Burger stands tallest

JON CARDINELLI rates the performances of the Springbok players and coaching staff following their unsuccessful World Cup campaign in New Zealand.

Ratings out of 10 are in brackets. The star performers in each category are in bold.

BACKS:
Back three: Frans Steyn (7) started to find some form at fullback before he was asked to step in at No 12. Steyn provided plenty of physicality and impetus in that channel, but his success must be viewed in context considering he played in that position against the minnows. Pat Lambie (7) started the tournament slowly, but delivered his most rounded performance in the quarter-final. Francois Hougaard (7) was the pick of the wings, mixing a mongrel attitude with a phenomenal attacking talent for spectacular individual attacking results. Gio Aplon (7) was similarly dangerous, although wasn’t used nearly enough over the course of the tournament. The two wings who were, Bryan Habana (5) and JP Pietersen (6), were consistently unimpressive. Habana became South Africa’s top try-scorer when he dotted down against Namibia but was otherwise largely ineffective. Pietersen had his moments against Fiji, but also battled to make decisive breaks and finish. Odwa Ndungane (5) looked ordinary even when he started against Namibia. Zane Kirchner is not rated as he didn’t play a game.

Centres: When the World XVs are compiled at the end of this tournament, Jaque Fourie (7) will be up there as the preferred No 13. His value on defence was evident in the first pool match against Wales and again in the quarter-final showdown with the Wallabies, while he combined well with Jean de Villiers (7) on attack in the latter game. De Villiers left the field early on during that Wales game and played off the bench in the Samoa clash, so his rating is largely based on a strong game against Australia. Juan de Jongh’s (6) two-try success against Namibia should be viewed in context, although there’s no denying he has a special talent.

Halfbacks: Fourie du Preez (6) mixed the measured with the erratic, executing well at some stages of the tournament, and missing the mark horribly at others. He looks to be past his best. Ruan Pienaar played so little rugby that it’s difficult to give him a rating. The man who usurped Pienaar in 2009 for the No 10 jersey also didn’t live up to expectations in many respects. Morne Steyn (5) wasn’t as accurate in front of goal as many would have hoped, and his woeful defence allowed opposition teams free passage through the flyhalf channel. He did nail a great drop goal in the quarter-final against Australia, but looking at the Boks’ campaign as a whole, his shortcomings on defence and attack let the team down. Butch James (6) did not get any opportunities at flyhalf, but turned in a solid defensive display at No 12 against Wales.

FORWARDS:
Back row: What better place to announce that you still have what it takes than on the biggest stage of all? Schalk Burger (9) looked the physical, sadomasochistic hulk of old, but also displayed a more subtle side to his game. His role as a ‘distributor’ in games against Wales and Samoa was influential to the outcome, but it was his ball-carrying surges into heavy traffic and some outstanding defensive displays (he made try-saving tackles against Samoa and Australia) that should be duly glorified. Heinrich Brussow (6) made some positive contirbutions without really dominating, as Sam Warburton won the breakdown battle in the big Pool D opener and David Pocock was the more influential openside flanker before Brussow succumbed to injury in the quarter-final. Francois Louw (6) did well when he was called on to deputise for Brussow, while Willem Alberts (7) was explosive in a bench or staring role. Pierre Spies (5) was consistent considering he failed to front for the big matches.

Locks: Victor Matfield (7) ended his illustrious career in terrific fashion. While he had a relatively quiet game against Wales and missed two pool games through injury, he rose to the quarter-final occasion, generating some important lineout steals as an individual and set-piece manager. Danie Rossouw (7) started this tournament strongly, but his overexposure at the top level in 2011 caught up with him in the latter stages. Bakkies Botha (5) never looked like the enforcer of old, while Johann Muller (6) was also limited by injuries.

Front row: Why wasn’t this guy starting? It’s not so much a question asked by myself than a question screamed by hordes of South African and international spectators every time Bismarck du Plessis (7) took the field. Every time Du Plessis came off the bench, he provided the Boks with go-forward. Peter de Villiers will argue that he is an impact player, but the Boks could have used his mobility, hard edge and breakdown skills from minute one. John Smit (5) tried his hardest at this competition, but was a poor impostor of the John Smit of 2007 and nowhere near the Bismarck du Plessis of 2011. Gurthro Steenkamp (6) and Jannie du Plessis (6) scrummed well, although the latter struggled in open play. The prop with the strongest game in general play, Beast Mtawarira (6) received few opportunities, as the Bok coaching staff favoured the superior scrummager in Steenkamp. CJ van der Linde (6) offered good impact from the bench, while Chiliboy Ralepelle (6) made the most of the few minutes he was given against Namibia during the pool stage.

COACHING STAFF:
Head coach: As the lengthy list of Bok assistants and consultants will show, Peter de Villiers (4) did not go to the World Cup to contribute in the technical department. From a management point of view, the senior players loved their coach because he allowed them carte blanche. He didn’t have the balls to make the tough calls when it came to selection, particularly in the areas of flyhalf and hooker. This weakness cost the Boks big.

Forwards coach: The forwards performed strongly at this World Cup, although the selection of Smit did undermine their cause at the breakdown. Gary Gold (6) did a solid enough job, but it must also be noted that he worked closely with Rassie Erasmus and veterans like Matfield in formulating the forward battle plans.

Backs coach: What has Dick Muir (2) contributed to the Bok game in the last four years? At the beginning of the 2008 season, he convinced De Villiers to favour an all-out approach that shunned structure, and when the players overturned this decision and reverted to what worked in 2007, it was almost as if Muir lost interest. In 2011, the Boks had a defensive coach, a kicking coach and a technical analyst to aid their backline’s development, and in areas like kicking and defence, there was a notable improvement. What failed to evolve was the Boks’ attack, as the poor try-scoring record will show, and Muir must shoulder some of the blame for the backline’s gross underachievement.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

219 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Cruiser: Reply to this comment

tallest bloodiest dragon burger

• 2.Alucard: Reply to this comment

Still on the Jean bandwagon? How about this. Frans has excelled at 12 for four years, and sparked our 2007 campaign to life to eventually lift the World Cup. If you still think he is unproven, still think he is better at fullback, then your articles need to be interpreted in the context that you, just like Keo and his vincent price clone sidekick, are stupid beyond belief. And a 7 to boot. How about an 8 at least? By far one of our best players. Jean was a plodder, up against an even bigger plodder in McCabe.

John a 5? Tell me exactly what Smit did wrong? His ball carrying was very strong, rock solid on defence and his linking play was some of the very best on display at this tournament. You again are a complete idiot. Perhaps more of a fool than that bald moron Keo.

Morne was the best 10 on display, but I see the book sale of Butch to the left of me. Morne was solid all the way through the competition you dunder head. But keep prattling away.

All in all this is a complete waste of time to read. Another pile of tripe written by biased one eyed no-nothing old lunatics that know stuff all about the game and are entirely concerned with making money, pleasing the right people (How’s cheeky these days?), and attacking players and coaches et al that you lot don’t like. Completely unprofessional, guttless cowards. Couldn’t even fathom to credit Smit and Morne. Gutless wenches who couldn’t have the courage to admit that you all were wrong.

• 3.HHS: Reply to this comment

I was uneasy with Lambie at 15 but the kid proved me wrong. Well done Lambs.

• 4.Cruiser: Reply to this comment

Burger is a mad beyond belief. Much respect for the way he plays the game.

Spies = “train like Tarzan, play like Jane”.

• 5.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-2: You could see how biased these fools are. Butch gets a 6 for being run through against Wales and essentially being the biggest liability in that game! He did NOTHING. But like I say, the book promotion for Butch is on our right, so Butch has got be rated better than Morne. It’s all about rugby eh? What a joke.

• 6.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-3: It’s clear that Lambie is a 15, plain and simple. He flopped at 10, but was solid at 15, much like I expected. He was only ever a retread 10 anyway, one that couldn’t even usurp an over-the-hill Michallak.

• 7.capebull: Reply to this comment

Does JC know anything about rugby ???

• 8.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Spies 5 :shock: He was worth about 3.

• 9.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Alucard – I agree on most of your comments. The article is only correct in its slating of the coach. PDV was a great man manager but not a good coach. The Boks peaked perfectly at 2009 but since then started to decline. We stopped scoring tries against the top tier nations and our tactics became so predictable it wasnt funny!! THe Boks needed Rassie on board a year ago to help out and Nienaber, both their affects were immediate but too late.
    The kick chase was a failure in 2010 but the Boks didnt do anything about it.

• 10.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-5: Yeah it’s shocking, JC has never been known to be subtle about the agenda. Butch was terrible against Wales and he get’s a 6….

Morne had a terrible game against Wales but so did JdV and Jamie Roberts is a monster. I was impressed by Morne’s game, his distribution is really good.

Smit should get a 6 , Gurthro a 7, Hougaard an 8 and FdP a 4.

• 11.dr dre: Reply to this comment

Muir must surely rate as one of the worst backs coaches ever.

He has failed to impress at any team and is a fan of playing players out of position.

• 12.race of tan: Reply to this comment

alucard – Lambie was a revelation at 15, very very good. Cricky shame his drop goal just drifted wide but it had the distance!! Lambie was getting better with each game, infact we can almost call him rock solid at fullback!!

• 13.Helen: Reply to this comment

Very few players deserve less than 6.
    I think Spies and FdP are the only exceptions.

Burger, Lambie, F Steyn, M Steyn, Hougaard, Vic, Bissy, Smit, Guthro, Brussouw, Alberts, JPP, Fourie all deserve a 7 or better

• 14.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Helen – Good ratings. Those players did play very well. Spie was a major dissapointment he was grossly out of his depth, except maybe some good lineout work!!

• 15.Helen: Reply to this comment

@dr dre(dr dre)-11:

Agree. I doubt he’ll get another premium job in SA.
    Maybe Pukke will take him?

• 16.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Burger was awesome all tourney, that cover tackle when he had to turn and recover vs Wallas on Moore was outstanding.

who on Earth thinks Jackie Fourie is a “preferred choice” in a World XV – other than Jackie herself – needs his head read.

• 17.NicG: Reply to this comment

@Helen(Helen)-13: agreed (except for Morne, he was a 6 overall – mainly his defensive frailties). Smit is no Bismarck, but had a good tournie and Jaques Fourie was a 6.5 – I think he is a great player, but wasn’t at his best this WC. Beast also did nothing wrong – I’d add him to the list.

• 18.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

If we can find a really decent no 9 and 10 somewhere, I’d like to see a future backline consisting of Steyn (Frans – obviously) at 12, Fourie at 13, Hougaard at 11, JPP (I’m not too precious about this one though) at 14 and Lambie at 15.

I really enjoyed the way Lambie and Hougi combined when at wing and fullback.

Maybe Jantjes or that Goosen bloke from the Cheetahs at 10.

No 9′s? I don’t know. Cupboard is looking a bit bare. I think McCleod is the front runner at this stage, not based on skill but because he was the back up to the back up.

• 19.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

jon, thanks for another biased article, u have done wel again to highlight ur favourtie players and annoy everyone here again, “Pierre Spies (5) was consistent considering he failed to front for the big matches”…i can tell u one thing about spies is that he was consistently KAK!!! by far the worst bok of the wc and yet u give me a 5?? bru that ridiculious, my rating for him is in the negative figures!!! butch a 6? for a whole 50min or so?? dude…….. Smit was good through the tournament, didnt put a fot wrong, yes he is no bissy but you just have no respect for te guy, Pat deserves a 8-9 no doubt, habana also deserves negative figures, jp deserves a 3

im gna stop venting nw and say this and i think i spk for alot of ppl

I HOPE I NEVER SEE HABANA AND SPIES IN A BOK JERSEY AGAIN!!!

• 20.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-7:

nope he doesnt

• 21.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Cruiser(Cruiser)-4:

So true man, well said

• 22.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Real rugby tests are about inches

“You find out that life is just a game of inches.
    So is Rugby
    Because in either game
    life or Rugby
    the margin for error is so small.
    I mean
    one half step too late or to early
    you don’t quite make it.
    One half second too slow or too fast
    and you don’t quite catch it.
    The inches we need are everywhere around us.
    They are in ever break of the game
    every minute, every second.”

Australia won a true test of inches and David Pocock is the master of the final inch in the ground war. Australia beat us at the Boks own traditional game of defence, pressure, and low possession. They did to us what we did to Wales in the opening game.

It is a pity the Boks decided to play in the high possession, offloading style, which we saw glimpses of in their pool games, only in this world cup. After years of playing differently, the Boks showed an all round game which surprised observers of the quarter final who expected the Wallabies to “play all the rugby”. Because of this, I believe the Boks in effect made themselves novices in attack against a Wallaby side of veterans in defence.

A few weeks ago I believed we were to see a reffing disgrace of huge proportions involving the Boks however I expected this in the Semi-final, not the quarter final. I really believe that if Barnes, Poitre and yes, even Rolland, reffed that match we most probably would have ended up 10 points the better over the Wallabies.

But not to be. Lawrence reffed the match and despite his officiating we were able to see a titanic clash fought in great spirit – a contrast to the filth of the Samoa match.

The Boks have no shame in losing this match because each of them gave their all on the field.

Certain players stood out more than others, like Gurthro, Matfield, Burger, Flo (a heroic game where he plugged the breakdown leaks to an extent when he came on), FdP (pin point accuracy of old and inches from a try), JdV (inches from an excellent pass) and JPP.

In a day of one team coming of age, and another drawing the curtains on an era, we saw a certain Pat Lambie come of age and give a performance that was Jouba-esque in Ice cold calm under fire and decision making . But he lost his game of inches – taking a pass marginally forward, and a whisker of a drop goal miss that would have been the difference between winning and losing.

The Boks deserved to win the game, definitely, but it could be said the Wallabies did too – they played the ground war margins, were indomitable in defence and at a time halfway into the 2nd half when they looked like cracking under sheer Bok weight of pressure, they pulled themselves back from the brink by unbelievable willpower and BMT will to win. Pocock showed that he is peerless and Horwill showed that he is a leader who will be followed to a World Cup win.

What a game, sad to lose, but in great games there has to be a winner and a loser. The Boks were proud losers in a game of inches and the Wallabies were deserved winners just by sheer will power of not breaking to immense Bok power. May they go on and win this World Cup against France or Wales in the Final, hopefully another game of inches – they will be worthy champions.

• 23.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-22:

any given sunday, nice

• 24.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-22:

that speech is by far te best thing ive ever listened to, still gives me goosebumps, but anyways in 4 yrs time we will be champions,

• 25.patch: Reply to this comment

6 for Butch James !!!! please he enjoy his holiday in New Zealand. I used to be the biggest fan of his and unfortunilty since coming back from up north he has not shown any form at all.

• 26.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

My QF ratings

15 Lambie 8
    14 JPP 7
    13 Mossie 6
    12 JdV 8
    11 Habana 6
    10 Steyn 7
    9 FdP 7
    8 Spies 6
    7 Schalk 9
    6 Brossouw 5
    5 Matfield 8
    4 Rossouw 6
    3. JdP 7
    2. Smit 7
    1. Gurthro 9

Bench: Flo 8, Bismarck 7, Hougie 7, Alberts 6.

• 27.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-24: I say fark Champions “in 4 years”. I would like the Boks to be Champions in every match from now on.

I do not ever want to hear “We are building for the world cup” ever again.

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-26:
    I would say pretty much spot on, but i would give Habana a 9 for getting the most and biggest hits put against him only to get up, albeit slowly but straight back into it, one tough guy

• 29.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-27:

• 30.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-27:

i agree with you completely, lets just hold our thumbs and wait and c who is coach, i really hope its mitchell, but my choice would b eddie jones

• 31.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

btw i hear frans wants to come bak to sa, anyone heard where he might go??? word is that J.Fourie might b going to japan??

• 32.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Bok side going forward:

15 Lambie
    14. JPP
    13. Sadie
    12. Frans Steyn/JdJ
    11. A.N. Other (Boks need another Habana 2007)
    10. Goosen/Ebersohn/Jantjies need to fight it out
    9. A.N. Other (Boks need another Joost prototype)
    8. A.N. Other
    7. Schalk
    6. Brussouw
    5. Bekker
    4. Mostert
    3. Jannie DuP/ Boks are in desperate need of another tighthead
    2. Bismarck
    1. Gurthro/Beast

Headcoach: Must be South African. Brendan Venter, Mallet, Meyer
    Support: Rassie, Nienaber, Mitchell

Brief/Goal: Win 80% of games played

• 33.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-30: The head coach must be South African. Got no problem with Jones or Mitchell being support.

• 34.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-32: Stupid of me: Brussouw and Flo for openside. They must fight it out

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-31: Frans back to the Sharks. End of.

• 36.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-29: Never, ever again. The Boks goal has to be 80%

In effect this means 4/4 100% of EOYT, 4/6 66% of 3N, 2/2 100% Mid year tests with room for error of 1 game lost.

• 37.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-36:
    Thats the way mate.

• 38.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-32:

11. mvovo, killian, taute or even van de hever?
    9. i think in time conrad hoffman could be something but im prob gna get slated for that haha, otherwise right nw i recon, Vermaak,hougaard, and Duvenager
    8. we gotta have alberts , spies can never b near a bok jersey again, we also have to find space for juan smith, josh strauss and derrick minnie as well as Elstadt, even flow, we are so lucky to have all these blokes for the boks
    Locks: Elstadt can feature there too?but this is my main concern for the future boks i feel we are thin at lock
    3. Agree we need another tight head, coenie might develop? but again we are very thin here, werner kruger is bout the only option right nw?? no one stands out

Coach: would love Eddie jones, but not gna happen, hope mitchell gets it with a mix of AC,Rassie and brendan venter maybe even smal again

• 39.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-33:

I wonder if SARU will force another quota on the long suffering rugby public.

• 40.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-37: Bok administrators have much to answer for. They are the rotting fish head. They need to look out for Numero Uno and that is SA Rugby. They have been very poor custodians.

• 41.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-38: No mate, you speak sense about Hoffman. I rate him too.

I reckon your other choices: Elstadt, Minnie, Strauss are excellent too. Bygod we have the talent.

We have great enforcer options at lock – we just need another couple of “jumpers” like Bekker.

Tighthead is a problem. We have plenty good looseheads.

• 42.David: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-39:
    Nah, one Spies was enough.

• 43.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

JC you are a low life. Butch 6 Morne 5??

• 44.Blou Hoender: Reply to this comment

I dont post a lot of comments, but I read this website everyday, and also enjoy having a laugh at the comments of some of the regular bloggers. But all in all my view of JC is that he is a child over the Morne Steyn situation. Im sure most of the Bok supporters wetted themselves when they showed Butch warming up with 10min to go, JC probably too, but definetely a different wetness. This is pathetic journalism, and in stead of getting behind the boys, he keeps on going on and on and on about Morne Steyn. The result wouldve been different if Butch played, it wouldve been 11 – 6 to Aussies as Butch would never have slotted that penalty. Morne passed 36 times, and took the ball flat. He was calm and collective and played a great match, and a great tournament. I wouldve liked him to be more authorative and overuled management calls by sitting in the pocket more, but he did really well. butch was great in 2007, but his erratic, and gave away a stupid penalty against wales. JC – grow up, and if you dont like the selection, be atleast objective and more importantly professional.

• 45.Blou Hoender: Reply to this comment

correction, drop kick not penalty

• 46.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Blou Hoender(Blou Hoender)-44:

You sir have the right idea, spot on man

• 47.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Bok job – Who’s next in line?
    Sun, 09 Oct 2011 12:09

Some contenders: Who would your choice be as the new Bok coach? (c) Gallo

In the aftermath of Sunday’s news that Peter de Villiers would be stepping down as Springbok coach after four years in charge, we thought we would take a stab at choosing his possible replacement.

Love him or hate him, P Divvy certainly entertained us during his four-year (48-game) tenure and the next Bok boss will certainly find himself under the microscope too.

So, who then are the contenders to follow in the footsteps of De Villiers, Jake White, Rudolf Straeuli, Harry Viljoen, Nick Mallett (to name just a few before him)?

Well, it would be hard to argue against the claims of Allister Coetzee and names like Rassie Erasmus and Heyneke Meyer will always crop up. And what about some darkhorses like the two Kiwi Johns – Mitchell and Plumtree – or promoting Bok assistant coach Gary Gold to the top job?

You would have to think that all five of SA’s Super Rugby coaches would be contenders – otherwise why else are they coaching at that level? – and there are also a few other contenders in SA.

Someone like SA Under-20 coach Dawie Theron is kicking about and it would be remiss of us not to mention Nick Mallett’s name – after all he has been ‘shortlisted’ for every top rugby job since resigning as Bok boss in 2000. (For those unsure – mentioning Mallett is simply a stab at humour… we need some laughs in SA today!)

And what, too, about SA Sevens boss Paul Treu; would he ever think about moving into a top fifteen-a-side coaching job?

And is Brendan Venter – although quite a far-out contender – a name worth mentioning now that he’s back in SA? (And despite still serving as Saracens’ technical advisor.)

With all of that in mind, we take a look at some potential contenders as Peter de Villiers’s replacement:
    (In alphabetical order)

ALLISTER COETZEE:
    The Western Province and Stormers coach is a better coach than he was in 2008 – when many wanted him to take over from White. He is media-savvy enough (even if he tends to be a bit clichéd) and he has the experience of having served under White for four years – including the 2007 World Cup win in France.
    Pros: He has coached the likes of Bekker, Burger, Fourie – all of whom are expected to form the nucleus of the Bok side moving forward. He has done okay with WP in the 2011 Currie Cup – despite his limited resources.
    Cons: For all the promise shown with the Stormers and WP, they have not won a trophy under him and have imploded in two finals (Currie Cup and Super Rugby) and one home semifinal (Super Rugby) in recent years.

NAKA DROTSKÉ:
    A Currie Cup winner – as a player and coach – Drotské continues to produce good results at provincial level, despite struggling at Super Rugby level where the Cheetahs’ depth has always worked against them.
    Pros: He has done well with limited resources at the Cheetahs – unearthing some good talent in the process; a name like Johan Goosen topping that list at present.
    Cons: Coaching the Cheetahs, in a small, rugby-mad town is a very, very different prospect to taking on the Bok job. He also recently signed a new three-year contract with the Cheetahs – they would not be keen to let him go.

RASSIE ERASMUS:
    Erasmus has, for long, been considered as something of a coaching messiah. He achieved a lot with Free State – including three Currie Cup wins – and has since helped rebuild WP Rugby, even though they have no senior trophies to show for their efforts.
    Pros: One of SA’s most astute rugby brains, he played a big role as a technical advisor to the Boks ahead of the 2007 and 2011 World Cups. Always capable of thinking out of the box and he has unearthed a host of new, young stars in Cape Town during his time in charge at Western Province.
    Cons: What does he want to do? Does he want to remain in charge of WP? What about his rugby version of cricket’s IPL? Did he make any friends with SARU’s – and the IRB’s – top brass by attempting that little venture? Does he want the Springbok coaching job?

GARY GOLD:
    Why are assistant coaches always tarred with the same brush as their bosses? Gold has added plenty value in the Bok set-up under De Villiers and a case could be made for him to stay involved in some capacity – at worst.
    Pros: He’s been part of the Bok camp under De Villiers these past four years – he knows the systems and would provide some continuity moving forward. He is well-travelled and is a hard worker behind the scenes.
    Cons: See above – that works for and against him; for good reason(s) and bad.

FRANS LUDEKE:
    Ludeke, 43, has many supporters up north – in Pretoria. He knows his rugby and has been around for a while, having coached at SWD and the Lions too.
    Pros: He has been involved in the Bok set-up before – albeit as an assistant. He would have the Bulls support – although would that still exist in the Bok squad without Matfield, Du Preez and co.?
    Cons: How much of his success – two Super Rugby titles and a Currie Cup win – has been based on the work of Heyneke Meyer before him? Would his poor results at the Lions count against him?

HEYNEKE MEYER:
    The 44-year-old would be the peoples’ choice – the question is; is he available for the job after the way he was treated in 2008 (when Divvy controversially got the job ahead of him)? He has won multiple titles and has, over the years, been the ‘go-to’ man for the likes of Matfield, Du Preez, etc.
    Pros: Probably the most outstanding man for the job – his CV speaks for itself.
    Cons: He recently moved into a new position at the Bulls – that of ‘Executive: Rugby’. He has gone on record as saying he would not be available – but would he say no if his demands were met? Also, with all his senior Bulls men out of the picture, would the players want him so badly?

JOHN MITCHELL:
    The former All Blacks coach seems to have found his calling in South Africa – having been released from his job with the Force to make the full-time move to SA last year. (Was that **** Muir’s best coaching move ever?) He has done very well in the 2011 Currie Cup, guiding his team to a home semifinal (ironically their first since under the tutelage of another Kiwi, Laurie Mains, in 1999), and getting them to play some exciting rugby in the process.
    Pros: He has the experience at the highest level with the All Blacks, even if it did end in tears at the 2003 Rugby World Cup, with a brilliant win/loss ration during his time in charge.
    Cons: He’s a foreigner – despite having his own ‘truly SA’ moment when he found a criminal in his house last year. His Currie Cup success – so far – this season has been achieved without the rest of the country’s top players in action, all of whom have been on World Cup duty.

JOHN PLUMTREE:
    A great pal of Mitchell’s and half a South African – in that he’s married to an SA woman and having played provincial rugby for the Natal Sharks in the 1990s. A deep thinker, with a very good track-record at provincial level and some success at Super Rugby level too.
    Pros: He boasts success at the Sharks, having won Currie Cup titles in 2008 and 2010. He knows SA players very well, as well as NZ’s best players – having coached someone like Ma’a Nonu at provincial level back home.
    Cons: He’s a foreigner. Some of his player management, at times, also seems a bit iffy – nevermind some odd recruitment happening at the Sharks.

PAUL TREU:
    A bright man who is very passionate about what he does, many have tipped Treu for a bright future in (bigger) coaching. All that depends on whether he is interested in pursuing something at 15-a-side level or not.
    Pros: He has achieved a lot with the SA Sevens team – leading them to the overall world title in the 2008/09 season and helped shape a host of big-name players in their younger days.
    Cons: He is entrenched as the Springbok Sevens coach. Why would he want to leave that relative comfort the job entails?

Our final verdict:
    As tempting as it might be to give foreigners like Mitchell or Plumtree a go (imagine them as a combination?), one cannot look further than Coetzee or Erasmus as the likely – and more realistic – options right now.

• 48.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

My Bok team for 2012 without overseas based players.

1. Beast
    2. Bismarck
    3. Jannie
    4. Flip
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussouw
    7. Burger (C)
    8. Alberts
    9. Hougaard
    10. M. Steyn
    11. Mvovo
    12. De Jongh
    13. Jaque Fourie (VC)
    14. JPP
    15. Lambie

16. Chiliboy/Adrian Strauss
    17. Coenie
    18. Elstadt/Juandre Kruger
    19. Spies/Vermeulen/Kanko/Strauss
    20. Duvenage/Vermaak/Hoffman
    21. De Jongh
    22. Aplon

• 49.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-47: “Well, it would be hard to argue against the claims of Allister Coetzee”…. No, it would actually be quite easy.

• 50.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-48:

boet please never meantion spies’s name again near a bok team, i think i will cry if he ever pull on the green and gold

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.