Workmanlike Wales down Ireland

RYAN VREDE watched Wales deliver an excellent all-round performance to secure their passage to the semi-finals with a 22-10 victory over Ireland.

The Welsh were outnumbered in the stands of the Wellington Regional Stadium, but their charges gave their traveling support much to cheer by progressing to the last four for only the second time in their history. They finished clinically in scoring three tries against the side ranked as the best defensive unit in the tournament coming into this Test, but it would be remiss not to note their own defensive excellence.

They were white-hot out of the gates, scoring in the second minute in a move that featured powerful phase play that punched up left, snapped right and eventually swung out to Shane Williams on the touchline. You thought it was a statement of intent, instead they spent much of the remainder of the half repelling Ireland.

They did so powerfully, accurately and intelligently, building the defensive effort on an immense gainline fight that allowed them to flood the ruck and stifle Ireland’s attacking flow. Special mention must be made of Sam Warburton in this regard. His coach Warren Gatland said prior to the tournament that he is among the best openside flankers in the game and his performance tonight lent further credence to that assertion. He was ably assisted by his team-mates, who tackled relentlessly and desperately at times, but with the spirit that told the story of their deep desire to progress.

Serviced with a slow recycle Ireland’s attack lacked a cutting edge, and their cause was further undermined by a series of poorly executed tactical kicks from flyhalf Ronan O’Gara. However, their failings undoubtedly had its root in their collective incompetence in Wales’ 22m. Twice they opted for lineouts from kickable penalties, only to see the subsequent drive break down.

Ireland flanker Sean O’Brein was held up in goal and a minute later O’Gara grassed a pass with a numbers advantage on his outside. When Rob Kearney fielded a kick and broke from the halfway line you thought the deadlock would finally be broken. But Wales scrambled brilliantly, and were assisted by the fullback popping the ball into the grateful arms of Jamie Roberts. Ireland will reflect on that period with disappointment and will rightly point to it as being decisive to the outcome.

O’Gara finally got them on the board with a penalty, but Leigh Halfpenny soon re-established Wales’ seven point lead with a penalty kicked into the teeth of a wicked Wellington wind. Wales lead 10-3 at the break, but Ireland re-emerged from the tunnel with a purposeful swagger and had soon leveled the score when Keith Earls slid over in the corner and O’Gara landed a brilliant conversion. Game on.

The Test, so compelling, so engrossing up to that point, soared to even higher heights as Ireland twice turned over possession in their 22m. They were, however, helpless to deny Mike Phillips, who broke blind from a scrum and acrobatically touched down. Rhys Priestland missed the conversion, then struck the post with a penalty attempt and with 20 to play, Ireland were desperately trying to avoid being incinerated by the Dragons.

But Wales were irresistible, and when Priestland converted Jonathan Davies’ try to extend the lead to 12 points with 15 minutes to play, there was a distinct sense that Ireland would book straight through from Auckland airport home when they would have been hoping for a longer stay.

Ireland would mount a bold attempt at a rebuttal late in the piece, but Wales were always in control defensively. They’ve built steadily from their impressive performance against the Springboks and it will require a very good performance to beat them in a week’s time.

387 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 151.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-138:

I will not be that harsh on the other 12 teams.

• 152.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-143:

Hehe.

• 153.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-149:
    Don’t you think he might be a bit out of place with our angels?

• 154.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Pressure starting to tell on the Paddies now.

• 155.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-153: Lol. My World XV was no bunch of angels. It would give Mshini’s and WillieVS’s a good hiding :wink:

• 156.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Tactical substitution for Ireland. (O’Gara’s tactics were rubbish)

• 157.madvillain: Reply to this comment

no innovation in the welsh attack.

Warburton going for poles

8 point lead

• 158.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

I realy hate Phillips, a real b!tch….but that was well done…god try b!tchboy.

• 159.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-154: why?? is Bakkies starting in all 22 positions?? :mrgreen: :lol:

• 160.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-156: agreed

• 161.madvillain: Reply to this comment

oh no you didn’t

Priestland misses

5 point lead

Guess this is what BOD was countering in the first half, the wind.

• 162.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Wales have left 5 pts off the board. A problem that may bite them later.

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-150: yeah no arm waving or traffic cop imitations.

• 164.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-159: Hehe

• 165.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Earls hanging off Williams’s throat in that maul. Not cool.

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-155: I like a bit of “thug” early in the morning…

And in my Rugby team too…….

• 167.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-166: Lol. Thug in the morning…? Sheezus, thats a bit too WePee for me.

• 168.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Wales are playing good pressure rugby forcing Irish mistakes.

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Game over. Great Try by Wales

• 170.JL1: Reply to this comment

As I said, defense, what poor tackling from Ireland

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

that’s it…

• 172.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Ireland seem to be fading- bad start for my weekend.
    Jamie Roberts is like Joggie Jansen on Steroids

Another one, its all over now, fark.

• 173.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

game over wales will go through

irish have been rubbish

• 174.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

That could be the ball game in a KO match.

• 175.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Try. Ireland are going to have to do something really special to win this now.

Against the wind and this Wales defence…? I dont think so.

• 176.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Wales nice, scoring tries!

• 177.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

CYMRU!

Really kak tackling in the Irish midfield though.

• 178.Nils: Reply to this comment

WWWWWWWWalessssss!!!! :)

Looks like Ireland again go no farther than QF, second best again.

• 179.ET.: Reply to this comment

That has to be it for the Wales victory.

• 180.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Roberts is a juggernaut

• 181.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-172:

You feeling the same way. I know why.

• 182.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-178:

I see Hitsports is back.

• 183.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

all over well done wales

• 184.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Yip that’s how I called it Wales to take out Ireland

Too strong in the end and too committed… Wales the form NH team

Gatland got this team pumping

• 185.madvillain: Reply to this comment

Where is Gordon Darcy?

George North will come through for the Welsh in the semis

• 186.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ball in hand Ireland. Or bust.

• 187.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-181:

I do not even have Coldplay to look forward too.

• 188.madvillain: Reply to this comment

Experience vs Youth? Which one will come through this weekend?

Irish vs Welsh

Boks vs Wallabies

• 189.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Jeezzzzzzzz first and last time i take advice from the hubby on bru, was going with Wales and he convinced me i had to go with Ireland, I am an idiot !!!

• 190.madvillain: Reply to this comment

BOD’s worst nightmare just came thru.

• 191.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-189: Lol.

• 192.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-186: Sorry. I wasn’t clear enough. Ball in hand and hold onto it or bust.

• 193.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-189:

Dont be so hard on yourself.
    Men are supposed to know better

• 194.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@madvillain(madvillain)-190: Couldn’t happen to a nicer guy.

• 195.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So much for the Irish scrum and Cian Healy.

Boks will fckswipe the Wobblies in the scrum, for sure, if Healy took them apart.

• 196.ET.: Reply to this comment

@madvillain(madvillain)-188:

Thin line between experience and over the hill and close to rugby boothill.

Boks close to that thin line too.

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nice game

• 198.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Wales pulling an Andre Joubert on Ireland….

• 199.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-195: The Irish scrum is actually pretty good. But this Welsh tight five is just better. Jones and Jenkins are superb scrummagers.

• 200.madvillain: Reply to this comment

I actually tipped the Irish but BOD could not take the pressure and put it on his own team.

Absorbing the pressure is always the difference at this stage.

the Welsh had fewer errors on the day

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.