Workmanlike Wales down Ireland

RYAN VREDE watched Wales deliver an excellent all-round performance to secure their passage to the semi-finals with a 22-10 victory over Ireland.

The Welsh were outnumbered in the stands of the Wellington Regional Stadium, but their charges gave their traveling support much to cheer by progressing to the last four for only the second time in their history. They finished clinically in scoring three tries against the side ranked as the best defensive unit in the tournament coming into this Test, but it would be remiss not to note their own defensive excellence.

They were white-hot out of the gates, scoring in the second minute in a move that featured powerful phase play that punched up left, snapped right and eventually swung out to Shane Williams on the touchline. You thought it was a statement of intent, instead they spent much of the remainder of the half repelling Ireland.

They did so powerfully, accurately and intelligently, building the defensive effort on an immense gainline fight that allowed them to flood the ruck and stifle Ireland’s attacking flow. Special mention must be made of Sam Warburton in this regard. His coach Warren Gatland said prior to the tournament that he is among the best openside flankers in the game and his performance tonight lent further credence to that assertion. He was ably assisted by his team-mates, who tackled relentlessly and desperately at times, but with the spirit that told the story of their deep desire to progress.

Serviced with a slow recycle Ireland’s attack lacked a cutting edge, and their cause was further undermined by a series of poorly executed tactical kicks from flyhalf Ronan O’Gara. However, their failings undoubtedly had its root in their collective incompetence in Wales’ 22m. Twice they opted for lineouts from kickable penalties, only to see the subsequent drive break down.

Ireland flanker Sean O’Brein was held up in goal and a minute later O’Gara grassed a pass with a numbers advantage on his outside. When Rob Kearney fielded a kick and broke from the halfway line you thought the deadlock would finally be broken. But Wales scrambled brilliantly, and were assisted by the fullback popping the ball into the grateful arms of Jamie Roberts. Ireland will reflect on that period with disappointment and will rightly point to it as being decisive to the outcome.

O’Gara finally got them on the board with a penalty, but Leigh Halfpenny soon re-established Wales’ seven point lead with a penalty kicked into the teeth of a wicked Wellington wind. Wales lead 10-3 at the break, but Ireland re-emerged from the tunnel with a purposeful swagger and had soon leveled the score when Keith Earls slid over in the corner and O’Gara landed a brilliant conversion. Game on.

The Test, so compelling, so engrossing up to that point, soared to even higher heights as Ireland twice turned over possession in their 22m. They were, however, helpless to deny Mike Phillips, who broke blind from a scrum and acrobatically touched down. Rhys Priestland missed the conversion, then struck the post with a penalty attempt and with 20 to play, Ireland were desperately trying to avoid being incinerated by the Dragons.

But Wales were irresistible, and when Priestland converted Jonathan Davies’ try to extend the lead to 12 points with 15 minutes to play, there was a distinct sense that Ireland would book straight through from Auckland airport home when they would have been hoping for a longer stay.

Ireland would mount a bold attempt at a rebuttal late in the piece, but Wales were always in control defensively. They’ve built steadily from their impressive performance against the Springboks and it will require a very good performance to beat them in a week’s time.

387 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

• 251.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-242: Hehehe… That’ll teach you.

• 252.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-231:
    indeed!

• 253.Tartan: Reply to this comment

My superbru is fokked already!

Wales, again, looked good. Maybe, just maybe the group of death truely was.

• 254.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-246: not my Paddies, no affiliation with them whatsoever – I know only one team in green.

I did want them to win this game though. They deserved it more for beating Aus and topping their pool.

• 255.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Be back later.

Some family time first. Bank some goodwill.

• 256.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-230:

Remember my other three were chosen in 2008 already; ABs, Wallabies and France.

• 257.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-249: Congratulations to Gatland and the Welsh team then because it ain’t gonna be you! Fck you fellas are full of self-importance, talking yourselfs up all the fckn time.

• 258.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-231:

Good logic- even Bertrand Russell could not do it better :)

• 259.cab: Reply to this comment

geezuz sometimes u do have to worry about whats going thru irish heads when they opting to kick for touch with 2 kickable penalties in the first 10 mins.

good game, well played wales, bladdy hell, either wales, france or england in the final.

• 260.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh my…

Woken up to a HUGE Wales win…Fan flipping tastic .. :lol:

@Robzim(Robzim)-243: ;-) Morning

• 261.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-247: Prefer the Taffs to the Paddies to be honest.

If any Mud Island team is to take home Bill rather Wales than anyone else.

• 262.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’m waiting for the chorus of:

O’Driscoll’s legacy is now crushed for captaining his team to one WC too many. All that has gone before is forgotten and/or overwritten by captaining his team to a knockout exit. How could he put himself before the team? Guess he didn’t have enough of an “aura”.

What bollocks.

• 263.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

I called this one and I say it again. Wales will be in the finals. They are a great team and whoever plays them in the final will have to work very hard.

Well done Wales.

• 264.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-258:
    Howzit Rob
    yes but its fuzzy maths :)

• 265.ET.: Reply to this comment

So Gert Smal is in a loosing green team.

• 266.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-261: ugh.

Arrogant little ones they are (their fans especially).

• 267.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The difference between an Irish loss and an Irish win is that in the pubs of Dublin they celebrate just a little bit harder after a win.

• 268.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-263: Congratulations. Practising your “I told you so” for tomorrow by any chance? ;-)

• 269.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-253: It sure does put a lot of games in group D in perspective

• 270.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

welsh defence awesome.

Boks need to remind themselves that they beat these okes.
    The same blokes that comfortably beat the side that beat oz 3 weeks ago.

• 271.Nils: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-182: Good news, thankfully (see forum.wiziwig.eu) there are other options working, too!

• 272.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Wales could go all the way. Man they are playing great rugby. Keep possession and defense will win this one.

• 273.Dawn: Reply to this comment

My man Sam is hunk of highest rugby order.

• 274.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Mae’r dynion o’r cymoedd wedi ennill
    Mae’r Cymro yn gwybod sut i gynnal
    Trwy ganu mor dda
    Iddynt uffern, aah
    Cymru gyfan yn awr yn cael hwyl.

• 275.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-269: the 17-16 win perhaps?

• 276.Nils: Reply to this comment

Now go France, do it for me!

• 277.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-269:
    Exactly :)

• 278.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-267:
    Hang on, there’s room for celebrating yet. The frogs may surprise us all!

• 279.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Yeah well I remember some Kiwi woeses on here being demeaning about our victory over Wales. I knew Wales were going to win this one and personally I think theyre going all the way to the finals. This team has been playing really solid rugby and on our first hit out its no small wonder we struggled against them. They proved their class again today.
    If we can negotiate Oz and Nz we will more than likely be faced with a rematch with Wales. Hope they smash England. Well done Wales. Very classy. Nice to see the cocky Irish out. Foul tempered lot.

• 280.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-268:

Mate I’m a Bok and even if we lose it won’t be I told you so. It will be bitter, but I’m not over the moon with confidence either.

• 281.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-228: Watch out for the nazi shark lol.

• 282.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-260:

Morning.
    Seems as the WRS day started better than mine :)

• 283.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-274:
    Google translate again ? :)

• 284.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-266: Most of them respect Bok rugger which is good enough for me. Had some great Boolies with Taffs, but their commentators like Johnathan Davies and now Moffi.e Thomas are irritating but not more irritating than the whinging Irish.

• 285.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wazzup Tackler

• 286.nama1: Reply to this comment

Yes Wales!!!

This North outjie will be a handful in the years to come.

If they don’t win it this year, you can put some money on Wales and the Wallabies for 2015. They’ll be the teams to beat then.

• 287.RL: Reply to this comment

Kidney sounds like a little leprechaun.

• 288.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-259: yeah what I said – cocky little sh!t5. Deserved to lose.

• 289.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-280: Man, the fall out will be earth shattering if that happens!

Best just to relax, sit back and watch it all unfold without any bitterness – fate is inexorable.

• 290.JL1: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-275: Wegilt 2 tries against Wales, also both teams worked hard for a win against Samoa

Englands group similar

• 291.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

John Robbie is sick…

• 292.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-282:
    WRS still in bed…I told him Wales had won 22 – 10 and he did not believe me!!

• 293.JL1: Reply to this comment

Wegilt on an IPad means we got

• 294.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lost yer vowels again?

• 295.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-264:

How do you call the next one.
    I reckon England by seven with Ashton scoring at least one.

• 296.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-278: In your dreams – the French may surprise us but it will be a travesty seeing them go on to a semi final. Theyve been so poor. I seriously doubt it.

• 297.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Battle hardened teams from the Pool of Death marching to the final.

• 298.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-291: what has he come down with?

• 299.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-218: Majority took Ireland, so you are big winner anyway!

• 300.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-257:

You’re obviously a little nervous about tomorrows game, I would be too the Aussies have the wood on you, theres a good chance the Bokke will be on the plane home early to the dark continent.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.