Currie Cup latest – Sharks reel in Boks

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Sharks reel in Boks – John Plumtree has included six Springboks in his match 22 for their clash against the Lions in Durban.

Fullback Pat Lambie and wing Odwa Ndungane are the only returned Boks who make the starting line-up. Hooker Bismarck du Plessis, prop Jannie du Plessis, loose forward Willem Alberts abd wing JP Pietersen were named on the bench.

Sharks – 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Marius Joubert, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Conrad Hoffmann, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Jean Deysel, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Eugene van Staden.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 JP Pietersen.

33 Comments

• 1.ufo: Reply to this comment

OH MY G:O:D…

BISMARCK ON THE BENCH….!!!

AND HE’S THE BEST HOOKER IS THE HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSE…!!

WHAT THE FARK IS GOING ON??? HOW CAN HE BE RELEGATED TO THE BENCH AT PROVINCIAL LEVEL???

PLUMTREE IS AS BIG A D@@S AS PDIVVY!!!

• 2.HHS: Reply to this comment

Midfield still their biggest problem. Where is baas Bosman?

• 3.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

agreee

• 4.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

not half as f’ng big a DOOS as these blinder than bat f’ng Ra Ra black sheep Smitty fckd up apologists…

• 5.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-1:
    Farking relax dude.

Those boks have just flown half way round the world to get back home after a quarterfinal loss in a world cup. And him and the rest of the benched boks havnt been training with the Sharks for the past few weeks either.

Plum knows exactly what he’s doing in putting these guys on the bench this week and then look to start them in the semis next week.

What you have failed to recognise and what is more concerning is that Plum has picked possibly the oldest and slowest 12/13/14 combo in the history of the game.
    I do hope Stef and Odwa retire at the end of this year. Please plum grant me that one wish.

• 6.ufo: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-5:

i’m relaxed dude…

just wondering if any of those who’ve been criticising PdV would have the honesty to criticise plum tree for the same thing…

obviously not hey…?

can hardly say bissy needs the break… cause everyone said he should’ve played the full 80 for every game… so he must be fresh as a daisy…

you can’t say he hasn’t practised etc… either… cause neither has lambie…

so if divvy is the so bad for putting smit above him… i find it very revealing that none of these people have the integrity to comment on the fact the plumtree is putting burden above bissy…

• 7.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-6:
    Its a very different scenario to that of the Boks. Plum had a word with all the returning Boks and said that they would feature off the bench for the first game against a Lions B team and then they WILL start in the Semis.

You cant honestly say that Plum thinks Coetzee is better than Alberts and that Herbst is better than Jannie?
    There is a definite plan here to get them back into the groove with the Sharks, get them used to all the calls etc and then unleash them in the Semis.

As for Lambie, he has been forced to play through injuries to others.
    Bosman and Adi and Ludik are out injured, which has forced Plum to play Joubert at 12, Stef at 13 and Lambie at 15.
    Had Ludick been fit, he would have played 15 and Lambie would have take JLPs place on the bench.

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-7:

cool….

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-6: you are reaching and quite frankly embarrassing yourself… :D

• 10.Craven: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-2: He is out injured.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-7: What you said!

• 12.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Craven(Craven)-10: Big loss compared to Joubert :P

• 13.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

That is one strong and powerful Sharks team. Six loosies in that 22!

• 14.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-7: Why then does Lambie and Odwa start ? Plum is doing the same as PDv , if Smit was there who do you think will play in the Semi’s ?

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-9:

hehehe… thank you for your opinion transie… :wink:

that first post was a poor imitation of those who shout their opinions all the time…

but the only embarrassment should be for those who insist bissy should play 80 minutes in every game when Pdv is the coach but have no problem with him warming the bench for burden…

they said it… not me…

and pdv also had a plan… and that plan did all but win the game against aus… many have expressed their opinion that the ref lost the game for us… i don’t share that view…

but just illustrating that there are clearly two set of standards here… one reserved for pdv and one for everyone else…

deny it all you like…

i could suggest that you’d be embarrassing yourself to do so…

but i won’t… :wink:

• 16.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-14:
    I explained why Lambie is starting.
    I dont really know why Odwa is starting, perhaps because he got absolutely no game time in th WC and probably shouldnt have been there in the first place.
    I would liked to have seen Sithole stay in the mix. Prinlsoo as well. I think the Sharks have the weakest 12/13/14 combo in the entire CC for this game. Honestly.
    If Smit was still there? I have no idea what Plum would have done in the Semis.

• 17.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

a few people trying to kick up their own hornet’s nest here.

No controversy here, move along.

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-15: it’s amusing that you suggest something “two sets of standards” and the you subseqently recommend what my answer should be “deny it all you like” and the finish off by conviniently thrashing my supposed answer “i could suggest that you’d be embarrassing yourself to do so”. :D

john galt dealt with you at #7…nuff said :razz:

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-17: ;)

• 20.ufo: Reply to this comment

a few people trying to make out they’re not hypocrites here…

we’ve heard for over two years that bissy must start every game… from sharks fans during the s15 and from bok fans too?

and now…?

the silence is revealing…

• 21.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Kick up that nest.

And get stung on your ***.

The main flaw in your argument:

Exhibit 1 – Plumtree knows Bismark is better than Burden.

Exhibit 2 – PdV said Smit was the best hooker in the world.

No contest.

I win.

Nothing sinister in it.

But keep kicking up that [imaginary] nest if you want.

• 22.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-18:

sheesh… talk about a nonsensical reply… :roll:

there ARE two sets of standards in play here… you and they are denying it…

spin it any which way you like till you get dizzy for all i care…

the only thing you are john have dealt is fudge…

• 23.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-21:

i’m not talking about why pdv or plummo are doing what they’re doing…

i’m talking about the reaction (or not) from all you experts and how you and the others told us over and over that bismarck must start every game…. you told us that for the sharks and for the boks…

not one of you qualified your statements…

you simply said things like bissy should play 80 minutes of every game… you’re the guys who shouted so long and hard about it… so i’m just finding out if you’re men of your words….

i have my answer… :wink:

• 24.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

All the Shark’s Bokke and all the Shark’s men couldn’t put them in the final again.

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-22: in your zeal to be proved right you’re losing the plot., re-read john galt’s post at #7 and consider yourself dealt with tl tl tl.

• 26.RL: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-16:

Correct

Old, slow and kak …. and with Bambie there, playing in his preferred position that has to be the slowest most useless backline around.

• 27.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

What a stupid backline surley bosman should have been at 12? I would have gone for:

15 Steffan Terblanche
    14 JP Pietersen
    13 Marius Joubert
    12 Meyer Bosman
    11 Lwazi Mvovo
    10 Fredrick Michalak
    9 Conrd Hoffman
    8 Ryan Kankowski
    7 Jean Deysel
    6 Keegean Daniel
    5 Ross Skeate
    4 Willem Alberts
    3 Wiehahn Herbst
    2 Bismark Du Plessis
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Craig Burden
    17 Jannie Du Plessis
    18 Marcel Coetzee
    19 Jaques Botes
    20 Charl Mcloed
    21 Patrick Lambie
    22 Louis Ludik

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-27: from elsewhere “Two new players have been confirmed out after last weekend’s game against the Leopards, with a third also finally confirmed as being on the injured list.

Meyer Bosman is the most serious of these, having sustained a fracture to his cheek on Saturday night. The big centre-***-flyhalf’s season would appear to be over, while Adi Jacobs, so impressive as Bosman’s centre partner on Saturday, has been ruled out for a fortnight or so with a hamstring strain”

• 29.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

this is what im talking about. now, its time for proper rugby.

• 30.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Yip… Bambie and the slowest backline cannot beat this awesome fast Lions team!! No way… The Lions are top of the CC log!! With no Springboks involved! That’s no mean feat!!

• 31.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Looks like Plum is listening to me and keeping Lambighini in the position he has now made his own – Full Back.

Good one Plum!

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-31: next thing michalak is going to get crocked and lambie will move to 10 & you will change your tune.

• 33.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-32: Why will I change my tune? Lambie must now stay at 15 unless a huge emergency at 10… Nothing wrong with JLP at 10 as backup to Michalak. Granted nether are good as Lambie at 10, but he is the best 15 in the country and he should now stay there.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.