Beale blow to Wallabies

Kurtley Beale is out of the World Cup semi-final.

The brilliant Beale hurt his hamstring in the quarter-final win against the Boks and failed a late fitness Test in Auckland.

‘Thanks every1 for their support,’ Beale tweeted. ‘Unfortunately been ruled out! Iv got faith in the boys who have got the opportunity tomorrow night.’

Adam Ashley-Cooper moves from centre to fullback, with Queenslander Anthony Faingaa slotting in to the No 13 position. Rob Horne slot into the match 22.

43 Comments

• 1.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Cooper to 15 and Faingaa to centre? Wallabies will be regretting leaving out Mortlock and Gerrardfrom the squad.

• 2.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

Ouch

• 3.Labok: Reply to this comment

out of the semis or out the WC completely?

• 4.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-1:

Mortlock is WAYYYY past his prime and I say that as a Rebels fan… AAC pips an in form Gerard too for mine… depsite being out of position…

J’OC should have moved to 15 though, with AAC to wing…

• 5.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-4:

Although it’s clearly because J’OC is incorporated into so many of their plays moving into multi-positions from the wing…

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-5: true colours exposed…i got GOLD :-)

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Pretty seamless cover, IMHO.

• 8.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Hoping for a Wales vs Oz final with Wales doing the impossible.

• 9.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Have the ozzies paid this Ref too else they gonna loose

• 10.keo: Reply to this comment

The Lions players, management and British media said the same thing when Lawrence in charge when Boks won first 2 Tests in 2009. That he was useless. I can’t recall Smitty having too many complaints in those two tests.

• 11.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Bryce Lawence has a father high up in refereeing circles…..daddy will ensure he gets all the top games.

• 12.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6:

Too hard to really pick the Aussies to win even with Carter out (now Beale is gone)… too much history against them ie Eden Park, ChCh disaster, no non-pool winner ever taking the comp etc…

although I do have a lazy $50 on them to win the comp placed at the beginning of the comp @$5.8-1 (not thinking they’d move over into the Bok/Nz leg)… fortunately it’s the start of race month here in Aus and I found that the kind folk at sportsbet had given me a free $50 one-off bet on any sport…

Should I be daring and place that on Aus again @$2.9-1… or simply on NZ @ $1.4-1 and hedge my bets?

That’s rhetorical of course… :wink:

• 13.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Of course I’m going to the Aussies… but won’t be too disappointed either way… would love France to take it though… cannot see them stringing together three wins in a row though against the remaining three top teams in the world…

• 14.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-9:

Why Aussies actually no how to clear-out their opposition at the breakdown (unlike the Boks)… they know how to adapt to a ref (unlike the Boks)… they know how to make the most out of opportunities to put points on the board (unlike the Boks)…

• 15.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-12:

If Oz could sneak past the Boks they should be able to grind this one out.

Oz vs Wales.

• 16.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Hey, Nigel Owens is still sailing under full sail and so is Wayne Barnes. Stu Dikkenson and Tappe Henning dropped anchor on their careers at a time of their own choosing. There’s no national bias at all. Like Arnie, Bryce will be b-a-a-ack.

• 17.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-15:

Were some very good odds on that pair making the finals… and some good partnering pairs bets to hedge into them…

Unfortunately I was island hopping without much internet en-route back to Durban for the 1/4′s to take a few…

• 18.RL: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-16:

Your nemesis Tim Noakes is the biggest doos sore loser in the world, that’s right professor yellow crooked teeth cannot stop whinging about bad science, conspiracies and plots that the Boks are victims of … if any doos has to apologise it is this brokeback.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

massive blow imo….Beale a real gamebreaker….

Giteau out may still prove decisive.

Go Wales

But money on France.

• 20.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-18: Nemesis? The word you’re looking for is “plaything”.

• 21.Labok: Reply to this comment

Tackler the only time you got to run with Noakes was on this blog – but in the grand scheme of life achievements you’re a 1st grader to the Professor

• 22.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@keo(keo)-10: yes the british media said that – I dont agree on that one. I didnt see him particularly favouring the Boks. What was going on was a lot of niggly dirty play from the Lions trying to get the Boks to react. their negative attitude actually spoilt that tour for me because it wasnt played in a gentlemanly fashion at all. I recall looking forward to the tour and being bitterly dissapointed with the constant barrage of negative remarks from the Lions camp, english media as well as the on field incidents. They pushed it as far as it would go and that wasnt particularly sorted out by Lawrence either. What went on a week ago was far more blatant than any bad refereeing decisions made by Lawrence during the Lions tour. Its like chalk and cheese. You cant compare it.

• 23.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

All I can say about Beale is good. Kiwis deserve this from here on in. The wallies shouldnt even be there this weekend. So if they had to go on and actually win the Cup it would be a travesty.

• 24.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-22: hey Boet…. didnt know Schalk played for the B&I Lions? :wink:

• 25.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Labok(Labok)-3: Read the article – first line says OUT OF THE CUP.

• 26.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-24: he was mistakenly grappling for the balls man – Schalk just doesnt know up from down

• 27.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-24: hahah – anyways he was duly punished immediately for that. Linesmans fault for going with a yellow instead of red.

• 28.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Smit is one fat funk of a defunct clown who sunk Boks hopes and dreams solo, who definitely stayed well past his welcome.

De Villiers made one fat defunct wrong turn in 2008 and that was to fold up shop tie his star to that overrated fat funk defunct wagon and roll on down the rail road en route to their mutual inevitable train smash.

He would have done far better to disbanded the fat funk circus back then already and tie his star to a new captaincy, could even have been Watson if he had balls enough would have been far better than the f’ng LOSING legacy that he got nailed to this fat funk defunct cross of overrated self styled piece of lardass trash propaganda.

• 29.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-28:

Look man, Smit is retired now. Can you drop all the swearing and hatred?

• 30.RL: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-28: did you know that Divvy is the worlds biggest Plod arse kisser … Divvy flew thousands of miles to France to go down on his knees and plant one right in the centre of Plods nought …. that’s right Divvys snorre had brown Plod flakes imbedded all over and it was wet … eeeewyyuck.

• 31.RL: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-29: wannabee kiwi, did you know that if the Frogs go through to the final they will wear dark blue and your chokers will wear the colours of Fiji … it is true

• 32.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Smit is ONE fat funk defunct hump of f’ng lardass FAILURE, if ever there were a worse more overrated fat funk useless hump of lardass Springbok captain than that self styled piece of lardass LOSER, I ain’t seen him yet.

F’ng self seeking garbage holy f’ng mother of all self styled self ambitious skunks to ever don the green and gold anytime ever..!!

• 33.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-28: at the booze early are you? So the Boks lost last weekend because of Smit? Jirre maar jy is d00s. I dont like Smit either and agree with you on many points but to blame our loss on Smit is rather petulant. Also this article nor the comments have anything to do with Smit. Youre repeated lame adjectives suck a55 bigtime. Please stop defouling the english language. Dankie.

• 34.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

yes Boks Lost the WC because of Smit.. absolutely.. without a f’ng doubt.. there was absolutely NO way in hell Boks were going to win this WC following that selfish piece of lardass trash down the f’ng highway on a self styled mission to self seeking grandiose hero status.. Not a f’ng hope in F’ng Hell.!!!

Boks and De Villiers should have DITCHED that f’ng self styled piece of lardass trash LONG time ago and Boks would have stood a REAL chance.. Smit fckd the Boks out the WC and that is absolute fact !!!

Some these daft twats in here are so befucked befuddled mesmerized deluded they STILL cannot fathom how the fck the awe inspiring Boks under the awe inspiring LOSING captain f’ng defunct marvelous who has ONLY lost in ALL his last strength vs strength international encounters LOST..

easy simple deduction… follow a f’ng LOSER and you gonna LOSE.. that’s f’ng HOW !!!

• 35.bok2007: Reply to this comment

Ive got a feeling….eish.

• 36.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-34: Take your pill, pilgrim. You’re behaving like a berserker.

• 37.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-31:
    No its not, whats true is you have no clue.

• 38.JEZ: Reply to this comment

No Beale means Cooper has to tackle on primary AB possession that could be a wee problem.

• 39.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

Such a pity to lose world class players out of the RWC like Carter and Beale. Most top players have 2 or 3 if they are lucky chances in their career. You do want to see the worlds best shining at these occasions. Rugby globally needs superstars to grow the game.

Look at Jonah Lomu in 95 . Because of his performances News Corp ie Rupert Murdoch bankrolled professional rugby in the southern hemisphere for 10 years. It was the star power of Lomu that swung the deal.

From that perspective 87 and 95 RWCs stand head and shoulders above the rest..

• 40.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Who are the Mortals to question the Gods ?!

• 41.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

What is an

‘injury’ ?

silly Mortal complaint

• 42.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

I think the Gods have already rolled the dice for us and we have a triple six. As devastated as it is for the likes of Carter, Slade etc I think it is all good news for us
    and the lead up for tonight is exactly what we need. We needed a so called ‘catastophy’ the likes of which every Kiwi was having palpitations over, Carter out, his back up out and our invincible Mc Caw to be hobbling prior to the games of games.
    Why, because for once and for all every single member of this team will have to lift beyond what they have done before. In reality they dont really have to but if each member even sub consciously relies on the ‘Carter’ effect by 5% is a real problem…particularly over 15 players that makes up 75%, nearly a member of the team.
    This is the lead up that we need and have needed every cup before, all the problems that face every other team and its going to make us stronger and better for it. It will bring out the best in us, make the boys desire lift and make them realise that this is their turn to shine.
    Not having 500 players behind them that have been on the rotation policy and a bit of ‘we’re a team of champions’ so it’ll be fine. Now they have to show to they are a “Champion Team” and show NZ and the world what they are really capable of doing under pressure.
    This team will excel, they will play like warriors and give the Wallabies a lesson
    in pressure rugby they will be feeling for a long time.

My estimation AB’s 20+

• 43.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

….I think the ‘Chokers Tag’ should be glued to the loser tonite.
    We could be saying the Boks choked big time against OZ but we didnt., we could have been saying the Ozzies choked against England ’07 but we didnt…but tonite is special and the Title will be going to the loser. ;-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.