a way of self-defence, they where trying to injure us when we had the ball, winning wasn’t their priority, having the bokke carried off was more the plan.

• 784.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-779:

Okay, you go ahead and lift Smit’s flob and then suck.

• 785.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-776: Good point, the Sharks scraping in in 6th place and getting walloped by the Crusaders twice certainly wasn’t “fine.”

• 786.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-774:
    Hulle haal asem. :lol:

• 787.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-734:
    they really are half way up their arses three quarters of the time cane, honestly.
    seen a few on safari/bush type holidays behave in that typically ‘i’m so arrogant i’m actually stupid’ kind of way they do.

we were fishing for live bait in order to catch tiger on the banks of the zambezi one time and this one guy who we met in camp waddles down to the very waters edge to inspect his line or check if the fish he hooked was adequate for live bait, or something. we said to him “boet i wouldn’t go that close to the water if i were you, you’ll get taken” and of course he just waves us off and mutters something about us not being silly and that he was very careful.

i thought to myself…well, ok…and sure enough a 3 or 4 meter croc surfaces and pokes its head in that split second in which it weighs up if its worth lunging.
    we all started shouting (i dont think it would have made a difference) but what saved him was the fact that he luckily enough had decided at that very moment to head back up the bank. the croc calculated it didn’t have a ‘kill shot’ so just sank back beneath the water and out of visibility.

he of course looked back at the water to see what we were shouting about but the croc was gone so he assumed/reasoned we were just being ‘silly saffa’s’ again and exaggerating.
    i think the guys all had a laugh about how we would probably have enjoyed seeing him get taken because he was such a dom doos- in his arrogance.

anyway, i’m sure you would rather see us or the french win before the english, no?

• 788.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-777:

More than likely some dodgy Biltong made by the local Saffas.

• 789.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-776: When last did you fly to Wellington for a game of rugby the same week? I did it a few weeks back to WATCH and I couldn’t catch a cold let alone a ball. Give them a break.

First game was a closer call, with another massive travel in between. I think you’re reading too much into that season.

I think it’s convenient to side with Plod over common sense. Tell me, who has PDV brought into rugby… not one.

• 790.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Lead our boys Captain.

• 791.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Poisoning our players? Not cool. Not cool.

• 792.JL1: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-586: The Aussie Chief in charge says so

• 793.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Well done France. Well done Wales.

• 794.nama1: Reply to this comment

@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-783:
    I said after the Fiji game that we will run it against Nam as well but against Samoa we would revert to type in preparation for the semis. I don’t believe we did it to avoid injuries. It is just our stupid game plan. has been for many years now.

There is of course a place for kicking up and unders but I feel FdP and MS overdo it.

• 795.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-778: I know but they upset the applecart we still have Oz to face and not them………hehehe.

I am always well Nama. Will be even better if we win tomorrow…hehe

Yeah think our only real weakness is FdP and Morne also JdV. Just wish we still have Frans for this game. Anyhow he is gone. So hope JdV has a blinder and also FdP cause then Morne will be fine.

Hope we don’t kick everything away does my head in that…..hahahaha. We will be in trouble if we do that. Need to keep possession tomorrow.

• 796.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-780: I agree. The dreamers can dream until 9am tomorrow when Plod syas something about a game of halves and PDV blames the racist media

Cheers All

• 797.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

PdV has a plan. Watch and see tomorrow.

• 798.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-781: hahahahaha. Should have…lol.

• 799.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-781:

your day of reckoning arrives tomorrow Cab hope your boys can play as well as you say they can

• 800.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-782: lol… caught the scent of blood in the air…

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 2122 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.