Lame legacy for spineless De Villiers

RYAN VREDE writes that Peter de Villiers styled himself as the puppet master for the Springboks but ended his reign as no more than a puppet.

De Villiers wanted his legacy to be about evolving the Springboks tactically and implementing meaningful transformation. He failed on both counts and will be remembered for his lack of backbone in resisting the agenda of his senior players, poor selections, technical ineptitude and embarrassing media offerings.

The Springboks crashed out of the World Cup at the quarter-final stage on Sunday, equalling their worst-ever performance at the global showpiece. Defeat to Australia was neither surprising nor disgraceful, but it is a fitting exit point a coach as ill-equipped as De Villiers was.

I overheard him speaking to a group of people in the Springboks’ team hotel last week. ‘I’ve been building towards this for four years,’ he said. ‘After this I don’t want to see a rugby ball.’

He shouldn’t have seen one at Test level in the first place. De Villiers was selected ahead of a far superior candidate, Heyneke Meyer. South African Rugby union president Oregan Hoskins said the decision was motivated by the need to have a black coach. Four years later Hoskins and his provincial presidents are still in power, while De Villiers will struggle to find a job with an elite franchise and will never coach a major Test nation again.

From the outset of his tenure he positioned himself as the antithesis to former coach, Jake White. He expressed strong views on a range of subjects relating to the Springboks, most notably stressing that they would play a more expansive brand of rugby and committing to improve what he said was a slow rate of transformation under White. The former ideal was shelved after one abysmal season, the senior players, most notably Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez, engineered a shift to more pragmatic approach.

Meanwhile De Villiers window-dressed beautifully with regards to the introduction of black players, without implementing any meaningful change. The core of his preferred side was the one that won the World Cup for White. Beast Mtawarira is Zimbabwean born, Odwa Ndungane was Test impostor and Chiliboy Ralepelle still knows more about the composition of tackle bags than he does about the rigours of Test rugby.

De Villiers’ record – Played 48 Won 30 Lost 18 (62.5%) – is poor, especially since he has had the finest generation of players in some time at his disposal. Examine his record against Australia and New Zealand, the benchmark against which the Springboks should measure themselves, and his mediocrity is starkly illuminated. Four wins from 12 against the Wallabies and five from 11 against the All Blacks is utterly unacceptable.

De Villiers enjoyed great success in 2009, beating the British & Irish Lions and later capturing the Tri-Nations title. However, by that stage the puppets had realised the puppet master’s lack of aptitude in handling them. They cut the strings and reattached them to his appendages.

Those players then duly decided for themselves they had a World Cup left in them. A more astute coach would have recognised they reached the very peak of their powers – particularly in the case of John Smit, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha. He claimed experience would be crucial at the World Cup. Experience, however, counts for very little when you lack the physical ability to execute the lessons experience has taught.

The Lions series also saw the nadir in De Villiers’ flirtations with insanity during press conferences. In the post-match gathering after the second Test he vehemently denied Schalk Burger has eye-gouged Luke Fitzgerald, despite video evidence showing he had. This incensed the travelling media contingent, who asked him about the incident once more on the following Monday, offering him a shot at redemption. De Villiers delivered a series of embarrassing rebuttals, none more so than: ‘If we wanted to eye gouge Lions, we would go to the bush, find some and do it there.’

Never must a political agenda, any agenda for that matter, take precedence over rugby credentials when selecting a Springbok coach. Those who drove De Villiers’ cause are the same men who desperately sought the assistance of Rassie Erasmus ahead of the World Cup to compensate for what their chosen one lacked in technical and tactical skill. They need to be accountable, Hoskins more than any.

However, De Villiers cannot be mitigated. He must be measured by the standards he has set. His repertoire of one-liners is impressive, his favourite being: ‘Even the bad days are good.’ On the contrary, the bad days have been very bad, none more so than in Wellington on Sunday.

By Ryan Vrede, in Auckland

Follow Ryan’s World Cup coverage on Twitter

483 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 201.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-197: you are assuming I meant the semi’s…..I was referring to the match played on 7th May. I should have mentioned this in my first posting.

http://www.sarugby.net/matchbreakdown.aspx?id=19696&category=&leagueid=795&homeid=8388&awayid=8395&fullview=true

• 202.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-195:

You speak about losing to the Crusaders A team affected by a few injuries as a being a disgrace. Kinda funny , could swear the Crusaders are like the Griffons or something.

Allister had his glory when he won the SA Conference in Super 15 2011. Beating Bulls and Sharks in 6 out of 8 games this season. And going up to the Shark tank recently with laaties like Kolisi and Catriakilis facing up to veterans such as Meyer Bosman , Jean Deysel and MArius Joubert and winning.

• 203.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-202: That is a low measure of success.

He still hasn’t won any-thing.

• 204.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-201:

I figured you meant that one… and then pointed out that this was also not a C team.

The Crusaders load up on talented players. They’re like a better version of the Bulls. Not only do they produce talented players, they buy them in from all across New Zealand to build their depth.

Losing to a Crusaders team with a handful of injuries is nothing to be ashamed about. You should rather focus on his 7 from 8 record against South African teams, winning away from home, finishing very near the top of the table and playing in a semi-final.

It was an unwarranted attack on a coach who did quite well with a front-row that rates as one of the worst, if not the worst in the competition. The Crusaders were a better, stronger more balanced team, simple as that.

• 205.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-203:

Im not rooting for him to be Bok coach , but not gonna have him dismissed as being sh*t or average.

• 206.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-200: Id say that a team missing Carter and Mc Caw and who ended the game with a forward playing in the backline was severely weakened. I remember reading a few articles stating what I stated in my posting (they likened it to a Saders C team). But I think you are missing the big picture here…..in MY opinion AC is not good enough. he has been found wanting. Maybe a good assistant coach but definitely not Number 1. I also read your posts yesterday being very critical of a foreign coach. I respect your opinion on that…I just consider it small mind thinking. SA has a wealth of talent. if it takes a foreigner to get us to No.1 then why not? Look what Mitchell has achieved with no name brands? 2 years ago they were a walking bonus point. Give him more time and you will see. But I too think that Meyer will also do a brilliant job.

• 207.Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011: Reply to this comment

A Coetzee f’tup EP about 10 years ago when he took over from Nelie Smith. Ep went from 5th in SA to nr 14 in the following year. He rides on the back of Rassie & also was a puppet for jake!

• 208.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-204: why are you measuring his success against local teams? His success should be judged against how he does versus non SA teams.

• 209.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-206:

The Lions are going to get their behinds kicked HARD in the Super 15. John Mitchell had his chance with the 03 All Blacks, when McCaw was at his prime and they had plenty of talent, and he didn’t cut it. The Lions team are doing alright in a tournament resembling the Vodacom Cup. They won’t do as well come Super Rugby season.

The Crusaders had enough depth to cope without them. We don’t call the Stormers a C team when they play without Schalk Burger and Peter Grant, and that Crusaders team is full of All Blacks.

@Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011(p0ppa69)-207:

-_-

• 210.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-45:

boet u are farking nuts, vrede knws **** all bout rugby, if there is one more person who is more annoying then PDV its Ryan Vrede

btw this is another useless Farking article Vrede

• 211.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-209: just look at the facts. The Lions have improved. Sure…I look forward to seeing how the Lions do in the next S15. In the meantime Mitchell seems to be out smarting AC. I think the Lions wiped his team last weekend? My point is that AC is a VERY average coach and its quite sad to hear him being touted as the next Bok coach. I am sure he is a nice man. But we need the best coach….not a nice man.

• 212.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-208:

I don’t see how it matters, the SA teams were worthy opposition, but here goes.

Away Games.
    Smashed Rebels 40 – 3
    Beat Brumbies 16 – 3
    Beat Blues 28 – 26. Excellent comeback.
    Narrowly lost to Chiefs 30 – 23.

Home Games. (excluding crusaders)
    Lost to eventual winners the Reds 19 to 6.
    Smashed the Western Force 51 to 16.
    Beat the Highlanders 18 to 6.

Lost 2 home game against overseas opposition, both who were finalists. Won 3 from 4 away from home.

Perspective?

• 213.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-210:

I was being sarcastic. Vrede is a fool.

• 214.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-211:

I showed you what AC did against overseas opposition… waiting for your response.

• 215.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Coetzee and WP could hardly score tries in this years Super 15.

Boring team.

• 216.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-212: i am not here to change your opinion…far from it. IMO 2 home losses to the Saders and a home loss to the Reds is proof enough. And that 2nd half implosion versus the Chiefs was not ideal too. Brumbies, Force and Rebels were not exactly the strongest teams were they? Sorry mate but I am comparing like with like and when it came to the crunch The Stormers did not deliver. The nearly team of SA. For the amount of talent in the Cape (so much that the Bulls buy a few) they are huge UNDER achievers. And yes I do blame that on the coaching and administration. And as head coach AC should take responsibility for that under achievement. So to punt him as the next Bok coach is a joke.

• 217.Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011: Reply to this comment

Boks backline was also boring under Coetzee when he was backline coach!

• 218.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-215:

Effective more like it.

Score some tries with that defense and they’ll dominate.

His record in this years S15 should speak for itself.

• 219.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Coetzee have won nothing with WP, he is not good enough to be bok coach.

Unless those plascon double velvet trophies pre season count.

• 220.Bismarck Burger: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-219: If this logic is applied then Meyer is the worst candidate – he took years to raise the Bulls to glory.

• 221.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-213:

ok thank goodness hahah…..
    u sir have the right idea about vrede

• 222.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-215:

So boring they won 7 out of 8 local derbies in Super 15.

So boring they were the only SA team in the semi’s.

Bla Bla bla

• 223.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-220:

Agree!

• 224.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-216:

I pointed out that his teams performances against overseas opposition were good, and now you just ignore it. Okay then. I don’t think 3 from 4 overseas (or 75%) has ever been done by a South African S15 team, but believe what you want.

You’d rather have John Mitchell. The guy who failed to win a World Cup with one of the most talented All Blacks teams. Who was involved in all sorts of scandals while in charge of the All Blacks, including something to do with prostitution – whether it’s true or not I don’t know.

Who’s team is going to get smashed in the upcoming Super 15.

Makes no sense to me, but go on.

• 225.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-222:

Sharks where bridesmaids for years in super rugby under coaches not worth sh it.

They even reached a final and was minutes away from the trophy with D ick in charge.

Not good enough buddy.

• 226.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Considering Allister Coetzee’s record, and the support he’s gotten from someone like Victor Matfield, I’m coming around to him being the next Springbok coach.

Bring in AC quick as possible!! Might even get Jaque Fourie to stick around if they don’t fark around.

• 227.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

in a dream world we would do anythin possible to have eddie jones as coach, but i cant c that happening, in that case i would like to c the following appointments

Head Coach : John Mitchell
    Backline Coah : Brendan Venter
    Fowards Coach : Naka Drotske….. ( in my world id pick Kobus V…. HAHAHA, HE WOULD SCARE THE KAK OUTTA THOSE OKES)
    Technical Coach : Rassie
    Kicking Coach : Percy
    Fitness Coach ; Me …..in the industry, should send me CV in infact hahaha

but dont be suprised to c paul treu involved there in some position word is that he is tipped for some involvment

• 228.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-226: you are living proof that if you give an idiot enough rope then eventually they hang themselves.

• 229.Boks_B_to_win_RWC_2011: Reply to this comment

P treu?? wtf? he is a sevens coach! its like making the SA indoor cricket coach the coach of the proteas! … please take away “the Bok” and make it the proteas before the kak spat!

• 230.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-219:

What did Mallett win with Boland?
    What did Makgraaf win with Griquas)Vodacom Cup)??

• 231.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-228:

Obviously not. You are the one making up stories and claiming it to be fact. Then when I prove you wrong, you change your mind, set your standards even higher.

Losing to the 2 Super 15 finalists, who both looked like champions, does not make AC a bad coach.

So stop your lies.

• 232.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-230:

XV, you can learn from mshiniwami. A man with some brains. Someone that can reason. That can debate. Not make up BS and then make suicide jokes when they prove you wrong.

• 233.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

John Mitchell is playing a Super 15 Lions team in the Currie Cup…In a World Cup year…. And you think he is the man?

• 234.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-154:

Thanks Tassies bud…

sorry for late response… had to dash to a meeting…

• 235.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-231: my last post to you….I am measuring AC against the top teams. Not the mediocre ones that you are. I am not ‘making up stories’. Just stating MY opinion. Just because I do not agree with you does NOT mean that I cannot reason.

• 236.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-233:

i think ppl who want mitchell as coach is to do with his rugby knowledge, insight , analisis, different views and clever apporach to the game,

we need someone outside sa who has the balls to throw the skop and chase approach away and back players who are willing to play rugga the way we are able to play it and the way it was meant to be played

a guy like mitchell will get rid of the drift wood like spies, habana etc and we would have a coach who will finally back guys like mvovo alberts etc, plus bring in new young blood like josh strauss johan goosen as well as sias and robert erboshon……

anyways mitchell will be good for our rugby, holding thumbs he cracks the nod

• 237.XV: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-233: they were considered a CC team before the S15 season. Good to see that you now rate them s15 material. Lets see what they do when the Boks return.

• 238.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-235:

Obviously can’t if you are okay with Mitchell’s record against mediocre opposition, but have higher standards for Allister Coetzee.

I’ll leave it at that. Don’t go making false statements, or I’ll point it out.

• 239.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-236:

Alberts, yes. Goosen, yes. But the rest you mentioned shouldn’t be near the squad at this stage.

The way Mvovo had circles run around him in Australasia was embarrassing.

• 240.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-236:

I hear you.

I want the Boks to play total rugby instead of this boring kick n chase we have seen for years ,Mitchell can make this happpen and will be a good candidate for a fresh start , but for the people who talk up John Mitchell and dismiss Allister Coetzee are a bit short sighted to say the least .

What has John Mitchell done in 3 years at the Western Force and his time at the Lions to suggest he is a better man for the job than Allister Coetzee ??

• 241.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-230:

Exactly!

• 242.XV: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-238: false statements. FO you ****. Your IQ is limited at best. Go stick your head back up your arse.

• 243.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-239:

mvovo will develop im sure, plus i also hope van der heever becomes something

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-240:

AC could do the job no doubt but with regards to mitchells record same must b applied to AC’s then, miotchell IMO did turn the force into somethin of a giant killer as such, and performed well with him at the helm, and with the lions i think this yrs CC speaks for itself, but that being said i think i think his big test will come semi final time and if the lions make it to the final then again c what happens there, cuz if he is able to win the cc with that side who were at one stage as usefull as a bunch of blind wind surfers i think he is then well suited for the job

• 244.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

RYAN

Have just logged on and seen that heading, haven’t read anything yet, but that is cruel and nasty, his time is over and i am sure he feels bad, you dont have to be so nasty or do you ?

• 245.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-244:

ryan vrede is in doosh…..he is a “h o m o s e x u a l Astronaut”

• 246.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-242:

Very mature. I’ll keep trucking with my supposedly limited IQ.

• 247.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-239:

Its funny how you use Mvovo’s Australiasian Tour to his detriment then completely exempt Ruan Pienaar who has even more performances in green jumper in the mediocre/embarrassing column.

tisk tisk

• 248.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-247:

I thought Ruan did alright. He played behind a pack who got completely dominated, even by Australia, and still was one of the few players who came away from those games without looking silly. Thought the same thing about Wynand Olivier – he looked pretty good.

I just don’t think Mvovo cuts it in terms of skill. Give him the ball, and he’s dangerous on his feet, but he doesn’t bring enough in other parts of the game to be a Springbok. That is my opinion on him.

Think Mapoe could be a really good winger if he settles.

• 249.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-244: Well said Tree. Nice one.

• 250.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

110% agree withh this article. The puppett hass badlyy managedd somee great talent in hiss time as coach

Heinkie vd Merwe – Most destructivee loosehead in SA.

Schalk Britz…Bestt impactt playerr off the benchh..worlds best runningg hooker

BJ Bothaa..best Tightheadd still..

Pierre Spies…aheadd of Alberts???? Spies should be at 12..

Pat Lambie..shouldd be at 10…closerst thingg we havee to a dan Carter

Fourie du Preez….aheadd of sarel Pretoriuss?? who hass the formm

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.