Currie Cup latest – Lions rest stars for Sharks brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Lions rest stars for Sharks - John Mitchell will rest seven starters for the Lions’ clash against the Sharks on Saturday.

With the Lions already guaranteed first place on the log, coach Mitchell has decided to rest seven players for the trip to Durban. This includes centre Alwyn Hollenbach, wing Michael Killian, flyhalf Elton Jantjies, flanker Derick Minnie, lock Franco van der Merwe, tighthead prop Pat Cilliers and hooker Bandies Maku.

The Lions’ only returning Springbok Butch James is bracketed on the bench.

Lions – 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Dylan Des Fountain, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 James Kamana, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Joshua Strauss (capt.), 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Michael Rhodes, 4 Wikus van Heerden/David Bulbring, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Alwyn Hollenbach/Butch James, 22 Michael Killian.

Bulls hope for Kirchner return - Pine Pienaar has named Zane Kirchner in his starting line-up for the Bulls last league-round tie against the Leopards in Pretoria on Friday.

Kirchner is yet to return from New Zealand, where he was a late Springbok call-up for the World Cup. However, head coach Pienaar is confident his fullback will be able to slot in once he arrives back to the Bulls camp.

If not, Jurgen Visser will start in the No 15 jersey while Gerhard van den Heever will fill in on the bench.

The match against the Leopards is also likely to be skipper Gary Botha’s final appearance for the Bulls. He leaves for Toulouse next season, along with prop Gurthro Steenkamp. The Bulls need to beat the Leopards and hope for the Pumas to upset WP at Newlands for any chance of qualifying for the semi-finals.

Bulls Р15 Zane Kirchner/Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Frans Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouch̩, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandr̩ Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha (c), 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Justin Dinka, 21 Francois Brummer, 22 Jurgen Visser/Gerhard van den Heever.