KeoTV: Finals shootout
14 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE calls it for the Wallabies. RYAN VREDE says he’s dreaming.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article24 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article14 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE calls it for the Wallabies. RYAN VREDE says he’s dreaming.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

541 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All
14 Oct 2011, 17:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-347:
Hahaha!I am a Quins boy so watch your step.
In 95 we had a epic game against Collegians.
They had some aussie imports,a 10 and my oposing wing who was a big bugger.10 would double skip to him or inside centre would skip 1 direct to him.He never got past me.
Lots of punch-ups and the mood was pugilistic.
Our 10 looks like thin prop but he played Natal school soccer and some cricket for The Mynahs.
So he has words with the aussie 10 and things get said:-)
We needed a try to draw level,I cut the line and the tryline is 5m from me and I am through untill someone got me from behind with a daisycutter around the ankles.I did not even have time to brace,it is the hardest I have fallen in my life.
5min left and our 10 throws a outragoues dummy and scores under the poles,walks back and chirps the aussie even more.We need a conversion to win.
Our 10 goes back to the halfway and kicks it over with about 2m in height over the crossbar to spare.
Lekker memories.
14 Oct 2011, 17:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-349:
Jouba is a legend,I have a lot of respect for him.
14 Oct 2011, 18:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-340: Again, why you do not just read what is written ffs just once? Tell me where I said ANYTHING about your mentioned topics right now to draw any conclusions.
I was talking EXCLUSIVELY about 100% identical reaction from ABs supporters about WB then and Boks supporters reaction about BL now where I do not see any difference whatsoever, we were outraged then, you – now. We were ridiculed by okes here then and onwards, you get your share from us now, That’s it.
I can agree with you in many things and surely you have valid points in many things, then ok, let’s discuss them, let’s share our thoughts, it’s fine. Apart from “match fixing” I can even agree with all your mentioned points more or less or even in full.
But if you bring heavy artillery about match fixing now, surely the same applies to 4 year old events. With all those stats just like Boks now – and get **** zero from the referee, it takes some artistry.
14 Oct 2011, 18:06 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-351: Lol… Quins, hey? Thought I’d flush you out, thats why I was regaling. You chaps also had a bit of a Sugar Daddy/ Abramovich type character who thought he was king of the hill too… One funnybastard!
That bloo.dy Harlequins booze bus was another mindfck.
Ja, but the mood was always Pugilistic with you madfarkers… You, Maritzburg Police and DHS OBs…. Filthy farkers all of you
But the beers were always excellent afterwards. You’re right – awesome memories.
14 Oct 2011, 18:10 pm
@Nils(Nils)-353: But its not “100% identical reaction” AT ALL….
AB supporters made sh.it up…. I mean for fcksake, Soozie….HUH?
I am talking facts here. And anyway many SA supporters take the view of “Cowboys don’t cry”….
So not the same, AT ALL.
Wind your neck in.
14 Oct 2011, 18:12 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-352: Ja, a legend on the field… and off, too
And then you have Cabous… another Quin.
14 Oct 2011, 18:12 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-354:
That bus was a winner,we even drove around in it a couple of times dopping.
Maritzburg Police was bad.Our biggest brawls was against Toti.
I learned early to not try and stop a fight on the field and to hit 1st because you are going to be engaged.
And what happened on the field stayed on the field,beers afterwards was awesome.
We use to have spanbou evenings with the u21′s at Shunters Arms.
Diabolical.
14 Oct 2011, 18:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-356:
Kabous is a cool cat,very friendly with no ego.
14 Oct 2011, 18:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-355: ****, i was going to explain my honest opinion about your raised topic and then I saw your “Wind your neck in.” and it became clear that it is futile exercise. You ain’t gonna listen anyway.
14 Oct 2011, 18:18 pm
@Nils(Nils)-359:
Nils can’t you see that real rugby men are talking?
Know your place.
14 Oct 2011, 18:18 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-357: Yeah, Bobbies was bad… also dangerous Tannies there. Never played at Toti.
What happened on field stayed on field with the players… but strues Bob some supporters were rabid for some of the clubs.
Shunters
– a blast from the past if ever there was one…. At The Workshop if I remember correctly….
14 Oct 2011, 18:20 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-360: ag, shut up.
14 Oct 2011, 18:21 pm
@Nils(Nils)-359: Listen to what? “Sour grapes” or other assorted AB’s getting their “revenge” after 4 years of so called “hurt”…. PS: Another difference from 2007 is that “perpetrator” Barnes was an Englishman… This time its Kiwis…
14 Oct 2011, 18:25 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-361:
We had a flank pitch up on gameday with his forearm in a bandage,he got stabbed the night before and had a stormer of a game.
Shunters was our spot,I can tell you stories:-)
14 Oct 2011, 18:27 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-358: Talking about good bu.ggers a good place to go and play was in Empangeni… Putty and one of the MacKintoshes used to play there. Used to get hammered out of our skulls there and the 2 or 3 hour trip back used to double in time easy with many a stop for a swazz or into a couple of pubs on the way…. Nostalgia is.
14 Oct 2011, 18:28 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-364: Can tell you a good few too, but reputations are on the line
14 Oct 2011, 18:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-365:
Mac’s son,also played Natal if not mistaken.
Waking up with my clothes and shoes still on became the norm.
I once gripped this chick and woke up with her no on my arm but the name was smudged.This was before cell phones.
Phone the no and start chatting to her and telling her what a kief grip she is and how lekker her b00bs are.
Female voice then said:”I think you want to speak to my daughter” and hung up:-)
14 Oct 2011, 18:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-366:
This is certainly not the place to do that.
14 Oct 2011, 18:38 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-367: Yeah, that he did. Think he played for the Bulls too for a couple of games.
:lol; “KIEF”, you’ve now done me in, mate. Haven’t heard or read that word in years… Beyootiful.
Heard a similar story to that except the person on the other end was the husband… and he was worried about where the wife was… Helluvathing!
14 Oct 2011, 18:43 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-369:
New Years at Ansteys I once gripped a bluff oke’s mom.
He thought I was a town clown and tried to get heavy.
I told him that the Quins clubhouse isnt far<all I need to do is make one phone call.
He backed down:-)
14 Oct 2011, 18:44 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-370: HellsTeeth!!!
14 Oct 2011, 18:46 pm
Ag you two get a room
14 Oct 2011, 18:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-371:
Laaitie tried to get heave because I did not live on the Bluff,did not know I was a Quins boy,one of those skinny weedsmokers.
My mate pulled into the mom after me.
Maybe he was scared of having me as a stepdad,especially when I am not much older.
14 Oct 2011, 18:48 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-370: One of the funniest blokes I have ever met in Rugby is Gerhard Harding…. The man is a beaut, his one story about the one eyed snake made me wet my pants when I heard it… I forget the details but it wasn’t what he said, but the way he told his stories… Farken frontrowers…. The funniest farkers in any team.
14 Oct 2011, 18:48 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-372:
Just ignore us.
Simple
14 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-374:
Him and Lood were real old school props.
He played for Police.
14 Oct 2011, 18:49 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-373: Lol, the days of innocent youth…
14 Oct 2011, 18:51 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-376: Naah, Lood played for Police or “Bobbies” but if I remember correctly Harding played for Crusaders.
14 Oct 2011, 18:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-374:
We had a prop who once did a short straight jab to a okes chin,no drawback nada.
Saw the oke 2 weeks later at Shunters and he was still getting headaches.
Our prop is such a mellow dude,just stepped in and adressed this okes emotions.
14 Oct 2011, 18:52 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-372: Just regaling, Prawny… A bit of nostalgia… We are talking rugby….So what is the problem?
14 Oct 2011, 18:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-378:
Jip,Lood was the Bobbies oke.
Real tragedy that old Shaun Gage commited suicide.
Chris Butcher was another mad pom,smaaked his play.
14 Oct 2011, 18:58 pm
speaking of 1986, tjesus, those sunglasses look like something out of miami vice.
i aint no style koning, but get rid of those puppies.
14 Oct 2011, 18:58 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-379: Lol. I remember one game, a hooker received a tighty during a ruck… he did not even look before turning around and unleashing the biggest haymaker I ever saw… He connected with his own Lock… The poor innocent fck slept in hospital for a couple of days… The hooker was sent off for clubbing his own team mate
14 Oct 2011, 19:02 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-383:
hahaha.
collataral damage,they most prob laughed afterwards.
I never had my nose broken so I am cool.
We had a 15 kicking a up and under and running back and catching it himself.
We called it a “Owen Garry”.
14 Oct 2011, 19:05 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-381: Shaun was a tragedy of note. Empangeni boy…. Could have been Uli Schmidt mark II. ****, I get tears thinking about it. Not good man, you shouldn’t bring stuff up like that.
Butcher, Lawton, Mexted, La Croix, Roumat, Fed Mendez and a good few others that don’t come to mind immediately…. Many Foreign Legionnaires in Natal over a good few years. Made it special for guys to play with foreigners.
14 Oct 2011, 19:06 pm
@cab(cab)-382: Ja Cab… Nice disguise hey?
14 Oct 2011, 19:08 pm
Paul Challenor
There are some Natal legends
Noble
Mortassagne
Hefer
It was always easy to see where on the Bluff Vleis stayed.His was the Spoorweg house with the halfdrum braai outside which had the extra long legs.
14 Oct 2011, 19:08 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-384: It was the funniest thing… Legend. Snotklaps not good… Have had to have my snoz done.
14 Oct 2011, 19:12 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-388:
Nice thing then was that the stars were accesible and were not given special treatment.
I once stepped Kabous in a pre-training touch game and the okes were giving him **** saying stuff like “He went past you on your left hand side”.
Hillarious.
14 Oct 2011, 19:13 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-387: Yeah, memories there… Hefer was a Doc at PMB University. Wonder what he’s doing now.
14 Oct 2011, 19:15 pm
Rugby from before cellphones
14 Oct 2011, 19:15 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-390:
Kabous is in Mauritius and also coaches rugby.
The first overseas player I met was Pierre Bebizier at the fleamarket when they toured here.
Mexted married a saffa beauty queen.
14 Oct 2011, 19:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-391:
Relax please
14 Oct 2011, 19:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-390:
Ronnie Haarhoff is another name.
14 Oct 2011, 19:19 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-389: Funnyshit… But thats why Club Rugby was good for the game. Chaps belonged to something – it wasn’t just about Academies and all of that stuff, you were imbibed with traditions, pride and cameraderie that you can’t get anywhere than at your Club. That cameraderie then filtered upwards to the Provincial side. Yeah, clubs kept players grounded.
14 Oct 2011, 19:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-395:
One of the best centre pairings who never played for Natal was Kevin Malton and Daantjie Erasmus from Quins I have been told.
14 Oct 2011, 19:26 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-392: The French dig Natal, they always have.
Haarhof, a harder tackler you will rarely see – Sharks Lover knows him, I think…
Hell, a real blast from the past… Last Outpost stuff this, hey.
14 Oct 2011, 19:28 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-396: Lol, farkoff man. The only thing any Quins centre could do was either run straight into a brick wall… or act as one. And absolutely nothing else!
14 Oct 2011, 19:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-397:
Banana Boys stuff.
One year we got a youngster as a flank and he was good,played 1st side.
Did not pay his dues though.
1 night he was chatting to the 1st side prop and hooker and pointed me out.
I do not know this dude from a bar of soap.
He told them he was going to beat me up.
They started laughing.
He asked why
They told him that if that is the case he needs to beat them up first
Youngsters,I tell you.
14 Oct 2011, 19:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-398:
Daantjie is a amatuer boxer with a horrid nose,I would rather take on a lock,hooker or prop.
Fast hands:-)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All