France profit from moment of madness
15 Oct 2011
JON CARDINELLI writes that a reckless Welsh tackle proved to be the catalyst for an unlikely 9-8 World Cup semi-final win for France.
Up until the 18th minute of Saturday’s play-off at Eden Park, Sam Warburton had been one of the standouts for Wales and indeed one of the stars of the 2011 tournament. Sadly, the young Wales captain will not be remembered for his impressive displays against South Africa in the pool stages and Ireland in the quarter-final, but rather for one brainless tackle that would jettison the Dragons from the global tournament.
Wales were in firm control for much of the first quarter. While their scrum struggled against a lighter but technically superior French eight, they enjoyed the majority of possession and territory, and went to a 3-0 lead in the eighth minute thanks to the boot of James Hook.
France took a pounding at the collisions. Dimitri Yachvili floated a pass to Vincent Clerc well behind the gain line, and this proved to be the game-changing moment, as Warburton, in his enthusiasm to make the hit and possibly force the turnover, lifted Clerc beyond the horizontal and then let the winger fall to ground. Referee Alain Rolland brandished the mandatory red card, and as good as Wales had looked, they were always going to struggle to hang on for 62 minutes with only 14 men.
France used the numerical advantage to good effect at scrum time, but were woefully bad in general play. Morgan Parra had kicked them to a 6-3 lead by half-time, but it was the short-handed Wales that continued to control possession and territory. The French backs battled to field the high balls launched by the Wales halfbacks, and when they did, they often made some shocking decisions which allowed Wales to regain the pill.
It was here where Wales needed to make the best of a bad situation. Hook had done brilliantly to slot his first penalty attempt from the touchline, but proceeded to fluff two subsequent shots from midfield, as well as a drop-goal attempt. France were far too loose towards the end of the first stanza and may have scored more points had they kept it close, but Wales may also have gone to the break in the lead if they had kicked their goals.
Parra bisected the uprights in the 49th minute, but the plucky Welsh refused to lie down. They continued to pressure the French back three, and the tactical substitution of Stephen Jones had the desired effect as they played smarter and tighter. While they had wasted opportunities in the first 40, they took the first chance available to them when Mike Phillips breezed through the French defence for an important try. Tellingly, Jones missed the ensuing conversion to allow France to maintain a slender 9-8 lead.
At times the Tricolores looked like the team with the one-man disadvantage. They were guilty of being too casual in some instances, and too frantic in others. It’s the type of performance many would have expected after their strong showing against England, as they have a reputation for inconsistency. They battled to put a 14-man Wales side away, and in the end, they were the side that held on for the win.
It was always going to be too much to ask of a Wales side one man short. It would have been remembered as one of the great victories had they finished a multiphase attack at the death, but unfortunately it will go down in history as a game they lost in the 18th minute when their captain received his marching orders. Three missed penalty-attempts (Leigh Halfpenny didn’t have the distance with a 50m shot in the 76th minute) and a missed conversion, also cost them dearly.

624 Comments
15 Oct 2011, 08:57 am
The enemy of my enemy is my Dragon
15 Oct 2011, 09:17 am
Wales vs Aus final
15 Oct 2011, 09:40 am
I want the Frogs to win … kiwi chokers of note.
And if they make it to the final and face the chokers, then they will force the islanders to play in the colours of Fiji … that’s right world cup rules favour them.
15 Oct 2011, 09:52 am
Whilst a Wales win will give them a deserved final, and good for their and world rugby I cannot see it happening.
France have been for me a wily proposiition and deliberately giving the impression of being hopeless. This semi-final will see them continue to show the impressive form shown against England and I take them to win this one.
Wales have their lack of experience as a negative and the wet weather may favour the French team more so than Wales.
I will not be disappointed if Wales do, however, win. A good hard game is expected here.
15 Oct 2011, 09:55 am
@ET.(ExtraThuvi.)-4: Ag, what the hell do you know…
Nevertheless
Marchons,
Marchons…
15 Oct 2011, 09:56 am
Go the boyos.
NZ vs Wales final.
15 Oct 2011, 09:57 am
Fire that Gatland gun.
15 Oct 2011, 09:58 am
Depending on whether Jekyll or Hyde turn up for the French will determine alot, but have to back Wales this one.
15 Oct 2011, 09:58 am
Lol apparently the Millenium stadium is packed to the rafters!
15 Oct 2011, 09:59 am
@RL(RL)-3: S’pose you have to adopt a team now
15 Oct 2011, 09:59 am
5:
Whatever word you prefer it is still your nourishment and giver of life.
Enjoy the warmth and humidity and food of its central position you occupy.
15 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-10: go Fiji
15 Oct 2011, 10:01 am
The Welsh anthem always gives me goosepimples. C’mon the Dragons!
15 Oct 2011, 10:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-5:
Of course you know the ‘sleeping dogs and lying’ adage eh!
15 Oct 2011, 10:03 am
Much eye-candy on display for me.
Let’s hope the dragons dine on frogs!
Is ‘tonights the night’ the only track the NZRU could afford this RWC?
15 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-17: Probably hoping to ‘tie me kangaroo down sport’ tomorrow. Note I say hoping.
15 Oct 2011, 10:08 am
Both teams already teaching the Bok’s how to counter-ruck and clean-out at the tackle-zone…
15 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
anyone with a link for live streaming for this game? please!! ASAP!
15 Oct 2011, 10:09 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-14: Hehe
15 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
Another ref error. Wales infringed before the off-side.
15 Oct 2011, 10:10 am
@kaballas(kaballas)-20:
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/10208/1/wales-vs-france.html
15 Oct 2011, 10:11 am
@kaballas(kaballas)-20:
http://www.vipbox.tv
15 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-15: perv.
15 Oct 2011, 10:12 am
@Thucydides(Thucydides)-23: Thanx man! Go Wales!
15 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
So, the Care Bear has been done in already… Round 1 to French front row.
15 Oct 2011, 10:13 am
@kaballas(kaballas)-20:
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/10208/1/wales-vs-france.html
Simply click
15 Oct 2011, 10:17 am
looks like french haven’t taken their anti depressants today!!
15 Oct 2011, 10:18 am
Dusautoir just moered Roberts. Interesting.
15 Oct 2011, 10:19 am
Just hoping that France gently fall apart here…..
15 Oct 2011, 10:21 am
Send him off
15 Oct 2011, 10:22 am
Oh, sh*t.
15 Oct 2011, 10:23 am
Who is captain now?
Red card for Warburton. Now that is harsh, even though I support France.
WTF is wrong with these REFS.!!!!!!
Tough but fair call.
Game over Wales.
Well that’s this game poked.
Go Froggiessssssssssss !!!!!!!!
15 Oct 2011, 10:24 am
Captain Warburton red carded for spear tackle — Wales must be doomed now. France into the final!
15 Oct 2011, 10:25 am
Thats the game.. Wales would have smacked France right off the park but now Warburton just handed France a clear passage to the final
Such is life.. Wales were gonna cream France now France got a green light into the final
What a fckup
well thats it for the Welsh FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFf
Looks like Paddy O Brien would prefer ABs to face France in the final.
15 Oct 2011, 10:26 am
whats wrong with these commentators. Thats a definite red card. The rules say that if you let go of the man having lifted his legs above his shoulders you have to put him down and not release him – the penalty for not doing so is a red card. Them are the rules
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-39:
Is that the ‘Scandinavian’ coming out in you, you mainland European chick? Pahhhhh…Heheheheh
FFS a world cup semi screwed by a half french ref! Yellow was enough with the incumbent ban. Ridiculous!
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-44: should hav read if you let go and do not put him down
15 Oct 2011, 10:27 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-44: Red Card is harsh. Yellow, definitely. Fark these REFS.
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-46: Its a red card offence because he let go of the man.
What is is with these ******* refs? None of them are accountable and the untouchable men of rugby have turned this tournament into a farce.
15 Oct 2011, 10:28 am
Nothing wrong with ref. Spear-tackles ARE always a red-card offence. And there’s not a skerrick of doubt that Warburton DID do a spear. Fair decision. Good refereeing!
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-42:
Couldn’t have been worse, to lose your most influential loosie and prop.
15 Oct 2011, 10:29 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-48: If he had maintained contact with the man it would have been a yellow and not red. The dangerous tackle is lifting the legs above the shoulders , that is the offence. If you put him down then its yellow if you release him its red.
15 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
Yachvilli having an awefull and indecisive game.
15 Oct 2011, 10:30 am
Wales putting in plenty of big hits.
15 Oct 2011, 10:31 am
This game is no foregone conclusion. France will make it difficult for themselves.
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-54: ifs and buts…. Warburton DID let go and spear the man. Red card is the ONLY decision. Good, brave reffing!
Now if I were the Frog captain I would tell the guys to knock on deliberately, in order to get kickable scrum penalties.
15 Oct 2011, 10:32 am
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-54: Yeah, but its fcked, full stop.
15 Oct 2011, 10:34 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-51: Except when the AB’s do a spear. Special exemption from Paddy. Cultural rights and all that.
15 Oct 2011, 10:35 am
This world cup is rapidly becoming a farce. Cricket season starts now and I can’t watch that because that is simply a bookies pantomime! I think I’m going to start getting into cycling or something its much less crooked!
15 Oct 2011, 10:35 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-51: pity that wasn’t the case in 2005 when Mewillspearu and Umugger speared the Lions captain
Still, at least we won’t get getting the uncompetitive walkover final the NZ public were hoping for.
15 Oct 2011, 10:36 am
watch France fck this up with a 15 – 14 man advantage.. something only the french can do
15 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
We see tackles like that every week in super rugby and most times don’t even see a card. Normally goes to a citing commissioner where dependant upon the culprits nationality he walks scott free or get a 6 week ban. The ref could have yellow carded Warburton and not ruined a semi but this world cup is all about the refs.
15 Oct 2011, 10:38 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61: ABs never spear. Remember the collarbone breaker on O’Driscoll? The yarpie citing commissioner ruled that Mealamu and Umaga had “no case to answer”.
Hey, that was a South African verdict!
“
15 Oct 2011, 10:39 am
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-65: 100% Right. I’m afraid this will be known as the Refs’ World Cup
Unfortunately the ref didn’t have an option, mandatory red card.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-66: AB’s spear and get away with it. Thats the bottom line. Rigged.
15 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
@JEZ(DEE DAH)-65: The laws are clear — a spear is supposed to be a RED card. And today the ref did what the law says.
15 Oct 2011, 10:40 am
xakely
15 Oct 2011, 10:43 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-70: Exception for ABs though. Plain and simple. Rigged.
15 Oct 2011, 10:45 am
@ET.(ET.)-28: thanx.
15 Oct 2011, 10:46 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72: Shame man. Are you watching the game with Noakes?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-69: Yarpies let the ABs get away with the occasional spearo. Third-world standards, perhaps!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72: Paddy O’Brien needs to go, test reffing has been an absolute mess since he took over.
15 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
Get the kettle on.
15 Oct 2011, 10:47 am
9 times out of 10 a ref would have given a yellow the other time the player would have gotten away with it. It is almost like the referees are embarking on an industrial action. Don’t be surprised after this world cup if the refs associations suggest that they implement systems of accountability and demand higher pay and long term contracts. The sport is being held to ransom by a bunch of paffs who couldn’t make their way in the game as players!
15 Oct 2011, 10:48 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-74: Noakes the truth teller? No.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72: Shame man. Are you watching the game with Noakes? Not so nice when a **** ref flucks it up for your team is it?
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-70:
Oh like a kiwi ref applying the breakdown and illegal entry laws in a NZ hosted WC against SA? Funny that.
One eyed.
15 Oct 2011, 10:49 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-67:
2007 was ‘the ref’s WC’ for us.
I guess Saffa’s are a bit more sympathetic to our claims in that regard now.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-75: Nope. Paddy does. 3rd World Standards are honest in comparison. Clearly.
this game is boring
What a bore ! Something really has to be done about the format if the RWC. Totally unacceptable that such weak teams reach the semis thanks to the whims of lady Luck
15 Oct 2011, 10:50 am
The laws are in black and white and simply need to be applied without emotional consideration.
No science at all despite smartarsed Noakes.
15 Oct 2011, 10:51 am
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-82: Only for you though in your sick Soozie twisted perceptions. In RWC 2011 there are reffing fckups and injustices all round… Except for the ABs, of course.
15 Oct 2011, 10:52 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-80: Keep up sheepshagger. You’re lagging.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-76: agreed, how he allowed an incompetent like Bryce Lawrence onto the RWC panel while dumping Mark Lawrence is proof that he is the main doos … this world cup is worse that RWC 2007 in term of running rugby, something which he said he was going to change.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-76: Paddy is a huge problem in world rugby, massive
The wheel is turning and his powers are going to be limited
15 Oct 2011, 10:53 am
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-81: One eyed is kind, sort of an honest slant really.
Maybe rigged is more appropriate.
15 Oct 2011, 10:53 am
Bon chance! Singes capitulards mangeurs de fromage!
15 Oct 2011, 10:54 am
Noakes is going mad. Books were screwed on three or four breakdown calls for sure. Make no mistake Lawrence is a shocker, but rigged? Pull the other one. Boks had loads of ball to win with. Don’t think you’ll argue with the forward pass, lack of a line breaker for SA or that Fourie could have scored. SA were lucky to beat Wales and Samoa.
@RL(RL)-89: Well nepotism, his father Keith got a nice reffing job through Paddy, the cheat
Check Paddy and some refs bank accounts
@RL(RL)-89: Well said. The wrong Lawrence was at the RWC 2011. Maybe Mark was too honest and fair for Paddy’s liking?
15 Oct 2011, 10:55 am
@ET.(ET.)-86: Shhh… he’s really not a proper scientist, you know….
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-95: Mark’s a third-world ref.
Did anyone calling this game boring (between the 4th and 5th rated teams in World), even know why? If France had a player sent off, the would have trailled by 3 tries now!! It is boring as the only team who wants and can play rugby is a man short…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-88: Your originality is inspiring. Did your mother help you with the spelling? Child.
15 Oct 2011, 10:56 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-76: How to fck world Rugby up… The Power of One.
Trust a Kiwi to do it all on his ownsome.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-96: Shhh and you not really a proper Kiwi now aren’t you?
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-63:
What are you on about?
Another crappy crack at NZ. Grow up man and move on
15 Oct 2011, 10:57 am
@JL1(JL1)-90: Nothing wrong with Paddy. Top bloke.
15 Oct 2011, 10:57 am
fark these refs man…
Ars e holes of note.
Millions and millions deprived….yellow man…never red…
bloody fool plonker w anker!
15 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
@Cane 73(Cane 73)-80:
Cane in dont know if you missed it but the other night was match fixing and corruption. Thats the only way some of these guys could see the Boks losing, lol fukn funny. HG leading the charge
15 Oct 2011, 10:58 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-103: By your standards, yes, a magic guy, by mine, an absolute rubbish
The same bloke who insisted that he stays in the absolute best hotel as the people are there to see him as well
15 Oct 2011, 10:59 am
@grant10(grant10)-104:
Red card was the the right call.
He would have been lucky to get yellow.
15 Oct 2011, 10:59 am
if the french lose this they’re the REAL chokers…
15 Oct 2011, 11:00 am
@grant10(grant10)-104: Call was correct, a red is the call, read your notes on that specific law again
@grant10(grant10)-104: These are the best rugby refs on the planet!
@grant10(grant10)-104:
Laws are laws or would you want to see a wing with a severe spinal injury?
@JL1(JL1)-101:
15 Oct 2011, 11:02 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-107: b s hit man…..yellow…fark these wally refs….
15 Oct 2011, 11:02 am
“Third-world standards”, Tackler ? How subtle of you ! Too bad we are so far apart : I sure would have liked to invite you to my next “Dîner de cons”. Guess you understand enough French to get this one
15 Oct 2011, 11:03 am
Refs have taken centre stage in Rugby. The Numero Uno on the pitch. They determine who wins or loses, not the teams.
How an Irishman can take this semi after Wales knocked out his team in the WC is beyond me.
Why couldnt Joubert have taken this match and Rolland the other one.
A fckup of note.
@JL1(JL1)-106: Well, just read this thread — everyone is far more interested in the ref than in any of the drones playing the game! The ref is the centre of their entire rugby-watching universe! Paddy was right!
A top bloke, yeah right
He also accused the coach of the United States team, Peter Thorburn, of lying when Thorburn stated that there had been a pre-tournament directive that touch judges shouldn’t interfere in issues like forward passes. O’Brien later apologized to Thorburn.
In November 2009, O’Brien took the rare step of publicly apologizing to a team with regards to the performance of a referee, Stuart Dickinson, during an international match between New Zealand and Italy, but subsequently issued a public apology to both Dickinson and the Australian Rugby Union for his breach of IRB protocol in making his comments public rather than going through official channels for commenting on referee performance.
15 Oct 2011, 11:04 am
@JL1(JL1)-117: O Brien is just being a typical Kiwi. Thats all. Its not his fault, really.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-102:
Admit it Paddy O is a failure … he whinged about RWC being boring and how he was going to change things and make it more of a spectacle … well the doos failed, he delivered by far the worst RWC ever.
How’s the mud piggies?!
15 Oct 2011, 11:05 am
@grant10(grant10)-113:
yawn, go watch something else man, you embarrasing yourself.
Rules are rules , learn them.
15 Oct 2011, 11:06 am
Tackler losing whatever credibility he had left
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-110: Except for Mark Lawrence, of course. He’s too honest… and fair for Paddy’s liking.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-116: People are getting sick and tired of the refs ******** up a game
The palace revolution is not far off, trust me on this one
Paddy is first for the guillotine
@RL(RL)-119:
hhaha
Yeah the worst one for SA, ask france,wales,oz and NZ if its the worst so far.
So, he apologises if he errs. That’s good, isn’t it? Top blokes do that.
France too cautious. Need to spread it wide with the extra man advantage.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-118:
Thats sad really.
Whats a typical Kiwi to you HG
15 Oct 2011, 11:07 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-121: They are laws, man, laws, but I agree
15 Oct 2011, 11:08 am
S Jones good call for Wales.
@RL(RL)-119: Oh, this is the BEST EVER RWC — the head of the IRB said so himself!
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-128: Paddy O’Brien. Lovable really. As honest as Bob Mugabe.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-123: As I said before, check the gifts and bank balances
Louis Luyt showed how it works, Clive Norling got a farm
15 Oct 2011, 11:10 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-131: He has to say that. Its like Qaddafi saying, come to Libya – the BEST Surf on the Planet… EVER.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-126: Rubbish, he does this to put pressure on a ref on which way he should officiate a game
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-125: No really, the TV numbers are way down on 2007, IRB forecasts are down and NZRU is taking a massive financial knock … you Paddy was the major factor in this fiasco of a really kak RWC.
15 Oct 2011, 11:11 am
@JL1(JL1)-124: The pilgrims just adore the refs — talk about them ALL the time. Maybe we can just scrap the players entirely and have the refs just blow imaginary games to amuse the packed grounds. A bit like watching karate guys doing a kata — booting and whacking imaginary opponents.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-128: Stuck on the back of a sheep?
@JL1(JL1)-133: No, Clive Norling benefitted from Kiwi largesse, no doubt – a whole herd of Sheep for the 1980′s test series in NZ.
That other Welshman was cheap. Louis only gave him a watch.
anyone got any solutions?how do you make refs better or do you change the laws again or a honour system with no refs .
15 Oct 2011, 11:13 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-137: So the pilgrims are the rest of World Rugby… except for the Kiwis, of course. They happy with Paddy’s refs… for a change.
No Soozie in sight either.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-137: You would like to think that they like the refs.They hate the incompetence and the on the take of most of the refs
Some fool in the middle spoiling it for all
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-131: the head of the IRB is a kiwi and I’m pretty sure they trot that line out in the middle of every World Cup
@JL1(JL1)-133: Clive Norling reffed the 1981 flour bomb test in Auckland. He wasn’t even near to Louis in 1995, some 14 years later. You’re confusing him with Derek Bevan.
15 Oct 2011, 11:14 am
@dermie(dermie)-140: Shoot Paddy.
@RL(RL)-136:
HMmm IRB said they were on target of making there normal 200 odd million profit.
NZRU new from day one that they would lose money but hey we have the RWC in NZ.
TV numbers were always going to be down, goes with the time difference, again IRB took that in consideration. If they only made 150 million this RWC then its there fault, they didnt forecast correctly did they.
POB oversees the refs. Who, the hell oversees POB?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-139: That is what I meant, Norling got a farm, Welsh guy a watch
They all have a price it seems
15 Oct 2011, 11:15 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-144: Keep up. You’re lagging slowcoach. Suppose its due to continually looking up Wiki though.
One has to wonder how much of the game the bloggers on here during game time actually watch
It can’t be much
Which renders their opinion cactus
@JL1(JL1)-138:
Cool, but would like to hear from an adult, but thanks anyway JL1, you tried
15 Oct 2011, 11:16 am
@JL1(JL1)-148: I know its what you meant, and you are one hundred percent right.
And then we have Paddy – absolutely Priceless
15 Oct 2011, 11:17 am
The head of the IRB isn’t a Kiwi. Mike Miller is Irish.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-144: What I meant
Point is the majority of refs seem to be on the take. There are too many mistakes happening right in front of their glass eyes that the do not officiate
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-145:
Hmmm kill bryce,shoot paddy, corrupt IRB, match fixing. You really are out doing yourself.
What will be next?
15 Oct 2011, 11:18 am
There is way way more kicking in this RWC than the previous … how boring.
15 Oct 2011, 11:18 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-145: since rugbys inception we,ve whinged about the refs.paddy goes, we’ll whinge about the next bloke,problem not solved.
15 Oct 2011, 11:19 am
Try Wales!!!!
Yeay, Wales!!!
Cracking try that.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-151: Why so grumpy, did Dollie say no last night?
15 Oct 2011, 11:20 am
You beauty!
@JL1(JL1)-154: You’ll have to prove that. But, in the meantime, look at how much attention is paid to the refs! Way more than the poor stumblebums out there playing the game! The refs are the superstars and the fans are the ones making them the centre of attention!
Great MP try. Is their still hope for these tiring Dragons?
France playing stupid rugby.
15 Oct 2011, 11:21 am
Cmon wales beat that half french ref
Frogs do not want to win this match.
Fark, the Welsh are playing like Warriors.
French have fallen asleep.
Try Wales, nice. What a fitness.
WALES!!!!
15 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-143:
lol A kiwi??
Now i have heard it all
15 Oct 2011, 11:22 am
@dermie(dermie)-157: Oh all right then. Bring back rucking… And have two refs on the field.
Simple, okay…
15 Oct 2011, 11:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-170: Yes, bring back rucking
15 Oct 2011, 11:24 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-143: “the head of the IRB is a kiwi and I’m pretty sure they trot that line out in the middle of every World Cup”
Indeed. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good whinge.
@JL1(JL1)-161:
JL1, your pjs are folded and you hot water bottle is in ya bed, good night little one
The Welsh deserve to win this one big big time
15 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-170: 100% on the rucking,bring that back you won’t need 2 refs.
15 Oct 2011, 11:25 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-173: Your infatuation with age makes me wonder?
15 Oct 2011, 11:26 am
@frenchiebokfan(frenchiebokfan)-174: My Superbru picks deserve the French to win
15 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
Seems like someone forgot to tell the Welsh that the ref is supposed to determine the outcome – they’re playing as if though it is actually up to them to win or lose the game. Go figure.
15 Oct 2011, 11:27 am
@JL1(JL1)-176:
your young, course your mind is going to wonder.
Good dreams
15 Oct 2011, 11:28 am
@dermie(dermie)-175: Maybe, but I say that because in all honesty the game has got too fast at the highest levels for one ref. One ref in each half should do it… like field Hockey.
15 Oct 2011, 11:28 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-179: If I am young, then you must be a really old frt
15 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
These French are going to lose this if they don’t score soon.
15 Oct 2011, 11:29 am
When you have a prop by the name of Poux you really are inviting trouble.
15 Oct 2011, 11:30 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-153: Syd Millar was the irishman but he’s gone now
15 Oct 2011, 11:31 am
If the French can’t really dominate a team with one man down they have no chance against the winners of tomorrows game.
Come on Wales….Don’t give the Frogs the chance to go any further.
15 Oct 2011, 11:32 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-184: Yup, Tackler’s Wikipedia is not working for him again.
The dumbfck.
I think Mike Miller is Canadian actually.
15 Oct 2011, 11:33 am
Réveillez singes capitulards mangeurs de fromage!
15 Oct 2011, 11:34 am
Come on Wales for the sake of this world cup please win this game
15 Oct 2011, 11:34 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-186: Well, he’s not a Kiwi anyway. And he says it’s the best RWC ever.
15 Oct 2011, 11:35 am
France are not playing with passion. They going to lose this if they don’t wake up.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-189: Nulled…
@ET.(ET.)-164: “Their”?
I think you need to go back to school fool.
15 Oct 2011, 11:37 am
Welsh look much better with ball in hand. Grind the French down.
Rolland is a joke. How was that a Welsh penalty. Anyway, France dont deserve to win this the way they have played.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-184: IRB chief is a FRENCH.
I understand, if facts contradict your BS, screw the facts, so it’s alright.
9 mins to go and 1 point in it…
Will the ref decide this match too, Noaksie?
15 Oct 2011, 11:38 am
The French do not deserve to win this one, although they might.
One thing is certain, the French will be no match for whichever team wins the other semi…
Not on this performance.
Southern Hemisphere rugby is still king……
If that is not Wales playing the ball on the ground twice then what the H E LL is?
Justice, Frogs were nearly robbed.
15 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@Nils(Nils)-195: that’s the chairman Lapasset, tackler is talking about Miller although lapasset has probably trotted out the same nonsense.
15 Oct 2011, 11:39 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-197:
Agree with you.
15 Oct 2011, 11:40 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-184:
have you been found out talking BS again? lol i think you have.
15 Oct 2011, 11:41 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-200: Chairman means head of the organization.
So your “the head of the IRB is a kiwi and I’m pretty sure they trot that line out in the middle of every World Cup” is what is is
a BULLSHIT.
15 Oct 2011, 11:41 am
Something about the team that lost to Tonga in pool play, making the RWC finals just doesn’t seem right.
The IRB cheif Mike Miller said last week that the Kiwi team could be ‘replaced’ at the next World Cup in England, if he is a kiwi, he’s not a very patriotic one.
15 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
Welsh will make a mistake soon
15 Oct 2011, 11:44 am
See!
15 Oct 2011, 11:45 am
France win, no easybeat final
How sad!
Sorry Wales.
Bravery and Honour.
Respect!!!
Damn, damn, damn. Even with 14 men Wales dominated and should have won.
Game over
Good night nurse.
Nice try Wales, I’ll bet Sam is feeling a right @rse at the moment.
The difference.
Long live SH Rugby.
I jsy bought yself the new Polar RCX5 heartrate monitor.
This is so next level,sheesh I am chuffed.
Even has a dedicated swimming function.
15 Oct 2011, 11:46 am
Well done France. But Wales can hold their heads high. Great performance when down to 14.
The WRONG team won this one, unfortunately.
Great show Wales.
The AB’s two WC boogey teams OZ & France, between them they helped us exit 4x WC’s. Great.
jsy=just
Ripped off by a shite French team. ‘Tis the nature of World Cup rugby.
Outta here…
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-202:
You know what this means … Frogs will be wearing deed blue in the final
Worst team in the world get to the final! The final is tomorrow
15 Oct 2011, 11:47 am
France are going to win this World Cup chaps.
You heard it here first.
Time to change the name of the Rugby World Cup to the Cheating Refs World Cup – each trying to outdo the other. Its a joke.
This is fast becoming the tournament of injustice.
SA
and now Wales.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-221: f0k jou.
15 Oct 2011, 11:48 am
Congratulations France, win is a win, hard luck Wales, proud of them, 14 men played on equal terms with 14 Frogs for more than an hour and they looked better even then.
Bravo Cymru.
The way France is playing, I can already congratulate them about the upcoming silver. No hope in hell vs 15 Kiwis or Ozzies.
@ET.(ET.)-214: yeah two weeks in a row.
@Nils(Nils)-203: you knnow what he meant. The head of the IRB refs is a Kiwi and you know that and he has made some bullshit decisions in his lifetime.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-207:
France look rubbish.
Wales down 14 mean for an hour.
Strange how you think Wales would have been easy beats.
Mind you look at RWC 2007, easy beat england got through to the fianal after being
Hammered by SA in pool play put up a good fight in the end so it can happen
Viva les Bleus for the final.
@RL(RL)-219: no,they’re letting the ABs wear black,apparently.
15 Oct 2011, 11:49 am
@RL(RL)-219:
If the kiwis get past Aus.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-221: Wales to beat Nz in the 3rd/4th place play-off
@Nils(Nils)-225: agree to that they shouldnt even be in the final. Just like england last time round.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-221:
No I said that way back in Jan 2008 …. check the archives.
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-232: LOL
15 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
@RL(RL)-234: Well here’s a farken Noddy badge for you
15 Oct 2011, 11:50 am
right if the Kiwis dont win this one i´m going to despise you guys for ever. Have to keep it from the lame French or the Ozzies.
15 Oct 2011, 11:51 am
@dermie(dermie)-230:
Why would they do that, it is their right to wear blue, the chokers already wore black in the group match … Frogs must say stuff you chokers.
I feel for Warburton.
A tremendous player in this World Cup.
2nd only to Pocock as best openside.
@Nils(Nils)-225: 15 Frogs.
Although I have to say Warburton’s tackle on Clerc looked very dangerous, deserving at least yellow and 50-50 red. It definitely changed the game but then again players should think for a second longer even it is a WC semi, so i will not blame the ref.
15 Oct 2011, 11:52 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-232:
While England at home getting drunk and not bathing
15 Oct 2011, 11:53 am
If there is one thing this WC is proving its that the measurement of a refs performance is not scientific enough and that too much is left up to the refs interpretation. Whilst Bryce Lawrences performance in the light of the rules may have been poor what he achieved was to show that perhaps a return to the old simple rules of allowing players to scrap for the ball whilst off their feet is the best way forward. It takes out the interpretation porblems, let the breakdown be a free for all scrap. Our desire to open up the game to compete with League has led to interpretation issues.
@Nils(Nils)-240: Of course you wont blame the ref. Not in this WC anyway.
My, oh my, how Kiwi sentiments have changed.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239: yeah top man Warburton, tough to take for a 22 yr old and he didn’t deserve red, but then Graham Henry says Rolland is the best ref in the world, so it must be the right decision….
15 Oct 2011, 11:54 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-239:
Captain and a youngster aswell.
He has a bright future.
15 Oct 2011, 11:54 am
Wales can feel rightly ripped off.. France dont deserve to be in their, ref overreacted and it was too late,,, yellow card imo..
they did miss a lot of kicks though..
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-232: been 7 days now since your team has been out of the tourney isnt it?
15 Oct 2011, 11:55 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-244: Hahahahaha. It must be! Classic!
Go boy, on form.
15 Oct 2011, 11:56 am
@RL(RL)-238:
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/5771983/France-to-cede-final-jersey-rights-to-All-Blacks
Reluctant to post this as it may just add to the conspiracy paranoia as this was anounced last week.
15 Oct 2011, 11:57 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-245: Yeah. A reffing injustice. Nice and truly fcked up.
I said last night that we haven’t heard the end of the reffing debacle. Not by a long shot.
Tomorrow will be a train smash.
15 Oct 2011, 11:59 am
Sacre bleu! Les grenouilles sont en finale!
Pienaar is absolutely slaying the Ref.
Go Francois.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-249:
It is a very sad state of affairs
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-227: IRB Match Official Selection Committee is headed by David Pickering (Wales) and include Tappe Henning (South Africa), Kevin Bowring (England), Bob Francis (New Zealand), Stephen Hilditch (Ireland) and Michel Lamoulie (France). Paddy O’Brien is the IRB Referee Manager.
Pull your **** together. Al you know is POB dis, POB dat. ffs.
15 Oct 2011, 12:00 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-252: All to try and gift one Nation the World Cup…
Its actually a bit obvious now.
15 Oct 2011, 12:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-243: ag, shut up, sad man.
15 Oct 2011, 12:02 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-254:
Australia?
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-232: Shame frogs won, it would be nice 7th/8th place playoff for your teams.
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-248: that nails it indeed … it does not matter, it will be a blue and yellow final … QC is going to stand on McCheats ankle early in the match and end him.
15 Oct 2011, 12:03 pm
This tournament, sadly, has been overshadowed by ref inconsistencies and controversy, and even more alarmingly, whispers of match fixing and corruption.
Is this what we want from rugby?
IRB better get its act together, or else rugby will go the way of cricket and lose millions of followers.
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-256: The World Invitational Champs 1987.
To win the RWC 2011. The Rigged World Cup 2011, that is.
@Nils(Nils)-255: leave him be, hes familiar with France, and hes still hurting from last week
Sorry but do we have to wait for a player to end up with a broken neck before we accept that tip tackles have to be ruled out of the game. For the sake of prevention refs have to blow these offences and red card the individuals. SAFETY is paramount and tip tackles should have no place in rugby. I disagree with the commentators that this was not a red , its the only way we will stamp it out and to go on TV and say its not a red condones it and allows players to feel they can continue to do it without proper sanction. A red card sends the right message.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-254:
Die “running PK” en die “double step PK” is ontwerp vir ouens soos Nils.
Cooper the enforcer. Ok
15 Oct 2011, 12:04 pm
Well, the yarps are watching it from Snor City….
@poppa69(poppa69)-261: Hehehe
@Nils(Nils)-253: We were not talking about the selection we were talknig about the management of the refs and the instructions they are given prick.
15 Oct 2011, 12:05 pm
Spare a thought for the poor souls who payed 1000′s $’s to watch such drivel. And the French just put that Qtr in Cardiff in perspective as well. How easy did they defend the pick and go and one off bursts. Looks like barnes got it right then for not penalising them for the entire 2nd half ’cause that’s all the AB’s did.
@poppa69(poppa69)-261:
Condolences with your Mom’s passing on,not much anyone can say to make things better.
Kia Kaha
Australia will crunch France in a final.
Aus whipped them 59 – 16 in France last November, haven’t lost to them since 2005.
A better final will be France v NZ.
Much closer and more nerves from the SH opponents…
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-259: We have only had whisperings of match fixing from South Africa – no other country.
15 Oct 2011, 12:06 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-263: lol. Double step PK, surely…
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-97:
Which nz ref is better. MAybe we should roll out the cheats that were Paddy O’Brien, Wayne Ericson or Peter Marshal??
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-265:
That is fine.
You are in NZ and your mom did not allow you to go and watch any games.
That is real sad.
15 Oct 2011, 12:07 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-272:
Backhand gaan n bietjie van n overkill wees.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-271:
Those match fixing claims only came from one brokeback doos, his name is Noakes.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-260:
I wish I had your confidence for a NZ win.
So if we did get this one, it’d be our 1st and rigged at that.
Sort of sucks the fun out of it a bit.
15 Oct 2011, 12:08 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-271: Its coming. Saffas just ahead of the curve. The only ones with enough ballas to call it as it is.
The Rigged World Cup 2011.
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-262: Red was over the top imo. Yellow card was the better option with a suspension at a judiciary. It’s not like a yellow card would’ve been out of place as far as these type of indiscretions go.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-271: esteemed scientists and professors nogal.
one country or 10, the IRB needs to address the issue.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-275: SheezusLOL!!!! Fark, that is funny
15 Oct 2011, 12:09 pm
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-273: even Clive Norling was better than those you mentioned and he wasn’t that great.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-271: SA, hey? Once upon a very long time ago they used to play quite good basic rugby over there. These days they’re more into ref-whinging, I’m told.
At least the final will be a try fest. Hope that AB’s beat Australia then we can look forward to a 50+ scoreline final for the first time ever.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-278:
Nils en die kiwi’s is marabse
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-277: Never fear when Paddy is there…
Its in the pocket.
15 Oct 2011, 12:10 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-267: shut up dog.
15 Oct 2011, 12:11 pm
No kiwi can ever get on a high horse about ref whinging.
2007 ensures that.
And keep whingeing okes, it’s sweet.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-285: Hehe
NZ will beat Aus.
*It has been decided*
15 Oct 2011, 12:12 pm
I see old Tackles is spouting off **** again.
Look, folks, I really think Warburton was hard done by. The relevant rule is as follows:
(From Section 10.4): (j) Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play. Sanction: Penalty kick
See that? PENALTY KICK. There is NO SUCH THING as an “automatic” red card for a tackling offence. Referees are advised (as per the IRB’s memorandum on dangerous tackles, released in February, 2011, which you can find for yourself on the IRB’s website) to treat each case “based on an objective assessment … of the overall circumstances of the tackle.” This may be anything up to and including a red card, but there’s no requirement to send a player off for a dangerous tackle. Ever.
Given the fact that it was early in the match, that it was a RWC semi-final, that there had been no prior foul play, and that Warburton clearly attempted to pull out of the tackle (although also clearly too late), I think a red card was a very harsh call to make. Yellow? Absolutely. Post-game reprimand? Possibly. But red card? No.
It wasn’t a brave call, it was a pedantic and blind call that ruined the match. This isn’t some great refereeing conspiracy – I seriously doubt such a thing exists – but it was, IMHO and upon review of the laws, a very harsh move on Rolland’s part.
If I was Welsh I’d be pretty farkin’ pissed off right now. I’m not saying they were guaranteed to win if Warburton had stayed in that match, but it sure looked like they had the upper hand.
Only one country is asking for an investigation of the refs, and it’s being pushed by a crackpot conditioning coach of the boks! Boks lost just accept it, you ought to be accustomed to it by now.
Allez le Bleu!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-286:
Gaan google op n stadium “watkykjy”.
Jy sal jouself doodlag,gaan check ook die “ou koeie” uit.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-288: and 2003…
and 99
and 95 especially… Soozie notwithstanding.
and 91.
15 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-295: Will have a look now.
15 Oct 2011, 12:13 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-279: have to disagree as a coach of an under 16 team the last thing you want to see is this kind of thing happening on the field as the youngsters learn from this. THe message has to be unequivocally that a tip tackle.gets a red card in all instances. This is too dangerous for there to be exceptions, im sorry.
15 Oct 2011, 12:14 pm
Revenez dans quatre ans, les Yarpies!
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-271: What he said was it’s up to the IRB to disprove it. Lawrence looked pretty deliberate in his reluctance to call the breakdown and head high tackles. Bookies got their filthy paws on virtualy every other sport. Why not rugby and who better than the referee? Think about it…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-286:
If 87′ doesn’t count, than neither could 91′ because you guys weren’t there either, and we’d have to eliminate this one because according to you ‘”it’s rigged”.
So that leaves 95′, 99′ , 03′ and 07′ giving SA a 50% win rate instead of the “rigged” 28% win rate.
Sound good?
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-269: Thanks..
15 Oct 2011, 12:15 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-293: Pundy. “Accustomed”? As a [fake] kiwi you will know the last time our respective teams met we won.
You will also know “your” team lost in the quarters in 2007… no doubt you whinged with the rest of them… and my team lifted Bill.
That’s “accustomed” for you.
15 Oct 2011, 12:15 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-297: One of the articles says it all:
Bryce Lawrence is a doo.s
Like.
15 Oct 2011, 12:16 pm
@Nils(Nils)-287: Now that is nice. I may have been wrong in calling you a p…k but calling someone a dog is rather low. You could have just called me a prick back
I would have accepted that but from now you are personna non grata.
15 Oct 2011, 12:16 pm
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-301: Sounds good to me.
But a WC is a WC, Rigged or not.
15 Oct 2011, 12:17 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-300: Nope — nobody ever needs to prove a negative. You make a claim and it’s up to you to prove it. Science 101.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-263: Haha, net so
To the people of Wales,
And most specially to the 60,000 who crowded into Millennium Stadium to watch the game.
Sincere condolences.
Your Team was brave.
The Warburton tackle on Yachvali was in no way malicious
and actually
simply followed the laws of physics.
15 Oct 2011, 12:18 pm
Well well the kiwis have really dished up a clanger.
Hopefully this will be remembered next time they decide to give it again to nz.
15 Oct 2011, 12:18 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-307: Wrong again. That Wiki page of yours is well farked up.
Nulled.
Shame.
15 Oct 2011, 12:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-306:
I was just thinking on how toeliminate the 99′ and 03′ results for you.
But yeah a WC is a WC, you’re preaching to the converted here, 5x times the bridesmaid man, it burns. All of a sudden an arranged marriage doesn’t look so bad.
15 Oct 2011, 12:20 pm
Never thought I’d ever say this… but… I feel a little bit sorry for Wales.
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-298: Show me the guy who deliberating goes in for a tackle and lift the guy thru the horizontal to tip him on his head? Amazing how quick this kind of thing happens. Imo, far better to use harsher reprimands at a judiciary to try and stamp it out. Repeat offenders gets harsher punishments and so on and so on…
HG, if Joubert has a good game tomorrow, does that mean a SA will make the 2011 WC final :Wink:
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-291:
Nothing has been decided.
The outcome of tomorrows match ballances on the edge of a knife.
15 Oct 2011, 12:21 pm
Wooden spoon: what trophies do the boks have in the cabinet now? What trophies and plates are you looking forward to? Do you think you’ll get any trophies in the next four years with AC as your coach?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-311:
Lees n bietjie die storie,kom van watkykjy af.
http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=58457862110&topic=16445
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-300: And the linesman, and Morne Steyn (who missed two kicks), and Rousouw and Jean de Villiers with that sneaky forward pass, and little Pat Lambie, and de Villiers for not starting with Bismarck.
The Boks had plenty of chances to win that game, and they didn’t. The ref wasn’t bribed or biased, he was rubbish. It wasn’t the first time Bryce Lawrence reffed a game poorly and it won’t be the last.
@poppa69(poppa69)-302:
Just a Hug Bro. (no words).
15 Oct 2011, 12:22 pm
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-312: Good form, mate.
Good luck actually. May the best team win tomorrow.
(And may the ref have absolutely farkall bearing at all on the result)
15 Oct 2011, 12:23 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-321:
For the record I was livid at last weeks result.
15 Oct 2011, 12:24 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-315: Nope. Barnes has the final.
Very clever by Paddy.
Ensures over compensation.
You chaps have it in the bag. No worries
I said it on this blog that the boks should have dropped the game against wales, you’d be in the semis now. Pocock beat 15 boks.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-321:
Amen to that!
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-262: fairplay but was that a tip tackle? He went in hard and low the guy went up and he let go. I dont think his intention was to tip the guy at all. Physics and all?
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-319:
Wolfie.
I know it is not easy.
I know the disappointment is massive.
But well said.
15 Oct 2011, 12:25 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-324: what are you talking about they should have dropped the game against Samoa. Dropping the welsh game? how could they know the outcome? Drop your first game and your back is against the wall for the rest of the tournament.
15 Oct 2011, 12:26 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-324: sorry Pundy, the Boks don’t “drop” games.
@cane(cane)-320: ka pai bro
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-318: “.MET DIE SPOED VAN DIE HEILIGE ****** WIT ELAND.”
BWAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
15 Oct 2011, 12:27 pm
France did not deserve to go through but that’s rugby the absolute worst officiated sport anywhere on the planet, rugby the one sport where dominance on the field of play means f’all. France flukes their way through a weak pool losing twice but still make the final by pulling it out in one game from 6, now they got one more chance to discover their flukety fluke mojo but this WC looks like a repeat re hash of that 87 fiasco all set up to favor the home nation.
IRB done their homework well, the farce of results which is WC rugby continues to shed all reasonable fair conclusions out the window, last weekend could be declared the final or perhaps tomorrow determines the ultimate winner, but end result shows this Russian Roulette competition does not determine best play the best in the final.
Poor Warburton now carries the woes of a rugby relevant nation on his young shoulders. France never deserved to get this far, they been gifted a coast through to the final, but that’s rugby for you, take your picks and rue your chances, whichever way the dice doth fall or the officials skew their slanted gaze determines the end result.
15 Oct 2011, 12:27 pm
@mudrockshark(mudrockshiit)-310:
“Well well the kiwis have really dished up a clanger.,,,,”
How so Shiit for Brains?
15 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-323: didnt I detail all those reasons long before the WC started..
still got 160 minutes of rugby, maybe less, maybe more before its decided
15 Oct 2011, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-331:
As jy op watkykjy is gaan soek die ou stories op en soek vir chopper charlie en griffin se stories,veral griffin se nigerie stories.
jis die ouens is snaaks.
15 Oct 2011, 12:29 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-318:
LMFGA!!!!!
15 Oct 2011, 12:30 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-326: Actually I take that back – had a look at a slowmo replay and it looked like he was throwing him over and lifting the arms up which i guess is a tip tackle – he didnt drive him into the ground though so not sure about wethere its a red card but definitely very dangerous.Guy landed on the back of his kneck and head. Stupid.
15 Oct 2011, 12:30 pm
It is a bit silly that you can:
Lose 2 pool games out of 4.
Play England and Wales in the quarters and semi
and make the final where you have a chance of becoming World Cup champions.
15 Oct 2011, 12:31 pm
@James in NZ(James in NZ)-322: Good man. So were a fair few others, as you could imagine
@MaraudingJ(MaraudingJ)-336:
daai ouens is k@k snaaks en n mens kan dit nie vertaal nie.
Wooden spoon: they may not drop games but they certainly do lose them.
15 Oct 2011, 12:32 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-334: Ja, your match against Wales will be exciting… But you should scrape it.
15 Oct 2011, 12:33 pm
Mate, it’s all water under the bridge. The Boks are all watching safely at home. All I’m saying is I will not be in the least surprised if match fixing allegations was proven to be true. All those missed chances yet you fail to mention the others due to Aus stealing the ball illegally cm’s from their line without as much as a glare from dear old Bryce. Or the head high tackles right infront of him. But no worries. The result stands but be prepared to be shocked out of your boots if evidence of match fixing does crop up. Talk about naive…
15 Oct 2011, 12:33 pm
@MaraudingJ(MaraudingJ)-336:
“LMFGA!!!!!”
What’s this:
Laugh my friggen Gaay arrse Off …………………………or something!
15 Oct 2011, 12:34 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-338:
Yep , been saying that since 2007 RWC. You dont even have to play any of the top 4 rugby teams in the world at the time and win it.
15 Oct 2011, 12:35 pm
Wooden spoon: the first stage of grief is denial.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-341: are you drunk Pundy? So early? You certainly do seem to be revelling in all this.
Boks beat “your” team more than any else.
“Your” team has yet to make the final.
You may wish to wind your neck in Fake.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-335: Will do… met spoed soos n fokke.n Wit Eland Lol
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-340:
Nee, ek sou nie eers probeer nie. Het die ding vir my hele familie gestuur. My donner ek het lanklaas so lekker gelag. “Klits daai ****** broodjie en die melk laat dit lyk soos daai kak wat jy oor bobotie gooi” – ek pis my amper nat.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-342: so, let me get this right, that will mean my team has played an extra 2 weeks than your team?
Conspiracy….
Was that tackle a yellow card.
Wales dominated possession and territory…france made double more tackles…they should have lost. Ref on the side of france…he spoke french…he must have given different instructions in french than in english to the welsh.
Where is professor noakes??
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-332: Vintage Skop.
Pundy: Must pain one’s heart to live life as a fake.
15 Oct 2011, 12:36 pm
@cane(cane)-344:
yep, i believe it is
@cane(cane)-344: G = Ga.t . Its the Afrikaans word for Kiwi…
@cane(cane)-344:
Now we know how you think…
It is actually the Afrikaans version of LMFAO.
Cheers manne en maninne,ek het n kopie van Peter Stiff se boek oor die Selous Scouts opgetel en dis tyd om tebraai en n biethie telees.
Lekker aand en praat more.
Keep well kiwis.we shall talk tomorrow
15 Oct 2011, 12:37 pm
@MaraudingJ(MaraudingJ)-292: I think what swayed it to be a red card was the hand pushing into the face from Warburton after had tip tackled the French player.
First thought he would go off for a yellow but seeing his hand pushing into the French player knew Rolland was gonna pull out the red card.
Really feel for Warburton. He has been one of the outstanding players this wc. A brain lapse ruined it for his team, he must be feeling really terrible right now.
This is a useless French side too. If they could hardly beat Wales with 14 men down for almost the whole game they will have no chance against ABs or Wallbies. Whoever wins tomorrow will win the wc.
I think it will be a AB/France final. Jeez same as us in the last wc facing a team from their pool.
15 Oct 2011, 12:37 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-350: No, most of my team will be playing rugby the next two weeks… but with honest refs and no rigging… The Currie Cup
15 Oct 2011, 12:38 pm
Wooden spoon: don’t get upset, your team is back in SA, that’s a fact accept it! As I’ve told you numerous times, I’ve never thought that the AB’s were favourite’s, however with all that said the boks are home and trying to start investigations instead of winning on the field. Sucks!
Well done France. Tough luck Wales. Hard call for that red but that rubbish has to stop. Allan Ronald not taking his “hobby” very seriously. Winner of RWC 2011 will come from tomorrow’s game. These Frenchies will not make it next week and I dare say I predict a drubbing.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-356: Cheers Cuzzie.
HG found a new gatkruiper to come gatkruip up his heinous horrendous gat, managing to krap out that other sniveling phillified phoefy phony only to invite another serial arselick runtcunt fernly fckface up that ******* that he recently vacated
15 Oct 2011, 12:39 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-317: hell you are pathetic, get this you are not a fckuign kiwi, you have no right to support canes team … get it.
15 Oct 2011, 12:39 pm
Seeing the whinging form the UK makes me feel a whole lot better about our whinging. At least Lawrence DID have a shocker with us, Rolland made 100% the right call. Sad it ruined the game as a spectacle, but should be applauded for his guts in making the call. Giving the yellow wouldve been the easier decision and I’m certain a few refs would’ve done it instead of making the brave and right call and sending him off.
15 Oct 2011, 12:40 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-359: Pundy, it shows how much you know (or don’t) when you were spouting before the tournament ad nauseum that the Boks were favourites….
Go do a haka or make a hangi or something… fake.
15 Oct 2011, 12:42 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-360: I will give the French at least a 50% chance to win it. Their track record in WC’s deserves that. No matter who they play. Doesn’t matter who wins it so would dearly love a re-match between the AB’s and them. Let’s face it, Wales was never going to upset the AB’s, or Aus for that matter.
15 Oct 2011, 12:43 pm
The International Rugby Board’s rule on ‘spear tackles’ reads: “It is dangerous play to lift a player from the ground and drop or drive that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground so that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground.”
Ahead of the tournament a directive was also issued to referees relating to such tackles, which stated: “Foul play – high tackles, grabbing and twisting of the head and tip tackles to be emphasised, with referees to start at red and work backwards.”
IRB recommended sanctions for such tackles start at bans of three weeks for offences considered to be at the lower end of the scale, six weeks for middle-level transgressions and end at 10 weeks or more for the worst ‘spear tackles’.
Now the key here is the word drop, and sadly, Warbuton did indeed drop the Frenchie. So Roland was perfectly in his rights, and had a good game otherwise too – unlike Bryce Lawrence.
15 Oct 2011, 12:43 pm
And they talk about Refs on ITV…
“Where does reffing go to now. A ref determined the outcome of the match unfairly. What now?”
And it will go on… and on…
Thanks Paddy… The Man in the Middle is now the centre of the Rugby Universe everywhere.
RWC 2011… Will be forever known as the Reffing World Cup
15 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-358: I know, maybe the refs are dodgy, lets hope that Saffa fella tomorrow refs fair, otherwise we’ll know for sure..
15 Oct 2011, 12:44 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-364:
for sure.
But now the South Africans believe the whole cup is corrupt as thats the only way SA could have lost.
No way the Ozzie team are better, according to SA even though they have had there a$$es handed to them over the last few years from OZ.
Its really sickening.
15 Oct 2011, 12:45 pm
RL: as I’ve told you I could never support the boks, I’d feel sick if I were to put on the bok jersey, it’d give me a rash. I support the ABs and that won’t change ever!!! I’ve no link to the boks at all.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-356:
Cheers manne en maninne,ek het n kopie van Peter Stiff se boek oor die Selous Scouts opgetel en dis tyd om tebraai en n biethie telees.
Lekker aand en praat more.
I’m flattered.
Your post simply says ……………………………………………..I give up.
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-366: I predict another 1999 anti climax final. These guys are poor. They had a “good” game against a rubbish England team. No team that lose to Tongo deserves to be in the final. If Wales had their 15 on the park those frogs would have been gone. 60 min playing against 14 and almost losing it, says a lot.
Either way it’s going to be a replay of ’87 or ’99. France realy owe it to their rugby legacy and pedigree to finish it off. Geez! Even the AB’s have won it at least once…
Pains me to say, but a Rolland had no choice to send Warburton off. Rather like Zinedine Zidane in 2006, you immediately search for all the reasons a red *shouldn’t* be given — “he’s not really that type of player and it would completely spoil the game” — but deep down you know he has to go.
The real tragedy is that this French mob will be representing our sport in it’s finest moment. Some cold comfort in the fact that NZ (I hope) or Aus will stuff ‘em by at least 15 points.
15 Oct 2011, 12:46 pm
Wooden spoon: you know my reasons for saying that boks were favourite’s and you’ve never disputed them. Your team lost it sucks, swallow it and move forward.
15 Oct 2011, 12:47 pm
@frenchiebokfan(frenchiebokfan)-85:
Please present your case to the irb re 2007 as well.
15 Oct 2011, 12:47 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-369: I hope so too Poppa. Jokes and whinging aside.
But you know what, Joubert is not the best Saffa ref by a long shot.
Mark Lawrence is… and he’s at home… probably fixing someones eyesight somewhere as an Optometrist which is what he is, believe it or not.
Thanks Paddy.
15 Oct 2011, 12:48 pm
A speartackle is a straight red card. Don’t understand the apparant confusion… The other villain was Hook for missing 2 relatively easy penalties (not to mention that kick against SA).
15 Oct 2011, 12:48 pm
I wonder if the Fake really feels the pain the real kiwis feel at not winning the RWC in 24 years… or does the Fickle Fake only seize on the success?
15 Oct 2011, 12:49 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-371: So what you basically saying is you have no link to SOUTH AFRICA..
@RL(RL)-363:
He has every right to support whoever he wants.
FFS, your such a tosser sometimes. You cant tell anyone who they should watch or support.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-378: I’ll send him your regards
15 Oct 2011, 12:50 pm
Wales can bleat all they want.
Bottom line is a) a tip tackle where you drop the oke is a red card. b) they left 11 points lying on the table.
Just like us Bokke, of you don’t sink the black you lose…..
@cane(cane)-309:
…and simply illegal. The player could have gotten a neck injury if he had been planted a little more towards 90 degrees.
The whole red card thing today looks unfair. The reason for this is that other incidents like this are treated with a yellow card and warnings, and that is the problem, if all of these are red carded we wouldn’t not have to think about if it fair or not. What we saw this morning is dangerous and needs to stop and more red cards will keep that silly stuff to a minimum.
@poppa69(poppa69)-383: Happiness is.
15 Oct 2011, 12:51 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-376: lol, check the Fake twisting facts, of course that silly tagline of yours was disputed, by many.
We can all see through a fake.
Especially one who comes on to an SA site and tries to gain some kick out of it.
Traitor Troll Fickle Fake.
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-377:
Wallabie, these idiots have nothing at all.
What they are trying to do now is create another RWC where it didnt count.
@Tuna(Tuna)-373: Who knows? They might actualy have timed their run much better this time. Saving that one, big, big performance for the final? Are you honestly saying that if their was a chance of France being knocked out by Tonga, they would still have lost that game? Imo that was a pretty authentic French performance and so would having a blinder in the WC final. It would be typical.
15 Oct 2011, 12:52 pm
Puma: for me to be a south African are you suggesting that I’d need to support the boks? As far as I know whenever I apply for a passport and ID book, the Home Affairs questionnaire does not ask me for my sporting affiliation!
15 Oct 2011, 12:52 pm
I am of course referring to sinking the black #8 ball in pool……. before anyone gets all freaky on me and thinks that was some kind of political statement, lol
15 Oct 2011, 12:53 pm
I am going to get a double barrelled shotgun
One bullet has been marked with the name Bryce Lawerence
The other bullet has been marekd “the frog Allain Rolland”
I would glady line those shots up.
15 Oct 2011, 12:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-387:
15 Oct 2011, 12:54 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-389:
pants at my ankles…
15 Oct 2011, 12:54 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-393: threats over the internet, oh no, thought it was only us kiwi’s
15 Oct 2011, 12:55 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-391:
I wouldnt let these clowns get to ya. You have rights in most countries, my understanding is that SA is one of them. But going by a couple on here, they seem a bit,like old school South Africa.
15 Oct 2011, 12:55 pm
That wasnt a threat?
15 Oct 2011, 12:56 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-395:
good one
15 Oct 2011, 12:57 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-393:
OH no, internet tough guy alert.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-391: I’ll be sending a n email to immigration immediately – that should most definitely be a requirement for applying for an SA passport that you support the Boks, otherwise why do you want to support for eg the Kiwis but get an SA passport?
PS Tackler what passport do you have?
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-398: I know
Ugly thought is that France haven’t played a good game yet! Quite possible that they turn up next week! Imagine that a side that lost twice winning the tournament!
@poppa69(poppa69)-369: He is the best ref in this tourney Poppa and has been reffing very well. You can be sure none from Wallabies or ABs will get away with cheating at the breakdowns. No high tackles will be missed. He keeps up with the players too. So will see if there is a forward pass or if it was not. Oz and ABs have the best ref. My feeling he will ref the final as well.
We will see a very fair game tomorrow.
I actually read that Craig was gonna ref this game today. Now see he is reffing the sh teams in their semi.
Read here earlier about your mom mate. Sorry to hear. Very sad when one loses a parent.
How convenient the Fakes all choose NZ. I’ve yet to find a Fake supporting Australia or Ireland or Wales or England or France.
The one team they all seem to drift to like moths to a flame is the one single team who just happens to [presently] have a better win record over the Boks.
i.e. what better team to support if you want to be confrontational about it? Like coming on to a blog and running down your own countrymen…
Question for the Fakes: do you get more joy out of SA losing, or your adopted team winning?
I suspect we all know the real answer even if you are too scared to admit it.
Woodie: the result of the tenets of my argument was refuted but the make up of the position wasn’t. In other words people said you are wrong but we don’t know why.
15 Oct 2011, 12:58 pm
I will finish it off
Happiness is a warm gun, great song HG, One of my favourite Beatle songs
15 Oct 2011, 12:58 pm
Happiness is……………………………..
Happiness (is a warm whistle)
(Lemon and Macca.)
15 Oct 2011, 12:59 pm
if the Fakes like NZ so much they should fark off to NZ.
I’m sure the real kiwis would love to have them.
15 Oct 2011, 13:00 pm
@Puma(Puma)-404: thanks mate… like all refs he misses things but he is pretty consistent with his rulings… he allows play to flow imo
15 Oct 2011, 13:01 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-405:
Good point. If New Zealand lost on a regular basis one wonders if so many South africans would support them.
I know of a lot of Fijians that support The Sharks during the Super 14/15 and I suspect it’s because they consistently won so many games.
Wooden spoon: so now you want to kick out people born in south Africa who don’t support the same team as you?
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-407:
Or as Richard Nixon once said…………………………
” I am not a crook”.
(this is private jike among the Huttites).
15 Oct 2011, 13:02 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-407: @cane(cane)-408: No.
Happiness is…
Paddy O’Brien, Old School Kiwi…
And yes, Hurricane, “warm gun” is highly appropriate here…
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-318: Fern, very funny
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-409:
Wooden, when you land , do you need a ride from Christchurch airport, i will pick ya up
15 Oct 2011, 13:03 pm
@cane(cane)-413:
Dude how do you know him?
Its not me but you are damn close
15 Oct 2011, 13:03 pm
Its a sad indictment on World referees that Craig Joubert is now considered to be the best referee. Imo the best ref outhere never made it to the Cup and since retired. Can’t say I blame him. He is also a Lawrence, but of a better pedigree
15 Oct 2011, 13:04 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-414:
happiness is…
Paddy O’brien leading NZ to WC victory..
15 Oct 2011, 13:04 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-411:
Added to that the Boks 7′s jerseys sell out in Fijian shops like hotcakes due to the demand amongst the general public.
15 Oct 2011, 13:05 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-419: Ja you got that right
15 Oct 2011, 13:05 pm
Woodie: how many SA national sporting teams does a south African need to support to retain their citizenship and be permitted to remain in the country?
15 Oct 2011, 13:06 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-410: Yes and he will blow fair to both sides.
It will be a AB/France final. Wallabies were atrocious last week and very lucky to come away with a win, really can’t see your team losing to them and ABs will not lose to the French in the final. That is a useless French side. Wales with 15men would have beaten them. Pity Warbarton had a brain lapse. Lost it for his team right there.
Cheers mate. Took my Scot visitors to the beach after the Wales game now gonna go and collect them. Getting overcast. Just hope the weather stays fine for my Sharks game later.
15 Oct 2011, 13:08 pm
If I wanted to support a regular WC winning team, I’d be a bok supporter. The ABs may or may not win this WC but I’ll always be BLACK!!!
15 Oct 2011, 13:09 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-420: How big is a sportshop in Fiji? I guess you could say they sell like hotcakes if you sold your one and only Bok jersey.
15 Oct 2011, 13:09 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-422: How do you support something that is nt your own, and wil never be
You can never be proud of that fact, can you?
15 Oct 2011, 13:10 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-424:
All black.
15 Oct 2011, 13:10 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-424:
wow, i started reading that post and i had to stand up and put hand on heart for some reason.
15 Oct 2011, 13:11 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-417:
I’ve never met him Hurricane.
But his name, “Richard” is a name you never forget.
We’ll have to have a beer sometime.
I’m sure his name has been both a blessing and a curse.
I can tell you his current and former occupation.
His Bank and what Branch he uses.
But have not a clue what he looks like.
15 Oct 2011, 13:12 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-425:
Not sure but that’s what my one Fijian mate tells me. The Fijians rate our Bok 7′s big time and a lot do support us.
JL1: the boks are not mine, they were never intended to be and I’m proud of the All Blacks incredibly proud!!!
Great white shark: indeed.
15 Oct 2011, 13:13 pm
@Puma(Puma)-423: not game enough to think that far ahead Puma, big one against Aust as far as Im looking.. Wales should still have won, unfortunate for Warburton but he is young, going to be a good good player.. good luck in your game later today mate..
15 Oct 2011, 13:14 pm
@cane(cane)-429:
Your just a very wise man Cane thats all.
And yeah, a beer sometime when i am visiting the family in Y-nui would be great.
15 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
Hurricane: that’s how i’m feeling right now, immensely proud, I love the AB’s mate, no other team matters.
15 Oct 2011, 13:15 pm
Almost all RWC games are won or lost by pure luck. It’s how it goes.
Oz may even win the same way against the Kiwis if the Kiwis choke on their gumguards tomorrow.
15 Oct 2011, 13:16 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-431: And their anthem and their haka and their ministers, you sound like you just a tourist in SA at the moment
When you are you going back to New Zealand?
15 Oct 2011, 13:18 pm
I’d like to become a Welshman…their anthem even makes me get all watery eyed.
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-430:
One (1) Fijian mate,
and you know the groundswell of Fijian public opinion !
Well I suppose,
1 from 1 is 100%.
(have you apologised yet?)
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-424: A fan of the England away kit?
15 Oct 2011, 13:19 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-438: Are you ***, if so then you are already half Welsh
15 Oct 2011, 13:20 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-438: They actually had good singers for the anthems this time, thank god they’ve ditched those stupid church choirs.
@JL1(JL1)-441: g a y
I love the haka both forms, Kapa o pango being my favourite. My family ancestors have been in south Africa for hundreds of years pre-dating the colonialists. How longer has your family been here and do you have a uk passport?
I’ll be in NZ next year during the four nations tournament, when will you be there?
15 Oct 2011, 13:21 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-438:
There anthem is the most intense their is.
Nothing like it when your at cardiff and they start singing that.
15 Oct 2011, 13:22 pm
@cane(cane)-439:
Nope I know a few. Feeling prickly today I notice. The nerves on edge or is it my comments that have offended you doodums…that stick up your bottom a bit too tight.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-435:
Big Hug ( a manly hug) across the timezones Bro.
We need all the suppport we can get.
Tomorrow is going toi be a very tough day at the office for both teams.
Very tough.
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-438: is that like when you finally realise the sharks arent going to make the s!5 playoffs too?
@JL1(JL1)-441:
I’m the only g ay in my village.
15 Oct 2011, 13:23 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-444:
Oh i liked this post.
Hongkongslong: the England away kit is sacrilege!
@cane(cane)-447:
Toi = to.
Sorry slipped into Pidgeon for a moment there.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-445:
Goosebumps of noooote.
15 Oct 2011, 13:25 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-444: I live in England
A travelled to every rugby stadia in the world, and NZ is on the cards in the next year or two
15 Oct 2011, 13:25 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-448:
The way they’re playing this years Currie Cup makes me believe that 2012 will be much of the same.
15 Oct 2011, 13:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-444: So why not support you forefathers
15 Oct 2011, 13:27 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-455:
15 Oct 2011, 13:30 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-449:
Nothing wrong with the Team you bat for Predawn.
Embrace the Human Being that you are.
15 Oct 2011, 13:33 pm
Cane: this is going to be a tough, I know the AB’s will get through it, this means too much for the team. We just need forward ascendancy and unleash the backs! WE BELIEVE IN THE BLACKNESS!!!!!
15 Oct 2011, 13:34 pm
Fukme, I feel gutted for the poor Taffs. They were head and shoulders the superior team today. And spare a thought for poor Warburton. He will not go a day for the rest of his life without this playing on his mind. The upside, if there is one, is that this Welsh team is mostly young and incredibly talented. I seriously hope this is the start of their international revival.
15 Oct 2011, 13:34 pm
JL1: my forefathers never played for or supported the boks!
15 Oct 2011, 13:35 pm
ESPN Classic is showing the ’98 Trinations between NZ and SA (the NZ game). This was a titanic battle. Very entertaining.
15 Oct 2011, 13:35 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-461: What positions did they play?
15 Oct 2011, 13:39 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-461: Or for the All Blacks
15 Oct 2011, 13:39 pm
Katman: my grandfather on my mum’s side played lock and my grand dad on my dad’s side was a flanker. My dad played 8th man, my two uncles played inside centre and full black. What positions did your people play?
15 Oct 2011, 13:41 pm
JL1: the south African government refused to give them passports.
15 Oct 2011, 13:43 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-465: Don’t really know about my grandparents. My dad was a decent 8thman in the old Western Transvaal though.
15 Oct 2011, 13:46 pm
@cane(cane)-458:
I like deep cover.
15 Oct 2011, 13:55 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-468:
Get your boyfriend to fill his condom with ice Predawn.
Then you will get a deep freeze.
15 Oct 2011, 13:55 pm
Katman: only my uncle was a decent 12 who played for EP back in the day.
15 Oct 2011, 13:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-460:
Nice post Katmandu.
My sentiments exactly.
15 Oct 2011, 13:58 pm
@cane(cane)-469:
Okay sweety.
It does worry me that you thought long enough about it to come up with the suggestion.
15 Oct 2011, 14:02 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-470:
In NZ, back in the 70′s we were told that in SA,
dark people didn’t play Rugby anyway.
That soccer was their game,
So playing ALL WHITE Teams was okay.
Such was the world we lived in!
15 Oct 2011, 14:03 pm
And they say its just us dumbfck “Yarpies” who think this Reffing World Cup stinks to high heaven:
By Telegraph staff12:42PM BST 15 Oct 2011
Rolland showed Warburton the red card after a dangerous looking tip-tackle in the 18th minute but Wales fans and a significant proportion of neutrals believed the decision was too harsh.
It didn’t take long for web-savvy spectators to mischievously get to work on Rolland’s profile and by half-time it had already been altered to include a number of disparaging remarks.
An initial entry described Rolland as “a fool who erroneously sent off Sam Warburton”.
But it was altered again to say “Rolland, whose father is French speaks fluent French making him an ‘awful neutral’ referee for matches involving English speaking teams and France”.
His full name was also changed to “Alain ‘Colm Pierre’ ‘bit of a ****’ Rolland”.
Rolland is not the first official to fall foul of “Wiki-bombing” at this World Cup. New Zealander Bryce Lawrence had his profile changed after his much-criticised performance with the whistle in Australia’s 11-9 quarter-final win over South Africa.
Lawrence’s profile was bombarded with so many changes that Wikipedia moderators had to remove any changes and lock his profile to protect it from further editing.
Thanks Paddy.
All the best.
HG
15 Oct 2011, 14:04 pm
Cane: these south Africans are a tricky bunch my friend, they told us blacks they were delivered to us by god.
15 Oct 2011, 14:05 pm
Rugby World Cup 2011: referee Alain Rolland ruined semi-final with Sam Warburton red, says Warren Gatland
Wales coach Warren Gatland has been left furious with referee Alain Rolland after his side’s controversial World Cup semi-final defeat to France.
The Irish official showed a red card to Welsh captain Sam Warburton in the 19th minute for a tackle which lifted France winger Vincent Clerc off the ground.
Wales battled gamely in the second half – and had chances to win the game, missing 11 points’ worth of kicks at goal – but Gatland felt Rolland’s decision had proved crucial.
“We just feel like the destiny of the result was taken out of our hands with the red card,” he said after the 9-8 defeat.
“He’s lifted him, that’s a yellow card, but he’s not driven him into the ground. Does that mean every time there’s a tackle where you lift someone off the ground it’s a red card?
“Why spoil the semi-final with a red card? He’s not a dirty player. I’m just gutted.
“We were down to 14 but we showed great character and I’m proud of our efforts. But we can’t go to just one tournament and do well, we’ve got to kick on from here.
“I feel let down, I thought this team were good enough to go on and take the final but it was not to be. We just feel that ultimately the result wasn’t in our control.”
Warburton added: “I’m gutted but there was no malicious intent.
“I’m devastated. I thought it was a normal tackle. As soon as I hit him I felt like his body weight took control of what happened.”
Wales prop Gethin Jenkins said of Warburton’s dismissal: “It was always going to be tough in the second half.
“It changed the game a bit when Sam went off, we had to play a different style of rugby. Fair play to the French, they held us out for the full 80 (minutes).”
Despite a fine solo try from scrum-half Mike Phillips and James Hook’s early penalty, France hit back with three Morgan Parra penalties to advance to next weekend’s final against the winner of the second semi-final between Australia and New Zealand.
Warburton joined Huw Richards as the second Welsh player to be sent off at a World Cup.
Richards was red-carded in Wales’s previous semi-final appearance, in 1987, for punching New Zealand’s Gary Whetton in a match the Welsh lost 49-6.
Kevin Moseley was the last Wales player to be sent off, against France in 1990.
Warburton’s red card was only the second of this World Cup after that given to Samoa full-back Paul Williams for striking South Africa flanker Heinrich Brussow.
Sickening.
Farce.
15 Oct 2011, 14:05 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-474:
…and if the dude had picked up a serious neck injury all would have been dead quiet.
15 Oct 2011, 14:07 pm
@cane(cane)-471: Hey cane. Pre-match jitters yet? I hope all you citizens are sharing the load, because alone those 22 blokes cannot bear it.
15 Oct 2011, 14:09 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-478:
They’re already trying out their anti-reflux gumguards.
15 Oct 2011, 14:09 pm
From high tackles in the Bok game blatantly unpunished to the Welsh Captain Red Carded for a T-bone tackle…
Talk about consistency….
Consistently farked up.
15 Oct 2011, 14:10 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-475: …and who believed it
15 Oct 2011, 14:17 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-478:
I am getting jittery Katman.
But don’t tell anyone else.
You Mother Foooker’s have given these Young Turks belief.
If we lose tomorrow, it will be your fault …………………………………again.
15 Oct 2011, 14:17 pm
Now there is also a Ban Allain Rolland Facebook page
Good bye Paddy o Brian, you are the weakest link
15 Oct 2011, 14:20 pm
The rigged RWC 2011, by Paddy
15 Oct 2011, 14:23 pm
One thing is for sure, the South African referees walk away from this RWC in the knowlege that they are world class and yards ahead of their Southern Hemisphere peers in terms of professionalism.
This RWC will surely go down as the worst for shocking refereeing.
15 Oct 2011, 14:23 pm
JL1: they did, they believed that they are deliverance itself, we always knew they had devilish ways, it’s an aura they carry, a spectre if you will, sinister.
15 Oct 2011, 14:25 pm
@JL1(JL1)-484:
You sad pathetic excuse for a sports fan:
Had Dannie Roussow not up ended that Aussie in the lineout, 5 minutes before time………………………………………………………..would you ever have made that post?
15 Oct 2011, 14:26 pm
@cane(cane)-482: Not us Mother Fookers, Cane. That Lawrence Jr. mother fooker, following in the footsteps of his manipulating mother fooking daddy.
Anyway, it should ease your mind somewhat to learn from the katman that the Aussies REALLY AREN”T THAT GOOD. They have good outside backs, but then you must simply cut them out of the game. Their tight five is fragile. And their flyhalf doesn’t always take his medication, rendering him erratic and a fcking nightmare to his team mates.
Wear them down through phase play and snappy defense and the Cup is yours.
15 Oct 2011, 14:26 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-474:
Time for Paddy to step down and go live with P Diddy…
15 Oct 2011, 14:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-486: Dont forget to put the bricks under the bed…. The Tokoloshes from God are all around you…
15 Oct 2011, 14:28 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-486: Hahaha, you believe in the tokolosh?
15 Oct 2011, 14:29 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-489: Hehehe… Now that would be an interesting arrangement… MTV Celebrity Deathmatch…. I pick Dippy for that one
15 Oct 2011, 14:31 pm
@cane(cane)-473: Only the illiterate and ignorant NZers believed that rubbish. They believed that because they wanted to believe that.
Anyone half educated knew that wasn’t true.The evidence was indisputable regarding the 3rd class treatment for any coloured or black player wishing to play rugby. NZers who were pro rugby contact in those days have all strangely had collective amnesia 30 years later
15 Oct 2011, 14:32 pm
@cane(cane)-487: You scum bucket who badmouth our greats
Shut your pie hole, filth
15 Oct 2011, 14:34 pm
@lapoftherugbygods(lapoftherugbygods)-493: Yes, selected the bits that they wanted to care about, having their bread buttered on both ends
15 Oct 2011, 14:36 pm
@cane(cane)-487:
Could add that if Lawrence had allowed e.g. Brussow to get away with the stuff that Pocock got away with, we would have hailed Brussow as a master of the dark arts, and you would not have heard a single complaint about Lawrence.
Way I see it, when the final whistle blows, you looks at the scoreboard, shake hands with the other team, and that’s that. All this whingeing has no place in a gentleman’s game like rugby… leave it to the hooligans in sports like soccer.
15 Oct 2011, 14:36 pm
@cane(cane)-473: The biggest Porky I have yet to see on Keo…
Well done Cane…
This might be becoming a Kiwi Stereotype very soon…
Honest Paddys…
Or
Honest Charlies… (Dempsey)
15 Oct 2011, 14:41 pm
@cane(cane)-473: I hope Mpundula does not believe this rubbish
15 Oct 2011, 14:42 pm
JL1: heavens game is what is commonly known as an uncle Tom, he’s always emotionally linked to his master, if his master is sad, he starts crying, if he’s master is happy, heavens game thinks it’s his birthday!
15 Oct 2011, 14:43 pm
I see a red dragon and I want it painted black
No Tricolors anymore I want them to turn black
I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes
I see my red door and it has been painted black
Maybe then I’ll fade away and not have to face the facts
It’s not easy facing up when your whole world is black
I wanna see it painted black, painted black
Black as night, black as coal
I wanna see the sun, blotted out from the sky
I wanna see it painted, painted, painted, painted black
Yeah
(Mick & Keith,)
15 Oct 2011, 14:45 pm
JL1 498: which rubbish are you pointing to?
15 Oct 2011, 14:46 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-499: Manna from heaven for this whitey “sent from God”
Nope Mpungushe… I reckon you are what is known as an Uncle Tom. Your support for the All Blacks proves this.
Welcome to your new name: Uncle Tom
I think its going to stick.
15 Oct 2011, 14:47 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-501: 473.cane:
15 Oct 2011, 14:02 pm @mpundulu(mpundulu)-470: In NZ, back in the 70?s we were told that in SA,
dark people didn’t play Rugby anyway. That soccer was their game, So playing ALL WHITE Teams was okay. Such was the world we lived in!
HG: Dala wayi pimpi!
jon, you are a joke. France owned Wales. Put a good defensive line in front of Wales and they, predictably, run out of ideas. they had most of the ball, but were content bumbling around aimlessly. That is worthy of praise is it? Such low standards you have, but not too surprising coming from someone that hoped onto the Butch, Lambie and Watson bandwagon. France beat Wales in the key facets of the game. End of story. Running aimlessly does not constitute a great side. They never looked the part throughout this game.
15 Oct 2011, 14:48 pm
JL1: and your contention is what?
15 Oct 2011, 14:49 pm
@Thucydides(Thucydides)-496:
“Way I see it, when the final whistle blows, you looks at the scoreboard.”
That’s what I saw Victor do, He shook the hand of all he could reach.
If it was good enough for Victor,
why is it not good enough for the average keo poster?
@mpundulu(Uncle Tom)-504: Yes, whatever you say…
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-506: Are you just acting thick?
ABs deserve a supporter like you
@cane(cane)-507: Honest…Paddy?
15 Oct 2011, 14:51 pm
@cane(cane)-507: Maybe you will call Victor some names in the future?
15 Oct 2011, 14:51 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-505:
“jon, you are a joke. France owned Wales”.
Final score 9-8…………………………………………………………………………Yeah right.
15 Oct 2011, 14:53 pm
JL1: are you saying SARFU marketed black rugby internationally, on a separate but equal stance?
15 Oct 2011, 14:53 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-505:
“France owned Wales. Put a good defensive line in front of Wales and they, predictably, run out of ideas. they had most of the ball, but were content bumbling around aimlessly.”
Replace “France” with “Australia” and “Wales” with “South Africa”, and this would actually be a good summary of what happened in the quarter final.
Anyway, I’m out of here. One can only listen to so much whingeing, even – especially – if it comes from one’s own side.
15 Oct 2011, 14:54 pm
HG: kudala sinikangela magwaladini. Lol
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-513: Are you thick, do you think Cane believe that black people do not play rugby, you must be ignorant
@Thucydides(Thucydides)-514: This game was nothing like that. Name one facet of play that Australia actually dominated, and I mean legally. Short answer? None. But you are an ignorant golly that knows stuff all.
15 Oct 2011, 14:55 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-444:
I love the haka both forms, Kapa o pango being my favourite. My family ancestors have been in south Africa for hundreds of years pre-dating the colonialists. How longer has your family been here and do you have a uk passport? I’ll be in NZ next year during the four nations tournament, when will you be there?
This post says all we need to know about you.
You seek division, not unity.
It puts your “support” of the All Blacks in context now.
Pathetic.
15 Oct 2011, 14:55 pm
JL1: don’t be so upset, you must not allow me to get under your skin so much, don’t allow it. LoL
15 Oct 2011, 14:56 pm
@mpundulu(Uncle Tom)-515: Keep going. Watch out for the Tokolosh though… 5 bricks high minimum
15 Oct 2011, 14:56 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-519: Nice way to try and hide your ignorance
15 Oct 2011, 15:00 pm
JL1: it’s a commonly known notion in south Africa that blacks don’t have a rugby history and that rugby is a whites game. Just a notion but has been prevalent for many years to the extent to which it was the argument put forward when the IRB was investigating the exclusion of the boks from international rugby.
15 Oct 2011, 15:00 pm
Wooden spoon: what’s pathetic?
15 Oct 2011, 15:02 pm
@Hell’s Shame(Helen’s Game)-510:
The naked truth about Helen
” I learned quite early on in life,” Helen is telling me over beer at the Dorchester hotel, “that we are all two people. ”
Is she now in your care after arriving safely in London?
Are you jumping and pumping her already?
Watch out for the bloody poppy seed muffin.
@Alucard(Alucard)-517:
“Name one facet of play that Australia actually dominated”
The scoreboard.
Anyway, if you enjoy playing the victim, don’t let me stand in your way. I have better things to do anyway.
HG: ufuna nje imfubu qha! Andinaxhaki uba ndiku nike. Hehehe
Fortunately, very fortunately, the vast majority of people in SA – white, black and every shade in between – have been able to put the past behind them and unite in sport as proud South Africans.
The scenes in 1995 and 2010, rugby and football, proved this.
It is just the old bitter ones left. They are a dying breed thankfully.
15 Oct 2011, 15:04 pm
@ET.(ExtraThuvi.)-524: Nothing like a ChickwithaDick…
15 Oct 2011, 15:05 pm
@cane(cane)-333:
“How so Shiit for Brains?”
Well if you can’t see the blindingly obvious that’s your predicament c–t lips.
15 Oct 2011, 15:07 pm
Wooden spoon: there are a lot who would love for the old days to return, agreed, unfortunately, since racism is passed from parents to kids and so on, it’s seems that will perpetuate. Truly unfortunate.
15 Oct 2011, 15:07 pm
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-529:
You’ve got to patronise these okes to get to them. Just agree with him and he’ll eventually go away so that the adults can talk.
15 Oct 2011, 15:09 pm
@ET.(ET.)-524:
Missed the whole quotation so here is the story of the naked truth about Helen again and maybe it gets hotter even later.
{ The naked truth about Helen
” I learned quite early on in life,” Helen is telling me over beer at the Dorchester hotel, “that we are all two people. And one of those people none of us will ever know. You, HG, for example, will never know how I perceive you. ” }
NAKED TRUTH – indeed.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-526: lol… anginalutho… Blaadyhell.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-527:
They’re all in SARU…bitter and twisted and hiring affirmative coaches to teach whitey a lesson.
15 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@ET.(ET.)-532: Yes ExtraThuvi… another Uncle Tom if ever I saw…
15 Oct 2011, 15:10 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-530: We can agree that you will ram Fake support down your kids throats, to keep the racism alive.
15 Oct 2011, 15:12 pm
HG: LoL
15 Oct 2011, 15:12 pm
-528:
I simply will take your qualified word for it.
I DO NOT question your experience, which I will never have, on this issue.
15 Oct 2011, 15:13 pm
Wooden spoon: my kids will have the right to choose any team they want to support for their own reasons. How about your kids?
15 Oct 2011, 15:15 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-539: I don’t believe that for a second. Uh uh, not with your kind. The kind who still live in the past.
15 Oct 2011, 15:15 pm
My kids can support any team they want to as long as it’s The Sharks and Boks or I’ll knock the stuffing out of them.
15 Oct 2011, 15:16 pm
535:
And you, the maggot, flatworm, flukeworm, roundworm are so comfortable slap bang in the middle of that shitpile where you get all your humid warmth and life-sustaining nourishment for even more c rap.
15 Oct 2011, 15:17 pm
Fact is, kids will support the teams their family supports.
My whole family supports the same team(s).
That’s because they are linked to the geography and physical presence of the teams.
I have nothing in common with NZ or any other country.
15 Oct 2011, 15:21 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-543:
If you come from Cape Town you are born confused from all the boom that filters the air. Therefore it’s no wonder all the Kiwi supporters come from that side of the country. The long white cloud is confused with a cloud of doobie.
15 Oct 2011, 15:21 pm
Wooden spoon: don’t take your family’s narrow approach and modus operandi and superimpose it on other people’s families, very colonial of you! Why am I not surprised…..
15 Oct 2011, 15:24 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-539: Ag, suka. basutha manje. yekha pambhi kwaWorld War 3 now! ngisokhangela blaady Qilindini!
15 Oct 2011, 15:24 pm
Great white shark: you’d be amazed at the amount of black AB supporters in gauteng and the eastern cape.
15 Oct 2011, 15:27 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-547:
Not really. That’s where the boom is grown.
15 Oct 2011, 15:28 pm
HG: ndiku lindele gwala, yizise apha kum kwedini, uyaku buya netshisa mpela boyo! Hehehe
15 Oct 2011, 15:30 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-545: racist.
15 Oct 2011, 15:30 pm
Great white shark: there are lots of us.
15 Oct 2011, 15:32 pm
Wooden spoon: racist? That’s all you have? Really……
15 Oct 2011, 15:34 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-551:
You’re telling me….but at the rate you’re all going there’ll be none of us left by 2020.
Double meaning there..
15 Oct 2011, 15:35 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-549: Ja, I can see… uyajikijela ibheyithi…badla futhi… Stirrer.
15 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
Great white shark: I could not understand that entry please clarify.
15 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
HG: iyawa yintoni ngoku mhleka. Wink
15 Oct 2011, 15:44 pm
The funny thing is this pundulu saying a few months ago “the racism in Italy and Spain bla bla bla…..”
!!What the hell do you know about this countries, bobo de los cojones!!!!
We are no more racist than you, thats for sure
Sad loss for Wales, i thought they were deserving of the win the way they played, am glad i pick froggies for my bru and ratrace though. was looking very sad.
As for the red card, i thought it a bit harsh, yellow yes as there was no malicious intent, a different ref might have given a yellow, who knows.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-556: ngiyahleka futhi, uyafunda kahle…musalinganisa. Hhayi!
15 Oct 2011, 15:47 pm
Im out for now. Beer O Clock with Banshee on nice Autumn afternoon…
15 Oct 2011, 15:48 pm
Markel 77: if you believe yourself to be racist at least you are open and honest about it. I respect that in a weird sort of way.
15 Oct 2011, 15:51 pm
You are just another “little insecure boy” and racist besides. Jooor, you are the complete packcage. Deal with it
15 Oct 2011, 15:52 pm
HG: uyandi hlekisa! Lol
15 Oct 2011, 15:55 pm
Markel: I’ve just given you a compliment why are you insulting me? Don’t do that, ne.
15 Oct 2011, 15:57 pm
Im not insulting you. in my humble opinion you are biased against whites so you are racist.
15 Oct 2011, 15:59 pm
Markel: I love white people, I have white friends, and they come to my house for dinner.
15 Oct 2011, 16:00 pm
And i didnt like your comments about racism is Italy and Spain. ¿what do you know about it?
¿have you been in those countries?
15 Oct 2011, 16:09 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-551: I highly doubt it. A mere drop in the ocean if anything.
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-552: It’s simple, and more than appropriate.
Lol, this Pundy character likes to stir. But he’s made his radical views pretty clear in doing so.
Racist swine.
15 Oct 2011, 16:09 pm
Markel: I’ve been all over Europe since I was kid mate, my family would summer at lake Iseo in Italy and I’ve been to Spain, I’ve there during general franco’s birthday as well!
15 Oct 2011, 16:11 pm
Mina hleka ngakulu.
15 Oct 2011, 16:12 pm
But the biggest “hleka” is for those who feels this world owes them something.
Hawu!
15 Oct 2011, 16:14 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-569: so you must be pretty young then. Explains quite a bit too.
15 Oct 2011, 16:14 pm
Wooden spoon: I like it when you are being light hearted, but there’s no need to insult me I respect you as a human. Let’s accept the fact that you support the boks and I the AB’s, there’s no need for any animosity between us, we are not football hooligans, we can support opposing teams and still have a beer.
15 Oct 2011, 16:15 pm
*old*
Entrenched views.
Exile.
15 Oct 2011, 16:15 pm
Well maybe i am wrong so my apologies Mpundulu.
But i will tell you one thing, i think Wooden (like me) want the best players for the Springboks, regardless of colour or religion.
15 Oct 2011, 16:24 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-573: OK. There is no point to arguing anonymously on an internet blog.
15 Oct 2011, 16:25 pm
Markel 77: you are permitted to have your views, I’ve no issue with that at all. Although with SA’s history, the factor of colour will be a considerable input for the distant future, it’s a legacy of apartheid and it’ll persist.
15 Oct 2011, 16:26 pm
Wooden spoon: how old is young to you?
15 Oct 2011, 16:32 pm
Markel: being black in early December in Spain is not very nice, hotel concierge tells you not to go out of the hotel until the festivities are over!
15 Oct 2011, 16:34 pm
Wooden spoon: are you suggesting a meet over a few beers?
15 Oct 2011, 16:37 pm
Ok man but from my view, the South Africa of today is a democrazy and you south africans dont need cuotas in sports.
We had a civil war and almost 40 years of dictatorship and we dont want cuotas
15 Oct 2011, 16:41 pm
¿where dit it happen Mpundulu? I have been in many festivities and never seen problems with black guys or girls. Never ever
15 Oct 2011, 16:42 pm
watching the Mortals run about this this deranged enthusiasm for spastic folk dancing is thoroughly amusing
15 Oct 2011, 16:44 pm
Markel: quotas in sports in south Africa are necessary to level the playing field mate, the field won’t be leveled on it’s own.
15 Oct 2011, 16:46 pm
Markel: I agree I’ve been to many festivals in Spain and it’s generally enjoyable, but on franco’s birthday an entirely different sort comes out.
15 Oct 2011, 16:47 pm
South Africa take a bow…
The world’s 20 best cities are:
1. Sydney, Australia, 85.1
2. Florence, Italy, 85.0
3. Charleston, United States, 84.7
4. Cape Town, South Africa, 83.9
5. San Francisco, United States, 83.7
6. Santa Fe, United States, 83.0
7. Quebec City, Canada, 83.0
8. Barcelona, Spain, 82.8
9. Vancouver, Canada, 82.5
10. Rome, Italy, 82.4
11. Kyoto, Japan, 82.3
12. Chicago, United States, 82.2
13. Paris, France, 81.9
14. Bruges, Belgium, 81.7
15. Venice, Italy, 81.7
16. Bangkok
17. Salzburg, Austria, 81.4
18. Victoria B.C., Canada, 81.4
19. Hong Kong, China, 81.1
20. Vienna, Austria, 81.0
15 Oct 2011, 16:48 pm
France vs NZ final in Auckland, will it be a foregone conclusion that NZ will finally win the tournament, or will France with their erratic form, play out of their skin. History favours the southern hemisphere, where France have played in the final, but France were also the last team to beat the NZ in Auckland, Australia still have a cemi to play against NZ, but Australia fluked it with a poor kiwi ref.
This world cup is tainted as a spectacle, poor refereeing has been the norm, as for Wales and all their talk, they don’t have the psyche to win a world cup, they never have and never will, as to the history of welsh rugby, with the southern hemisphere, there isn’t much one win in a 100 years against the boks, 1 or two against the All Blacks and Aus.
Can France win the world cup, well yes, it depends what France pitches up.
History can be changed, we will see.
15 Oct 2011, 16:48 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-584:
It’s getting levelled alright. So is the coaching.
15 Oct 2011, 16:49 pm
silly Mortals
15 Oct 2011, 16:52 pm
Poor sleepy New Zealand is so damp and insipid their beauty is somehow overlooked. Oh well they do the haka…that’s something I guess.
15 Oct 2011, 16:53 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-586: Lol, not sure how Bangkok makes it into that list.
15 Oct 2011, 16:54 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-590: Wellington is actually a very nice city.
15 Oct 2011, 17:02 pm
Nah, sorry. Cant agree with you. Democrazy and cuotas is not good combination.
15 Oct 2011, 17:05 pm
Great white shark: it needs to reflect the racial demographics of this country.
15 Oct 2011, 17:06 pm
Markel: quotas and democracy actually go hand in hand, with a country with our history.
15 Oct 2011, 17:08 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-594: personally I don’t see why this is supposedly so vital.
I think a national sports team should comprise the best players in the country. Race doesn’t come into the equation, white, black, purple or green.
15 Oct 2011, 17:09 pm
Markel: you can’t have such massive inequalities: wealth, incomes, opportunities etc etc., and say well we are a democracy so everyone is on equal footing, we aren’t, democracy is just a concept in SA it needs to be realized economically for it to be real.
15 Oct 2011, 17:10 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-591:
It is a big smelly place…but the nightlife makes up for it….I’ve heard.
Vienna is awesome in December.
15 Oct 2011, 17:13 pm
I wasn’t aware that the concept of democracy entitled certain persons to freebies.
Nothing is owed to anyone in this life. If you want something you have to work for it.
And our democracy means that everyone has the right to achieve what they want provided they are willing to put the hard work in.
There is no barrier and the sky is the limit.
15 Oct 2011, 17:14 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-594:
If that were the case there would be one whitey in every sporting code.
Remember the so called Springbok womens rugby team….the mamas in that team could barely get off the bus they were so unfit.
15 Oct 2011, 17:16 pm
Mpundulu the United States have a history of slavery, civil rights, kkk, “wc only for whites” etc etc etc and they never had cuotas, at least in sports.
15 Oct 2011, 17:16 pm
Wooden spoon: because the team represents a country it’s subject to the affirmative action policy standard that the government has instituted. The notion of merit in south Africa is undermined by the country’s history, you can’t argue that only the very best can have the opportunity to play for the boks, when that very best is primarily white and they’ve had the coaching, equipment (tools), etc etc owing to a system that was geared to them being a cut above those people of colour. The cost of this is affirmative action which will be a mainstay of sporting policy in SA for a very long time.
15 Oct 2011, 17:20 pm
Wooden spoon: people in political everywhere in the world manipulate the system, it’s the nature of the beast. You can cry about it but all that’ll happen is they’ll use a different mechanism to get the same result.
15 Oct 2011, 17:20 pm
‘Clash of the Titans’
so little significance in the long history of Rugby Union until the
Springoks
deified it with their Holy presence.
15 Oct 2011, 17:22 pm
Tomorrow is Clash of the Islanders. 7′s here we come.
15 Oct 2011, 17:22 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-602: Doubt it. Putting the past behind us and striving to be the best we can be as collective SOUTH AFRICANS will achieve far more.
Continuing to label people by their race is archaic and no better than what happened in the past. Unity, not division is required.
As far as I know, SA is the only country to implement affirmative action in favour of the majority. It’s a temporary measure.
Any protracted use of this racist policy will simply be a result of the failure of the majority government to deliver on any of their promises to the majority (an excuse for failure, in other words).
15 Oct 2011, 17:23 pm
Markel: in the us they did not need it in sports, black sporting skills was commercialized before blacks got the vote. Major league sport is big business mate, and blacks are the backbone of sports.
15 Oct 2011, 17:27 pm
Wooden spoon: reversing over 400 years of institutional racism won’t happen over night. Affirmative action is here to stay for a very long long time. Talking of the majority benefiting from affirmative action policies, how do you treat the fact that white women in the us who constitute the biggest percentage of the us population are the biggest beneficiaries of the policy?
15 Oct 2011, 17:27 pm
Great White has a point. The majority of the Bokke women are black. what strange. ¿are the black male south africans the only disavantaged group in South Africa?
¿and the cuotas for the indians?
15 Oct 2011, 17:30 pm
The longer Affirmative Action is allowed to carry on the more money is disappearing out of State and local government coffers.
At last count South African tax money stolen by the ANC has now run into a few billion dollars that has somehow ‘disappeared’.
The playing field was levelled up to 2040. There won’t be anything left to level in a few years when it all dries up.
15 Oct 2011, 17:49 pm
Great white shark: the political market will correct itself, it’ll pull itself into line and ensure that corruption is far more organized, they’ll as time goes legitimate their stealing like they do in the US.
15 Oct 2011, 17:55 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-611: Perhaps it will just go the way of every other African country [much closer to home than the U.S].
Banana republic.
15 Oct 2011, 18:59 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-602:
so we’ll have aa in sport until the underpriviledged kids get all the latest sports equipment?
eish, comrades have been spinning you a good one.
the enlightened africans on this continent are calling for an end to the excuses of colonialism etc and time the leaders admitted the woes of the people are largely of their own making.
15 Oct 2011, 19:05 pm
@mpundulu(mpundulu)-611:
oh no my chum.
these boys here are going for it wholesale.
15 Oct 2011, 22:40 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-606:
“Putting the past behind us and striving to be the best we can be as collective SOUTH AFRICANS will achieve far more. ”
You have another solution instead of just not agreeing with what is currently on the table?
Puty it out there.
Not generic kak. give us specific solutions.
“As far as I know, SA is the only country to implement affirmative action in favour of the majority. It’s a temporary measure.”
So, you are saying that AA should be geared towards the minority (read whites)?
15 Oct 2011, 23:52 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-409:
“If the Fakes like NZ so much they should fark off to NZ.”
Such a STUPID argument. Telling people to leave SA if they don’t love everything about SA.
Where are you going? There are some things about SA that YOU don’t like/love, isn’t there?
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-411:
“Good point. If New Zealand lost on a regular basis one wonders if so many South africans would support them.”
No, they would not have. The reason why they are not big supporters of England, Ireland, Aus (except in cricket)
Facts are, people supported teams who could beat your people (read whites) in the past. Going by the drivel a guy like YOU posts on this site sometimes, many may feel that nothing has changed since then Why then, do you blame them for not making that paeadign shift?
People like you are the very reason WHY some people don’t want to cross that Rubicon.
__________________________________________________________-
Pundy vs about four clever white okes and beating them hands down without once having to lower himself to personal insults or doubting their credentials (:have you ever been to that countries>”)
Good on you Mpundulu.
Keep them on their toes.
16 Oct 2011, 00:42 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-590:
you seem to have picked on a site that had the right information……for you.
In fact i found the List that was made in October 2011 of the best cities to live and have a career.
Top 10 does not have a SA city.
Actaully #10 was Auckland.
I can find 100s of sites with the best cities and they all differ.
Looks like you found the one you like and posted it.
Which makes the rest of your stuff you have said on here very questionable
16 Oct 2011, 00:50 am
Its great to see so many South Africans attacking Mpundulu cos he is different.
Isnt this what got SA in trouble in the first place.
Has this nation changed at all?
Its amazing what you all do and say just because your Bok team lost.
All this because the Boks were not good enough to win.
Most the same guys crying on here were giving us rubbish about complaining about Barnes in 2007.
And too right as well, we were silly and didnt notice that the ABs blew it many a times.
But what you guys on here have done is gone the next step of stupidity, is turn on people that have a different opinion in numbers, blame IRB for match fixing, blame the POB for corruption. I never have seen such a sour lot in my life.
16 Oct 2011, 01:40 am
@mudrockshark(mudrockshark)-529: Eh? How is it they we have dished up a clanger – what part of last night – other than the game being played here – were we responsible for any of this?
16 Oct 2011, 01:52 am
sad for wales? no not really. Warburton f’d up, they missed multiple shots at goal – cardinal sin, they had plenty of possession, but lacked creativity as a team, their try was made of one mans risk and another mans tired tackle.
France defended admirably – they did, its what they did to us in 07. France kept Wales away as much as they could from being within striking distance to secure a drop goal attempt.
Watch the game again without the beers and jeers, and you will see France did what they knew they had to do to win – that was all that was required. Yep, they let it run real close, too close almost, but they got home, they backed themselves, and they played to the ref.
What was the last penalty awarded to Wales for? Should have been a penalty to France. The Welsh man gathered the ball whilst laying on the ground, he should have returned to his feet, then get the ball after France 7 had gone through, and left the ball behind, then France 3 attempted the pick up, but Wales 5 held on – surely a penalty to France?
16 Oct 2011, 08:00 am
so many games ruined by awful officials…..none more than this game [ a semi ] and last weeks Boks aussie game [ a quarter ]….throw in the Samoa….Bok game for good measure….bad man…very bad!
16 Oct 2011, 08:25 am
@grant10(grant10)-621: Agreed,
I post regularly about my wish for an upcoming game to be decided by legitimate on field display and not by some controversial reffing decision or incident that the ref missed.
I have posted this prior to Super Rugby games, Tri Nations tests and now my worst nightmare came true in the QF.
Wales have felt it now too.
They were the best team in that half of the draw, and it’s sad that they didn;t get a crack at the final.
The French, on current form, will be no match for whichever team wins the upcoming Semi.
Basically the next game is the final.
Let’s hope that it’s also not negatively influenced by the officials.
16 Oct 2011, 08:30 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-622:
Its all happened before in RWC 2007.
16 Oct 2011, 08:33 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-623: True, and I’m not unaware of that, I watched that game too. Sucks to have a decision like that influence the game.