Piri pounds Pumas
9 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE reports that Piri Weepu kicked 21 points against the Pumas as the All Blacks advanced to the World Cup semi-finals.
The All Black won 33-10 after leading 12-7 at halftime. They will play the Wallabies for a place in the final.
Wales and France will contest the other semi-final. Both play-off matches will be in Auckland.
The bookies had the All Blacks to win by 20 points and while the result was never an issue All Blacks coach Graham Henry would have expected more patience and precision from his side.
Weepu, starting at scrumhalf, also assumed the goalkicking as flyhalf Colin Slade stuttered through another 30 minutes of World Cup agony.
Slade was as poor as he has been in every Test and when he hobbled off after 33 minutes you could almost sense the relief of a nation. Slade may yet come of age as a Test flyhalf but it won’t be at this World Cup. His replacement Aaron Cruden was an improvement and played with a calm and authority not seen from Slade.
The Pumas, courageous from the first minute, played to avoid humiliation. They offered nothing outside of bravery and referee Nigel Owens could easily have carded half the team for repeated infringements at the breakdown. Owens’s leniency meant a decent play-off work out for the All Blacks and kept the Pumas crowd interested for an hour.
Argentina remarkably scored the first try, against the run of play, to lead 7-6 after 30 minutes but the scoreline never reflected the flow of the contest. The All Blacks were superior in every aspect. Twice they were denied a try by TMO decisions and more often than not Argentina opted to concede the three points instead of a potential seven.
The hosts were effective in disrupting the Argentina lineout, poaching five from 11, but they would have expected to create more with the ball and territorial advantage. The Pumas made 135 tackles to the All Blacks 54 so they at least won something on the night. They also had the more inspiring supporters and the prettiest.
But there was nothing beautiful about the way they played and it was a case of damage control. They did not want to be whipped and recognised (as did every observer) that they did not have the skill to turn on the kind of spectacle produced in Wellington when Wales played Ireland.
The All Blacks, when they did show patience and respect for holding onto the ball, looked dangerous, but often the attack was too lateral. Wingers Sonny Bill Williams and Cory Jane had their moments and so did the midfield pairing of Ma’a Nonu and Conrad Smith. The best of the backs was Weepu who has matured as a player and a leader. He showed on Saturday night that he does a bit more than lead the haka in this team.
Jerome Kaino was again impressive and Kieran Read improved with greater game time, but Richie McCaw played as if he only had one leg and the tight five as a unit were decent without ever being destructive.
Argentina is never an easy opponent and they will always offer a contest. But they lacked individual pedigree and collective belief to ever threaten the scoreboard and the All Blacks were predictable and deserved winners.

247 Comments
9 Oct 2011, 09:17 am
Go All Blacks…!!
9 Oct 2011, 09:19 am
Got the AB’s by 25.
9 Oct 2011, 09:19 am
Here we go boys. Time to step up to knock out footy! Come on NZ!
9 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
Give Aaron Cruden a run in the last 10 or so minutes.
9 Oct 2011, 09:22 am
@I am a stormer moffie(I am a stormer moffie)-2:
But you are still the BIG LOSER.
How about my 3 for 3 in these quarters with the ABs carrying me in this game?
9 Oct 2011, 09:24 am
ABs will win, let’s just hope the Argies can break a few bones here and there. Wales to take Bill.
9 Oct 2011, 09:26 am
@Nanashi(Nanashi)-6: You really shouldn’t drink so early in the morning.
9 Oct 2011, 09:28 am
@Nanashi(Nanashi)-6:
**** comment.
Karma gonna get you…
@ET.(ET.)-4: He may get on sooner than that. We are so light in the fly alf department. Let’s hope the rest of the team step up.
s hit
Congrats Mils on that 100th. Fully deserved. One of the great full backs to have graced the game.
9 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
congrats Mils!! You deserve it!
9 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
Come on blacks! Hope we close the game out early and get cruden some game time.
Let’s hope Cory has sobered up!
9 Oct 2011, 09:33 am
Go Blacks and go Pumas, make it a proper Test!
9 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
Lets hope Owens blows a straight game
9 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
Scrum officiating is a mess.
9 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-9:
Henry should have persisted with him after 2010 when he gave him 6 games.
I just think he has the better temperament for the occassion.
Note how quiet it is here as all my fellow S. Africans have rushed to church to ask very many serious questions.
9 Oct 2011, 09:41 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-16:
The refs are largely a complete mess and possibly because the laws are
too complex for them to apply.
9 Oct 2011, 09:42 am
Mills, Slade & Weepu wont even make the Lions side! they are k@K, k@k & k@K!!!!!!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 09:44 am
@ET.(ET.)-17: Not so sure I agree with you. We need to wake up to the professional era and should have considered Nick Evans. Mind you Henry conceded he had no idea when Donald was selected for so many tests. Sorry about the Bokke. Living in SA for ten years, I was gutted as well. NZ need to sharpen up. Bloody glad we didn’t get France at the quarters with the attitude they rocked up with yesterday.
9 Oct 2011, 09:45 am
@ET.(ET.)-18: And there aren’t too many front row forwards amongst the ranks”
9 Oct 2011, 09:46 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-19: Don’t be bitter. Seems Weepu can slot goals at least.
9 Oct 2011, 09:47 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-19: Damn right, they won’t. They won’t even try.
9 Oct 2011, 09:49 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-20:
Yes but you have to protect your home rugby and discourage those who wist to leave home shores. That is about the only thing to do.
Unless they apply a rule of a restriction of no more than two from foreign shores.
9 Oct 2011, 09:50 am
@ET.(ET.)-24: Valid point. A free pass for all would probably be the start of the end to strong AB rugby.
9 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-21:
totally agree
@ET.(ET.)-24:
should read wish and not wist
9 Oct 2011, 09:54 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-25:
And that is very important.
Look at all the national teams that have Kiwi coaches, Canada, Japan, Wales annd surely more.
9 Oct 2011, 09:56 am
how Mills can play 100 tests for the Blacks is shocking! its a slap in the face of the likes of : Zinzan, Fitzie & Cullen = it makes the jersey kinda cheap doesn’t it
9 Oct 2011, 09:59 am
@ET.(ET.)-27: Over 40 guys that played senior leve footy involved with teams other than the AB’s at this world cup. Crikey, boys looking decidedly nervous. That’s better. Argies doing well on defense.
9 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-28: Although I suspect you’re stirring as opposed to believe what you write, Mils is a champion. At the end of his career, but still a champion. Cullen suffered regular injuries and fell out with management, Fitzy had no meniscus left in either knee and Zinzan was robbed at the start of his tenure rather than the end ironically.
9 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
ABs not looking too flash
9 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
Your countrymen certainly have vanished E.T.
9 Oct 2011, 10:05 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-29:
They are rather lethargic and maybe too over-cautious. But Argies play spoiling game well and defend like terriers.
It should open up sometime soon, hopefully.
Colin has a front row seat.
Cane which cane are you!
So many threads countrymen don’t know where to go first.
9 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
omw chokers!
Argies playing great defensive rugby – argies just score !!!!! Hey hey , there ya go. We need to sharpen up !!!
Nice try Pumas, game really on. No one way traffic at all.
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-32:
Big bullies all and the Biggest Cry-babies you will ever find.
So the AB’s have a game on their hands.
wow! Argies!
9 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-37: Indeed, you need to put these guys away, remember what they did to the French 2007 …
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
We look flat , trying but flat, no spark , yet clinical, Cruden on for Slade
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
slade is ffcuked
9 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
Slade off, Cruden on
Wow Argies lead. Wake up ABs.
@Dawn(Dawn)-31: That’s a beautiful understatement Dawn. And now for the 53kg Cruden. Talk about time to step up.
Lower Hutt rocks
9 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
come on ABs, you guys need to focus! lol
9 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
cruden was chilling @ home last week & boozin, today he is playing in a quarter-final hehehe
9 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
Seriaas!
PdeV thread, game thread, another post mortem thread!!!
9 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
And now there is Cruden. Very much earlier than expected.
9 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
Die plek is besig!
9 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
Cruden played some champion footy for Manawatu in the NPC. VERY different stage however as we all know.
9 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
nandos piri piri’s kicking is extra warm vandag
9 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
In lower hutt, they breed ‘em special.
9 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
The Boks will f*ck thois NZ team up 6 – love!
9 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
Gaping **** is so scared of the All Blacks. Get off the field you dirty sodomite.
9 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
As cliched as it so obviously is, where is the All Black urgency?!
9 Oct 2011, 10:18 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-57: From business class you mean?
9 Oct 2011, 10:18 am
Argentina 7 Homosexual ref 12
9 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-57: Right, Boks now can play tennis. Or tiddlywinks. Or whatever.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-58:
Enjoy the papers tomorrow Klansmen.
we just drove past a few drunk coloured hooligans supporting the All Blacks and shouting @ us – - “you whiteys ma se p03se – f0k die bokke” …. so we turned around a threw one of the okes with a half full beer can against the head LMAO! blood everywhere! boer maak ‘n plan!
9 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
First time I have had a look at the mighty ABs this WC and what do I see….
The indestructable, massive, genius, all conquering inside centre schmaltzed out onto the wing
Whats going on here???
9 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-57: 4 more years mate.
Listen fokkers we played well this morning.
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-64: So you just proved that the divisions that lead to them supporting the AB’s in the first place still exist. You must be so proud.
9 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
@ufo(ufo)-1:
Why?
9 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-64: classy.
9 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
Argentina playing well…
9 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-71: Of course, nothing less was expected.
Remember, Georgia led Argentina, too. Then class prevailed, this time it will be no different. Patience.
9 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-71:
very well, all the pressure should convert to a few tries in the 2nd half , its what we need though a hard close game
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
Our kiwi bloggers please ignore the trolls
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
NZinChina.
agreed. Argentina having to do a lot of work, but are doing it well.
9 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-71: Yep, have done their homework. Helps that the AB’s left the motivation at the haka. Sure that there’s been an ear bashing in the change rooms in the last 10 minutes. SBW looks a bit lost when he gets the ball out wide. IF we get through this, Dagg for flyhalf outside Weepu who should retain kicking duties.
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
****. We’re the walking wounded!
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
I just saw katman on tv, dressed in his pink leotard.
9 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
SBWs defense on the tryline was pathetic. hope he got an ear bashing.
9 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
The katman got a bikini wax.
9 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
Richie stepped twice. Faster ball recycling is better but no accuracy.
Dagg at 1st five?? has he ever played there?
Tight game! Abs missing dagg
9 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
ABs look disjointed without DC, need to get it sorted to klap Aussies next week
9 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
Guys, Argies are playing awesome.
What defence, its great to see.
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
it was actually our coloured friend (big Bok & Guthro fan) who threw the can! he hates the hooligans like the rest of us! i hope it was that rossoneri thing!
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
How Ritchie won that penaly EXACTLY what Pocock was doing all game. Completely legal. What Heinrich does too.
9 Oct 2011, 10:35 am
@Bod(bod)-69:
why…? because I can and do…
9 Oct 2011, 10:35 am
AB’s need possession, and must settle down.
9 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-82: Yep. Mate, we’ve got an injured Slade and now Cruden, didn’t even make the initial squad. Dagg is another Carter, very talented, couldnt be worse off than what we are now.
9 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-64: I hope they’ve laid a charge of assault.
9 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-71:
hey pops… good to see the real you back…!!
9 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
dontthink, they can … racist remarks is a bigger crime in SA dude
9 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
Thanks Ufo. lost my mum on the third of october, so rugby isn’t the same at the moment.
9 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
All Blacks need to wake the **** up! They’re bloody lucky Weepus kicking well.
9 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
much tougher game than I expected, McCaw is looking better though
9 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@ufo(ufo)-88:
Personally, I would rather shout for Man Utd (When hell freezes over) than a rugby team supported by Cane, Pops, China and the rest of that motley crew
9 Oct 2011, 10:44 am
Pops sympathies to you and your family!
Sad news!
9 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-89:your boys “playing all the rugby” i see
9 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
@Bod(bod)-97:
wow, maybe yout mum should warm up your bottle of milk, your getting a little cranky
9 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
What an asset Nonu is to his team
9 Oct 2011, 10:48 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-94:
sincere condolences bud…celebrate her life…!
@Bod(bod)-97:
as is your prerogative…
Thank you Dawn.
Seem to have forgotten we have backs.
9 Oct 2011, 10:49 am
Yellow not nice.
9 Oct 2011, 10:49 am
UFO
cheers mate. thanks.
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-100: lol
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-94: Sincere condolences. Hope rugby will cheer you up somehow somewhat.
9 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
The yellow has killed of this great contest.
9 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
No try. Had wide space for 60 seconds while the forwards did nothing. Always good to leave what has worked for years in the change shed. Spin the ball after sucking the forwards in for heavens sake!
9 Oct 2011, 10:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-94:
Sorry to hear that brother.
Pops your mom would’ve wanted you to carry on enjoying the game you love!
@Mr Black(Mr Black)-109:
Actually i have seen teams play better with 14 players, strange really
9 Oct 2011, 10:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-94:
Condolences Pops. Losing a parent is dreadful. I know how you feel.
Argentina 10 Sodomite 18
Toeava forks up again
9 Oct 2011, 10:55 am
Now I really am crying.
9 Oct 2011, 10:55 am
Thanks Nils, Hurri.
life goes on though. impressed with the argies, think their inclusion next year will only see them improve exponentially.
9 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-113:
True, but the extra focus on defense tells in the end.
9 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-115:
Kobus still crying.
It amazing your still hanging around with all the cr@p you been saying
9 Oct 2011, 10:57 am
Cruden has got the correct confidence level for the 10 job. Give it to him now.
all blacks gonna win, but they are far from convincing. no wonder AB fans so happy boks lost.
@chch(chch)-116: toeava is an Auckalofa boy, he does no wrong
When you see the ABs’ poor display today, it only makes our loss even worse !
9 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
Lol, how many times have we seen the Argentinian players do the “Card signal” to the ref and touch judges.
Someone needs to tell them this is rugby.
9 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
Good to see they calling using the shoulder to clear out the rucks.
Not really needed in the game
9 Oct 2011, 10:59 am
Thanks Stormer bud.
9 Oct 2011, 10:59 am
Everyone goes in with the shoulder at the following ruck but no whistle. Admire the complete lack of consistency the refs have contributed to the world cup.
9 Oct 2011, 11:00 am
Is Cruden a Hutt boy cos he sure looks like one!
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-19:
Almost no New Zealanders can make the Lions side …. do you normally follow table tennis?
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-122:
Im not happy you guys lost.
Mind you i know you were all happy in 2007 when we lost.
9 Oct 2011, 11:01 am
and that’s the ball game. Top effort Argentina
9 Oct 2011, 11:01 am
Not convincing, but finally!
9 Oct 2011, 11:02 am
When I visit NZ there’s only one place I wanna see.
Lower Hutt!
@chch(chch)-130: damn it “not make”
@Dawn(Dawn)-134:
That should be it. Nevertheless bravo, Pumas, another brave performance. Bring on Four nations.
9 Oct 2011, 11:03 am
watching this game makes loss to walla even worse. the way we played we’d have smoked these posers next week.
go the all blacks. dont let those freaking aussies win.
Mmm, that could have ended very differently. Good try at last ABs
All Blacks will have to up the tempo if they want to beat the Aussies next week.
9 Oct 2011, 11:04 am
And proud record of scoring a try in consecutive 94 Tests continues.
9 Oct 2011, 11:04 am
As forward a pass as any of ours…
9 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@ET.(ET.)-27:
Maybe even Australia
9 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@Mr Black(Mr Black)-140: as long as QC plays you should be ok I think
9 Oct 2011, 11:06 am
Another forward pass, guess it’s okay if you wear black
9 Oct 2011, 11:06 am
All Blacks wont beat wales if they play like this! Also All Blacks never beat the Boks – hollow victory if they go on and win it same in 1987 when they didn’t allow the Boks to play – Boks were the best rugby team ever then!! …. in 1995 we beat Aus, France & the all blacks!
9 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
Argies discipline in big matches are terrible, think they will improve once they join the 4Ns
9 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
great effort Argentina. game we needed no doubt.
9 Oct 2011, 11:09 am
@danuk(danuk)-144:
I’m not okay, my team lost today.
This is how England win (apart from we haven’t cheated), please another try
Ab’s have been pretty average – almost had too much ball, the argies just want to defend defend defend, smash us and hope for our mistakes. We haven’t had a decent counter to it, to open the game up.
9 Oct 2011, 11:10 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-99: Argentina are just spoilers, whenever we are 5 – 10 meters from the tryline they don’t roll away, they don’t release, it’s all a mess really.
9 Oct 2011, 11:10 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-94: Hey mate sorry to hear that. These things get better with time but unfortuately its the path we all take in the end. Strangley enough therein lies the beauty of it. She´s gone back to the place she came from mate. A return home if you wish. We all go there – take that and let if be your peace.
9 Oct 2011, 11:11 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-146: Like the 07 dream run of the Boks. Get over yourself. 07 was a win to SA in any record book you read, as was 87 for NZ. What happened in SA when the Boks came back into the international fold?
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-146</
if you depart in the 1/4's your world ranking is 8th
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-146:
I think when NZ plays each side they know in advance who they are playing (no really, the World Cup draw has been out for months) so the approach changes.
9 Oct 2011, 11:12 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-146:
Its a shame you think SA were the best team in 1987. Just shows you know nothing about rugby.
I think the real losers of the day was the real fans of SA.
People like you can suk it.
Game in the bag for All Blacks – hasnt been a great display but a very expected result. Best of luck for the Wobblies next week – do us all a favour and put them out of their misery now.
Not a nice game at all but alas we are still in.
Thanks Slumtown. appreciate it mate.
9 Oct 2011, 11:13 am
Cory Jane must have been out
Poor performance from the AB’s but hopefully a big wake up match. Cruden will improve during the week. Lucky try to finish off. They all count.
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-146: Whatever, mate, I understand your frustration. Sure, it’s ABs who didn’t allow Boks to play, sure it will be hollow victory again because ‘we weren’t there’ again, Boks may beat ABs anytime 6-0 as you say, no probs. Whatever makes you happy.
9 Oct 2011, 11:14 am
Jane once again.
Can this guy get any better?
Hahah nice one for Thorne
@chch(chch)-161:
crappy reply but was in
good try
9 Oct 2011, 11:15 am
Good game though, think they did the ABs a favour by giving them a tough game. Hope the wallop the ABs … then it’s just a small matter of beating Wales or France …
9 Oct 2011, 11:16 am
@danuk(danuk)-167: meant to say I hope the ABs wallop the Wallabies
Dont know about the rest of you guys but ive found this WC a bit of a letdown overall. A lot of mismatched games, injuries and a slightly deflated feeling. havent been a load of really great matches.
Danie Gerber, Naas Botha, Carel Dup, Uli, etc etc ….. best rugby players in their positions ever!
9 Oct 2011, 11:17 am
Congrats to us
Well done Argentina
Congrats All Blacks! Just do it!
Well done Argentina.
You guys did really well. The scoreline does not show how hard the game really was.
Next week is the real final.
9 Oct 2011, 11:18 am
Well done AB’s.
A NZ vs Wales final would be nice.
Slade can’t come back, I’m happy with cruden.
well done ABs.
commiserstions Argentina. was a worthy effort. night all.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-169:
The IRB/NZRU removed fan zones for the quarter finals. Will games being on Sunday’s to satisfy TV the atmosphere here today was just awful. Really pisss poor organisation.
9 Oct 2011, 11:19 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-170:
hahahaha yeah sure.
Go drown your sorrows
Booyukka !! Pressure told , but work to do for the semi . Good work out, it’s what we needed,
Slade should be dropped, he’s hopeless
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-174:
yes and the winner gets the bonus of an easy game against the northern hemisphere
9 Oct 2011, 11:20 am
Congrats ABs, congrats Pumas for brave performance. If they get the best possible squad they won’t be pushovers come 4N.
9 Oct 2011, 11:21 am
yeah they say boks win in 2007 was hollow coz we never played the ABs, well they’ll be happy to be playing aussies next week instead of us.
am still really stoked with how well the boks played tonite. pity they could no convert.
credit to ABs and Aus. you’re both in the semis. we not.
and congrats to ABs, the only pool toppers to make the last 4!
@chch(chch)-178: Yeah man very odd – I can feel the vibe a bit just by watching. This game was tough but only cos the Argies were hanging onto the ball the whole time. They never really stood a chance – so again the mismatch thing. Aus Sa was a great game and so was Ireland vs Wales yesterday.
Excpect Oz vs All Blacks to be a huge one next week.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-169:
You will always gets mismatched games and injuries is something you cant help.
No one can help.
All the RWCs have had injuries and mismatched games.
But this one has had alot of good matches. Ireland vs Ozzie. Wales vs Boks. Tonga vs France.
I could carry on.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-169: I don’t know, I’ve seen 4 good games, including this one, where the Argies where given no chance at all …
Nice to see the passion of some of the teams. Only team I’m glad is out is England
9 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-170: In their era, absolute top notch blokes. If you open your other eye for a moment you may see the game has moved on and those guys may not be the best ever in the professional game. Cooper knows what it’s like to be Naas in the modern game. Great going forward but not so nice with your arse on the grass.
9 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
@chch(chch)-182: haha if its Wales it wont be as easy as this game – no mate if you guys face Wales in the finals expect a tough tough match. Give them the respect they deserve. Not saying they´ll win but you have to be on your toes.
9 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
Now big game for AB supporters next week. Hope Ricky tackles Quade out of his boots!
@danuk(danuk)-187: yeah definitely with you on that one lol
Cruden looked better than Slade, just as well that he played a bit today. Keep Slade on the bench Ted.
9 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
and start with Dagg, Mils is finished.
9 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-186: yeah dont get me wrong theres been some good matches for sure. Just a feeling I got off it. As it gets more competitive I guess that will fall away. Definitely the minnows played better and they need the exposure.
9 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@RL(RL)-192:
Colin is like a possum in the headlights unfortunately.
@Bod(bod)-97:
I have supported the Boks many times. In fact I think you will not be left with any side currently at the World Cup who you can support.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-194:
yeah understand Slum.
Minnows played awesome this time round.
One thing the RWC does is let the Minnows feel as they are part of world rugby as we may forget how far rugby has reached all over the globe.
9 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
Well done for reaching the semis NZ.
Would love to see a NZ/Wales final.
AB deserve to win it this year.
@chch(chch)-182: show the dragons some respect, they are playing 2007 Bok rugby and are as young and fearless ad Jakes 2007 team … you were warned.
@danuk(danuk)-187:
and not a moment too soon
9 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
@RL(RL)-193:
Not sure why Mils keep running the ball up the middle like he did. Was odd
9 Oct 2011, 11:32 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195:
He was a great player before he was under Graham Henry
9 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@chch(chch)-196: except England
9 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@chch(chch)-182:
??
Your kidding right?
9 Oct 2011, 11:34 am
Woodcock came through very nicely, coming to his best.
9 Oct 2011, 11:34 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-204: yes
9 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
@chch(chch)-202:
Its called not being able to step up for the big games.
GH coaches Carter and McCaw, your view is somewhat distorted of GH
9 Oct 2011, 11:36 am
@chch(chch)-206:
Good, i was a little worried then.
9 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
@chch(chch)-201:
Mils looked a little lost out there to be honest.
But did they cut off what Mils had to say when he got the cap or did i miss it?
9 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@chch(chch)-202:
have you purchased your wallabies jersey and Deans portrait yet no doubt you’ll be cheering for the yellow bellies next week along with half the others in the little village
9 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-207:
He is a good player. He may never be a good All Black.
If he is not a good All Black I hope he doesn’t get played again and again like Toeava.
And it is still a fact that we was fine before being under Henry. Not sure why that can be said to be a distorted view of Henry. Never said it was Henry’s fault, that would upset NZinChina.
9 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
From now on no illusions whatsoever – Australia, France, Wales, each will give a helluva tough game, ABs will have to play their 100%. looking forward to it.
9 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-209:
I missed that bit. I wonder if Mils was told to play like that, kind of disguising our future game plan. Took attention off the other new backs who could have been under pressure though.
9 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-210:
Robie Deans had a great result tonight so stuff that up your anti-Kiwi xenophobic arrse
I am going to support Kiwi’s regardless of your demented forked up paranoid Auckland bollocks so get forked with your continuous comments about me owning a Wallabie jersey
ps, get forked you ****
9 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
@chch(chch)-213:
I dont thinkn Mils was told to play like that. I think the pressure is on Mils to be honest and hes feeling it.
9 Oct 2011, 12:05 pm
**** we needed that wake up call.
It’s business time alright
9 Oct 2011, 12:05 pm
Mils is at the end of a brilliant career, he’s just not on the level any longer, Dagg is the new prince, he has all the touches.
9 Oct 2011, 12:07 pm
RL 193, yep, Mils is gone . End
9 Oct 2011, 12:08 pm
Australia will be very tough next week, the AB’s need to be precise, and weepu really needs to provide more Rythm from the base of the ruck.
9 Oct 2011, 12:09 pm
Does anyone know where our Helen is?
9 Oct 2011, 12:14 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-220:
Helen is simply HG in Drag. You are unlikely to see either for a while and HG will make that appearance first.
9 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
So … after all the jeering and crappy comments about SA kicking in rugby and how ‘running rugby’ is the only way AB’s will ever play, they save their skins by what … PENALTY KICKS. Totally Pathetic. The AB tries were irrelevant as they came once the Argies had given up. Even if the first AB try is included – it was not converted so Argies still up.
The whistling and cat-calls which started at the start of RWC soon came to a grinding halt and into cheers as NZ supporters realized penalty kicks is the only way they are going through the QF. What a two-faced nation.
9 Oct 2011, 12:27 pm
Congratulations to the All Blacks. A hard fought victory playing typical Bok rugby.
Well done.
looking forward to the game against Aus.
9 Oct 2011, 12:41 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-152: Do you still think Nonu is the best 12 in the world? So many schoolboy errors today. He is made to look good by the brilliant players around him, most notably Conrad smith.
9 Oct 2011, 12:42 pm
@TheBoksAreBack(bringbacktheboks)-222:
You’ve been eliminated have you not?
9 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
Should people have booed?
Was everyone cheering?
Were the whole nation at the game?
You appear to be spouting bollocks
9 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
@chch(chch)-214:
yer but you do own one
9 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
@nama1(nama1)-223:
Cheers nama. Same
9 Oct 2011, 12:47 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-227:
I told you I don’t so get forked
So and fork yourself you miserable trolling twaat head xenophobic forker
get forked fork off
9 Oct 2011, 12:48 pm
I take it you are in Asia to follow up on your fetish with small children
9 Oct 2011, 12:49 pm
Well to be honest you guys said we cant win playing the way we play.
Now we get the penalties cos the Argies were slowing the ball down and infringing, you complain cos we kick the kicks.
lol, least your not posting your gonna kill the ref, your just in your normal mood of posting anti NZ cr@p, very consistent, unlike your team
9 Oct 2011, 12:51 pm
You have one in your room right now right. All this xenophobic stuff is just due to guilt from your pedophilia issues
9 Oct 2011, 13:24 pm
These guys (All Blacks) have had a soft ride all the way through – the Wallabies battered very ordinary forwards (Pocock excepted) have been smashed up and haven’t a hope in a hell of reaching the finals.
It’s like British military policy over the years: send in the Scots and Irish to do the fighting, the Welsh to clean up the mess and the English to come in and manage the survivors. The only remote hope of the All Blacks losing is France; the Kiwis will arrive fresh as daisies to the final having ratched up a cricket score against Australia.
The Boks would have given them a much better fight – what an anti-climax.
9 Oct 2011, 13:46 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-233: We have played who was in front of us hardly our fault….you had Morne to save you but he didn’t..you had nearly all the possesion so therefore Boks choked…we had most of possesion and Weepu put points on the board…
as you Boks have been saying it’s WC rugby lol.
9 Oct 2011, 13:48 pm
@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-233: So your saying Boks last world cup win isn’t valid..you had only soft teams to play…lol
9 Oct 2011, 15:58 pm
AB’s were poor today! Fortunately we softened the wallabies up for them. No ref would be stupid enough to give the wallabies the leeway Lawrence gave them today. If he did the Kiwis would lynch him.
The reffing controversy has played into the AB’s hand. Paddy O Brien will no doubt have a chat about the tackled ball and daylight with the appointed official and highlight just where Lawrence got it wrong. Of course publicly O’ Brien will endorse Lawrencve and describe his performance as flawless.
Wales AB final!
9 Oct 2011, 15:58 pm
AB’s were poor today! Fortunately we softened the wallabies up for them. No ref would be stupid enough to give the wallabies the leeway Lawrence gave them today. If he did the Kiwis would lynch him.
The reffing controversy has played into the AB’s hand. Paddy O Brien will no doubt have a chat about the tackled ball and daylight with the appointed official and highlight just where Lawrence got it wrong. Of course publicly O’ Brien will endorse Lawrence and describe his performance as flawless.
Wales AB final!
9 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
well done all blacks and good luck against the wallabies.
i hope this is your time after all.
9 Oct 2011, 20:00 pm
238, thanks mate, nice
9 Oct 2011, 20:05 pm
3 NZ coaches in the semis, not bad huh
9 Oct 2011, 20:24 pm
@chch(chch)-230:
that is truly SICK
9 Oct 2011, 20:32 pm
Piri’s a better goalkicker than Carter. Cometh the hour, cometh the man.
9 Oct 2011, 20:35 pm
If we play as poorly vs Wallabies as we did against Los Pumas, we’ll have our @rses handed to us on a platter.
AB tactics were Dumb and Dumber. Stupid side-to-side, always looking for width immediately, kicking ball away when ball-in-hands with patience would have been far more constructive and no headless-chicken mentality.
The only positive I can take out of this match is that the ABs played utter p000h but still won by 23pts. If we play the same vs Aus we’ll lose by 23.
10 Oct 2011, 06:00 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-241:
His comments are a little disturbing, clearly he’s a closet Wallabie.
10 Oct 2011, 07:01 am
@frenchiebokfan(frenchiebokfan)-124: Well, they did win by 20+. With the emphasis on WIN.
10 Oct 2011, 07:59 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-243:
I agree we don’t want to play like headless chickens, but we did bring a fair amount of the slowing down on ourselves, which stifled our attacks..
Argies did their bit for sure, but Weepu took forever to clear some of the rucks, which gave the Argies plenty of time to reinforce their defences.
Granted it was late in the game and the opposition were possibly a bit worn down, but Cowen’s service was far more crisp and the whole backline looked sharper when he came on.
10 Oct 2011, 08:10 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-245:
I agree.
Critics here are winding up their auto response mechanisms with the predictable dismissal of anything the AB’s do.
Thrash the opposition and the competition were hopeless. Grind out a tough match and the AB’s are showing chinks.