Brave Wallabies shut out Boks
9 Oct 2011
JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies hang on for what could be the unlikeliest yet most significant victory at this 2011 World Cup.
Did the better team win? It’s a question the Springboks will be asking themselves from now and until the next global tournament in 2015.
South Africa controlled the game for large periods but were repeatedly undone by the Wallabies’ heroic defence. David Pocock was talked about as a danger man in the build up, and after a breakdown performance highlighted by some momentum stalling and often try-saving turnovers, he was undoubtedly the game’s MVP.
Much will be said about referee Bryce Lawrence’s performance with the whistle. Lawrence adopted an ‘anything goes’ policy at the rucks, but it was the Wallabies that adapted to the official’s style early on. The Wallabies dominated the collisions in the first half, and with Heinrich Brussow crying off with a rib injury, the Boks battled to combat Pocock’s inhibiting presence at the breakdown.
The Boks enjoyed as much as 84% territory and 55% possession in the first half, and yet only garnered a three point return. Their poor ball security at ruck time led to turnovers, as did their tendency to spill the ball in contact.
They upped their game in both respects in the second stanza, and it was all the Aussie could do to hang on. The subdue and conquer style so prominent and effective in 2009 once again held sway, and the Wallabies forwards struggled to resist the Boks when they cleaned out would-be ball poachers. They also battled to deal with the high ball, which was well chased by South Africa’s belligerent backs.
Quade Cooper had a shocker. After a dropping a high ball first up, he was often caught in possession and failed to provide the expected impact with the boot. A number of Wallabies grew increasingly susceptible as the game wore on, but the Boks just lacked that killer blow.
There’s no denying that the Boks had their chances. Jean de Villiers made a scything break in the second stanza and put Pat Lambie away for a try, only to be called back for a forward pass. Fourie du Preez thought he was in for a five-pointer when some good Bok defence dislodged the ball centimetres from the Aussie line. Unfortunately, the ball was again knocked free as Du Preez reached for the line.
Every Bok surge into Wallabies territory was succeeded by a desperate display of defence. The turnover followed, and the Aussies’ inability to clear their lines with any great distance ensured the game remained in the Wallabies’ half. The Boks’ lineout dominance also contributed to their territorial ascendancy, but in the end they will lament their inconsistent showing at the breakdown, as well as their poor finishing when it was on out wide.
After a frustrating period on attack, Morne Steyn finally put the Boks ahead 9-8 with a well-taken drop-goal. With 20 minutes to play, the momentum was with the Boks and if they continued to play in Wallabies territory and control possession, they would advance to the semi-finals.
But the introduction of Berrick Barnes had the desired effect for the Wallabies, and after a series of tactical kicking misfires by his team-mates, he delivered a rolling kick deep into the Boks’ 22. The Wallabies remained in the Boks’ half and eventually won a penalty, which James O’Connor held his nerve to convert.
It was a massive moment for the youngster, who had missed a relatively easy attempt in the first half. If he had missed, the chances were the Boks would regain possession, resume control and win the game. If he slotted it, it would set up a dramatic eight minutes where the Wallabies would need to continue to repel the rampant Bok forwards.
Through the Herculean efforts of Bismarck du Plessis and Schalk Burger, the Boks threw everything at the Aussies in those final minutes. They even managed to turn the Wallabies over, but unfortunately knocked it on just when they were moving back into the area of the field where Steyn would be able to kick for goal.
From there, the Wallabies closed out the game smartly. It will remain one of the great escapes for the Wallabies, but the Boks can hardly argue that they deserved to win this game. They didn’t take their opportunities, and on the day, the scoreboard will show that they were punished for that failure to convert dominance into points.

1,133 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 » Show All
9 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
@danuk(danuk)-889:
Yes, read my 894 post. I watch school boy rugby too and they are playing the same way as our senior side. Something seriously lacking there too. We don’t back the players skills and don’t show confidence in them.
9 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
boks were very naive at the breakdown today…it doesnt take a genius to realise that the referee was calling different breakdown rules & pocock was doing as he pleased… heightened awareness should’ve picked that up and someone – flo – shouldve been assigned to target him & clean him out ALL the time.
watching the all blacks now one can see that they definitely have a way of playing that facet of play that pushes the envelope, we don’t
9 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-894: It always was an issue for you guys – ability to adapt. But is it the most simple statement in rugby – defense win matches and this one will prove that for the ages (plus Pocock).
9 Oct 2011, 10:04 am
Steenkamp was f’ng HUGE my MOM if we would have won.. He put in EVERYTHING for entire 80 minutes.. he was the absolute go to man up front and never shirked a moment in defense or attack
Alberts and Bismark should have come on a little earlier and Louw had a big game better than Brussow would have had .. the Brussow loss wasn’t what killed us it was the slow ball from second phase attack which was partly due to a slow FdP and partly due to too much leniency towards Pococks border line ‘steals’
9 Oct 2011, 10:05 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-819:
It sucks to be going home!!
Make forward passes concede penalties and let in a soft try…well is that Bryces fault!
Today, what you saw with Australia is a young side that nearly got stunned in the headlights! in their nervousness they got sucked into the bok game plan. They got overawed by the occasion.
One game less anxiety!
Defence wins games.
PDV tried to bring the same game plan that england employed against the wallabies EOYT 2010 but he did not have the players to do it.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-499:
That’s a pretty hopeless statement!
To dominate possession and territory against the Aussies in such an important game and then lose is a choke of the worst kind.
You luck ran out.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-898:
Howzit buddy! I called that we would lose in the quarters about two years ago. I was chatting to you about it. Too many old legs and too few players of quality given the opportunity. Then the coach sets them up for failure by introducing a new squad without any senior players around them. They are scarred for life. Check out the Bull Boks who are playing Vodacom Cup right now. They are quite useless to say the least. We knew this was going to happen – now so many are up in arms…
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-888: Thought Spies did very little, so 6 is flattering, apart from that agree with ratings
Agree Schalk was huge, best loose forward from our side by far
9 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
Argies! Try
9 Oct 2011, 10:06 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-904: for once i agree with you lol
9 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
@BillMcConnell(BillMcConnell)-903:
Yes we have been winning many a match with our defense. Look back at us only having 30% possession and winning. We need to bring flair into the backs – we were predictable so you guys to read what we were doing. We needed a moment of brilliance to change that.
9 Oct 2011, 10:07 am
@danuk(danuk)-908: i gave him that for 2 lineout steals, he did well there, if that makes sense
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-883:
I rest my case!
9 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-902: very true.
9 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
To the Wallabies
You won, so I guess you have to accept the win, but it will be unfair not to point out that you were totally outplayed
It would have been lovely to see a neutral ref and you beat us with a bigger margin; that would have been better
But, for Robbie Deans’ sake – I’ll say – well done Robbie, I think as a coach you deserve the victory
Good luck next week against the cheaters
9 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
Heartbreaking game. Rough to lose with some questionable reffing, but great game from both teams. Ozzies played tactically at the breakdowns and defended superbly. Great game from our boys but maybe time for a few new faces and ideas…
9 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-904: one can then say the same for lambie who got cheated out of a try for a flat ball ,
boet most of that team played with huge heart , but yes FDup did cost us with slow play and also not always the righ options being taken
9 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
I am so tired of everyone saying “with the Boks you know what you are going to get.”
Direct
Physical
Inflexible
Incapable of adapting
Brawn over brain
Scrambling defence
Guts
We need to change this. Add more arrows to the quiver, more like.
I see it’s 6-7 to Arg; do I sense a choke here?
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-906: Nope you got lucky and you know it.. same way we got lucky against Wales you got lucky against us today.. That was a soft try we gave you on 11th minute which had ball gone to fly half and then to touch would never have happened.. Burger made the mistake of going to ground isolated in front of his post and ball spurted out your side.. That was the Only difference in entire game which we absolutely dominated you in EVERY phase of every play…
Bottom line you got lucky and you got the better part of the refs calls.. we didn’t and we are out… Wallabies are lucky to progress today and they know it.. that last penalty gift and our forward pass try plus the Cooper stealing ball out FdP’s hands on the try line proves how lucky you actually are.. and Horwill and Deans know it…
I feel for the Lions now…they were hoping to go all the way without the Boks coming back to the other teams. It could be a Province win this year.
9 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-902: eish again i am in agreement
we should have read the refs interpretations as i had said earlier , we needed to play a bit more smart
9 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-907: Ja. Trying not to think about it too much. Sunny day and all that
Can Argentina achieve the unthinkable/unimaginable?
Wow, that would be something?
ABs playing this game with the semis already in the back of their minds, but will they get there?
Let’s wait and see…
It must be tough for all the Bok bashers out there, all the Smit haters, that the Boks put up such an effort. That Smit was good enough. That the Boks coulda shoulda won. And relief for all the haters that they were proven correct. That the Boks lose.
For all of us whinging aqbout the ref, take a look back at the pool stages and other world cups. Every world cup involves luck and we were lucky to beat the Welsh at this one. There will be other teams that get lucky – it wont always be us so we need to deal with it.
The Aussies had to make 147 tackles today, we made 50. That is an unbelievable effort from them and despite the fact they were disjointed and overawed they still, somehow held us out. Yes, the ref was hopeless. We hate him, they hate him – he is ****. He was **** for both teams tonight and he will be **** again because he is just ****. Kiwis will do everything they can to ensure they don’t lose this cup. Brycie is one of their trump cards.
9 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-921: or the sharks
bok front row comming back to the sharks plus alberts 2 wings and LAMBIE
then SMit and BIssy
bassop
9 Oct 2011, 10:14 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-922: Lol never have I agreed so much with Trans and Skop!
9 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
I can’t see any of Erasmus, Coetsee and Meyer adding the necessary arrows to our quiver.
9 Oct 2011, 10:15 am
Grant Fox has just said that Nigel Owens needs to have a good look at what happening at the breakdown…
I agree, but why didnt Bryce?
9 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-917:
No, it was clearly a forward pass on the replay. It was the only way that Lambie could have got past his cover.
9 Oct 2011, 10:16 am
@Nik Nak(Nik Nak)-925:
Oh please catch a life! We are all SAFFA’s and want our team to win. We lost and we have been predicting it for some time now. We have not done much succession planning and we lost because the better team won. Your point exactly. When Bissie came on there was a difference today. When Hougie came on there was a difference. When Alberts came on there was a difference. But looking for sympothy here is quite childish. Go back to your toys.
9 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-880: spot on with the assesment there. Generally our boys can be proud – they played brilliantly today – just the attack not sharp enough and some calls went against us. Otherwise considering we lost Brussouw so early on we did extremely well and nullified that Ozzie backline completely. Time for some changes. Looking ahead we can look to a very good Bok team in future:
1 Gurtrho, Beast, Greyling
2 Bismark (finally), Chilliboy, maybe Brits or Strauss or Deon Fourie, Maku
3 Jannie, Coenie, perhaps Euegen van Staden
4 Elstadt, Flip vd Merwe, Juandre Kruger
5 Becker, Mostert
6 Brussouw, F Louw and for the future guys like Carr and Kholisi, Minnie
7 Alberts, Johnson, Raubenheimer, Jean Deysel, Whiteley
8 Spies will still be there, Vermeulen, Koster, Josh Strauss
9 Houghaard, Duvenhage, possibly Sarel, Bondesio, Vermaak
10 Morne Steyn, Lambie, Jantjes, Ebersohn
11 Aplon, Mvovo, Nokwe, perhaps Basson if he imrpoves
12 Juan de Jongh, Frans Steyn, Stephan Dippenaar
13 Jacques Fourie, Johann Sadie, Robert Ebersohn, Stefan Watermeyer
14 JP Pietersen, JJ Engelbrecht, Sithole, Mapoe
15 Taute, Riaan Viljoen
9 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-927:
Yeah I didn’t want to say that though…
Changes the Vodacom Cup into the Currie Cup now…
9 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-917: Lambie had an excellent game.. they all played with immense heart and courage and did everything that was asked.. in the end it was some selection calls that actually made the difference plus the forwards in back line – if that is Rassie’s manual of coaching it don’t work.. that why we don’t score tries any more.. Burger, Matfield, Roussow as first or second receiver in back line is the wrong way to play this game today…
It is the overall lack of penetration that we could have gotten with players like Hougaard, Sarel Pretorius, Aplon, De Jongh etc which was lacking overall and this is why in the end our old legs were simply not up to it at the final analysis.. though they put in everything.. at this level its simply not enough..
Wrong calls and selections from a long way back is the difference between a successful WC campaign and a losing one…
9 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-922:
Bob Skinstad said the same thing at half time, that the Boks must accept what Bryce was allowing for the Aussies and do the same.
9 Oct 2011, 10:20 am
I sense a chokiness in the ABs play
Just calling what I see
They battle with the likes of France/Argentina oh yes and the Boks of course
9 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-924: no it wouldnt – the best team deserves to win and theyre arent the best by miles now stop being a d00s
9 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-937: you are setting yourself up for disappointment. The ABs will beat Argentina.
9 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
Corrie Jane is suffering from a hangover. He has been a naughty boy with Israel Dagg…
9 Oct 2011, 10:24 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-939:
LOL – well said… The gates will open next half.
9 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
Gutted!
Well done Oz – your guts won that game for you.
Bad luck Boks… you can come home proudly. Time for the old ballies to retire and let the next generation take over.
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
They will always wonder what could have been.
Selections and injuries – thats the key – always was.
You dont just want the ball, you want fast fall, for that u need go-forward.
Only 2 SA players offer that, neither started.
Huge grit from the Australians. Its all over now.
9 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
We wait and see how many games Bryce gets after this performance, we are going home , so should he!
9 Oct 2011, 10:27 am
To all proper Aussies (What I mean by that is ones actually born in Australia not the ones who are all of a sudden are Ozzie supporters – yes i am refering to the dinosaurs like ET)
Well Done
9 Oct 2011, 10:28 am
Does this equal our worst World Cup performance?
9 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
The way things are going at the moment is more and more: it does not matter if it’s fair
If you’ve won a game, you’ve won it – the result is official; now we all understand that, but it’s against the spirit of the game
Bryce Lawrence’s responsibility is to officate in accordance with the laws
It would have been beautiful to see a AB vs Boks final have a tough match; even if the ABs win fair and square I would have been among the first to congratulate them
The immense desire and initiatives to prevent that is what detracts from what should be the rugby world’s premier event
I still maintain that the Wallabies could not have beaten the Boks without Bryce today, that’s for sure
I can see they’re doing a good job marketing NZ to the rest of the world, but it’s the desire to manipulate that requires urgent attention
No one can tell me that Bryce on merit deserves to be in charge of that match today
@heboric(heboric)-945:
We have a few wannabe All Black supporters as well mate…
wow some really disturbing views here today. obviously a lot of hurt and anger.
boks played very well. wallas defended better. lawrence reffed a cdertain way and it did not favour dominant team.
so far no pool topper has won their QF.
go the ABs.
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-944:
for god sake man you had 74% of the possession and you still couldn’t win, your backs are s hite ask Cab he’ll tell you,
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 » Show All