Joubert to ref final

South Africa’s Craig Joubert will referee Sunday’s World Cup final between the All Blacks and France.

Joubert, who took charge of the New Zealand versus Australia semi-final, becomes only the second South African to take charge of the grand final after Andre Watson, who has enjoyed the responsibility on two occasions. The appointment was made by the IRB’s Match Official Selection Committee in Auckland on Monday following a thorough review of performances during the knock-out phase.

Joubert will be joined by Alain Rolland (Ireland) and Nigel Owens (Wales) as assistant referees and Giulio De Santis (Italy) as Television Match Official.

Meanwhile, Wayne Barnes will take charge of the Bronze Final between Australia and Wales on Friday. The Englishman will be supported by assistant referees Romain Poite (France) and George Clancy (Ireland) with Shaun Veldsman (South Africa) as Television Match Official.

IRB Referee Manager Paddy O’Brien said: ‘The IRB Match Official Selection Committee was delighted with Craig and Alain’s performances in the semi-finals. Alain will perform the reserve referee role should he be required.

‘We may be nearing the conclusion of what has been a truly superb Rugby World Cup, but our focus remains firmly on consistency, penalising the clear and the obvious and tackling the ‘big five’ areas.

‘Collectively we continue to work together as a unit and maintain a zero tolerance attitude towards infringements and foul play across the key areas of the game. In that regard, I would also like to thank the coaches for their buy-in to the process during this tournament.’

Joubert said: ‘It is an enormous honour to get the final and I would like to thank Paddy and the Committee for giving me the opportunity. The whole team has performed superbly, assisted each other and bonded over the course of the last six weeks and I would like to thank them for their support and best wishes. I am now really looking forward to getting out there and enjoying the occasion.’

262 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.JEZ: Reply to this comment

What odds are we getting on Pdiv continuing for another 4 years?

It will be justified by the idiotic board members by pointing at Graham Henry’s story.

Knocked out in the quarters in 2007 by a referee in a coma and then redemption by winning the trophy in 2011.

I can already hear the cogs turning at SARU, the PR men are lining up a positive spin on why Pdiv should remain.

We have had an era of “the most capped” bok side ever, a record that was easy to break every week by simply picking the same side, are we now in for the Boks coached by “the most experienced Bok coach of all time”. I farking hope not but I am getting that horrible shaky bottom feeling you always get as Bok fans before you get royally shafted.

Please Bok fans stop this blaming of the ref on our early exit it is merely giving ammo to Pdiv and his posse of delinquents to continue for another 4 years.

• 152.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-151: thought PDV had already resigned?

• 153.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@Rugbyprof(rugbyprof)-126:
    we weren’t being cheated in the rucks only.
    hitting with fists to the face (vickerman on brussow), illegal shoulder leading “charge” type ruck clearing from an illegal position (vickerman on brussow), shoulder charges, high tackles, neck chokes, the scrums, off sides, blocking, players holding on and not releasing, the mauls, that last lineout which wasn’t a penalty ……there was a bit of everything in that game.

but most damagingly for us i accept was the rucks and pocock (i mean some of the sshit he did was just unbelievable, like the ball he kicked out of the ruck with his feet when well off his feet leading to the ozzie try).

try to be a little more objective man.

• 154.cane: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-136:

Thank You WP.

• 155.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Did you guys hear Habana signed a three year extension to his WP contract.

• 156.justrugby: Reply to this comment

More importantly, who’s reffing the CC semi’s :)

• 157.JEZ: Reply to this comment

Further to my point I saw Pdiv on BootsnAll the other night and it would seem that if he were asked to continue he would consider it to be God telling him that his work through him has not being completed.
    Thats the type of thing serial killers and psychopaths say.
    Can Peter not understand that God actually made Bryce Lawrence turn in such a poor performance because he has taken pity on Bok fans and doesn’t want us subjected to 4 more years of Helium scripture.
    Thats the problem with religious folk, they have so many interpretations to choose from.

• 158.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-151: He had his time. We are due a new coach.

• 159.JEZ: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-152:
    Nah he is now intimating that God wants him to continue.
    Apparently the holy spirit is a big AB fan.

• 160.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-152: he backtracked on that. He said he will let his contract run its course, which means he vacates the bok job at the end of the year.

• 161.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Pro Legote & jaftah will ref the CC semi’s amd Lawrence will ref the final!

• 162.JEZ: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-160:
    Quite right but he said that if he was asked he would continue.
    Pdiv has some very clever people behind him and they have realised that after the public complained so bitterly about Lawrence that they could conceivable keep Div in play because “after all if it wasn’t for the ref he would have won the RWC”. Complete twaddle of course but quite an easy one to spin. I believe that is why Div retracted his resignation so quickly.

• 163.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-159: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-160: ok, hadnt heard that he is there until the end of year… are there any more games to be played where he will be coach? wasnt sure if there were more tests after the WC?

• 164.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7(p0ppa69)-161: Bryce Lawrence? lol

• 165.JEZ: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-163:
    No more games to be played.
    Apparently that is when the contract expires so now he gets to sit around planning the next world cup with whichever of the holy trinity isn’t too busy on the run up to christmas.
    In reality SARU should make a decision on Pdiv now pay him out and open the way for the new coach.

• 166.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-163: I dont thing there are any more tests after the World Cup. The new world champs might play a game end of November just to close out the year. I think the Boks did that in 2007 when they played against Wales in November. I stand under correction though.

• 167.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-165: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-166: I was of the same thought that there would be no more rugby until next years S15 starts…

jez, agree that SARU should make a decision soon… any preference to replace him?

• 168.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-155:

That’s horrible news. His wages could have been used to keep Sadie and Engelbrecht in the Cape. Joe Pieterson , BJ Botha , can think of lots of players id rather splash his wages cash on.

• 169.David: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-165:
    He’d of been mad to resign now and lose two months salary. :lol:

• 170.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Saru would have to be plain nuts to appoint Pdv again, but then again, it isn’t as if the candidate’s for the job are lining up either. They may be forced into a corner. Who knows.

• 171.once more just take a break on the beach, dear springboks, once more...: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-148:
    if you watch the game again pops you’ll see in the last ten after the oz penalty there was an intention to play into position in order to line up a drop but that oz were being allowed to rush up on the ten from offside positions basically shutting down the option.
    it was most blatant on two occasions.

• 172.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-168: I agree. Apparently he signed for less money than his previous contract. Dont know how much less though.

• 173.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-170: I heard Eddie Jones is also interested in the Job.

• 174.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-173:

Eddie Jones says the Bok coach has already been chosen…

• 175.pierre: Reply to this comment

The standard of refereeing in this tournament has been putrid, disgusting, sickening. Judged against that standard, Craig Joubert has been ok. But he is and will remain a home-crowd-pleasing ref who penalises the away team heavily, ignores transgressions by the home side, and as a result, never gets booed by the crowd. If the All Blacks weren’t already an absolute shoo-in to whip the Frogs, they are now.

• 176.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-174: Which means they want PDV to continue? PDV might be able to do a good job without Smit, Matfield, Bakkies, Du Preez breathing down his neck.

• 177.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-157: i won’t knock the guy for his religious beliefs but i just want him to fuuck off. listening to him on boots n all annoyed me to no end. the doos accepted no responsibility for anything!

the worst part was that the idiots in the studio – ashwin & owen – were also busy acting like sycophants. i got the moer in when they asked him on the rationale of continuing with smit when he could see we were getting killed @ the breakdown and brussow was off, the d*ckhead answers that:

“what you must understand is that if i pulled john out of the team then i lose 6 other players in the team while bismarck is only one player” :shock:

and as i said the boneheads in that studio just nodded their heads and never asked him to fccking elaborate. this is the springbok team, our coach is telling us that 6 professional players couldn’t play without a puffed john smit holding their hands and they take a comment like that at face value, mnxim!

• 178.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-174: who gives a ffcck what eddie says.

• 179.bcoet: Reply to this comment

@pierre(pierre)-175: It will continue as long as paddy is there. BTW, Paddy and Bryce are business partners, they own/owned racehorses together, so he will never let Bryce be dropped from any panel and neither will Bryce’s dad, Keith, who reckons Bryce had a brilliant game in the quarters!

• 180.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Joubert is probably the best of a crooked bunch at the moment – Pocock couldn’t believe he was being penalized time and again after the free ride he got with Lawrence. The rules were applied against him when the All Blacks were the opposition but not the Boks – surprse, surpise!

Incidentally Warburton got the right treatment – he was an inch from breaking his neck – notwithstanding it crippled Wales chances; rather than cripple Clerc for life.

What continues to appal is the double-standard – Warburton got a 3-week ban – but NZ lock Brad Thorne spear-tackled John Smit (in the days when he contributing on the field) and injured him for several months.

He got a 1-week ban. Which typifies the double-dealing from Paddy O’Brien and his cabal of fellow cheats, who have undercut the reputation of All Black rugby, what with the years of favoured treatment of Tichie McCaw, etc.

I can tell you now the Boks wouldn’t have been manhandled like the Wallabies – and you will notice how we smashed their forwards more than the AB’s did. Those All Blacks would have been in a proper game and that’s the one everybody wanted to see – not this shabby anti-climax.

• 181.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Gunther(gunther)-53:

yip they were gone for all money at full time

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-180:

you lost to Australia 3 times this year, we can’t blame the ref for all three can we?

• 183.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-166: No test, only Baabaas v Aus at Twickers

• 184.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-182:

oh and its 6 from 7 now and Bokke fans still think they’re better than Aus, can someone please tell me how that works ?

• 185.pierre: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-184: No, you misunderstand. What we’re saying is that the Bokke were better than the Wallabies on the day. That’s why we’re so upset about being shafted by an incompetent/corrupt referee. Great that the Wallabies beat us five times out of the last six, but you’re not supposed to get bonus points for having a good recent record.

• 186.JEZ: Reply to this comment

I would like to see somebody who could actually add a bit of common sense to the Bok approach.
    Brendan Venter is a man who can think out of the box whilst backing it up with rugby knowledge.
    Alistair Coetzee is too close IMHO to the squad and would add nothing new.
    Heynecke Meyer could do an ambulance job but may be influenced by the Bulls connection although most of the senior Bulls would be gone.
    John Mitchell is quality but are we ready for an overseas coach?
    Mallett could work but SARU won’t consider him.
    Of the above I would I would probably plumb for Venter and if he said no HM.

• 187.JEZ: Reply to this comment

The above based on the impression that Rassie is not interested

• 188.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-182:

Come on man, you’re a good writer but that’s not a good comment. Boks started playing like Boks in PE when they defeated your shadow team (not that shadow by the way) by the biggest margin in history.

They were always preparing for this contest and were fresh and peaking. You really don’t want to argue Bryce Lawrence’s performance which even the Aussie and UK papers castigated. Sure, we should have finished them off with the possession but the level of one-sided incopmetence was there for all to see – in Aussie papers you see the photo of a Bok played getting his head ripped off his shoulders with a neck lock in front of the ref and not whistled for a penalty (should have been a yellow) to headline: HOW DID WE WIN THIS ONE?

Two word answer: Bryce Lawrence

• 189.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-188:

JB you struggled through the playoff’s a one point win against Wales and a narrow victory over Samoa a minnow and you lost to Australia with a huge P & T advantage, if you think your team on form was good enough to beat this AB side at Eden park fair enough I don’t.

• 190.2k3: Reply to this comment

Die Haaie vs WP in die currie bekker finaal

• 191.DocNZ: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-157:
    PWahahahahahah, brilliant , pure genius !!

• 192.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@JEZ(DEE DAH)-186: Venter would be a fresh approach and he doesn’t take sh-i-t. But hasn’t he already said he is not interested?

• 193.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-189:

They would have given them a much tougher game than Australia did – which even Sean Fitzpatrick said the Wallabies were heavily softened up by the Boks. In fact by your logic in the prievious comment AB’s would have lost because they got pumped in PE. (Boks 2nd Team toured if you can remember – therei’s two losses, first game in Durban was quite literally that – their first game and they pumped you guys – despite Keo and his idiots predicting otherwise. Incidentally, the NZ shadow team is stronger than Wales and Samoa – Wales would have also got smashed by the Bok forwards that turned up to the semi-final:). One last point – in PE we started with Bismarck and not John Smit – a major weak point in our approach and if he had started the game agianst NZ in the semi-final you almost certainly would have won: but that was not the best side available). Alan Rolland would have reffed that game and we all know it wouldn’t have been neutral.

It would have been a completely different match with your new flyhalf not sitting back in the lap of luxury getting served so well by the forwards. That would have been a collision-royale and could have gone ether way. All hypethetical now.

One thing we can both agree the Wallabies were never in the photo with their suspect forwards – you get a proper ref and Pocock wouldn’t have featured – like this weekend. Even bullet-proof Richie finally got called..

• 194.ballitoboy: Reply to this comment

That gives South Africa an unbroken run of being represented/involved in the past 5 RWC finals :
    - 1995 played
    - 1999 reffed
    - 2003 reffed
    - 2007 played
    - 2011 reffed

• 195.DocNZ: Reply to this comment

@Rugbyprof(rugbyprof)-61:
    LOL!

Was there a RWC between 1987 and 1995 ? Why yes there was , it was won by.. The wallabies. The FIRST team to win it twice. 1987 AB’s won the FIRST RWC.How do the boks always seem to forget that due to their political policies of apartheid they missed out on TWO RWC , not one. Or did they some how manage to play in 1991 , where did they finish? Did they make it out the pool stages ?

Sa has done nothing new , besides being the first to win a hollow RWC in 2007 after Barnes made sure the AB’s went home.

• 196.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-176:

Comedy is not your forte…

• 197.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@DocNZ(DocNZ)-195:

All Black players themselves have said that if any of the top ranked sides were not at the World Cup it simply isn’t a World Cup…

87′ and 91′ were not World Cups!

• 198.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@DocNZ(DocNZ)-195: Hmm Doc, I suppose we could say SA have played in five world cups, won two and only lost three games in full time over all five tournaments. That’s the best record in terms of pure world cups out of all the nations……now that’s a fact. If however you asked me who the best team in the world over the past 5, 10, 15, even 20 years was, no doubt it’s the All Blacks.

• 199.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-184: Dude, what is your opinion? As it stands today who do you think could field the better side?

• 200.Nils: Reply to this comment

Good luck to Craig, well done and may he has a good game. Hopefully it’s players we talk about and not the ref come Monday.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.