KeoTV: Meyer’s the man
12 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says it’s Heyneke Meyer’s time to coach the Springboks.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article24 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article12 Oct 2011
RYAN VREDE says it’s Heyneke Meyer’s time to coach the Springboks.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

561 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
12 Oct 2011, 14:45 pm
@Helen(Helen)-248:
Coetzee is as useless as tits on a fish.
12 Oct 2011, 14:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-244:
oh pulease.
showing interest in the spirngbok squad is like an al *** for chicks.
it’s not cool to be seen to want it.
12 Oct 2011, 14:47 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-159:
It took a while but you’re finally talking sense.
12 Oct 2011, 14:49 pm
Getting a black coach in Divvy was one of the steps toward transformation. A step that can’t be gone back on…
The next step will be to have a black captain
Chili will be groomed to take the Boks to 2015, so watch how an old(er) player in the backline who is not sure of his place is made captain (read J D Villiers) and Chilli being the vice cpt to fill his shoes after 2 years.
That leaves us with another few years of threads about Bismarck being benched
12 Oct 2011, 14:50 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-224:
Die groot wit baas het gepraat en almal het geluister.
Simple as that. You get leaders and you get followers. duh Villiers was a follower.
12 Oct 2011, 14:50 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-251:
I am not sure the boy fish will agree with you… or baby fish for that matter
12 Oct 2011, 14:52 pm
@transformation
Used to just read the comments so not sure how to do the reply thing. I read that article as well which is why I wrote that neither Meyer nor Venter would be coach even though they should be. That’s why I think a guy like Venter would be best suited in the technical adviser role as I explained in my next post. I think he would be up for that role as he could still do locum work and get the best of both worlds.
12 Oct 2011, 14:52 pm
@Helen(Helen)-254:
At that stage we’ll be getting thumped by Namibia….if Chilliboy is what we have to look forward to.
12 Oct 2011, 14:56 pm
@Helen(Helen)-254: That really is a step forward isn’t it and that really is transformation right there. Lets keep the best player in his position on the bench because he is the wrong colour. If that happens then SA truly would’ve taken a step backwards selecting an inferior black player because he happens to be the ‘right’ colour. That is just reverse racism.
12 Oct 2011, 15:02 pm
I’d be very interested to see what Mitchell could do…it might end badly but he perhaps more than any other coach, could revolutionise bok rugby, which is what everyone seems to be looked for. There’ll be no kick-chase and an extreme focus on skills and high-intensity and zero players loyalty – could be explosive.
12 Oct 2011, 15:06 pm
We should also buy foreign players to fill the Bok team. It all makes sense now.
12 Oct 2011, 15:08 pm
Mitchell would be the quickest way to try change the Bok mindset and playing style, and he will drive it through like no other, if the players dont play as he wants they will be dropped on the spot. He might not be greatly loved, but he will put winning every test match at top of the agenda, he’s extremely competitive.
With Mitchell, I have no idea what might happen and if his style would ultimately suit SA rugby, but if you really want an agent for change – he is by far the best maverick coach out there – it would be an utter shock to the system.
12 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-160: While Gatland is a good coach, it is Shaun Edwards, the defence coach, who is the real jewel in the current Welsh coaching team.
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-174: as well as possibly being the greatest Springbok ever, Matfield is probably the greatest No.5 lock of all time, he is certainly the greatest lineout forward.
12 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-261: Saffas are far too conservative.
Look at what a foreign coach did for Wales. They are still in the RWC and may even make it to their first ever final. And where are the Boks? Sitting at home now with egg on their faces. That’s how far a ‘homegrown’ coach has got us. F all.
12 Oct 2011, 15:11 pm
@cab(cab)-260: I agree, it could change the whole setup of south african rugby. Saffa coaches could get a wake up call if they see what effect Kiwi influence does on a national level….
12 Oct 2011, 15:13 pm
Right on Cab@260. Professional sport is a dog-eat-dog world. There should be no tolerance for under performance. Only in the good ol’ R of S A, do we attempt or are naïve enough to think we can still succeed with second-rate players and coaches, or anything else for that matter…
12 Oct 2011, 15:14 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-263: Gatland is 100 times better than PdV. His 4 year plan paid off. Wales were getting progressively more competitive every year. Beating England more regularly. Nearly getting the wood over SA many times. Giving the ABs a tough time. And now look where they are now. In the RWC semis while our players will be watching them on tv. PdV did the opposite to a champion team. He’s made them worse and worse.
I’m sure even Henry would’ve killed for the platform PdV inherited. A champion team which can be taken to the next level of dominance. Instead PdV’s let Smitfield take over and turn us into a bunch of palookas.
Kak ANC decision-making. Lets appointment someone hopelessly under-qualified for the job because they happen to have the ‘correct’ skin colour. Reverse racism.
12 Oct 2011, 15:17 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-265:
The thing about Mitchell is he is one of those type A personalites, perhaps not the most amiable fellow but he’s a perfection and actually cannot stand to lose, he has had to take it to an extent at the Lions cos of the player resources but he goes ballistic whenever they lose and that pressure to perform filters down to the players – i reckon this fella can throw his toys royally – but by God if you want the Boks to win each and every test matches and be motivated to do so in a high pressure environment – pick Mitchell.
It would also be quite amusing to see how he reponds to SARU administrators, probably tell them all to get fkd which why they wont pick him, but they should if they want to try something new.
12 Oct 2011, 15:17 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-264:
Great. So we have a Kiwi coach for the Australian, Welsh and New Zealand teams and we should add a forth for the Boks.
I know Canterbury is a Kiwi rugby clothing design but aren’t we taking this a little too far.
Venter or Meyer. Innovative coaches with very impressive credentials. Mitchell has nothing….and he’s…..*shudder* a Kiwi.
12 Oct 2011, 15:18 pm
@cab(cab)-262: Besides he might have a very positive influence and non bias approach to transformation.
And I agree that he wont give the public that BS about judging him before the worldcup. I dont think its in their Kiwi mindset to lose any game. The SA public has been very forgiving in that aspect.
Then again I would really like to hear the reason why Matfield believes that SA is not ready for a foreign coach.
I stll would like to see that Meyer gets the nod, but if he’s not available its good to see Mitchell as the next best thing. He has worked with SA rugby for some time no and is showing results with a mediocre group of players. If he wasnt in the SA setup he wouldnt even been considered.
Does anybody know whether he’s be interested in the first place??
12 Oct 2011, 15:20 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-264:
The wrong homegrown coach. SARU picks on colour..not merit. The Boks were always going to play with one arm and leg tied behind their backs with the affirmative coach.
12 Oct 2011, 15:21 pm
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-267:
Gatland has a 53% win percentage, one 6N trophy and was part of a losing Lions coaching team. Wales have made it to a WC semi and that’s huge, but it hasn’t all been plain sailing. Regardless, he is contracted to Wales in the longer term and while I imagine he has an All Black coaching offer get-out clause, I doubt he has one for the Springboks. Imo if SA are going to opt for a foreign coach Mitchell or Plumtree are more obvious choices.
12 Oct 2011, 15:22 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-269:
Mate, they got a minute population of 3million peoples and knock the **** into everyone else regular as clockwork – not a bad idea to get some of these ideas for a season or two – if nothing other than to broaden the ideas in SA rugby.
12 Oct 2011, 15:23 pm
@rocco(rocco)-266: Bravo my friend. Do you think Henry would’ve picked Smit or FdP?! HELL NO! The ABs know that they need to perform at their best otherwise the next week they will be at home watching the match on tv.
Smit,the fat overbearing egotistical cnut along with his chum Matfield, decided to turn the Boks into an Old Boys club for his mates like FdP, Habana, Burger, Spies, JdV, Bakkies, Butch, Rossouw. They all knew they didn’t have to be on top of their game because Smit would select them.
This must never happen again. We need a no-nonsense coach not tained by the incestuous SA rugby establishment. Someone who does not care about being mates with his players. Someone who the player will respect and work for. If we re-build a culture like that you will see the Boks become a farkin good team.
The way I see it that Meyer is way too conservative as is Coetzee. Venter doesn’t want the job, neither does Mallett. Give it to Mitchell. Give him 2 years and performance clauses. If he doesn’t meet the standards set out in the contract then he must leave. Its very simple.
Had we got rid of PdV in 2010 we might have stood a chance in the RWC.
12 Oct 2011, 15:24 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-269: And if Venter and Meyer dont apply ? And by the way, they wont.
12 Oct 2011, 15:26 pm
If Mitchell does not reach the required performance standard, i reckon he will resign on the spot, you wont need SARU for that. For him, it will be about winning EVERY single test.
12 Oct 2011, 15:27 pm
@cab(cab)-273:
The Boks will never play like the Kiwis…it’s not our style.
12 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
Then, who’s to say Plumtree or Mitchell would even apply or consider such an offer??
12 Oct 2011, 15:30 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-277:
never say never, cant hurt to mix some of that Bok forward strength with some attacking flair, remember the 80s backline with the likes of Gerber, Du Plessis, Mordt, etc – as good if not better than anything NZ or Oz produced, in fact the springboks were so-named because of their fleet-footedness…
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-272: Nope I never said I wanted Gatland. He would never want to lead the Boks in any case. All I’m was doing was espousing the benefits of a foreign coach. For years Wales have been hond kak. Gatland took a kak Welsh team and transformed them into a very good one. If they make it to the RWC final they will most likely leap frog the Boks in the world rankings. I think its expecting a bit much of a coach to get incredible results with such a kak crop of players that he inherited. He’s brought some really good young talent and transformed them.
Wales are playing how the Boks should be playing – with forward dominance mixed with brains and a bit of expansive play when they have laid the platform to run the ball. Even the ball skills are far higher than the Boks these days.
How is it that Habana missed JdV’s offload against Aus by a country mile. Tell me if an AB player would’ve been so poor. Our skill levels are absolutely shite! Its disgraceful. We are laughing stock around the world. Thanks PdV. Thanks Smitfield.
@Jeez(Jeez)-275:
Gert Smal. I’m sure he’ll be supported by the right structures as and when the candidates come forward.
What the Boks are lacking is an intelligent rugby analyst. SARU’s meddling is scaring off potential boffins in the South African rugby fraternity.
12 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-277: to be fair they don’t have to play like the Kiwis, they just need to learn how to attack and score tries. It’s not that complicated but various SA coaches seem to have made it so, even Jake White’s master attacking plan was the intercept.
That said, I don’t see why SA need to hire an overseas coach when teams like the Cheetahs and Griquas have been playing attacking rugby for years under South African coaches (so too the Bulls in ’09 and ’10).
12 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
Mitchell
Mallet
B Venter
the rest are not up to it…..imo.
12 Oct 2011, 15:33 pm
@cab(cab)-279:
I’m optimistic for nexyt year…provided the candidate is picked on merit. Hopefully a leaning towards more open rugby will be encouraged…hopefully.
12 Oct 2011, 15:34 pm
Mitchell
Mallet
Deans
A foreign coach is the bold way forward. A radical mindset change is just what SA rugby needs. A seasoned coach to put in place structures PdV initially thought about, but was railroaded into returning to the tried and tested ossewa mentality..
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-277: Well then if we don’t stop playing our neanderthal, archaic brand of rugby and start adapting to the SH style then we will continue to take the wooden spoon in the 3Ns and crash out of RWC and lose to Ireland or France on tour.
In fact if we don’t do a major overhaul of Bok rugby in the next 4 years we might find ourselves coming 4th in the 4Ns behind the Argies because those okes are catching up fast.
If we continue to think as conservatively as you and say “its not the SA style” then we will continue to be kak.
Even Wales has adopted a more SH style of playing and tell me where are they now?! They’re not at home watching the semis on tv.
12 Oct 2011, 15:35 pm
Give it to Meyer, I agree.
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-274: The trick with NZ rugby is that because the players are paid by the NZRFU , they can dictate the style the unions must play and this is a great advantage to the national coach – for Mitchell to teach more attacking rugby will be an up hill battle especially when you see the different playing styles of each SA union …. Got to start at the top and filter down it is the only way.
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-281: gert smal is contracted with ireland until 2013…. whats your next guess?
12 Oct 2011, 15:37 pm
I firstly wanted Mallet…..
Then after a few moments of reflection……Mitchell…..Although I would be ecstatic if Mallet did make the head coach….I reckon Mitchell is what we need right now…..
B Venter would also be a bloody good choice….very astute…..and fark me he wont take kak from anyone….
@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-287: Wales now have a NZ coach – hats off to the Welsh union for the realisation of change. They are looking awesome for such a young side
gert small actually a damn good forward coach, think ireland a better team than wales.
12 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
@nama1(nama1)-288: no farken ways….skop en jag all over again…..nee dorner nee !!
12 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
@cab(cab)-285: i think Deans is contracted until after the Lions series in 2013, a WC semi has virtually secured his job until then. Of the foreign coaches, Mitchell seems an obvious choice as he has test coaching experience.
12 Oct 2011, 15:40 pm
@grant10(grant10)-294: afternoon grant, hope you’re well, Brendan Venter coaches in the same way, kick and chase.
12 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-282: Fair point. We have dominant forwards that helps to lay the platform for attack but the problem my friend is the mindset and the skill levels.
The Boks need to be coached to offload in the tackle. If Burger had offloaded in the tackle he might not have been turned over leading to an Aus try. Another classic example is Fourie running straight into traffic hoping to burst through as if he is Nonu or SBW. He could’ve gone left instead and tried to step outside and then offloaded as he was being taken down.
In order to attack you need players who like attacking. The problem with the Bok mindset is that they think they look like moffies if they pass the ball before being tackled. While the ABs will pass before they go down. So when an AB player sucks in two defenders, by the time he is on the floor, the ball has passed through the hands of another two players and they are getting closer and closer to the tryline.
We need players not afraid to attack the gainline. Players like Hougaard and Lambie are classic examples. We also need some pacey wingers with good ball skills.
The general standards of coaching has been really poor with Smitfield. Our ball skills have gone to kak. Always fumbling and knocking on. That is unforgivable at this level!
12 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-295:
oh right, thought oz might get booted by the ABs on sat and deans might get sack for mackenzie, but Boks have different strengths that he might be able to add more value to. Agree, of the foreign coaches, and in fact for me where SA rugby is at present, Mitchell is the clear favourite, tho not sure if Lions would give him up, done quite remarkable things in an extremely short space of time.
12 Oct 2011, 15:42 pm
1 chance Saru
1 farken chance….
Dont fark this up gents….
12 Oct 2011, 15:46 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-296: well at least he sees meritt in Schalk Brits and erenst Joubert…..
Far better than fat boy and bloody spies…..
And the bit I have seen from Saracens has been impressive ….and not as sterile as some of the Boks stuff I have been subjected to over last 2 years…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All