Brave Wallabies shut out Boks
9 Oct 2011
JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies hang on for what could be the unlikeliest yet most significant victory at this 2011 World Cup.
Did the better team win? It’s a question the Springboks will be asking themselves from now and until the next global tournament in 2015.
South Africa controlled the game for large periods but were repeatedly undone by the Wallabies’ heroic defence. David Pocock was talked about as a danger man in the build up, and after a breakdown performance highlighted by some momentum stalling and often try-saving turnovers, he was undoubtedly the game’s MVP.
Much will be said about referee Bryce Lawrence’s performance with the whistle. Lawrence adopted an ‘anything goes’ policy at the rucks, but it was the Wallabies that adapted to the official’s style early on. The Wallabies dominated the collisions in the first half, and with Heinrich Brussow crying off with a rib injury, the Boks battled to combat Pocock’s inhibiting presence at the breakdown.
The Boks enjoyed as much as 84% territory and 55% possession in the first half, and yet only garnered a three point return. Their poor ball security at ruck time led to turnovers, as did their tendency to spill the ball in contact.
They upped their game in both respects in the second stanza, and it was all the Aussie could do to hang on. The subdue and conquer style so prominent and effective in 2009 once again held sway, and the Wallabies forwards struggled to resist the Boks when they cleaned out would-be ball poachers. They also battled to deal with the high ball, which was well chased by South Africa’s belligerent backs.
Quade Cooper had a shocker. After a dropping a high ball first up, he was often caught in possession and failed to provide the expected impact with the boot. A number of Wallabies grew increasingly susceptible as the game wore on, but the Boks just lacked that killer blow.
There’s no denying that the Boks had their chances. Jean de Villiers made a scything break in the second stanza and put Pat Lambie away for a try, only to be called back for a forward pass. Fourie du Preez thought he was in for a five-pointer when some good Bok defence dislodged the ball centimetres from the Aussie line. Unfortunately, the ball was again knocked free as Du Preez reached for the line.
Every Bok surge into Wallabies territory was succeeded by a desperate display of defence. The turnover followed, and the Aussies’ inability to clear their lines with any great distance ensured the game remained in the Wallabies’ half. The Boks’ lineout dominance also contributed to their territorial ascendancy, but in the end they will lament their inconsistent showing at the breakdown, as well as their poor finishing when it was on out wide.
After a frustrating period on attack, Morne Steyn finally put the Boks ahead 9-8 with a well-taken drop-goal. With 20 minutes to play, the momentum was with the Boks and if they continued to play in Wallabies territory and control possession, they would advance to the semi-finals.
But the introduction of Berrick Barnes had the desired effect for the Wallabies, and after a series of tactical kicking misfires by his team-mates, he delivered a rolling kick deep into the Boks’ 22. The Wallabies remained in the Boks’ half and eventually won a penalty, which James O’Connor held his nerve to convert.
It was a massive moment for the youngster, who had missed a relatively easy attempt in the first half. If he had missed, the chances were the Boks would regain possession, resume control and win the game. If he slotted it, it would set up a dramatic eight minutes where the Wallabies would need to continue to repel the rampant Bok forwards.
Through the Herculean efforts of Bismarck du Plessis and Schalk Burger, the Boks threw everything at the Aussies in those final minutes. They even managed to turn the Wallabies over, but unfortunately knocked it on just when they were moving back into the area of the field where Steyn would be able to kick for goal.
From there, the Wallabies closed out the game smartly. It will remain one of the great escapes for the Wallabies, but the Boks can hardly argue that they deserved to win this game. They didn’t take their opportunities, and on the day, the scoreboard will show that they were punished for that failure to convert dominance into points.

1,133 Comments
9 Oct 2011, 05:09 am
Frazzled ‘brain’ time approaches for the cranky, flaky shaky S. African psyche.
9 Oct 2011, 05:23 am
lets get dangerous
9 Oct 2011, 05:25 am
Could it really be that the Day of Reckoning has finally dawned upon these poor souls?
Absolutely 49.9% of my being wants the job to be effected today by the exciting Wallabies but the remaining 50.1% yearns for the exhilarating N.Z. ABs to do a better hit job only next week simply to allow for more time for their here today gone tomorrow yet still forlorn and hopeless confidence and braggadacio to soar to ensure a harder fall.
As can be witnessed then, I do not really care when the deed is done and the 49.9% for the Aussies actually allows the ‘Boks 50.1% to survive ’til next week.
But I will still call it for the Aussies as I desire my 2 for 2 in the quarters thus far to become 4 for 4 by the end of the 4th quarter-final game.
9 Oct 2011, 05:26 am
@Knersboy(Knersboy)-2:
Are you the resurrected MJ? Does it matter too whether it is ‘Black or White’?
9 Oct 2011, 05:34 am
Boks to shift up a few gears, unleashing smart new plays that take the wobblies and world by surprise and turn staunch detractors into eulogising admirers who in waxing lyrical run out of superlatives on a regular basis!
9 Oct 2011, 05:37 am
I hope the Aussies’ brains’ trust realise that these ‘Boertjies’ are going to come out like crazed souls for the first 10-15 mins. and that the sooner their Wallabies can take that ‘gees’ away from the crazy decrepit Bok players, the sooner they(Wallas) will progress to an easier passage to the semi-final.
If thhe Aussies can score one of their razzle, dazzle tries by minute 5 then the end result may well be something like 6 – 30 to the try-lovers.
Good luck to the Boks and I am sure we will win. Regardless of todays result the team has played well in this World Cup and if we lose to this Aussie team we would have lost to a better team thats all.
After the game… “Home, Butch James, and don’t spare the horses…”
9 Oct 2011, 05:38 am
@julz(julz)-5:
Have you dreamt of OLD DOGs learning new tricks?
It’s just a nasty nightmare.
9 Oct 2011, 05:39 am
ET go home. What the f are you smoking, bird brain?
9 Oct 2011, 05:40 am
@ET.(ET.)-3:
Who gives a sh it what some faaked up doos thinks. Go play marbles in the oncomming trafic you doos troll racist twat!
9 Oct 2011, 05:46 am
A nervous Bok fan called Joe Soap
Was shaking in desperate hope
His unidimensional team
Would not be Australian cream
By playing the game of a dope.
9 Oct 2011, 05:48 am
You, the ever ‘doosie’, do hence the very angry response.
I will continue to frizzle your pea’brain’ bottom-of-the-pond lifer until the game starts.
9 Oct 2011, 05:50 am
ET, your time of conversion is at hand. Apostacy. 4 years of deception with that game plan leading you on to believe that we’re one dimensional and only capable of 10 man rugby…
9 Oct 2011, 05:54 am
as much as i love the boks today is the end of the road for us and the crappy bok coach
9 Oct 2011, 05:57 am
Sunshine, relatively light winds with occasional gusts – but nothing close to what you’d call typical for Wellington. I’m hearing dry track – nice setting for a little running rugby…..
9 Oct 2011, 06:00 am
Just logged on and overjoyed to find a racist wanker like ET on this blog, because he refers to the black and white question (get over it doos)and go join your own f*ing country blog. What’s most disppointing to me is reading comments like klippies101 saying things like ‘end of the road’ and crappy Bok coach. What you chops and I think about PdV is of no consequence…You either support your country or you don’t. Think on it! GO BOKKE!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:01 am
im scared to watch this game
9 Oct 2011, 06:02 am
Go the Springbokke!
This game is going to be very close,but I believe the Bokke can scrape through.
Ireland beat Australia.
Wales came close to beating us.
Wales toyed with Ireland
This will be Australia’s first real tough game.
Interesting times.
If the Bokke win the pressure on the all blacks will increase even more.
Let’s stop talking and get this show on the road!
9 Oct 2011, 06:02 am
It has been quite entertainingly hilarious to witness those so forlorn hopes and confidences after the first 3 TNs games suddenly, but surely, soar to unimaginable heights after the win against the N.Z ‘B’ team and the wins, even the shaky ones, in the pool round.
And then just so suddenly those so shaky questionable wins against Wales and worse still Samoa hit home to exert untold suffering on the ‘broeders’ as ‘broeder’ after ‘broeder’ launched into pitched battle amongst each other like never before. Ny bedtime last night they were still itching and b itching with each other with rocks being hurled for days at their former ‘boertjie favourites like Cab and many more.
Will the PEACE among the ‘Boertjies’ return after the Wallabies again teach them the lessons of the art of rugby union?
9 Oct 2011, 06:03 am
Win or lose… I’m 100% South African… and 100% behind the Boks…!!
Do us proud….!!
Go Bokke…!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:04 am
how was et a racist ? i read comment 3 made no sense
9 Oct 2011, 06:04 am
ET… you are the most dishonest, hypocritical, self-absorbed, arrogant and stupid poster ever to text a post on keo…
You pompously drone on ad nauseum calling everyone racists and nazis and whatever other dumb and juvenile insults your little mind can dredge up during your boredom-filled days in the adopted home into which you have never fully settled or been accepted as an equal human being, in a gloriously inept attempt to convince people here you are something you are not… a person of unquestionable morals and the highest integrity…
you are nothing more than a sad and lonely underachieving misfit who misses the land of his birth more than he can stand or admit or even clearly comprehend… instead of embracing your hosts of choice, the land of your adoption, the culture into which you’ve inserted yourself and family, and starting afresh and anew with your whole life ahead of you full of promise and opportunity… you prove your unhappiness in your host nation by the inversely proportional amount of time you spend on a website hosted in and populated (mostly) by people born in the country you childishly insist you despise. I shudder to think how neglected your wife and children must feel as you spend a huge portion of every day trying to belittle and intimidate as many south africans as you possibly can because it gives you the only sense of self-worth you can fabricate in your miserable life because you are so small-minded, emotionally fragile and egotistically twisted that you can only build yourself up by knocking others down… or at least trying to… the cruelest part of it all though, is that you just don’t see that, virtually to a person, everybody dismisses you as irrelevant and laughs openly at you… but you take yourself so extremely seriously, and are so arrogant and dismissive of everyone, and thinking so hard of what to write next that you simply don’t listen to, see or hear what people are saying and blunder blindly on being mocked and laughed at in a state of irrational and senseless obliviousness…
It is true that people project upon others what they know within themselves… a dishonest person treats everyone else as dishonest because he knows he is dishonest to everyone and for him that is the norm and his starting point with everyone is an expectation of dishonesty… an honest person treats everyone as honest because from his base of honesty it is inconceivable that anyone is anything other than honest…
And you typify that truism… projecting onto everyone else the hatred, suspicion and deceit by which you measure yourself and the world in which you exist… and hidden within all that laughably pompous vainglorious attempted intellectual pretense in your rambling posts… within the confusion and contradiction in the deepest recesses of your tangled mind… lies the heart of an unmitigated, died-in-the-wool, hateful, bigot and racist…
You naively believe that throwing out prejudiced insults will cower everyone into not seeing the cowardly racist that lurks beneath all your bigoted bravado.
Yet, everyone shows their true colours at some or other time and you exhibited your true colours with typical prancing peacock-like bravado… suffering a momentary dropping of your guard and forgetting that strutting liker a peacock on a stage your true colours would be seen by everyone present… there were only a few people present at the time… but I cut and pasted this little treasure from the early morning a hour or so before our first wc match against wales… to show every south african… black, coloured, indian and white… what you really think and the hate you really feel for the people and continent of your birth and despite all your lies and pretense on this blog to the contrary… you remain nothing more than a small-minded, cheap and nasty bigot… only a few words… but they will not leave any intelligent, proud and honest African in any doubt as to the hate that simmers and in your heart like rabbit in a pressure-cooker…
9.ET.:
11 Sept 2011, 5:12 am @keo(keo)-5:
The lazy Africans are only capable of living off dreams and not honest endeavor.
9 Oct 2011, 06:06 am
@Boertjiemoertjie(Boertjiemoertjie)-17:
With a name like yours no one more earns, and owns, that RACIST tag than you do.
9 Oct 2011, 06:06 am
hie kommie bokke im gonna go and listen ti that at full blast
i hope steve hofmeyer said a prayer for the boks
9 Oct 2011, 06:08 am
@klippies101(klippies101)-22: He is just a doos so I felt like calling him a racist……now go and wash your hair because we do not need supporters like you, with your negative comments about our beloved Bokke!
9 Oct 2011, 06:10 am
Hope for a beautiful game. Like the French and Welsh in their respective games.Hard, cunny and running rugby. May the best team win!!!!!
ET you wanker. A Boer is a farmer and thats what I am, if being a farmer makes me a racist, then you are as dumb as I think you are!
@ufo(ufo)-23: OK – but what about the rugby?
9 Oct 2011, 06:11 am
@ufo(ufo)-21:
I agree 100% with you.
Go Bokke!
9 Oct 2011, 06:12 am
Good morning all! Time for breakfast and some great rugby! May the best teams win today, and may certain bloggers end up with egg all over their faeces (pun fully intended!)
Ufo – small words, short sentences. Mynhead hurts too much to read anything that long!
@ufo(ufo)-21: Me too!! Go Bokke!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:18 am
Go Wallabies! Time to bounce the Bokkies!
9 Oct 2011, 06:19 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-16:
Thanks for the ‘pitch report’.
Was just about to go and look up the weather.
i wonder how missing bakkies is going to impact us . i think jean deysel should have been in the squad
@ufo(ufo)-23:
How more barrel-scraping and delusional can the known banal, anal ufo get?
Exposing racists does not make the exposer the tag carrier, you anal tear.
As for my lazy African, on that specific early games’ day, if none of you were up to witness your heavenly national past-time and you are ALL born in Africa, why are you not lazy
Does your hue not make you African or were you truly born ” Out of Africa” and what are you doing there now?
Spare your emotions for the Reckoning, you will need it there.
Define your racist ‘notion’ of the term if you can Mr Anal Tear. And remember that will be your deficient rendition and not ever mine as mine is embodied above in my words.
9 Oct 2011, 06:20 am
Just watched Bobby Skinstad speaking on TV about the game: two biggest influences how well Steyn stands up and defense through no 10 and ref Lawrence. Wallabies fresh and ready to run.
9 Oct 2011, 06:21 am
Good luck to both sides and let’s hope there’s no injuries that would affect the winning side next week.
9 Oct 2011, 06:21 am
@OCO(OCO)-35: Its perfect on the ground and the in the air – no excuses for either team. Best on the day will win.
9 Oct 2011, 06:22 am
ET – Dr. Phil says : hou op om ‘n **** te wees
9 Oct 2011, 06:23 am
@Boertjie(Boertjie)-28:
Only for the deficient ‘thinker’ as to others it reflects a sick, social attitude and evil frowned upon by the rest of the greater world population.
Note, NO insults but genuine truths. Now live with it. You earned it and own it too.
9 Oct 2011, 06:25 am
ET GO HOME…Loser!!!!
if we are going to be kicking alot we need to make sure we r chasing and putting loads of pressure on the aussies
Myprodol and tomato cocktail coming up. I’m buying.
@trupisero(trupisero)-41:
Jy lieg lekker weer want hy het net nou gaan slaap( dis 12.25am by hom).
9 Oct 2011, 06:26 am
Hi from Samui. Can anyone give me a weather report for the game?
9 Oct 2011, 06:27 am
@Boertjiemoertjie(Boertjiemoertjie)-43:
‘Boertjie’ = ‘Bok loser.
one thing i have noticed is there have been a few intercepts scored agaisnt the aussies this world cup lets take note of this
@Nautigal(Nautigal)-47:
Dit sneeu in die berge.
9 Oct 2011, 06:28 am
Just ignore the m onkey,don’t feed it.
9 Oct 2011, 06:28 am
Come on the Boks …
9 Oct 2011, 06:29 am
@ET.(ET.)-46: Seriously mate – I am not from where you are but I can assure you, you don’t speak for the wider world. This should be about rugby not your political beef – whatever it is.
9 Oct 2011, 06:29 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-40:
That is what I wished for weatherwise for the whole week and I am convinced that we are not going to see a boring rugby ala the 2007 world cup. It is gonna a great game, am convinced with that kind of weather.
9 Oct 2011, 06:30 am
@Nautigal(Nautigal)-47: I can tell you first hand – its perfect. Sun out all day, a few scattered clouds and a light breeze from the east. No excuses for either.
9 Oct 2011, 06:32 am
Morning Keo. Kiss of death to the Wallabies?
@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-54: Its going to be a cracker – weather has made it. Counting down. Carn the Wallabies.
This is a Bok and Saffa supporters website, and you are on it….LOSER!!! ET you make me lag, if you weren’t such a sad and pathetic figure i would invite you over for a beer and try and bring some sunlight into your life but you are LOST my boy…What I love about these blogs….Tough okes who say **** they wouldn’t dream or dare say if actually standing in the real world…So to you ET…one more thing I’d like to add to your personality profile captured so beautifully by UFO…Your are also a COWARD. Now I’m only going to talk rugby, and supporting my Nation! GO BOKKE!!!!
@keo(keo)-52:
You had to say that
9 Oct 2011, 06:33 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-55: Thanks Bill. Same here in Samui
9 Oct 2011, 06:33 am
Morning all
bokke by 9…
9 Oct 2011, 06:34 am
My very best wishes to all 22 Boks team and management.
I may not enjoy the selections….I may not like the Management…….I may not like the captain….
But for 85 minutes today I am the proudest Saffa in the world…..
Go boys….
9 Oct 2011, 06:34 am
Keo – while you are here -sort the web app out. No reply/ refresh buttons
9 Oct 2011, 06:35 am
man it sucks big time frans is out no more monster drops or long range penalty goals
9 Oct 2011, 06:36 am
@keo(keo)-52:
You are not bring a realist there Keo, I suggest you watch your own TV show.
Game will be decided on experience and bein able to deal with the pressure.
This should favour the Boks but if the Aussies can maintain a calm structured approach and not panic then they will win.
@Boertjie(Boertjie)-58: But I do like to sit amongst the opposition. You won’t get any political bullshit from me – just rugby…….
Steal your jersey back from the bergie?
@grant10(grant10)-62:
Well said. Ditto.
9 Oct 2011, 06:37 am
So, this is it. Do or die.
Let’s hope these young Aussies crack under the pressure.
Go the Boks!
Keo is backing the boks. Now I’m a little nervous….
@trupisero(trupisero)-63: I’m no techie but I will forward your good wishes to our IT dept
9 Oct 2011, 06:38 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-67:
As it should be.
May the best team win and the ref be commended for neutrality.
All the best to the Bokke. To all out there on kep, enjoy the game. It is 9.37pm in LA, and I am sipping on a glass of Pierre Jordaan. My 6 year old watching with me. Proudly South African. Jinx them, boys!
Dry conditions, no rain.
Interesting indeed.
9 Oct 2011, 06:39 am
@trupisero(trupisero)-63: just because I believe they will lose doesn’t mean I can’t hope they will win
9 Oct 2011, 06:39 am
@grant10(grant10)-62:
Impossible.
You lied about throwing your bok jersey in the bin with the crayfish shells
You have spent so much time spitting venom at Our Beloved Leader John Smit.
Why not rather go and strutt on the beach and then go home and take a shower whilst singing “I’m gonna wash that man straight out of my hair.”
Again I ask,and answer me.If JS approached you for a bond,would you turn him down?
9 Oct 2011, 06:41 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-77:
Together, Boys.
“It’s a beautiful” day by Bono has been ringing in my head all of a sudden now.
For those without ‘Bok hope and thus forlorn, the Wallabies do have some negatives.
The worst of which is that possibly too many of them have peaked already and as you should, but do not, know , in any season you can only peak so many times and not more.
The heavy REDs contingent peaked for the S15 and that same lot plus the rest peaked for the unwanted TNs series a few short weeks later.
Also of great importance is the knowledge that there is a thin line of separation between experience and too young (and inexperienced). Too many Aussies are in their early twenties and playing in their first ever RWC quarter-final game and may just be found wanting.
Lastly the Aussie media is waging a war against the Kiwi Deans and that puts unwanted pressure on the players especially the young ones.
That having been said there is too a thin line between experience and over the hill, like so many ‘Boks are and some even belonging in rugby Boothill.
I still think the Aussies have just enough in the tank for this one but not the next one.
9 Oct 2011, 06:42 am
Go Bokke!!!
Looks like perfect weather, no excuses.
Really excited about this one. Enjoy the game lads.
9 Oct 2011, 06:43 am
these so-called analysts on supersport
“it’s all about the tight 5″
goodness me
GO BOKKKEEEE!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:44 am
Lol Keo. Its going to be an awesome game. Just hope that farking kiwi doesn’t have too much say in it. If boks can dominate upfront we will see Cooper become headless chicken.
@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-79:
Hi Pete!
Did you read that Saturday Star article from the hardcopy(newspaper) or from the internet?
What say you? Wallabies and ABs or otherwise?
Come on Bokke. Just do it.
All my predictions yesterday went turtle. Here’s to a brand new day.
@ufo(ufo)-23:
Well said. And he won’t even have to read between the lines because he’s not very good at that.
Gwanty why only for 85min today?
You have been shown up.
Us real supporters are behind them 100%
“If he was in your country he would be your no.1 no.2 too” Divvy
I’m going to miss those classic quotes of his … now Keo a guarantee you that a Divvy book will be a no.1 best seller all over the world … just get in as many quotes as you can.
9 Oct 2011, 06:45 am
@ET.(ET.)-80:
Marching on Together…..
9 Oct 2011, 06:48 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-53:
All from S.A. know you are not “Out of Africa” thus you will never know. So just mind your own business and the rugby.
You were ineffective yesterday and will be the same today.
9 Oct 2011, 06:48 am
47. Currently partly cloudy with a slight southerly wind temp 13.5 Celsius. Otherwise ideal dry conditions for a cracking game. Good luck to both teams… Heart says Bok’s but can’t discount those pesky Aussies.
9 Oct 2011, 06:49 am
BOKKE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LETS ROCK AND ROLL NOONOO’S
9 Oct 2011, 06:49 am
I believe in the SAFFA brains trust, especially with the introduction of Rassie into the Team. Gary, **** and Peter needed a new sound board and he is a great choice. On the field Bokke are Solid and Experienced. Men win WC’s not boys.
This is an underated Springbok side, and that’s when we are at our best…Big Surprise for the favoured Wallabies today. Cannot win against a team with a better structure, scrum and set piece play etc. My only concern in lead up to WC 2011 was defence, and I believe it’s been sorted.
SPRINGBOKS….OLE….OLE…..OLE
9 Oct 2011, 06:50 am
@ET.(ET.)-80: “For those without ‘Bok hope and thus forlorn, the Wallabies do have some negatives.”
They have Bryce. He loves to bash poor scrummagers and he do bash Wallabies s lot.
9 Oct 2011, 06:50 am
ET – anything meaningfull to contribute or are you just going to be a w@nker all day?
9 Oct 2011, 06:52 am
BOKSSSSSSSS!
9 Oct 2011, 06:52 am
Noonoos?
9 Oct 2011, 06:53 am
OSN sports give 2 votes for the Boks, one for the Wallabies.
Joost not on the panel today. Must have headed off somewhere.
9 Oct 2011, 06:53 am
Go Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:54 am
Hie kommie bokke, hier kommie bokke….la la la laa
9 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
GO BOKKE!!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:55 am
Now that is a mighty big vuvuzela.
Go boys.
9 Oct 2011, 06:56 am
@ET.(ET.)-84:
Hi ET
Went to CNA after the game. The bbook is a real let down, you will learn nothing new. More about establishment rugby and a few window dressings. My hopes were exceedingly high.
As for today, I was to see a beauty of a game and hopefully we will see that. I f it is an open, running game, the Assies will take it. I think they will outsmart us. On the other side if it is a boring structured game the Boks wil take it. As for the All Blacks, they are going to win this world cup. They are in a class of their own. They are just too good.
9 Oct 2011, 06:56 am
bbookkkkeeeeeeeeeeee
*sleepy hello everyone*
9 Oct 2011, 06:57 am
How cute, Lambie looks like a 17 year old.
9 Oct 2011, 06:58 am
What an occasion for battle! Go Bokka!!!
9 Oct 2011, 06:58 am
Aussies, be alert for their ‘gees’ from the kick-off.
King David, continue to rule the roost and do your thing.
Is a score of 6 – 30 too much to ask for?
9 Oct 2011, 06:59 am
Nice shot of the coach box. No doubting the pride of our coaches no matter how much we disagree with any of the selections.
Thank you UFO
Keo – who do you think the next coach of the boks should be?
seeing that we’re “going home” today – I think we should start looking at coaching options.
I don’t think that Coetzee has the goods to be coach. WP got pumped by the Lions yesterday and could not create much. Under Coetzee WP/Stormers have not won any silverware. They are a 1 trick pony with a good defensive system (thanks to Nienaber).
Look what Mitchell/Spencer have achieved within 1 season.
I would like to see Mitchell/Spencer or even Warren Gatlan as the new bok coaches as I don’t think any local coaches are good enough.
THOUGHTS??
9 Oct 2011, 07:00 am
so John Smit wins the toss and takes the kick off option and not the wind which he kindly and generously hands to Horwill who says thanks very much we’ll play with the wind first half. Lets hope Smit is not going to say ‘you first sir’ all f’ng day.
You better f’ng WIN Smit, this is your LAST chance
And now 80+ mins of a cracker begins.
Let’s rock’n'roll! 8)
Okay out of here for now, go Bokke.
Here we go!
9 Oct 2011, 07:02 am
good luck boys…this is it
9 Oct 2011, 07:03 am
Danie being himself…
9 Oct 2011, 07:05 am
Are we scrumming against a scrum machine?
9 Oct 2011, 07:05 am
Great scrum
9 Oct 2011, 07:07 am
They looked nervous before kick off but they settling down nicely so far.
9 Oct 2011, 07:08 am
omg i am so emo, keep gettting teary eyed when the crowd chant BOKKE BOKKE BOKKE
9 Oct 2011, 07:08 am
HM keo will think about answering any questions at a later stage.
At the moment he has no thoughts.
9 Oct 2011, 07:09 am
Nice passage of play
9 Oct 2011, 07:09 am
we are playing outstanding go noonoo’ssssssssssssssssssssss
9 Oct 2011, 07:12 am
The boks looked amped and set for the game
9 Oct 2011, 07:13 am
Fucksakes
Nice Bok start, Aussies have weathered the storm and first blood Australia.
Try time !
feck
Australia SCORE, against the run of play
9 Oct 2011, 07:14 am
QF game. Don’t “run” the ball from your own tryline!
One error and one Aussie try.
Watch the ‘gees’ ooze out slowly.
Big Screw-up by Burger. Oz 5 Nil
9 Oct 2011, 07:15 am
Boks are getting screwed, I must say.
9 Oct 2011, 07:16 am
What a tackle for Burger
9 Oct 2011, 07:17 am
Danie was nowhere
9 Oct 2011, 07:17 am
Skop en jag = stupid rugby. Keep ball in hand.
9 Oct 2011, 07:18 am
Nice turnover
9 Oct 2011, 07:19 am
Serious hands in ruck
9 Oct 2011, 07:19 am
Jinne Jannie you dumb doos!
9 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
Ooooo there will be much gloating here if Os win this.
Unpleasant it will be.
9 Oct 2011, 07:20 am
8-0 Aus. Aussies in control.
9 Oct 2011, 07:22 am
Nice pressure from Habanero to cooper
9 Oct 2011, 07:22 am
Waltzing Matilda QC. He will cause a few heat attacks in Ozzland today.
9 Oct 2011, 07:23 am
heart attcks
9 Oct 2011, 07:23 am
now’s the time to score boys!
9 Oct 2011, 07:24 am
Heinrich injured? Big big loss.
Brussouw off…hier kom kak
I do not see the physical domination by the boks yet. Maybe early days.
Vickerman, what a dirty “bastid”
9 Oct 2011, 07:25 am
****, Sprout off
9 Oct 2011, 07:25 am
you idiots! lost on the tryline
9 Oct 2011, 07:26 am
Where is the physical domination?
@Michael(mikeybrass)-149: Aussie hand not seen knocking the ball back.
Brüssow off = we’re f*cked
With Brussouw gone this game is going to get even tighter!
How f-ing blind is that kiwi cnut?
9 Oct 2011, 07:27 am
great reffing
9 Oct 2011, 07:28 am
Dammit forwards, hit the rucks bettter.
They’ve lost their cool.
Go Australia!!!! i simply cannot support a team where a player is picked because the colour of his skin!! Bryan Banana over Hougaard!!!! GO AUS & All Blacks!!!!
Ugly stuff…..
9 Oct 2011, 07:30 am
Ref ignoring Aussie hands everywhere in the rucks
hands in the ruck??
Fukkit…someone poison Lawrence’s guide dog
9 Oct 2011, 07:31 am
pocock dominating
9 Oct 2011, 07:32 am
Lawrence is blatantly one-eyed.
9 Oct 2011, 07:32 am
Pocock maak ons mal.
9 Oct 2011, 07:33 am
Boks look resigned to defeat already , body language tells a woe ful story. Sorry boks
9 Oct 2011, 07:34 am
Morne Steyn needs to stop shying away from contact. Aussies going to run at him all day.
Boks are not taking the ball up at pace which is the only way to dominate.
@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-166: Only burger playing with any heart
9 Oct 2011, 07:35 am
Spoes dead scared of contact
The team of millions is still the team of millions no matter what.
Get Bissie and Hougaard onto the field pronto!
9 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
I wonder who does O’Connors hair?
9 Oct 2011, 07:37 am
Bieber has new highlights.
9 Oct 2011, 07:38 am
Snap.
9 Oct 2011, 07:39 am
If the boks lose is it a choke?
FFS JF!! Surely you could have do more with that?
Sold Habana to the Sharks.
f0k banana looks as if he is drunk or something!!! break his leg! hougaaaard!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 07:40 am
Aussies not rolling away , playing ball on the ground at the breakdown.
***** this ref man
9 Oct 2011, 07:41 am
4 to 5 scoring opportunities go begging.
9 Oct 2011, 07:41 am
Not clinical enough FFS
9 Oct 2011, 07:42 am
this is not our day… bad times
9 Oct 2011, 07:42 am
How many times have the Boks been in the Aussie 22?
And nothing to show for it.
9 Oct 2011, 07:43 am
ball retention is pathetic and P is a darn pest
Australia much better so far
smit’s face rucked on either side
Please take habana off
knock ons, advantage ignored…wtf
HKGK
Far too maany errors from both teams. S hit rugby.
9 Oct 2011, 07:44 am
wow the ref actually gives a penalty to us
9 Oct 2011, 07:45 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-188: Boks nearly scored a try just before from an advantage, stop crying
Finally
haal af die f0kken chimpanzee!
9 Oct 2011, 07:46 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-191: Wow, you just turned on TV?
Still plenty of time guys.
A much needed regroup for South Africa at half time.
Bryce has given Boks plenty of pens and advantages already, stop whingeing.
Habana looks if he is babelas – playing like a chimanzee! bring on hougaard now!!!
9 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
Lawrence really looks in pain when he has to award a penalty to SA
9 Oct 2011, 07:47 am
@Nils(Nils)-197: Hear hear
9 Oct 2011, 07:48 am
Lavender boots! Tasteful.
Bryce has missed at least 6 penalisable Wallaby offenses. Terrible refereeing.
steyn doesn’t have his kicking boots on. he’d normally have got it from the touchline
9 Oct 2011, 07:49 am
we need to sort out this pocock – he’s killing us. Need a tactic
Pocock getting away with murder! Ref blind?
@Michael(mikeybrass)-203: He is kicking into the breeze.
We are in this…..
9 Oct 2011, 07:50 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-202: The refs the ref. We can still win this. But we need some composure.
Big hits. Big fkn hits.
SA should be leading. We’re outplaying the Aussies everywhere except on the scoreboard. NEed to put points. (drop goals?)
Disgraceful reffing
@julz(julz)-205: He got penalised for his mistake, he just an excellent player, don’t blame the ref
Clever Aussie cheating and inept Kiwi reffing…….
We should have at least 2-3 more shot at goal in front
I have to say that Bismark would have been great to help Schalk, Flo on the loose ball.
9 Oct 2011, 07:51 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-202:
come on now, instead of putting the reasons as to why the boks are losing solely down to a ref that has missed a couple of things for both teams, get behind yours.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-213: aye.
Flo playing well. Nice to see.
@Pirlet BEL(Pirlet BEL)-209: Have youeven been watching? Aussie playing excellnt
Huge loss Brussow, someone needs to smash Pocock up, he’s not even targeting the players, just the ball, well played
Close tough game just as I said it would be.I believe we have a better bench that will help in the last 20min.
Go Bokke!
Time to unleash Bizzy and Mullet
We need Bissie without Sprout.
9 Oct 2011, 07:52 am
@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-218: he is doing his job – being a pest and getting away with murder when he can
Win behind us in second half will be good.
ok this is very close the bench need mor than 20 minutes to win this one
Hougaard and BIsmark ASAP
If I am correct hand s in the ruck is not allowed how many times have aussies had their hands in the rucks
And Vikerman diving to injure our players needs to be called
9 Oct 2011, 07:53 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-221: aye
We need bissie on and to retain our ball in contact better
Boks can win this wind behind second half and they’ve had Wallabies rattled…. Burger must stop coughing it on the deck.. lost it when going to ground on his own line and gifting a try and lost it on the ground on Wallabies line for a certain Bok try…
Louw for Brussow is actually a plus.. its a blessing in disguise.. now bring on Aplon for Habana and we can actually sneak this game…
Convicts are dominating the rucks, get Bissy on now, leave Plod in the change room.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-225: I agree bloody Vickerman is dangerous. Knees elbows head. Lawrence needs to call that, or touch judges.
9 Oct 2011, 07:54 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-225: I lost count how many times
Spies is so powderpuff. Man he is such a softie. Take him off and bring Alberts on. He is worthless and is a liability. We also need Bissie to bully the breakdown. Pocock is making the whole pack his b itch, although illegal at times.
They are attacking 10 and Steyn is struggling there.
84 per cent territory to boks and they cant break through
@RL(RL)-229:
yes if you keep playing the ball with hands in the rucks and not getting called yes they dominating
OK this is typical.
What is the first sign of SA getting behind on the scoreboard?
The ref is a cheat.
Ozzie are cheats.
And even funnier, the Kiwis are cheats lol.
Stop this rubbish, its embarrasing.
Half time is what SA needs to re group. SA still in the game and i still think they will take it.
Breakdowns are a mess.
Anything goes.
Get Bismark on now.
Well, with that territory & posession, we are not in good shape.
If we get our ball retention right, and keep up the forward intensity for the next 40, we should be okay with the wind at our backs.
Bok forwards playing well. Smit, JDP & Guthro having a great game.
Matfield & Schalk playing flyhalf and centre a lot again. Appalling back line structure, and why do we not pick and go from the base of a ruck, instead of FDP passing 2/3m back, and us getting screwed past the adv line.
Also, with the Aussies 1st try, why did we take a quick tap down lineout 10m from our line and allow thw Aussie loosies into the game? Crazy….Should have been a full 8 man line out, drive & let Steyn kick.
M Steyn is the target in broken play, theyre all aiming at him and making meters. Best we get a few more loosies there to defend if he cannot.
9 Oct 2011, 07:55 am
SA have had 83% possession……….
We need to be more at the rucks Brussow is of and Louw is an ok replacement but we need BISMARCK!!!! Also Hougaard on for Du Preez PLEASE. Lambie good game but Aplon can win a came for us, bring him on in the 50′ or 60′ min. Ref not seeing all the mistakes being made by Aus needs to check the Hands in Ruck rule because Aus is doing it the whole time. We need to keep Pocock away from the rucks, he is winning turnovers because we are NOT THERE!!!!!
COMON BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Michael(mikeybrass)-231:
It sbullshit a basic law not been called in a WC quarter final???
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-228: P stole it illegally; burger had to release by the Aussie line
@XV(XV)-238:
And playing against 16
bring on bissy now and we win
9 Oct 2011, 07:56 am
Hurricane, are you equally as blind as Bryce?
Fellow Bok Supporters, forget the ref.
Were making elementary mistakes with the ball in hand, our structure is poor (Matfield & Schalk playing 10 & 12 on attack most secondary phases), and Pocock is killing us.
Forget the ref, were not a team who want to whine about the ref every 4 years between RWC’s if we loose.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-240: you said it! we need to find a way to win this despite the ref. we need one or two more creative players to come on.
9 Oct 2011, 07:57 am
@grant10(grant10)-243: bissie, hougaard and alberts. spies is a teddy bear
Bryce Lawrence acting on clear instructions from Paddy O’Brien. To not penalize the Australians too much.
All part of the conspiracy to help the All Blacks win the World Cup.
@BULLET(BULLET)-245: Too late, the crying well started
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-235:
You can see the same **** calls
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-235: Hey bud. I think the refs the ref and you play that. But commentary on the ref is also legit. Mainly Vickerman in my book, and if Pocock gets away with it that is his job, we can’t *****.
But we are in it, if we can stay healthy and et some composure. First 10 minutes are critical. Going to be a long 40 for both team.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-215: I never said it was solely the ref. We’ve messed up plenty of opportunities ourselves, and we’ve let the Ozzies boss the breakdown. But you’re either blind or you’re winding me up if you’re claiming that Lawrence has reffed that half correctly.
Bissy needed more than ever to stuff up and neutralise Pocock.
what advantage? making 2m = advantage over?? Bryce trying to make up for the Ireland vs Aussie game he farked up! only a NZ ref can be this k@k. This like M Mexted the f*cken NZ’landers don’t know rugby rules! Shocking!
Welcome back G10.
I for one have missed you.
9 Oct 2011, 07:58 am
@BULLET(BULLET)-245:
Agree hate it when we blame the ref. Play according to his calls. Pocock is!
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-242: now you know how the ABs felt last WC.
Its frigging half time – there’s five points in it and you guys are already blaming ref for everything. I thought we were meant to be the whingers. Aussies can win this with just 40% possession and territory. Younger legs should run over the top off Boks in second half (may have said that before).
@Gunther(gunther)-236: that aus try pocock never came through the gate and then kicked our ball after the ruck was formed…total free for all
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-235: Aussie hand in the ruck when on their goal line. When Burger was nearly over…..go look at it. Maybe you need to watch in slow motion?
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-228: There were hands in the ruck. He didnt cough it.
9 Oct 2011, 07:59 am
@My nr1 nr2 too(trupisero)-244:
Nope but obviously you are.
There are 2 teams playing today. Now both teams are trying there best to disrupt.
Instead of crying cheats etc, post something else. Your being a ****.
Half time and some of you have given up.
Whats the bet if SA win, the ref will all of a sudden become brilliant.
Now get behind ya team all.
Bryce Lawrence a dirty cheat. Did the same thing to the Sharks in the S15 play-offs. Seems if you’re playing against a South African team you can get away with everything if Lawrence is the ref.
We should’ve been 8 – 6 as well, but apparently moving 10m up field takes away penalty advantage.
Pathetic.
@My nr1 nr2 too(trupisero)-244: Bruce is kak, we knew that, team is just too doff to adapt to the kak ref.
@dermie(dermie)-257:
There ahve been a t least 5 poor calls 2-3 kickable
And nothing done about Vikermans diving into bok players ribs
we’re still in this boys…
go BOKKE!
@Bill Reyts,
Thanks. Ref may be blowing hot & cold or whatever, who cares. We are making mistakes irrespective of the ref. THe sooner we worry about ourselves, and not the ref, the better.
Again I will say it, we do not want to be the team complaining about a forward pass that the ref did not pick up for 4 years etc.
You know the books have lost the game when they start bitching about the ref. Just take your hats off to the class of pocock
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-256:
I don’t like blaming the referee, but when he makes calls like that, you need to call it as you see it.
have
9 Oct 2011, 08:00 am
@XV(XV)-260:
Nope saw that.
But you all are going over the top by accusing everyone in the world a bunch of cheats. Grow up i say
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-208: True, we need more commitment. But seeing Bryce crouched down, less than two meters from where one tackler is hanging onto the player and another is scratching the ball out of a formed ruck with his hands just grates me.
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-258: Plenty crying on here australia deserve to be ahead, much better
@grant10(grant10)-243: Hello Grant. Nice to see you.
@263,
That was a poor call, but lets not worry about that. We have bigger things to concentrate on.
9 Oct 2011, 08:01 am
Ref got f’all to do with us being behind.. its ball retention on the deck.. if we had secured our go forward ball we’d be ahead by now.. stop blaming ref and look at your OWN faults that’s why we are behind.. NOT because of ref..
Bring on Bismark, Alberts, Hougaard and Aplon and we can sneak this game…
@>^..^< katman(katman)-272: the rucks are chaotic no doubt. Come on Boks.
Agreed must play to the kak ref’s calls. Lets hope they get on the board quickly
Against a team Boks think is Wobbly
The Boks game looks soft, brown and knobbly
They crash and they bash
They drive. lash and smash
With skills known by all and Tom Cobbley
9 Oct 2011, 08:02 am
@276 – Morning Ollie Le Roux
I agree with your post – 276.
We need to bring our game breakers on now, our forwards have done well first 40.
9 Oct 2011, 08:03 am
Jacque Fourie the only back showing skill
9 Oct 2011, 08:03 am
@279 – Morning Tackler,
Nice poetry. Can you throw us one on Carter?
9 Oct 2011, 08:04 am
we can win this despite the ref with getting new legs onto the pitch
9 Oct 2011, 08:04 am
SA playing dirty now
9 Oct 2011, 08:05 am
Ref is awful!
9 Oct 2011, 08:06 am
YYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Hey HG, how is that for a creative Donkey!!!
wow, a forward pass, they call those now i believe.
Shame, Boks looking good though
NO WAY!!!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 08:07 am
Bugger, forward
was forward we cant *****. We’re looking good.
pity barnes wasn’t reffing,that pass would have been alright.
9 Oct 2011, 08:08 am
Dammit, that was a beautiful move. What a pity.
9 Oct 2011, 08:09 am
Ffs, you just had to stay a step behind Lambie.
No more blaming ref for anything boys – everything evens out.
Mmmm … morning all
WTF !!!!
NO WAY AGAIN!!!
@dermie(dermie)-292:
Forward? Which pass? Bryce you fcking fool.
Now the linemen are also into the act.
And another terrible call.
9 Oct 2011, 08:10 am
No fkg way.
Pass to Habs was not forward
Anyone got a link?
bissie warming up
About time the subs come on
Well looks like steroids is coming on, about time
Bissie!
9 Oct 2011, 08:11 am
“aura” off
Com eon boys composure
Ooo, now its game on!
aussie scrum disintegrates
9 Oct 2011, 08:12 am
With this referee, this quarter final has become a lottery!
lol dumb Wallabies.
Why keep it in the scrum?
Big scrum Biz, Do the biz.
bissie in the mix!
Oh well.
Gruthro is scrumming really well.
bissie popped the hooker
Fantastic. Why on earth we didnt start him I dont know
9 Oct 2011, 08:13 am
Hawkeye Bryce.
9 Oct 2011, 08:13 am
Without looking on the scoreboard I can say who’s winning.
By decibels of moaning here.
9 Oct 2011, 08:14 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-318: Yes.
guthro jou doring
Spies is a sook
Nils why don’t you and ET go get a room.
9 Oct 2011, 08:15 am
boys, support the ball carrier ffs!
Time for Spoes to go too
you boys are all class
Idiot Spies.
Spies useless again. Why this average oke has so many caps I’ll never know.
get alberts on for spies pronto!!!!
Spies is an idiot
9 Oct 2011, 08:16 am
my eyes are deceiving me. has the ref awarded a penalty to the boks? no, can’t be.
You don’t have to be here, you know.
Bishops boy goes off
This ref leaves me at a loss, this is unfair to both sides.
9 Oct 2011, 08:17 am
yyyesssss.
come on boys, we’re playing the better rugby… keep it up with the wing behind you.
we can win this. Already going up since Biz on. Flo doing well too.
kom bokke!
@Michael(mikeybrass)-338: wind, not wing
Come on guys. This is our game. Maintain composure dont do dof things.
Someone is blowing a vuvu outside.
9 Oct 2011, 08:18 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-339: Exactly. We must just be patient through the phases. the Wobblies will make a defensive error.
9 Oct 2011, 08:19 am
Every single one of our backs has done more work clearing out than Spies.
9 Oct 2011, 08:20 am
Bryce lawrence have always been a disgrace, but he took it to a new level.
Vintage Danie.
farking static 1st channel
man too slooooooooooow. Come on go hard and fast.
Spoes cant clean ****
Bryce Lawrence will never ref again!
Bring on Alberts NOW
9 Oct 2011, 08:21 am
steyn you beauty!
yes!
Cant argue that Bryce
Steyn you lekka ding.
COMMMMMMMEEEE ONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
9 Oct 2011, 08:22 am
Blah blah blah
Butch James semoer.
Come now Bokke. Drops also count. Keep going.
revenge for ’99
Boks playing well. We can win it. Come on boys. Stay composed.
YES !!!
Alberts please Alberts.
9 Oct 2011, 08:23 am
the “springboks don’t play rugby” my arse!
My shattered nerves…….
gosh the aussie hooker is the ugliest brute on the field which is saying something with gurtho there
THE GREEEEEEEEN MACHIIIIIIIIIIIIIINE!!!!!!1
Is Robbie deans a real coach?
9 Oct 2011, 08:24 am
Pile Driver is coming on!
9 Oct 2011, 08:24 am
Spies being subbed
9 Oct 2011, 08:25 am
Here comes the bone collector.
du preez is ffcuked…tired as hell
Lawrence is a terrible
At last, the bone collector arrives
9 Oct 2011, 08:26 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-352:
Your wish is granted
Come on boys sugarcoat this with a converted try.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-371: LoL. Chiropractor II
Man just make em tackle – in their own half.
Cooper is rattled
Looks like the tide is turning in boks favour.
Cooper is a little rattled. This is not the Cooper the Ozzies want with 15 to go.
9 Oct 2011, 08:27 am
Quade Cooper is clearly homesick.
Cooper cranked under pressure big time.
Cooper is having a shocker – shocker shocker
We must have paid cooper a kak load
Boks, ball retention not kicking…!
9 Oct 2011, 08:28 am
GREAT GARY OWEN
9 Oct 2011, 08:28 am
hahahahaha aussies couldn’t pass the ball fast enough seeing alberts bearing down!
9 Oct 2011, 08:29 am
Bokke will win this.
Skinstadt is right, Flo is doing really well.
oohhh pat on bryce’s back from bissie
9 Oct 2011, 08:30 am
Where is the daylight rule today?
how is that a knock?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-389: ah but Stegg would have had the game wrapped up in 5 mins with his little pinkie according to ***
Big scrum boys. BIG BIG scrum
Panic has set in for the yellow bellies
****!!!! FDP!!!
but we need to land the knock out blow now
Vokkit Du Preez.
Hands in the ruck no longer a rule?
9 Oct 2011, 08:31 am
Nice try PAT!
9 Oct 2011, 08:32 am
never rule these aussies out till the whistle. on the edge of my seat
9 Oct 2011, 08:32 am
Fark Im sweating like a paedo outside a kindergarten…
9 Oct 2011, 08:33 am
No justice if we lose this one. And we’ll only have ourselves to blame. Not that twat lawrence
My nerves. Come on guys. Dont waste it.
Alberts nailed Kefu – bones collected.
I can’t understand what Oz didn’t start with Barnes at 12. He’s such a good midfielder.
@RedMan(RedMan)-403: we can win this despite bryce if we keep our composure and the ball
9 Oct 2011, 08:34 am
Flo’s defensive work is outstanding
@Michael(mikeybrass)-401: aye
HOW do they keep turning over that ball???
we need a try or Oz will steal it at the end.
Now I expect a deafening chorus.
matfield you twit
9 Oct 2011, 08:35 am
Danie is a real fcking trooper today.
FCK.
ah no. Marginal call. Please miss.
Books have had so much ball that hasn’t converted into points. Lawrence not exactly refing like a champ.
9 Oct 2011, 08:36 am
this was my worry, no point in having the possession but no point …
How many times have the Aussies beaten us by a conversion close to the end?!!!
GGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Not another Larkham wobbly. I couldnt cope.
Pakslae you twit
Fukkit fukkit fukkit!
come on boys, you are gifting them the win!
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-410:
Ref allows them to put hands in the ruck and play whilst lying on the floor.
Fark i’m nervous as a neutral
9 Oct 2011, 08:37 am
Game on. Boks still favourites.
Well kicked.
Ok Boks. This is it. Its pride, it’s power its composure.
Oz showing who has BMT. Bye bye bok kuk.
9 Oct 2011, 08:38 am
We can win this. We can win this. we can win this.
9 Oct 2011, 08:38 am
no no keep steyn on! not butch!
9 Oct 2011, 08:39 am
Not Butch. Not now. Please.
9 Oct 2011, 08:39 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-425: you telling me!
9 Oct 2011, 08:40 am
Jacob Zuma lookalike about to send Butch on. Is that our ’95 Mandela moment?
oh fork Danie gave the cup away….
Aussies to take it:-(
Bryce Lawrence!
9 Oct 2011, 08:41 am
HIGH!!
Ref has been horrible
high Brycie? what a tool.
Torn. Really wants the Bokke to win this but would rather face the Oz team assuming we can beat Argentina!
9 Oct 2011, 08:42 am
We had our chances and blew it. We have only ourselves to blame.
Fk. 4 minutes. We need that ball.
FFS!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 08:43 am
WTF? Is Lawrence at the same game?
Refs missing a good game here.
Bryce is toilet.
Terrible call.
Oh well better luck next time.
9 Oct 2011, 08:44 am
Aussie high tackles doing no good, one penalty and they are out.
9 Oct 2011, 08:45 am
Match over
Last throw f the dice.
Lost forward.
Game over.
our ball handling let us down again
Faaaarrrrkkkk.
Ek wil huis toe gaan na mamma toe, die rivier is vol die trane rol…
9 Oct 2011, 08:46 am
bryce reffed terribly but we lost the games ourselves. we could have won. only ourselves to blame
Bru pick – Oz by 2 . Some consolation!
Sooooooooo nervous!
How does Aplon not get a chance? Definition of game breaker.
Controversial game
Is it written in the stars?
9 Oct 2011, 08:47 am
Oh well, 2011 over for the Boks.
Sorry guys, nice try though and a good game
Aussies to win the WC.
Bye bye South Africa
Tough luck Bokke. But we can’t complain about the lack of opportunities. Well done Australia.
I guess that’s just the way the boerwors bends.
This does not feel good.
hard to win against 16 men
proud of the boys…..how did we lose that….
well done aussies
Oh well….
We had our chances but a big F%&K YOU needs to go to old Brycie.
Well done Aus.
Kak ref !
tough luck bokke…well done australia
Terrible referee, but he was worse on the Aussies than the Boks
9 Oct 2011, 08:48 am
Good stuff Aussie , did enough to win
Bryce Lawrence man of the match
Disgraceful piece of reffing
Oh well ref was ****, but only have ourselves to blame. Should really have won this and taken our chances.
well everybody said that Smit would cost us teh game and he fkn di. We needed Bismarck from the beginning as well as Alberts. We HAD that FKN game.
FK>FK>FK> FK
But we could have won but did not … now I’ll support the ABs, bloody hell hope they do it this time …
End of the Pdiv era…..
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-466:
lol, Ozzie had 22 players, same as the Boks
Well done wallabies. Too many missed opportunities and piss poor reffing. Lets hope the Argies pull a Bryce on the ABs
You have to score tries to win WC 2011.
Congratulations Australia.
I hope you go on to win this thing.
Well, we gave it our all. Won everything except on the scoreboard.
That’s how the cookie crumbles.
Well done Australia.
9 Oct 2011, 08:49 am
Boks had everything except a few finishers. Good game guys and you won’t lose many that you dominate like that.
Was that Tappe I just saw?
Who are the chockers now Yarpies
Well played, Aussies. Tough game, not good for my heart.
If the Aussies take this same intensity to the breakdown in the semis, they can beat the Kiwis.
Not my kind to blame the ref, but today…. WTF ????
We were outsmarted as I said earlier. As I said in the past it ios just a game, nobody is dead.
Now for the real rugby — All Blacks.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-478:
F off ok the ref was a disgrace
bye bye boks
End of PdV error
Get rid of ALL the coaching staff. Thank goodness the old guard are gone.
Man I am so disappointed. Here at 2 in the morning.
Bye Snor.
Hope this ushers in an era of Bok rugger where we ATTEMPT to play with the joy and grace of a springbok not a python.
Not holding my breath.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-462: how do you come up with that ?coopers c rap and they were lucky to win.
Well done Ozzies. I feel sick, but the coach did say judge me on the world cup. The best players were those who came on later in the game. With so much ball, how can a team lose. The AB’s are smiling for sure.
9 Oct 2011, 08:50 am
Hard luck SA could have gone either way.
Bulls lost.
Boks lost.
Highlight of my weekend was the Coldplay concert.
How sad is that?
Crying. How did we lose that.
Only person who didn’t play well for the boks was spies
well Thats it
Lost the WC
Wallabies got out of jail
Wrong selection process from the beginning
The first Wallaby try against run of play is what set up this win for them.. That was a mistake we should never have made going to ground in front of our posts and turning ball over
Otherwise this game was ALL Boks who dominated possession and territory throughout…
Well played Australia.
Where’s Helen?
Well, congratulations, Australia, hard luck South Africa, they looked dominant and deserved to win.
Although Bryces reffing was controversial today, IMO, while nowhere near a certain Barnes level 4 years ago. We have been told to hardenthefookup, so do you.
Bring on the Ozzmob next week.
Well done Aussies.
Had Luck My Bokke.
Shut the fk up Smit. Go away.
@nama1(nama1)-481:
Wat? All Blacks All Blacks
0secs
The one good thing is that the Coach can now go forever with his cronies and brotherhood.
9 Oct 2011, 08:51 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-496: Thank you for being so big about this. We wouldnt have been.
Hope you smash the Aussies next week.
lets blame the ref, thats what the abs did in 2007……..
Yarpies the CHOCKERS
Test
76% territory but no backline to score tries.
And that’s a Rap, Reffed out o the world cup..
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-489:
Your the disgrace, all is complaints from you. Grow some balls and at least say the well done Ozzies. They played well to keep you guys out.
Dominated territory
Dominated possession
Played all the rugby, did not play the ref in the 1st 40
Plod was poor
Spies was poor
Burger conceded the try
Convicts are not good enough to win Bill
Go Blacks, Bill is yours.
The Boks were just not good enough
And really just ran out of puff
But blaming the ref
Is totally zef
Just realise life can be tough.
Boks a few years too old. No real game breaker. PdV will have some great wisdom to share of course. Which team will the Keo crew get behind now?
Man this age is a killer.
Wales NZ Final.
No special mention for Bryce from Horwill?
Well we tried our best played excellent but there is only three people we can blame 1. PDV for not choosing Bismarck for first choice 2. Ref. for **** refereeing and 3. David Pocock for being an insane player
Weldone Aussies!!
GO ALL BLACKS!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 08:52 am
@Black Power(Black Power)-485:
same as always the AB’s
Commiserations SA fans, you didn’t deserve that result, nor did your team.
Australia dont look like world beaters that’s for sure.
Wales all the way.
9 Oct 2011, 08:53 am
was also a huge blow to lose brussouw so early on. Can anyone confirm whether that was a cynical attempt to injure him by vickerman?
Didn’t see flouw even go for a turnover????
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-514:
F you a hole You come and gloat on this blog The ref was **** ok
@tommy2pie(tommy2pie)-509:
Thats what you do after every lose, go cry somewhere else
woo hoo…yee haa…
go the Aussies!!!!
Pocock brilliant. We needed Bismark on to counter. Pathetic selection. Cost us the game.
Have a nice day chockers, Hope you feel good
9 Oct 2011, 08:54 am
Wow I didn’t see that happening, boks seem to have it in the bag once they got ahead. Bad luck bokke fans, your team gave 110%.
Well done aussies, probably didn’t deserve to win based on bok dominance in second half, but gotta admire how they hung in under that ferocious bok pressure.
Well I have three out of three calls this weekend, but this one I wanted to have wrong. Eish. We have been super K A K for the past 18 months and if we are realists we will know that winning is a habit and with so much ball, we didn’t know how to win the big one anymore.
I am here to tell you we will never win again (as long as neo-racism reigns)
Is it written in the stars?
Are we paying for somme crimes?
Is it all that we are good for?
Just a stretch of mortal time?
Is it god’s experiment ?
For which there is no end
For which we live in Paradise
But only for a day
And that day is now long gone.
I, ET, am 3 for 3 in these quarter-final games with the mighty ABs to carry me in the last q-f game.
I am slightly incredulous that the Boks managed to lose that game.
Well done to Australia.
At the anthems, after they scored, during the game – they just seemed a lot more “pumped up” for it than we ever did.
We had all the ball, we had all the territory, they had to make all the tackles. They ate us alive at the breakdown.
I said earlier in the week this game would be so close that it would come down to a bounce of the ball or a ref call, and, well, it did.
I’m waiting to see the replay of Lambie’s “try”.
Fact is, Australia were SMARTER than us, and we knew that all along.
Tough luck SA, the end of an era for many players.
It’s time to move on and blood fresh players and employ a new coach – and change the mindset of our players to a more intelligent and creative one. I feel like I should be celebrating a win the way the game went, but hey ho, that’s the way the cookie crumbles.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-480:still think the boks don’t play rugby?
No excuses my side.
Aussies stole the game away from us with better hands on deck & better defense.
I guess that almost all of us knew that with Morne at 10, we would not score tries.
I love those blaming Smit & Spies.
I think that 76% posession means our forwards did their job.
Aus v AB’s going to be a cracker.
Hard luck Springbokke.
Well done to the Aus.
No excuses from me.
This was a 50/50 game and a late penalty or break was always going to be crucial.
Thank you John Smit,Bakkies and Victor for the great service you gave Springbok rugby.
As for me it is not the end of the world,we have some very young exiting players coming through.
I hope the All Blacks win this RWC because as a nation they need this super badly.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-516:
you forget the AB’s might very well be on the receiving end next week
Boks need a proper backline to go with our powerpack forwards.
9 Oct 2011, 08:55 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-526:
??
Gloat about what? Such a sad loser Coach. I honestly thought you were more of a man than mouse.
As i said earlier and the other day and the day before that, i was going for the Boks on this game. I was hoping that you guys would do it, but the Ozzies won, shame but thats rugby.
@Nils(Nils)-502: Fair play mate thanks – we were dominant today we did exactly what we wanted to and thats starve Oz of the ball. We lost it by giving away that penalty and not taking points when we could – harsh call on the forward pass there to Lambi – ive seen many tries scored where that was seen as a flat pass. Brussouw out early also hurt us a bit.
New Zeland should be able to beat Iz for sure. Dont think theyre worthy semis opponents based on that perfromance.
The ref was the ref, and what cost us the game were the selections of Smit & Spies. And Francois Steyn would have been huge.
Now you blaming the ref chockers, You make me laugh Ha Ha
Some new nicks popping up to gloat…. fcking tools.
Oh well. At least i can play golf again. Vaseline boks on the next flight home.
here come the excuses……
Only positive…end of helium
Pocock and ref letting them play the ball on the ground was decisive. We should have taken our opportunities but were robbed on the ground in many promising positions, illegally I say. Ref had a shocker.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-508:
mate you did us a favour though the Aussies were bashed and smashed, Copper went missing again
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-534:
But you are still the one and only ” BANTU ” racist.
9 Oct 2011, 08:56 am
Chocking tag belongs to Bok Bok
Tough break for the Bokke. Should have really won that game as they were the better team by far. Ref was fine although im sure many will disagree.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-539: no South Africa need the effing forwards to stay out of the backline thats what. They slow ball down time and time again stopping it from ever getting to the wings. Once or twice fine but the entire match – was always Burger, Matfield or effing Rossouw standing at centre. I mean WTF?
Better team lost and the ‘penalty’ to win the game was NOT a penalty. Samo fell over. But hey lawrence was determined that SA should not win.
Keo and Ryan, you are probably happy, you called it right….
Lost the match cause passengers like Plod and Spies started.
Needed Bissy and Alberts to start.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-529:
Look Pocock had his hands in the ruck numerous times and was not blown up for that And in 1st half there were some close to Aussie goal line
Anyway its over
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-534:
Yeah it is one that the Ozzies stole from the brink of defeat. Not going to blame the Ref, we had enough ball to close the game.
Well now I’m hoping Wales go all the way…
9 Oct 2011, 08:57 am
@BULLET(BULLET)-536: It what you do with possession. And we kept on losing it. Because we did not have Bismarck, and Alberts to make the hard yards. It was that close.
So stats schmats we fked up the selection, as everyone predicted.
**** ref, Aussie played all their lucky cards, **** ref, boks deserved it more, ref was ****, burger was awesome, **** ref, Aus are spent
@ET.(ET.)-533: I have a dirty car…. come and make me proud. R10 in it your you.
@boktillzero(boktillzero)-538:
For sure. We could actually be on the recieving end tonight, you just never know.
As hard as it will be for many bloggers, I wish to sincerely thank Smit, Matfield, Botha & FDP for their services as Boks.
The 4 of you have delivered much happiness to the Bok supporters. This was not the finish we all wanted, but thank you 4 for the past 10 years.
@ET.(ET.)-549: why are you putting inverted commas around the word Bantu. Do you do the same for Celtic and Slavic?
@RL(RL)-555: yes.
This is the most painful “I told you so” of my life. Could see disaster a mile off.
I am kind of reminded of the time I had too many prickly pears and was seriously constipated. It was painful and felt like eternity to get rid of that stubborn ****. Well, now we at last are rid of the **** PDV and his love child Smit. Thank all the gods that this is over and I hope to all those gods that this circus will never be repeated again.
Guys lets face it, we’ve got awesome players. But our coach is a clown and that makes a huge difference.
2 quotas cost us the RWC …. PDV & Banana
commiserations bokke fans.
Four more years, boys.
9 Oct 2011, 08:58 am
@wors(wors)-554: Well they did but lets face it – the Boks dominated that game and that isnt something they predicted. We were in total control of possession, territory and stepieces – how we could lose after that – it leaves you pretty gutted.
For me, the forwards did their job, in spite of Bryce, but the backs just weren’t running onto the ball at real pace or drawing their man before passing.
JdV had a far better game than expected as did Morne.
@Getafix(phil72)-477:
End of the VM, Danie, FdP, JdV, JS era as well.
76% territory and all that possession, I think the forwards did their job.
@nama1(nama1)-481: you are a gracious gentlemen. Lump in you throat after that effort and thanks for your words.
The refereee was a joke with his leniency at the breakdown, but Fourie du Preez was the villian for me. Horrible display. John Smith has no shame either, disgrace of a man.
The only positive is that it brings the tenure of a nothing coach to its end. We had a settled team, fantastic talents and we had the platform to really dominate in the next four years. Racism got PdV in, and he and his two equally incompetent wingmen robbed the Springboks of a great era bringing no unique style of play to the table. Pointing to statistics shows a distinct lack of intelligence and no appreciation of facts, but I’m sure there are some who will endure with that pointless exercise.
**** off PdV, let’s hope the successor is there on merit.
Danie sure shines when we play minnows but when it comes to these big ones he fades.
congrats aussie. it is not often the boks play that well and lose. i am gutted, but so proud of the team.
go the all blacks.
@Sodajoe,
I would have to disagree with you. Our forwards made plenty of hard yards, plenty of go forward and plenty of gain line gains.
Lets be honest, can we score a try against the top tier opposition?
Worst display of refing of the breakdown I have ever seen. IRB needs to sort this out, he blew his own laws. How difficult is it blow the laws of the game?
Well done aussie and boks on a great game.
9 Oct 2011, 08:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-568: If you fuck3r5 dont beat the **** out of the Ozzies next week we´ll never forgive you. My blood is black next weekend. Go All Blacks.
All 3 quarters have now been won by the more expansive attacking sides.
Can’t help but wonder if we had Butch at 10 and Hougaard starting.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-529:
I said time after time there is only one KING DAVID.
Aussies were pretty ordinary and error-ridden but stil won against the NO try one dimensional ‘wonders’.
That was the Wallabies final however.
We should’ve had more chances with the way we dominated as well. Steyn kicked well so won’t get criticism, but he’s still a major part of why our back line is so impotent. Having our forward standing at 10 half the time isn’t helping as well. Wings were average, Lambie was class but if he hadn’t overrun that line we wouldve been in for a try.
Schalk is one of the worst at standing in the back line without adding much.
Time for a new dynasty to begin. Lambie at flyhalf and no Spies in the team.
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-565:
We called this about three months ago mate! With such poor results recently we couldn’t really expect to win. The coach plays no role and the players are expected to make the calls.
Black Power : this is an SA site. Why don’t you go and sprinkle your heinous posts on some sheep lovers’ site ?
@Black Power(Black Power)-550: @Black Power(Black Power)-550: we did not choke…..a cheating ref assisted an aussie win.
Furthermore, we have Schalk at 10 and Matfield at 12 for a large % of our second phase ball. Why is that? Is it cause we dont trust our backs?
@poppa69(poppa69)-568: Thanks Pops. But the scoreboard counts, and Aussies did what they had too.
9 Oct 2011, 09:00 am
what a beautiful day!!!!
We can cry all we want.
I said before the competition that the winning team will be the best conditioned & disciplined team.
Today, we were neither.
4 years we put up with your f…k wit comments. Now i hope you feel the pain like we did CHOCKERS
The weakness today, or at least the most glaring, was our lack of penetration in the backs and our impotency at the breakdown.
We were tremendous in the set pieces.
This result proved that smart always beats big and dumb.
Well done Wobblies btw, I’ll be shouting for Wales if I’m honest, but please kick the All Blacks out of the tournie.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-573: No bud. You know where the issue was.
@David(David)-571: The forwards were in the backline the whole time – what did you expect? Apart from that everything was perfect. Also think we really could have done with Aplon in the dying stages.
@poppa69(poppa69)-568:
Do you really mean it!
Lambie : 7/10
JPP : 2/10 – does he still want to play rugby?
Mossie 6/10 did some good things
JDV : 7.5/10 good game – best of the backline
Habana – 3 /10 new Jorrie Muller/Earl Rose
Morne Steyn 6/10
Fourie Dup 6/10
Spies 4/10
Burger 8/10 legend
Brussouw – cant be rated
Flo 7/10
Matfield 8/10
Rossouw 6/10
Guthro 6.5/10
Smith 4/10
jannie 4/10
we needed a Beast injection in the last 20!
9 Oct 2011, 09:01 am
maybe a bit harsh on jannie & Smith — they scrummed brilliantly!
@Black Power(Black Power)-591: Good luck next week mate. Big love from South Africa. Now grow up.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-573:
yip i was telling Cab on here last night i thought the Bokke backline would be your achilles heal with 76% P you should have scored plenty of 5 pointers
@ET.(ET.)-582: I think so. Took a lot out of them. NZ will get to final, but without Carter Wales can win the whole damn thing.
@597,
Kiwi’s could not praise Habana more.
@frenchiebokfan(frenchiebokfan)-585:
Actually it an international site, otherwise we couldnt get on.
Anyway hard luck dude, 2015 could be hard as well to win. Ozzies are going to get better and better.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-592:
Naa mate – we let too many good balls go the Ozzie’s way – allowing Pocock to bully us. We needed workers there to bully the ball for us.
So my question is:
What did the captaincy of John Smit help us in this knockout match?
This is what you get when you don’t play the best available players in their positions, whether it is due to affirmative action or favouritism or whatever else.
I hope that we can now close this chapter and get a real coach.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-512:
It is because we have a crab at flyhalf. No creativity, depending on drop goals and penalties. This reminds of the final in London where all of a sudden England were sucked into playing a running rugby. We do not have a that can change or win a game like Dan Carter.
Did we deserve to win against Wales??
Now thed finals next week, can’t wait.
Argentina & Wales final
9 Oct 2011, 09:02 am
Too many fat boys hanging around for too long.
Plod, piss off for good now, you will not be missed.
Matfield and Danie, be gone too.
Spies farkoff you show pony.
FdP your a has-been now.
JPP and Habana should never ever play for the Boks again.
Passengers!
Divvy you clown, take GoldDick with you and farkoff!
Chockers Chockers Chockers Chockers
Cheers Slumtown. know your pain mate.
Gutted for the Bok fans in my country of residence. Loads of opportunity but poor decision making. Like the **** up that was 07 AB’s quarter final team.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-600:
Too many no8 and under in the backline.
Aussies are going to be very tough to beat in the future.
How did they lose to Ireland, I will never know.
@David(David)-571:
” in spite of Bryce ”
Damn! That is your 10th or more FANTASY
How about 3 for 3 in these quarters and the ABs carrying me in the last?
@Black Power(Black Power)-591:
You are a pric*k F off back to your hole
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-600: Agreed, we really should have had a bigger buffer.
9 Oct 2011, 09:03 am
My commiserations bokke supporters!
I feel your pain…it is do or die rugby and there had to be only one winner.
Wallabies played poorly and won….I saw that the bokke drew the wallabies into their game.
Rugby won in ugly or pretty fashion is a win in RWC.
One match I keenly watched was pocock and brussow….sorry for brussow he was outplayed.
Can i go cry
Ref was terrible – Aussies lying on the ball, hands in the ruck all game
Not rolling away.
No penalties, no points
@Black Power(Black Power)-591:
do you know what choking means in a sporting context and do you know when the term applies ?
@Black Power(Black Power)-591: what is a chocker? Go back to school and learn how to read & write you doos.
aus wales final,got to be.kiwi ref did a job on us today.
Well done wallabies. Epic win for you guys. I am heartbroken, but life goes on.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-605: welcome back Stegmann.
@605, Nothing, he was off at 50 minutes. The game needed to be closed out in the last 15 when we were ahead, and he was on the sidelines.
Ask Matfield the question
@Black Power(Black Power)-609: How stupid are you?
@Black Power(Black Power)-609:
dom p*es
Fourie du Preez lost us the game, not the referee. He was a joke, but there’s a lot of joke referees out there and a good performance will still get a win no matter how poor the official.
9 Oct 2011, 09:04 am
So there is only one unbeaten team left in the comp.
@poppa69(poppa69)-610:
this rwc in the knockout stages are going to be tough.
If Oz want to win next week they need Beale/Barnes at 10 and Cooper in a suit and a tie.
Pocock stole the Aussies out of a loss… Burger conceded the try that counted early in first half that line out win we should have kicked that ball out of trouble up field instead Burger went for a set under our posts and wallabies get a soft try…
Other than that was all Boks even from first kick off we had them rattled .. Cooper did f’all all game except knock the ball out FdP’s hands over the try line…
Aplon should have come on at some stage to create some spark
This game and this entire campaign was lost a long time ago when sentimental decisions were taken in selection process instead of pragmatic ones..
rugby is a young mans game.. gees can get you so far.. but in the end not far enough…
@Black Power(Black Power)-609: What the hell is a chocker you illiterate twat? Someone that puts the chock behind a wheel at the airport?
Yes they are now taking over from the Proteas as far as KOs go.
First KO, first defeat!
@poppa69(poppa69)-568: Thank you, poppa. The sun will come up tomorrow and there will be other World Cups.
This one is yours though.
Enjoy.
Breakdown matters. w/o Brussouw it was always going to be hard.
The boks lost the world cup 4 years ago when snor and his two performing clowns were appointed as the management team.The only good outcome of this result is hopefully the 3 clowns will get the boot and NEVER return to any form of bok management whatsoever.On playing terms we lost because we cannot score tries it is as simple as that,the boks had plenty of oppertunities and could not score,hopefully we can go forward from there.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-599:
Slum, dont listen to him.
We got hammered by SA on this site in 2007. Some have forgotten about it and moved on but some like Black power have been waiting in the shadows for this day.
Really sorry about the loss today. I know how it feels and i know SA like NZ take this **** seriously.
9 Oct 2011, 09:05 am
You remind me of my 3 year old niece.
@Black Power(Black Power)-591: What’s a chocker, einstein? Calamari?
Well done bokke! Needed to do more with lawrence on the pitch. Danie will lose sleep over that brain-**** and rightly so.
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-575:
I could not agree more. FDP should not have been there. The more I think of this circus, the more I am becoming the moer in. PDV never selected on form, he did not have the courage to make the pure rugby decisions.
J Smit became bigger than the game in his own eyes and was allowed to impose himself on all of us. That was like a warm iron poker in the eye – week after painful week.
@617 Wallabie,
Aweome temperament from your juniors. This is your tournament to lose now I think.
How did you lose to Ireland.
Well played.
When are we going to learn that the ref has to be regarded as a playing condition, like the rain or altitude.
old mark,who was once the bok spin doctor, a poor one.
Predicted correctly. Always good to enjoy a ref of the highest standard. The IRB need to be congratulated on there choice of officials. South Africa should have one besides the ref. Something needs to be done about ref standards. Every four years every test it is the same story. Ref according to the rules not your own set.
Burger, Flouw were huge – a pity Spies is a fairy. We needed a real hard man at eight, like Alberts for 80 minutes.
Pocock is a great – better than McCaw for sure. He played the ref and won.
Strange that we lose a game where we have so much possession and and tried to keep the ball in hand.
The Aus had to make twice the amount of tackles we did and yet they end up as the winners. Could it be that our backs just did believe in themselves enough to rip the Aus apart with all that ball provided to them by the forwards or did the problem start with our 9/10 combination and their inability to get the back line going?
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-617: congratulations Wallabie.
You are right – Aus played poorly yet still won. The sign of a good team.
And recent history has shown they are a better team than the Boks.
Man, the loss of Brussow was huge.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-603:
Look I have every right to express my opinion about the ref here
Even your Justin Marshall seemed to agree with me
2 or 3 calls that well wrong would have added at least 6 points
To come on here and call people names is really big of you
Grow up or shut up
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-617: Congratulations bud. It must feel good, and you can look forward to more. Enjoy yourself.
9 Oct 2011, 09:06 am
@XV(XV)-553: Do those comments make you feel any better? You should read some of the comments from the better amongst you. Boks played their bloody hearts out and you guys should feel nothing but pride for how they played. To say it wasn’t a penalty is just plain dumb. Taking a leg out in the air is not only a penalty but dangerous. In any event, the game is over and complaining now will do nothing but make you look like a twat. To the rest of you – stand tall boys. Without Pocock we were smashed. Two great teams but Wallaby defense was just ridiculous.
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-617: Congratulations, Ozzie defence was up to task. Under such a presure, well done.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-569:
Ai Tackler
Jy is ook maar net ‘n yarpie soos ons.
Jy ploeg nie net met ‘n ander man se kallers nie, you f uck with another mans dic k my boy. No balls whatsoever.
P u s s y
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-620:
Wow what vulgarity.
Should you not be gracious in defeat, if not ‘de’ mind?
Ack! Heartbreaking…
Well played tho wooblies, Pocock & co were amazing.
Geez Victor, your smile always looks bigger when we lose.
@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-635:
F Louw was brilliant mate – pull the other one
Hahaaa Prawns! Back to District 9 you go! Blow out in the Quater Finals! How does it feel! HAAAAAAHHAAAAAAAAAA LOSERS!
Jeez, heart attack over! Cooper should have been taken off in the first half, shocking game. Pocock was massive.
So is life. Tough luck boys, well done Oz. Farewell outgoing bokke, thanks for the good times!
@Hurricane 637,
You are a gentleman. I sincerely hope that the taunts (however they manifested itself in 2007), were not as bad as how this feels now.
Should have gone for more drop goals when we saw the penalties were’t going to come
RWC is over now,time to start thinking of the future.
Beer time methinks:-)
9 Oct 2011, 09:07 am
Yeah the youth overwhelmed the aged in this game. We need to rebuild and get rid of the waste soon. A new coach and a new team.
@Willy(willyzn)-643:
if we apply that mentality, we can’t blame the ref.
@poppa69(poppa69)-568:
Thanks, mate. Not a good feeling. Good luck to the AB’s for the rest of the tournie.Just don’t let those convicts do it.
Sack your coach now and get rid of Smit, then you might be better next time! HAAHHAAAAAA LOSERS!
I told you so…
9 Oct 2011, 09:08 am
wallabie f*ck dude what game did you watch?? brussouw went off early! f*cking okes who simply don’t know the game who comes here and make stupid comments – now that makes me bitter!
3 key moment
That stupid line out
JDiv’s inability to pass right
and the penalty on the try line that was not awarded with the boks on attack
aussies made 147 tackles and missed 11. they were completely dominated, in every facet of play except for defence and handling errors/forward passes.
the boks got out boksed.
dont expect to see bryce in the tournie again. let too much go. we adapted well but would have probably benefitted from a stricter ref given our dominance. he let hgands in ruck and diving off feet from both team. pretty much left the teams to contest the rucks with no rules.
Reality is we need a major paradigm shift in our attack play, which for me means we need to clear out the old wood and get a new shift …
Gonna go buy the newspaper, kick back and reading it while having a cup of coffee and then go catch a movie to get my mind of the game.
Hope you guys have a great day.
Well, it can only get better, cant it?
@nama1(nama1)-646: strange, isn’t it? Actually feels weird to lose a game (for a change) where we had all the ball. Normally we just squeak home with no ball.
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-656: You know exactly how it feels. Or can’t you remember much beyond last week?
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-631: Aplon should have replaced that has-been JPP, he looked bored out there … he must farkoff too.
How the hell do you beat the Boks with 24% territory. Unbelievable!
@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-606:
Agreed he doesn’t do much but kick
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-612:
after four years of taking your choking s hit i suppose it would be easy for me to throw some s hit your way but why would i bother
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-641:
Never stood a chance with three passengers in charge. No-one was there to make to make the tough calls and cut the deadwood. I blame the ANC.
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-665:
Your precious all bleghs wont make it either
Chokers
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-563:
Is that not what smart people do when quoting especially the word of a RACIST?
Have you totally lost your marbles?
9 Oct 2011, 09:09 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-617: Brussouw was outplayed?????? He wasnt on the field for gods sake. Either way congrats to the Aussies. If you play like that next week you will be kncoked out by the All Blacks.
@renoog(silent_shadow)-583:
If Lambie hadn’t over run he would have had a Wallabie between him and the ball. That’s why unblown forward passes are so dangerous.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-648: Come on Pete. You know Hurricane is a good guy. This just hurts. And it will. But at least no one will care in the US, so we can escape a lot of the pain.
Pocock brilliant, but never have a ref impacted a result as much as today. Everytime we has momentum, shocking call!! Bounce of the ball was also not on our side! Matfield brilliant is his last game, burger immense, jdv awesome. This wallabies have no chance against a less physical, but much more clynical all black team! Im gutted, dissapointed and really really angry at the ref! Same final 4 as in 1987, same outcome?
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-669:
He will be scared to show his face in SA
******* terrible reffing
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-656:
the gloating is a bit premature you do realise the AB’s are yet to play Aussie
This feels worse than with Strauli in 2003, cause we actually have a good team this time.
I want to be sick
Congratulations to Australia and their fans…!
Well done Bokke… No shame in this loss…
I’m STILL 100% South African and STILL 100% a Bok supporter.
9 Oct 2011, 09:10 am
NZMaori … what are you Maori cannibals gonna eat 2night if NZ win?? a few nervous tourists in NZ right now! I’ll farking drink sh*t load of beer – no one will eat me, i wont taste good!
Again, well done Aussies. You’ll need to improve MASSIVELY, but a win’s a win.
Well, I haven’t been that nervous watching a game of rugby since Cardiff 2007! Tho boks va wales wS close in the nerves stakes.
On reflection I wonder if the bokkes had one too many close games, sooner or later the cards weren’t going to fall in your favor?
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-648:
Coach, called you a mouse, sorry.
But i said i understand there were some bad calls, both teams got bad calls especially the one on the Ozzie line. Ozzie hands were in there i saw it, but the ref let off alot of kncok ons from the boks and a Habana offside again and knocking the ball down.
But man up, Ozzies did well. Dont blame the ref for everything. SA had this game and could have won.
Think about it for a minute.
Who would the All Blacks rather face in the semis?
Good job Bryce.
@BULLET(BULLET)-686:
YIp we deserved to win that
@ET.(ET.)-653: No. I hate losing. But I have been gracious to our opponents.
@corms(corms)-675:
Yeah like Ashwin said the team who wanted it the most won it.
Well a clear road for the AB’s now. They know how to beat the Ozzies.
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-669: Haha, great comment – “the Boks got outBoksed.”
Classic.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-569:
Don’t count your chickens till they’ve crossed the road!
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-616: Hard luck mate. Brussow off so early huge blow.
Well, I said it would happen.
Why are the best players not in the starting 15? Why was that selfish, obese mother f-ucker John Smit starting ahead of that Tank Bismarck? It is absolutely disgusting. Now that it is over I hope Bismarck openly insults that fat c-unt. F-uck off Smit, you will be forever remembered as the piece of vomit that put himself ahead of the team. Couldn’t be like Percy and step down gracefully.
All the Sh-it players that shouldn’t have started proved me right. Spies was constantly bullied and too weak to clean, Roussouw was his lazy self and gave away the last penalty, Smit was a tub of grease-fat. Habana also starting ahead of Hougaard was pathetic. Go away you old quota.
No doubt the ANZAC connection was out in full force. I find it laughable that the Lambie try was called forward when it was momentum. Tsk tsk, kissing cousins can now have their semifinal. Manipulation is as bad as match fixing.
How can you let that curly haired half caste Pocock constantly put his hands in a formed ruck is a joke. Vickerman taking out Brussow was pre-planned. I hope Vickerman and his family get butched by a 5 foot 3 street native. It really shows the measure that Deans was willing to go to, next earthquake hopefully gets him.
Wallabies did nothing in this game besides score a fluke try in the opening 10 minutes.
Frustrating thing is, is that this could have been a comfortable win had the proper side started.
Oh well thankfully 2011 is over and we’ll get a proper coach in 2012. F-uck off PdV, his two lapdogs and Smit.
9 Oct 2011, 09:11 am
@bok2007(bok2007)-640: f a r t is too vulgar for a rugby site?
Bryce Lawrence had a shocker, that penalty was a joke Radike Samo was not pulled down in contact Matfield left him alone, oh well life carries on, the springboks lost this game, wallabies did not deserve to win it.
France NZ final at Auckland, could be interesting.
@ET.(ET.)-679: stop talking about yourself.
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-665: easy on the alcohol there Maori … tell your women to leave the house … don’t want them to get a beating cause your are feeling so happy now.
Ruck and Roll Suicide
paddy obrien needs to be replaced then we might get neutral refs
9 Oct 2011, 09:12 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-631: you have to admit though – you cant exactly say Smit and Fourie du Preez lost us the game today. I think our biggest issue was too many forwards in the backline on attack.
The match was there for the taking. No excuses.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-682:
Look I have every right to voice my opinion about some very poor calls (which made the difference)
I dont need any Kiwi resorting to name calling because i have a problem with some very important calls
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-676:
Go for it,all is fair in love and war:-)
I can dish it and take it.
Pity Piet van Zyl was not at the game but fukkit the boks threw all the opportunities away.
@XV(XV)-553:
Better team lost and the ‘penalty’ to win the game was NOT a penalty. Samo fell over. But hey lawrence was determined that SA should not win.
the TJ gave the word to Lawrence that the Bok #4 grabbed Samo’s legs and basically spear tackled him. This was what happened.
9 Oct 2011, 09:13 am
@maximus1(maximus1)-701: Danie conceded the 3 points … he pulled the player down.
As a general comment from a Wallaby fan – commiserations to all Bok fans. You guys were awesome. A true rugby nation and the way your boys carried themselves after what would have been the most gut-wrenching loss of their careers does all you guys credit.
There are a few comments blaming this and that – I responded but shouldn’t have. I know how it feels (2003 final extra time loss) and things are said.
Stand tall and go well.
A more unworthy side of the title ‘World Champion’ than Australia you couldn’t name, don’t even have a lineout or proper forwards that can stand up and match it … and a more destructive coach than Peter de Villiers you couldn’t name either.
Villain of the piece for me is John Smit for the utter selfishness of carrying on playing ahead of Bismarck. As his parting signature to a general 2/10 perfortmance for the last two years he missed the tackle that gave them the winning try. Smit lost us the World Cup and so did the coach who selected him. He needs to be fired with immediate effect. Pocock won it for them – the injury to Brussouw (along with Bakkies and Frans Steyn) cost us also when we we needed them most – luck was very cruel to us?
@Nils(Nils)-698: cheers mate, good luck vs Arg.
The very big mouths have ALL taken to the hills on their way to Boot Hill
Read the very first posts for guidance as to what would have played out for you losers.
@maximus1(maximus1)-701:
See my comment 711
@KK 699,
Your tact is amazing.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-699:
you need help, now take your medicine boy
9 Oct 2011, 09:14 am
Time to bring in the young brigade and rebuild. We had the opportunity but our coach was just too dumb to realise it. Well you are judged not only on the world cup Peter but also on your inability to lead players who are too strong for you. You are the weakest link – goodbye.
@Transformation(Transformation)-535: Score board seems to say they don’t!
could’ve should’ve didn’t
John Smith has just thrown away his legacy, no question about it. A perfect husband who cheats on his wife after a decade of marriage is still a selfish twat.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-709:
no point mate, nothing in it for me hard luck we no the pain
@BULLET(BULLET)-659:
Mate, people on here posing as true Kiwis rubbing it into you guys are a bunch of fakes.
This **** hurts big time without the idiot fake Kiwis rubbing it in.
Believe me its not the way i or the regulars play the game. Cos i know we have 3 games to play and in any of those we can be beaten.
9 Oct 2011, 09:15 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-713:
gentleman.
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-694:
And besides i have not said a bad thing about the Aussies or the ABs ever
I have played the game and coached long enough where i see bad calls by a ref and in the 1st half there were bad calls
These would have lead to points for the boks and the win
Sorry i cant help pointing that out
maximus1 – it was the touch judge’s call! i think it was the correct one .. we had our chances – with 80% possession its sad that we didn’t try more drop goals – because it was clear that lawrence was not going to award many penalties – playing it safe!
Good night everyone. Well done Australia.
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-655: Go back and watch the breakdown battle. They slowed it like crazy, and got more turnovers than us (about the only stat that favored them). They also did a lot of lying offside and slow-rolling.
You can say that HB would not have changed the breakdown battle but you can’t pretend that the breakdown turnover stats (and therefore Flo’s effectiveness at the turnover) were satisfactory.
Flo did a lot of good things, and he’s clearly an excellent player. But if we had been more in control at the breakdown we could have got the turnovers and quick ball to put guys into holes.
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-713: Cheers Bill, congrates to your team. They were too clever for us.
Smart always beats Big.
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-713:
That is the voice of a true gentleman. Well said and well done to your team. You wanted it more…
@RL(RL)-674: Agreed. No passion from JPP. Dont think he’ll lose much sleep.
@maximus1(maximus1)-701: Russouw pulled him down.
@725 Hurricane,
Thank you.
All the best for the remaining matches.
9 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
That was so sweet
Well done to the Wallabies. Guts and courage brought the Boks down to earth with a mighty crash.
The SAFFAS gambled everything on winning the WC – and failed miserably!
Bafana Bafokke
We only lost on the scoreboard… Bwahaaaaaaaaaa.
That has now become a classic…
Oh god go away
@713 BillMc,
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the sentiment.
9 Oct 2011, 09:17 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-727: Pete, bud. It’s over. There were terrible calls in the first half. We still coughed the pill too much, we still had no penetration.
But we will start again and hopefully be rid of the coaches, and we know a lot of the dead wood will go.
Sleep well amigo.
So much possession, so much terrirtory, not enough points! Well dome Bryce, I hope you take a look at YOUR performance! BOKKE how did we blow that! All blacks tournament to lose! GO WALES!
And so the difference was Bryce Lawrence (read Paddy O’Brien)
If we got what we deserved it would have been different; I mean there are many refs that could have handled this game but the puppet master did his share in the NZ national campaign to win the Wc by hook or by crook
ABs did not want to face Boks, that was clear to me at least
I’m allowed to say twat? PdV’s a twat. Smith’s a twat. Lawrence’s a twat. twat twat twat twat. Ah, feels good.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-734:
Yeah that was a penalty for sure. No squealing there. It was the right call from the touch judge.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-637: Thanks mate – all the best for you guys – you should take Argies easily and I cant see you losing to Oz next week. We just showed you how to netralise them completely – just your backline has far mroe potency than ours. Should be in the bag. Probably face Wales in the final but how sweet would a France vs New Zealand final be for revenge?? Oh yeah! You guys must be failry happy youre not facing us next weekend. The Boks in all fairness dominated that game but our achilles heel – our failure to attack well was our undoing. Ref didnt help at all and I honestly think he missed a lot at the breakdown as well as a lot of high tackles on us. But I´m not going to pin the blame on him. We should have taken our opportunities. End of. Massive well wishes for today and th rest of the cup and now that we are out I certainly hope that the deserving team wins it – which is the All Blacks. I know your countrymen need it as much as we did in 2007. Like I said for the rest of the tournament i´m with my 2nd team and thats the All Blacks.
So for all our experience we were incapable of playing to the ref, making our dominance count on the scoreboard and closing out the game. Left to the team of youngsters to teach us.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-702:
My name is in the Hall of Fame of non-racism.
Yours is synonymous with APARTHEID terminology, such as ” BBANTU “.
9 Oct 2011, 09:18 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-724:
On Monday some 17-21year old kids will be kicking a rugbyball around planning for the Springbok attempt at the next RWC.
We are like that.
I hope for a good game now and no injuries.
@ET.(ET.)-748:
should read ” BANTU “
Pocock and the Aussies got away with murder at the breakdowns and the Boks got a raw deal .
As per usual Schalk Burger was incredible .
I believe the turnover that led to the try Pocock kicked that back illegally
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-741:
9 Oct 2011, 09:19 am
@ET.(ET.)-89: You are a true fool and life will always deliver exactly what people like you deserve. I’m happy and you’re a grub.
We better destroy those ***** in the cricket now…
You’re looking like a real idiot now. If you’re going to try and wind people up, at least get the spelling right you pillock!!! It’s C-H-O-K-E-R-S. You’ve had eighteen years or so to learn it….
Pocock was huge. To be honest we need a paradigm shift in terms of attack. We had plenty of ball and territory.
Hopefully we can now clear out the dead wood and get a good coaching team who can rebuild and improve our team.
As for Bryce Lawrence, what a terrible referee, loads of bad calls on both sides. Hopefully he does not referee another game.
For Australia, I think Quade Cooper looked terrible, now I’ll support the ABs …
I can’t imagine Slade will be worse than QC
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-736:
“The SAFFAS gambled everything on winning the WC – and failed miserably!”
You obviously take delight in this. Otherwise, well done to the Aussies. They were simply better than us today.
But you make a good point – was it really worth throwing 2 away 3N games this year? That was all for nothing now.
SA needs to lose its obsession with the RWC and “4 year plans”. We need to refocus on winning EVERY game.
9 Oct 2011, 09:20 am
Geez the Smitty haters in full force. I’m no Smit fan but he was good today. Divvy should have subbed Brussie with Bismark although Flo was not bad at all. Danie, FDP, Spies and JPP was poor tonight. We could have won this ease but our hands was just shocking. Yes… this Bryce had a absolute shocker but we blew it. Well done Aus but with Cooper at 10 you will be going home next week. Schalk …. great game buddy. I’m out.
disgracefull by Lawrence, it was pretty clear all through the match as he guided them
lambies try was not a forward pass but a flat one
the other try was a forward pass, but life goes on , that whole bok team played their hearts out ,
Commiserations Boks fans, as a Kiwi, trust me I know what you’re feeling right now. It’s not easy to get to sleep after a game like that in the middle of the night, it sucks. Bad luck, I thought SA should have won. Had Frans not been injured, it may well have been a different result. Not having Carter may cost us, too, in another hour or so. Anything can happen in the knockout stages and if the Pumas are up for it, who knows, the ABs may also be out of the tournement by tonight. Re Bryce L, I’ve always thought he was rubbish. Whenever he refs, every ruck or maul is a lottery.
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-656: Thanks mate – yes we are the losers today though only on the scoreboard
Actually very proud of the way the Boks played – they dominated that game totally except in taking their opportunities. All the best for the Blacks next week and Hope New Zealand take the Cup – they deserve it. Feel better now?
Boks out of world cup
Bafana out of African cup of nation after celebrating prematurely. Dancing and singing and show ponying – then realise oops we not in…
What a weekend.
Province thumped, Boks pipped, Bafana bombed…can’t get worse…
9 Oct 2011, 09:21 am
Lawrence is an Anzac. What was anyone expecting? A fair contest?
If I see Smit in the street I’m going to shove some dogshit in his face. PdV will go down as one of the worst coaches in Bok history. Both of you get the F-UCK OUT OF HERE.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-743:
Very sad, take your medicine
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-753:
Don’t take the fool seriously. He’s a stalker.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-721:and rugby is played on the scoreboard hey?
just admit they shut you up today…
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-746:
Hats off to you Slum.
@ET.(ET.)-748: you’re a nobody.
9 Oct 2011, 09:22 am
You must have admired they way the Aussies took out your favourite team?
Pretty impressive stuff!
Scored a try as well!
It is better to be beaten fair and square; you wont enjoy it but as you unpack it in your own mind you know there’s no excuse.
I have been talking about Bryce for at least 2 years now and he is a fraud and cheat, so are his employers
@Fumbler(Fumbler)-760:
Good luck buddy. This is the best year for you guys. If you don’t take this one, then it is going to get tougher and tougher. World teams are catching up fast.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-671: that it can mate – arent you going to watch the All Blacks vs Argies??? Movie?? heheh Good luck.
9 Oct 2011, 09:23 am
This feels like a Super rugby loss… at the most a Super rugby semi final loss. I suppose it is the awful atmosphere and seeing the same yellow stadium over and over.
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-762: Hard luck. Maybe with a better coach next time.
As for the ref, now you okes know how it felt in Cardiff and there it was way worse, at least you got plenty of penalties today.
Anyway, there’s always tomorrow.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-763: you are a chop.
9 Oct 2011, 09:24 am
@RL(RL)-674: you are talking the biggest load of cr@p mate – JP was fine Habana is the moegoe who always stuffs up. Aplon should have come on for Lambie in the last 10 considering we were losing.
NZ will now go on to win this. Boks were the only hope. Now you have the young di-ck sucker Wallabies without the ref on their side in the semi.
I always say the team that scores the most tries should win even if they were not the best team on the day,and that is exactly what happened here today the ozzies were bullied by the boks but they scored the only try and that was off a bok mistake,that was there only chance to score in the 80 minutes and they took it.The best team lost today but as i have said the scoreboard is the only thing that matters after the game is finished the boks lost and we just have to get over it and move on.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-759: i’m so proud of the boys, disappointed by the result but not cut up at all.
well played by all the boys…
lambie is all class
How many high tackles did the ref and touch judges miss? Might not have led directly to points, but to better territory and better chances! I am amazed at wha they wee( line out) and what they miss! He’ll they get paid well to do this job! **** I am sore, but well defended aussie, you made it happen!
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-775:
How did your John Smit go today? You foking blind sheep. Open your eyes.
9 Oct 2011, 09:25 am
Aussies were well and truly outplayed
I felt the Boks bullied them and it is actually a humiliating victory for them
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-777: Yes and you can always say, this win does not count, too, because “you weren’t there”.
Hardenthefookup and stop whingeing.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-768:
And you are a ” BANTU ” Out of Africa somebody?
I actually don’t mind the ABs winning that much, with the way they’ve constantly dominated and their style of rugby you feel they deserve a WC, but seeing the smug faces off those SA AB fans will be too much to handle. French/Welsh upset? Just hope the Aussies don’t do it.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-773:
Your ( You’re ) a complete joke.
Hows that? is that better
@Nils(Nils)-774:
Thanks mate. Yes the AB’s huge favourites. Always been and this may be the year. You play what is in front of you. The ref made strange decisions, but that is not the reason we lost. With 74% possession you should be winning easily. We had no plan B, so played plan A even though it was not working…
Well actually of the remaining people I’d prefer the NZ’ers to win. They deserve it most
9 Oct 2011, 09:26 am
Brussow would have made no difference.. ref gave Pocock too much leniency in breakdown law.. Louw had an absolute storming game and was a big contributor…
Spies tried hard but his blind side break down toucj line alone was just plain and simple ‘stupid”
The loss was not converting attack ball into points and that comes down to too much reliance on traditional one dimensionality..
FdP was the big contributor to slow ball on attack
This team would have won this game today
Lambie
JPP
Fourie
JdV
Aplon
Steyn
Hougaard
Burger
Brussow
Matfield
Roussow
JPP
Bismark
Steenkamp
Beast
Smit
CJ
Spies
Louw
Pienaar
De Jongh
A more unworthy side of the title ‘World Champion’ than Australia you couldn’t name, don’t even have a lineout or proper forwards that can stand up and match it … and a more destructive coach than Peter de Villiers you couldn’t name either.
Villain of the piece for me is John Smit for the utter selfishness of carrying on playing ahead of Bismarck. As his parting signature to a general 2/10 perfortmance for the last two years he missed the tackle that gave them the winning try. Smit lost us the World Cup and so did the coach who selected him. He needs to be fired with immediate effect. Pocock won it for them – the injury to Brussouw (along with Bakkies and Frans Steyn) cost us also when we we needed them most – Lady Luck was very cruel to us?
@Black Power(Black Power)-550: Chocking is what you do when you place wooden wedges in front of an aeroplane’s wheels.
Choking only has one C in it.
Pay attention in your spelling class, pilgrim.
My girlfriend is Argentinaian so:)
GO PUMAS
but NZ do deserve to win
GO PUMA’S
Now that we are recovering from the shock, was not really suprised by the score, will a smarter player like Luke not have made sense than a donkey like Spies at 8? I mean this in all honesty. Should PDV not insisted on his more axpansive rugby when he took over?
The Boks did not out muscle the Aussies as many had insisted. A team needs a ball player, creativity to unlock a defense. We had no one to unlock the Ausies today and we never had from Jake’s time. This is nothing new, it comes from far away.
People like Danie Gerber, Michael dup and Carel dup must be ashamed of this donkey type of rugby. No brains relying overly on braun and kicking away possession with the hope that your opponents will make a mistake. Stupid, stupid rugby.
@Nils(Nils)-783:
I am 3 for 3 and soon it should be 4 for 4.
Final will be N.Z. vs. France
9 Oct 2011, 09:27 am
Fact remains, with all that possession and territory, it should never have so close that a ref’s call (either way) was capable of swinging the game.
Except for the breakdowns (which the Bokke seemed to have forgotten about) the SA forwards were immense.
It was our lack of creativity and penetration that did it for us.
Australia, despite not having any ball, were the opposite – you felt they could have scored a try at any time. And with the little ball they had, they scored one and we scored none.
I’m looking forward to a new coach with new ideas. We musn’t be scared to look overseas if needs be. And it is time for some fresh faces in the playing team.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-776:
JP was mediocre mate! Habanna was too…
Anyway it should be interesting next year with new-look Boks and ABs teams and new coaches.
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-763: at the end of the day Divvy will be know as a kak coach … Skop likes him for some reason
Skop likes him for puting his tail between his legs and running to Plod.
9 Oct 2011, 09:28 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-789:
Agreed – with proviso don’t take off Bismarck unless he is dead – change that, even if he is dead leave him on the field.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-782:
lol Oh yeah Sheriff, the Ozzies feel really humiliated.
Anyway, tough luck mate, its a sad day for you guys.
@Transformation(Transformation)-779: Nice one Trans – good to see you coming round to Lambie.
@ET.(ET.)-794: Yes, it looks likely.
Hoping for a good Pumas performance and no injuries.
I think we should put a DVD together to show Bryce ‘s gross negligence
You cannot play against a ref guys, we did Paddy not let a neutral ref handle the game
Bryce is always pathetic, has always been and will always be
Can Argentina cause an upset? You never know …
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-800:
Yeah I hate sore losers mate… We lost and need to get over it.
9 Oct 2011, 09:29 am
In my opinion the biggest loss for SA was Juan Smith. Best forward in the world.
9 Oct 2011, 09:29 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty-763: you’ve been sprouting a lot of sh*t here the last few days…and now things don’t go your way it’s all Bryce’s fault???you are a classic!!!
9 Oct 2011, 09:30 am
And for all thise complaining and whingeing okes just one question.
What did you say after Cardiff 07?
Thank you.
@Transformation(Transformation)-779: thanks transie and i agree with you
they can all hold their heads high,
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-713: Fair play – there are some dumb comments being made like Samo wasnt pulled down which is rubbish – he was interfered with whilst in the air – we only have ourselves to blame there. Some iffy calles by the ref but we didnt take out opportunites – so congrats to Oz. Brussouw out early meant Pocock had free reign – he is a pest. Cooper was shocking – you guys need to replace him with Barnes asap.
@ET.(ET.)-794:
You. Are. Just. Wonderful.
Paddy hasn’t done NZ any favours with tonight’s ref either. He’s as bad as
Bryce, hopeless.
9 Oct 2011, 09:31 am
@ET.(ET.)-784: Bantu is a language group, as is Celtic and Slavic for example. I honestly don’t understand your issue.
@gregars(gregars)-806: bryce was shocking , but kitty is an idiot
nice Haka boys
All Blacks, All Blacks, All Blacks!!!!!!!
Go AB’s you deserve and would probably have beaten us anyway.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-757:
My team won and I am delighted – especially with the way they did it. No fancy stuff, just pure guts.
You are 100% right – every test is a WC final and there are no excuses for repeated choking between world cups.
9 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-757: Yeah, definitely agree with that … thought the finishing was lacking today because we were not consistent over the last 4 years
I’m ok though, we have plenty of good young players, bigger question is whether we get a new coach and who that might be
9 Oct 2011, 09:32 am
Australia was comprehensively outplayed today – that’s a fact.
They needed the extra man (Bryce) and he understood his role
Aussies could not have won that game without Bryce, that’s for sure
You can just sense the relief in Grant Nesbitt’s voice
9 Oct 2011, 09:33 am
@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-793: Watson is not international quality.
Rossouw did pull Samo down, no complaints about thaT PENALTY
yes we got cheated by Lawrence , but in saying that we must move on, it wont change the result no matter all the crying or blaming
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-800: you have nothing to fear from the convicts, even without Carter your team is too good for them.
was i the only one who noticed that australia’s first 8 points came due to morne not being able to tackle?
Somebody posted earlier that the ozzies made 147 tackles and the boks still lost the game and the boks could not score one try story ended.
9 Oct 2011, 09:34 am
@Nils(Nils)-802:
Pumas will play it hard annd give their all.
game on.
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-816:
Good comment. We are out of the competition – let’s be sportsman and congratulate the winners. The defended like champions and won.
Well done Ozzies
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-777: you are an absolute ******** kobus. Go be a poor loser somewhere else – you make the rest of us look like idiots.
Ref was appaling, as always, and it went both ways. I couldn’t belive some of the stuff we got away with and vice versa.
I think the ABs will win the cup but im now backing the Wallabies – they showed a lot of guts tonight, made 3 times as many tackles and had no field position.
Time to go for a new coach without outdated ideas who can take this team forward away from the bash the ball up, kick and chase approach.
9 Oct 2011, 09:35 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-731: No idea how we did it this time. Also, the best rugby blog in the world – that’s why you get all “us” coming in.
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-817: well done to your team, enjoy the win.
I would say NZ should be too good for your boys next week. Gut feel.
no doubt we also missed steyn at 12 and his big bootthat penalty morne missed i have no doubt frans would have had a better chance of slotting as it was into the wind
frans also does not kick the ball as high as morne
One positive: how good was Lambie! So composed and great decision making. Can’t fault him. Awesome!
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-813: Bryce WAS shocking…for both sides…
and yes..i agree about *****…i mean kitty…
9 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
Kiwis are 100% cheats
I thought the enormity of the occasion will make you change your ways but no
9 Oct 2011, 09:36 am
@diddles(diddles)-823:
Yes they targeted 10 and ran with him for about 20 metres! The kick from Fourie du Preez also caused a lot of damage. Spies was utter useless too.
9 Oct 2011, 09:37 am
Cooper is a liability, if Deans replaces him with O’Conner or Barnes I’d almost pick them to win the cup.
How the Aussies won was a miracle. No blaming the ref, they earned that win – they had just as many shocking calls against them as we did.
Deans is still a poor coach.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-831:
De Villiers did well. I think we missed him at 15 and would have made a difference. Lambie was not bad though.
My feelings with the Boks in their change room right now… must be gutted…!!
Heads high, chins up guys.
You did us proud and gave it your all… No shame at losing…. Well done to John Smit… played well and led well. Was gracious in defeat too…
Well done Divvy… Also very gracious in defeat…
Safe trip home…
See you in the Currie Cup…!!
9 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
well done aussie , aint ur fault the ref allowed you to get away with murder , as a player you play as the ref allows you to play
next weeks semi should be a humdinger, also AB’s without carter against aussie will be a true test
9 Oct 2011, 09:38 am
I agree with shampoo that FdP was our weak point as far as penetration is concerned. Our backline play has always been based on him directing it. With his loss of form there’s nobody who seems prepared to take control and a poor FdP is actually more destructive than no FdP.
9 Oct 2011, 09:39 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-829: Cheers Bill.
Funny, I am still incredulous how we lost that game, but actually quite at peace with it. I think because our players gave it everything. There was no shame in that defeat.
I read a great comment earlier – “the Boks were outBoksed.” Usually we play with NO ball and still squeak home despite that. Today, we had all the ball and still conspired to lose. I put it down to being in virgin territory!
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-837: dont agree bill
frans should play 12 and he brings the backline into play more, his defense is also of such that it takes some pressure off morne
FdP is the problem in the back line not De Villiers
Its a new era and the JW class of single dimensionless functionality is now gone
New fresh ideas and fresh players is what is required to take the Bok brand forward..
9 Oct 2011, 09:40 am
lol talk about CC?? sharks now have many players back
watch out lions, now its back to equal fields
@ufo(ufo)-838: It was a really gutsy performance from both sides – not much polish but really gutsy.
Was it just me or was anyone else amazed Schalk got away with the head attack on Pocock? I’ve seen much less penalised and carded.
Anyway – Schalk was awesome aside from that. And Smit had a great game also. Jannie was rubbish
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-834: Should we say Saffas are 100% sissies thanks to you and some other sore whingeing losers?
9 Oct 2011, 09:41 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-843: i’ll agree on Fdup he did not have a great match , he has also gotten very slow
9 Oct 2011, 09:41 am
Kiwis obviously feel they were cheated out of the prev WC and now have crafted very grand plans to ensure that Boks wont win it
They fear the Boks the most, that’s for sure
Yes it’s over and official but the truth does not evaporate – they’re cheating their way through this tournament
Its the QF and NZ have not been tested; their other big fear France they played in the group so if anything goes wrong you can bounce back
Surely there must have been a neutral ref
Why do they always have cheat us? Do they not respect the game of rugby union?
9 Oct 2011, 09:42 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-842:
That is what makes debate so interesting. He played against mediocre opposition at 12 and did OK. He didn’t play 12 against any of the big boys in the World Cup. Many look good against weaker opposition.
9 Oct 2011, 09:42 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-843: I agree with this skop. JDV was actually quite good today, and it was his break which led to Lambie’s “try”.
FDP was most visible weak link today. He’s a season past it.
9 Oct 2011, 09:43 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-848:
Geez, you seriously need a counselling. What a sore loser of note.
Anyway, cheers.
9 Oct 2011, 09:43 am
@Nils(Nils)-846:
I am a proud Bok fan today.
We obliterated the Aussies and the Kiwis fear us to the extent that they had to manipulate proceedings to ensure that we are not there in the Final.
In truth we are the True World Champions!
9 Oct 2011, 09:44 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-843: Yip, think we have more than enough talent in SA. Hopefully we get coaching team to match
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-850:
Yeah he was really good. 8, 9 and 10, 11 and 14 were mediocre today.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-852: Whatever, mate makes you feel better.
Cheers.
9 Oct 2011, 09:45 am
fck off cardenelli…you can’t adapt to an “anything goes policy” at the ruck.
that’s a contradiction in terms.
80% possession…and no frikken penalties?
are you retarded?
End of Habana, JDV, Steyn, James, FDP, Pienaar, Matfield, Botha, Rossouw, Smit.
Time for fresh faces and ideas.
@Nils(Nils)-851:
All supporters are not like that mate. Some only come online to make SAFFA’s sore losers.
9 Oct 2011, 09:46 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-856: I dont like Cardinelli but that statement was correct – it was the same for both teams.
Don’t be a loser.
9 Oct 2011, 09:46 am
AB’s look a bit panicky… Rushing things.
9 Oct 2011, 09:47 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-850: i agree , but i spoke mostly of fransies big boot that could of helped with 2 missed penalties
@Nils(Nils)-807: not everyone is complaining dude … we had our chance and could not close out the deal …
yes referee was ****, but you cannot con’t on the ref to win you the game … just like the ABs in 2007
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-856: what was the penalty count at the end?
Usually Lawrence is very quick to thweeeeeeeet his whistle, but today I was surprised by how much he just let the breakdown develop into a free for all.
As a result, the Wallabie ate us alive at the breakdown. We really had no answer there but this was hardly surprising – the signs were there against Wales, Fiji and Samoa (who turned us over quite frequently).
@jeest(jeest)-859:
Well said. Four years ago many were calling the Kiwis bad losers to the forward pass try by France. Now we doing exactly the same. Skaam julle.
I have been writing about the Kiwi conspiracy for prolly 2 years now
It was there for all to see; the Kiwi ref was pathetic
The discerning eye will say: but why did Bryce of all people have to handle this game?
We all know why.
Corrupt to the core.
Boks won that game today, Bryce knows it but he is too thick to reflect on it
9 Oct 2011, 09:48 am
@danuk(danuk)-862: Good comment.
9 Oct 2011, 09:49 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-865: Give it a rest Sheriff. You are sounding like a blunt tool.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-819:
I bet you blame others for your failures as well.
Guys, as an Italian Bok fan I am sorry about the outcome of this match, but I reckon that during PdV’s tenure you won less than you could have achieved. Those four years could have been more productive in terms of trophies….But it is a ne start and it can be exciting. Probably Coetzee or Mallet should be the next coach, in my humble opinion…
Cheers!
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-865: lol, conspiracy theory?
9 Oct 2011, 09:50 am
Does anyone really believe we deserve to win the World Cup? We have been so useless for over 18 months. What makes us deserving. Deserving are those teams who win consistently for their country, not only in World Cups…
We were poor and if you want to win the world cup you need to beat the best. We lost today, so good luck to the teams that are still in the competition.
9 Oct 2011, 09:50 am
@ 848 – sheriff, what are you on? Do you really think the all blacks can control the whole world cup? Stop being such a poor sport.
9 Oct 2011, 09:51 am
@danuk(danuk)-870:
Yeah I saw it coming already as early as 2009.
@Scaramanga(Scaramanga)-869: Mallett won’t be coach again. Coetzee potentially, the bigger question is the rest his team …
good try ABs
9 Oct 2011, 09:52 am
or maybe not, lol
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-843: yes with all the deficiencies on defence I still wonder what could have been with Sarel at 9 – which he totally deserved.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-867:
Provide proof to the contrary
9 Oct 2011, 09:53 am
South African rugby is so corrupt. Don’t be surprised to see Hellium still running our rugby into the ground…
Boks played very well.. couple poor decisions like Burger going for a loose set in front of his posts.. Burger is not the safest ground ball player easy to rip it off him on the ground and that decided the game almost because we were all over Wallabies all game long … Spies going down blind side another very poor option with a whole backline waiting on other side.. perhaps that was FdP’s call sending Spies down blind side and into touch.
Steenkamp had a massive game.. so did Matfield .. Louw and Burger had big games … Bismark and Alberts came on too late.. … But all the Boks played well even Spies tried hard .. JdV had a big game and was always making inroads with his runs.. the offload to Lambie maybe 10 inches forward .. another ref like Walsh may have let that go..
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-852: give it a rest man -we dominated the game but we didnt take our chances – only ourselves to blame – no need to be a d00s.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-873: indeed, thay had a hand in appointing our coach and our playing tactics …
mmm, this goes deeper than I thought
9 Oct 2011, 09:54 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-868:
Your failure here is to see the objective facts.
9 Oct 2011, 09:54 am
here is how i rate the bok players
15 Lambie 8
14 Jpp 6
13 JF 7
12 JDV 7.5
11 Habana 6
10 morne 7
09 FDup 5
08 Spies 5
07 Schalk 8.5
06 Brussow 6
05 MAtfield 7
04 Rossouw 6
03 Jannie 6
02 Smit 7
01 gurthro 7
16 Bismark 8
17 CJ , did not play
18 Alberts 7
19 Flouw 7 i thought he came on and got very busy and i aint his biggest fan
20 Hougaard 7
21 Butch DNP
22 Aplon DNP
9 Oct 2011, 09:55 am
Did nothing other than that fluke try….and two penalty conversions!!
Whether Brussow is on the field or off his presence has been the same throughout 2011 against the wallabies!
Your boyfriend got done by a saffa!
Let me take you back to earlier this year…S15 and tri nations hey…nothing tournaments and no indication of form! We wont be seeing a plane home for at least 7 Days
9 Oct 2011, 09:56 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-841: It truly was a odd game in so many respects. Apart from Cooper, we held our nerve and tackled like gansters, you guys just keep recycling and ended getting a little too caught up and eventually making mistakes. I’ve never seen a team win with territory of less than 30%.
Time for spies to go.Would have loved to see Duane Vermeulen at 8.solid and strong.
ok here is the Rugby365 rating
Michael de Vries rates the South African players:
15 Pat Lambie:
A composed game from the young fullback, he was calm under pressure and took his options well, providing more than a few impressive touches.
8/10
14 JP Pietersen:
Came off his wing and tried to get involved, competed well for the ball in the air and was dependable on defence.
6/10
13 Jaque Fourie:
Some incisive running and his usual strong work on defence but he battled to impose himself on the Australian midfield despite all the possession his team had.
6/10
12 Jean de Villiers:
A very busy game, he straightened and broke the line, but also lost the ball on the ground and threw a forward pass after doing all the hard work. Made some important tackles but battled to make full use of his team’s dominance.
6/10
11 Bryan Habana:
Worked hard in another determined performance. He took some big hits for his team and his courage or workrate is never in doubt.
7/10
10 Morné Steyn:
A solid game from the pivot, he kept the Wallabies pinned back in their half with his boot and actually took the ball quite flat on attack.
6/10
9 Fourie du Preez:
A mixed bag from the veteran. Showed great awareness with good positional play and was accurate with the boot but he also kicked the ball straight to Kurtley Beale in space and his handling was sloppy at times.
6/10
8 Pierre Spies:
Devastating in space but got isolated at times. Would have liked to impose himself on the Australian defenders more.
6/10
7 Schalk Burger:
An immense game, he was everywhere – tackling ferociously and linking well. Carried the ball up well and refused to give in.
8/10
6 Heinrich Brüssow:
Battled to assert himself in his limited time on the pitch. Not as big a factor as was anticipated.
5/10
5 Victor Matfield:
A towering presence in the line-outs, he was solid on his own ball and harassed the opposition. Also got involved in open play and helped to get his team on the front foot.
8/10
4 Danie Rossouw:
A quiet game by his recent standards, he put pressure on the Australian line-out but his handling let him down at times and he lost the ball forward in contact. Gave away a crucial late penalty to give the Wallabies the lead.
5/10
3 Jannie du Plessis:
Some strong work up front, but he did give away a penalty at the breakdown and was exposed by Beale on the counter attack.
6/10
2 John Smit (captain):
A good physical game from the skipper. He was solid in the set-pieces and got a couple of nice offloads away.
7/10
1 Gurthrö Steenkamp:
Dominant at scrum-time and busted over the gain line time and again. Another huge game from the big loosehead.
9/10
Replacements:
16 Bismarck du Plessis (On for John Smit 50 mins):
Made an immediate impact, busting over the advantage line and charging down a 22 drop-out. He played with real intensity and hunger.
8/10
17 CJ van der Linde:
Not used
18 Willem Alberts (On for Pierre Spies 63 mins):
Made some big tackles and took the game to the opposition.
7/10
19 François Louw (On for Heinrich Brussow 20 mins):
Played with plenty of intensity in an energetic display. Made a nuisance of himself at the breakdown.
7/10
20 François Hougaard (On for Bryan Habana 50 mins):
Injected plenty of enthusiasm and attacking intent. He is an electric runner and a committed defender but did not get the opportunity he needed in space.
7/10
21 Butch James:
Not used
22 Gio Aplon:
Not used
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-879: reality is though that we need to develop better backline play is SA. You cannot expect the national coach to develop that.
We will remain predictable until our most of S15 squads can play a game style where we can create space for attack …
Fortunately I think having kiwi coaches at provincial level have started doing that. Also the younger players coming through look to be better players
9 Oct 2011, 09:58 am
OK, so it was a damn hard game, but onto the future.
so…. who do we think the new bok coach and captain should be?
In retrospect, we should probably have brought on Butch at 10 earlier. Not because Morne was playing badly, but because FdP was. With the backline “general” not doing the job we needed someone at 10 who doesn’t depend on his 9 to dictate the game.
For the record, there have been several games where the Boks were well and truly beaten and we acknowledged it as such
It’s the unpleasant truth
What some of these e-diots dont understand is that the ref breaks your momentum; you cannot adapt to a ref that’s has clear instructions
Boks emasculated the Wallabie today(night)
9 Oct 2011, 09:59 am
on my ratings i will stick to as i have it accept maybe Gurthro , make him an 8 like rugby 365
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-886:
It shows the poor execution and lack of being able to change the game plan. We only know one thing and that is forwards forwards – kick and chase. Unfortunately ball skills have been coached out of our players. They are not backed to run the ball and test their skills, so when they do, they lose the ball in contact far too often.
Your guys have been good all year and deserved the win.
@maximus1(maximus1)-701:
Danie Rossouw pulled Samos feet and victor had his hands on his shoulders…Bryce goes to what he sees in real time!
9 Oct 2011, 10:00 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-878: you can’t prove a negative.
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-886: yeah, Wallabies tackled well, but boks looked like they had no ideas apart from the forwards bashing up, so very much the boks own doing as well …
Well played guys, congratulations to the Aussies.
Not their fault the ref made some very bad calls, but it’s our fault for not taking our opportunities.
See you guys on the other side,
9 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-895: yeah, we can’t complain about that penalty, was a stupid thing to do
9 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
On the plus side for the boks, lambie was awesome today. Very exciting player to build your new team around.
9 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
@danuk(danuk)-889:
Yes, read my 894 post. I watch school boy rugby too and they are playing the same way as our senior side. Something seriously lacking there too. We don’t back the players skills and don’t show confidence in them.
9 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
boks were very naive at the breakdown today…it doesnt take a genius to realise that the referee was calling different breakdown rules & pocock was doing as he pleased… heightened awareness should’ve picked that up and someone – flo – shouldve been assigned to target him & clean him out ALL the time.
watching the all blacks now one can see that they definitely have a way of playing that facet of play that pushes the envelope, we don’t
9 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-894: It always was an issue for you guys – ability to adapt. But is it the most simple statement in rugby – defense win matches and this one will prove that for the ages (plus Pocock).
9 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
Steenkamp was f’ng HUGE my MOM if we would have won.. He put in EVERYTHING for entire 80 minutes.. he was the absolute go to man up front and never shirked a moment in defense or attack
Alberts and Bismark should have come on a little earlier and Louw had a big game better than Brussow would have had .. the Brussow loss wasn’t what killed us it was the slow ball from second phase attack which was partly due to a slow FdP and partly due to too much leniency towards Pococks border line ‘steals’
9 Oct 2011, 10:05 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-819:
It sucks to be going home!!
Make forward passes concede penalties and let in a soft try…well is that Bryces fault!
Today, what you saw with Australia is a young side that nearly got stunned in the headlights! in their nervousness they got sucked into the bok game plan. They got overawed by the occasion.
One game less anxiety!
Defence wins games.
PDV tried to bring the same game plan that england employed against the wallabies EOYT 2010 but he did not have the players to do it.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-499:
That’s a pretty hopeless statement!
To dominate possession and territory against the Aussies in such an important game and then lose is a choke of the worst kind.
You luck ran out.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-898:
Howzit buddy! I called that we would lose in the quarters about two years ago. I was chatting to you about it. Too many old legs and too few players of quality given the opportunity. Then the coach sets them up for failure by introducing a new squad without any senior players around them. They are scarred for life. Check out the Bull Boks who are playing Vodacom Cup right now. They are quite useless to say the least. We knew this was going to happen – now so many are up in arms…
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-888: Thought Spies did very little, so 6 is flattering, apart from that agree with ratings
Agree Schalk was huge, best loose forward from our side by far
9 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
Argies! Try
9 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-904: for once i agree with you lol
9 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-903:
Yes we have been winning many a match with our defense. Look back at us only having 30% possession and winning. We need to bring flair into the backs – we were predictable so you guys to read what we were doing. We needed a moment of brilliance to change that.
9 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
@danuk(danuk)-908: i gave him that for 2 lineout steals, he did well there, if that makes sense
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-883:
I rest my case!
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-902: very true.
9 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
To the Wallabies
You won, so I guess you have to accept the win, but it will be unfair not to point out that you were totally outplayed
It would have been lovely to see a neutral ref and you beat us with a bigger margin; that would have been better
But, for Robbie Deans’ sake – I’ll say – well done Robbie, I think as a coach you deserve the victory
Good luck next week against the cheaters
9 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
Heartbreaking game. Rough to lose with some questionable reffing, but great game from both teams. Ozzies played tactically at the breakdowns and defended superbly. Great game from our boys but maybe time for a few new faces and ideas…
9 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-904: one can then say the same for lambie who got cheated out of a try for a flat ball ,
boet most of that team played with huge heart , but yes FDup did cost us with slow play and also not always the righ options being taken
9 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
I am so tired of everyone saying “with the Boks you know what you are going to get.”
Direct
Physical
Inflexible
Incapable of adapting
Brawn over brain
Scrambling defence
Guts
We need to change this. Add more arrows to the quiver, more like.
I see it’s 6-7 to Arg; do I sense a choke here?
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-906: Nope you got lucky and you know it.. same way we got lucky against Wales you got lucky against us today.. That was a soft try we gave you on 11th minute which had ball gone to fly half and then to touch would never have happened.. Burger made the mistake of going to ground isolated in front of his post and ball spurted out your side.. That was the Only difference in entire game which we absolutely dominated you in EVERY phase of every play…
Bottom line you got lucky and you got the better part of the refs calls.. we didn’t and we are out… Wallabies are lucky to progress today and they know it.. that last penalty gift and our forward pass try plus the Cooper stealing ball out FdP’s hands on the try line proves how lucky you actually are.. and Horwill and Deans know it…
I feel for the Lions now…they were hoping to go all the way without the Boks coming back to the other teams. It could be a Province win this year.
9 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-902: eish again i am in agreement
we should have read the refs interpretations as i had said earlier , we needed to play a bit more smart
9 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-907: Ja. Trying not to think about it too much. Sunny day and all that
Can Argentina achieve the unthinkable/unimaginable?
Wow, that would be something?
ABs playing this game with the semis already in the back of their minds, but will they get there?
Let’s wait and see…
It must be tough for all the Bok bashers out there, all the Smit haters, that the Boks put up such an effort. That Smit was good enough. That the Boks coulda shoulda won. And relief for all the haters that they were proven correct. That the Boks lose.
For all of us whinging aqbout the ref, take a look back at the pool stages and other world cups. Every world cup involves luck and we were lucky to beat the Welsh at this one. There will be other teams that get lucky – it wont always be us so we need to deal with it.
The Aussies had to make 147 tackles today, we made 50. That is an unbelievable effort from them and despite the fact they were disjointed and overawed they still, somehow held us out. Yes, the ref was hopeless. We hate him, they hate him – he is ****. He was **** for both teams tonight and he will be **** again because he is just ****. Kiwis will do everything they can to ensure they don’t lose this cup. Brycie is one of their trump cards.
9 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-921: or the sharks
bok front row comming back to the sharks plus alberts 2 wings and LAMBIE
then SMit and BIssy
bassop
9 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-922: Lol never have I agreed so much with Trans and Skop!
9 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
I can’t see any of Erasmus, Coetsee and Meyer adding the necessary arrows to our quiver.
9 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
Grant Fox has just said that Nigel Owens needs to have a good look at what happening at the breakdown…
I agree, but why didnt Bryce?
9 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-917:
No, it was clearly a forward pass on the replay. It was the only way that Lambie could have got past his cover.
9 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
@Nik Nak(Nik Nak)-925:
Oh please catch a life! We are all SAFFA’s and want our team to win. We lost and we have been predicting it for some time now. We have not done much succession planning and we lost because the better team won. Your point exactly. When Bissie came on there was a difference today. When Hougie came on there was a difference. When Alberts came on there was a difference. But looking for sympothy here is quite childish. Go back to your toys.
9 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-880: spot on with the assesment there. Generally our boys can be proud – they played brilliantly today – just the attack not sharp enough and some calls went against us. Otherwise considering we lost Brussouw so early on we did extremely well and nullified that Ozzie backline completely. Time for some changes. Looking ahead we can look to a very good Bok team in future:
1 Gurtrho, Beast, Greyling
2 Bismark (finally), Chilliboy, maybe Brits or Strauss or Deon Fourie, Maku
3 Jannie, Coenie, perhaps Euegen van Staden
4 Elstadt, Flip vd Merwe, Juandre Kruger
5 Becker, Mostert
6 Brussouw, F Louw and for the future guys like Carr and Kholisi, Minnie
7 Alberts, Johnson, Raubenheimer, Jean Deysel, Whiteley
8 Spies will still be there, Vermeulen, Koster, Josh Strauss
9 Houghaard, Duvenhage, possibly Sarel, Bondesio, Vermaak
10 Morne Steyn, Lambie, Jantjes, Ebersohn
11 Aplon, Mvovo, Nokwe, perhaps Basson if he imrpoves
12 Juan de Jongh, Frans Steyn, Stephan Dippenaar
13 Jacques Fourie, Johann Sadie, Robert Ebersohn, Stefan Watermeyer
14 JP Pietersen, JJ Engelbrecht, Sithole, Mapoe
15 Taute, Riaan Viljoen
9 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-927:
Yeah I didn’t want to say that though…
Changes the Vodacom Cup into the Currie Cup now…
9 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-917: Lambie had an excellent game.. they all played with immense heart and courage and did everything that was asked.. in the end it was some selection calls that actually made the difference plus the forwards in back line – if that is Rassie’s manual of coaching it don’t work.. that why we don’t score tries any more.. Burger, Matfield, Roussow as first or second receiver in back line is the wrong way to play this game today…
It is the overall lack of penetration that we could have gotten with players like Hougaard, Sarel Pretorius, Aplon, De Jongh etc which was lacking overall and this is why in the end our old legs were simply not up to it at the final analysis.. though they put in everything.. at this level its simply not enough..
Wrong calls and selections from a long way back is the difference between a successful WC campaign and a losing one…
9 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-922:
Bob Skinstad said the same thing at half time, that the Boks must accept what Bryce was allowing for the Aussies and do the same.
9 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
I sense a chokiness in the ABs play
Just calling what I see
They battle with the likes of France/Argentina oh yes and the Boks of course
9 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-924: no it wouldnt – the best team deserves to win and theyre arent the best by miles now stop being a d00s
9 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-937: you are setting yourself up for disappointment. The ABs will beat Argentina.
9 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
Corrie Jane is suffering from a hangover. He has been a naughty boy with Israel Dagg…
9 Oct 2011, 10:24 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-939:
LOL – well said… The gates will open next half.
9 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
Gutted!
Well done Oz – your guts won that game for you.
Bad luck Boks… you can come home proudly. Time for the old ballies to retire and let the next generation take over.
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
They will always wonder what could have been.
Selections and injuries – thats the key – always was.
You dont just want the ball, you want fast fall, for that u need go-forward.
Only 2 SA players offer that, neither started.
Huge grit from the Australians. Its all over now.
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
We wait and see how many games Bryce gets after this performance, we are going home , so should he!
9 Oct 2011, 10:27 am
To all proper Aussies (What I mean by that is ones actually born in Australia not the ones who are all of a sudden are Ozzie supporters – yes i am refering to the dinosaurs like ET)
Well Done
9 Oct 2011, 10:28 am
Does this equal our worst World Cup performance?
9 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
The way things are going at the moment is more and more: it does not matter if it’s fair
If you’ve won a game, you’ve won it – the result is official; now we all understand that, but it’s against the spirit of the game
Bryce Lawrence’s responsibility is to officate in accordance with the laws
It would have been beautiful to see a AB vs Boks final have a tough match; even if the ABs win fair and square I would have been among the first to congratulate them
The immense desire and initiatives to prevent that is what detracts from what should be the rugby world’s premier event
I still maintain that the Wallabies could not have beaten the Boks without Bryce today, that’s for sure
I can see they’re doing a good job marketing NZ to the rest of the world, but it’s the desire to manipulate that requires urgent attention
No one can tell me that Bryce on merit deserves to be in charge of that match today
@heboric(heboric)-945:
We have a few wannabe All Black supporters as well mate…
wow some really disturbing views here today. obviously a lot of hurt and anger.
boks played very well. wallas defended better. lawrence reffed a cdertain way and it did not favour dominant team.
so far no pool topper has won their QF.
go the ABs.
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-944:
for god sake man you had 74% of the possession and you still couldn’t win, your backs are s hite ask Cab he’ll tell you,
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
I thought Lawrence was kak.
But we can’t keep blaming the refs. We have to learn to adapt to their rulings.
With the territory and possession we had, we should’ve won.
The Ozzie’s remorseless and big-balled defence is the reason we lost, not the ref (even though he is a tosspot of epic proportions!)
9 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-939:
Will always be happy if they win it fair and square
If they cheat, then I will raise concerns
9 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
but really al those injuries to Juan Smith, Bakkies, Becker, Brussouw, Frans Steyn really killed us too.
9 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
The Highway is for Gamblers
Better use your sense
take what you have gathered from coincidence
The sky too is falling under you
And its all over now
Baby Blue
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-947: Yo are correct – he should have been removed from reffing after his Super 15 performances and after his shocking displays in the last 2 Aussie games.
He is indeed rubbish but he was rubbish for both teams. Did you see what he let the Irish get away with a couple of weeks ago? Aussies may be more used to him seeing he got 3 of their WC games.
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
yep it certainly is, maybe old bob is a genius, goddamnit that harmonica is horrendous tho.
9 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
all your seasick sailors they are going home
all your reindeer armies they are going home
strike another match
go start anew
Cause ITS ALL OVER NOW
Baby Blue
9 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-957: While i hope you win, I fell you will be signing that too yourself next weekend.
9 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
you gotta open up your ears like you gotta open up your mind then you realize even that old harmonica got sweet wisps of beautiful melody bringing you home…
9 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-944:
He was terrible, look at all the penalties NZ are getting and Aus did exactly what Arg are doing, slowing down the ball.
9 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
@jeest(jeest)-958: who you talking to
I lost today
but I’m singing nevertheless still
Am out gonna watch the AB’s in their soft quest for a showdown that don’t count because the real contenders are now gone..
9 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-961: Woops – wrong nationality.
Apologies
9 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-935:
I reckon the game plan was to attack Coopers channel with Schalk, in the same way everyone has attacked Mornes. The Wobblies cover defence was just too good though. When it didn’t succeed we should have moved the ball wide a lot faster.
9 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
Bill Reyts. You a bit touchy. You relieved the Boks lost. Cos it proves you been right all along. Lol. You come accros as a w a n k e r of note.
9 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
@Bill Reyts. Not looking for sympAthy with an A, you chop.
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-920:
Fair enough but it was inevitable that you would run out of luck. The Boks don’t deserve to be WC champs. As I said months ago, if you gamble you will run out of luck and it’s happened.
The Wallabies could have thrashed the Boks today if they played a fast and adventurous game but they played it safe and out gutsed the Boks by defending like Trojans.
We played you guys at your own game and won – very satisfying.
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
The first time I see the magnifying shot in the world cup to see if McCaw scored
Or has it been used?
9 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
how **** is this all black game compared to the last game. no woder the AB fans so happy!
9 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
Congrats to the Wallabies and especially Robbie Deans on the win.
Unlucky for South Africa
9 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@chch(chch)-969: thanks mate – the Cup is all yours now – dont mess it up again!
Best of luck to the All Blacks – do us a favour and maul the wobblies next week – they didnt deserve to win that one.
9 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-970:
Cheers Slumtown
9 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
Just on the ref, how can we have 70% ball possession in a game and convince ourselves the ref had the major role to play in engineering our loss? Truth is, in our last 4 games before the tournie, we never looked like we can score creative tries against quality opposition. The game plan has always been to get the penalties (that morne will slot )and defend like hell. Its a shame really. With almost all the possession, we still cry for penalties because we are not creative enough to score tries with all that ball possession. And then the Saffas moan as if we never got away with murder on the field as well. Hopefully we get a more creative coach, as I am g@tvol of this kick and chase.
9 Oct 2011, 11:13 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-900:
everyone assumes that all the players are retiring, not so.
next time, and I’ll say logically, we’ll probably see…
1guthro
2bismark
3jannie
4bekker
5someoke(bakkies?flip,Juandre or mostert?)
6brussow
7burger
8spies
9 someoke (maybe ruan will get his game back? maybe vermaark?)
10morne
11.hougaard
12 .frans steyn
13.jaque
14. JPP
15.Lambie
the new player will be the ones that take the squad up to 30 and start stating a case for a starting spot.
9 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-973: To progress we need a better fly half than M Steyn.
9 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
Check this put for perspective http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/rugby-world-cup/8816349/Rugby-World-Cup-2011-Bryce-Lawrence-reduced-breakdown-to-a-farce-in-Australias-win-over-South-Africa.html
9 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@ brigadier 973 : good point, there is a good core team there.
My point was that with smit, matfield finished, you need a new leadership group and to decide on a new guy to lead your backline. Morne is a great kicking 10, but I assume a new coach will look at lambie at 10 as he has a much better attacking game.
I doubt burger will make it to the next world cup, the way he plays, so physical, his body surely won’t hold up.
Also aren’t your props getting on to 30? The worry is that those guys will do a hayman on you.
9 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
We hardly kicked today to avoid having them running back at us only to play into Bryces hands and Oz. The boys did us proud. By the way Pocock came in from the side to the tackle of Burger that ledto the try as well.
Also won’t frans and Ruan head back to Europe?
I DON’T WANNA TALK ABOUT IT
I DON’T WANNA HEAR ABOUT IT
I DON’T WANNA BLOG ABOUT IT
WILL ENJOY REST OF CUP-
SEE YOU NEXT SEASON
9 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-975:
See there it is…
It’s there for all to see
I may have admired NZ rugby 5 years ago, but they have become the laughing stock
And they are going about things in such a blatant way
I bet Richie’s smile at the end of today’s game was 60% because Boks are out as orchestrated by Paddy O’Brien and Bryce Lawrence
No wonder they wouldn’t let Murray Mexted commentate anymore; he would have identified the gross and blatant biassed ref
Bryce is a disgrace and has brought the game into disrepute
9 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
I stop posting after 15 minutes into the game, the writing was on the wall.
My take on the game.
no 1….. the ref…….. you cant f*rt against thunder.
no 2…..my man of the match ourside Guthro
no 3 Darnie and Victor WTF WTF WTF WTF pulling a player down in the lineout in a position where they can kick a penalty. we were just in the lead and these 2 brilliant tossers lost us our lead.
no ….4 on the Assies well done, you beat us played the ref very well, any team will take what the ref gives you with much joy if it is in your favor
mmmmmmm seems i am still a bit angry, cant believe we were beaten by such a stupid penalty and that is one we cant blame on the ref.
9 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
oh another thing, Snorrie we cant actually blame him for our loss in this game either, and those of you thinking we going to be getting a new coach, …….dont think so.
9 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-980:
your a sad **** aren’t you, you’ve dished out plenty now take your medicine
9 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-980:
Why is NZ rugby a laughing stock?
9 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
It was written in the stars and I tried my best to give all my foresight since about May 2008.
Stop ‘tjanking’ and pray for your salvation.
9 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
John Eales on aussie TV: “When Bismark came on he was phenomenal, the game could of been much different in the opening stages if he had started, lucky for us he didn’t”.
9 Oct 2011, 11:43 am
@chch(chch)-984:
Simply and only because he is the loser again.
9 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
I saw refereeing decisions go both ways.
75th min Bok front rows stands up to prevent the scrum going past 90 degrees. The referee had penalised the Wallabies for doing that in the first half but the Boks instead get a 2nd put in.
76th min. High tackle by Wallaby forward and the guy holds his arm across the Bok guys wind pipe until he drops the ball. How obvious does it need to be.
Just bad refereeing …. not biased
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-981:
The penalty was fair, it was stupid for Danie to do that.
The bigger reality is that with Bryce not officiating the game fairly and properly you reduce the game into a gamble and players then become hesitant as the ref invariably spots something that puts you on the backfoot.
I know we did not take our chances, but if we got what was rightfully ours the game would have been different.
I have never seen us dominating Aus like that. To be fair, we humiliated them today.
That is the take-away from the RWC2011: we need to learn to be better finishers; that way you make it very difficult for refs like Lawrence to have an influence
Even Craig Joubert or Jonathan Kaplan (Mark Lawrence even) would have been better and more objective
I have lost all respect for Kiwi rugby tradition, their history, artifacts, values
3 and 4 years ago I called them ‘tought leaders of rugby union’ – not anymore
Guys like Bryce have become what NZ rugby stand for …
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-982:
we are getting a new coach- Snorrie has resigned- he will never coach at anywhere near the top level again. nobody would want him.
he will probably become a lay – preacher or something similar now.
9 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@chch(chch)-984:
See 989
9 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@Steel Shark(Steel Shark)-986: That’s just BS! We had Aus on the ropes long before Bissie came on. Our problem was failure to land the knock-out punch. Plain and simple. It wasn’t tactics or selections or even substitutions. We had the game for the taking but failed to take our chances.
9 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-990:
How about my 4 for 4 in these quarter final games?
Who can whup me?
9 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-989:
The only fact is we lost- to say we humiliated them is a bit far-fetched to put it mildly.
9 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
Well done Aussies. took the honours on thse day………….
One man, in my humble opinion, was awsome,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,schaulk. Faaaaak boet, your work load and ability to get around the park was 10/10. Well done!!
9 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
And the sad thing about it is, Pocock is going to get all the plaudits. Fck! I can’t remember how many times I yelled out “RUCK! RUCK! RUCK!” Think I scared my kids…
9 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
@ET.(ET.)-993:
At least you did not open the gap of 2-0 that you build up yesterday. i must learn to start better, lol.
9 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
Here’s what would be desirable from my point of view
Robbie Deans’ team beat ABs next week; Aussies advance to the final only to be outplayed by the French
Wouldn’t that be sweet victory for Deans who was overlooked in favour of Ted?
Dishonesty always profits in the short term, but in the end you are exposed
ABs were tested for the first time today for 60 min and they looked incredibly vulnerable, you can understand why a team like that do not want to meet the Boks after consecutive wins
Physically they simply wont stand up; you could see we were way too strong for the Wallabies today
9 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-997:
OK it is good then that you stuck to your mind and not your heart.
Both games today were really too tight to enjoy.
Teams far too over-cautious.
9 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-997:
You do realise that the samme teams were in the semis in 1987 and that final was N.Z vs. France and NZ won in NZ.
So it really is possibly history repeating itself as often happens.
9 Oct 2011, 11:56 am
@ET.(ET.)-999:
Who do you reckon will be in the final and who do you think will take it?
I am sure it will be the winner of the NZ/Aus game but I am not sure who that will be. Probably NZ by a whisker.
9 Oct 2011, 11:58 am
Much as I wanted the Boks to win today, I guess in the bigger scheme of things it is prolly better for us
When successful, your flaws fade, whereas defeat make you reflect and look for improvements
Our backline play – as some have pointed out – need to be overhauled completely, we need to be more creative and better finishers
Patrick Lambie can be the axis around which these efforts should revolve; as much I respect and admire Morne’s consistency with the boot, he lacks creativity
We also then need to identify a new 12 who can take us to the next level; if that can be achieved we will become more lethal in attack
It did not go our way, I have embraced that but it will not prevent me from raising the concerns
9 Oct 2011, 12:00 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-1001:
Part of the answer is in post 1000 and the ABs are my winners( since 2008 already.
The Aussies played their final today and have peaked too often this season already(S15, TNs).
9 Oct 2011, 12:03 pm
The youngest player was the Bok star and motivator today and then too Burger, much as I dislike writing it.
9 Oct 2011, 12:09 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-975:
Mark Reason has written that sort of shock jock stuff many times. he gets paid to do it.
Can you come up with an expert opinion?
9 Oct 2011, 12:09 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-990: Hi Rob, ja saw on other thread, i feel bad for him, i really dont think he was at fault today. I would make a terrible business person, wouldnt be able to fire a person, would much rather he left with a bit of dignity by rather going out in the semis than now in the quarters.
9 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
@Sheriff(Lawman)-1002:
Actually, I thought Morne had quite a good game today, as did most of the Springboks.
Just sometimes, things don’t go as they should.
9 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-991:
That was nothing about New Zealand rugby … it is all about referees
I take it that you see that your original statement was bollocks and have changed subject
9 Oct 2011, 12:16 pm
A copy and paste from the Telegraph, …….. interesting
Rugby World Cup 2011: Bryce Lawrence reduced breakdown to a farce in Australia’s win over South Africa
Paddy O’Brien, the IRB’s head of refs, told me before the start of the tournament that no World Cup had ever been decided by the man in the middle.
The great escape: Australia celebrate their narrow win over South Africa Photo: AFP
By Mark Reason, in Wellington
9:07AM BST 09 Oct 2011
29 Comments
It is a highly debatable claim and certainly the refs went out of their way to try to get Australia over the line in 2003. But you would not rule out this Rugby World Cup being decided on a shonky decision.
Mr Bryce Lawrence, the son of an official, is rated rather highly by those in charge of the whistle blowers. But a lot of players and fans have absolutely no idea why. He made a complete hash of today’s game between Australia and South Africa and the Springboks will be furious.
They identified the breakdown as a crucial area of the match beforehand, but they did expect there to be some sort of reffing.
The South Africans thought that the tackler would have to release the ball carrier. They thought that the offside line would be respected. They thought that men would have to stay on the feet. Instead it was a complete shambles.
The trouble is that Lawrence has form at this sort of thing. He was given the final of Super Rugby for apparently being the best ref in the tournament.
Related Articles
South Africa 9 Australia 11 09 Oct 2011
SA v Australia: as it happened 09 Oct 2011
Wallabies waltzing on 09 Oct 2011
Some of us thought that the South African refs were in an altogether different class. They would also have had the advantage of being neutral as the final was between an Aussie and a Kiwi side. But no, Mr Lawrence got the nod.
And despite all the fantastic players on the pitch, the match became a farce because Lawrence had absolutely no control over the breakdown. Players were diving in on all sides. It became a free-for-all.
What could have been a great game of rugby turned into a mess, because Lawrence did not rule the breakdown.
So should we be surprised at today’s snore. More often than not dull matches are greatly contributed to by the refs inability to be accurate at the contact area. Yes, South Africa are nothing like as efficient there without the great Juan Smith to clean out.
But unless the IRB’s refs get a grip we are going to have some really dull semi-finals. Hopefully the guys who can really get a grip at the breakdown – the South Africans and the Northern Hemisphere refs – will be put in charge of the final four matches.
If we let a Kiwi near the games, then it will be more mayhem. South Africa will feel cheated. And they have every right to complain.
The Aussies have already made one New Zealand ref – Steve Walsh – one of their own. Lawrence could well be next in line for honorary citizenship
9 Oct 2011, 12:17 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-854:
I thought Habana was quite good.
The 8, 9, 10 combination have been our weak link for 18 months now.
I hope the next coach kick Spies to the curb. Thankfully FdP will take himself out of contention.
Morne is a bit of a conundrum. He is such a prolific kicker at poles but his inability to get his back line going is a huge back draw.
Time to throw in Jantjies/Lambie/Ebersohn in at the deep end and bring him through like the Wallabies did with Cooper.
9 Oct 2011, 12:22 pm
@cane(cane)-1007:
No the Boks were clearly the better side on the park.
I felt inspired by the way they built progressively and I guess it was the small things that just did not go our way. I would have loved it if Bryce did not influence the outcome.
I have not seen the Boks dominate the Aussies, except in that 53-8 game of course, in the recent past. Boks had their game where it could have gone either way – against Wales.
So, it is not ideal to lose like that.
I was simply hoping for a fair contest so you can see the best teams contest the final.
9 Oct 2011, 12:23 pm
Funny thing was South Africa played all the rugby, looked the better side but lost. Australia did what SA have done to other teams for years, they strangled them and won the kicking Duel.
Hard luck boys, new team, new coach cant be a bad thing.
Surely youd rather we win it a 2nd time than Ozie win it a third???
9 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
here is how some neutrals saw this shambles of an officiating cockup
In many ways South Africa only had themselves to blame, turning the ball over on 12 occasions, but referee Bryce Lawrence was also unsually lenient in his adjudicating of what consitutes “rolling away” from the tackle and handling in the ruck, with Wallabies flanker David Pocock benefitting hugely.
Pocock ultimately won the man of the match award, and he was superb, but on another night he might have been whistled into oblivion.
08.09: David Pocock was named as the official man of the match. He also topped the tackling stats with 26.
08.05: Wallaby skipper James Horwill put in a superb shift today. And doesn’t he know it:
It was a huge effort from the boys, they really put us under pressure. We knew we had to stick in and defence wins big games.
08.03: Have we seen the last of John Smit? Well, no, because he’s joining Saracens. But maybe it’s the last time we’ve seen him in a Boks shirt. Here’s what he had to say after that truly memorable match:
It’s a sad way to end. It was a ding dong battle between two good teams. We did enough to win this game, we just weren’t accurate enough.
07.53: Former South African captain Francois Pienaar has paid tribute to the Australian defence but said he did not believe that Lawrence should have awarded that crucial penalty to the Wallabies:
Defence will win you World Cups. Australia are used to doing all the running but today they did all the tackling. The penalty to me was a nothing penalty. It was a very dubious penalty. There’s nothing there. Victor Matfield leaves him alone. That is a very crucial decision.
07.48: I’m no clairvoyant but I think that Bryce Lawrence may get a bit of a battering after this game. Oh, there it is. Here’s former England lock Ben Kay:
South Africa need a substitution. Lawrence for Poite. How did Poite not get this game. High tackle missed turnover the other way!
9 Oct 2011, 12:26 pm
my next bok backline
09 Hougaard
10 Goosen
11 JPP
12 Steyn
13 JF
14 Habana/ Mvovo
15 Lambie
reserves: Vermaak, Mvovo/Habana, JDJ
9 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
I reckon on today’s performances Aussie are far more hardened and capable to take this thing away from NZ next weekend.. NZ have met nobody except a half mast France in the pools..
So if it isn’t another case of ref’s favorites going through next week then Aussie meets Wales in the final and Wales take Bill
9 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
@NZMaori(NZMaori)-1012:
thanks but yes most south africans would rather Kiwi wins it then the Aussies
9 Oct 2011, 12:29 pm
Bryce Lawrence was brilliant today. A real stalwart of the game. He was by far Australia’s best player. I am still in shock…cannot believe what happened here…feel like I’m walking away from a Heavyweight boxing fight…you know the feeling…watchin one guy pulverise the other, just doesn’t knock him out and the decision goes the way of the favourite…the money guy…in this case the Wallabies. How can the players be proud of that “win”? I feel dirty…like I’ve been molested….so having said that what a crappy way to see the end of the career of so many great SA Champions!!!! All because of a referee, petrified that by allowing the Bokke to win, he would see the elimination of his country in the ensuing Semi.
Tonight the IRB made Rugby Union ‘The Game played in Las Vegas’.
9 Oct 2011, 12:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-1015: i would not be surprised
Carter is showing to be a huge loss to them
Today they got lucky against the Argies,
9 Oct 2011, 12:37 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-1014:
Steenkamp
Bismark
Oosthuizen
Bekker
Brussow
Coetsee
Louw / Burger
Hougaard
Goosen
JPP
Steyn
Fourie
Aplon
Lambie
Beast, Chili, Elstadt, Deysel, Duvenhage, De Jongh, Van Aswegen / Jantjies
9 Oct 2011, 12:43 pm
Am i the only person angry with Darnie and Victor for that line out penalty where we lost the lead ???? i mean that stupidity cost us the game in the end.
9 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-1020:
Bryce would have manufactured another penalty within striking distance, so it’s immaterial
9 Oct 2011, 12:50 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-1021: why are you being so nasty to the kiwis today ?
9 Oct 2011, 12:51 pm
Thought you guys deserved to win..but blaming Bryce is a joke….you had your luck against Wales so evens out
AB’s will surely have some advantage in only having made 41 tackles to Australia’s 120..they will be more tired..I hope.
And we have found a replacement for Carter in Cruden…Slade was bad:(
If Cruden doesn’t start next week Henry should be shot.
9 Oct 2011, 12:52 pm
Sheriff…you’re either in denial…or practicing your stand up routine…
9 Oct 2011, 12:54 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-1022: Cause SA lost…must be gut-wrenching..having choked instead of us Kiwis.
9 Oct 2011, 12:54 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-1011:
“So, it is not ideal to lose like that.
I was simply hoping for a fair contest so you can see the best teams contest the final.”
As we were in 2007, but that didnt happen so carry on Sheriff
9 Oct 2011, 12:55 pm
@Boertjie(Boertjie)-1017: Your in denial your team choked..get over it:)
9 Oct 2011, 12:56 pm
playing the ref is the oldest trick in the book, use it or lose it
@gregars(gregars)-1024:
The Sheriff is about to hand the badge in.
Hes not fit to be the lawman no more.
@toby(toby)-1023: Enlighten us. Luck against Wales? Surely you’re not talking about a “missed” penalty kick, 15 minutes into that game?
9 Oct 2011, 12:57 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-1020:
I’m with you, tree – problem in SA Rugby has always been too much brawn and not enough brains.
I also felt PDiv messed up by not bringing Aplon on for the last 10 minutes. FDP was sooooo slow. Hougard to 9, Aplon to wing – with all the possession and territory, we were crying out for a gamebreaker.
Not to be.
9 Oct 2011, 13:01 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-1014: From your lips to whoever is the new coach’s ears. Looking forward to new beginnings, and with all that young talent it could be very exciting.
That said, no shame in today’s loss. Proud of the team.
9 Oct 2011, 13:01 pm
@vindicated(vindicated)-1028: That’s just it. Old Bryce wasn’t his usual self.
9 Oct 2011, 13:02 pm
@toby(toby)-1025: we have our poepal South Africans and kiwis have there poepals of which you seem to be one, we did not choke we have won the TWICE.
Fact is we had a ref that is something i occasionally step on and go oh sh*t and that is being literal and a Assie side that played very well today. that is not classified as a choke, our cricket team now thats a nother story.
9 Oct 2011, 13:02 pm
@Boertjie(Boertjie)-1017: Shame on you! regardless of interpretation, however obvious, and you know how subjective this game can be, why don’t you put out your hand, say well done and move on – the result is the result, and players need to interpret the ref, so let’s not blame. My wife and I are travelling to Eden Park on Friday from Singapore but unluckily will not see the Boks play. Sadly, may the winning team win!!!
9 Oct 2011, 13:05 pm
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-1031: Jeez am glad, thought i was the only one and just couldnt understand it why no one else thought they cost us those points that beat us in the end.
9 Oct 2011, 13:07 pm
The commercial aspects of a NZ v Aus semi were too appealing for the RWC committee! Of course next week the Wallabies will play the breakdown as they did today and get blown off the park. Australia were allowed to camp in offsides positions at the breakdown and the breakdowns themselves were simply not policed. There is a lot of criticism of the Bok backline but in fairness when your opponents are a yard offsides and the ref is oblivious to it nobody would look flash.
Next week Pocock will get a yellow for repeated infringements and he will quite rightly ask “what’s changed since last week”
What will have changed is the IRB want their dream all black final.
9 Oct 2011, 13:08 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-1013:
The penalty was a clear penalty. No credibility in an article calling it dubious.
9 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-1037:
Last week there was a huge amount of abuse on here from South Africans against Samoans for saying the same thing.
9 Oct 2011, 13:16 pm
@chch(chch)-1038: Clear as mud, yeah right your ref is a disgrace
9 Oct 2011, 13:17 pm
The best thing that can happen to rugby is that the ABs win this thing so we ab supporters can get over it. I also think that generally there are too.many stars and too many opinions flying around gods gift to rug
by which is the ABS Aussies and Boks. I was so thrilled when the other gods gifts to rugby got put out. England. Too much talk from all of these teams and their supporters.
9 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-1034: Sorry that was too hard to understand Treehugger..are you drunk from the loss?
9 Oct 2011, 13:22 pm
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-1037: @JEZ(DEE DAH)-1037: Don’t be an idiot. do you think your conspiracy theory is so much more great than those paid a truck load of money to think exactly what you just said. Alal France’s media machine 0 who would have predicted that!
I hope you are right. but it just about interpretation at the ruck which is the most subjective! Nothing fantastic there. Look at the history!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 13:23 pm
Two iffy games in a row by Cooper. what are the odds that he will be at his brilliant bestt and beat the AB’s all on his own self next weekend?
9 Oct 2011, 13:24 pm
Wales just pitched up and did their talking on the field.
South Africans are so dependent on having the unfair advantage… a moment without it is seen as unfair for the spoilt brats. The ref clearly blew in their favour at the breakdowns by blatantly ignoring the boks holding on. The Wallabies had to holdback to prevent soft penalties hence the dominance of the Boks.
Nazi laden Boks played the game of their lives and still lost… fking cool!!!!
A good start to my week
@JL1(JL1)-1040: You lose you whinge..then blame ref…truth is Bok’s had most of possession but failed to add more points…blaming ref is a joke..he didn’t do both teams any favors….Morne didn’t save you this time…
9 Oct 2011, 13:26 pm
Hey CHCH
Agreed quite right point taken. Not carrying on about it. We got beat. It sucks.
I do stand by my statement though that next week the interpretation will be different and Pocock will be the villain of the piece. All we want is consistency and we dont seem to be getting it. Bryce Lawrence ruined the super 15 final too he is a poor ref. If we had Alain Rolland today the result would have been different. Unfortunately in todays rugby asking who the ref is, is as relevant as asking about weather and pitch conditions. Individual refs have their idiosynchrasies and when I heard Bryce was the ref I expected a dour game.
9 Oct 2011, 13:28 pm
Oh yes now you know what it feels like to choke, I mean get ripped off by a ref. Think forward pass against France
9 Oct 2011, 13:30 pm
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-1048: shut-up and stop complaining be a good sport. save it for your mother’s teet
9 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-1026:
I would be very careful if I’m an AB fan right now
Your ref eliminated the Boks but Robbie Deans could be the man to break Kiwi hearts as early as next weekend.
So be very careful
He would have noticed the hesitant play by the ABs and will assure his players that the ABs are feeling the pressure; it was only when the game was well and truly beyond doubt that the rhythm came back
Daniel Ka’ra (thats how some pronounced Carter) absence makes them incredibly vulnerable; they chuck the ball to Nonu all the time but we see now how Nonu’s success has largely been Carter’s brilliance
Things have turned for Deans – lets not forget the efforts of Owen Mackenzie with the Reds – and more often than not his team is coming off the right side when the contests are close
Ted also seems very unsure of his combinations, why put Sonny Bill on 11?
2 more hurdles, but you have to negotiate both successfully; it is not a foregone conclusion that 1987 will be repeated
9 Oct 2011, 13:34 pm
IT IS ALL OVER SAFFAS!
WHINING WILL NOT HELP.
80% possession/territory and the Boks could not manifest enough points.
Pure and simple.
80% territory and possession and you are blaming the NEUTRAL Ref.
You are indeed sick mothers.
9 Oct 2011, 13:36 pm
@JL1(JL1)-1040:
I don’t have a referee. What the hell are you talking about?
9 Oct 2011, 13:39 pm
@cane(cane)-1052: I am a saffa.. but I am happily gloating.:lol:
9 Oct 2011, 13:39 pm
@cane(cane)-1052: Not as simple as just 80% possession and territory tho. The breakdown is crucial for continuity and this is where Bryce got it wrong. But I agree with the rest. It is indeed over and no amount of whining is going to change that.
9 Oct 2011, 13:41 pm
Cane ? It is not a keyboard you’re using, but an anal sphincter, it seems. As only $hit is coming out if it
9 Oct 2011, 13:45 pm
@toby(toby)-1042: Sorry to disappoint doll, i am not devastated, just resigned, it is only after all just a game that is watched for its entertainment.
Wont be any councilling and such needed in SA, we will b*tch and moan for a while and then start picking on our new coach who ever that might be, or even better we have our beloved Curry Cup so will revert to fighting with each other, AINT LIFE GREAT.
9 Oct 2011, 13:46 pm
Bokgat1
Keep my mother out of it.
I am not whinging the aussies won. Good luck going further.
The simple point I am making which has obviously gone right over your head is that the biggest problem we have in rugby is referee’s and teams don’t seem to include it in their preparation.
Today Pocock was a hero next week he could just as easily be the villain and he will have done nothing different. My conspiracy theory above was meant as a tongue in cheek prediction of the reaction next week when Pocock gets blown off the park for doing nothing different. Again subtlety beyond you.
Refs have an affect and our coaching staff and team vets should take that into account obviously they didnt. They paid for that today. When I bet on rugby I check team sheet, ref, venue and weather, in that order. Now please take your mind off mommys and teats.
9 Oct 2011, 13:46 pm
Bokgat1
Keep my mother out of it.
I am not whinging the aussies won. Good luck going further.
The simple point I am making which has obviously gone right over your head is that the biggest problem we have in rugby is referee’s and teams don’t seem to include it in their preparation.
Today Pocock was a hero next week he could just as easily be the villain and he will have done nothing different. My conspiracy theory above was meant as a tongue in cheek prediction of the reaction next week when Pocock gets blown off the park for doing nothing different. Again subtlety beyond you.
Refs have an affect and our coaching staff and team vets should take that into account obviously they didnt. They paid for that today.
9 Oct 2011, 13:47 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-1051:
So AB fans should be kereful (that is how some people pronounce it) because a referee that we have (I know I don’t have one but perhaps other Kiwi’s here can check in their garage) eliminated the Boks and Robbie Deans watched the game and has seen how we play.
Thanks for that useful information Sheriff. I am sure that any Kiwi’s here will provide feedback if they posses a referee