KeoTV: No more boring Boks

RYAN VREDE says the new Springbok coach will have to change the team’s conservative mindset.

136 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Typical Province supporter.

Names all those young backline players, and then Gio Aplon who is turning 30.

Names a bunch of talented forwards, and then Duane Vermeulen ahead of a guy like Willem Alberts.

What we need to do is find balance. There needs to be a middle-ground. If we drift too far towards an attacking game-plan, we’re not going to be as good as we can be.

• 2.Big Apple: Reply to this comment

Get John Mitchell to coach the Boks and they will not only by exciting, they will be winning again.

• 3.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Big Apple(Albert)-2:

If I had to pick an overseas coach… meaning every decent coach in SA didn’t want the job, I’d go with Eddie Jones.

Eddie’s got the right idea about what kind of rugby we need to play, and he’s got a record that speaks for itself. Beat John Mitchells All Blacks and came within seconds of beating the dominant team in 2003 England in the final. Has a super rugby title to go along with it – the very first in Australian rugby, and until this year the only.

• 4.Uys: Reply to this comment

Ryan, except Frans Steyn all the back line players you mentioned are physically small and most of them where often injured during the S15.

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

SA only has two homegrown coaches of running rugby: Alan Zondagh and Basil Bey.

• 6.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Tackler you are spot on for once. SA has zero coaching talent. Just think of where we would be with a Kiwi coach and SA players…

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-3: The Brumbies won the S12 title in 2001 and 2004, so the Reds win in this, the first ever S15 in 2011 is, in fact the third Aussie super rugby championship title.

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Is see Snorre says that if he was to stay on as coach his choice for captain next year would be between Schalk Burger and Pierre Spies.

• 9.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

total waste of four f’ng years following that fat useless lardarse all the way to kingdom come and back again with a bow out baa baa black sheep in the quarters

that game Sunday was actually lost before we took the field.. no real winning belief after having succumbed to same Aussie outfit 5 times in quick succession prior. The investment in John Smit for four f’ng unswerving dilemma filled years culminated in one last fat useless Loss

Talk about an exercise of totally blemished fake false grandiose belief in a nonentity of heroism.. that was IT…

Now they wanna follow another idiot for the next 4 years… like Spies or Burger… some deluded hero worshipers have absolutely NO f’ng idea whatsof’ng ever..

4 whole entire years of dilly dallying around the bullshit baffling hero fallacious balderdash and they wanna keep perpetuating such fallacies of hero intoxicated garbage for ever f’ng more…

• 10.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Well Pierre and Schalla were Divvy’s preferences so another reason to be glad to see the back of him. Juan Smith for captain.

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

I agree with skop …..we all know the sentimentality and bull s hit cost us the WC….it was like watching a train smash in slow motion for me….saw this c rap coming beginning of 2010 when PDV could not find the courage to make the tough calls….weak fool that he actually is!

How on earth could senior players sommer decide for themselves that they have another WC in them? How absolutely retarded.

Keep PDV and the others far away from this set up…..

Spies as Captain….! Fark me…..you gotta be kidding ….the powder puff is the most useless international 8 man I have ever farken seen….soft oke man….

Mitchell….Mallet or B Venter…..

we better get this right ….or more tears coming in 2015…..

• 12.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm(Olivergm)-6:
    you’d be where the sharks and the lions are…making excuses at the end of the season.

• 13.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-3:
    ewen mckenzie…and throw money at him.
    eddie’s been out of the loop for too long imo.

• 14.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

It will be great to see a new side mixed with some experience and raw young talent, a new coach, new mindset and a new approach to the way the Springboks play. It may take a while for a new team to settle, so do not be surprised if we don’t
    go and win the Tri Nations next year. Need to be patient…I know many will argue and say,they want to see results from the word go. But Rome was not built in one day, and the same goes for a team who is losing quite a few of their senior players.

The Sa rugby public is a crazy bunch and will demand the results, fair enough, we all want to see those results. I just say be patient and the results will come.

• 15.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Whatever we do, we must not just focus on the WC in 4 years time. I think we have learned it is a bit of a dangerous path to follow. 4 years of hard work can come to nothing just because of a ref or bad luck.

• 16.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Grant10, always had respect for you, but you are no better than the fat useless lardarse and back baa baa black sheep .You so stuck up in the lily white arses a coconut of note! A Coetzee faught apartheid and for coloured rugby, now you want lilywhite AWB Mallet or Venter. Hope you wake up one day! Grow some balls, fckuwit and forgot the lily whites, their days are gone in rugby since naas!

• 17.HHS: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(p0ppa69)-16: Seriously dingbat…. you get a kick out of using other people’s nicks? Shame…

• 18.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(p0ppa69)-16:

When I read stuff like this by imposters then I know that my decision to spend less time on this site was a good one !!!

• 19.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

skoppelos, you have finally gone round the bend…seek help!

But before you go and they lock you up a quick question, do you speak like you type and if so how do you pronounce all those funny skoppelos words?

• 20.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19:
    nick thief.

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-8: good thing he is fccking off spies is a wet panty

• 22.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-20:

Nope, was referring to the first post which was skop…

• 23.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21:
    Spies needs a teaspoon of cement and to spend a few seasons in France.

• 24.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-22:
    ok, sorry.

@John Galt(John Galt)-23:
    the way he gets bundled out makes it seem like he’s wearing takkies.

• 25.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-23:

It has not happened now and the law of averages tells us that means it will never happen…best if he stays there for…ahh lets say 10 years just to be on the safe side.

• 26.HHS: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-23: To do what? The bodybuilding muscle heads are in Vegas not France.

• 27.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Jeez, imagine Spies giving his pre match speech to psyche the boys up before they run out to face the All Blacks.

‘OK boys, I want to see those ABs going backwards in the tackle…I want to see rucks being hit hard…and I want to see strong ball carrying from everyone, Bokke dont go backwards…

It’ll have Juan and Schalk in hysterics.

• 28.bozo: Reply to this comment

We need an Izak van Heerden clone!
    Otherwise use the Free State coach, they produce the best running rugby out of all the SA coaches. Has anyone noticed that the Lions and Cheetahs have the biggest points difference on the log?

Running rugby, when properly done and well balanced, is not only the most entertaining it is the most productive rugby.

As I predicted many moons ago, Mitchell and the Lions struggled but now that they have got it right they are top of the log.
    The dull, timid Sharks and Bull points diff is pathetic. Defending crash ball is so easy.

Some of us have been saying these things for years, Pissant and Skop and Grant10 and others. That is why we wanted Smit out so much, his self-serving brand of rugby was the biggest problem to be surmounted.

Smit was the problem!

• 29.Osama_Bin_Ladin_Protea_Captain_I_support_Aussies: Reply to this comment

make Madiba coach! – he won us the 1995 RWC according to that rugby genius Clint Eastwood

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-11: forget about “tears come 2015″ from now on it should be tears EVERY test we play, from the 1st one we play in 2012 to last world cup match in 2015!

i want the bokke to WIN each and everyone of those matches!

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bozo(genius)-28: hey the Lions are using their super rugby squad in the currie cup unlike the bulls who had the likes of derrick kuun/francois brummer/marnitz boshoff in their teams

• 32.Craven: Reply to this comment

The following two weekends will reveal a lot. The high-flying Lions will face up to their first full strength teams since the Super 15. It will become abundantly clear if they have progressed since then, or the lack of quality opposition flattered them.

All will be revealed.

PS. Who’d want to be a Blue Bull supporter, watching your team play their last game this year on the coming weekend. Sad.

• 33.husky: Reply to this comment

Oh my word, this keow nutmeg is spouting what PDivvy (keow’s little brown baby) was promising 4 years ago. Do you clowns not understand that the purpose of rugby (and many other professional sports!) is to WIN. Within the rules (that’s for Brycie fans). The Boks have generally failed to do this consistently under coaches from bonehead to bruinou. The whole system needs a clean out actually (including weeding out parasites like keow and oberholzer et al’s influences). I can’t see it happening.

As for Gwanty10 and ShamPoo, you clowns were all queing to lick PDivvy’s ring when he was appointed. What happened. You try blame Smit!

As it turned out PDivvy playing Smit was an inadvertent masterstroke. Imagine if, like F Steyn, Bissie had been injured in a pointless game. The Boks (and you pansies) would have looked stupider than they did; if that’s possible. SA rugby is run by a mix of incompetents, crooks and clowns. If this doesn’t change, don’t expect much of an improvement in Bok rugby.

But please, don’t try blame players who have more guts, dtermination, ability and talent than you snot vreters have in the piddle that dribbles into your Speedo’s.

• 34.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-30:

Agree, I don’t care about building for RWC and for that reason alone I’ll be able to live with the fact of NZ becoming World Champs as that will set a higher benchmark for World Rugby and coaches won’t be able to fall back on planning for WC’s.

It’s a difficult thing to do, but this will keep coaches evolving and not keeping out of form players too long in the national squad. Instead they’ll have to drop them, give the inform players a fair shot and the dropped players will have time at provincial level to find their feet again.

Will make for a very competitve squad and motivated coaching staff.

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

i think the fact that new zealand has gone so long since they last won the world cup has contributed greatly to their determination to dominate the rankings in between… it’s their psychological saving grace to be able to say to aus/eng/sa you may be world champs… but we are number 1

it will be interesting to see how things change IF they do win it this time… will that fierce determination to be number 1 still persist…? or will they relax just slightly… being able to fall back on ‘We are World Champs’ as most winners have done and slid form-wise after winning the world cup…?

either way… it’s vital for sa to change it’s mind-set and have some sort of performance clause for the coach AND players in future contracts… so that if either don’t produce the goods they can replaced without having to pay out huge golden handshakes…

• 36.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-35:

Interesting point regarding NZ if they do become WC.

I’m just hoping it will inspire our team to match their consistency between RWC’s from now on.

The only problem for us might be chopping & changing too much maybe?

But this hasn’t been a problem for the AB’s, the pressure to be consistently good has been a positive for them as players can’t rely too much on reputation.

Can’t wait to see how the Boks go from next year onward regarding the coach, how we select and our view on Tests and if the new coach will be given leeway to build for the RWC2015.

• 37.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-11: sentimentality didn’t cost you anything, Bryce Lawrence did, I don’t think he was going to let South Africa win that game no matter what happened. SA would need to have been twice as good as Australia in order to win that game and they very nearly were. There’s something very wrong with what he did, it’s as close to match-fixing as I’ve seen in rugby union.

• 38.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-36:

i also thought… (no more hoped)… that would be the case… but it hasn’t been so between our would cup wins so far… as far as inspiring us…

it will depend on the coach etc etc… and IF the ABs do sit back on their laurels a bit… but yeah… will be very interesting to see if and how the dynamics of world rugby shift if the ABs do win the cup…

• 39.ufo: Reply to this comment

would = world

• 40.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-37:

Funny that you’d mention that.

This is the opinion of Dr. Noakes (AND NOT MINE so please don’t shoot the messenger)

Cape Town – Just as the dust started to settle on the unsuccessful defence by the Springboks of their Rugby World Cup title, respected sports science guru, Professor Tim Noakes has dropped another bombshell.

In a letter addressed to the Cape Times, Noakes suggested that the result of the World Cup quarter-final between South Africa and Australia was predetermined as a result of what he called ‘bent’ science.

“When science is manipulated to produce a predetermined outcome, it’s called ‘bent’ science. Such science is usually directed by large commercial interest. When the outcome of a sporting event is predetermined, we call it ‘match-fixing,’ Noakes wrote in the letter.

“I am not saying that there was match-fixing, I am saying that the IRB must prove there wasn’t,” Noakes added.

Noakes lamented that South Africans have been unjustly robbed of their World Cup crown and based on the evidence of the match, he does not have a doubt that referee, Bryce Lawrence was benefitting from the outcome of the match.

“Referee (Bryce) Lawrence’s selective inability to apply to the illegal actions of one team, the accepted rugby laws in at least three areas of the game can unfortunately be interpreted in only one way – that he was benefitting from it personally by ensuring that the Wallabies would win this ‘bent’ game,” Noakes added.

“I think an injustice has been done and South Africa as a nation deserves the truth.”

Noakes went onto say that match fixing should not be ruled out as a possibility in rugby as it is already prevalent in cricket as well as football.

“The tragedy of this travesty is that it has undermined the legitimacy of the 2011 Rugby World Cup and has done severe damage to the credibility of the IRB. But worse, it has also robbed the South African rugby team of their legitimate chance for immortality by winning back-to-back RWC’s.”

• 41.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-40: Ohmyfuck! Now the cat is amongst the pigeons.

• 42.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-38:

It’s gonna be hard to pull off I’m sure as we’ll be facing more experienced teams so we don’t know how the new guys will gel.

Some of them have been in and out of the Bok team so maybe it’ll be quicker than we expect, but people are asking for a change of game plan and that might take time.

Will supporters be patient as we can’t seriously expect to have this new styled dream Bokke beating everybody in their way as Aus, NZ and Wales are already ahead in their development.

We backed our seniors for too long and this has stifled the growth in our national setup to a point, but on the positive they’ve passed down a lot of youngsters at Super Rugby level in the past 4 years and these players will be eager to step up now that’s why I’m happy to see all of them retire/go overseas.

They’ve done their bit, maybe a bit too much in the end.

• 43.vasteses: Reply to this comment

kalmeer manne. pdivvy het nie gesê hy sal Spies sy kaptain maak nie hy het net gesê, spies is n goeie lyer, hy het ook gese dit is jammer dat bissie daar is want Chillie is ook n goeie lyer, Spies speel nie goed nie daar is geen twyfel nie maar dit beteken nie hy kan nie n goeie lyer wees nie. Daarmee se ek nie hy moet kaptein wees nie, volgens my moet hy op die oomblik nie eens vir die bulle gekies word nie.

maak bissie of scalla kaptein en basta,

• 44.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-11:

grant.

verduidelik vir my wie sou jy uitgelaat het en wie sou jy gekies het , ipv die manne wat sondag gespeel het

• 45.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

The ABs regardless of whether they win this WC or not, won’t compromise tests between WCs, they’ve a rugby cultural inability to accept losses as a precursor to winning the following WC. The NZ community would lynch them!

• 46.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-41:

Personally I feel it’s time we let it go, we’ve had our say in the matter and people heard us out.

At the same time I wish the ‘I Told You’ Band should also just let go, what’s done is done.

• 47.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Ag no man Mark, you have spend too much time in NZ because it seems you fell for their ‘boring rugby vs exciting rugby’ kak.

Especially since this website called for the Boks to adopt a more pragmatic style of play in 2008 to boredom.

• 48.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@husky(husky)-33:

net so ou maat spank hulle

• 49.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-40: I watched the Oz/SA game with the sound off because I couldn’t bear to hear any more rugby talk after England’s exit, but from about 20 minutes into the SA/Oz match it was clear what was happening with the officiating. I thought that it would even up during the course of the game but towards the end of the game it became farcical, hands in the rucks everywhere with every 50/50 going Australia’s way. Imo this was no accident.

I think the important question Noakes raises in that article is ‘who benefits’? The Australian rugby union struggles to make ends meet, another QF loss would have been financially disasterous, the NZRU are also looking at a $40 million loss and are trying to blackmail the IRB into giving more money, rugby in that region is not in a healthy state. Aus were supposed to play Wales in the Qtr, the Boks were not only a threat to their WC but also the future of their game and they were taken out by foul means.

• 50.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@mpundulu(mpundulu)-45:

I think our RWC2007 success made it more ‘acceptable’ as our management and team could just point out to that result and we as the public could at least go with that as it worked previously with mostly the same team.

It came down to 2 points and various other factors outside of our control, in saying that that’s still no excuse for failure as we had more than enough chances to win the game.

However, this negative result and the stifling of development of many players during the last four years will hopefully take away this RWC excuse and we’ll be more harsh on our team.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.