KeoTV: Meyer’s the man

RYAN VREDE says it’s Heyneke Meyer’s time to coach the Springboks.

561 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 301.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

Is anyone aware that Mitchell was stabbed in his house last year? His house in Jo’burg was broken into and he obviously got into a scuffle with them. I think got stabbed in the leg. Had to go to hospital. Bit stupid if you ask me. Still it didn’t put him coaching in SA. Hard b*stard. Bet the burglars got bit of a fright when they found out a 6’3 17 stone bald oke lived there!

• 302.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Meyer- because he knows that SA rugby needs change, thats why he is making big changes and rebuilding the bulls structures and style of play. BUT he wont apply.

Mallet- He also has the win every match mentality and will know what went wrong the past 4 years and will know how to transform our rugby. BUT he wont apply for the job either. He has a great track record as a bok coach though…SARU should approach him…

Venter- wont apply and needs anger management before he can even be considered to be in the same room with the SARU bafoons .

Rassie- has his strengths, but is not an all round coach. AND probably wont apply.

AC- too conservative. Will apply.

Mitchell- same mold as Meyer and Mallet. Will he apply for the job? Who knows…

Whose the current under 21 coach? Hell after white and PDV he probably has the best change to get the job.

• 303.Samba Bok: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-298: Yep with f all resources. If he lead the ABs to so many wins I’m sure he can make a positive impact with the Boks.

• 304.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-301:

Far as I remember he was sharing a house at the time with some other bloke,they were drunk(or something like that) at the time when robbers came in.Had a scuffle got stabbed in leg,was a flesh wound though.Was at work next day.

• 305.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

got to love the arrogance of vrede….

as if he knows something about rugby that victor matfield doesn’t?

• 306.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

oh…and matfield turned in one of his finest performances ever last saturday

• 307.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-303:

Yeah and if in his own home country he got fired for acrimonious relationship with administration and sponsors etc he will find it even harder in SA. Different dynamics which wont change with a coach.Reality

He runs a team with a Draconian type style. That wont flu ANYWHERE noe especially international coaching post.

• 308.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-300: I think it may well have been a case of the grass looking greener, under Venter Sarries played a kicking game with a kicking flyhalf (Jackson/Hougaard/Farrell). The other thing is that when they lost Venter would go on referee rants, appointing him would run the risk of clashing with the IRB after every test. Good coach, but not a good fit for the Springbok job.

• 309.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Why is everyone so quick to accuse Meyer of being obsessed with the kick and chase strategy? it couldnt be futher from the truth!

As a coach he adapted to the circumstances of the rules and style of play at the time. Which is what every good coach should do. When he introduced the kick and chase style it was successful. Go and look at the stats. When the rules changed a more expansive game plan was needed -he then appointed a Auzzi backline coach (Todd Louden) and the bulls scored the most tries in 2007 and won the S14. Meyer knows how to evolve

He might have introduced the kick and chase, but he wasnt the guy who continued with it until the end of time. White and PDV is to blame for that and even Ludeke which followed the same outdated formula.

• 310.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-304:

Think I remember something about Mitchell being asleep on the couch.

• 311.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

With SARU, Mitchell will never coach the Bok team. No prizes for guessing how they will pick the next candidate based on the ANC’s insistance on transformation….whether there is anyone or not..

• 312.David: Reply to this comment

@Samba Bok(JayDaFiveOh)-297: Offloading is only half the skill, the other is having support players running into space to take the offload. The problem is that our defence lines are so ingrained into the players psyche that they inhibit that type of support. We need strategies that incorporate attack support with a defensive cover if it breaks down.
    That’s what McKenzie has added to the Reds, who were scoring lots of tries but conceding more.

• 313.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-302: Dawie Theron is the SA under-20 coach, based on the rugby the Griquas played under him, he doesn’t look a bad choice at all.

• 314.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-308:

Seems you are looking for reasons to knock Venter. It’s high time the Boks had a coach with a pair, no.

• 315.David: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-314:
    But that’s so unenglish. :lol:

• 316.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-314: I think Venter is a top coach, it’s inspirational to listen to him talk about rugby and he has a real passion for the sport that’s evident however what I’m trying to get across is that he wouldn’t mark a departure in terms of style from the last decade of SA coaches and would be no less of a media liability than PDV.

• 317.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-308: Yup he’s a loose canon.

This debate about the new coach is encouraging, it just shows how desperate every bok fan is for SARU to get it right this time. Everyone mentioned will probably be 1002402948535935893,000345 times better than Divvy.

So good times are coming. Schalk for captain. Juan Smith vice

• 318.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-308: can only be better than white and he 3 stooges mate….we need a radical overhaul…

• 319.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-313:

Griquas are playing that same sort of rugby now…

I think the very talented SA U20 team losing is a fairer reflection.

Results should determine the next coach.

• 320.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-312:

Very very true.

The offloading skill is redundant when there arent adequate support runners.Big problem in SA. The amount of times NZ wingers come off their wing and fullbacks to give midfielders and halfbacks more options is what makes it offloading so effective.In sa thats almost none existent except on first phase-planned move,Its not an instinct.Due to the fact like you say-stringent roles on defence/offense.

• 321.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-316:

Heck I don’t know to be honest bru. Who is left?

• 322.David: Reply to this comment

To add to my previous post. Having support runners means that every player has to be aware of a developing situation and anticipate what his team mate will probably do. PdeV spoke about playing what’s in front of you when the results showed that the players were incapable of seeing and acting on what was in front of them. That’s just not acceptable in an international player.

• 323.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-319: fair comment

• 324.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

personally, if it is not meyer it most definately must be gert smal.

test match rugby is his middle name.

• 325.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-313: For a change,Id like to see a coach with at least 15 years worth of rugby credentials. Hell look at Graham Henri, he;s almost 80 years old.They should definitely publish each applicants CV to the public. No more coaches with a good track record of a few years. Mallet coached in france for 7 years before coaching in SA. Thats the type of stuff i want to hear. Dawie Theron work to achieve something first.

• 326.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-324: @<a Gert Smal is contracted until 2013

• 327.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I’d suggest that the composite of the assistants is as important as the head coach.

the head coach must have carte blanche to recruit who he deems fit.

…and not another interviewing process whereby SARU hand the new head coach a couple of blokes whom he thinks are idiots.

• 328.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-124:

@Michael(mikeybrass)-223:
    like fox news i just reported it…you decide… :lol:

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-227:
    suddenly pdivy’s divisms take on a whole new shine in a whole new light hehe

or is it a case of stick and stones can break your bones,
    but words can never hurt you? :lol:

• 329.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-326:

well, then he should walk into the irish changeroom and plant one right on declans nose….and get himself fired.

mind you, it’s the irish we are talking about, he might end up getting knighted?

• 330.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

AC can’t be coach, he’s incredibly conservative, he makes the bulls look like they’ve French flair. Mallet seems to rate Rassie but I’m not sure of his pedigree, it’s all well and good being technically astute, it’s nothing matter being to apply yourself as a coach to provide solutions to problems. Meyer is technically sound and to be fair went through a difficult period with the bulls and pulled them put of damnation to success, his only real fault is that he introduced the skop en jag game to SA rugby, Meyer has effectively been coaching the boks for 8 years. To his credit, he has announced that the bulls are overhauling their game to be expansive and skills driven to the extent to which he hired pine Pienaar as head coach. Meyer won’t apply for the bok job, my understanding is nor will Rassie, AC will have pole position for the job and trust the boks will regress even further. I think John Mitchell may throw in his resume but will SARU appoint a foreign coach, and a kiwi at that?! Things are not looking rosy for the boks I must say but let’s wait and see.

• 331.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-330:

the kick chase worked a treat for the bulls….

• 332.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-300: Brits is no international player by any stretch of the imagination. Venter calling him the best is precisely why Venter cannot be head coach.

I’d go with Mitchell if I had a say and non-SA coaches stood a chance, Coetzee as second choice, Meyer as third.

Only thing to do is sit back and see who actually applies. Speculation is fun.

• 333.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-330: I hope Meyer and Pienaar succeed with the upskilling. If they do then it will filter through to the Boks. Skop en jag is out-dated – hell even the Boks didn’t play to it against the Aussies.

• 334.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-330: See post 309. Even though he wont apply.

• 335.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-330:

and, I could further argue…..what has any other coach in Sa implemented positively?

too quickly people forget that in 2009 the kiwis couldn’t catch a frikken ball.
    and apparently not in 2010 superrugby either. Hardly logical to lay the blame on a succesful franchise for the national team failure.It’s supposed to be the other way around….

• 336.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier 331: they worked a treat for the bulls and the boks in 2009, but at what expense?

• 337.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-335: heineken made robots out of morne & brummer!

• 338.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-327:
    absolutely.
    the chain of authority is a beautiful thing if applied properly and to is full potential.

if the guy under you is not performing you sshit all over him.
    if you are not performing your immediate superior sshits all over you.
    if he’s not performing then his superior sshits all over him.

when there’s a potential factory line of sshiting all the way from the top to the bottom then can be no excuses and no where to hide because when the sshit flies it flies all over.

saru must be made to submit to some sort of sshit exposure line hierarchy, this is the key to our success.

• 339.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-335: It’s so successful and correct that the Meyer is departing from the script.
    No,it is time we get back to where we were in the 80s – strong, skilled forwards and backs who were not just good defenders but also highly skilled attackers.

• 340.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-336:

meyer was paid to make the bulls succesful…not the boks.

hardly his fault that the boks have a coach with no clue and no backbone who left it up to the players to sort it out. all the players could then do was stick to what they know had worked for them before….

• 341.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-340: It didn’t work for the Bulls this year and Meyer has decided to evolve the game plan.

• 342.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

hehehe aahhhh grant…you really are such a drama queen.

• 343.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier: I’m not blaming Meyer for the bok woes, I just believe that Jake white and PdV were incompetent and as such merely took from meyer’s handbook. People forget that the bok backline under AC was not flash at all to the extent to Eddie jones had to be brought in to fix the issue. Meyer as I’ve said is probably the most revolutionary of SA coaches, a real thinker of the game, I may disagree with some of his philosophies but that doesn’t take away from the fact that he’s a quality coach. Plumtree can’t be allowed near any national team, AC will kill the idea that the purpose of approaching the tryline with ball in hand is to cross it, venter is just plain crazy saru won’t touch him, Rassie I’m iffy about as he’s the director of rugby at WP, John Mitchell would have to be the number 1 choice, there’s no one else, mallet and Meyer won’t apply.

• 344.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-337:

brummer is pish, morne is a legend who holds almost all superrugby records and bok ones for that matter.

biggest problem with bok rugby has been our 12. have any of our flyhalfs in the last 8 years looked good next to jean devilliers? hardly ever.

wako jaco looked brialliant in 2004 with div on the wing.
    2005 he comes into 12….waco jaco drops out of sight.
    likewise with pretorius
    likewise with butch, who looked brialiant with steyn at 12 in 2007.
    and likewise with morne these past few weeks who was looking good with steyn outside him

• 345.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-338:

…couldn’t have put it better myself!

• 346.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier: I’ll accept that there’s something very suspicious in how jdv plays but Morne Steyn does not help matters by securing himself in the pocket and showing little variation.

• 347.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-343:

I agree, Mitch would be brilliant for the boks….unfortunately, I’m not sure if he would be able to chew the cud with the saru boers enough, so will get stabbed in the back every week.

Meyer, will not apply…..the only way he’ll take the job is if SARU come hat in hand and beg him to take the job. Which may not be a bad thing because they would then have to concede plenty to him withregards to many of the proffessional rugby making decisions and he would have carte blanche…

• 348.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-346: JdV annoys me. He can attack and do it very well. He showed it against the Sharks in the S14 and in a line break against the Aussies (with the contentious forward pass). It seems like he consciously goes against his instincts. JdJ is the way forward at 12 if Steyn is unavailable.

• 349.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Brigadier: we both know that SARU won’t give the keys to the castle on a silver platter to Meyer not in this life time, and heyneke knows, and I think that’s why he’s sticking with the bulls so he can effect his new experiment I do hope it works as it’ll add a dimension to bok rugby. The boks just cannot have AC as coach, the boks will be finished.

• 350.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-346:

….he certainly does not have the speed off the mark that carter has and does not cut attackers in half in the tackle but give him quick frontfoot ball and 9 out of 10 times he’ll end up on the winning team.

remember, wilkenson also looked like a legend behind the big pack of 2002/3 and the kiwi pack also always secures quick ball. where was cooper this past weekend?

Personally, I really like the look of this new freestate okey but i want to see him in superrugby first.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.