PdV quits as Boks crash out
9 Oct 2011
Peter de Villiers has quit after coaching the Springboks to a World Cup quarter-final defeat in Wellington.
De Villiers’ contract has expired and after a four year tenure marked by controversy and criticism, he will opt not to put forward his name as a candidate for the now vacant post.
‘Its been a brilliant journey and one that none of you [the media] can take away from me,’ he said. ‘There’s a time to come and a time to go. The journey is over.
‘I enjoyed it. I was in a privileged position to be able to contribute to my country. South African rugby is in a good state and will move forward after this.’
Asked how he wanted to be remembered, De Villiers said: ‘As the best me I could be.’
De Villiers ends his career with a 63% success rate, winning 30 of his 48 Tests. However, measured against the best in the world he has struggled. With the defeat in Wellington this evening his record against Australia dipped to four wins from 12, while he has won just five from 11 against the All Blacks.
De Villiers enjoyed the bulk of his success in 2009, winning a series against the British & Irish Lions, as well as the Tri-Nations. However, outside of that the Springboks have struggled, this with arguably the finest generation of players in decades at his disposal.
His loyalty to captain John Smit, despite the rise of the incomparable Bismarck du Plessis, has elicited severe criticism. He sought out Smit in 2008 while the Test veteran was contracted to French outfit Clermont, offering him the captaincy, then persisting with him despite Smit touching the ceiling of his potential in 2009.
Smit was liberal in his praise of De Villiers. ‘We’ve had a good four years. He isn’t a coach in the usual mould but one we’ve thoroughly enjoyed,’ Smit said. ‘He has given us leeway and space and tightened the reigns when he needed to. He is a great man and coach.’
De Villiers was appointed ahead of superior candidates, most notably Heyneke Meyer, in 2008, South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins citing ‘reasons other than rugby credentials’ as the reason for the decision.
There isn’t a clear favourite for the post. Meyer has signed a long-term deal with the Bulls as their director of rugby and has indicated repeatedly to this website that he isn’t considering applying for the job. The Stormers duo of Rassie Erasmus and Allistair Coetzee are expected to toss their names into the hat, while others like Lions coach John Mitchell and former Saracens head Brendan Venter have been mentioned as possible candidates.
By Ryan Vrede, in Wellington.

695 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All
9 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@nama1(nama1)-398:
Huil jy nogsteeds?
9 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-381: No need to get stroppy just because I don’t agree with you. What’s with the namecalling? The players in question didn’t lose us this WC. Well, technically Burger did lose that ball for the Aussie try and so did FdP drop one a mtr out but I feel there were mitigating circumstances. Unless your view is that single mistake constitute a bad game?
9 Oct 2011, 15:24 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-394:
Yes we can only hope
Muir is just another waste of space in the Bok set up
old ET is jumping and strutting around like a prize bantamcock. he’s like a little cockerell on speed and his shot of choice is a Bok loss.
The only thing getting me through the day is thinking about the new look Bok side. Seeing Hougaard and Lambie as our 9 and 10 with F Steyn at 12 will hopefully make today a distant memory.
Regarding the coach, it’s a real pity Meyer won’t be an option. He would have done wonders with this much talent
9 Oct 2011, 15:25 pm
@nama1(nama1)-398:
Sing jy nou ” Die trane die rol vir jou Bokke “?
I wish it was Habana and Spies retiring
@cab(cab)-404:
Janee. jou nare , maar ware gatlekker.
9 Oct 2011, 15:27 pm
@ET.(ET.)-385:
4/4 is a great prediction rate. From my side, I don’t get involved in predictions, only possible results and some designed to get a reaction.
As for Wall St, I predicted the crash 4 years ago and believe that Wall St/ K St/ Republicans are hell bent on turning the US into an oligarchy.
9 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/rugby-world-cup/8816349/Rugby-World-Cup-2011-Bryce-Lawrence-reduced-breakdown-to-a-farce-in-Australias-win-over-South-Africa.html
Have a look at this.
@cab(cab)-404:
Die woord van my Kaapse mense is dat die Kaap is Hollands vandag vir jou rassisties Boklose rugby.
@ET.(ET.)-408:
perfect description of yourself you miserable eienaardige little twatface.
u got to a particularly pitiful individual if you take such glee in a Bok loss.
check at u carry on…go my boy go for all that u are worth…
9 Oct 2011, 15:29 pm
@ET.(ET.)-390:
After almost 50 years, this is my home.
9 Oct 2011, 15:29 pm
@David(David)-383: he’s just a f’ng babbler that is what he is a f’ng useless moronic imbecile babbler that still hasn’t evolved from the half bred babbling cot he was born in
@ET.(ET.)-385: You are a ******* moron of the Nth degree.. you stupid dumb fck neanderthal imbecilic Excruciating pathetic TWAT
9 Oct 2011, 15:30 pm
@David(David)-409:
Did you predict that the Dow would recover almost 80% troll?
This is not an financial forum you moron
But if it was the United States is a one party state with 2 heads
Obama the clown is perpetuating most of Bush policies
Do you even know what the Bail Outs mean?
Now go and play in the sand pit kid
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-400:
You really think your juvenile behaviour has any effect on others? Having a lack of respect for everything around you isn’t making a statement, contrary to what you may think.
Anyway I really hope Wales take this, if not them then France. Enjoy the rest of the day gents.
i Aam far too emotional to say more.
Wel done aussies….
Cowboys dont cry.
Saffas bleeding all over…let me go tend to my gaping wounds…
9 Oct 2011, 15:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-417: exactly how i feel boet.
It’s tough….
9 Oct 2011, 15:33 pm
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-416:
Valk your comments are devoid of any content
9 Oct 2011, 15:34 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-410:
Good to see some neutral nations calling it as it is.
9 Oct 2011, 15:34 pm
We did the two things things we needed to do to win. We dominated the Aussie forwards more than we could have dared dream and we caused Cooper to have a nightmare of a game. Unbelievably we still lost. The lesson I think is we have to no longer rely soley on a kicking game to win the big games. Yes it is important to have a good goalkicker but one is not going to get through the knockout rounds only kicking penalties. Individually our backline players can break through a defence but there is never any link up when it is needed or angled running etc. When a team gets 70% possession it has to score tries. Having said that I think every bok tried his heart out today and none of them deserve the level of criticism they are getting by some on this blog.
9 Oct 2011, 15:35 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-419:
Your skull is devoid of any content, little mosquito.
9 Oct 2011, 15:36 pm
@grant10(grant10)-417:
good comment
its heartbreak and someone needs to pay for this bullsh-it
Bok supporters are the losers
well most of them
not some of the idiots here
9 Oct 2011, 15:37 pm
@David(David)-409:
” I don’t get involved in predictions ”
But a little later:
” As for Wall St, I predicted the crash … ” What a mighty contradiction Sir Norwich? Are you into it or are you not into it. Just be straight forward as I do not want to read between your lines, please.
Has the loss of the gold WC left you utterly confused and in conflict with yourself?
And why not W H O R E or even just WAR Street then? Too much respect for capitalism and colonialism and imperialism even in the neo-form?
I am untouchable today as neo-racism has lost out and the balance of rugby union is being reset.
Paul Treu would be the ideal Springbok coach. He is well spoken, for one thing, and respected all over the world (just listen to the overseas commentators go on about him when the Blitzbokke play).
But more than that, he has a very clear vision of coaching, which includes getting and implementing training and playing ideas from other sports, like Aussie Rules football and American football. He has discovered a wealth of young talent and keep introducing them slowly to the international environment.
His best attribute is the way in which he analyses each opposing team, comes up with a specific plan for each game and then train the players to go out and play according to that plan. For example: this year he developed a defensive pattern that forced Samoas outside speedsters to the middle of the field, where they lost all the advantage of their speed, he used a seven-man rolling maul against which Fiji was powerless, and told his players to kick and chase more in other games. The Bliztbokke lost about a whole team to injuries and Super Rugby, but they still won three of the last five tournaments, and ended second on the log.
The man is a visionary – he’ll bring the World Cup home again.
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-422:
Lol moron i dare you to post one comment with any content
9 Oct 2011, 15:39 pm
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-422:
Do Not lie, as the skull protects much nerve tissue in humans, even if mostly much is not nearly enough.
9 Oct 2011, 15:40 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-402:
Overall strategy and overall selection policy is what lost us this WC.. we are definitely possibly of the most talented and physically dominating side there.. we have all the die hard spirit that we are famous for.. we lack heaps in the thinking dept.. and that has been our nemesis from way back when
Wrong selections and lack of pace to and from and through breakdown.. and wrong selection of horses for courses on the day and for the entire campaign is what ultimately got us this far and no further…
Bottom line is had Smit not started and Hougaard played 9 from long time back.. not only from today… and a better option at 8 was found… Boks would have prevailed and possibly won…
Bismark Alberts Hougaard should have started, Hougaard at 9 not 11.. Burger should not play first receiver in the back line and neither should Matfield or Roussow .. and Aplon should have been utilized as a game breaker at some point…
CJ, Butch and Aplon were not even deployed.. 3 positions wasted.. and no fresh legs at prop throughout the 80 … Steenkamp was the most monumental giant for me out there today..
Matfield had a big game, but ultimately though Burger put every last inch of effort on the line his couple mistakes still were the diffs between success and a fail.. FdP ook..
9 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
A true Bok supporter would be in mourning now
Not defending our exit from the world cup
but venting our feelings at the clown we had for a coach
and his pathetic selectors and coaching staff
9 Oct 2011, 15:45 pm
@cab(cab)-412:
Yes, your confusion still reigns unabated as that is clearly addressed to you from me.
And as expected NO originality exists in your being, ‘Meneer Gatlekker’. Woordeloos is jy en wonderlik is dit!
9 Oct 2011, 15:45 pm
@Die_Valk(Die_Valk)-416:
Yeah I’m punting a Wales or France win… even if it is just to shut this miserable Cape flats rubbish half breed AB gatlekker up for good…
But my money is actually for Aussie to take out AB’s next week and I reckon Wales might be too strong for France though if France go through is fine by me.. France or Wales to take Wallabies in the final will be just what the good doctor ordered for the good old sake of World Rugby
9 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@Boksarenumber3(Boksarenumber1)-426:
Look up the word irony. I’ve said a lot in the past two days at least on par with 95% of posters, which I don’t care to repeat to a boy looking for attention. I truly feel sorry for you as the only time you feel powerful is when you’re behind a keyboard. When so many are calling you a child it’s time to hush, so I’ll do what I should’ve done 30 minutes ago and stop feeding the troll.
9 Oct 2011, 15:47 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-431:
Good for you skop, you’re threatening to become more reasonable!
@ET.(ET.)-427:
Hehe, pedantic much?
9 Oct 2011, 15:48 pm
@ET.(ET.)-430:
wtf are u on about now, you daft ****?
cant even understand what u are saying most of the time.
you are one dom doos, you just dunno how dom.
9 Oct 2011, 15:51 pm
@ET.(ET.)-424: this cn’t is sitting up the Imperialists backside sucking off greenback imperialist dollars and he has the fckface audacity to call himself a commie.. piece of garbage skunk who is below human status should be put out its einardige misery before that pitiful self loathing misery affects all others it comes into contact with.. which is already too late…
9 Oct 2011, 15:52 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-418:
And how is my aphasic agraphia fellow human(I hope) doing on this fine Sunday when the world order in rugby union is being restored?
I note you have difficulty with applying capital letters and such like too as you attempt sentence structure.
9 Oct 2011, 15:53 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-410:
Shock jock. He also wrote the articles about racist golf tournaments. try to come up with an article written by someone more credible.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-431:
Hope you are right but i reckon this world cup is the ABS
They will smash the aussies based on their showing against the Boks
@cab(cab)-434:
Yes that does confirm my claim of your being restricted in your cortical development.
9 Oct 2011, 15:56 pm
@ET.(ET.)-401: @ET.(ET.)-406:
Daar word altyd gepraat van swak verloorders.
Die mense wat so praat het seker nog nie van jou gehoor as jy “wen” nie.
9 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
I sit here an emotionally broken man, I can blame Lawrence – I won’t, I can blame Smit and Spies, – I won’t , the performance today was a proud one , I choose to focus on that .
An era has come to an end, an era where PDEV initially promised so much and actually came pretty close to delivering quite a lot, the PDEV campaign was entertaining at times , bizarre at other times.
Good luck to him and the players who will be leaving , you all had special moments . We now start a new era, an era where if we select the right players and coach could be a golden one for SA .
Well done to Pocock for playing the ref and effectively winning the game for the Aussies.
I feel we will still see a few more upsets before the end of this WC, but nothing will make up for the way i feel right now !!!!!!
9 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
@ET.(ET.)-439:
whatever u know about cortical development, or anything else, is just plain fkn dangerous.
your education is also subststandard, since its invariably the pedants who have a point to prove.
in short they try to hard – those that can, do, those that cant, teach.
9 Oct 2011, 15:58 pm
435:
Just clean you faecally messed bum as you use it far too often as your ‘mouth’.
DO not forget to empty your colostomy bag as it stinks in the company of others especially when you do not have a real ‘poopal’ but a surgically reconstructed ‘sham poopal’.
When are you leaving for the river Tiberius for good?
9 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
The Boks land at OR Tambo at 16H15 on Monday.
9 Oct 2011, 16:03 pm
The day the Boks appoint Mitchell, a Kiwi, or Jones, an Aussie, as coach is the day I give up following international rugby. OK, the Welsh may have tried NZ coaches, even the Wallabies, but surely to god not SA? What that says is there’s no one in SA capable of coaching the Boks. What rubbish, SA coaches have been among the best from the year dot. It’s just a matter of picking the right one, and unfortunately last time they didn’t.
I’m a Kiwi and, frankly, if one of my countrymen became your coach I’d see it as a slap in the face to SA rugby. It would be disrespectful of 100 years of a proud (and winning) tradition. The idea is scandalous. Akin to removing the Springbok emblem. It’d be like making a Muslim the Pope!!!
Incidentally, I think this is a great forum and there are some extremely insightful posts here, particularly by S Africans, which I don’t get elsewhere. I read plenty but don’t comment often because there seems to be such extreme bitterness (hate?) expressed much of the time by NZers and S Africans.
We get along a lot better in real life (have met six or seven Boks fans during the World Cup and all said they were loving it here). Sure there has been banter but it’s been friendly and humorous, with respect on both sides. Life’s too short, rugby should pull us together rather than drag us apart. Look at soccer and its supporters. Who wants to end up like that nasty lot? Just saying.
9 Oct 2011, 16:04 pm
@cab(cab)-442:
Is that anger because of what UCT did to your pops too, relative to you?
Are you quite sure your have all the parts like the mesencephalon, metencephalon and telencephalon developed, as you grope in the utter darkness of those impaired recesses of what you call your ‘brain’?.
A trilogy at UCT.
9 Oct 2011, 16:05 pm
@ET.(ET.)-443:
I’m still here in the good Cape of Good hope
where the fck are YOU you miserable piece of half bred garbage fucked up scum .. Right UP the Imperialists BUM where little coolycreeping runtcunts the likes of you are most commonly found… pseudo half bred fucked up half arsed commie garbage filth scummy creep that you are
9 Oct 2011, 16:05 pm
@nama1(nama1)-444:
Gaan sing vir hulle jou liedtjie, ” Die Trane die rol vir jou Bokke “.
9 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-103:
I wish we didn’t have one of those
9 Oct 2011, 16:06 pm
@chch(chch)-437:
A pauper could say the wisest thing in human history and be ignored, while a president can memorise a speech and be quoted the world over. Credibilty has nothing to do with the matter, the article is full of truth. I don’t agree that we were robbed and it is over the top, but we were on the receiving end from Bryce. And (some) SA referees are better than anyone in australasia, most notably Joubert.
Nothing to do with anything, but australian commentators are something else. They sometimes make a dull game watchable and I miss the old cries of TTUUUUUNNNNNEEEE. The NZ commentators are too bitter to enjoy though, most notably Marshall.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All