KeoTV: Finals shootout
14 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE calls it for the Wallabies. RYAN VREDE says he’s dreaming.
22 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article22 May 2013
Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has been forced to make plenty of changes to his team to facethe Reds this weekend. The injuries reported this morning have resulted in quite a few changes to the team. In the backline, Juan de Jongh is out and will be replaced by Damian de Allende. De Allende comes in at inside centre while Jean de Villiers shifts to outside centre. The real damage is amongst the forwards, where Frans Malherbe, Pat Cilliers,Scarra Ntubeni, Andries Bekker and Deon Fourie are out injured. Brok Harris and Tiaan Liebenberg come into the front row, joining up with Steven Kitshoff ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article14 Oct 2011
MARK KEOHANE calls it for the Wallabies. RYAN VREDE says he’s dreaming.
backpagemedia has written 16 articles.
21 Oct 2011
20 Oct 2011
Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has been forced to make plenty of changes to his team to facethe Reds this weekend. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

541 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All
14 Oct 2011, 19:38 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-399: Yeah, cheeky youngsters must always pay their dues… I was one, I learned very quickly who was who in the zoo in the weekly koppestamp.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-400: Prop, or lock definitely, but Hookers… No, mate, speak for yourself. I have been dealt the biggest hidings of my life on and off the pitch by mad, rabid hookers.
14 Oct 2011, 19:38 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-358:
Skin like a leather calabash now… all that time spent tanning in his g-string at Tekweni in his younger days!
14 Oct 2011, 19:42 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-402:
hahaha!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-401:
hookers sure are special guys.
14 Oct 2011, 19:42 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-402: LOL
14 Oct 2011, 19:43 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-403: Specially fcked in the head… Ask Stormersboy.
14 Oct 2011, 19:45 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-13: I see Noaksie’s sobered up, resiled and used the Juju Defence (I was quoted out of context)… Rent-a-quote gave out one too many…
‘My motivation to write the letter (to the Cape Times) was most certainly not to accuse anyone of match fixing or to suggest that there was clear evidence that the game in question was either “fixed” or “bent”. For how could I ever possibly have any such evidence?’
‘It was merely to indicate that this particular game would prove a landmark case in the future history of the Rugby World Cup since it appeared as if refereeing decisions determined, in no small measure, the outcome of the game.’
Weak, Noaksie, pathetically weak, you old fraud!
14 Oct 2011, 19:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-405:
Anything sets them off,then the short uppercuts start.
My opinion of what I have seen in club rugby.
14 Oct 2011, 19:49 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-406:
What is the time in NZ now loner?
Go clean your mother’s bedpan.
14 Oct 2011, 19:52 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-406: Note he doesn’t deny what he wrote at all. He clarifies his reasoning to do it. Is that too hard to understand….
Good on him for saying the unspeakable… No harm in asking some questions. It seems the more questions that are asked about this RWC, the more questions seem to pop up.
Hmmm, Rigging or Incompetence… I just hope for this game that its not rigging because we can all live with incompetence in Rugby. But the spotlight needs to be shone on the shadows.
14 Oct 2011, 19:53 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-407: Uppercuts or headbutts…!!! Never forget or deny a hooker’s headbutt.
14 Oct 2011, 19:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-409:
What is done in the dark will come out in the light.
O ja,hookers tend to carry grudges aswell…
14 Oct 2011, 19:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-410:
Normally a headbutt,lucky victim drops his head,collar of the jersey gets gripped and then it is time for the uppercuts.
Poetry in motion.
14 Oct 2011, 19:59 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-411: Lol, that they do. Hell hath no fury, like a hooker scorned. … Never turn your back on one either. Evil sods.
14 Oct 2011, 20:02 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-413:
i think they pioneered cage fighting.
the frontrow is a evil dark place
14 Oct 2011, 20:05 pm
Later HG
Lekker chat
Later.
14 Oct 2011, 20:11 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-415: Cheers mate. Great reminiscing. Am out for now too.
14 Oct 2011, 20:12 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-392: Mexted married a Kiwi-born-and-bred beauty queen — Lorraine Downes (Miss Universe, 1983). (You’re confusing him with Alan Sutherland, who married the Rhodesian beauty, Vera Johns.)
14 Oct 2011, 20:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-409: He made the mistake of writing it. His nutty rant is therefore indelible and all the more inexcusable. Hundreds of rugby games that have ended in narrow defeats for the loser might have gone the other way had it not been for a refereeing decision or two. Coulda, shoulda and woulda — the unholy trinity of loserdom. Noakes, the pseudo-scientist, is insisting that a negative be proved — the biggest and most unscientific epistomological and teleological boo-boo of them all! You always state your hypothesis as a positive and then seek to prove it. If you cannot prove it, you assume the null hypothesis still stands. That’s the core practice of science. Noaksie doesn’t know this — after a few G&T, most probably, his inner charlatan emerges, carrying snake-oil.
He’s made a very large mammary gland of himself, has poor Noaksie. Yet again. He should retire asap.
14 Oct 2011, 20:27 pm
lol – old tackler trying to bait noaksie.
14 Oct 2011, 20:36 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-418: His rant was not nutty… It was totally valid.
The IRB and Rugby is going to have a real reputational problem soon… Now, I don’t know what the fark you do in your life, whether you have been involved with an Organisation or Company of substance, but if an organisation has its reputation and very credibility at risk then the burden is on that organisation to do something about it otherwise… Kaput. Bang. Finish.
Reputational risk is very real… Think BP, Toyota and even Golden Sacks… And now think again about the IRB, Paddy O Brien and refereeing….
14 Oct 2011, 20:42 pm
between Tackler and ET we got the perfect triumvirate of Scientific scrutineers vs old Noaksie the Croaksie
I betcha they both know him first hand.. they both probably sat together at UCT med science faculty cribbing notes from old Noaksies writing pad… That why Tickles and ET find Noaksie so off the wall .. cause they share a fraternity of common ground where the intelligentsia of UCT med school rubbed shoulders in days of yawning yore
14 Oct 2011, 20:46 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-420: Prime Example of a Company that blew up due to reputational risk getting out of hand: Arthur Andersen…
Could the IRB and the RWC become the Arthur Andersen of the Sporting world?
Its up to the IRB to prove that it isn’t.
More and more questions are being asked… After this weekend shi’t will fly, and if enough of it does, shi’t will stick.
Better for the IRB to be proactive. Tim Noakes does them and Rugby a favour by pointing out a big home truth. It is rare for a sport to be free from corruption.
Is Rugby so rare? The IRB should nip this in the bud by investigating the whole organisation of reffing for this tournament – not just Bryce Lawrence.
Nothing to hide, surely?
14 Oct 2011, 20:48 pm
Boks still can’t fathom how the fck they lost that game.. it was a conspiracy of mammoth proportions.. now even the dyed in the baa baa woolly wool black sheep scientists are convinced it was a fixed fixture…
All 836 caps of experience simply could NOT lose to a bunch of greenhorn lightweight arsetralians .. especially when they are being led by the most awe inspiring aura enriched captain of rugby legacy since Oom Doc fell off the baa baa wa…
So gotta be an IRB conspiracy.. simply cannot be ANY other reason than that.. I mean 156 opposition tackles and 86% possession and 55% territory says that it MUST.. so there is NO other possible ramification as to HOW the fck Boks ACTUALLY managed to conspire to LOSE that g’dam game…
14 Oct 2011, 21:05 pm
tackler is right, if u start blaming the ref, its all over, looks to the scoreboard. you got to play the game that the ref deals you.
lawrence is a poor ref generally imo, but i cant quite understand what noakesie is hoping to change? whats he actually saying in a nutshell?
cant understood what these stupid facebook petitions are all about either, have you ever seen a referee’s decision been changed after the whistle is gone?
14 Oct 2011, 21:16 pm
And before the Worlds oldest three year old child forgets what he has been saying…again and does a convenient flip-flop again I will just repaste a certain post of his:
775.ashampoopaloo:
12 Oct 2011, 00:17 am @Nils(Nils)-758: better open both eyes wide Nils .. there is no rugby game devoid of direct bias and infiltrating influence by the despicably designing referees… and none worse than those with a direct angle to grind .. for the sake of their obtuse and prevalent patriotic fervor beating within their breasts… rugby is and never has been a fair contest of he who dares wins… its fraught with insurmountable angles and influential avenues on how to turn it towards a favorable outcome for those who it matters to most..!!! Stop being so decidedly ignorant and naive.. Its AB’s WC to lose .. and if they do it will be against ALL ODDS and ALL sentiment and the entire Paddy O’B circus of conveners..
14 Oct 2011, 21:20 pm
@cab(cab)-424: Even when it is fully rigged by “despicably designing referees” to borrow a phrase from the World’s oldest 3yr old….
Rigged, Fixed or extremely incompetent – thats the Reffing shambles at this World Cup so far…
14 Oct 2011, 21:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-426:
to be honest i dont really know what they banging on about, with the Boks having so much possession, pocock did slow it down, but he shouldve been cleaned out and knocked back in the tackle – but as i;ve said already the Boks did not pick the boys to bring that sort of HIT momentum game that was the hallmark of Boks 09 game in which quick phase play freed up backline to go over many times against both NZ and Oz. Instead we got static ball from ageing forwards that were just the wrong side of the hill and not the right balance in the pack to inject the necessary dynamism – get quick ball and u can have a backline of flippe van der merwe, tommir laubscher and vleis visagie and you’ll still score tries.
14 Oct 2011, 21:27 pm
seems some schmucks here cannot for the life of them even begin to understand a little bit of needle conspiracy facetiousness, and as for these heavy weight rugger bugger cowboys who refuse to cry.. all I hear is a belly full of wailing and beseeching for the powers that be to fall on their conspicuous cheating swords…
since when was rugby EVER fair… never has been never will be.. far too much pride and prejudice at stake…
since the days of home town refs deciding tours till now when a WC draw and outcome depends on how the flow of the ball is called.. rugby never has been a fair contest and never will be.. as long as there are human vested interest blowing between the cheek sacks that shrill on the whistles of their choice…
Take your whinging party and realize Boks deserved to LOSE that game.. no other ifs or buts about it BOY..!!!
If your Barney piece of geriatric heroism was SO concerned about returning a BOK triumph he should have gotten the FCK out the way long before the collateral damage had set in so deep.. and then Boks would have WON.. Bryce the pathetic little myce trying his utmost to upset the apple cart OR NOT !!!
14 Oct 2011, 21:30 pm
{ ” “When science is manipulated to produce a predetermined outcome, it’s called ‘bent’ science. Such science is usually directed by large commercial interest.” }
Poor old Timmy! Is he really merely looking for much needed research funds and/or subjects for his research again?
There are the rugby rules and then there is the application of those rules. It is all on paper and a case of being in black and white. No ‘science’ there to be “bent”.
Or is he really cryptically referring to the ‘juices’ usually supplied ” by large commercial interest ” not having the super intended effects that they were supposed to have had and thus gave the “bent science”?
Timmy stick to the exercise physiology as you were never good at any sports even the marathon running where you were just mediocre.
Sports injuries and problems like McCardle’s disease is where you are in your element.
14 Oct 2011, 21:31 pm
@cab(cab)-427: Yes, the Boks lost obviously due to “Plod” or Dippy or both or the whole Goddammed “Fatboys Club”, but some questions have been raised, some valid points made…. Time for answers… If Rugby had a Black Sox moment the truth will out at some stage…. I reckon after this weekend.
14 Oct 2011, 21:33 pm
Nah Boks still did not deserve to lose that game with or without bryce or the whinging, but they did lose it, by inches, nee by millimitres, which is precisely why you want to select your very best since that is more probable that those inches go your way, in this case the Boks partly lucked out but they only got themselves to blame in conceding the inches which made this luck and the ref more of a factor, by not selecting the very best. Its an unforgiving game, rugby is better than roundball in that the better team generally wins, but if you dont select your very best, probabibility, luck and refs come that much more into it.
14 Oct 2011, 21:33 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-428: The Worlds Oldest Three year old… reverting to type… being a duplicitous, hypocritical, repetitive cnt… Your surname not O’Brien by any chance?
14 Oct 2011, 21:36 pm
amazing how these first world highly educated no nonsense scientifically enshrined hard core intellects can flip flop from being the hardy none conforming hard edged factual voices of no nonsense reason, and then in the very next breath… after their team gets shunted out a WC that they automatically assumed they were going to win … absolutely belly flopping softy soapy conspiracy theorists who will leave no stone unturned till they find the tokoloshe clanging away spoiling the party under the bed…
14 Oct 2011, 21:37 pm
@ET.(ET.)-429: Yes, how many times have you posted that ithuvu lempukane?
You make no sense, as usual.
About as credible as a “struggle hero” who spouts off about walking the streets of “Tokoza” Township….?
Where or what is “Tokoza”? The Bang Bang Club used to play in Thokoza.
Farken fraudulent mpukane… thats what you are… ithuvu lempukane.
14 Oct 2011, 21:40 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-432: hey fckface .. you the little whinging two year old cry baby bunting doing all the fckng boo hoo ‘we wuz robbed’ song and dance routine here… who the fck ELSE ?? Little cry baby bunting prickfaced runt who cannot stomach the FACT that his team were ILL prepared for the showdown .. else they would have WON..
The prestige ridden cappy marvelous couldn’t even get THROUGH to the ref on the day.. Brycie simply told Smitty to ‘Go Away’ every time he peeped in his ‘awe’ inspiring voice about how Pocock was stuffing bokkies off their own ball and scoring tries that should never be scored…
14 Oct 2011, 21:40 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-433: Redirect to 425. A reproduction of a post by you…
You total dumfck.
Here’s another one:
506.ashampoopaloo:
12 Oct 2011, 22:42 pm @Robzim(Robzim)-496: Wales and Aussie with Wales taking the ultimate crown.. will be a nice little let down for everyone who reckons they so sh’t hot top of the pops rugger nations on the planet… Won’t mind much either if France take it either.. Wales or France they both deserve it.. they both been contributing to this Russian Roulette merry go round just as much as the others with fokol to show for it yet… Thats if Paddy ‘O Bullfrog will not have anything otherwise to do about it … which I sincerely doubt.. after all like Louis Luyt in 1995 he’s got vested interests in the ultimate outcome..
You, my son, have been exposed as a shameless liar. Nothing less
14 Oct 2011, 21:43 pm
Noakes has put forward an emotive opinion, every human being has emotion, even scientists – the closest u come to an emotionless human is a sociopath. There is a difference between making a personal emotional statement and a scientifically-based one.
14 Oct 2011, 21:44 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-435: Hahahaha, lets change tune by every post… I am Skopskiet, the World’s Oldest Three Year Old… The dumbest one too.
Suppose you have plenty grace stored because of this boundless stupidity… so, very fortunate for you. Very lucky…. As lucky as a SpringBok winning a World Cup, hey?
14 Oct 2011, 21:47 pm
@cab(cab)-437: More people than Noakes with the same converging opinion and not all dumfck “yarpies” either… From Aussies, to Welsh, to English, to French… and even Kiwis (The honest ones).
14 Oct 2011, 21:47 pm
@Hell’s Shame(Helen’s Game)-434:
Is the maggot, flatworm, flukewoorm, roundworm enjoying the warth, humidity and and stinky but nonetheless still nourishment in the central recesses of the cow-dung pat?
Why did you not try Helen’s thick coagulated endometrial shedding it should be the equivalent of your messy Paradise?
You can yet get it from her when you meet her landing in London in a few hours.
14 Oct 2011, 21:48 pm
@cab(cab)-424:
I don’t get it either. The Boks played well; Australia simply played better. (Defence wins World Cups, and all that.) They’ve been playing better for some time, one may add: after all, they gave the Boks a pakslae in South Africa, more than once. Guess those matches were fixed as well, by Noakes’ lights. It would be much more useful to figure out why the Boks could not score a single try with all that possession, and then figure out how to do better next time.
Anyway, weird to see you and Skopskiet agreeing about stuff, all of a sudden. Don’t think I’ve ever seen that before.
14 Oct 2011, 21:49 pm
I got no grace here, Boks have only got themselves to blame here, no-one else.
dont blame the ref or the atmopheric conditions in wellington, its very simply if you dont select your best, you asking for trouble, which is an age-old common-sense natural law of rugby, which is why we dont send the pofadder XV to go compete at RWCs.
14 Oct 2011, 21:51 pm
Out for now… Will be back with more evidence…
PS: What is a hypothesis other than being an opinion? A question? Or an answer before the fact (or evidence)?
Will leave you “Oh so clever” types ’til later.
14 Oct 2011, 21:52 pm
when you’re lost in the rain in New Zealand and its WC time too
and your vanity fails and negativity don’t pull you through
don’t go putting on any airs when you down on Paremata Avenue
they got some hungry Wallabies there and they really make a mess outa you
14 Oct 2011, 21:53 pm
@Thucydides(Thucydides)-441:
janee exactly, i think the Boks did deserve to win sat, which was not the case of all their previous 6 losses where they deserved to lose, but you right you got to give credit to the aussies for the defense and mental grit. I hardly ever agree with ou doos, but he’s right that bismarck, alberts and hougaard should’ve started, and our coaches imo should have had the rugby nous to pick up on that as the lessons became clearer and clearer, most notably the narrowly-avoided welsh debacle – if you dont learn your lessons you deserve to get spanked ek se.
what did you think of the side selected?
14 Oct 2011, 21:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-420: His rant was unscientific — you don’t prove a negative.
But he’s only a pseudo-scientist with just one 30-year-old hobbyhorse — called “Burnout” — anyway.
14 Oct 2011, 21:58 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-444:
you have now been exposed as a two faced pisswilly liar with your shrivelled old pizzle hanging in the wind.
go to bed old timer before you embraboer yourself any more.
14 Oct 2011, 22:00 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-446: What’s a null hypothesis then, Einstein…?
LOL…. Wiki doesn’t always give all the answers, hey?
Dumfck.
14 Oct 2011, 22:01 pm
@cab(cab)-445:
Pretty much agree with you about the side selected, especially as far as Bismarck and Hougaard is concerned. Not quite an Alberts fan – seems to be almost as stupid as he is strong, and he seems to be very strong – but he’d certainly have been an improvement on Spies. But yeah, you can’t expect to win tight games in a World Cup if you don’t select the best XV.
Anyway, I’m going out for a few beers – surprisingly nice weather up here in Scandinavia for this time of year, will rather sit outside and talk with beautiful Danish women than stick around here to discuss conspiracy theories with South African men;-)
14 Oct 2011, 22:03 pm
@ET.(ET.)-440: hey ExTraball, i see your SACOS gatgabba wants in on more cash…
to the victors the spoils go.
http://www.iol.co.za/sport/cricket/cricket-fraudster-will-not-back-down-1.1156832?showComments=true
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All