KeoTV: Boks need four-year focus

MARK KEOHANE says the Springboks have to start getting it right between World Cups.

567 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

• 401.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-395:

….on the plus side, your boys have a serious shot at the CC season.

you must be starting to sweate.

surely you won’t bottle it like 2002 this time?

• 402.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-343:

I was thinking that too!

• 403.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-345:

The joke is on the spring boks!

• 404.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-403: i see the kiwis are trying to put ideas in craig’s mind :D

New Zealand pressure referee Joubert on breakdown rules
    Sapa-AFP | 13 October, 2011 07:14

New Zealand assistant coach Steve Hansen has ratcheted up the pressure on referee Craig Joubert to prevent a free for all at the breakdown in this weekend’s World Cup semi-final with Australia.

Hansen was critical Thursday of Kiwi referee Bryce Lawrence’s officiating of the rucks, where Wallaby openside flanker David Pocock dominated, during Australia’s gripping 11-9 quarter-final win over defending champions South Africa last weekend.

Lawrence has copped considerable stick, particularly from South Africa, over his performance, but New Zealand are wary of Pocock’s mastery in foraging for turnover ball.

South African official Joubert will control Sunday’s semi-final at Eden Park and Hansen said it was important for the crucial breakdown battle to be adjudicated in line with rugby’s rules.

“Joubert’s pretty good (refereeing the breakdown), but how he’s going to do it on Sunday night, we don’t know,” Hansen told reporters.

“He’s human and he’ll make decisions based on what he thinks he’s seeing and it’s pretty clear what you’re allowed to do, but you get variation every week, don’t you?”

Hansen joined in criticism of Lawrence’s performance in Wellington where Pocock played a decisive role in a backs-to-the-wall win over the Springboks.

“I would say that Bryce (Lawrence) is probably a little disappointed with how he did it last week,” he said.

“I think Bryce was (a bit lenient). You’re not allowed to go off your feet at the breakdown and you’re not allowed to hang on to the ball after the ruck is formed and let it go.”

Pocock’s battle with the All Blacks’ champion number seven Richie McCaw will be one of the intriguing sub-plots of Sunday’s showdown to decide a place in the October 23 final.

In contrast to Hansen, Wallabies’ coaching co-ordinator David Nucifora had no issues with Lawrence’s officiating last weekend.

“I thought the referee did a fine job, no problem from where we were sitting, I thought it was consistent for both teams,” he said.

And in a parting barb, Nucifora added: “I’m sure Steve (Hansen) has seen enough of number sevens (McCaw) pushing the boundaries, he knows how it works.”

• 405.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-402:

it is the only logical conclusion.

joubert will police the breakdown like **** tracy on steroids….and after that it’s all over for the ozzies.

unless piri kicks like a twat and bottles it again for the kiwis…which also isn’t out of the question.

if ever the kiwis have been shown up for being a one man team it is whithout carter.

• 406.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

doesn’t that nuciforia oke work for the ozzies at the moment?

• 407.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-377:

That pass was forward no doubt and did not need to be confused with its momentum.

• 408.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-406: ja, has been there with dingo all along

• 409.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-395:

Just reinforcing what transformation is trying to prove.

• 410.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-401:
    anything can happen.
    the bulls could even make the playoffs.

• 411.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-404:

They are going to try and get joubert to undo bryce. Joubert has made some wonderful rulings in his time.

Dickinson is way better than joubert at the breakdown….i am afraid jobert is going to screw up this weekend.

Bryce was at least consistent to both teams…just boks did not have a pocock on their side!

• 412.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Head coach: John Mitchell
    Attack coach: Eddie jones
    Forwards coach: Ewan mckenzie
    Skills and conditioning coach: Paul Treu
    Defense coach: Jacque Nienaber
    Scrum coach: mike cron

With that boks have just won the 2015 WC, done!

• 413.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-405:

Jobert does not know what a breakdown looks like or a headbutt!

But having said that richie and pocock will work out the ref in the first 20 minutes..they will forgo a couple of penalties.
    The saffa in jobert is going to get the better of him…he wants revenge! :lol:

• 414.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

What is funny here and hansen being a doos is that he is asking jobert to watch the breakdown like a hawk…guess who is the renowned cheat! He should leave it as it is and let the two 7s sort it out.
    Cutting off the nose to spite his face!

• 415.pie eater: Reply to this comment

You aren’t surely trying to suggest that a college boy may be bias?

• 416.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Hell’s Shame(Helen’s Game)-392: @Transfornication-399:

Poor, sad, stupid, foolish fools just a big pity you can Bostik absolutely nothing.

However,I must add that without it you crawling, burrowing, squirmy, creamy and brown-nosed maggots, flukeworms, flatworms, roundworms or more cannot do without the humind, cosy warmth and such delightful nourishment that it provides for you. Without it your lives are worthless and meaningless. So keep feeding magnificent maggots.
    If you are ever able to transform(better still transfornicate)into humanoid forms you can place that on your hamburger buns.
    It was written in the stars that ‘gatlekkers’ would coalesce and suffer much disaster too.

Four for four so say no more you wimps.

If you stick around you may see the instigation or stimulation of another new disaster even today.
    Just watch IOL.

• 417.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Ho

Ho

Ho

Wait to knickerless reads that.

A bit lenient hey?

We wouldn’t want craig to be a “bit lenient” with the aussies this weekend.

Would we?

• 418.pie eater: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-414: All except his key cheat is not 100% (more like 30%) and is more their to prop up the fragile worldcup kiwi psyche!

Some would say it makes excellent sense. Also nothing wrong with re-itterating how poor Bryce was to an SA ref

• 419.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-395: ja, you got him solid there Katters, i was rolling on the floor here in his zeal to thrash everything Saffa he is fumbling big time lately our Jim Carrey :D

• 420.Tuna: Reply to this comment

WTF happend to our Kiwi friends on here? Farken sour worms. Is it side effects of their rubbish domestic rugby competition? Eish…

• 421.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-417: :D these antipodeans don’t know our craig…remember s14 final at orlando stadium where our craig was shouting “NUMBER 6 BLUE, HANDS OFF, LET GO” the whole afternoon?

where after the game schalk couldn’t help himself but take potshots at our craig?

it’s going to get bumpy ;)

• 422.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-410:

doubt it, the wp game was 50/50 for the weekend….but with them getting all their boks back they should win it easily

• 423.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-411:

bryce was consistent…errm, yes, that is exactly what won you boys the game.

because when one team has 40% more ball, means they are getting screwed 40% more of the time at the breakdown.

• 424.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-421:

Blackie won’t mind if craig stuffs them.

Its all about taking your chances innit?

• 425.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-424:

classic

• 426.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-421:

joubert has always rewarded the dominant team at the breakdown.

flooding the breakdown with joubert is what it is all about.

• 427.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@pie eater(pie eater)-418:
    ja, thats probably why he suddenly has concerns to voice to the ref ahead of the game. they know reechee’s not 100%.
    sneaky keewee’s.

i dont know who’s deserving of the loss more between the two.
    can never beat us fair and square, like real men.

always the low stuff…and then they strut about after the games against us…wow!…hang your heads in shame…

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-422:
    stranger thing have happened…just saying.

• 428.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Go Biff :)

• 429.ufo: Reply to this comment

Dawn…

that emails a hoax…

winds for the weekend around 20km/h saturday, 17 – 25 sunday… 35 sunday night

• 430.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-428:

Lol, not the best of start!

• 431.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-430:

More disaster?

• 432.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-430:

He shouldn’t be playing.

Should have had more time to get himself into some kind of form.

• 433.pie eater: Reply to this comment

@once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-427: A bit harsh maybe as both have beaten the boks fairly, however that defeat was nothing but ignominious.

watch this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2oJlaPyU8o

• 434.Gunther: Reply to this comment

Fok.

• 435.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Gunt(‘C’ for G)-432:

Excuses already?

” are we talking saru or SPECTRE here?”

Are both not spectacularly scary?

Have you decided which is to become your permanent passport?

And another one bites the dust against unknown, rebuilding Aussies.

• 436.Robzim: Reply to this comment

This aussie lighty seems quite brisk?

• 437.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-436:

oh well, brisk to the boundary too

• 438.Gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-436:

Indeed about steyns pace.

Bollinger is looking more dangerous though.

Doing more with the ball.

• 439.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-438:

Slow start, but betting second under lights might be tough as it is often at newlands

• 440.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-436: @Robzim(Robzim)-437:

Does this make you an Aussie now?

• 441.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-440:

Nope, not at all.
    I won’t mind if they beat the kiwi’s on Sunday though

• 442.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-439: @Robzim(Robzim)-439:

Beware Warner he has been in immaculate form. First to ever get 2 consecutive centuries in T20.

On the other hand he is due to fail soon.

• 443.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-441:

But you said to me ABs will take Bill from the failing ‘defenders’.

Talking out of both cheeks now? Cannot be wrong that way.

• 444.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@pie eater(pie eater)-433:
    seen it.

ignominious hey?..had to look it up…shame for who?
    the opposition?
    the ref?
    then yes, absolutely right.

to be fair i think the opposition might admit it privately, but i dont think that ref is capable of anything like that even. he’s a nepotism’s appointment.

problem with those sort of appointments is that the son who gets promo’d by the father is often in no way capable of succeeding at the task required and the job is almost always far above his station.

• 445.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-442:

He is a bit helter skelter but if he stays in for a bit he could cause havoc.
    JP could be key for SA, he looks quite good at the moment

• 446.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-445:

Well if you saw him just 10 days ago in the W.Club T20 Champs he was in perfect form and control and middling every ball from the first. Scored 137 and 122 and out-performed the likes of inform Gayle and Kohli and more.

• 447.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-443:

I still think the AB’s will win the whole thing, in fact I am quite sure they will
    It does not mean I support them though although they probably “deserve” a world cup as reward for dominating world rugby as much as they do.

• 448.pie eater: Reply to this comment

@once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-444: Just a shame full stop, by all accounts his dad was a good ref.

• 449.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-446: @ET.(ET.)-446:

That is for Warner.

• 450.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-446:

I read about that- looking forward to see what he can do later tonight.
    If he was an inch or two taller Ingram would have been gone now.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.