Brave Wallabies shut out Boks
9 Oct 2011
JON CARDINELLI watched the Wallabies hang on for what could be the unlikeliest yet most significant victory at this 2011 World Cup.
Did the better team win? It’s a question the Springboks will be asking themselves from now and until the next global tournament in 2015.
South Africa controlled the game for large periods but were repeatedly undone by the Wallabies’ heroic defence. David Pocock was talked about as a danger man in the build up, and after a breakdown performance highlighted by some momentum stalling and often try-saving turnovers, he was undoubtedly the game’s MVP.
Much will be said about referee Bryce Lawrence’s performance with the whistle. Lawrence adopted an ‘anything goes’ policy at the rucks, but it was the Wallabies that adapted to the official’s style early on. The Wallabies dominated the collisions in the first half, and with Heinrich Brussow crying off with a rib injury, the Boks battled to combat Pocock’s inhibiting presence at the breakdown.
The Boks enjoyed as much as 84% territory and 55% possession in the first half, and yet only garnered a three point return. Their poor ball security at ruck time led to turnovers, as did their tendency to spill the ball in contact.
They upped their game in both respects in the second stanza, and it was all the Aussie could do to hang on. The subdue and conquer style so prominent and effective in 2009 once again held sway, and the Wallabies forwards struggled to resist the Boks when they cleaned out would-be ball poachers. They also battled to deal with the high ball, which was well chased by South Africa’s belligerent backs.
Quade Cooper had a shocker. After a dropping a high ball first up, he was often caught in possession and failed to provide the expected impact with the boot. A number of Wallabies grew increasingly susceptible as the game wore on, but the Boks just lacked that killer blow.
There’s no denying that the Boks had their chances. Jean de Villiers made a scything break in the second stanza and put Pat Lambie away for a try, only to be called back for a forward pass. Fourie du Preez thought he was in for a five-pointer when some good Bok defence dislodged the ball centimetres from the Aussie line. Unfortunately, the ball was again knocked free as Du Preez reached for the line.
Every Bok surge into Wallabies territory was succeeded by a desperate display of defence. The turnover followed, and the Aussies’ inability to clear their lines with any great distance ensured the game remained in the Wallabies’ half. The Boks’ lineout dominance also contributed to their territorial ascendancy, but in the end they will lament their inconsistent showing at the breakdown, as well as their poor finishing when it was on out wide.
After a frustrating period on attack, Morne Steyn finally put the Boks ahead 9-8 with a well-taken drop-goal. With 20 minutes to play, the momentum was with the Boks and if they continued to play in Wallabies territory and control possession, they would advance to the semi-finals.
But the introduction of Berrick Barnes had the desired effect for the Wallabies, and after a series of tactical kicking misfires by his team-mates, he delivered a rolling kick deep into the Boks’ 22. The Wallabies remained in the Boks’ half and eventually won a penalty, which James O’Connor held his nerve to convert.
It was a massive moment for the youngster, who had missed a relatively easy attempt in the first half. If he had missed, the chances were the Boks would regain possession, resume control and win the game. If he slotted it, it would set up a dramatic eight minutes where the Wallabies would need to continue to repel the rampant Bok forwards.
Through the Herculean efforts of Bismarck du Plessis and Schalk Burger, the Boks threw everything at the Aussies in those final minutes. They even managed to turn the Wallabies over, but unfortunately knocked it on just when they were moving back into the area of the field where Steyn would be able to kick for goal.
From there, the Wallabies closed out the game smartly. It will remain one of the great escapes for the Wallabies, but the Boks can hardly argue that they deserved to win this game. They didn’t take their opportunities, and on the day, the scoreboard will show that they were punished for that failure to convert dominance into points.

1,133 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 » Show All
9 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
I thought Lawrence was kak.
But we can’t keep blaming the refs. We have to learn to adapt to their rulings.
With the territory and possession we had, we should’ve won.
The Ozzie’s remorseless and big-balled defence is the reason we lost, not the ref (even though he is a tosspot of epic proportions!)
9 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-939:
Will always be happy if they win it fair and square
If they cheat, then I will raise concerns
9 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
but really al those injuries to Juan Smith, Bakkies, Becker, Brussouw, Frans Steyn really killed us too.
9 Oct 2011, 10:33 am
The Highway is for Gamblers
Better use your sense
take what you have gathered from coincidence
The sky too is falling under you
And its all over now
Baby Blue
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-947: Yo are correct – he should have been removed from reffing after his Super 15 performances and after his shocking displays in the last 2 Aussie games.
He is indeed rubbish but he was rubbish for both teams. Did you see what he let the Irish get away with a couple of weeks ago? Aussies may be more used to him seeing he got 3 of their WC games.
9 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
yep it certainly is, maybe old bob is a genius, goddamnit that harmonica is horrendous tho.
9 Oct 2011, 10:37 am
all your seasick sailors they are going home
all your reindeer armies they are going home
strike another match
go start anew
Cause ITS ALL OVER NOW
Baby Blue
9 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-957: While i hope you win, I fell you will be signing that too yourself next weekend.
9 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
you gotta open up your ears like you gotta open up your mind then you realize even that old harmonica got sweet wisps of beautiful melody bringing you home…
9 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
@surreyshark4(surreyshark4)-944:
He was terrible, look at all the penalties NZ are getting and Aus did exactly what Arg are doing, slowing down the ball.
9 Oct 2011, 10:41 am
@jeest(jeest)-958: who you talking to
I lost today
but I’m singing nevertheless still
Am out gonna watch the AB’s in their soft quest for a showdown that don’t count because the real contenders are now gone..
9 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-961: Woops – wrong nationality.
Apologies
9 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-935:
I reckon the game plan was to attack Coopers channel with Schalk, in the same way everyone has attacked Mornes. The Wobblies cover defence was just too good though. When it didn’t succeed we should have moved the ball wide a lot faster.
9 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
Bill Reyts. You a bit touchy. You relieved the Boks lost. Cos it proves you been right all along. Lol. You come accros as a w a n k e r of note.
9 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
@Bill Reyts. Not looking for sympAthy with an A, you chop.
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-920:
Fair enough but it was inevitable that you would run out of luck. The Boks don’t deserve to be WC champs. As I said months ago, if you gamble you will run out of luck and it’s happened.
The Wallabies could have thrashed the Boks today if they played a fast and adventurous game but they played it safe and out gutsed the Boks by defending like Trojans.
We played you guys at your own game and won – very satisfying.
9 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
The first time I see the magnifying shot in the world cup to see if McCaw scored
Or has it been used?
9 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
how **** is this all black game compared to the last game. no woder the AB fans so happy!
9 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
Congrats to the Wallabies and especially Robbie Deans on the win.
Unlucky for South Africa
9 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@chch(chch)-969: thanks mate – the Cup is all yours now – dont mess it up again!
Best of luck to the All Blacks – do us a favour and maul the wobblies next week – they didnt deserve to win that one.
9 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-970:
Cheers Slumtown
9 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
Just on the ref, how can we have 70% ball possession in a game and convince ourselves the ref had the major role to play in engineering our loss? Truth is, in our last 4 games before the tournie, we never looked like we can score creative tries against quality opposition. The game plan has always been to get the penalties (that morne will slot )and defend like hell. Its a shame really. With almost all the possession, we still cry for penalties because we are not creative enough to score tries with all that ball possession. And then the Saffas moan as if we never got away with murder on the field as well. Hopefully we get a more creative coach, as I am g@tvol of this kick and chase.
9 Oct 2011, 11:13 am
@corporal punishment(corporal punishment)-900:
everyone assumes that all the players are retiring, not so.
next time, and I’ll say logically, we’ll probably see…
1guthro
2bismark
3jannie
4bekker
5someoke(bakkies?flip,Juandre or mostert?)
6brussow
7burger
8spies
9 someoke (maybe ruan will get his game back? maybe vermaark?)
10morne
11.hougaard
12 .frans steyn
13.jaque
14. JPP
15.Lambie
the new player will be the ones that take the squad up to 30 and start stating a case for a starting spot.
9 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-973: To progress we need a better fly half than M Steyn.
9 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
Check this put for perspective http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/rugby-world-cup/8816349/Rugby-World-Cup-2011-Bryce-Lawrence-reduced-breakdown-to-a-farce-in-Australias-win-over-South-Africa.html
9 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@ brigadier 973 : good point, there is a good core team there.
My point was that with smit, matfield finished, you need a new leadership group and to decide on a new guy to lead your backline. Morne is a great kicking 10, but I assume a new coach will look at lambie at 10 as he has a much better attacking game.
I doubt burger will make it to the next world cup, the way he plays, so physical, his body surely won’t hold up.
Also aren’t your props getting on to 30? The worry is that those guys will do a hayman on you.
9 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
We hardly kicked today to avoid having them running back at us only to play into Bryces hands and Oz. The boys did us proud. By the way Pocock came in from the side to the tackle of Burger that ledto the try as well.
Also won’t frans and Ruan head back to Europe?
I DON’T WANNA TALK ABOUT IT
I DON’T WANNA HEAR ABOUT IT
I DON’T WANNA BLOG ABOUT IT
WILL ENJOY REST OF CUP-
SEE YOU NEXT SEASON
9 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-975:
See there it is…
It’s there for all to see
I may have admired NZ rugby 5 years ago, but they have become the laughing stock
And they are going about things in such a blatant way
I bet Richie’s smile at the end of today’s game was 60% because Boks are out as orchestrated by Paddy O’Brien and Bryce Lawrence
No wonder they wouldn’t let Murray Mexted commentate anymore; he would have identified the gross and blatant biassed ref
Bryce is a disgrace and has brought the game into disrepute
9 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
I stop posting after 15 minutes into the game, the writing was on the wall.
My take on the game.
no 1….. the ref…….. you cant f*rt against thunder.
no 2…..my man of the match ourside Guthro
no 3 Darnie and Victor WTF WTF WTF WTF pulling a player down in the lineout in a position where they can kick a penalty. we were just in the lead and these 2 brilliant tossers lost us our lead.
no ….4 on the Assies well done, you beat us played the ref very well, any team will take what the ref gives you with much joy if it is in your favor
mmmmmmm seems i am still a bit angry, cant believe we were beaten by such a stupid penalty and that is one we cant blame on the ref.
9 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
oh another thing, Snorrie we cant actually blame him for our loss in this game either, and those of you thinking we going to be getting a new coach, …….dont think so.
9 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-980:
your a sad **** aren’t you, you’ve dished out plenty now take your medicine
9 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-980:
Why is NZ rugby a laughing stock?
9 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
It was written in the stars and I tried my best to give all my foresight since about May 2008.
Stop ‘tjanking’ and pray for your salvation.
9 Oct 2011, 11:42 am
John Eales on aussie TV: “When Bismark came on he was phenomenal, the game could of been much different in the opening stages if he had started, lucky for us he didn’t”.
9 Oct 2011, 11:43 am
@chch(chch)-984:
Simply and only because he is the loser again.
9 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
I saw refereeing decisions go both ways.
75th min Bok front rows stands up to prevent the scrum going past 90 degrees. The referee had penalised the Wallabies for doing that in the first half but the Boks instead get a 2nd put in.
76th min. High tackle by Wallaby forward and the guy holds his arm across the Bok guys wind pipe until he drops the ball. How obvious does it need to be.
Just bad refereeing …. not biased
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-981:
The penalty was fair, it was stupid for Danie to do that.
The bigger reality is that with Bryce not officiating the game fairly and properly you reduce the game into a gamble and players then become hesitant as the ref invariably spots something that puts you on the backfoot.
I know we did not take our chances, but if we got what was rightfully ours the game would have been different.
I have never seen us dominating Aus like that. To be fair, we humiliated them today.
That is the take-away from the RWC2011: we need to learn to be better finishers; that way you make it very difficult for refs like Lawrence to have an influence
Even Craig Joubert or Jonathan Kaplan (Mark Lawrence even) would have been better and more objective
I have lost all respect for Kiwi rugby tradition, their history, artifacts, values
3 and 4 years ago I called them ‘tought leaders of rugby union’ – not anymore
Guys like Bryce have become what NZ rugby stand for …
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-982:
we are getting a new coach- Snorrie has resigned- he will never coach at anywhere near the top level again. nobody would want him.
he will probably become a lay – preacher or something similar now.
9 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@chch(chch)-984:
See 989
9 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
@Steel Shark(Steel Shark)-986: That’s just BS! We had Aus on the ropes long before Bissie came on. Our problem was failure to land the knock-out punch. Plain and simple. It wasn’t tactics or selections or even substitutions. We had the game for the taking but failed to take our chances.
9 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-990:
How about my 4 for 4 in these quarter final games?
Who can whup me?
9 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-989:
The only fact is we lost- to say we humiliated them is a bit far-fetched to put it mildly.
9 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
Well done Aussies. took the honours on thse day………….
One man, in my humble opinion, was awsome,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,schaulk. Faaaaak boet, your work load and ability to get around the park was 10/10. Well done!!
9 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
And the sad thing about it is, Pocock is going to get all the plaudits. Fck! I can’t remember how many times I yelled out “RUCK! RUCK! RUCK!” Think I scared my kids…
9 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
@ET.(ET.)-993:
At least you did not open the gap of 2-0 that you build up yesterday. i must learn to start better, lol.
9 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
Here’s what would be desirable from my point of view
Robbie Deans’ team beat ABs next week; Aussies advance to the final only to be outplayed by the French
Wouldn’t that be sweet victory for Deans who was overlooked in favour of Ted?
Dishonesty always profits in the short term, but in the end you are exposed
ABs were tested for the first time today for 60 min and they looked incredibly vulnerable, you can understand why a team like that do not want to meet the Boks after consecutive wins
Physically they simply wont stand up; you could see we were way too strong for the Wallabies today
9 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-997:
OK it is good then that you stuck to your mind and not your heart.
Both games today were really too tight to enjoy.
Teams far too over-cautious.
9 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-997:
You do realise that the samme teams were in the semis in 1987 and that final was N.Z vs. France and NZ won in NZ.
So it really is possibly history repeating itself as often happens.
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 » Show All