Boks lament breakdown burglary

The Springboks have suggested that referee Bryce Lawrence’s failure to punish Australia’s infringement at the breakdown cost them heavily.

The defending champions conceded 10 breakdown turnovers, with Wallabies openside flank David Pocock being the chief destroyer of their attacking momentum.

Referee Bryce Lawrence came into the Test having awarded among the lowest number of ruck penalties on average in the tournament, and that trend continued as he allowed a greater contest than has been the norm. The Springboks undoubtedly suffered as a result, but they must look at their inability to protect the ball in contact and on the deck as the primary cause for their struggles (they also committed 10 handling errors).

Still, captain John Smit intimated that they were hard done by at the breakdown. ‘It [the Wallabies' perceived infringement at the breakdown] was the only talking point between he and I,’ Smit said of his on-field interaction with Lawrence. ‘The message clearly wasn’t going through.’

Asked about Pocock’s influence, Smit said: ‘I guess he was brilliant at capitalising on the way the breakdown was being interpreted. When you are brave and keep the ball, normally you are rewarded. That wasn’t the case tonight.’

Head coach Peter de Villiers echoed Smit’s sentiments. ‘Tactically we played correctly but the breakdown was a mess,’ he said. ‘In a quarter-final you have to take your chances and we didn’t take ours. Well done to them. They had a few [opportunities] and they took them. For the rest of the time we were in control. A couple of calls never went our way, but now isn’t the time to talk about the ref.’

However, Australia coach Robbie Deans, whose side has been heavily penalised by Lawrence in the tournament to date, countered that criticism. ‘We didn’t see it as that. Maybe both sides were hard done by, then. The breakdown was hotly contested, and maybe things evened themselves out,’ he said in a veiled reference to their struggles with the New Zealand official.

Asked to assess Pocock’s performance, Deans was emphatic in his response. ‘Immense. Remarkable. It was bigger than he got credit for. It was probably the most dominant performance [by an openside flank] in the tournament.’

Deans described this showing as the ‘coming of age’ of his youthful group, and added: ‘Tonight the most experienced side in the tournament turned the screws on the youngest. I don’t need to equip these boys with the skills to cope with pressure going forward. They showed that they have that capacity tonight.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Wellington.

164 Comments

• 1.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Deans, you got away with murder and you know it.

just take a look at pictures of your own facial expressions during the game to remind yourself of how deep in the **** you were i and how lucky you got.

• 2.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

” ‘We didn’t see it as that. Maybe both sides were hard done by, then”…..

rubbish

the team that was most hard done by was the one with all the frikken ball and territory.

• 3.ET.: Reply to this comment

These decrepit players are just like their cry-baby fans.

All you ever get is blaming someone else. It is never them. Exactly how they behaved during their Apartheid years – it is never them. White is night annd white is right.

• 4.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Totally. Pocock can’t steal the ball legally. You can’t put your hands in a ruck when it is formed and drag the ball back. Happened time after time. Anzac connection strikes again.

@ET.(ET.)-3:

I could easily find you in real life.

• 5.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

All Blacks have Wayne Barnes. We have Bryce Lawrence.

• 6.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-1: In rugby you play what’s in front of you and that includes the ref – defence wins matches. Honestly, your boys were awesome but lost and now don’t deserve to be tainted by fans whining about refs etc. Its rugby and it happens. How many teams have been done over in the Republic by “questionable” controls?

• 7.ET.: Reply to this comment

Moan, moan, groan, groan, cry, cry and cry some more.

So its crying time again, you’re always losing

I can see that faraway look in your eyes

I can tell it by the way you’re always moaning

That it won’t be long before it’s crying time.

Belt it out to them Ray Charles.

• 8.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-4: You can put your hands anywhere you like if you’re on your feet and onside.

• 9.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-4:

Can you steal anything legally even if you were so used to it during apartheid?

Why are you even looking I am right here. Can you even handle your lost game or your soul/sole?

• 10.jeest: Reply to this comment

Referee allowed both sides to infringe – as he always does. Plenty of calls weren’t made against us that could have been made too. In the end, when your team makes 50 tackles and the other team makes 150, there is no reason your team shouldn’t win unless the opposition defence is unbelievable….well guess what – it was.

Stop whining Kobus – you have been on every post making us look like losers. Bryce fucked the aussies in 2 matches already – at least this time he was evenly ****. We lost because we couldn’t score against their defence. I mean look at the game, by the 65th minute the aussies were too tired to even compete at the rucks. Morne missed a couple of shots and that was the game, it happens.

• 11.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

From The Telegraph’s website:

Rugby World Cup 2011: Bryce Lawrence reduced breakdown to a farce in Australia’s win over South Africa

Paddy O’Brien, the IRB’s head of refs, told me before the start of the tournament that no World Cup had ever been decided by the man in the middle.

By Mark Reason, in Wellington9:07AM BST 09 Oct 2011

It is a highly debatable claim and certainly the refs went out of their way to try to get Australia over the line in 2003. But you would not rule out this Rugby World Cup being decided on a shonky decision.

Mr Bryce Lawrence, the son of an official, is rated rather highly by those in charge of the whistle blowers. But a lot of players and fans have absolutely no idea why. He made a complete hash of today’s game between Australia and South Africa and the Springboks will be furious.

They identified the breakdown as a crucial area of the match beforehand, but they did expect there to be some sort of reffing.

The South Africans thought that the tackler would have to release the ball carrier. They thought that the offside line would be respected. They thought that men would have to stay on the feet. Instead it was a complete shambles.

The trouble is that Lawrence has form at this sort of thing. He was given the final of Super Rugby for apparently being the best ref in the tournament.

Some of us thought that the South African refs were in an altogether different class. They would also have had the advantage of being neutral as the final was between an Aussie and a Kiwi side. But no, Mr Lawrence got the nod.
    And despite all the fantastic players on the pitch, the match became a farce because Lawrence had absolutely no control over the breakdown. Players were diving in on all sides. It became a free-for-all.

What could have been a great game of rugby turned into a mess, because Lawrence did not rule the breakdown.

So should we be surprised at today’s snore. More often than not dull matches are greatly contributed to by the refs inability to be accurate at the contact area. Yes, South Africa are nothing like as efficient there without the great Juan Smith to clean out.

But unless the IRB’s refs get a grip we are going to have some really dull semi-finals. Hopefully the guys who can really get a grip at the breakdown – the South Africans and the Northern Hemisphere refs – will be put in charge of the final four matches.

If we let a Kiwi near the games, then it will be more mayhem. South Africa will feel cheated. And they have every right to complain.

The Aussies have already made one New Zealand ref – Steve Walsh – one of their own. Lawrence could well be next in line for honorary citizenship.

• 12.DontThinkJustWonder: Reply to this comment

What I lament is our lack of rugby brains.

Coach: once Heinrich went off and we saw how the ref was policing the breakdown Snor should have immediately brought on Biz for Plod.

Captain: Smit has been a good leader in many ways but he’s never shown any flexibiliy in the way he and his eam respond to conditions during the game.

Players: didn’t protect our ball enough as the game was reffed. Hard to judge whether we attacked their ball enough cos they so rarely had it.

Oh and we didn’t take our chances – Morne missed penalty, Laaambie missed drop, JdV missed simple pass to Laaambie to score. Any of those and Snor would still have a job.

• 13.corms: Reply to this comment

Here we go again, blame the ref time! Never mind the untaken penalty kicks, or the worlds best hooker sitting on the bench, no it’s all the refs fault.

• 14.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-8:
    but not after the ruck has formed

• 15.julz: Reply to this comment

Ryan, how about watching the game again, objectively, and assessing how much impact the ref had. Give some statistics on the breakdown. I watched through partisan eyes and thought that Pocock got away with absolute murder primarily because he was either lying on the ground or unsupported most of the time. Whether we were doing the same less successfully, I don’t know. I have too much pain to watch it again!

One thing is for certain, Pocock definately deserved MOTM illegally or not. He was a thorn in our flesh that Bissy should have dealt with from the go.

• 16.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-3:

Doos!

• 17.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-14: Of course you can – just bash through the middle, stay on your feet and pick up the ball. It’s called a turnover and that’s legal.

• 18.ET.: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-16:

That D tag has long since belonged solely to you. You own it and use it like no other, becauuse you are so limited upstairs.

• 19.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

the ref cost us the game. he should be killed immediately. it was nonsense.

kill bryce right now. kill him.

• 20.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-19: :lol: you think a few death threats are in order? :lol:

• 21.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-14: Otherwise, according to you, there’d be no such thing as a turnover from ruck ball. The rules are fairly plain to read.

• 22.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-19: you sound like a gracious kind of chap. Not one to go over the top either are we?

• 23.We are red: Reply to this comment

as a diehard wallaby fan, im the first to admit the boks were the better team on the night. they didn’t lose becuase of the referee though. they lost due to brussow getting injured, leaving the best hooker on the pine for 55 minutes, not taking kicks when avaliable.

either team could have won, it was a kick here or there between them. i feel sorry for the boks as its harder to swallow when you were the dominant team, but sometimes thats rugby. i really didnt think bryce had that much influence on the game. i know i was yelling at him a lot all game so it wasnt all one way traffic.

Anwyway you have got rid of coach clown now and will be better for it. looking forward to seeing some of the new players blooded in the boks team over the next few years.

Me thinks the Cheetah’s have got a few future boks in their ranks.

• 24.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Pocock was brilliant. He played according the way the reffed. Why didn’t we play the same way?

• 25.We are red: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-22: stop trolling the saffa’s mate. you’re a farking embarrassment

• 26.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23: Mate – all well and good but defence wins games are we were immense. Added to the fact Boks took a number of wrong options and were a little loose with their ball security when it mattered. One silly penalty and, bang, game over.

• 27.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23:

Well done mate. I think the AB’s are there for the pickings. Play with passion and you could just take this one again. Good Luck

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-11:
    “. Players were diving in on all sides. It became a free-for-all.”

So both teams were cheating. Thats what i saw as well :-)

• 29.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-25: What are you talking about? Did you actually read the post I was responding to? I’ve been on this site for some time and congratulated and commiserated the boys and all the rest of it. Just a few twits that go over the top and I’m the embarrassment? Buddy you’re weird.

• 30.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-24:

That is the point.

It is such a waste of time and energy to whinge like some are doing now and it wont change anything.

• 31.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-25:
    Ummm, If you read what he was replying to,it was about killing the ref.

• 32.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-22: in the build up to the RWC all we heard was how strict the refs will be at the breakdown, maul, ruck etc.

Thats all we heard. Thats all we heard. How there must be daylight, no hands in the ruck etc etc.

The ref cost us that game. Yes, you will get the usual bleating about how you must be gracious losers, how you must take it on the chin, how both teams play with the same ref.

Nonsense. Bryce gifted this game to the Aussies. Fullstop.

• 33.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-30:

Exactly. Let’s give the Ozzies some credit. Winning with only 26% ball. That takes some beating. I’m disappointed, but sh it happens. One thing I can’t stand is whining…

• 34.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-31: Think he was playing at the deaththreats Wayne Barnes recieved the previous WC. :smile:

• 35.cane: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23:

Congrates WE are Red.

True, SA should have won.
    But they didn’t.
    And that was because of ONE THING, and One Thing only.

Heart. ( a belief that if you give 115% anything is possible).

I hope the Saffas go out in their 1000′s to welcome home their Team. They were tremendous as well.

More than tremendous.
    Every man did his job. Each and everyone played with conviction and passion.

• 36.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-31: Thanks bud – thought I was on the right side of that one.

• 37.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-32: Or maybe not… :oops:

• 38.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-34:
    Hey we threatened to kill him the next day. Blueblood doing it a bit to early

• 39.cane: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-25:

If the result was the opposite we would have gloaters.

You choose………………………..
    Gloaters or Trolls.

• 40.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-32: I do take your point, but my point is – and its been made over and over again elsewhere – you play what’s in front of you and that includes how the ref is applying the rules. I get the fact you guys are gutted – and you should be. Your team played a fantastic game and kept bashing away to the very last second. And we’ve been done over before a number of times so I do know how it feels. But have a look at how the Bok team handled themselves after. Despite everything they may have felt not one complained or said a word. Class.

• 41.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-33:

They are showing on tv at the moment calls that went against the boks
    Very one-sided as they do not show calls that went agaisnt the Aussies.
    And the e mailers who are responding are are getting so hyped up- calling Bryce a “sheep farmer, idiot, cheat etc…

It’s quite embarrassing to watch.

• 42.cane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-38:

Hey……………………………….at least none of us on Keo threatened to kill Barnsey. ( I think).

And hey again…………………………………….Piri the King of Wainuiomata. ( Till he goes to Auckland).

• 43.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

copy and paste from the Telegraph

Rugby World Cup 2011: Bryce Lawrence reduced breakdown to a farce in Australia’s win over South Africa
    Paddy O’Brien, the IRB’s head of refs, told me before the start of the tournament that no World Cup had ever been decided by the man in the middle.
    The great escape: Australia celebrate their narrow win over South Africa Photo: AFP

By Mark Reason, in Wellington

9:07AM BST 09 Oct 2011

29 Comments

It is a highly debatable claim and certainly the refs went out of their way to try to get Australia over the line in 2003. But you would not rule out this Rugby World Cup being decided on a shonky decision.

Mr Bryce Lawrence, the son of an official, is rated rather highly by those in charge of the whistle blowers. But a lot of players and fans have absolutely no idea why. He made a complete hash of today’s game between Australia and South Africa and the Springboks will be furious.

They identified the breakdown as a crucial area of the match beforehand, but they did expect there to be some sort of reffing.

The South Africans thought that the tackler would have to release the ball carrier. They thought that the offside line would be respected. They thought that men would have to stay on the feet. Instead it was a complete shambles.

The trouble is that Lawrence has form at this sort of thing. He was given the final of Super Rugby for apparently being the best ref in the tournament.
    Related Articles
    South Africa 9 Australia 11 09 Oct 2011
    SA v Australia: as it happened 09 Oct 2011
    Wallabies waltzing on 09 Oct 2011

Some of us thought that the South African refs were in an altogether different class. They would also have had the advantage of being neutral as the final was between an Aussie and a Kiwi side. But no, Mr Lawrence got the nod.

And despite all the fantastic players on the pitch, the match became a farce because Lawrence had absolutely no control over the breakdown. Players were diving in on all sides. It became a free-for-all.

What could have been a great game of rugby turned into a mess, because Lawrence did not rule the breakdown.

So should we be surprised at today’s snore. More often than not dull matches are greatly contributed to by the refs inability to be accurate at the contact area. Yes, South Africa are nothing like as efficient there without the great Juan Smith to clean out.

But unless the IRB’s refs get a grip we are going to have some really dull semi-finals. Hopefully the guys who can really get a grip at the breakdown – the South Africans and the Northern Hemisphere refs – will be put in charge of the final four matches.

If we let a Kiwi near the games, then it will be more mayhem. South Africa will feel cheated. And they have every right to complain.

The Aussies have already made one New Zealand ref – Steve Walsh – one of their own. Lawrence could well be next in line for honorary citizenship

• 44.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-41:

I’m watching mate! Listening to Bob now. Saying we don’t want to be whingers. Well I’m embarrassed with all the whinging going on. We have won some that could have gone the other way. I’m proud to be South African but want to be known as a true supporter who celebrates a win but congratulates the opposition come rain or high water. We lost – lets get over it. We are going to get a new coach and a new team. Let’s look to the future.

Go Province… ;)

• 45.cane: Reply to this comment

Bryce Lawence will get a Semi.

That’s how good he was.

As will the friggen Welshman Nigel.

• 46.Boertjie: Reply to this comment

Bryce Lawrence was brilliant today. A real stalwart of the game. He was by far Australia’s best player. I am still in shock…cannot believe what happened here…feel like I’m walking away from a Heavyweight boxing fight…you know the feeling…watchin one guy pulverise the other, just doesn’t knock him out and the decision goes the way of the favourite…the money guy…in this case the Wallabies. How can the players be proud of that “win”? I feel dirty…like I’ve been molested….so having said that what a crappy way to see the end of the career of so many great SA Champions!!!! All because of a referee, petrified that by allowing the Bokke to win, he would see the elimination of his country in the ensuing Semi.
    Tonight the IRB made Rugby Union ‘The Game played in Las Vegas’.

• 47.PeaceFrog: Reply to this comment

Hey Ryan – why don’t you give YOUR stupid and unintellectual opinion here too ? … Watch the game again … WE WERE CHEATED !!! Dunno what you were watching but I’m still amazed that you are given the opportunity to write on this blog … About 90 % of all bloggers make more sense than you? Hopefully – we will be rid of you and your useless articles soon

• 48.RL: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-23: spot on, not starting with the worlds best hooker was a crime against rugby.

• 49.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-40: I’m not blaming Bryce but will say that this game was totally different to how he reffed all his other games in this tournament. I would wager he averages about 15-20 penalties a game. Would you agree? And if that is true, the lack of penalties stands out like a sore thumb. I would realy like to know why the discrepancy in this game but never will, so yeah…

• 50.Boertjie: Reply to this comment

*Bryce Lawrence was brilliant today. A real stalwart of the game. He was by far Australia’s best player. I am still in shock…cannot believe what happened here…feel like I’m walking away from a Heavyweight boxing fight…you know the feeling…watchin one guy pulverise the other, just doesn’t knock him out and the decision goes the way of the favourite…the money guy…in this case the Wallabies. How can the players be proud of that “win”? I feel dirty…like I’ve been molested….so having said that what a crappy way to see the end of the career of so many great SA Champions!!!! All because of a referee, petrified that by allowing the Bokke to win, he would see the elimination of his country in the ensuing Semi.
    Tonight the IRB made Rugby Union ‘The Game played in Las Vegas’. *

• 51.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-4: @ET.(ET.)-3:
    I could easily find you in real life. lol

• 52.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-41:
    Understand Rob.
    I too was embarrased how in 2007 the Barnes saga went down.
    I was dissapointed and i knew he missed that famous forward pass but **** happens.
    He didnt cheat, he missed as well as the other 2 touch judges. Its a tough job and you will never be liked as a ref. In most games you are hated by one lot of Fans and not the other.
    Lets hope the good SA fans dont get put into the same pot as these other bleaters as we did in 2007.

• 53.cane: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-44:

. I’m proud to be South African .

And so you should be Bill.
    Your Boys gave it EVERYTHING.
    You can ask no more.

• 54.RL: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-45: Barnes and Joubert will get the semis, Kaplan the final … I hope you chokers get Barnes.

• 55.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-32: I hadn’t realised you were the author of those previous disgusting posts. Nothing further to say to you except bye.

• 56.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-42:
    Yep Piri should have a statue placed upon the Wainui Hill.
    And i think your right, not one of us actually threatened Barnes on Keo, only in my sleep :-)
    We were just told stop moaning and get on with life, probably from half these guys on here that are crying like Kobus.

• 57.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-53:

Thanks mate! The one good thing about this world cup is that teams are getting closer and closer to each other. Wales have been awesome, the French, well they are the French and can beat anyone but lose to minnows. It is going to be a great game next weekend and I will be glued to my TV watching two greats going into battle. May the best team win…

• 58.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-51:
    lol Kobus couldnt find anyone without a stock ID tag on the ear and its ready for milking.

• 59.cane: Reply to this comment

@jeest(jeest)-10:

“” In the end, when your team makes 50 tackles and the other team makes 150, there is no reason your team shouldn’t win unless the opposition defence is unbelievable….well guess what – it was”".

These are the words of man deeply disappointed.
    But one who is fair and reasoned.

• 60.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-54:
    I hope you do as well…….oh wait, my apologies :-)

• 61.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-58: lol he is going to find you as well, if he finds me i will tazer him, but it was funny ET can make a person feel that way at times.

• 62.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-59: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-60:

We have taken a lot out of the Ozzies. You should be grateful to us. They must be knackered… :lol:

• 63.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

a) The ruck and the interpretation of the ruck has always been rugby unions achiles heel and so will it always be. But according to the laws as they stand right now surely the first question a ref must ask himself as a ruck is forming is have they tacklers given the tackled player the opportunity to place the ball. Bryce Lawrence was not asking that question tonight. Aussies took advantage of it. One incident in particular stood out where the ball got ripped off schalk under the poles with Lawrence standing no more than 2m away with a clear view. Two aussies tackled him. He went to ground. Neither released him and ball was immediately ripped by one of the tacklers. That was a clear penalty and cause for a yellow card given the situation.

b) We still should have won and blaming the ref is pointless. We dont have enough creativity with ball in hand and we were not clinical enough in finishing either. We also might look back and wonder why we didnt make more use of the drop goal. Once it became evident Aussies were not going to get penalised at defensive rucks (which was apparent very early on) we should have realised drop goals were going to be needed.

• 64.cane: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-54:

Whatever RL.

Barnsey owes us one and he knows it.

If it hurts Bro,
    It’s because you love them Boks.

Nothing is free,
    Not even love.

The hurt you feel is the price of love.
    But you will not stop loving them, will you,
    so in the end love always wins.

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

End of the day too many has-beens were selected for RWC duty.

Spies is kak, Plod is kak, JPP is kak, Habana is kak, FdP has been kak all year, Burger is kak … all of these fat boys got a free ride to RWC and did fokol right when it mattered … better players were left behind for these has-been schmucks.

• 66.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-65:

I was believing everything until you mentioned Burger is k a k…

• 67.RL: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-60: Barnes is competent, unlike your Bryce :razz:

• 68.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I thought the ref was poor but consistent and the losing team was always going to complain!

Fortunately its the boks!

Kobus you can be patriotic and tell your boys how much you love them at OR Tambo!

• 69.RL: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-66: believe it.

• 70.cane: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-62:

“We have taken a lot out of the Ozzies.”

Yeah Right.

You have just given them the belief that they are bullet proof.

• 71.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-64:

Yip Nothing is free in this universe not even love that is the absolute truth of everything

and in this vale of tears Karma always has the last laugh .. always without fail..

• 72.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Whatever happens, one of NZ or Aus will exit the tournament next weekend.

I’m also beginning to think that maybe Wales can go all the way…French too inconsistent; if they win next week they will come unstuck at the next hurdle

So Wales should be the danger team on the one stream

Kiwis are cheating and Aussies have been crushed today. If Wales lose then of course they will look back and say ‘ our only loss was against the Boks’

• 73.RL: Reply to this comment

Players like Sadie, Taute, Goosen and Vermaak were robbed of the chance to play in the RWC … fat boys booked their spots in 2009 ffs … it is true.

• 74.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Cheers all…

Good luck to all the teams in the semi-finals. May the best team win…

• 75.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-68: your first try was a direct result of a hands in the ruck steal.. and the second time it happened was on your own try line.. hands in the ruck steal.. or else it was sure try to Boks on your try line … and you got away with murder both times.. and both times the one to lose the ball in the ruck was Burger..

IRB better clean up this mess because hands in ruck are STILL a no no illegitimate ball and a PENALTY against the transgressor .. or so it was until yesterday…

• 76.cane: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-68:

Congrats Wally.

A MAGNIFICENT AND STOIC PERFORMANCE BY THE WALLABIES.

Against all odds.
    Against every stat but ONE.

We have one hell of match to look forward to next weekend.

• 77.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

A big thing for this game is Deans learned that cooper needs barnes as security for his mental yips.

As fitzpatric said…he is worried as the wallabies won with cooper being rubbish and now the combo of barnes and cooper being found…next week is worrying!

• 78.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-76: If the ref is fair Wallabies gonna win..

If he’s up Paddy O.B’s backside which is far more likely the case then AB’s will squeak it…

• 79.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-77: Nice one Wallabie. Well done to your boys. wish it was us, but it’s not. That’s life.

• 80.cane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-72:

“Aussies have been crushed today…..”

I do not share your view on this matter.

Ozzies will have self belief after today.

• 81.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-75:

When pocock got to the tackle there was no ruck…in fact the ball should have come out when he got there if it were not for holding onto the ball by the boks.

First penalty conversion for the boks should not have been…there were enough wallabies to effect a turnover if the boks were not holding…it was not only until a wallaby came steaming through that bryce opened his eyes…that should have been a walla penalty.

• 82.Ig: Reply to this comment

Boks lost the game – plain and simple – we had all the chances and didn’t take them.

Would have preferred to lose to the Blackness rather than the Convicts.

• 83.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-79:

Thanks bud…it was heart attack stuff.

Thanks for being sporting…your boys beat everywhere other than in the breakdown and scorboard.

• 84.cane: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-78:

Whatever Skoppie.

This is a great WC. Anything and everthing is possible from here on in.

Bring it on……!!!!

• 85.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-82: Hey bud, long time no see. I gather the wifey is keeping you busy with gardening and handyman chores.

• 86.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-83: That’s our second heart attack in 3 weeks. My doc is not happy.

• 87.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-80:

I meant they were crushed on the park today.

I dont care what they draw from today’s encounter; the ABs will anyway not be in a position to emulate the Boks.

Only the Boks can dominate them like that.

Bryce effected that but watch how this backfires next week.

• 88.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-76:

Thanks…it is going to be a cracker of a game.

• 89.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Well, the upside is that all those Bok stars can come home now and face the wrath of the Lions in the semis and finals of the CC. I’m tired of this “weakened competition” rubbish. It’s knock-out time now. Four teams start with a clean sheet. I dare the glory boys to load theirs with returning superstars.

• 90.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Is this the get out jail card for the wallabies!

• 91.cane: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-82:

Hello Ignacious.

• 92.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Wallabies will beat the ABs next week.

Then Wallabies will lose against France or Wales

• 93.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-91: Hey cane, I hope your thief was watching what Pocock did. We’ll see next week if two wrongs can make a right.

• 94.Ig: Reply to this comment

@katman – that’s another whole story ;)

Oi – Cane – you best faaaaark up those Convicts next week.

You well brew?

• 95.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-81:

Burger set it back both times.. no daylight .. and ball pops up on your side.. was hands in ruck both times.. once on our try line and once on yours.. and the hands were yellow hands not green ones..

How about the high tackle on Louw by both Horwill and your other bloke.. , Bryce gives you the turnover .. should have been Boks penalty right there.. and game might have been sealed… cos it was 10-9 at that point.

Pocock had a good game no question but another ref would have blown it a whole lot differently

SH contested games should get NH refs or at least totally unbiased ones .. this Oke Lawrence is in Paddy O’B's back pocket and they both know if Boks got to semi’s AB’s may not get to the final…

We got done .. sure I accept it pans that way and that how the cookie crumbles in tight affairs.. A French or Welsh or Irish ref would have blown Pocock off those balls far quicker than this Yellow bellied sympathizer did.

Burger should NOT have gone to ground in front of his poles and tried to set a loose ruck, should have gone to FH and into touch, but that ball had NO business popping back on your side because it was deliberate hands in ruck.. same as it was against same Burger right on your try line second half..

• 96.cane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Lawman)-87:

We shall ALL wait and see.

Plenty of great rugby still to come.

• 97.We are red: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-87: The fact i feel kind of bitter about the win backs up your argument. There is a small part of me that didnt want the wallabies to win tonight becuase the other team purely and simply deserved it more.

• 98.We are red: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-94: I get the feeling all the Saffa’s now want the AB’s to beat the wallabies next week?

Since when did this alliance occur?

• 99.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Of course if the Wallabies beat the ABs next week, it will be really something.

Not so much for the team, but for Deans.

He has been on the receiving end from ABs so it will be unbelievable if his team can pull that off. Now he knows they can, Reds beating Crusaders is in effect that. so again he knows they can

I would love for that to happen as it would undo all the hard work and planning by Paddy and others.

Deans was a hurt and almost bitter man when overlooked by selectors 4 years ago, but he went about his business with great character and dignity.

AB coach selectors would have felt justified in selecting Ted over the last 3 years, but if Deans can pull of this one it will be immense.

And you know what Deans would say afterwards looking almost sad: ‘We have just beaten the best team in the world, I think we should give these young guys credit’

• 100.RL: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-95: Burger is a bonehead, and there are some here who say he had a good match, ignoring his poor skill in securing ground ball … only in the Cape is he considered a great player.

• 101.cane: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-94:

I was relying on your Boys to put the Quade and Kurtly Show OFF THE AIR.

BUT…………………………………………wouldn’t you know it.
    You OKES fukked it UP!

Just kidding Ig.
    I know how how disappointed you South Africans must be.
    Your Team played their hearts out.
    Be proud of them.

Sport can be cruel.

• 102.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-100: Burger masks all his poor decision taking and poor passing skills and poor protection of the ball on the ground by all his Kamakaze tackling which he pulls off and puts his body on the line..

Burger is as much a liability as an asset. he is an asset in the covering tackle situation.. none other like him.. but in a first receiver ball carrying role he is a total liability… and the whole saffa contingency of Burger hero worshipers want Burger as next captain … well there you go… another f’ng 4 years of snot and trane gonna run down these cheeks…

• 103.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-97:

I think the point for me is this: can we honestly say ‘hand on heart’ that Bryce did not influence the game?

The simple answer is ‘no’; he had a huge influence on the game.

Of course, it will always sound like sour grapes when we point it out but that is a fact. Boks worked very hard on their discipline, in other words, to make sure that they adhere to the rules.

It is therefore understandable that they would be rattled if the rules are suddenly interpreted as the ref sees it fit. It also would have conjured up images of refs that often blowed against the Boks, most notably Alain Rolland in the recent past.

For me personally, the Boks won that game. I understand it does not count and they are now out of the tournament but they deserved their victory tonight, something we cannot say about their performances in the year.

They were mostly well and truly beaten.

So, yeah, it’s a tough one but we will build on this for the future …

• 104.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-93:

Condolences katman.
    We Kiwi’s know what it is like to go out in the QF’s.
    It is a bitter pill to swallow.

The Boks may have lost. But each and every one gave his all.

• 105.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Deans is fking right.. the ref blew it in the boks favour until it became blatantly clearly that the stats would reflect badly on him so he tried to at least be fair bearing in mind that he did not give that vital penalty. The touch judge had to virtually embarass him by pointing it out. Besides Rossouws transgression, the ref should have seen Matfield pulling on the player in teh air..

Sour fking grapes from sore fking losers

• 106.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Even though I”m dissapointed at the refs decisions and the final score I’m mighty proud of the effort. We were unlucky and just couldn’t finish off.
    Looking forward to the 4 nations 2012, I think it’s time to dominate that tournament.

• 107.JEZ: Reply to this comment

The most irritating thing is Bryce Lawrence publicly admitted that he made crucial errors in australias loss against ireland. It is absolutely astounding that he was given the bok aussie quarter given this state of affairs. He should have been given a quarter not involving australia or none at all. The IRB or whoever sanctions the appointments should have considered this because no matter whether he got it wrong today or not this conflict gives rise to reasonable questions of his suitability or subconscious desire to even the scorecard. A very avoidable situation and shows a lack of due care on the part of the IRB.

• 108.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Day light robbery :(

• 109.toothgnasher: Reply to this comment

Boks lost today with oz picking up a lucky win….
    Hopefully the kiwi’s can bury them next weekend!
    Will be edging them on, if the boks can’t win let the all blacks take the spoils
    F UCK Australia!

• 110.lepel: Reply to this comment

I honestly don’t get all these Aussies on the site boasting about how we continue to whinge. Go do something else with your time…geeze…

Go watch the game with a detailed analysis and come tell me that Bryce didn’t hand the Aussies the game.

Yes, he was poor in general, allowed Boks to get away with stuff as well, but considering who was doing all the attacking and who was doing all the defending, the Aussies would invariably have picked up some penalties. They had a bad record so far at the tournament for conceding breakdown penalties, but now suddenly when they were under pressure for the whole game they don’t concede penalties.

USE LOGIC!

Oh hang on, we whine so naturally we’re all stupid upstairs as twits like ET point out. So our Logic is flawed…

• 111.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

ag you know, its the story of our lives isn’t it….anything to keep the dirty saffa’s down…

• 112.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@toothgnasher(toothgnasher)-109:
    hear, hear…

• 113.lepel: Reply to this comment

This game aside, the refs have been diabolical throughout the tournament for ALL the teams. It’s killing rugby… and it’s killing it quickly.

Paddy O’Brian is destroying Rugby.

• 114.David: Reply to this comment

@lepel(lepel)-113:
    Craig Joubert has done a great job, so far, and in my opinion should get the final.

• 115.lepel: Reply to this comment

@lepel(lepel)-113: In an interview he said he gives the refs 7,5/10, but sortof curving towards 8/10 so far in the tournament largely because they let games flow.

SA vs Aus game did NOT flow, NZ vs Arg game did NOT flow, Eng vs France did NOT flow… Sure, they’re blowing less penalties, but the balls are continually slowed down at the breakdown, or stolen illegally. It kills attacking momentum and flow…

Paddy O’Brian is the biggest problem in international rugby and he MUST go.

• 116.lepel: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-114: He’s been the best of the bunch, I agree.

• 117.David: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-103:
    Skinstad pointed out, at half time, that the Boks should realise what he wasn’t blowing and play accordingly.

• 118.Uys: Reply to this comment

Under current IRB and referee control the game of rugby has become a disgrace!

Rugby teams are no longer beating each other in a fair contest. The referee will determine the outcome of the game on his interpretation of the laws which will differ from game to game depending on which teams are on the field. Bryce Lawrence refereed the Australia/Ireland game totally different than the Australia/Springbok game.

The IRB and its referees are a disgrace to the game!

• 119.once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-117:
    true.
    i asked myself why the boks were not adapting to what he was blowing at the breakdown, especially in the second half.

• 120.lepel: Reply to this comment

@Uys(Uys)-118: And it’s going to become more and more of a problem as fans turn away from rugby. How can you try and promote the most confusing game on the planet (Rugby has the most rules) to potentially new fans when the rules are seemingly different in every game…

• 121.Brokenhats: Reply to this comment

@once more unto the breach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-119:

I’ve heard this said everywhere, but how exactly do you adapt to this? Does someone just punch Pocock in the face? If the ref allows a player to infringe and slow the ball down, what must the opposition do? Bakkies-style clean-outs?

• 122.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

What is sacking ??

Rossouw disagree’s with the refs call on the penalty which gave the aussies the winning points.

He says he sacked the player and as far as he knew you are allowed 2 sack a player. He says he did not play him in the air.

• 123.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

i dont think i’ve ever seen the boks play so well and lose.

congrats to aussie for doing the houdini act.

now I know how ABs felt in 2007, and to a lesser extent wales in the opening game.

• 124.shooter: Reply to this comment

Not SURE if I was WATCHING
    POKER or bridge today.
    Braai Lawless and priceless.
    Say that when you are drunk B\RYCE Laweless
    do not think to come and visit in the land of William Web Ellis.

.They spent all their bullets. 2015 2019 RSA

• 125.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-122:
    Tree, actually he had his legs while in the air and pulled them.
    I saw it on the replay. Fact is Matfield could have been penalised as well for putting his hands all over the Ozzie while he was mid air.
    What Rossouw has said is rubbish. You can only sack a maul.
    It was a lineout, no maul therefore a penalty. The ABs were penalised twice against the Argies for pulling the jumper. Its dangerous and Rossouw could have recieved a card for it to be honest.

• 126.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

i only saw what matfield did, so cant comment on darnie, but wud be silly 4 him 2 lie when every one will watch the replays. Still dont know what sacking is though, HELP ! ! !

• 127.kevhar: Reply to this comment

It’s simple to sort this out. The IRB should allow rucking. Guys who lie on the wrong side or use their hands will just get trampled. Its guaranteed to keep guys like Pocock honest. Not sure why they banned it in the first place…. No one has ever been killed by being rucked. Always been part of the game.

• 128.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

@Uys(Uys)-118:

Thats not true. Bryce has been the most lenient ref at the breakdown throughout the whole tournament and last night was no different. You cant say he was inconsistant. SA had their chances to win the game but blew them ALL. Morne missed crucial penalty conversions, Lambie overan Fourie(?) forcing the forward pass, Lambie missed his drop goal attempt and worst of all was Dannies senseless lifting of an Australian player at the lineout, gifting Bieber Occonor a penalty to take the lead and win the game. Bryce didnt lose that game for the Bokke! The Bokke lost that game all on their own!

• 129.Nuk3Fr33k1w1: Reply to this comment

@Nuk3Fr33k1w1(Nuk3Fr33k1w1)-128:

* it was JdV not Foruie*

• 130.aliboy: Reply to this comment

In both yesterdays games the refs allowed the defending teams far more latitude at the breakdown than would be normal. Pocock did have an excellent game, but you only had to watch his face at some of the breakdowns to see that even he felt that he was getting away with things more than normal. Why else do you look up at the ref and then suddenly pull a ball out of the ruck as he did a few times. The Boks got way with some stuff as well, but lost the ‘free-for-all’ breakdown battle when HB went off. The Argies were also very lucky not to end up with more guys in the bin given the tactics that they used to stay in the game.
    What scares me the most about this is thinking back to Barnes ‘possum in the headlights’ performance in 2007. We haven’t seen one quite that bad yet this time, but the QF refs seem to be heading in that direction with a noticeable drop off in the number of penalties awarded. Let’s hope neither of the semi’s aren’t decided with a similar poor performance.

• 131.aliboy: Reply to this comment

aren’t = are

• 132.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

All I can say is this not the last a ref will decide the out come iof a game in this tournament .

• 133.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-5:

How many times did I read

“we will win with Bryce”

prior to KO ?

lots and lots.

~guffaw~

• 134.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-11:

H I L A R I O U S article, thanks so much my wee nanny-goat.

“Mr Bryce Lawrence, the son of an official…..”

written by Mark Reason

THE SON OF A JOURNALIST !!!!

yes, thats right – Mark Reason, the son of John Reason, who hated the ABs SO MUCH in the 60′s – 80′s (nb in particular because of NZs sporting links with aparthied-era SA), that he took it upon himself to ridicule the ABs with a venomous vitriol at every single opportunity that he makes Stephen Jones look like an AB cheerleader.

…………………………~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

• 135.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-19:

“the ref cost us the game. he should be killed immediately. it was nonsense. kill bryce right now. kill him.”

ah yes, we remember all the mocking, here, of the Kiwis editing the Wiki profile of Wayne Barnes after Cardiff.

what next – therapy sessions ? domestic violence ?

• 136.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-72:

“Kiwis are cheating and Aussies have been crushed today”

I could tune here every day just to read your posts. Dont run away now, y’hear !

• 137.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-136: Yup, kicked off with “Tonga were moral victors”, now wheels have come off completely. Expect a frothy breakdown should ABs win the cup.

• 138.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

I’m thinking we create a list of idiots, so that new bloggers know who to ignore.

So far I’ve got:
    ashampoopaloo
    poppa69
    grant10
    Black Panther
    youknowwho

Other names don’t come to mind straight away… but you know who you are.

• 139.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

Written in today’s UK Guardian – an independent assessment:

South Africa complained long and hard that Australia were slowing down their ball but the referee Bryce Lawrence took the view throughout that, unless he saw a blatant offence, he would give both the attacking and defending sides latitude. The Wallabies did take advantage but the Springboks were not averse to entering a breakdown from the side and off their feet and Burger once got away with diving into a ruck off his feet and grabbing Pocock’s head before twisting it.

South Africa were also fortunate in the second half when Steyn body checked Digby Ioane as the wing chased his own chip into the Springboks’ 22 but was not even penalised for a cynical offence that merited a yellow card. For all their complaints about the anarchy at the breakdown South Africa created enough opportunities to have won comfortably.

Thoughts?

• 140.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-138: Thanks for that. Note taken.

• 141.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-139:

I saw the Steyn incident, and agree that it could have resulted in a yellow card. End of the day though that wasn’t points on the board, which is what we were denied by having the ball turned over illegally.

Didn’t think the Schalk incident was as bad as is being made out. Dan Vickerman was the main culprit, and they also got away with a few high tackles, 2 that come to mind straight away.

• 142.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-141: Agree with most of what you say but who knows what a yellow card for Steyn could have resulted in. Either way, shouldhaves and couldhaves are a fairly pointless except for a good argument. Most of the NZ and Eng press seem to suggest SA were offside at the ruck at a lot of the time and Bryce just had no control full stop. It was a brutal affair that’s for sure. You guys should be very proud even through that may stick in your craw a little. You won’t get any gloating from me – that’s just ugly.

• 143.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-142:

I’m very proud of the guys, as I said yesterday in another thread. I think every single players should be happy with his performance, because they all gave their best – except maybe Pierre Spies, he’s just useless.

Bryce Lawrence is a joke, but maybe we should have played according to his interpretation. We couldn’t adapt, especially after Brussow went off injured.

If there’s one thing I’ve learnt… you can’t play Australia without Heinrich Brussow. We lost that test earlier this year in Durban as well after he went off in the 50th minute. After that the Aussies had their way at the rucks.

• 144.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-143:

Oh, I never became a Danie Rossouw fan. The guy runs far too upright, only knows one direction, which is straight ahead, misses a HUGE amount of tackles and has the worst hands I’ve seen since Lomu. I’m glad to see the back of him.

• 145.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-143:
    Nice one Hendrikp
    You guys should be proud of the efforts the Boks put into that game, just could not quite finish. Oz only had a couple of chances and they took them, thats all that was in it really.
    Brussow was a huge loss for you. As said the rucks were a free for all and Brussow would have loved it, game changer really. But it was just the finishing,very sad to go out on such a dominant performance.

• 146.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-143: 100% with you on all counts in both comments. I dip in and out of this site because it is a great rugby blog (best I’ve come across) with real fans who know their stuff. In the Virgin Islands there isn’t a great deal of coverage. But there are also some real ferals that come out of the woodwork at which point I just sign off. Your list is a good idea.

• 147.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-145:

We’ll be back. South Africa has far too much rugby talent to be losing in a quarter-final. They definitely shouldn’t be satisfied… but if a talented coach is given the head coaching job – I’d prefer Brendan Venter, or Rassie Erasmus if it’s a management role similar to Martin Johnson – and he keeps the guys together and replaces the departing players and dead wood (just Pierre Spies) we’ll win more often then not.

Our goal has to be recovering from this Head-to-Head record against the All Blacks:

Wins: 34
    Losses: 46
    Draws: 3

It’d take a hell of a long time considering we’ll only be playing each other twice a year, but that has to be the goal.

• 148.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-147: I wouldn’t be at all worried about the future of SA rugby if I were you. You have some fantastic young players, good rugby brains (Venter and Erasmus among them) and an infrastructure and rugby production line that is starting to get back to where was in the 70s and early 80s. Being out of international rugby for a while was always going to take a toll when you got back and your balance sheet against the ABs is probably the best indicator of that. Correcting that (from an SA point of view) is a good goal to have and I’m sure whoever takes over would have that as a long term ambition to nail.

• 149.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-146:

It’s easy to sit on your couch and find fault, then tell everyone to F off if they point out where you went wrong.

Fourie du Preez for example. I keep hearing he was slow… I played a bit of scrumhalf, and it’s not as simple as getting to the ball and moving it on as quick as possible. That’s how turn-overs happen. You need to make decisions from the base, and hold the ball until the receivers are in a position to make use of the ball. du Preez’s tactical kicking was also excellent.

His sniping isn’t what it used to be. Genia has overtaken him as a running scrumhalf… but Fourie du Preez was definitely the right choice for this game.

Francois Hougaard is a terrific player, but a poor scrumhalf. I’m calling it now – Ruan Pienaar will be the Boks starting scrumhalf in 2012.

• 150.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-148:

Definitely not worried. There is a lot of talent… if we just use it correctly.

I’d have liked to have won this World Cup, but at the same time I’m confident we will now get a very good coach. Hoskins has a lot more brains then that fool Brian van Rooyen, so he’ll realise only the best can take us forward.

For now I’m cheering for the underdogs, Wales, but I’m really just hoping for an entertaining final 4 games.

• 151.BillMcConnell: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-150: Obviously I’m still in this Cup and we have the Blacks this weekend. No one should begrudge the Wallabies this Cup if they beat the Boks and the Blacks in successive weeks (although I’m not expecting as much). Like you, Wales my second team left in it. But I have done a little work for parts of your rugby admin and I can say there are some very good people (with brains) and, at the same time, some very loose, ambitious, jealous and petty people as well. Getting through all that will be hard but, ultimately it will happen. Life and business has a tendency to work that way. Good luck.

• 152.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-151:

Chur. I’m not really too bothered who wins anymore, but if I’m honest with myself I’d say I want anyone but the All Blacks to win. 4 years of gloating won’t go down well with me.

If Australia win it, I’d be very happy for them. Robbie Deans really is one hell of a coach.

• 153.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-152:
    God have mercy on us all if the AB’s win we will never hear the end of it

• 154.DT: Reply to this comment

Absolute nonsense …the ref wasa shocker and cost the Boks the game …..I dont mind losing fairly but this was ridiculous. Yes BL ( you twat) blew the breakdown badly but the Boks had nearly 80% possesion which resulted in the Boks losing momentum and not being rewarded appropriately. Watched Nick Mallet interview yesterday ….6 scrums that should have had penalties awarded also did not happen …..all in Aus half of the field. Another huge blunder Pocock was offside when Aus scored their try ….he came from an offside position and hacked the ball out of the ruck . Anyway thats life !!the Boks will be back …..cheers to the old men …..unfortunately a bridge too far . Look forward to a team that looks something like this 15 lambie 14 Aplon 13 Sadie 12 Steyn 11 JP 10 Jantjies 9 Hougaard 8 Alberts 7 Schalk 6 Brussouw 5 Bekker 4 Juan Smith 3 Beast / Steenkamp 2 Bissie 1 Coenie .
    BL hope you sleep well ……you were a disgrace to rugby !! Time for the IRB to sort out this out once and for all . The Boks showed showed humility and well done to them ……I wonder what Piet Van Zyl was thinking about this lot ???

• 155.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@DT(Duncan)-154:

Australia played to his interpretations much better… FACT.

But it was also Bryce Lawrence job to implement the breakdown laws correctly, and he did a poor job, which swung the game in favor of the Australians, who were able to offset our huge territorial advantage because of it.

I really don’t know what to think, except that Lawrence should retire from test rugby – and Super rugby after what happened with Sharks vs Crusaders.

• 156.Brads: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-155:
    What possessed Roussow to give away that lineout penalty which cost SA the game. Samo was in the air and he had the mans leg so he had no support when he came down. Had Samo fallen heavily, another ref would have brought out the red card.

Fortunately it was only a penalty, and with 8 minutes on the clock there was still plenty of time for SA to come back, except Aus had their noses in front and that was enough to give them a bit more energy to hold out.

One eyed biased sore losers are accusing the ref of cheating and incompetence but dear me, that penalty was the act of a total knucklehead.

All SA had to do was hold their disipline, but they didn’t have the nous to realise it.

Aus were holding on for dear life and that was all. There was no way in the world they were going to score any other way than from a penalty. They just didn’t have it in them.

• 157.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Yeah well guys. It is not the end of the world. We knew this was a 50/50 game and the boks didn’t take their chances in the last 10. A drop goal would have sealed it, but they messed up.

The breakdown reffing was bad, but the boks should have adapted and done the same. They didn’t.

Point is, could have gone either way. We lost… end of story. At least it is against Aus and not Ireland.

• 158.Bouts: Reply to this comment

I was proud of the boys either way. They did seem the most powerful team on the field, by far, but they failed to get the points in the end.

I do think it was bad that Steyn was so selfish. With Frans Steyn out he tried to take glory by taking those two kicks that we all know is out of his reach. Lambie should have taking those two (he can’t kick the same distance as Frans, but he can kick further than Morné), and probably would have hit one of them.

But it is the end of an era… now what happens now with the returning boks? Currie Cup?

• 159.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Interpretations aside – BL missed one very important turnover – When Pocock illegally scraped the ball out of our ruck on the Aussie line, we had a massive overlap. That should have been Yellow, instead it was a turnover. Touchies didnt see anything either. Boks can feel hard done by – Lawrence was pathetic, Boks lost more because of him than Aus did.

But, Boks should have put the game away – Steyn missed kicks, Lambie missed a drop, De Villiers threw a foward pass – in all – the Boks easily threw away 16 points.

• 160.YoMama: Reply to this comment

I remember earlier this year when the Cheetahs were playing one of the Australian teams, with Lawrence in charge, Heinrich Brussouw and Robert Ebersohn had a field day at the break-down much the same way as Pocock did on Sunday. I remember thinking then that this guy is clueless to the breakdown laws.

It is clear to me that the Australians were more aware of this than the Boks were and sent Vickerman in to do a “Bakkies” on Brussouw. It worked for them and we were the ones left with eggs on our faces.

I do not think that Lawrence was biased. He doesn’t come across in the same way as Dickerson, Walsh, Rolland, Clancy, Honiss and O’Brien do. He is just clueless to the breakdown laws. The Australians, as per their convict DNA, are smarter buggers than us. And we end up looking like a bunch of dumb japies again.

• 161.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-160: We are honest rugby players! lol

• 162.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-155: I wish the IRB could read AND understand(get) this post.He was shown in that Crusaders/Sharks game to be useless.

• 163.DT: Reply to this comment

Thanks Jake ….tired of all the ” trying to be nice stuff” ……we got stuffed by BL and you put it perfectly . About time that coaches stood up and could voice an opinion. John Smit and Pdiv are being so nice ……to hell with that they should have a full go and make a statement. The Boks seem to always get the short end of the stick …..who knows maybe we like it !!!
    Where was Piet Van Zyl when we needed him !!!!!!!!!

• 164.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@DT(Duncan)-154: Excellent post I like your team.except No 4??Juan Smith.(or am I reading it wrong?)Gerhard Morkel in there

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.