Boks drop in rankings
17 Oct 2011
The Springboks have dropped to fourth place in the latest IRB rankings.
The last time the Boks were ranked outside the top three in the international rankings was back in September 2007. The fall follows their quarter-final exit at the hands of the Wallabies a fortnight ago.
With France making the World Cup final – after beating Wales in their fourth successive tournament semi-final last weekend – they leap above South Africa into third spot. They are the first northern hemisphere team to be ranked in the top three in nearly 16 months.
The All Blacks still dominate in first place while the Wallabies occupy second. Despite making the semi-finals, Wales fall below fifth-placed England.
IRB Rankings:
1 All Blacks
2 Wallabies
3 France
4 Springboks
5 England
6 Wales
7 Ireland
8 Argentina
9 Tonga
10 Scotland

59 Comments
17 Oct 2011, 14:19 pm
How come Wales is still only sixth?
17 Oct 2011, 14:21 pm
17 Oct 2011, 14:26 pm
Wales only lost two games this World Cup and by one point in each and should have beaten both S.A. and France and they are only sixth.
Plus they the current Six Nations Champions! What happens if they beat Australia on Friday? Will they be fifth?
No, this ranking is joke!
17 Oct 2011, 14:40 pm
‘Plus they the current Six Nations Champions! ‘
That will be England actually
17 Oct 2011, 14:45 pm
HTF do France go into 4th spot having lost to Tonga and scraping past the might of Japan?
17 Oct 2011, 14:46 pm
Double ranking points during a RWC.
17 Oct 2011, 14:47 pm
Okes forget that during WC rating points gained/lost are DOUBLED. Just don’t be lazy and see how ratings work.
http://www.irb.com/rankings/explain/index.html
17 Oct 2011, 14:51 pm
yeah but losing to tonga, if doubled, should see France at around 23rd on the rankings of hoe?
17 Oct 2011, 14:53 pm
It’s like Whose Fckin Line is it Anyway. The points don’t matter.
17 Oct 2011, 15:06 pm
Paddy O’Brien is secretly in charge of world rankings now, he is cheating and changing the rankings so the Bokke drop out of the top ten.
17 Oct 2011, 15:17 pm
We also went to number one after the last world cup even though the AB’s were consistantly the best side. This and having been “Bryced” these ranking mean nothing.
17 Oct 2011, 15:30 pm
If France beat New Zealand, the world champions will have lost to Tonga.
17 Oct 2011, 15:31 pm
Wow, I’m usually not too phased by the IRB rankings because I think they’ve been fairly accurate in recent times… but to be below France at the moment, the way they playing, sucks!
17 Oct 2011, 15:33 pm
and we’re only gonna get a shot at fixing this little problem next year some time in june…tut tut tut…
17 Oct 2011, 15:38 pm
The proper rankings
1. Boks
2. Wales
3. Flakes
4. France
5. Wobblies
17 Oct 2011, 15:41 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-15: You know what, do not go anywhere. Priceless entertainment guaranteed for a long time. Just wish Sheriff woud hang around more frequently.
17 Oct 2011, 15:58 pm
Real Rankings:
IMO:
1 New Zealand
2 Wallabies
3 Wales
4 Boks
5 England
6 Ireland
7 France
8 Argentina
9 Scotland
10 Italy
11 Tonga
12 Samoa
13 USA
14 Canada
15 Japan
16 Fiji
17 Russia
18 Georgia
19 Namibia
20 Romania
21 Portugal
22 Uruguay
17 Oct 2011, 16:22 pm
Still a big drop for the Boks – but how you can compare the French to the Boks is still a mystery
17 Oct 2011, 16:24 pm
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-12: And struggled to beat a 14 man wales team
17 Oct 2011, 16:32 pm
what a joke – I´m starting to dislike the IRB as much as FIFA.
17 Oct 2011, 16:47 pm
@stew(stew)-19:
Would probably just be the icing on the cake for a tournament featuring some ridiculous reffing calls, IRB fining players for using the wrong mouth guards and yet warning England about ball tampering, English chucking dwarfs and groping blondes while soliciting hotel maids, etc
17 Oct 2011, 17:45 pm
Surely France had to take a huge dive with that loss over Tonga?
17 Oct 2011, 17:53 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-22: They did.
Before Tonga game.
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 90.55
2(3) SOUTH AFRICA 86.71
3(2) AUSTRALIA 84.84
4(4) ENGLAND 83.99
5(5) FRANCE 83.78
6(8) IRELAND 82.50
7(6) WALES 80.73
8(7) SCOTLAND 79.12
9(9) ARGENTINA 77.30
10(11) ITALY 73.88
11(14) CANADA 73.74
12(10) SAMOA 73.59
13(13) JAPAN 71.95
14(15) FIJI 71.01
15(12) TONGA 70.30
After
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 90.62
2(2) SOUTH AFRICA 86.71
3(3) AUSTRALIA 84.84
4(4) ENGLAND 84.54
5(6) IRELAND 83.14
6(7) WALES 80.73
7(8) ARGENTINA 80.28
8(5) FRANCE 79.72
9(13) TONGA 76.63
10(9) SCOTLAND 76.20
11(10) SAMOA 75.81
12(11) ITALY 73.99
13(12) CANADA 72.92
14(14) GEORGIA 71.09
15(15) JAPAN 70.45
And since then they beat England (much higher in the ranks then) and Wales (higher, too).
All simple.
17 Oct 2011, 18:06 pm
People rating Wales so high….hmmmm
SA playing dosh*t still beat Wales.
Remember that.
And they werent “Bryced” or anything.They simply werent good enough to put us to the sword,all the calls went majority in their favour vs Boks,dominated breakdown with Warburton,got the calls from ref to maintain their attacking momentum etc
And STILL lost.
Also lost to worst team in French history.
And contrary to blief-Warburton contravened law.Tip tackle & drop Clerq.Clerq on saved his neck cause he had his head bent/tucked in. Otherwise would have landed right on it. Was a red,unfortunately it ruined the contest.
Boks are 2nd best team in the world IMO.
Wallabies vs NZ was a sham. NZ dominated in all facets upfront and Joubert reffed breakdown properly.Game over-Oz had no hope in hell with Pocock nullified under the appropriate application of the law.
For all those who lambasted Bok for inability to score tries with ALL the possession AND territory advantage…How many tries did NZ manage? Just one,for such a brilliant attacking above the “toothless” Boks on attack “as many said” last week-thats pretty amazing aint it? Won the game through…??? penalties which Weepu duly slotted over and also missed 4…So a proper ref in Joubert duly punished Oz infringments.
Fact.
Bryce robbed rugby fans of a classic semi of Boks vs All Blacks. Not saying SA would have won or wouldnt have-they sure would have put up more of a fight especially upfront then those OZ pussycats upfront. Kaino,Thorn etc had a field day at collision point.And that was all she wrote for OZ.
17 Oct 2011, 18:29 pm
@Nils(Nils)-23: Forgot it was the 2x point in the RWC tourney.
17 Oct 2011, 18:30 pm
Yes France getting to the final is for my the biggest travesy of the World Cup. Them being ranked third after losing to a tier 2 nation in Tonga makes the world rankings a farce.
17 Oct 2011, 18:42 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-24: Just don’t forget to mention that BL was equally lenient to the Burger and Brussow (while he was on the pitch) when they did their own shennanigans..
17 Oct 2011, 18:43 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-25: That’s why the winner always lands on 1st place.
17 Oct 2011, 19:15 pm
funny that people are saying the rankings are no good, yet after the 2007 WC when the Bokke got to number one due to double ranking points it was all kosher…
funny how things turn and attitudes change depending on circumstance…
17 Oct 2011, 19:42 pm
Not sure what people are complaining about, like any scorecard ratings does not take into consideration how you won, just that you won.
Seriously if we start accepting that we can play as **** as we did the last 2 years and then win the RWC, then the Boks legacy is farked
I’m ok with that, we need to earn our ranking again, otherwise it’s just BS …
17 Oct 2011, 19:43 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-29: you have to say the French are probably the least deserving of their ranking …
unless the beat the ABs this weekend of course …
17 Oct 2011, 19:47 pm
@danuk(danuk)-31: agree totally… how they even made the final is amazing really, considering their form…
17 Oct 2011, 19:53 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-29:
More and more Bok supporters are getting gatvol of this fixation of the WC every four years. If I hear the next Bok coach say “judge me on the World Cup”, I will vomit.
The primary goal of the next Bok coach should be rather to chase down that #1 ranking and put pressure on the All Blacks. For that to happen the Boks just have to become more successful away from home.
17 Oct 2011, 19:57 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-33: I’d settle for us winning our home tests 1st. We seem to have gone backwards …
17 Oct 2011, 20:02 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-33: you guys have always struggled away from home… we need you guys to be strong every year, its what helps keep us at the top of the pile too…
the thing with the WC is its once every four years, and as both sets of supporters know, it very often doesnt reward the best teams, seems a big risk when it can be taken away so cruelly and easily…
17 Oct 2011, 20:08 pm
4th? Pfft..,.
17 Oct 2011, 21:10 pm
im still digesting that bitter pill, the way I feel about the worldcup now (thanks to Bryce F@#$N Lawrence) is i wouldn’t mind if the boks Completely devalue the worldcup
and rather concentrate on being number 1 in the world consistently. if we win a worldcup in between, that will be a bonus, but the focus has got to be 100% on the in between and not the worldcup, after seeing what bryce lawrence was allowed to do, the worldcup is a worthless benchmark for a team, (the 2 best teams in the world certainly aren’t playing in the final) we should put zero value in it.
17 Oct 2011, 21:19 pm
@QuickHands(QuickHands)-37: The more I think about it and the more I revisit that game, the more convinced I am about the result being predetermined.
The only questions I have to ask is:
- Was Lawrence just a lone wolf on the take (from bookies or wealthy businessmen)
- Was this organised by others eg with Paddy’s involvement and Lawrence the pawn.
We do know that the Kiwi Rugby Union is struggling with finances. They have already threatened a boycott.
I say follow the money.
17 Oct 2011, 21:22 pm
What is all the gnashing of teeth about? Once the new Bok coach is announced (provided he isn’t a political affirmative appointee) the usual order will be restored once again.
All Bleats
Boks………………both changing places several times during the year…….as the Boks ALWAYS knock over the Bleats………………..even with a crappy gameplan and clueless coach.
The rest………………………….and so on.
17 Oct 2011, 21:33 pm
The rankings only came about as a result of little mens desire to measure their *****. Egos have been bruised i see. Who gives a ffuck. Best way to solve this is to actually get out there and win some matches.
17 Oct 2011, 22:59 pm
I seriously hope we dont get another coach who thinks its ok to lose games in between world cups. As a serious supporter you want SA to be the best and winning every game, not accepting losses to inferior teams in the name of building towards 2015. Our win/loss record for 2011 World Champions was mediocre at best. Play to win and let the world cup worry about itself!
17 Oct 2011, 23:00 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-24: Excellent summary, Wales are really not so high on the rankings
England will beat them in the 6 Nations, and France will also get a klap
Nt much of a RwC if refs control the outcome
17 Oct 2011, 23:20 pm
@JL1(JL1)-42:
”
Nt much of a RwC if refs control the outcome ”
Was like that in 2007 as well. Why the turn around now?
A ref can ruin a tournament at knock out stages.
Some people didnt mind it in 2007 yet those same people now hate it in 2011.
17 Oct 2011, 23:26 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-43: Hey, I have been on the ref horse for years
It has become worse every year and that Barnes chap was fast tracked, by your mate Paddy
He blew a Tri Nations game of the Boks after officiating in only 5 test matches. pressure game and a wet, green behind the ears ref gets the whistle, Needles to say he sc rew ed us that day
Paul Honis was a stunning idiot with a whistle, Wayne Ericson another ****** whothought he was directing traffic
No I have been on their case for a long time
17 Oct 2011, 23:27 pm
Fundamental problem with many Saffas is your knee jerk reaction to things, without considering all the parts of a process. At least youre consistent.
As for Heavens Game – you have redefined the word sour. And I’m lovin it.
17 Oct 2011, 23:30 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-15:
hahaha good one. heres mine
1) NZ
2) OZ
3) france
4) Wales
5) England
6) Saracens
7) Leiscester
9) Boks
Looks as accurate as your one HG
17 Oct 2011, 23:31 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-46:
Ohh Boks are #8.
My big fingers struggle on my iPhone.
17 Oct 2011, 23:33 pm
@JL1(JL1)-44:
True, you have been complaining about the refs on every Bok loss
17 Oct 2011, 23:40 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-48: There have been Bok wins where I have complained about the clown with the whistle, nt just in winning
2010 Tri Nations had 11 yellow cards from these jokers, come now
We lost players after 5 minutes with no warning for off side play
17 Oct 2011, 23:42 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-48: Craig Joubert is a good ref, but a bit of a homeown ref, so all is safe forthe final for you lot
Did you see Elsom argue with him when Piri cam on for Ellis as a blood replacement? Around 70 minutes, Joubert told him immediately that blood replacements are allowed as it written in the law book
17 Oct 2011, 23:46 pm
@ant(ant)-41: Hoskins is still there, so he will not want to rock the boat mediocrity is an affirmative action KPI
18 Oct 2011, 00:42 am
Number 4. That’s not as bad as I’d expect after 4 years under PDV.
18 Oct 2011, 02:57 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-46: It is not accurate, we do not know who won the 7th/8th playoff – Poms or Boks.
18 Oct 2011, 09:16 am
Sour Grapes is when you loose by a bad call from a ref,
and go on and blame the ref for your loss.
ref’s make mistakes one or 2 bad calls in a game are not nice but are forgiveable.
Wales Moaning about their red card would be sour grapes, the AB’s moaning about the forward pass in 2007 is sour grapes.
I believe what Bryce Lawrence did was far from getting one or 2 bad calls wrong,
he got the Game wrong, that game reffed by any other Ref would have been won convincingly by the Boks. Klaar. that was Blatant one way reffing, insuring that your decisions change the outcome of the game. I will never forgive BL for that and will not watch any other game that he ref’s as i do not trust his intentions he is a blatant cheat and should not be allowed to ref a test match again, IMO he has brought the game into disrepute ,
18 Oct 2011, 09:21 am
@Nils(Nils)-27:
No because that notion is inaccurate.
Brussow made the same impact in the 3N at the breakdown outplaying both Pocock & McCaw. So what leniency are you talking about? There were no real contentious decisions at the breakdown and Burger/Brussow didnt play in tandem neither during that series. Burger hardly played an active/influencial part in series.
Plus those were under the old interpretations of breakdown laws where “daylight” rule hadnt come to effect.Brussow was at his best in that role.
So please dont try dilute achievements of that 09′ generation with out of context assertion.Its disingenuous at best.
None of the Tests in BL series nor proceeding 3N were as “contentious” in the interpretation of breakdown as “Wellington free-for-all Pocock special” by Lawrence in RWC 2011.
Congrats to your All Blacks making the final and they shall become finally RWC champions.Good for you but dont make absolute statements that have little credibility to discredit Boks/Brussow etc
18 Oct 2011, 09:34 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-24: Spot on as usual man. I concur totally. At first I didnt think too much of the Bryce issue – I believed we were hard done by to some extent but thought we lost the game we could have won. But on subsequent viewings of the game I´d have to say Oz should have been at least 8 points down and SA at least another 3 up. Which would have put us at a 10 point lead. Also agree about the attacking rugby. Where was Australias try on Sun? Best attacking backline in the world and NZ only managed one with a piec eof individual brilliance from Dagg. No I really believe SA would have been their ultimate test and that in fact we were severely robbed by Bryce. At least one Saffa has made it to the final.
18 Oct 2011, 09:53 am
@QuickHands(QuickHands)-54: France got 16 penalties in their favour in one half, and the Ab’s none. The forward pass was just the final insult of Wayne Barnes’ performance.
By your rationale, the ref, Wayne Barnes, then got the game wrong, but you are saying the Ab’s anger at that match is nothing but sour grapes.
By that rationale, your anger at Bryce too, is nothing but sour grapes.
I’m not saying it is. I’m saying in 2007 the Ab’s were robbed, and I’m saying in 2011 the Boks were robbed. That said, Saffas felt nothing but glee about the robbery 4 years ago, so must take it on the chin this time round.
18 Oct 2011, 13:40 pm
@Nils(Nils)-27: What possession did Australia have?
18 Oct 2011, 15:49 pm
@rossoneri, We took it on the chin, the game is dusted our boys are playing currie cup rugby at home, whilst the AB’s prepare for a final against France …… Nice… very nice ……..thank you Bryce F#$%$#$ Lawrence.
Enjoy the Final i’m sure it’s going to be a cracker.